This title isn’t available with your membership

We’re working with the publisher to make it available as soon as possible. If you’d like to read it immediately, you can purchase this title individually.

Request Title

Read the fourth book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. The first book, The Maze Runner, is now a major motion picture featuring the star of MTV's Teen Wolf, Dylan O’Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster and the second book, The Scorch Trials, will soon be a movie that hits theaters September 18, 2015! Also look for James Dashner’s newest novels, The Eye of Minds and The Rule of Thoughts, the first two books in the Mortality Doctrine series.
 
They thought the end came in a flash.
 
Before WICKED was formed, before the Glade was built, before Thomas entered the Maze, sun flares hit the earth, killing most of the population.
 
The worst is yet to come.
 
Mark and Trina were there when it happened. They survived. But now a virus is spreading. A virus that fills humans with murderous rage.
 
There is no cure. No escape.
 
They’re convinced that there’s a way to save those who are left—if they can stay alive. Because in this new, devastated world, every life has a price. And to some you’re worth more dead than alive.
 
The end is only the beginning.
 
Praise for the Maze Runner series:
 
"[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games, and Lost."—EW.com
 
“Wonderful action writingfast-paced…but smart and well observed.”Newsday
 
“[A] nail-biting must-read.”—Seventeen.com
 
“Breathless, cinematic action.” Publishers Weekly
 
“Heart-pounding to the very last moment.” Kirkus Reviews
 
“Exclamation-worthy.” Romantic Times

[STAR] “James Dashner’s illuminating prequel [The Kill Order] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series.”—Shelf Awareness, Starred




From the Hardcover edition.
Published: Random House Publishing Group on Aug 14, 2012
ISBN: 9780307979117
List price: $8.99
Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
Availability for The Kill Order
Available as a separate purchase
  1. This book can be read on up to 6 mobile devices.
Clear rating

These books are super amazing. Plus it’s the prequel so if you've already read them you’ll know how it all begins. I read this book because my friend recommended the first book in the series and I couldn't stop reading them.read more
Is this review helpful? Yes | NoThank you for your feedback.
The first three weren't fantastic literature, but at least they were page-turning and exciting. This one, however--I just couldn't get into it, not enough to wade through the last 3/4 of it.read more
Is this review helpful? Yes | NoThank you for your feedback.
This is the prequel to the Maze Runner Series. After reading the first three, I was happy to hear someone else's story besides Thomas. Although I liked the action in the book, I felt it was depressing. I also wish the author would have told more of what the "government" was thinking and doing. This side of the story was never portrayed in any of the books. This book is really not a piece that is necessary to understand the other three and is just more of the same from a different person's perspective.read more
Is this review helpful? Yes | NoThank you for your feedback.
Read all reviews

Reviews

These books are super amazing. Plus it’s the prequel so if you've already read them you’ll know how it all begins. I read this book because my friend recommended the first book in the series and I couldn't stop reading them.
Is this review helpful? Yes | NoThank you for your feedback.
The first three weren't fantastic literature, but at least they were page-turning and exciting. This one, however--I just couldn't get into it, not enough to wade through the last 3/4 of it.
Is this review helpful? Yes | NoThank you for your feedback.
This is the prequel to the Maze Runner Series. After reading the first three, I was happy to hear someone else's story besides Thomas. Although I liked the action in the book, I felt it was depressing. I also wish the author would have told more of what the "government" was thinking and doing. This side of the story was never portrayed in any of the books. This book is really not a piece that is necessary to understand the other three and is just more of the same from a different person's perspective.
Is this review helpful? Yes | NoThank you for your feedback.
Obviously, if you've read my reviews of the previous books, you'll know that I've hated every one of these stories since "The Maze." So why did I read this one? I have no idea.I was hoping, especially given the sort of "teaser" at the beginning of the book, that we might learn more about Theresa and Thomas and what got them in to this whole "Maze" mess in the first place. Now I'm guessing that Dashner is saving that for yet another prequel.This book is about the beginning of the flares and The Flare. Some aspects of it were interesting, in particular, the flashbacks to the very day the solar flares began and how the characters survive them. After large Bergs rain down disease upon their little enclave of survivors, several village members decide to make their way to Ashville NC, the nearest city, to figure out why they've been infected, and possibly locate a cure.Instead they find a little girl who seems to be immune to the disease. Their trip becomes a desperate journey to get Deedee into the hands of those who might be able to use her, before they all die in the wilderness. Like the last two novels, a great deal of this reads more like a movie script than anything insightful or thoughtful. Oh, well.
Is this review helpful? Yes | NoThank you for your feedback.
review I finished this as an advance- the book is not due out until August 14th. James Dashner has done it again! The Maze Runner was one of those series that I knew would impact and enthrall young and old alike because it was such an original storyline and The Kill Order as a prequel will have the same impact. We learn of the events that caused Theresa,Thomas and his merry band of boys to end up in the Maze in the first place. This is the story of the solar flares and how love helps you keep going, keeps you fighting and doing the right thing. This is the story of Mark and Trina and a small group of survivors - one day you are in high school and the next you are in hand to hand combat with crazed zombielike sick people who want to tear you apart because of the flare. It is how government with good intentions can wreak havoc on average people. It is Walking Dead meets Mission Impossible meets the Dirty Dozen. The Kill Order will make you stare into the sun and wonder if your world suddenly turned upside down, who would you trust and where would you hide. This book is more violent/graphic than the other Maze Runner books so I would caution young kids against it but that also makes it a great crossover book - adults will be reading this alongside their teens
Is this review helpful? Yes | NoThank you for your feedback.
An ultra violent and graphic post- apocalyptic book about the survivors of a worldwide sun flares that decimate most of earth's population. To add insult to injury, a mysterious group appears, injecting survivors with a deadly, mutating virus, creating chaos and bloodthirst. The prequel to the Maze Runner.
Is this review helpful? Yes | NoThank you for your feedback.
Load more
scribd