• book

From the Publisher

Nationally syndicated columnist and bestselling author of ¡Ask a Mexican! Gustavo Arellano presents an entertaining, tasty trip through the history and culture of Mexican food in this country, uncovering great stories and charting the cuisine’s tremendous popularity in el Norte. In the tradition of Bill Buford’s Heat and Calvin Trillin’s The Tummy Trilogy, Arellano’s fascinating narrative combines history, cultural criticism, personal anecdotes, and Jesus on a tortilla.

When salsa overtook ketchup as this country’s favorite condiment in the 1990s, America’s century-long love affair with Mexican food reached yet another milestone. In seemingly every decade since the 1880s, America has tried new food trends from south of the border—chili, tamales, tacos, enchiladas, tequila, bacon-wrapped hot dogs, and so many more—loved them, and demanded the next great thing. As a result, Mexican food dominates American palates to the tune of billions of dollars in sales per year, from canned refried beans to frozen margaritas and ballpark nachos. It’s a little-known history, one that’s crept up on this country like your Mexican neighbors—and left us better for it.

Now, Taco USA addresses the all-important questions: What exactly constitutes “Mexican” food in the United States? How did it get here? What’s “authentic” and what’s “Taco Bell,” and does it matter? What’s so cosmic about a burrito? And why do Americans love Mexican food so darn much?

Tacos, alas, sold separately.
Published: Scribner on
ISBN: 9781439157657
List price: $5.99
Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
Availability for Taco USA: How Mexican Food Conquered America
With a 30 day free trial you can read online for free
  1. This book can be read on up to 6 mobile devices.

Related Articles

New York Magazine
4 min read
Food & Wine

An Empire Built on Tacos

VERY GOOD Empellón 510 Madison Ave. (entrance on 53rd St.) 212-858-9365 empellon.com MANY TALENTED CHEFS and restaurateurs have ridden lowly comfort foods to fame and relative fortune in this post-gourmet era, but with the possible exception of David Chang and his pork bun and Danny Meyer and his ShackBurger, few have had more success in this regard than Alex Stupak—in his case, with the humble taco. The much-praised, award-winning pastry chef recognized the potential of this elemental, adaptable dish early on, and since opening his original Empellón restaurant in the West Village six years
Entrepreneur
3 min read
Entrepreneurship

Nonprofit Incubator Teaches Low-Income Women to Build Restaurant Businesses

The Startup: El Huarache Loco in Larkspur, Calif., serves authentic Mexican street food cooked the same way Veronica Salazar's family has prepared it for nearly half a century in Mexico City. Salazar graduated from La Cocina's nonprofit incubator kitchen, which each year accepts up to 12 businesses run by low-income and immigrant women, teaches them how to develop a company and offers subsidized commercial kitchen space. What It Is: A kitchen-prep veteran, Salazar was eager to be chief cook and bottle washer of her own establishment, one that would provide a bona fide Mexican dining experience
ESPN The Magazine
1 min read
Food & Wine

Braves’ New Park Puts a Twist on an Old Favorite

INTERVIEW BY DAVE WILSON BLACKENED CATFISH PO’BOY TACOS SUNTRUST PARK COST: $12/3 TACOS ESTIMATED CALORIES: 538 Atlanta chef and restaurateur G. Garvin knows his way around Southern cuisine. Currently writing his fifth cookbook (when he’s not a judge on Guy’s Grocery Games on the Food Network or hosting his Cooking Channel show), Garvin took time to size up the blackened catfish po’boy tacos debuting at the Braves’ new SunTrust Park. How do these fit in Atlanta? When you think of Atlanta, you think of catfish, especially in the realm of Southern food, which has become this staple, but el