Start Reading

Deep Into the Game: S.W. Tanpepper's GAMELAND (Episode 1) (Volume 1): S.W. Tanpepper's GAMELAND, #1

217 pages3 hours


A game to die for...

First, they were soldiers. Then laborers. Now they're Players in a live-action computer game.

Welcome to GAMELAND. Set in the middle of Long Island's forbidden wasteland, it's where the rich and privileged pit cybernetically-controlled zombies against one another for all the world to watch. Most people buy their way into The Game. Others get in by dying.

Some hack their way in.

In a world drowning in contradictions, Jessica Daniels is struggling to make sense of it all. Her long-dead father is universally reviled for having invented Reanimation technology, yet the very beings he helped create are accepted by a society which is becoming increasingly dependent upon them. For security. For work. And now, for entertainment. As Jessica -- a computer gamer and hacker herself -- approaches her eighteenth birthday, all she wants is to escape her family's dark past.

She's about to crash headlong into it.

EPISODE 1: Deep Into The Game
A reckless, end-of-summer plan leads Jessie and her friends onto Long Island hoping simply to catch an unlikely glimpse of the infected victims of a decades-old outbreak. But if they think breaking in was easy, they'll soon discover that getting back out is a killer. Someone -- or something -- doesn't want them to leave. Not alive, anyway.

Five hackers. One game. Ten thousand Undead.

Deep Into the Game is the first book in the hi-tech, dystopian thriller GAMELAND. Structured along the lines of television's The Walking Dead and Law and Order, the nearly 400,000-word series consists of eight individual episodes, first published monthly between May and December 2012. All are available digitally in single and multi-episode packages, as well as in an omnibus edition.

Not recommended for readers under age 15.

Want more GAMELAND?

For insight into the world of GAMELAND, including how it all started, check out the short story Golgotha, available individually in digital format as well as in the short story collection Shorting the Undead and Other Horrors, by the same author.

Also check back for the companion book, The Infected Files: GAMELAND Hacked, which will include timelines, a glossary of terms, character dossiers, essays, articles and more. Expected publication date: 1 April 2013.

To receive advance notice of new releases, special (and exclusive) pricing events and giveaways, signings, and appearances, subscribe to the newsletter, Tanpepper Tidings (visit the author's webpage Tanpepperwrites).

Read on the Scribd mobile app

Download the free Scribd mobile app to read anytime, anywhere.