Yup, we’ve got that one

And more than one million more. Become a member today and read free for two weeks.

Read free for two weeks

An international bestseller with over two million copies sold, this is a story of an artist’s desire for beauty and the ultimate corruption of innocence.

17th Century Holland. When Griet becomes a maid in the household of Johannes Vermeer in the town of Delft, she thinks she knows her role: housework, laundry and the care of his six children. But as she becomes part of his world and his work, their growing intimacy spreads tension and deception in the ordered household and, as the scandal seeps out, into the town beyond.

Tracy Chevalier’s extraordinary historical novel on the corruption of innocence and the price of genius is a contemporary classic perfect for fans of Sarah Dunant and Philippa Gregory.

Published: HarperCollins UK on
ISBN: 9780007324361
List price: $6.81
Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
Availability for Girl With a Pearl Earring
With a 30 day free trial you can read online for free
  1. This book can be read on up to 6 mobile devices.
Set in 1664 in Holland. Chevalier selects a masterpiece and then weaves a story to describe its provenance. A 16 year old girl Griet, is forced to become a maid in the house of artist Johannes Vermeer as her father has been blinded in an accident and the family needs money. It is her job to clean the artists studio, and a she does so, realises she has a talent for design and colour. Vermeer and Griet are very attracted to each other. Vermeer is forced to paint her portrait by his rich benefactor. She knows that Vermeer’s wife Catharina will be furious so the painting is done in secret. Vermeer is not happy with the painting and thinks it is missing a ‘spark’. He then forces Griet to wear his wife’s peal earrings, knowing that this will be the end of Griet’s job. Griet leaves and marries the butchers son. Ten years later, Vermeer dies and leaves the peal earrings to Griet in his will.more
I'm not sure what I think of this book. It was not what I expected. It does not fit in any of my mental categories of good books or of bad books. I was compelled to keep reading, so I'm pretty sure that for the most part I liked the protagonist and was intrigued by her position in the Vermeer house. Yet I did not like the circumstances she fell into, nor could necessarily endorse her decisions in dealing with those situations (I'm thinking of Pieter, her parents, van Ruijven, the master). Maybe what is disconcerting to me is the depth that seems to be in the character Griet, but so much of it only scratches the surface, and though we have her thoughts, we do not have them all. Maybe because she does not know them all herself. Some are felt, not articulated.
Unusual, but worth reading.more
I loved the imagery the author created for this world based in the 1700's. I actually miss reading the book because I feel like I want to go back to the colorful and unique world of this time. And the way she described the paintings Vermeer were creating made me (a person uneducated in the world of art) feel a great desire to see these paintings in person. The Protagonist of this story was a greatly developed character as well. Her inner thoughts were rarely shared with the other characters, but it added so much depth to the story. I really enjoyed the author's interpretation of the story of Vermeer, his life, and the story behind his paintings.more
 A sparkling little book. It tries to put a back story to explain how a picture came to be painted, which is one of the questions that is often prompted by a good picture. One assumes that there has to be at least a framework of facts in which the story is based, but they don't actually matter too much. It's a good tale and as long as it is treated like that, its an engaging read.more
Read all 220 reviews

Reviews

Set in 1664 in Holland. Chevalier selects a masterpiece and then weaves a story to describe its provenance. A 16 year old girl Griet, is forced to become a maid in the house of artist Johannes Vermeer as her father has been blinded in an accident and the family needs money. It is her job to clean the artists studio, and a she does so, realises she has a talent for design and colour. Vermeer and Griet are very attracted to each other. Vermeer is forced to paint her portrait by his rich benefactor. She knows that Vermeer’s wife Catharina will be furious so the painting is done in secret. Vermeer is not happy with the painting and thinks it is missing a ‘spark’. He then forces Griet to wear his wife’s peal earrings, knowing that this will be the end of Griet’s job. Griet leaves and marries the butchers son. Ten years later, Vermeer dies and leaves the peal earrings to Griet in his will.more
I'm not sure what I think of this book. It was not what I expected. It does not fit in any of my mental categories of good books or of bad books. I was compelled to keep reading, so I'm pretty sure that for the most part I liked the protagonist and was intrigued by her position in the Vermeer house. Yet I did not like the circumstances she fell into, nor could necessarily endorse her decisions in dealing with those situations (I'm thinking of Pieter, her parents, van Ruijven, the master). Maybe what is disconcerting to me is the depth that seems to be in the character Griet, but so much of it only scratches the surface, and though we have her thoughts, we do not have them all. Maybe because she does not know them all herself. Some are felt, not articulated.
Unusual, but worth reading.more
I loved the imagery the author created for this world based in the 1700's. I actually miss reading the book because I feel like I want to go back to the colorful and unique world of this time. And the way she described the paintings Vermeer were creating made me (a person uneducated in the world of art) feel a great desire to see these paintings in person. The Protagonist of this story was a greatly developed character as well. Her inner thoughts were rarely shared with the other characters, but it added so much depth to the story. I really enjoyed the author's interpretation of the story of Vermeer, his life, and the story behind his paintings.more
 A sparkling little book. It tries to put a back story to explain how a picture came to be painted, which is one of the questions that is often prompted by a good picture. One assumes that there has to be at least a framework of facts in which the story is based, but they don't actually matter too much. It's a good tale and as long as it is treated like that, its an engaging read.more
I read this based on Laurette's recommendation since she so seldom reads anything modern. I wasn't disappointed.more
The main thing I loved in this novel was the fact that it gives The Dutch Mona Lisa her own story. The thoughts and behaviors for the times felt authentic and the characters were believable. Griet was a fascinating character which you don't see much of how complex she really is if you were to watch the movie of this novel. I found the story itself very enjoyable and it kept my attention.more
Load more
scribd