• book

From the Publisher


Thing 1: There is no such thing as free market.
Thing 4: The washing machine has changed the world more than the Internet.
Thing 5: Assume the worst about people, and you get the worst.
Thing 13: Making rich people richer doesn't make the rest of us richer.
If you've wondered how we did not see the economic collapse coming,
Ha-Joon Chang knows the answer: We didn't ask what they didn't tell us
about capitalism. This is a lighthearted book with a serious purpose: to
question the assumptions behind the dogma and sheer hype that the
dominant school of neoliberal economists-the apostles of the
freemarket-have spun since the Age of Reagan.
Chang, the author of the international bestseller Bad Samaritans,
is one of the world's most respected economists, a voice of sanity-and
wit-in the tradition of John Kenneth Galbraith and Joseph Stiglitz. 23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism
equips readers with an understanding of how global capitalism works-and
doesn't. In his final chapter, "How to Rebuild the World," Chang offers
a vision of how we can shape capitalism to humane ends, instead of
becoming slaves of the market.
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing an imprint of Bloomsbury USA on
ISBN: 9781608193585
List price: $12.99
Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
Availability for 23 Things They Don't Tell You about Capitalism
With a 30 day free trial you can read online for free
  1. This book can be read on up to 6 mobile devices.

Related Articles

Entrepreneur
2 min read

Manage Your Home Economics as If You Are Running a Business, and Watch Your Savings Grow

I'm convinced that more people would achieve financial success if they managed their home economics as if they were running a small business. As a business owner, you do snap cost/benefit analysis on nearly every decision you make, but for some reason this intellectual rigor gets tossed out the window when it comes to personal finance. We frequently fall into the trap of expending a great deal of energy for a small financial payoff. Here are some examples. Daily victories. Welcome to the bread-and-butter of personal finance: easy and quick decisions that yield small rewards. I'm talking about
The Atlantic
6 min read

Think Twice About Escaping Earth to an Exoplanet

How did we lose the universe? When, last month, NASA announced the discovery of seven new Earth-like exoplanets orbiting TRAPPIST-1, a dwarf star only 40 light years from us, it felt strange: not the beginning of something, but the end. The immediate reaction from thousands of people was not “what’s out there?” but “when can we leave?” This planet is done for, to be ruled from a marble-plated toilet for its short remainder as a life-bearing world. The oceans are acidifying and filling with plastic, the air is clamming up into a soup of deadly microparticles; we’re slowly narrowing down the lis
The Atlantic
6 min read

The Best Business Reads of March

Each month, the editors of The Atlantic’s Business Channel put together a list of the most insightful and interesting pieces of journalism about money and economics from around the web. This month’s picks include the practical and the absurd: stories about curious pet financing schemes, the relentless gig economy, and the disconnect between the way companies interact with their customers versus their employees. If you’ve missed previous roundups, you can find recent ones here and here. “I’m Renting a Dog?” Patrick Clark  | Bloomberg The Sabins had bought their new dog, Tucker, with financing o