Enjoy this title right now, plus millions more, with a free trial

Only $9.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

The Silver Key (A Dance of Dragons #1.5)

The Silver Key (A Dance of Dragons #1.5)

Read preview

The Silver Key (A Dance of Dragons #1.5)

Length:
99 pages
1 hour
Publisher:
Released:
Oct 30, 2014
ISBN:
9781310204081
Format:
Book

Description

From bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis comes the second companion novella to the thrilling A Dance of Dragons series—perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Kristin Cashore, and Tamora Pierce!

Weeks have passed since King Razzaq discovered Princess Leena’s affair and banished her lover from the kingdom. So when Mikza suddenly appears in the golden palace, chained and bound, Leena is floored. Even more mysterious is the man he travels with—a redheaded prince of Whylkin. Unable to control her curiosity, Leena follows the strange convoy, hiding in the shadows as they meet with her father. But what she witnesses will the change the course of her life, and the world, forever.

Taking place parallel to the events in THE SHADOW SOUL, read Leena’s side of the story as she teams up with Jinji to save Rhen’s life and seeks to escape her father’s hold once and for all.

Keywords: teens and young adult, sword and sorcery, action and adventure, fantasy romance, coming of age, fantasy, teen fiction, dragons, magic, 99cent, 99 cent, 0.99

Publisher:
Released:
Oct 30, 2014
ISBN:
9781310204081
Format:
Book

About the author

Meet Kaitlyn Davis!Kaitlyn Davis, a bestselling author with over a quarter of a million books sold, writes young adult fantasy novels under the name Kaitlyn Davis and contemporary romance novels under the name Kay Marie. Publishers Weekly has said, "Davis writes with confidence and poise," while USA Today has recommended her work as "must-read romance."Always blessed with an overactive imagination, Kaitlyn has been writing ever since she picked up her first crayon and is overjoyed to share her work with the world. When she's not daydreaming, typing stories, or getting lost in fictional worlds, Kaitlyn can be found playing fetch with her puppy, watching a little too much television, or spending time with her family. If you have any questions for her--about her books, about scheduling an event, or just in general--you may contact her at: KaitlynDavisBooks@gmail.comSign up for Kaitlyn's newsletter to stay up-to-date with all of her new releases, to receive exclusive subscriber bonus content, and more! bit.ly/KaitlynDavisNewsletterA Complete List of Books by Kaitlyn DavisMidnight Fire, a bestselling YA paranormal romance with over 200,000 copies sold! - Start this series for free today! amzn.to/1NAIBDUIgniteSimmerBlazeScorchBurnMidnight Ice, a brand new companion series to Midnight Fire!FrostFreezeFractureShatterOnce Upon A Curse, a USA Today "must-read" YA series of fairy tale retellings.Gathering FrostWithering RoseChasing Midnight - Coming Soon!A Dance of Dragons, a YA epic fantasy that was just selected as an SPFBO finalist! - Start this series for free today! amzn.to/1MuVm7VThe Golden Cage (novella)The Shadow SoulThe Silver Key (novella)The Spirit HeirThe Bronze Knight (novella)The Phoenix BornThe Iron Rider (novella)


Related to The Silver Key (A Dance of Dragons #1.5)

Read More From Kaitlyn Davis

Related Books

Related Articles

Related categories

Book Preview

The Silver Key (A Dance of Dragons #1.5) - Kaitlyn Davis

THE

SILVER

KEY

A Dance of Dragons #1.5

By Kaitlyn Davis

Smashwords Edition

Copyright 2014 Kaitlyn Davis

Cover Art: Manipulated by Kaitlyn Davis from an attribution licensed deviant art photo by iconseiyastock, a pixabay CC0 Public Domain image by Piper60, and a DepositPhotos.com image by alexannabuts called Brunette Woman In Cape.

World Map: Illustrated by Sarah Faith Morris (Sylva Knight)

The right of Kaitlyn Davis to be identified as the author of this work has been asserted in accordance with the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988

This eBook is copyright material and must not be copied, reproduced, transferred, distributed, leased, licensed or publicly performed or used in any way except as specifically permitted in writing by the author, as allowed under the terms and conditions under which it was purchased or as strictly permitted by applicable copyright law. Any unauthorized distribution or use of this text may be direct infringement of the author's rights and those responsible may be liable in law accordingly.

This is a work of fiction and any resemblances between the characters and persons living or dead is purely coincidental.

ALL WORKS BY KAITLYN DAVIS

A Dance of Dragons

The Shadow Soul

The Spirit Heir

The Phoenix Born

A Dance of Dragons – The Novellas

The Golden Cage

The Silver Key

The Bronze Knight

The Iron Rider

Once Upon A Curse

Gathering Frost

Withering Rose

Chasing Midnight – Coming Soon!

Midnight Fire

Ignite

Simmer

Blaze

Scorch

To my family for their unconditional love,

my friends for their overwhelming support,

and my fans for their incredible enthusiasm.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

All Works by Kaitlyn Davis

Dedication

Table of Contents

World Map

Chapter One

Chapter Two

Chapter Three

Chapter Four

Chapter Five

Chapter Six

Chapter Seven

The Spirit Heir

Join The Newsletter

About the Author

(Back to Table of Contents)

ONE

Leena stopped dead in her tracks—afraid to move, to breathe, afraid that even the barest hint of reality would crash the illusion somehow coming to life before her.

Mikza was here.

Chained, bound, being dragged behind a strange convoy. But here. Alive. In Da’astiku, in the golden palace once more.

Weeks had passed since she’d last seen his face—weeks of wondering, of daydreaming, of missing. Her thoughts were a constant jumble of questions—where was he, what was he doing, was he alive, was he thinking about her too?

That last night in the dungeons seemed so long ago, a lifetime. Her father had discovered their affair and enacted his punishment by turning Mikza into an unmarked, stripping his tattoos, his very identity, away. The memories haunted her, infiltrating her sleep in the dead of the night, images she could not erase. Whispering through a shroud of tears. Holding him gently, trying to soothe the pain of bruises and wounds she thought might never fade. When Leena closed her eyes, she could still see the bloody stripes down his back, the burns and cuts circling his wrists. Could still hear the soft words rolling off his lips, I love you, You must forget me, and the worst, Goodbye.

And now Mikza was here.

Leena drank him in, eyes roving his tall, elegant frame. Time had not marred the grace of his proud stance—muscular shoulders square, chin straight, hands folded at the base of his spine. Still a soldier, still honorable, despite the marks of disgrace, despite the scars.

She ached to run her fingers over his smooth, olive skin. To lace them through his onyx hair. To kiss his velvet lips. To wrap her arms around him, to have his wrap around her. Even now, her hand outstretched, reaching toward him.

And then the truth sunk in. The harsh reality.

Mikza was not here for her.

Ever her protector, Mikza had made a promise to her father on that fateful night when his tattoos had been carved away. He swore he would let her go, would never return to this golden city, would never speak to her again. And in return, her father had made a promise to him—if Mikza broke his word, Leena was the one who would die.

No.

Leena shook her head, elation fading away as she took a step back, pulling her wayward palm into her chest, letting it hover over her broken heart, a weak shield.

No. Mikza was not here to find her, to save her from this place, to take her away. He was a man of his word. He would never break his promise, especially when it was her life on the line.

Leena blinked as the realization hit, drying her wet eyes, and searched for an explanation. Her gaze drifted, slipping to the three other men bound with Mikza, to the servant in golden robes leading the men slowly through the halls, and then finally to the curious man in between the five Ourthuri.

Red hair.

That was the first thing Leena noticed, eyes widening in shock. And then she picked out his pale coloring, his freckles, his wide build.

A man of Whylkin. In Da’astiku. Alone.

He was either stupid or crazy, and she had a feeling only time would tell which. Curious, Leena followed as a servant led the group between rows of columns, across the courtyard, away from the entrance of the palace and deep into its core—to the throne room. Her gaze flicked constantly between the foreigner and Mikza, two men who could not be more different.

Mikza’s umber eyes were solemn, downcast toward the floor, desolate.

The foreigner’s were wild, roaming the halls, jumping this way and that, alert.

As they reached the throne room, Leena tore her gaze away, hating even for a moment to lose sight of Mikza. But her father could not see her out of her rooms, especially not now with Mikza bound and such an easy target. King Razzaq was not a merciful man. Leena had no doubt that Mikza along with the other three prisoners would be covered in lash wounds by the end of the day, cut and bleeding, left to writhe in their pain. But if the king saw her there, the punishment would surely be worse. Loss of limb. Blindness. For her father, the gory possibilities were endless.

Leena ducked behind a column, breathing quickly as the thought of Mikza in so

You've reached the end of this preview. Sign up to read more!
Page 1 of 1

Reviews

What people think about The Silver Key (A Dance of Dragons #1.5)

0
0 ratings / 0 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews