Start Reading

Ready Reference Treatise: Rhinoceros

Length: 36 pages28 minutes


“Rhinoceros” by Eugene Ionesco was written in 1959. It was originally written in French. This highly remarkable play is in three acts. It belongs to the school of drama that is known as the “Theatre of the Absurd.

The play is set in a small provincial French town. Over the course of the three acts of the play, the inhabitants of this small town turn into rhinoceroses.

The central character, Berenger, is the only human being who does not become a rhinoceros and survives this mass metamorphosis.

Ready Reference Treatise: Rhinoceros
Chapter One: Introduction
Chapter Two: Plot Overview
Chapter Three: Characters
Chapter Four: Complete Summary
Act One
Act Two
Act Three
Chapter Five: Critical Analysis
Chapter Six: About the Theatre of the Absurd

Read on the Scribd mobile app

Download the free Scribd mobile app to read anytime, anywhere.