Enjoy this title right now, plus millions more, with a free trial

Only $9.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

The Iron Rider (A Dance of Dragons #3.5)

The Iron Rider (A Dance of Dragons #3.5)

Read preview

The Iron Rider (A Dance of Dragons #3.5)

Length:
97 pages
1 hour
Publisher:
Released:
Nov 17, 2015
ISBN:
9781310241390
Format:
Book

Description

From bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis comes the fourth and final companion novella to the thrilling A Dance of Dragons series—perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Kristin Cashore, and Tamora Pierce!

Princess Leena has finally discovered her fate—she's a dragon rider, humanity's only protection against the shadow. But deep in her heart, Leena hasn't forgotten about her homeland and the promises she made before waking her dragon. So when the shadow's phantom armies threaten Da'astiku, Leena jumps at the chance to return home and confront the king. No longer the powerless princess she once was, Leena will do whatever it takes to prove to her father and to her people that love is so much stronger than hate and that hope is far more powerful than fear.

Taking place parallel to the events in THE PHOENIX BORN, read Leena's side of the story as she seeks to end her father's reign and bring a new era of peace to Ourthuro.

Keywords: teens and young adult, sword and sorcery, action and adventure, fantasy romance, coming of age, fantasy, teen fiction, dragons, magic, 99cent, 99 cent, 0.99

Publisher:
Released:
Nov 17, 2015
ISBN:
9781310241390
Format:
Book

About the author

Meet Kaitlyn Davis!Kaitlyn Davis, a bestselling author with over a quarter of a million books sold, writes young adult fantasy novels under the name Kaitlyn Davis and contemporary romance novels under the name Kay Marie. Publishers Weekly has said, "Davis writes with confidence and poise," while USA Today has recommended her work as "must-read romance."Always blessed with an overactive imagination, Kaitlyn has been writing ever since she picked up her first crayon and is overjoyed to share her work with the world. When she's not daydreaming, typing stories, or getting lost in fictional worlds, Kaitlyn can be found playing fetch with her puppy, watching a little too much television, or spending time with her family. If you have any questions for her--about her books, about scheduling an event, or just in general--you may contact her at: KaitlynDavisBooks@gmail.comSign up for Kaitlyn's newsletter to stay up-to-date with all of her new releases, to receive exclusive subscriber bonus content, and more! bit.ly/KaitlynDavisNewsletterA Complete List of Books by Kaitlyn DavisMidnight Fire, a bestselling YA paranormal romance with over 200,000 copies sold! - Start this series for free today! amzn.to/1NAIBDUIgniteSimmerBlazeScorchBurnMidnight Ice, a brand new companion series to Midnight Fire!FrostFreezeFractureShatterOnce Upon A Curse, a USA Today "must-read" YA series of fairy tale retellings.Gathering FrostWithering RoseChasing Midnight - Coming Soon!A Dance of Dragons, a YA epic fantasy that was just selected as an SPFBO finalist! - Start this series for free today! amzn.to/1MuVm7VThe Golden Cage (novella)The Shadow SoulThe Silver Key (novella)The Spirit HeirThe Bronze Knight (novella)The Phoenix BornThe Iron Rider (novella)


Related to The Iron Rider (A Dance of Dragons #3.5)

Read More From Kaitlyn Davis

Related Books

Related Articles

Related categories

Book Preview

The Iron Rider (A Dance of Dragons #3.5) - Kaitlyn Davis

THE

IRON

RIDER

A Dance of Dragons #3.5

By Kaitlyn Davis

Smashwords Edition

Copyright 2015 Kaitlyn Davis

Cover Art: Manipulated by Kaitlyn Davis from an attribution licensed flickr creative commons photo by Kat Lovasi, a DeviantArt photoshop brush by Alexandra Alexandersson, a DepositPhotos.com image by alexannabuts called Woman In Black Cape, and a dreamstime.com image © Captblack76 | Dreamstime.com - Beautiful dark woman in a desert landscape.

World Map: Illustrated by Sarah Faith Morris (Sylva Knight)

The right of Kaitlyn Davis to be identified as the author of this work has been asserted in accordance with the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988

This eBook is copyright material and must not be copied, reproduced, transferred, distributed, leased, licensed or publicly performed or used in any way except as specifically permitted in writing by the author, as allowed under the terms and conditions under which it was purchased or as strictly permitted by applicable copyright law. Any unauthorized distribution or use of this text may be direct infringement of the author's rights and those responsible may be liable in law accordingly.

This is a work of fiction and any resemblances between the characters and persons living or dead is purely coincidental.

ALL WORKS BY KAITLYN DAVIS

A Dance of Dragons

The Shadow Soul

The Spirit Heir

The Phoenix Born

A Dance of Dragons – The Novellas

The Golden Cage

The Silver Key

The Bronze Knight

The Iron Rider

Once Upon A Curse

Gathering Frost

Withering Rose

Chasing Midnight – Coming Soon!

Midnight Fire

Ignite

Simmer

Blaze

Scorch

To my family for their unconditional love,

my friends for their overwhelming support,

and my fans for their incredible enthusiasm.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

All Works by Kaitlyn Davis

Dedication

Table of Contents

World Map

Chapter One

Chapter Two

Chapter Three

Chapter Four

Chapter Five

Chapter Six

Chapter Seven

More Books By Kaitlyn Davis

About the Author

(Back to Table of Contents)

ONE

Leena woke suddenly, transitioning from deep slumber to full alertness in the matter of an instant. She didn't move. Didn't speak. Nothing about her outer appearance changed. But her mind became fully aware as an odd tingle slipped up her spine, drawing her eyes open in nervous concern.

She blinked.

Once, twice, clearing the sleep from her gaze. The sand beneath her was damp. The sky was brightening to full day. The waves rolled in her ears. In fact, the only odd thing drawing her attention now, the only thing that could have possibly woken her, was Rhen.

Rhen, her fellow dragon rider.

Rhen, whom she trusted deeply.

Rhen, who was suspiciously bent over a pot of water, shielding two canteens as he filled them with liquid.

Leena shook her head slightly, trying to understand what he was doing and why he was doing it so secretively. But the longer she watched him, the more confused she became. He was as still as a rock, motionless as he held a clenched fist over the two canteens. His eyes were squeezed tightly shut, and his lips were forcefully pursed. He was a man who looked torn—completely and utterly torn. But why?

Leena remained silent, not wanting to alarm him. Her eyes wandered, searching for clues. Bran was still asleep by her side. Light snores still drifted over her shoulder, letting her know their newest member, Jasper, also slumbered. The riders were still camped out on the beach, which meant Jinji was still in hiding with her brother, with the shadow, unprepared to take the next step and send the evil back where it belonged. And the last Leena knew, all of them were still sitting idly by as time ran out. They were waiting for some plan to miraculously emerge—one where Jinji wouldn't have to murder her brother, one where they wouldn't have to encourage her to do so, one that didn't pit them all against each other.

Had Rhen discovered a way?

Then Leena noticed a tray of food resting by Rhen's feet—barely enough for two, definitely not meant for four. Cautiously, Leena shifted her head ever so slightly, giving herself a view of the rest of the beach.

There.

Just as she suspected.

Jinji sat with her eyes on the horizon, hugging her knees to her chest and resting her chin upon them. Deep in thought, just like Rhen.

When had she come back? When had she come out of hiding?

More importantly, where was Janu? Where was the shadow?

Had Jinji finally killed him? Or had she let him go free? Had she figured out another way, a better way? Or had she doomed the world to save him?

Leena shifted her gaze back to Rhen, noticing for the first time that the person he was shielding his actions from wasn't her—it was Jinji. He had turned his back to the woman he loved. And in that same moment, Leena realized his fist wasn't just clenched—it was holding a small object. There was a glass vial tucked between his taut fingers. And his eyes were no longer closed, they were staring at the vial, fierce and hard, cursing it and praising it at the same time.

In a swift motion, his palm flipped over.

The contents of the vial fell into one canteen.

Rhen sealed the top shut and slipped the glass back into his pocket.

All at once, his whole body relaxed. Whatever decision he'd had to make, he'd made it. The hard part was over, for him at least. But Leena still watched, utterly perplexed, wondering what she had witnessed and why she felt the sudden need to stop him.

Rhen looked up, meeting her gaze.

Her heart stopped.

His irises flooded with guilt.

Leena looked to the canteen again, back to his shame-ridden face, back to the canteen. What had he done? What was he going to do? Surely it couldn't be poison—no matter how dire the situation, he would never hurt the woman he loved. So what did the vial hold and why did he

You've reached the end of this preview. Sign up to read more!
Page 1 of 1

Reviews

What people think about The Iron Rider (A Dance of Dragons #3.5)

0
0 ratings / 0 Reviews
What did you think?
Rating: 0 out of 5 stars

Reader reviews