Start Reading

Coffee Stains

144 pages29 minutes


Starting out as a chapbook, Coffee Stains is the sixth collection of poems by Kevin J. O'Conner.

The title fits the contemplative nature of much of O'Conner's work, particularly since coffee time is often a chance to slow down and contemplate, make notes in a journal, or perhaps sit and read for a bit.

The collection itself is divided into six sections, plus a prelude and postscript:

Everyday observations, from annoying plot twists to the changing of the seasons to the nature of humankind.

Autobiography Is Hard
Self-reflection and personal experiences.

Romantical Feelings and Such
Poems about love and romance, in truth and fantasy.

Reading and Writing
Looking for the perfect words.

Observations about things happening in the world.

Short Forms
Poems no longer than six or seven lines—a little bit of everything.

Many of the poems originally appeared on O'Conner's blog, Ordinary Average Thoughts; others appear for the first time.

Read on the Scribd mobile app

Download the free Scribd mobile app to read anytime, anywhere.