The Collected Poetry of D. H. Lawrence

Book Actions

Start Reading

Book Information

The Collected Poetry of D. H. Lawrence

Rating: 0 out of 5 stars0/5 ( ratings)
Length: 402 pages3 hours


D. H. Lawrence was an English writer who, unfortunately, only truly became accepted as a literary genius after his death in 1930. While he was best known for his novels and short stories like "Lady Chatterly's Lover," "Sons and Lovers," and "The Captain's Doll," Lawrence was also an adept poet who wrote over 800 poems during his lifetime. At the beginning of his career, his poems were infused with pathetic fallacy and continual personification of flora and fauna. Like many of the Georgian poets, Lawrence's style was overly verbose and archaic, meant as a tribute to the previous Georgian period. However, the tragedy of World War I changed Lawrence's style dramatically. He wanted to break free from the overused stereotypes of the time and instead focus on finding new and more eloquent ways of expressing poetry. The author began experimenting with free verse and often revised past works in order to strip away the dated tropes he used as a less experienced writer. While Lawrence wrote during the Modernist period, his poems do not exhibit the same style as the famous Modern poets. He celebrated impulses and felt that each poem had to be deeply personal to its author. The collection of "Selected Poems" collects together the poems from the following volumes: "Love and Other Poems," "Amores," "Look! We Have Come Through!," "New Poems," "Bay," and "Tortoises."
Read More