Start Reading

Days of Awe and Wonder: How to be a Christian in the Twenty-first Century

256 pages4 hours


Distilled into a single volume, here is the essence of Marcus Borg: the world’s leading spokesman for progressive Christianity until his death in 2015, and one of the most widely respected and influential theologians of our time.

In his many critically acclaimed books, Marcus J. Borg pioneered a new kind of Christianity: one that resonates with progressive, socially engaged Christians throughout the world. Now, two years after his death, comes Days of Awe and Wonder, a selection from his most important and enduring works, some of them hitherto unpublished, which explores what it means to be a Christian in the twenty­first century. Provocative and uplifting, this anthology will enlighten all who are meeting Marcus Borg for the first time, and amply reward those who would like to renew their acquaintance with one of the world’s finest theological writers.

Foreword by Marianne Borg
1. Listening to the Spirit
2. Faith is a Journey, Not a Destination
3. Jesus, Our Model for Being Spirit-Filled
4. My Conversion to Mysticism
5. Reclaiming Mysticism
6. Awe, Wonder, and Jesus
7. Is Jesus God?
8. Standing with Jesus Today
9. Following the Paths of Repentance and Justice Today
10. Renewing Our Image of Jesus
11. Healing Our Image of God
12. Following God’s Passions
13. Facing Today’s Challenges
14. The Heart and Soul of Christianity
15. Encountering the Wisdom of Other Faiths
16. Listening for the Voice of God
Afterword from Barbara Brown Taylor’s Homily at Marcus Borg’s Memorial

Read on the Scribd mobile app

Download the free Scribd mobile app to read anytime, anywhere.