Enjoy millions of ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more, with a free trial

Only $11.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

My Dear Hamilton: A Novel of Eliza Schuyler Hamilton
My Dear Hamilton: A Novel of Eliza Schuyler Hamilton
My Dear Hamilton: A Novel of Eliza Schuyler Hamilton
Ebook829 pages16 hours

My Dear Hamilton: A Novel of Eliza Schuyler Hamilton

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

4/5

()

About this ebook

USA Today Bestseller

"An edge-of my sear immersion into historical events...No study of Alexander Hamilton would be complete without reading this book." —Karen White, New York Times bestselling author

"The best book of the year!" —Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network

Wife, Widow, and Warrior in Alexander Hamilton’s quest for a more perfect union

From the New York Times bestselling authors of America’s First Daughter comes the epic story of Eliza Schuyler Hamilton—a revolutionary woman who, like her new nation, struggled to define herself in the wake of war, betrayal, and tragedy. Perfect for fans of Ron Chernow's biography Alexander Hamilton and fans of Lin-Manuel Miranda's Hamilton: the Musical.

In this haunting, moving, and beautifully written novel, Dray and Kamoie used thousands of letters and original sources to tell Eliza’s story as it’s never been told before—not just as the wronged wife at the center of a political sex scandal—but also as a founding mother who shaped an American legacy in her own right.

A general’s daughter…

Coming of age on the perilous frontier of revolutionary New York, Elizabeth Schuyler champions the fight for independence. And when she meets Alexander Hamilton, Washington’s penniless but passionate aide-de-camp, she’s captivated by the young officer’s charisma and brilliance. They fall in love, despite Hamilton’s bastard birth and the uncertainties of war.

A founding father’s wife...

But the union they create—in their marriage and the new nation—is far from perfect. From glittering inaugural balls to bloody street riots, the Hamiltons are at the center of it all—including the political treachery of America’s first sex scandal, which forces Eliza to struggle through heartbreak and betrayal to find forgiveness.

The last surviving light of the Revolution…

When a duel destroys Eliza’s hard-won peace, the grieving widow fights her husband’s enemies to preserve Alexander’s legacy. But long-buried secrets threaten everything Eliza believes about her marriage and her own legacy. Questioning her tireless devotion to the man and country that have broken her heart, she’s left with one last battle—to understand the flawed man she married and imperfect union he could never have created without her…

LanguageEnglish
PublisherHarperCollins
Release dateApr 3, 2018
ISBN9780062466174
My Dear Hamilton: A Novel of Eliza Schuyler Hamilton
Author

Stephanie Dray

Stephanie Dray is a New York Times, Wall Street Journal & USA Today bestselling author of historical women’s fiction. Her award-winning work has been translated into eight languages and tops lists for the most anticipated reads of the year. Before she became a novelist, she was a lawyer and a teacher. Now she lives near the nation’s capital with her husband, cats, and history books.

Related categories

Reviews for My Dear Hamilton

Rating: 4.226666666666667 out of 5 stars
4/5

225 ratings26 reviews

What did you think?

Tap to rate

Review must be at least 10 words

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
    5/5
    I felt dropped right down into that time and place. Such vivid portrayals and sense of place. In the author's notes, mention is made of where any liberties were taken (mostly timing), and the correspondence from whence came much of the dialog. I won this book via Early Reviewers, but never received it, so finally listened to it on audio. I loved this book! But really wish I had the paper copy to reread the author's notes again. Highly recommended!
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
    4/5
    I've noticed a number of novels about Alexander Hamilton's wife Eliza recently - a side effect of the Broadway show perhaps? I've now read a few of them and I think this one is the best so far. The authors dig into Eliza's life and make a point to include Eliza's life before she met Hamilton and after his early death. This makes for a very long book, but also provides a good sense of Eliza as a person and how her marriage to a Founding Father impacted the course of her life. A good overall read and certainly something that would interest Hamilton fans.
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars
    3/5
    Richly satisfying fictional biography of Betsy Schuyler, wife of Alexander Hamilton, from her girlhood to wifehood in which she is his helpmeet, to her widowhood in which she comes to terms with certain personal events that have touched them both.
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
    4/5
    Thank you so much for making me smile while reading your book. such a compelling story. If you have some great stories like this one, you can publish it on Novel Star, just submit your story to hardy@novelstar.top or joye@novelstar.top
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars
    3/5
    A little long for the plot. Found myself jumping chapters
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
    4/5
    Having read First Daughter last year this book felt almost like a continuation, Eliza at times sounded like Patsy. It took a bit to get the tie between the two out of my head. Yes they're very different but the voice sounded too similar I thought. I found out how little I really knew about Alexander Hamilton. Also interesting the differences in politics between Jefferson and Hamilton. Also how fragile the country was then. Today history made me feel like the US won the revolutionary war and then was a united country, but this book helped me see it was nothing of the sort. It was a tremendous struggle and at so many points it was nearly lost. Then there is the story of Betsy/Eliza and all the tragedies she endured due to men with ideals they were willing to die for, from her father (General Schuyler) to her son and husband.