Start Reading

Alicia Friend Investigations Books 1-3 - His First His Second; In Black In White; With Courage With Fear: Alicia Friend

1,111 pages15 hours


Meet Detective Sergeant Alicia Friend. She's nice. Too nice to be a police officer, if she's honest…

And now the first three novels of this popular series are gathered in a bumper box set!

His First His Second

Now assigned to DI Donald Murphy's team, the annoyingly-perky detective finds herself in the grip of a northern British winter, investigating the kidnap-murders of two young women - both strikingly similar in appearance. When a third is taken, they have less than a week to chip away the secrets of a high-society family, and uncover the killer's objective.

But Richard - the father of the latest victim - believes the police are not moving quickly enough, so launches a parallel investigation, utilising skills honed in a dark past that is about to catch up with him.

As Richard's secret actions hinder the police, Alicia remains in contact, and even starts to fall for his charms, forcing her into choices that will impact the rest of her life.

For a chilling serial killer thriller with a quirky main character, pick up His First His Second, In Black In White, AND With Courage With Fear today!

In Black In White

Detective Sergeant Alicia Friend: cop, analyst, cutie-pie. Obsessed.

While on sabbatical in America, investigating loose ends from her previous case, Alicia Friend is called upon to observe the FBI's investigation into the murder of a British diplomat. Soon, the murders expand to encompass a wider victim profile, each confessing their politically motivated lies on camera, and Alicia shows why her superiors overlook her quirks, and consider her one of the best minds in her field.

Drafting in her old partner, Alicia imposes her uniqueness on the investigation, and shifts the focus from a politically charged arena to the madness of a psychopath who cannot seem to stop.

With Courage With Fear

Since returning from America, Alicia Friend has been grounded at a desk. That is, until the newly promoted DCI Murphy requests Alicia's input. It only involves interviewing a young terror suspect. What can go wrong?

Alicia backs Murphy's suspicion and links the crime to a seemingly unconnected incident.  Then a third attack occurs, and there is no denying it: someone is coordinating these vicious incidents, and the endgame is building.

With Courage With Fear sees DS Alicia Friend face her most devious serial killer yet – one who may be even smarter than her.


The Alicia Friend Series

Each novel is its own self-contained story, but there are background elements that continue through the series. So while it is not 100% necessary to read them in order, it will be more rewarding that way.

1 His First His Second

2 In Black In White

3 With Courage With Fear

4 A Friend in Spirit

5 To Hide To Seek (novella for summer 2018)

Read on the Scribd mobile app

Download the free Scribd mobile app to read anytime, anywhere.