Start Reading

The Lies That Kill You: A Shocking Thriller with the Most Insane Twist of 2019

Ratings:
375 pages10 hours

Summary

'Read it now or hate yourself later on when someone spoils that ending for you!'  – Angelica Moore

Sunset.

Beach.

A man and a woman.

He's lying on the sand, bleeding. She's holding a gun, trembling.

30 DAYS EARLIER

After her mother dies from Alzheimer's, Emma moves with her husband to Montauk to build a new life. She's immediately intrigued by the manor next door and its mysterious owner, Mr. Gold. Nobody has ever seen him. Nobody even knows his first name. But he knows them.

The next day, Emma finds an invitation at her doorstep for the 4th of July party hosted by Mr. and Mrs. Gold. Her husband doesn't want to go, but she can't resist the temptation. It's the biggest mistake of her life because after she sees something at that party, she'll get herself involved in a mystery that could destroy her and her family for good.

The day after, Gold's wife has disappeared, and he's a potential suspect. Emma believes he's innocent and wants to help him, and he trusts only her. In spite of her husband's jealous protest, she agrees to cover his case on her blog and uncover the truth. She'll find out that his wife isn't just another gone girl and that there's a dark and sick scheme in play. What she doesn't know is that someone is watching her every move, that someone has broken into her house while she was sleeping, and that someone is pulling her strings behind the curtains. Soon, she will, and it will lead to …

… that night on the beach. With a gun in her hand, she has two options: she can either pull the trigger and save her family or do the right thing and lose everything she cares about. What is she going to do?

A must-read for fans of Shari Lapena, BA Paris, Paula Hawkins, Megan Abbott and Liane Moriarty.

'The Lies That Kill You' is an electrifying Hitchcokian thriller that combines the sophisticated darkness of The Woman in the Window by AJ Finn with the nail-bitting suspense of Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn. It will make you shiver the next time you dare tell a lie.

What fans are saying about The Lies That Kill You:

'You just can't put this one down. It took me an afternoon to read this book. Surely destined to be a hit.' Gillian Fraser

'The best novel I've ever read. Irresistible... you'll beg others to read it so you can talk about it with them.' Tanya Kent

'A rollercoaster of suspense and craziness. Deserves to be one of this year's biggest successes.' J. Higgins

'Emotional and gut-wrenching, character-driven suspense thriller… It crawls under your skin and won't let you go... Can't wait for the next book.' Julia Clarke

'If you liked The Girl Before, Into the Water or A Stranger in the House, or anything by Ruth Ware, you're going to love this one!' A. C.

'The characterization is exceptionally well done and the suspense is almost unbearable.' Jennifer McKenzie

'The Lies That Kill You will keep you glued to the pages in search of the answer.' Reviewer

'Kudos to Dino on a guaranteed best-seller! He's a fabulous plotter.' Una

Read on the Scribd mobile app

Download the free Scribd mobile app to read anytime, anywhere.