Start Reading

121: Alternative Options for Bar Exam Preparation: See what's available and right for you before investing your time and money

Ratings:
0 page

Summary

Welcome back to the Law School Toolbox Podcast. Today we're  talking about alternative bar prep options outside of the big commercial programs. Turns out, not everyone learns the same way, so you want to make sure your bar prep will work for you! Historically, most people studied for the bar exam the same way, taking a large commercial course such as BARBRI. Now, bar takers are fortunate to be able to explore different prep options, try them out, and put together a personalized bar program that is going to give them the best chance at passing. In this episode, we discuss: Key elements necessary for any effective bar prep program The importance of feedback, and making sure you understand the level of feedback your program offers Is tutoring right for you? Creating an effective and reasonable study schedule for you and your life The pros and cons of a wide variety of bar prep resources How to self-study and pass the bar exam Resources: Themis Bar Review (https://www.themisbar.com/) BarMax (https://testmaxprep.com/bar-exam) Lean Sheets (http://www.leansheets.com/) SmartBarPrep (https://www.smartbarprep.com/) NCBE Subject Matter Outlines (http://ncbex.org/exams/mbe/preparing/) Brainy Bar Bank (https://barexamtoolbox.com/brainy-bar-bank/) State Bar of California Past Exams (http://www.calbar.ca.gov/Admissions/Examinations/California-Bar-Examination/Past-Exams) BarEssays.com (http://baressays.com/) BET Review of BarEssays.com and Discount Code (https://barexamtoolbox.com/tools-for-bar-exam-success-baressays-com/) Writing of the Week Course (https://barexamtoolbox.com/writing-of-the-week-wow-bar-essay-workshop/) Critical Pass (https://criticalpass.com/) Sketchy Law (https://www.sketchylaw.com/) AdaptiBar (https://www.adaptibar.com/) BET Review of AdaptiBar and Discount Code (https://barexamtoolbox.com/tools-for-bar-exam-success-adaptibar/) Emanuel’s Strategies & Tactics for the MBE 2, Second Edition (https://www.amazon.com/Strategies-Tactics-Second-Emanuel-Review/dp/1454809930) Bar Exam Toolbox Bar Exam Self-Study Program (https://barexamtoolbox.com/bar-exam-self-study-program/) Bar Exam Toolbox (https://barexamtoolbox.com/) Bar Exam Toolbox Private Tutoring (https://barexamtoolbox.com/private-bar-exam-tutoring/) Episode Transcript: Download the Transcript  (http://lawschooltoolbox.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/Episode-121-Alternative-Bar-Prep-Options.pdf) If you enjoy the podcast, we'd love a nice review and/or rating on iTunes  (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/law-school-toolbox-podcast/id1027603976) (or your listening platform of choice). And feel free to reach out to us directly. You can always reach us via the contact form on the Law School Toolbox website (http://lawschooltoolbox.com/contact). If you're concerned about the bar exam, check out our sister site, the Bar Exam Toolbox (http://barexamtoolbox.com/). Thanks for listening! Alison & Lee

Read on the Scribd mobile app

Download the free Scribd mobile app to read anytime, anywhere.