Start Reading

A Death of No Importance

Ratings:
350 pages4 hours

Summary

The woman no one sees, but who witnesses everything, is the ideal person to solve a murder…

Invisible until she's needed, Jane Prescott has perfected the art of serving as a lady’s maid to Manhattan's elite. Jane takes up a position with the Benchley family – a family of ‘new money’– who cause outrage when their daughter Charlotte becomes engaged to notorious playboy Norrie, the son of the eminent Newsome family.

When Norrie Newsome is found murdered at a party, Jane realises she is uniquely positioned to solve the crime with her access behind the scenes of high society. Many people held grudges against Norrie, and Jane knows that amongst both the upper classes and the city's underbelly, morals can become cheap in the wrong hands. As scandal and violence simmer beneath the surface of New York, can Jane solve the mystery that threatens to result in more deaths?

A gripping and suspenseful historical murder mystery, perfect for fans of Elizabeth Bailey and Emily Organ.

Read on the Scribd mobile app

Download the free Scribd mobile app to read anytime, anywhere.