Enjoy millions of ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more, with a free trial

Only $11.99/month after trial. Cancel anytime.

Ebook565 pages9 hours


Rating: 0 out of 5 stars


Read preview

About this ebook

Mathieu Froment lives in the suburbs of Paris and travels to the city every day to work. He and his wife Marianne have a loving relationship and an enormous amount of children. "Fruitfulness" is the first book in Emile Zola's series , "Les Quatre Évangiles", where he explores the four qualities he felt were necessary to a healthy society: fertility, labor, truth, and justice.-
PublisherSAGA Egmont
Release dateOct 8, 2020
Read preview

Émile Zola

Émile Zola was a French writer who is recognized as an exemplar of literary naturalism and for his contributions to the development of theatrical naturalism. Zola’s best-known literary works include the twenty-volume Les Rougon-Macquart, an epic work that examined the influences of violence, alcohol and prostitution on French society through the experiences of two families, the Rougons and the Macquarts. Other remarkable works by Zola include Contes à Ninon, Les Mystères de Marseille, and Thérèse Raquin. In addition to his literary contributions, Zola played a key role in the Dreyfus Affair of the late nineteenth and early twentieth century. His newspaper article J’Accuse accused the highest levels of the French military and government of obstruction of justice and anti-semitism, for which he was convicted of libel in 1898. After a brief period of exile in England, Zola returned to France where he died in 1902. Émile Zola is buried in the Panthéon alongside other esteemed literary figures Victor Hugo and Alexandre Dumas.

Read more from émile Zola

Related to Fruitfulness

Titles in the series (40)

View More

Related ebooks