From the Publisher

This story is published in Joan Aiken's THE SERIAL GARDEN: THE COMPLETE ARMITAGE FAMILY STORIES, the first collection of the beloved Armitage family stories, is now available from Big Mouth House ( or your favorite bookshop/site) or here on Scribd:

The Serial Garden includes Joan Aiken's Prelude, all 24 Armitage stories, as well as introductions from Joan Aiken's daughter, Lizza Aiken, and best-selling author Garth Nix, and is illustrated by Andi Watson.

"Joan Aiken's invention seemed inexhaustible, her high spirits a blessing, her sheer storytelling zest a phenomenon. She was a literary treasure, and her books will continue to delight for many years to come."
—Philip Pullman

"The Serial Garden is my happiest discovery this year."
—Los Angeles Times

Read more about Joan Aiken here:

And, if you like this story, please pass it on.

Thanks for reading.
Published: Gavin Grant on
Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
Availability for Joan Aiken, "Don't Go Fishing On Witches Day"
Available for free