This action might not be possible to undo. Are you sure you want to continue?
be taken to improve the performance of a new subsidiary, Prestige Data Services. It was originally conceived as a mechanism by which high and nonregulated returns could be used to augment the profits of Prestige Telephone Company, while at the same time providing computer services to that company. The subsidiary’s performance has not lived up to expectations. Nevertheless, after two years of operation, Prestige Data Services has succeeded in coming on line with services needed by the parent company and is selling excess hours of capacity to outside customers at an increasing rate. The key issues relate to questions are whether the reports presently being prepared provide information necessary to answer the questions which top management is asking, and if they do not, what kind of analysis can help with the decisions being considered. Despite the fact that this case is quite straightforward, it provides ample information and data to analyze three tasks which are critical to effective management accounting. First, to analyze the results of operations as they have been reported, and to understand the origin and nature of receipts, revenues, expenditures and expenses. Second, to develop an understanding of the economics of a business and to use that understanding to forecast the potential change in income which would occur if various alternative courses of action were selected by management. And third, to understand the importance of the way in which cost information is reported, and the way in which accounting and reporting systems can be used to highlight the factors which are important to management and for appraisal of operations. Answer to Question 1: Result Appraisal Subsidiary’s performance has not lived up to expectations However, Prestige Data Services has succeeded in coming on line with services needed by the parent company and is selling excess hours of capacity to outside customers at an increasing rate Shut Down v/s Retention Retention Total Expense = 82000 (Maximum amount PData can charge from PTelephone) Loss of Subsidy = 18,321 (net loss in March 11,121 + 7,200 (additional loss: 89200-82000)) Revenue Earned = 24476 (space costs 9240 + corporate services 15236) Net Cost = $ 75,845 Shutdown Buying From Outside = $178400 (intercompany hours for march 223 *market price 800) Sunk Cost = $4,560,000 (noncancelable contract 95000/month * 12mo. *4yrs) Increase in Total Expense = $ 4738400 So, retaining PDS seems the better option.
200+8. We will assume that materials are offset by other revenue and therefore. One issue is to estimate the decision horizon.Incremental Cost Analysis: Shut Down Prestige Data Services Vs.939. The only variable costs are power and part of the operations wages paid to hourly workers. Let’s take it to be 4 years since the noncancelable leases on computer equipment have four more years to run.e. it is easy to calculate a break-even volume as follows: (Total Fixed Costs) Less (Allowed Costs After Variable Costs of Intercompany Operations) = Breakeven Hours Contribution per Hour (800-4.400+25. With low variable costs ($28.600+12. In addition.843)] = 177. can be excluded from analysis. Further we will assume that $15.50 177. We need to take into account opportunity costs rather than reported or historical costs to perform this analysis. The total relevant monthly fixed costs for the subsidiary are: 9.236 reimbursement for corporate services provided by Prestige to its subsidiary can be a reasonable estimate of the long run consumption of administrative resources by Prestige Data. sales promotion expenses are about $8.500+680+21.939 – [$82.000+9.000+11.832 of commercial revenue per month.240+95.50-24) $ 212..000+5. Hence.236= 212.000 – (205 Hours x $28. Answer to Question 2: Cost-volume-profit Analysis Cost-volume-profit analysis of the subsidiary requires a break up of the costs into fixed and variable costs.29 hours at $800 per hour is equal to $ 141. Retain the subsidiary The decision criterion is to shutdown the subsidiary and outsource the data services from outside if the incremental cost of shutting down (relative to keeping the subsidiary) is negative i. incremental benefits are positive.50 per hour and the variable portion of the operations wages is $24 per hour and the fixed portion of the operations wages is $21. Power ($4. We will also assume that for the purposes of planning.50 = $5. from this analysis. It can be estimated that power costs are about $4.083 per month. the assumption that Prestige Telephone Company can always cover $82.29Hours $771.50 per hour) and part of the operations wages ($24 per hour) are the only variable costs.083+15.000 of the cost under its agreement with the Public Service Commission enables that amount to be deducted directly from fixed cost in determining break-even volume.600. .50 per hour) to deduct from the commercial revenues per hour ($800 per hour) each commercial hour sold generates a high contribution to fixed costs and profit.
000. Once that analysis is accepted. each calculation is straightforward. In March 1997.5) = $84. so that a 30% increase would give demand of 179 hours (138 hours x 1.70 = 96. c. Demand x Contribution per hour = Contribution 97 hours x ($1. b.865 or $21.5) = $102. so the option of giving up a shift appears not very attractive.50) = $94.$28. But what expenses could be saved? Except for operations wages (and perhaps materials and supplies) it appears most other expenses would not be affected by this reduction of service and revenue.50) = $106. the total contribution would be: 110 hours x ($800 .200 hardly offsets a loss of contribution of $21.000 . 179 hours x ($600 . promotion or operating conditions.467 The monthly contribution to fixed costs and income at $800 is greater by $12. An increase in promotion that would increase commercial sales by 30% would increase sales to 179 hours per month. Reducing the price to commercial customers to $600 per hour would increase demand by 30%. A summary follows: a. Savings of $7.6 hours). . Reducing hours would reduce demand for commercial revenue hours by 20%.236 Compare to present: 138 hours x ($800 . the total contribution would be: 179 hours x ($800 . At that level.299 Compared to present contribution of $106.30 = 179.632 could be spent without reducing income.Answer to Question 3: Each of the sets of assumptions in Question #3 in the case offers the opportunity to analyze the effects of possible changes in demand due to changing price. At $800 per hour. $21.467 or $31.$28.$28.$28.000 per hour would reduce demand by 30%.231 than the contribution expected at $1. Increasing the price to commercial customers to $1.600 of operating wages are nonvariable. In March 1997.169 per month. the income will be higher if we retain the $800/hour price.5) = $138. so perhaps one-third of that could be eliminated by going on two-shift operations rather than three shifts. from 138 hours to 110 hours.602.$28.602 less than at present. a price reduction would apparently reduce profit by $4.099 An amount up to the difference between this new contribution and the present contribution of $106. Therefore.4 hours). and a 30% reduction would leave demand of 97 hours (138 hours x . demand was for 138 hours. demand was for 138 hours.467. The analyses are dependent upon the cost analysis previously completed. d.
Answer to Question 4: • • PDS should show fixed and variable costs in its reports Corporate services costs should be reported .
This action might not be possible to undo. Are you sure you want to continue?
We've moved you to where you read on your other device.
Get the full title to continue reading from where you left off, or restart the preview.