By: Ishan Dev Gupta Roll No.


‡ Satvahana dynasty – Repelled foreign empires, preserved Indian culture ‡ Golden age during Kakatiya dynasty ‡ Came under Muslim rule in 14th century followed by Bahmanis, Qutb Shahis, and the Mughals ‡ Muslim Asafjahi dynasty established a separate state Hyderabad – largest and most populous princely state under British Rule ‡ Never under direct British rule (other parts Rayalaseema and Coastal Andhra were)

• Peasant revolt supported by communists in the princely state of Hyderabad from 1946-1951 against local feudal landlords for bonded labour • Well known leaders at the forefront like Ravi Narayan Reddy, Nalla Narasimhulu, Sateesh Arjula, Anabheri Prabhakar Rao, Puchalapalli Sundaraiah, and others • Ended after central government sent in army

• Nizam of Hyderabad wanted independent state • Rebellion started against Nizam’s rule and his army known as Razakars • State of Hyderabad annexed on 17 September 1948 in an operation called Operation Polo carried out by the Indian Army • M. K. Vellodi appointed as the first CM of Hyderabad state on 26 January 1950
– Carried out administration with the help of bureaucrats from Madras state

• During 1952, Burgula Ramakrishna Rao appointed as the CM of Hyderabad state in 1st democratic elections • Violent agitations by some Telanganites against bureaucrats from Madras • Telugu speaking areas carved out of Madras state on the fast unto death by Potti Sri Ramulu to create Andhra state in 1953 with Kurnool as its capital

• States Reorganisation Commission (SRC) not in favour of merger • Important leaders appreciated that unification of Telangana with Andhra should be based on a voluntary and willing association of the people • CM of Hyderabad state supported Congress party’s decision to merge Telangana and Andhra despite opposition in Telangana • Feb 20, 1956: agreement b/w Telangana and Andhra leaders to merge Telangana and Andhra promising to safeguard Telangana’s interests • Gentlemen’s Agreement: November 01, 1956 - unified Andhra Pradesh established • Agreement provided assurance to Telangana w.r.t. power sharing, administrative domicile rules and expenses distribution

After formation of Andhra, dissatisfaction among Telanganites continued
Dec 1968: Rally organized by OU students against discrimination in govt. jobs against Telangana people 1973: Govt. of India diluted protections in Gentlemen’s Agreement by initiating the Six Point Formula due to Jai Andhra agitation

1969: Various political parties formed for separate statehood of Telangana region 1990’s: BJP promised separate Telangana state if comes to power

2001: Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) formed led by Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao with object of creating separate Telangana state with Hyderabad as its capital 2004: TRS joined the coalition govt. with Congress, making separate Telangana state a part of Common Minimum Programme of the coalition govt. Sep 2006: TRS withdrew support from the coalition due to unfulfillment of Telangana promise July 2008: Devender Goud & E. Peddi Reddy formed a new party called Nava Telangana Praja Party (NTPP) with Telangana as its main goal Oct 09, 2008: TDP (Telugu Desam Party) announced support for creation of separate Telangana

2009: Praja Rajyam Party (PRP) founded by Chiranjeevi merged with NTPP with Telangana statehood as its main agenda Nov 2009: A fast unto death by TRS president K. C. Rao demanding a Telangana Bill in Parliament Arrested Students, employees & various organizations joined protest Student organizations planned massive rally at state assembly Govt. deployed police troops throughout Telangana Dec 09, 2009: P. Chidambaram announced – Govt. would start process of forming separate Telangana state KCR ended his 11-day fast

Dec 23, 2009: Govt. of India announced – no action to be taken on Telangana until a consensus reached by all parties Rallies, hunger strikes and suicides continued throughout Telangan Telangana Joint Action Committee (JAC) threatened resignations of all legislators on Jan 28 2010 Feb 03, 2010: 5 member Srikrishna Committee on Telangana formed to look into the issue with a deadline of Dec 31 2010

On Jan 06, 2011 Home Ministry made the Committee’s report public Recommendations:  Keep the state united  Advised constitutional and statutory measures for socioeconomic development and political empowerment of Telangana region through the creation of a statutorilyempowered Telangana Regional Council  Telangana leaders supported creation of a separate state as the best option  March 23, 2011 – Secret Report revealed

• Feb 17, 2011: Non Cooperation movement started (lasted for 16 days; 300,000 govt. employees involved; Rs. 8 billion/day lost) • March 10, 2011: Million march organised by JAC

Position of state legislature as on 5th July, 2011
i. 100 out of 118 Telangana MLAs in the state, 12 out of 15 Telangana ministers, 13 out of 17 Telangana MPs in Lok Sabha, 1 Rajya Sabha MP, 20 MLCs resigned Resigned included 44 out of 53 ruling Congress party MLAs from Telangana, 9 out of 12 ruling Congress party MPs in Lok Sabha from Telangana. Except 18 MLAs; MIM (7), Congress (9) (including two ministers, Deputy Speaker and Deputy CM), CPM(1), Lok Satta(1); the rest of the Telangana MLAs have resigned



∞ Govt. is at fault for not providing proper justice to the people of Telangana ∞ It is ethically wrong on the part of people of Telangana not to share their resources with other regions ∞ It is not morally justified to destroy public property and cause loss of revenue in the name of agitation ∞ The demand for Hyderabad as capital has affected the commercial growth of this city ∞ Tourism industry is disrupted e.g. no. of visitors to Tirupathi have reduced

Thank You…

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful