New Faculty Orientation Monday, August 13, 2012 Time 8:30-9:15 Location Governors Room

Overman Student Center

Topic Continental Breakfast Welcome message and introduction of the President’s Council Introduction to the Day Dr. Steve Scott

Presenter(s)

President, Pittsburg State University

9:15-9:30

Governors Room

Dr. Brenda Frieden
Director/Associate Professor, Center for Teaching, Learning, & Technology bfrieden@pittstate.edu, x4243

9:30-9:45 9:45-10:15 10:15-10:30 10:30-12:00 12:00-1:00 1:00-2:30 2:30-2:45 2:45-3:15

Governors Room Governors Room (walk to the Library) Axe Library Balkans Room (OSC) 105 Kelce 121 Kelce 105 Kelce

Life at PSU Student Success Break Axe Library Resources Lunch Advisement and GUS Break Introduction to OIS (Office of Information Services) Getting Started with Canvas (Learning Management System) Debrief and Adjourn

Dr. Shirley Drew Triplett
University Professor, Communication sdrew@pittstate.edu, x4726

Dr. Lynette Olson
Provost & VP for Academic Affairs lolson@pittstate.edu, x4113

Robert Lindsey
Associate Professor, Instruction/Reference Librarian rlindsey@pittstate.edu, x4887

Heather Eckstein
Director of First-Year Programs heckstein@pittstate.edu, x4265

Angela Neria, Chief Information Officer
aneria@pittstate.edu, x4603 Becky Qualls, Information Technology Training Facilitator, rqualls@pittstate.edu, x4603

3:15-4:15 4:15-4:30

105 Kelce 105 Kelce

Dr. Brenda Frieden Susan Dellasega, Instructional Designer, CTLT
sdellasega@pittstate.edu, x4270

Dr. Brenda Frieden

New Faculty Orientation Tuesday, August 14, 2012 Time 8:30-9:00 Location Governors Room Topic Gorilla Breakfast Provost’s Leadership Council Introduction to the Day Human Resource Services Break Tilford Group: Diversity and Multiculturalism Presenter(s) Dr. Lynette Olson

Overman Student Center Welcome and introduction of the

9:00-9:15 9:15-10:15 10:15-10:30 10:30-11:00 11:00-12:30 12:30-1:00 1:00-1:15 1:15-1:30 1:30-2:15

Governors Room Governors Room Governors Room Governors Room

Dr. Brenda Frieden Debbie Amershek
Assistant Director, Human Resource Services damershek@pittstate.edu, x4187

David Adams
Assistant Director, Campus Activities dadams@pittstate.edu, x4905

Walking Tour of Campus Resources Balkans Room (OSC) Lunch Balkans Room (OSC) So, You’re a College Professor

See itinerary in packet Dr. Julie Samuels
Program Coordinator, T&L/Associate Professor jsamuels@pittstate.edu, x4183

Governors Room

Break HLC (Higher Learning Commission) Dr. Jan Smith, Spec. Asst. to the Provost/Professor, Psych & Counseling, jsmith@pittstate.edu, x4537 Accreditation and Assessment of Dr. Bobby Winters, Asst. Dean/Univ. Professor, Student Learning
College of A&S, winters@pittstate.edu, x4079 Dr. Lynn Murray, Associate Professor, Management & Mktg., lmurray@pittstate.edu, x4586 Dr. Don Judd, Professor, English, djudd@pittstate.edu, x4697

2:15-2:30 2:30-4:00

2:30-3:45 4:00-4:30

Board bus for tour Depart from north side of Overman Student Center 332A Hartman Hall 332A Hartman Hall

Break Campus Bus Tour

Treva Sherman
Administrative Specialist, CTLT tsherman@pittstate.edu, x4840

Special Session for Mentors Only Wrap-up and Q&A

Dr. Lynette Olson Dr. Lynette Olson & Dr. Frieden