Done by: Hind Al-Suwais


Umrah or (Arabic: ‫عمرة‬‎ is a ) pilgrimage to Mecca, Saudi Arabia, performed by Muslims that can be undertaken at any time of the year. the Sharia, Umrah means to perform Tawaf round the Kaaba and Sa'i between Al-Safa and AlMarwah, after assuming Ihram.


Pillars of ‘Umrah




The Mawaqeet
 Mawaqeet

is the plural of Meeqat. They are specific places on the way to Makkah, which a Pilgrim intending ‘Umrah cannot cross without assuming Ihram for ‘Umrah (see the map below).  The five Mawaqeet:  Medina- Dhul Huiaifa  Sham- Al-Juhfa  Najd- Qarn-al-Manazil  Yemen- Yalamlam  Iraq- Dhat Irq

The Ihram
 Ihram

means: The intention to perform ‘Umrah.  A Pilgrim should not pass the Migat without entering the state of Ihram.

Tawaf Umrah
Perform a tawaf, which consists of circling the Kaaba seven times in an anticlockwise direction.

Saie Umrah
 Perform

a sa'i "‫ ,"سعي‬which means rapidly walking seven times back and forth between the hills of Safa and Marwah.

 Perform

a halq or taqsir, meaning a cutting of the hair. A taqsir is a partial shortening of the hair, whereas a halq is a complete shave of the head, except for women, as they cut a little amount of hair instead.

Maqam Ibrahim
 The

Maqam Ibrahim ("Abraham's place of standing") is a rock kept in a crystal dome next to the Ka‘bah. made ‫ه‬it by Abraham when he was lifting stone blocks to build the Ka‘bah.

Zamzam Well
it is a miraculously-generated source of water from God, which began thousands of years ago when Abraham’s infant son Ishmael was thirsty and kept crying for water. Millions of pilgrims visit the well each year while performing the Hajj or Umrah pilgrimages, in order to drink its water.

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful