1 A

4.1 A



Seven cities of Delhi 1303 1321 1354 1533 A journey in time…

4.1 B 4.1 C 4.1 D 4.1 E 4.1 F 4.1 G

As many as seven cities evolved in the region collectively known as Dilli/Delhi. New Delhi was the eighth city founded by the Britishers. Favorable location of Delhi made it a capital of many Emperors. • • • Converging point of trade routes from Lahore, Ajmer, and Patna. Fertile flood plains of river Yamuna. Protection of Aravali Ridge on the west.

Seven cities of Delhi:

Lal-Kot (1060) founded by Anang Pal II Siri (1303) founded by Alaudin Khilji Tughluqabad (1321) founded by Ghiyasud-din Tughlaq Purana Quila (1533) founded by Humayun Firuzabad ( 1354) founded by Firuz Shah Tughlaq Purana Quila (1533) founded by Humayun 1| Delhi Traditional 4.1

Shahjahanabad (1639) founded by Shahjahan

• Walls were 8 kms long. Hauz-i-Shamsi being the most prominent.1 A 4. 2005) 1| Delhi Traditional 4.6 kms with a population of 5-6000 people.1 18571911 1911… Seven cities of Delhi : Lal Kot 1303 1321 1354 1533 . • A heterogeneous population including bazaars and public spaces. known as Qila Rai Pithora.1 C 4.1 F 4.1 A 1060 1060 INITIAL SETTLEMENT Anang Pal II built the strongly fortified town of Lal Kot some ten kilometres away from Suraj Kund (built by earlier Tomar Ruler) on a more prominent and easily defended hillock.1 G 4. Prithvi Raj Chauhan III further increased the size of Lal-Kot. Original wall of Lal-Kot were 3.4.1 E 4. LATER Chauhans captured Delhi from the Tomars in mid 12th century. • Stratified residential spaces. • Had several gates and many structures including a Temple. (intach.1 D 4.1 B 4. • City extended four times.

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful