You are on page 1of 532

La Arquitectura

de la

ANTIGUA GUATEMALA
1543-1773

9 6

9 4"

9 2*

9 0

6 6

8 4

8 2

aO

7 8"

7 6

GOLFO DE HONDURAS

GUATEMALA
ANTIGU/^ N^GU/''^^^^^^*^* 1-^^
^

OCANO

PACIFICO

La CIUDADde

SANTIAGO

de los

CABALLEROS

de

GUATEMALA

ANTIGUA GUATEMALA
1543-1T73

a/

ODIL G RIO PENSATIVO


f

H C
I

CAMPOSECO
NACHO AN lEBAiTlAh

to
C.

La Arquitectura de

la

The

Architecture of

ANTIGUA GUATEMALA
1543-1773

Bilingual

Edition

Edicin bilinge

Digitized by the Internet Archive


in

2011 with funding from

Universidad Francisco IVIarroqun

http://www.archive.org/details/laarquitdantOOanniguat

Antigua and the Valley of Panchoy from Manchen Hill Antigua y el Valle de Panchoy desde el Cerro del Manchen

La Arquitectura de

la

ANTIGUA GUATEMALA
1543
-

1773

por

Verle L. Annis

Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala


EDITORIAL UNIVERSITARIA

1968

Copyright 1968 by Verle L. Annis


All rights reserved. Except for brief quotations for the purpose of reviews, no part of this publication may be reproduced without written permission of the author.

Reservados sin excepcin todos


es ]3ropiedad exclusiva del autor.

los derechos. Esta

obra

Prohibido

citar, repro-

ducir o copiar cualquiera parte de esta obra, excepto para comentario y reseia bibliogrficas, sin el permiso expreso del autor.

Entirely manufactured in the

United States of America


Library of Congress Catalog Card

Number

68-9846

TO

MY

WIFE

A MI ESPOSA

INTRODUCCIN

el otoo de 1935, en un viaje de reconocimiento al sudoeste de Estados Unidos, pasamos varios meses en Santa Fe. Nuevo Mxico. Con el humanista erudito y bien conocido arquelogo, el finado Dr. Edgar Lee Hewett, en acjuella poca director del Museo de Nuevo Mxico, discutimos la importancia de investigar no slo el pasado precolombiano de Amrica, sino tambin la cultura de los siglos hispnicos en las mismas regiones. El recomend a Verle L. Annis. joven catedrtico de Arcjuitectura en la Universidad de California del Sur. en Los Angeles, por su inters en la misma materia y sugiri (ue le viramos. El Sr. Annis haba participado en 1934 y 1935 como vice director con el Dr. Hewett en reconocimientos de sitios importantes en Ciuatemala y en el Peni, los cuales incluyeron la poca anjueolgica y la colonial, y haba de continuar este estudio en Mxico al ao siguiente. Ya haba iniciado su trabajo de investigacin sobre la materia de este libro, y nos sorprendi la cantidad de datos y fotografas c]ue ya tena en su archivo. Aunque, a causa de su proximidad a los Estados Unidos, se han producido muchos libros sobre Mxico en todos sus varios perodos, cuando se trata de Guatemala, slo los grandes tesoros arqueolgicos han recibido la atencin cjue merecen. Se ha notado poco el pintoresco barroco que result de la fusin de influencias europeas con los talemos del indgena. Sin embargo, lo mismo (jue las grandes ciudades antiguas de Guatemala Kaminaljuyii, Uaxactn, Piedras Negras, Quirigu, Tikal suena cada una su propio instrumento en la or(]uesta de la

En

los

Amrica precolombiana, la Antigua Guatemala tambin tiene su meloda individual. Su importancia sin igual, sea para el turista o el estudio.so. resulta del hecho que cuando el devastador terremoto de 1773 caus el
traslado de la capital por los funcionarios coloniales a
la

Nueva Guate-

mala, los edificios arruinados de la Antigua quedaron descuidados y sin reparacin, y as representan el aspecto de una capital colonial en la segunda mitad del siglo XVIII. Slo Cuzco en el Per era comparable, mostrando hasta recientemente la apariencia de una ciudad colonial del siglo XVII. Pero la capital andina sufri gran dao en el terremoto de 1950, y la restauracin evoca, en algunos lugares, la visin de una ciudad espaola ms que de una hispanoamericana. En la preparacin de este libro, Verle Annis ha pasado mucho tiempo trabajando en los archivos de Guatemala y de Espaa. Sus temporadas en Guatemala no eran cortos viajes de verano sino largas estancias a veces por un ao entero, cuando pudo ausentarse de sus deberes ac-

dmicos. Sus estudios in sitii datan desde 1934 y suman unos sesenta meses en totalidad. Desde 1957, cuando se hizo dueo de una casa en la Antigua, pasa una parte de cada ao all. El mismo dibuj los planos acotados, notando cambios y reconstrucciones durante su estudio personal de los edificios. Hizo ms de seis mil fotografas en blanco y negro y varios miles en colores. Esta clase de intimidad con la materia es lo que da a este libro su calidad sobresaliente es ima obra original que slo la larga observacin y los muchos aos de familiaridad podran
producir. La idea de hacer de la Antigua Monumento Nacional fue suya, y l hizo mucho del trabajo necesario para realizarlo. Las sugestiones hechas por el Profesor Annis fueron incorporadas en la ley para la preservacin, decretada en 1944. El Dr. Wilson Popenoe, botnico famoso, cuya casa en la Antigua es renombrada, saba del inters del finado embajador Boaz Long en la cultura de los pases donde representaba a su patria y le haba informado sobre el trabajo del Sr. Annis. Luego, el emoajador Long, interesado desde haca tiempo en la Antigua y enterado de la urgencia de preservarla, haba actuado como intermediario con el

gobierno de Guatemala.
El autor no se ha extendido en prrafos pomposos de descripciones, cuando una fotografa excelente o un plano acotado exacto dice mucho ms que un mundo de anotaciones al pie de la pgina. Aqu, con entusiasmo y la autoridad que viene de la investigacin intensiva, habla un experto, quien por viajes extensos en Europa e Hispanoamrica, ha desarrollado una habilidad de ver lo sobresaliente y la mejor manera de presentarlo. No se ha dado nfasis indebido a im monumento u otro.

Vemos
los

las mansiones, los colegios, la universidad, las moradas, as como establecimientos religiosos, y muchos detalles que presentan la ciudad colonial completa en sus tres dimensiones. El autor, ahora catedrtico emrito de la Universidad de California

del Sur, ha recibido varios honores por su trabajo abnegado. Pero el

honor que ms ilumina su obra es el libro mismo, al que el generoso apoyo de la Universidad de San Carlos y el gobierno de Guatemala, en la edicin bilinge, otorga su aprobacin oficial. Aqu, pues, est una documentacin positiva, escrita con claridad por un sabio que es el primer investigador y a la vez la mxima autoridad en todo lo que se refiere a ese singular museo al aire libre: la Antigua, Guatemala.
Pal

Kelemen

Norfolk, Connecticut Diciembre de 1967

American Art, Baroque and Rococ in Latin America)


(autor de Medieval

FOREWORD

our Southwest, we spent Mxico. W'ith the erudite humanist late Edgar Lee Hewett, at that time director of the Museum of Xew Mxico, we discussed the importance of investigating not only the pre-Coluinbian past of the Americas. but also the culture of the Hispanic centuries on the same groimd. He recommcnded Verle L. Aimis. a young professor of architecture at the University of Southern California. Los Angeles, as one who was interested in the same field. and suggested that we see him. Annis had taken part in 1934 and 1935 as assistant director to Dr. Hewett in survcys of important sites in Guatemala and Per, covering both the archaeological and the colonial epochs, and he was to continu
In the
of 1935,

autumn

on

a survey trip to

scveral

months

in Santa Fe,

New

and widely known archaeologist, the

work in Mxico the following year. He had alrcady started his reon the subject of the prcsent book and surprised us with the amount of data and photographs which Avere cven then in his archive.
this

search

Although, bccausc of its proximity to the United States, many books have been produced about Mexico's various periods. about Guatemala due share has been given only to the grcat archaeological treasures. The picturesquc Baroque which grcw out of the blending of European influences and indigcnous talent was little noticed. However, just as the great pre-Columbian cities of Ciuatemala Kaminaljuy, Uaxactn, Piedras Negras, Quirigu. Tikal each soinids its own instrinnent in the orchestra of ancicnt America. Ciuatemala's Antigua also has its individual melody. Its unicjue importance. whether for sightseer or for
scholar, lies in the fact that, when the devastating carthcjuake of 1773 caused the colonial authorities to removc their capital to what is now known as Guatemala City, the ruined buildings of Antigua were left uncared for and unrepaircd and thus rcpresent the aspcct of a colonial capital in the second half of the eighteenth century. Only Cuzco in Per was comparable, showing until recently how a seventeenth century

colonial city looked. But the Andean capital suffered great damage in the temblor of 1950, and the restoration evokes, in places, the visin of a Spanish rather than a Latin American city.

In preparing this book, Annis has worked for months in the archives in Spain. His visits to Guatemala were not fleeting summer jaunts but long stays for as much as a year at a time when he could free himself from academic duties. His studies in situ date from 1934 and amount to some sixty months altogether. Since 1957, as the owner of a home in Antigua, he spends part of every year there. He executed the measured drawings himself, noting changes and reconin

Guatemala and

struction from personal study of the buildings, and took some 6000 photographs in black and white and several thousand in color. This is the kind of intimacy with the subject which gives this book its outstanding quality it is an original work that only long observation and many years of acquaintance could bring forth. The idea originated with him, and much of the work was done by

hini, to have Antigua declared a National Monument; and in the wording of the law, decreed in 1944, he had a large part. Dr. Wilson Popenoe, noted plant biologist, whose house in Antigua is famous, knew of the late Ambassador Boaz Long's interest in the culture of the countries

where he represented this nation and had apprised him of Verle Annis' work. Then Ambassador Long, already much interested in Antigua and aware of the urgency of its preservation, had acted as intermediary with the Guatemalan government. The author has not wasted pompous paragraphs on description where an excellent photograph or precise drawing tells much more than a pile of footnotes. Here, with enthusiasm and the authority of intensive research, an expert speaks who, through travels in Europe and Latin America, has developed an eye for the salient and how it should be presented. No undue emphasis is given to one or another monument.
see the mansions, the schools, the dwellings, as well as religious establishments, and many details that bring the entire colonial city into three-dimensionality.

We

Various honors have accrued to the author, now Professor Emeritus of Architecture at the University of Southern California, for his self-

But the honor which best illuminates his performance the book itself, to which the generous support of the University of San Carlos and the Government of Guatemala, in the bilingual edition, gives official status. Here then is an authoritative record, lucidly written, by a scholar who is pioneer and at the same time doyen of all that refers to that unique open-air museum Antigua Guatemala.
sacrificing work.
is

Pal

Kelemen

Norfolk, Connecticut December 1967

Medieval American Art, Baroque and Rococ in Latin America)


{a.uthor o

PROLOGO

El objeto de este libro es presentar una documentacin de la arquitectura colonial de la Antigua, y dar un relato autntico de lo qtie aun
histrica, despus de ms de un siglo y medio de descuido y maltrato. Esto debi haberse hecho veinte aos antes de que yo principiara mi trabajo en 1934, antes de que se acelerara el ritmo de los cambios, pues se vea claramente durante mi primera visita a la ciudad, que el hombre y la naturaleza estaban destruyendo rpidamente lo que aun quedaba de ella. En un libro como ste, no hay razn para dedicar una parte extensa del texto al fondo histrico, sea poltico, religioso, econmico, sociolgico o geogrfico. Aunque muchos factores influyen en la arquitectura, no son ellos la materia de este estudio. Mucho tiempo se ha pasado en los archivos y las bibliotecas documentando el texto, pero de mucho ms valor son las ilustraciones. Por medio de dibujos acotados y fotografas, es posible presentar una completa seccin transversal de la Antigua en el pice de su desarrollo en el siglo XVIII. Para hacer dibujos exactos de todas las fases de la arquitectura, que van desde planos de establecimientos eclesisticos grandiosos hasta luia extensa variedad de detalles tpicos, obviamente fue necesario seleccionar con mucho cuidado. Pero se hizo un gran esfuerzo para incluir edificios de importancia histrica y fbricas y detalles de inters caracterstico o distintivo. Se ha usado la cmara para aumentar esta documentacin, porque cree el autor que una sola representacin visual vale ms que una cantidad de descripciones prolijas. Fue necesario escoger entre una presentacin de descripciones detalladas y largas, que resultaran en repeticin sin fin, y pormenores triviales, o relatar slo datos significativos que se relacionan con las materias ilustradas. Para comunicar arquitectnicamente, sea a los profesionales o a los legos, es preferible y confunde

queda de una ciudad

menos

este sistema.
es posible acercarse a la arquitectura

de la Antigua de la manera acostumbrada. En Mxico es fcil hablar en trminos de construccin del siglo XVI, XVII o XVIII; y stos pueden a su vez dividirse en perodos iniciales, intermedios o finales de cada uno. O aun se puede identificar los estilos' como el franciscano temprano, o versiones mexicanas del renacentista, del barroco y del churrigueresco. Los mismos perodos contemporneos en la Antigua no se definen claramente. Durante los doscientos treinta aos de su historia, la Antigua fue vctima repetidas veces de daos causados por los terremotos. La construccin, la reconstruccin, la renovacin y las reparaciones menores eran constantemente hechas, y ocurrieron con mayor o menor frecuencia

No

hasta el traslado del gobierno real a la 1773. Han tratado algunos autores de clasificar las fbricas que actualmente existen o de fecharlas, pero para hacerlo correctamente, hay que especificar cul parte pertenece a cada perodo. Poco (jueda intacto de los primeros aos, aun cuando la cons-

desde

la

mitad del

siglo

XVI

Nueva Guatemala, despus de

truccin posterior haya tenido poco efecto en el plano del edificio o en su masa arquitectnica. Aun las que se construyeron en los liltimos perodos no se pueden clasificar de un 'estilo' especfico. Por ejemplo, en realidad no hay churrigueresco en la Antigua, aunque han empleado algunos escritores este como una clasificacin o rtulo que lo abarca todo. Es posible que se vea en el ataurique puesto sobre formas renacentistas o barrocas el llamado plateresco de Mxico, pero no es de verdadera significacin tal nominacin. Cualquier esfuerzo de analizar y de clasificar es de importancia secundaria. Lo importante es que la Antigua es nica e impresionante: un monumental museo creado por un terremoto catastrfico el 29 de julio de 1773, y que desde todas las consideraciones, merece documentarse visualmente. Su arquitectura es verdaderamente colonial, distintivamente guatemalteca y uniformemente interesante desde su ruina monstica ms grande, hasta sus apenas advertidas ventanas de esquina y sus chimeneas nicas. Se ha planeado la forma de esta presentacin para conseguir un mximo de simplicidad y referencia fcil. La arquitectura de la Antigua se confunde si es tratada por perodos, especialmente cuando se mezclan temas eclesisticos con los civiles. Por eso, en este libro la materia se divide en categoras claramente definidas y, cuando posible, los edificios dentro de cada categora se dan en el orden de su fundacin, puesto que no es posible identificar ningn edificio ya existente en su totalidad por una fecha de construccin. Esta manera de arreglar la materia facilita el hacer comparaciones entre diferentes edificios o detalles que tienen funciones semejantes. Tambin presenta la vista total del carcter arquitectnico sin duplicacin excesiva. El texto reducido se halla coordinado estrechamente con la representacin pictrica de cada tema. As presenta datos esenciales y fcil-

examinar descripciones prolijas autor aos a estudiar en las bibliotecas y los archivos lo escrito sobre la Antigua. Entre los cronistas y tambin los historiadores ms recientes, se hallan muchos datos contradictorios. En el texto de este libro se han sealado algimas de estas contradicciones, pero principalmente el propsito del autor es dar tales fechas y datos (jue se hallan substanciaclos por los documentos oficiales y los obtenidos, siempre que fue posible, de fuentes originales. Para reducir el texto a este mnimo, ha sido preciso omitir las opiniones o citas de la mayor parte de los escritores contemporneos. Las opiniones y conclusiones, cuando necesarias, han resultado de las investigaciones personales del autor y se basan en casi medio siglo de estudios arquitecsin forzar al lector a

mente asimilados,

en reas mltiples.

Ha

dedicado

el

tnicos.

Todas las fotografas, planos y dibujos son originales, hechos exclusivamente por el autor, siendo la nica excepcin, un diseo comparativo que se public en 1888 y que muestra la fachada de la iglesia de San Francisco como se encontraba en aquella fecha. Se han escogido las fotografas de una coleccin de ms de seis mil, y se han seleccionado vistas generales y detalles por su valor documental. Se hicieron los planos y dibujos meticulosamente, y antes de hacer los planos, se midieron las fbricas con gran cuidado para mostrar exactamente lo que queda de los edificios originales. Sealemos que stos no son simples croquis ni aproximaciones de estos edificios. Se elimin toda conjetura en el trabajo de medir los propios edificios y en la mesa de dibujo. Los
dibujos finales fueron hechos en escala grande con igual atencin a la exactitud de todos los detalles. Se terminaron en la Antigua, donde fue
posible verificar constantemente su exactitud.

Mi inters en la Antigua data de 1931. En aquel ao el finado Dr. Edgar Lee Hewett, presidente de las Escuelas de Investigaciones Americanas del Instituto Arqueolgico de Amrica, me sugiri que la Antigua mereca estudio detallado. Haba visitado frecuentemente la Antigua durante los aos que dirigi las primeras excavaciones en Quirigu, Guatemala. El Dr. Hewett me dijo que mi educacin en la arquitectura y mis experiencias en investigar la arquitectura colonial
de Norte Amrica y la hispanoamericana de Mxico y California, me haban dado un fondo excelente para un estudio significativo de la Antigua. En 1934 le acompa a Guatemala, donde mi estudio de la Antigua empez bajo su direccin. Del trabajo de ese verano resultaron ms de mil quinientas fotografas y algunos dibujos preliminares. Los dos veranos siguientes se dedicaron a hacer estudios comparativos y reconocimientos fotogrficos en las regiones histricas del Peni y de Mxico. En 1938, ocho meses enteros fueron pasados en la Antigua. Emprend en serio el trabajo de hacer dibujos acotados y detallados para ima documentacin histrica y aument inmensamente el archivo fotogrfico. Se termin la serie mayor de planos y dibujos antes de que la segunda guerra mimdial interrumpiera esta obra. En 1943, el embajador Boaz Long me escribi de Guatemala, pidindome sugerencias en lo tocante a la conservacin de los edificios histricos de la Antigua. En una serie de cartas le indiqu lo que se deba hacer, y aad la sugestin que deba declararse a la Antigua Monumento Nacional. Mi informe fue presentado por el embajador Long al presidente. General Jorge Ubico, y fue aprobado y recomendado al Congreso de Guatemala sin tardar. El decreto niimero 2772. del 30 de marzo de 1944, declar Monumento Nacional a la ciudad de la .Antigua, y la ley tocante a la preservacin de los rasgos caractersticos del perodo colonial, incluy los pinitos contenidos en mi informe. A peticin del gobierno de Guatemala y del Departamento de Estado norteamericano, me concedi la Universidad de California del Sur, un ao de ausencia a fin de (]ue volviera yo a Guatemala, para ayudar a llevar a cabo el programa para conservar la herencia de la Antigua. Acreditado ante la Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala, como catedrtico-visitante, pude dedicar el ao entero de 1945 a estos deberes agradables y a continuar mi propio programa de docmncntacin. Durante este perodo y en 1946, fue terminada la investigacin grfica. Mi posicin como consultante me proporcion acceso ilimitado a todos los edificios, y me dio la oportunidad de identificar la construccin verdaderamente antigua antes de tjue la obscureciera cual(|uier obra de conservacin. Esto fue imposible para investigadores posteriores, quienes hicieron estudios ms superficiales, en los cuales no lograron distinguir detalles que eran ms patentes, antes de que se limpiaran de escombros las ruinas y se iniciaran medidas para la conservacin. Por eso, las fotografas y los dibujos hechos antes de 1945, constituyen una autntica documentacin de suma importancia de edificios (ue, posteriormente, fueron cambiados o destruidos. Una beca de la Fundacin del Amo en 1954, se dedic a una bsqueda por toda Espaa tras los antecedentes de las peculiaridades arquitectnicas distintivas de la Antigua y la consulta de los archivos de Sevilla y Simancas. Ms recientemente se hicieron otros amplios estudios en Espaa y en Portugal. En los aos de intervalo las investigaciones han continuado y se han hecho ms fotografas en la Antigua, en donde poseemos una casa. La bibliografa incluida se ha usado extensamente para referencias. Es bastante general para ser suficientemente inclusiva para estudios adicionales de la Antigua colonial. Pero la naturaleza de este libro no exige una repeticin excesiva de esta materia. Lo que se encuentra disponible es muy voluminoso para volver a escribirlo en este libro y no

consecuente con el propsito del autor, como ya se ha dicho. Durante un tercio de siglo muchos individuos han ayudado al autor, de una manera u otra, en la coleccin y preparacin de la materia usada en este libro. Mi agradecimiento sincero ha sido expresado personalsera

mente;

sera imposible

nombrar

a todos aqu,

muy

especialmente

al

grupo numeroso que me ayud tan amablemente durante mis largas temporadas en la Antigua, antes y despus de la segunda guerra mundel gobierno y vecinos interesay de la Antigua. No podra dejar de mencionar a los que siguen c|ue contribuyeron de una manera extraordinaria. El Dr. Wilson Popenoe fue uno de los primeros que se interesaron en mi trabajo y ayud mucho en ponerme en contacto con los funcionarios en 1943. l Sr. Rafael de la Hoz Zepeda, Director del Museo Colonial de la Antigua, ha sido ms que generoso con sus conocimientos y su ayuda en buscar datos histricos por muchos aos. El Licenciado Edmundo Vsquez Martnez, rector de la Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala y el anterior rector Ingeniero Jorge Arias de Blois, han apoyado con entusiasmo los planes para la publicacin, que fueron preparados bajo la direccin del Licenciado Guillermo Putzeys A., Director del Departamento de Publicidad de la Universidad. El Arquitecto Roberto ycinena Echeverra y el Licenciado Luis Lujan Muoz, Director del Museo Arqueolgico de Guatemala, los dos catedrticos de la Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala, fueron responsables por mis contactos ms recientes con los administradores de la Universidad y fueron consultados sobre todas las fases del texto. Al Licenciado Luis Lujan Muoz le corresponden el crdito y agradecimiento por la versin final del texto espaol y correccin de las pruebas, con la colaboracin del Sr. Carlos Zipfel y Garca. Fue de gran estmulo el intercambio de pareceres y conclusiones tocante al
dial, entre ellos

muchos funcionarios

dos de

la capital

Capuchinas con el Licenciado Jorge Lujan Muoz. debemos gran aprecio y agradecimiento al Sr. Eugenio Fundacin del Amo por su inters y ayuda. Tambin en California varios amigos eruditos han ayudado de manera inestimable, leyendo partes del manuscrito. Y con sus conocimientos tcnicos y consejos constructivos, el Sr. James R. Powell nos ha guiado con gran paciencia por las etapas finales de la publicacin. A Pal Kelemen, distinguido escritor y autoridad en el arte y la arquitectura de Hispanoamrica, le debo aun ms. De nuestro inters
convento de
las

En

California
la

Cabrero y

la arqueologa y la arquitectura de Amrica, naci nuestra amistad hace ms de treinta aos. El entusiasmo y constante incentivo de Pal y Elisabeth Kelemen mantuvieron vivo mi plan para este libro, a pesar de interrupciones y demoras. Su confianza en lo que yo haca no se deba slo a la amistad; se basaba en sus conocimientos de la Antigua y un deseo de ver publicado el resultado de mi trabajo. Pero ms que a cualquier otra persona, es a mi seora, Elizabeth, a quien le corresponde la mayor parte del crdito para el texto en su forma final al que dedic tiempo y energa imposibles de relatar. Su dominio del castellano ha sido de valor inestimable en la verificacin de datos, en leer intensamente durante largos perodos los documentos en los archivos, los antiguos cronistas y los historiadores ms modernos, adems de traducir, corregir pruebas y otras contribuciones innumerables. Con bien pensadas crticas, sugestiones constructivas y una facultad excepcional en percibir o recordar discrepancias en un montn de datos acumulados, ella ha hecho posible el reducir el contenido del texto al estado actual. Habindose doctorado en la Universidad de San Marcos en Lima, Per, y estudiado despus en la Universidad de Madrid en Espaa, tiene todos los requisitos de investigadora y colaboradora. Estas calidades, unidas a nuestro inters mutuo por la Antigua y todos los aspectos de la cultura hispnica, han hecho posible una colaboracin firme para este proyecto, en todas las etapas de su desarrollo.

mutuo en

Laguna Beach, California


Julio de 1967

^^'^^ L. Annis

PREFACE

The objective of this publication is to present a documentary of Antigua's colonial architecture, and to give an authentic account of what reniains of an historie city after more than a century and a half of ncglect and abuse. This should have been done twenty years before niy work began in 1934, before the tempo of change started. for it was plainly apparent on my first visit that both man and natiire were rapidly destroying what remained at that time. In such a book thcre is no reason to devotc an extensive part of the text to the historical background, whcther it be political, religious. economic. sociological or geographical. Although many factors infliience architecture, these are not the theme of niy study. Much time has been spent in archives and librarles documenting the text, but the illustrations are of greater valu. Ibrougb the medimn of mcasured chawings and photographs it is possible to present a complete cross section of Antigua at the height of its grovvth in the eighteenth century. Accurate drawings of all phases of architecture, from grandiosc plans down to a wide variety of typical details, obviously required selectivity, but there was a definite effort made to record both buildings of historie importance and those structures and details of characterislic distinctive interest. The camera has been used to expand this documentation in the belief that a single visual record is worth more than a considerable quantity of wordy descriptions. A choice had to be made between writing an exhaustive text of detailed analysis and architectural disscction, which always residts in endless repetition and useless trivia, or to record

only factual material pertinent to the subjects to be illustrated. For architectural connniniication. to both iaymen and professionals, ilic lat-

approach was deemed preferable and less confusing. Ihe architecture of Antigua can not be approached in the customary manner. In Mxico it is easy to speak in terms of sixteenth, seventeenth or eighteenth century construction, which in turn can be broken down into early, middle and late periods of each century. or even loosely identify "styles'" by such labels as Early Franciscan or the Mexican versions of Renaissance, Baro(jue and Churriguerescjue. Fhe same contemporary periods in Antigua are not clearly defined. In the two hundred and thirty years of its history Antigua was the repeated victim of earthcjuake damage. Construction, reconstruction, renovation and minor repairs were the rule and occurred in varying degrees from the middle of the sixteenth century until the removal of the royal government to \ew Guatemala after 1773. Some authors have tried to label the existing structures, or to date them, but to do so
ler

correctly one must desgnate which part belongs to what period. Little remains intact from the earlier years even though later construction may have had little effect on either the building's plan or its architectural mass.

Even those

built in the later periods fail to qualify for a

specific "style" classification.

instance, although

One might

see in

There really is no Churrigueresque, for some writers have used this as an all-inclusive label. the plaster ornamentation on Renaissance or Baroque

forms the so-called Plateresque of Mxico, but such nomenclatnre is of no real significance. Any effort devoted to analysis and classification is of secondary importance. What is important is that Antigua is unique and impressive; it provides a monumental museum, created by a catastrophic carthquake on July 29, 1773, which is worthy of record in every respect. Its architecture is truly colonial, distinctly Guatemalan, and uniformly interesting from its largest monastic ruin to its scarcely noticed crner Windows and its unique chimneys. The format of my prescntation has been planned for the mximum of simplicity and easy reference. Antigua's architecture becomes confused if treated by periods, especially when religious and civil subjects are intermingled. Therefore, this book is divided into clearly defined categories and, where possible, the subjects within each category are given in the order of their foundation since there is no way that any existing building can be identified in its entirety by a construction date. This arrangement makes it possible to readily compare buildings, or details, which have similar functions. It also presents the total picture of architectural character without excessive duplication. The abbreviated text is closely coordinated with the pictorial prescntation of each subject. This gives the essential and easily assimilated data without forcing the reader to scarch through long descriptions in mltiple reas. The author has completed years of study, combing through material in librarles and archives. There is considerable conflict of data among both chroniclers and more recent historians. Some of these conflicts are referred to in the text, but primarily the intent of the author is to give such dates and facts as are established by documents and obtaincd from original sources whenever possible. To reduce the text to a mnimum in volume it was necessary to elimnate opinions, or tjuotes, from most of the contemporary writers. Opinions and conclusions, where needed, have been resolved from personal investigations and are based on nearly half a century of architectural study. All photographs and drawings are the product of the author's own work, with the exception of one comparative sketch, published in 1888, showing the fa^ade of San Francisco Church as it was then. The photographs have been selected from a study file of more than six thousand, and both general views and details have been chosen for their documentary valu. The drawings were meticulously made, and the plans were surveyed with great care to show exactly what remains of original structures. It is to be noted that these are not sketches, or approximations, of these buildings. All conjecture was eliminated in both field work and on the drafting board. The final drawings were made at large scale with equal attention to exactness of detall. They were finished in Antigua where it was possible to verify constantly their accuracy.

My interest in Antigua dates from 1931. In that year the late Dr. Edgar Lee Hewett, President of the Schools of American Research of the Archaeological InstitvUe of America, proposed to me that Antigua merited detailed study. He had frequently visited Antigua during the years when he directed the first archaeological excavations at Quirigu, Guatemala. Dr. Hewett suggested that my education in architecture and my experience and research in both American colonial architecture and the Spanish colonial of Mxico and California had given me an excellent background for a significant study of Antigua. In 1934 I accompanied him to Guatemala where my research began under his auspices.

More than

fifteen

ings resulted from that

were spent in and the related expansin of photographic records. In 1938 eight months were spent in Antigua. The serious work of making detailed drawings for an historie record was undertaken and the photographic file was immensely increased. The major series of drawings was completed before W'orld W^ar II interrupted this work. In 1943 Ambassador Boaz Long wrote from Guatemala asking for
suggestions relative to the preservation of the historie structures of Antigua. In a series of letters I outlined what should be done and added the suggestion that Antigua should be made a National Monimient. composite of my report was presented by the Ambassador to the President, General Jorge Ubico, and it was approved and recommended to the Congress of Guatemala without delay. Decree 2772 of March 30, 1944 declared the City of Antigua a National Monument. and the law pertaining to the preservation of characteristic features of the colonial period included the items contained in my outline. At the request of the Guatemalan Government, and the State Department of the United States, the University of Southern California granted me a year's leave of absence in order that I might return to Antigua to help implement the program for the preservation of its heritage. Accredited to the University of San Carlos of Guatemala as a visiting professor, I was able to devote the entire year of 1945 to these

hundred photographs and some preliminary drawsummcr's work. The following two summers comparative study of historie reas of Per and Mxico,

pleasant duties and to continu my own interrupted doctnnentation During this period, and in 1946, the graphic survey was completed. My position as a consultant provided easy access to all of the od buildings and afforded me the opporttniity to identify aiuhentic historical construction before any preservation work obscmed it. This was impossible for later researchers who made more superficial studies in which they failed to distinguish details that were apparent before the
project.

ruins were cleared of debris and preservation measures initiated. Thus the photographic record and drawings made prior to 1945 constitute an authentic record of considerable importance concerning buildings which subsequently were altered or destroyed. A grant from the Del Amo Foundation in 1954 was devoted to a search throughout Spain for historical precedents of Antiguas distinctive architectural peculiaritics and the consultation of the archives of Sevilla and Simancas. More recently. further study in Spain and Portu-

was completed. In the intervening years research and photography have been continued in Antigua where we maintain a home. A particular eFort has been made to avoid the frefjuent intcrmingling of Spanish words so commonly found in some books. Occasionally there may not be a word with the exact equivalent in English, but I have tried to avoid the error made by some writers who use a common Spanish designation which does not have the same architectural translation in both languages. Until recently, for example, the Spanish "convento" or "monasterio" was confusing to the non-Spanish speaking reader since they were generally employed exactly opposite
gal

their English usage.

The

writer

who

continually introduces

less

familiar

technical

and foreign words may

.satisfy his

own

ego, but fails to inform

his reader. Therefore, to avoid this error the occasional Spanish word is defined and italicized. The only exceptions are in the proper ames of persons or places, and the common titles for buildings such as Concepcin Convent, Las Capuchinas, El Calvario, San Juan del Obispo and

so on.

The bibliography has been used extensively for reference and is general enough to provide a wide coverage for a further study of colonial Antigua. But the nature of this book does not require any massive repetition of this source material. What is available is far too volumi-

nous

to

be rewritten in

this text,

and

it

would not be

consistent with

the author's objective as already stated. During a third of a century many individuis have aided the author in varying degrees with the collection and preparation of the material used in this book. My appreciation is sincere and has been expressed in person. To ame them all here would be impossible. This is particularly

true of the many who so graciously assisted me during my extended residences in Antigua before and after World War II. Among them were many government officials and interested citizens of the capital as well as of Antigua. Nevertheless, there are a few who have contributed to such a degree that their ames must be mentioned. Dr. Wilson Popenoe was one of the first to interest himself in my work and was largely instrumental in bringing me into a new and vital contact with officials in 1943. Sr. Rafael de la Hoz, director of the Colonial Museum in Antigua, has been

more than generous with


historical facts
tnez,

his

knowledge and

assistance in searching for

during many years. Licenciado Edmundo Vsquez MarRector of the University of San Carlos de Guatemala, and former Rector, Ingeniero Jorge Arias de Blois, have enthusiastically supported publication plans which were prepared under the guidance of Licenciado Guillermo Ptitzeys A., Director of the Department of Publicity. Architect Roberto Aycinena E. and Licenciado Luis Lujan Muoz, Director of the Archaeological Museum of Guatemala, both faculty members of the University of San Carlos, were responsible for more recent liaison with the university administration and were consulted on

and acknowledgment and correction of the proofs with Sr. Carlos Zipfel y Garcia's collaboration. The exchange of opinions and conclusions regarding the Capuchin convent with Licenciado Jorge Lujan Muoz was stimulating. In California we owe considerable appreciation and gratitude to Mr. Eugenio Cabrero and the Del Amo Foundation for timely interest and assistance.
all

phases of the text.

The

latter deserves credit

for the final versin of the Spanish text

Also in California several scholarly friends have given invaluable And with technical knowledge and constructive advice, Mr. James R. Powell has patiently guided US through the final stages of publication.
assistance by reading portions of the manuscript.

To Pal Kelemen, distinguished writer and authority on the art and architecture of Latin America, I am most deeply indebted. Our mutual interest in the archaeology and architecture of the Americas brought us into contact more than thirty years ago. The enthusiasm and repeated urging of Pal and Elisabeth Kelemen kept my plan for this book alive despite interruptions and delays. Their confidence in what I was doing was more than a matter of friendship; it was based on their knowledge of Antigua and a desire to see the restilt of my work published. But above all others it is my wife, Elizabeth, who deserves most of
all

the credit for the final text, to which she devoted time and energy beyond possibility of recording. Her extensive knowledge of Spanish has been invaluable in the cross-checking of facts, long periods of intensive reading of archive documents, early chroniclers and later historians, in addition to translation, proofreading and a myriad of other contributions.

With wise

criticism, constructive suggestions

ability in sensing, or

and an exceptional remembering, the discrepancies in a mountain of


it

accumulated data, she has made


text to
its

possible to reduce the content of this

Having earned her doctrate at the University of San Marcos in Per and subsequently studied in Madrid, Spain, she has all of the prerequisites of a researcher and collaborator. These qualities, combined with our mutual interest in Antigua and all aspects of
present
state.

stage of

Hispanic culture, have provided a partnership in its development.


Laguna Beach, California
July, 1967

this project at

every

Verle L. Annis

ndice de materias
Texto
Ilustraciones

Introduccin

ix

Prlogo
I

XV
1

II

III

SANTIAGO Y EL VALLE DE PANCHOY LA ARQUITECTURA DE LA ANTIGUA EDIFICIOS GUBERNATIVOS


El Palacio de los Capitanes Generales La Casa de Moneda Real Aduana El Ayuntamiento

5,

18

21

31

33.

35 36 37

39 33 43 45

IV

LA CATEDRAL Y EL PALACIO EPISCOPAL


La Catedral
La Casa del Sacristn El Palacio Episcopal
1

Mayor

49 53 54

55 66 73

LOS MONASTERIOS
Santo Domingo San Francisco
75 78 87 92 95 96 98 100 100 103 106
110 114 132 146 149
152 154 155 157 162 164

La Merced
La Compaa de Jess San Agustn San Juan de Dios San Pedro Apstol San Lzaro Beln La Recoleccin San Felipe Neri (Escuela de Cristo)
Estpites

VI

LOS CONVENTOS
La Concepcin
Santa Catalina Santa Teresa Santa Clara Las Capuchinas
165 166 168 169 173 182 190
191

193

202

VII

LAS IGLESIAS Y LAS ERMITAS


San Sebastin Los Remedios Candelaria Santa Rosa Santa Cruz
El Carmen El Calvario Va Crucis

207 208 210


211

213 215 217

San Jos el Viejo Jocotenango N. S. de los Dolores del Cerro N.S. de los Dolores del Llano

219
221

234 238 240 242 244 250 255 257 258


261

222 223

262

N. S. de los Dolores del Santa Luca El Espritu Santo La Santsima Trinidad


San Antonio Abad La Cruz del Milagro
Santa Ana Santa Isabel

Manchen

San Cristbal el Bajo San Juan del Obispo


Altares Coloniales

Cruces de Piedra

224 225 225 225 226 226 226 227 228 229 230 232
281

264 265 265 265 266 267 268 269 275 279

VIII

LA UNIVERSIDAD Y LOS COLEGIOS


Santo Toms de Aquino La Universidad de San Carlos El Seminario Tridentino El Colegio de Indios El Colegio de San Jernimo El Colegio de Doncellas

282 283 285 285 288 289 305 307 809


311 313

291

299
301 43

IX

LAS CASAS DE HABITACIN


La Casa de Chamorro Casa Popenoe Casa de Vsquez de Coronado y Ulloa La Casa de las Campanas La Casa de los Leones La Casa de Rodil La Casa del Ro Pensativo Casa pequea en la Calle Camposeco La Casa del To Nacho La Casa de la Calle San Sebastin
Ruinas

321

332 348
351

314 316 318 318 319 320 320

354 367 370 372 374 376 378

X DETALLES
Marcos de piedra de las puertas Puertas y los adornos de metal Repisas de piedra de las ventanas Rejas de hierro Rejas de madera Puertas de tableros
Artesonados Mudejares

379 380 380


381

394 399 404 408

Chimeneas
Fuentes
Plaza Real Plaza de la

Merced (San Francisco) Claustro de La Merced Santo Domingo Fragmentos de fuentes Las Clarisas Alameda del Calvario
Bcaros

382 382 383 384 386 387 387 388 388 389 390 390
391

414 422 430 432 435 435


127 140 112

Muebles

392

437 200 438 439 393, 443 455

APNDICE
BIBLIOGRAFA, NDICE DE NDICE INGLES

DOCUMENTOS

459 469

ndice ESPAOL

473

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Foreword
Preface
I

SANTIAGO AND THE VALLEY


OF PANCHOY ARCHITECTURE OF ANTIGUA
1

5,

18

II

21

30

III

GOVERNMENT BUILDINGS
Palace of the Captains General
31
33. 38

Royal Mint Royal Customshouse


City Hall

35 35 36

33 43 45

IV

CATHEDRAL AND EPISCOPAL PALACE


Cathedral

House

of the Chief Sacristn

Archbishop's Palace

49 53 53

55 66 73

MONASTERIES
Santo Domingo San Francisco
75 78 86
Jesi'is

110
114 132 146

La Merced La Compaa de

91

San Agustn San Juan de Dios San Pedro Apstol San Lzaro Beln Recoleccin San Felipe Neri (Escuela de Cristo)
Estpites

93 95 97 98 99
102 104

149
152 154 155 157 162

164

CONVENTS
Concepcin
Santa Catalina Santa Teresa Santa Clara Las Capuchinas
165 166 168 69 172
1

182 190
191

193

202

VII

CHURCHES AND HERMITAGES


San Sebastin Los Remedios Candelaria Santa Rosa Santa Cruz
El

207 208 209


211

Carmen
Stations of the Cross

El Calvario

212 215 216 218 220


221

San Jos el Viejo Jocotenango N. S. de los Dolores del Cerro

234 238 240 242 244 250 255 257 258


261

262

N. S. de los Dolores del Llano N. S. de los Dolores del Manchen Santa Luca El Espritu Santo La Santsima Trinidad
San Antonio

222 223 223

264 265 265 265 266 267 268 269 275 279

Abad

La Cruz

del Milagro

Santa Ana Santa Isabel

San Cristbal el Bajo San Juan del Obispo


Altars

Stone Crosses

224 224 224 225 226 226 227 227 229 230
281

VIII

SCHOOLS OF SANTIAGO
Santo Toms de Aquino University of San Carlos Tridentino Seminary School of the Indians School of San Jernimo School of the Maidens

282 282 285 285 287 288


305
307 308
311

291 299 301 43

IX

HOUSES OF ANTIGUA
Chamorro House Popenoe House Vsquez de Coronado y Ulloa House House of the Bells House of the Lions Rodil House House on the Pensativo River Small House on Camposeco Street House of nele Nacho House on San Sebastin Street
Ruins

321

332 348
351

313 313 316 317 318 318 319 320

354 367 370 372 374 376 378

X DETAILS
Stone Door Frames

Doors and Hardware


Stone Window Bases Iron Grilles

379 380 380


381 381

Wood

Grilles

Paneled Doors

Mudejar Ceilings Chimneys


Fountains Royal Plaza

La Merced Plaza (San Francisco) La Merced Cloister


Santo

Domingo

Fragments
Las Clarisas

Alameda of El Calvario Wall Fountains


Furnishings

382 383 383 385 386 386 387 387 388 389 390 390
391

394 399 404 408 414 422 430 432 435 435
127 140 112

437 200 438 439 393, 443 455

ADDENDA
BIBLIOGRAPHY, INDEX OF DOCUMENTS ENGLISH INDEX SPANISH INDEX
459 469

473

La Arquitectura de

la

The

Architecture of

ANTIGUA GUATEMALA
1543-1773
Edicin bilinge
Bilingual

Edicin

COLOR ILLUSTRATIONS ILUSTRACIONES EX COLOR


Antigua and the Vallcy of Panchoy Antigua y el Valle de Panchoy

1\

Ruined church

of

Iglesia arruinada del

Recoleccin Monastery monasterio de la Recoleccin

Palace of thc Captains Cieneral Palacio de los Capitanes Generales

49

Cathedral La Catedral

75

Iglesia del

La Merced Monastery Church monasterio de la Merced

165

La Concepcin Convent Entrance Portada del convento de la Concepcin

207

Candelaria Parish Church Parro(iuia de la Candelaria

281

University of San Carlos Universidad de San Carlos

305

House

of the Lions
los

Casa de

leones

379

Chamorro House Casa de Chamorro

La CIUDAD de

SANTIAGO

de los

CABALLEROS

de

GUATEMALA

ANTIGUA GUATEMALA
1543-1T73

SANTIAGO AND THE VALLEY OF PANCHOY

SANTIAGO Y EL VALLE DE PANCHOY

qiiest of

Early in 1524, less than five years after the conMxico, Pedro de Alvarado, one of the lieutenants of Cortez, entered the territory of present day Guatemala. He commanded a military forc of one hundred and twenty horsemen, about three hundred foot soldiers and a band of Indian allies from Mxico. T he first subjugation of the

powerful highland Indian tribes was accomplished within a short period of time, but a variety of circumslances led to uprisings and continued strife during the three years immediately following the
occupation.'

The first capital of the Spaniards was establishcd in the highlands on July 25, 1524 and dedicated to Santiago (St. James).' When Jorge de Alvarado arrived in 1527, to represent his brother as Lieutenant Governor, the small group of colonists and soldiers was moved to a more peaceful location. and the ame of their capital was transferred with them. The chosen site was on the northwest slopes of Volcn de Agua, five thousand feet above sea level, where conditions seemed favorable to their every need. There was a splendid water supply
'

Menos de cinco aos despus de la conquista de Mxico. Pedro de .\lvarado, uno de los tenientes de Corts, entr en el territorio de la Guatemala actual. Fue durante la primera parte de 1524. Dirigi un ejrcito de unos ciento veinte soldados de caballera, cerca de trescientos soldados infantes, y un grupo de aliados indgenas de Mxico. La primera sujecin de las tribus poderosas del Altiplano Occidental de Guatemala, se efectu en poco tiempo, pero diversas circunstancias causaron sublevaciones y contiendas continuas durante los tres aos inmediatos a la toma de posesin de .Mvarado del pas.' La primera capital de los espaoles se estableci en el .Altiplano Central el 25 de jiio de 1524 y se dedic a Santiago Apstol.- Al asumir Jorge de Alvarado el puesto de teniente gobernador en 1527, para representar a su hermano, .se traslad con el pequeo grupo de colonizadores y soldados a un sitio ms trancjuilo, y se traslad consigo el nombre de la ciudad.'' El lugar escogido estaba en las faldas noroestes del Volcn de Agua, a unos mil quinientos metros sobre el nivel del mar. donde las condiciones parecan ser favorables a todas sus necesidades. Haba suministros esplndidos de agua de los cuales deriv el sitio su nombre, .\lniolonga. Al otro lado de un valle angosto se elevaban otros dos grandes volcanes, Acatenango y Fuego. Este era el nico de los tres volcanes (|ue estaba todava activo. Pedro de Alvarado. el conquistador atrevido, despiadado e inquieto, no estaba dispuesto a permanecer definitivamente en Santiago como gobernante de la colonia, a pesar de los honores y ttulos que le confirieron cuando regreso a Espaa, hacia 1529. Durante sus ausencias peridicas, siempre hubo disturbios entre los grupos, tanto entre espaoles como entre indgenas. Pero siguieron llegando colonizadores, se construyeron casas modestas de adobes y caas, y el capelln del

from which the

place,

Almolonga, got

its

ame.

Across a narrow valley rose two other great volcanoes, Acatenango and Fuego. The latter was the only one of the three volcanoes that was still active. Pedro de Alvarado, the daring, ruthless and restless concjueror, was not content to settle down as administrator of the colony in spite of the honors and tilles bestowed upon him when he returned to Spain about 1529. During his periodic absences there was turmoil among all the groups, both Spaniards and Indian. But colonists continued toarrive, modcst adobe and reed houses were built, and an army chaplain attempted to meet their religious
needs.

The Dominican missionary. Fray Domingo de Betanzos, came early in 1529 and built a small house but was recalled to Mxico the following

SANTIAGO AND THE VALLEY OF PANCHOY


year before he had anyone available to maintain the niission.' When Pedro de Alvarado returned from Spain in 1530 he was accompanied by the lawyer-priest Francisco Marroqun whose influence on the colony was far greater than that of the conejrcito se esforz en atender sus necesidades espirituales.

queror and Governor. Marroqun began promptly to introduce Christianity among the natives and to instill Christian practices among the colonists who, primarily interested in a quest for wealth and independence, were completely heedless of the welfare of their Indian slaves. A lesser man than Marroqun would have found the task insurmountthe Pope raised Guatemala to a bishopric in 1534, Marroqun was named the first bishop. However, it was January of 1537 before he could travel to Mxico to beformally consecrated.' On July 28, 1532, scarcely forty years after Columbus had discovered the New World, Emperor Charles V honored this small capital with a coat of arms showing St. James on his horse in the upper panel and below three volcanoes with the middle one in eruption " (41 b ) In 1536 Bishop Marroqun persuaded Bartolom de Las Casas to reopen the modest Dominican house and thus to reactvate the first monastery of the colony.' When the Bishop returned from
able.
in 1537 he brought two Mercedarians as Chiapas where they established the first house of their order on the North American continent. The following month the Monastery of La Merced was founded in Santiago. The Bishop also was instrumental in having six Franciscan friars sent from Spain. five of whom arrived in Santiago
far as

El misionero dominico, fray Domingo de Betanzos, lleg durante la primera parte de 1529 y construy una pequea casa. Pero le mandaron desde Mxico regresar all al ao siguiente, antes de tener disponible quien le manttiviera la misin.* En 1530, al volver de Espaa, fue acompaado Pedro de Alvarado del sacerdote y licenciado, Francisco Marroqun, cuya influencia en la colonia fue mucho mayor que la del conquis-

tador y Gobernador.

En

seguida,

Marroqun em-

When

Mxico

in 1540.'^

Pedro de Alvarado had again been in Spain and while therc had niarricd the sister of his first wife. He returned to Guatemala in 1539 with every intention of further concjuest, this time by boat from the Pacific shores. He set out for the Spicc Islands in June of 1540, leaving a cousin of his wifc. Francisco de la Cueva, in charge at Santiago. He stoppcd in Western Mxico ancl subsccjuently was diverted by a military expedition during which he was fatally injured in June of 1541 Word of his death did not reach his widow, Beatriz de la Cueva, in Santiago until the 29th of August." In spite of her demonstrations of uncontrolled grief, Beatriz was Avillingly named to succeed her husband as Governor of Guatemala, and she was invested with this title in a ceremony held on September 9, 1541.^" Hers was, perhaps, the shortest governorship in history. The very next night there was an increase of the heavy rains which had begun some days earlier. Level reas were flooded and the townsite and its adobe houses were thoroughly drenched. During the night of September lOth an avalanche of mud and water almost completely destroyed the little community. It was a night of horror which many of the citizens did not survive, including the new governor, Beatriz de la
.

pez a dirigir la cristianizacin de los indgenas y cristianas entre a tratar de estimular prcticas el grupo de colonizadores, quienes, interesados sobre todo en la bsqueda de riquezas y en su independencia, estaban completamente desatentos al bienestar de sus esclavos indgenas. Una persona de menos carcter que Marroqun habra encontrado insuperable la tarea. En 1534, cuando el Papa elev a obispado a Guatemala, fue nombrado Marroqun su primer obispo. No fue sino hasta 1537 cuando pudo viajar a Mxico para su consagracin formal.'"' El 28 de julio de 1532, apenas cuarenta aos despus de haber descubierto Coln el Nuevo Mundo, el emperador Carlos V concedi a esta pequea capital un escudo que representaba a Santiago a caballo en la parte superior, y en la mitad inferior tres volcanes, en erupcin el del centro" (41 b). En 1536, el obispo Marroqun persuadi a Fray Bartolom de Las Casas que se instalara en la modesta casa dominica que desde haca aos estaba cerrada, y que reactivara el primer monasterio de la colonia.' Al regresar el obispo procedente de Mxico, en 1537, trajo a cuatro mercedarios consigo. Dos de ellos establecieron en Chiapas la primera casa de su Orden en el norte del continente americano. El mes siguiente, fundaron los otros dos el convento de Nuestra Seora de las Mercedes en Santiago. Debido a los esfuerzos del Obispo, salieron seis religiosos franciscanos de Espaa para Guatemala. Cinco de ellos llegaron a Santiago en 1540.*^ Pedro de Alvarado haba estado otra vez en Espaa, y all se haba casado con la hermana de su primera esposa. Regreso a Guatemala en 1539, decidido a emprender otras conquistas, en barco esta vez, partiendo de las costas del Pacfico. Se embarc para las Islas de las Especias, en junio de 1540, dejando a su pariente poltico, Francisco de la Cueva, encargado del gobierno de Santiago. Hizo escala en el oeste de Mxico y, seguidamente, se desvi para hacer una expedicin militar en la que fue herido mortalmente en el mes de junio de 1541. La noticia de su muerte no lleg a su viuda, Beatriz de la Cueva, quien estaba en Santiago, sino hasta el 29 de agosto." A pesar de sus demostraciones de congoja sin lmite, acept el

SANTIAGO Y EL VALLE DE PANCHOY


Cueva."
Unfortunately, erroneous and fantastic accounts
of this tragedy, repeated both by othervvise reputable authors and by irresponsible individuis,

have convinced many persons that a lake within the crter of Agua volcano back of Santiago broke through its rim and deluged the town. Scientific observations prove this to be wrong. Undoubtedly what really happened was that by the night of September lOth the soil of the mountainside had already reached its saturation point. The volcano's mildly sloping apron above the community was probably impounding water faster than it could run off. The storm was approaching its mximum intensity. As often happens, there was one final torrential downpour. In this instance it was of cloudburst proportions and the deluge broke against the side of the volcano directly above the town, creating a great wash of mud and water as though a dam had broken. This is the opinin of the eminent geographer, Dr. George McBride, with whoni the author ascended to the summit of Agua volcano many years ago. Atop the mountain there is ampie evidence that the crter never held water and, as one looks down on Almolonga from the northwest rim, one is convinced that no water ever emptied from any part of the crter or from any crevice below it. Even if one can not climb to the crter, a careful viewing of it from Antigua should convince the observer of the impossibility of there being any truth in the long-circulated tale. The notch in the crter rim is not above the od town but about a third of the way around the mountain toward the east. If water HAD descended from the crter it could only have reached Almolonga by spiraling around the cone in its seven thousand foot fall and Crossing deeply eroded gashes in the mountain which lead into the Valley of Panchoy. Vctor Miguel Daz in" Conmociones Terrestres en la Amrica Central" corroborates Dr. McBride's explanation with a summary of conclusions of several geographers in which he says that there was no earthquake, no eruption of Fuego, and no water from a crter lake to contribute to the destruction of the od town on the night of September 10-11, 1541. It is to be hoped that future
writers will accept this very reasonable explanation of the catastrophe. The citizens of Santiago who escaped the disaster were agreed that a more suitable location for their capital should be found. After consideration of several localities, it was decided that the northeast side of the adjaccnt Valley of Panchoy afforded the requirements of their community, and it was cise to the properties already deveoped by the citizens in the valley. The new capital was to be built less ihan a Icague away about three
miles.

nombramiento de gobernadora de Guatemala. Le fue conferido este cargo en una ceremonia que se verific el 9 de septiembre de 1541.'" Fue el suyo, quiz, el perodo de mando ms corto de cualquier gobernante de la historia. La noche del da siguiente, hubo un aumento en las fuertes lluvias que haban empezado algunos das antes. Estaban inundadas las regiones llanas, y enteramente saturados de agua el terreno de la ciudad y sus casas de adobe. Durante la noche del 10 de septiembre, un alud de lodo y agua destruy casi por

completo
rrorosa

la pequea ciudad. Fue una noche hoque muchos vecinos, inclusive la nueva

gobernadora, Beatriz de la Cueva, no la sobrevivieron." Desgraciadamente, relatos errados y fantsticos de la causa de esta tragedia, repetidos tanto por autores en otros aspectos dignos de estimacin, como por individuos irresponsables, han convencido a muchas personas que un lago dentro del crter del Volcn de Agua rompi su borde e inund la ciudad. La observacin cientfica prueba que esto es imposible. Sin duda lo que en realidad pas, fue que para la noche del 10 de septiembre, el terreno de la ladera de la montaa ya haba llegado a su punto de saturacin completa. La pequea meseta por encima del pueblo, que se ve en la silueta del volcn, al mirarlo desde el Valle de Panchoy. probablemente detuvo el agua ms rpidamente de lo que poda correr. Se acercaba la tormenta a su intensidad mxima, y como sucede a menudo, hubo una liltima cada de agua de proporciones torrenciales. En este caso, fue de las proporciones de un chaparrn, y el diluvio dio con el lado del volcn directamente por encima de la ciudad. Baj una oleada tremenda de lodo y agua como si hubiera roto una presa. Es ste el parecer del renombrado gegrafo, Dr. George McBride, con (uien el autor ascendi a la cumbre del Volcn de Agua hace muchos aos. All en lo alto del volcn, hay pruebas concluyentes de que nunca contuvo agua el crter y, al mirar hacia abajo a .\lmolonga, desde el borde noroeste, es fcil convencerse (]ue no ha salido nunca agua de ninginia parte de este crter, ni de ninguna grieta por debajo de l. Aun no ascendiendo al crter, un reconocimiento cuidadoso de l desde la Antigua, debe convencer al que observe de la imposibilidad de ser verdadero el realo tantas veces repetido. El corte en la orilla del crter no est por encima de Ciu-

dad Vieja sino hacia el este, a una tercera parte de la distancia alrededor de la montaa. Si en realidad hubiera descendido agua del crter, solo hubiera podido alcanzar a Almolonga yendo en espiral alrededor del cono en su cada de 2660 metros

y cruzando

muchas

grietas

profundamente

Bishop Marroqun and Francisco de

la

Cueva,

erosionadas de la montaa, las cuales conducan al Valle de Panchoy. Vctor Miguel Daz en Conmociones Terrestres

SANTIAGO AND THE VALLEY OF PANCHOY


widow of Pedro de Alvarado, were chosen to act as temporary governors.'- They began assigning land in the new
the cousin of the unfortunate
capital as early as
la Amrica Central, corrobora la explicacin del Dr. McBride con un resumen de las conclusiones de varios gegrafos: no hubo terremoto, ni

en

December

4,

1541.^*

The new

Governor, Alonso de Maldonado, arrived and took charge in March of 1542." The task of laying out the new city was assigned to the engineer Juan Bautista Antonelli,^'' and to him we must give credit for the first planned capital on the American continents. Others were adapted to ancient Indian sites or began as small communities without formal direction toward future growth. Antonelli took advantage of the higher part of an extensive valley which had a natural drainage between two small rivers, the
Pensativo and the Magdalena
valley

erupcin del Volcn de Fuego, ni agua de un lago en el crter que contribuyeran a la destruccin de la noche del 1 de septiembre de 1 54 Es de esperarse que los escritores del porvenir acepten esta explicacin sumamente razonable de

Almolonga

la catstrofe.

Los ciudadanos de Santiago cjue

se

escaparon

del desastre acordaron buscar un sitio ms apropiado para su capital. Despus de haber considerado varios lugares, se concluy que el lado noreste del adyacente Valle de

Panchoy llenaba

los

re-

(Guacalate).

The

quisitos indispensables para su comunidad, y estaba bastante cerca de las haciendas y granjas que
el valle. Haba de consnueva capital a una distancia de menos de una legua unos cuatro kilmetros. Al obispo Marroqun y a Francisco de la Cueva,

had been a lake bed at some time and was still marshy in an rea closer to Almolonga where the rivers converged and emptied toward the Pacific Ocean between the volcanoes. Antonelli could not have anticipated that the site of the new capital had another hazard. The water table was near the surface, and still is, and in an earthquake
country this condition does not afford the safest foundation for heavy construction. But aside from this, the cholee was all that could be desired. Excellent water supplies were near at hand above the site, good drainage to the southwest was afforded from an almost level rea, and there was room to expand. Rich soil, a splendid climate, and superb vistas all combined to make this an ideal spot on which to plan an ambitious future. Antonelli oriented the streets north-south and
east-west in a perfect rectilinear pattern, starting

ya estaban establecidas en
truirse la

les

escogieron

como gobernadores

provisionales. '-

Empezaron
4 de

a asignar sitios en la nueva capital el diciembre de 1541.'' El nuevo Gobernador,

with a central plaza and plotting two squares, of about one hundred meter dimensions, in all directions. This created an rea of twenty-five blocks
east

Beyond these to the north, and west the streets were extended to add a rectangular block on each side and a larger square block on the northwest and northeast corners. To the south there were extensions also which allowed expansin to the banks of the Pensativo where it curved westward. The road from the
as the heart of the city.

capital at Almolonga connected with formal layout at the southwest crner of the city. (See plan) Along the west a wide avenue bordered the original plan, and a similar avenue extended along part of the northern boundary. One is led to surmise that it was intended to go all the way but that expansin might have interrupted its completion. The basic plan of Antonelli, possibly intended for about fivc thousand inhabitants within this rea, must have been considered ampie for the foreseeable future. Adjacent, however, were reas for natives, and those who were engaged in farming or cattle raising. It is interesting to note that suburbs were devcloped in the uneven terrain north and west of Santiago almost immediately.
this

abandoned

Alonso de Maldonado, llego y asumi el mando en marzo de 1542.'* Se le destin a Juan Bautista Antonelli la obra de trazar la nueva ciudad,'"' y a l corresponde el mrito por la primera capital planificada de Amrica. Las dems, o se adaptaron a antiguos sitios indgenas, o empezaron como pueblos pequeos sin pensamiento formal en su crecimiento futuro. Antonelli se aprovech de la parte superior de un valle extendido entre dos pequeos ros, el Pensativo y el Magdalena (o Guacalate), que tena drenaje natural. En alguna poca haba sido el valle el lecho de un lago y todava era pantanoso en una parte ms cerca a Almolonga, donde convergan los ros y desembocaban hacia el ocano Pacfico por entre los volcanes. No habra sido posible que previera Antonelli que tena la nueva ciudad otro peligro. El nivel del agua estaba cerca de la superficie, como todava lo est, y en tierra de terremotos, esta condicin no ofrece una base muy segura para construcciones de mucho peso. Pero por otra parte, el sitio escogido era todo lo que se poda desear. Haba manantiales excelentes de agua muy cerca, a mayor altura que el
rea casi llana haba buen drenaje sudoeste, y haba lugar suficiente para ensanchar la ciudad. Tierra rica, un clima esplndido y paisajes soberbios, se unieron para hacer de ste un sitio ideal en donde proyectar un porsitio.

De una
el

hacia

venir ambicioso. Antonelli dio a


sur, este y oeste,

las calles

una orientacin

norte-

en una forma rectilnea perfecta,

empezando con una plaza central y trazando dos cuadros de unos cien metros cada uno en todas las direcciones. Cre esto una rea de veinticinco manzanas como el corazn de la ciudad. Ms all de stos, al norte, al este y al oeste, se extendieron

East fa^ade of Concepcin

Church

(originally Franciscan)

Fachada oriental de

la iglesia

de Concepcin (antiguo templo franciscano)

"Estpite" pilasters
Pilastras-estpites

CIUDAD VIEJA

1=1 en
I

Hpspp
^aaii=inan[iii[i]nj=T^

QQ^J

>

ciudad original
de

de

Santiago

Guatemala

con los suburbios

\113

L.

ANNI5

SANTIAGO Y EL VALLE DE PANCHOY


Later these densely populated communities became an integral pan of the city and were responsible for its ultmate population. Historians are in wide disagreement concerning this population figure and it is reasonably certain that most, if not all, have exaggerated. Even the more conservative must have included the inhabitants of the adjacent
districts as well as the

para aadir una manzana rectangular a cada lado, y manzanas cuadradas ms grandes en las esquinas noroeste y noreste. Al sur. tambin, haba extensiones que permitan ensanchamienlas calles

tos hasta las orillas del

Pensativo,

donde

torca

hacia

el

oeste.

capital de

El camino desde la abandonada Almolonga, se uni con esta traza for-

suburbs which had been

incorporated into the city during the years prior


to 1773.
It would be a mistake to use the number of houses that were recorded in various reports as a basis for a population estmate unless one allowed for the fact that colonial and pioneer families of the eighteenth century were large, and Indian families were probably similar to those of today. There is no reason to assume that there was less crowding two centuries ago among natves or poorer classes than now when we find several families occupying a single house, or compound, and parents and ntmierous children in a single rooni. In larger houses servants were numerous, and thcir children were included in the household. Present day Antigua has a population of more than fiftcen ihousand and it must be noted that most of the heavily populated districts of the colonial period have reverted to agricultural use with a minimal population. Thcrefore. it is not bcyond reason to believe that the colonial capital may have had as many as thirty thousand inhabitants of all castes within its extended boundaries, including a substantial ecclesiastical population.

mal en la esquina sudoeste de la ciudad. (Vase el plano). Por el oeste, la traza original estaba delimitada por una ancha avenida, y una semejante se extendi por una parte del lmite septentrional.
Se supone que se proyectaba tenerla por toda la extensin, pero que la expansin pudiera haber interriunpido su terminacin.

The comnnmities which developed adjacent to the formal plan of Antonelli had their beginning somewhat in the manner of craft centers. Although Jocotenango first was assigned to their Cakchi(iuel Indian allies. it becamc known as the
connnunity of masons. Candelaria was a suburb mainly inhabited by carpenters, and along the wide avcnue below Manchen Hill were locatcd the ironworkers. liut all this could hardly have been visualized by the small group of surviving colonists and thcir Indian laborers when the streets were surveycd in 1542 and the first allotments of land were made. By 1543 it may be assmned that the transfer of citizens was well under way. History does not tell of a formal dedication of the new city, but three events of importance to the community are recorded. The first council meeting was held on March 10, 1543. The Most Holy Sacrament of the Church was transferred to the temporary Cathedral in the procession of Corpus Christi. And on Jime 13th it was publicly announced that the new city was to be known by the same ame as its two predccessors Santiago.'" On March 10, 1566 the

Es probable (|ue se haya considerado amplio el plano bsico de Antonelli. posiblemente proyectado para irnos cinco mil habitantes dentro de esta rea, para el porvenir que se poda prever. Sin embargo, existan reas adyacentes para los indgenas y para los dedicados a la agricidtura y a la cra de ganado. Es interesante notar que se desarrollaron casi inmediatamente arrabales en el terreno desigual al norte y al oeste de Santiago. Ms tarde estas comunidades de densa poblacin llegaron a ser una parte integrada a la ciudad y contribuyeron al considerable niimero final de sus habitantes. Hay tm gran desacuerdo entre los historiadores, tocante al ni'imero de habitantes, y es casi cierto (|ue la mayor parte de ellos, si no todos, lo han exagerado. .Aun los ms conservadores habrn incluido los habitantes de los distritos adyacentes y los de los suburbios que se haban incorporado a la ciudad en los aos anteriores a 1773.

Se equivocara imo usando el ni'imero de casas se registr en varios informes como base para calcular la poblacin, a menos c]ue se lomara en cuenta ([ue las familias coloniales del siglo XVIII

que

eran grandes y (]ue

las

familias

indgenas eran

probablemente parecidas a las de hoy. No hay razn para presumir (|ue vivieran menos agrupados hace dos siglos los indgenas y clases pobres, de lo que hacen ahora cuando encontramos a varias familias hal)itando una sola casa, y padres con numerosos hijos en un solo cuarto. En las casas de gente ms acomodada, haba varios criados, y vivan con stos en dichas casas sus hijos. La Antigua actual tiene ms de ([uince mil habitantes, y hay que notar que la mayora de los barrios (|ue eran de poblacin densa durante la poca colonial, ahora son tierras agrcolas, y por consiguiente, tienen un nmero nn'nimo de habitantes. Por eso, es razonable creer que tuviera la capital colonial hasta treinta mil habitantes de todas clases, inclusive su poblacin eclesistica numerosa dentro de sus
lmites extendidos.

King conferred upon the city the title of "The Very Noble and Very Loyal City of the Knights of St. James of the Kingdom of Goathemala"." Since Charles V had givcn the capital a coat of arms it

Las comunidades (|ue se fueron desarrollando adyacentes a la traza formal de Antonelli empezaron casi como centros de personas de un mismo oficio. Aunque Jocotenango se seal para

SANTIAGO AND THE VALLEY OF PANCHOY


was logical that both it and the ame should transfer with His Majesty's government. The recently
destroyed capital at Almolonga would thereafter be known as the Od Town Cmdad Vieja. On moving to the new city the citizens had to siirrender title to their former properties in exchange for comparable reas, or sites. This arrangement included the three monasteries. Government buildings, the Cathedral and a commercial rea were assigned prominent positions around the central plaza which also served as a market place in the European fashion. This center of the city had a variety of ames. In addition to being the Plaza Mayor, it was sometimes called the Plaza Real because the Palace of the Captains General and Royal Courts were located on its south side, and it was also called the Plaza de Armas since it served as a parade and drill ground for the military. A number of other plazas were located in the formal plan, and fountains and water supply were provided. The Capital must have seemed a spacious and almost an empty place in the early years, comparable to Washington, D. C. in 1800. But for the next two hundred and thirty years this was destined to be the center of His Majesty's government for the rea from the northern boundary of Chiapas to Panam under a Captain Generalcy. Santiago survived and thrived in spite of calamities and physical conditions that would have discouraged any less hardy or determined people. Santiago was a remote city which did not have either natural mineral wealth or rich spoils resulting from conquest; or was it an important center of commerce. Primarily it was an agricullos aliados cakchiqueles, lleg a ser
el

conocido como

barrio de los albailes. Era Candelaria un barrio habitado principalmente por carpinteros, y a lo largo de la Calle Ancha por debajo del cerro del Manchen, estaban radicados los herreros. Pero apenas hubiera podido anticipar todo esto el pequeo grupo de colonizadores que sobrevivan y sus peones indgenas, cuando se trazaron las calles en 1542 y se hicieron los primeros reparti-

mientos de

sitios.

Se puede presumir que el traslado de vecinos estaba bien avanzado para el ao de 1543. La historia

no

relata

una dedicacin formal de

la

nueva

tura! center.
to settle here

Therefore

it is all

the

able that colonists of

all classes

more remarkshould continu

and be able to develop a capital of considerable size and importance, comparable with those of other colonial reas which had fewer
problems.

The representatives of the King of Spain held considerable power over the local authorities. All actions, even relatively simple ones, required authorization or approval of His Majesty. Communications with the Court required months for a reply and often years for a decisin. A petition for the construction of a religious building or a school might be delayed for decades by replies that required details of finances, changes of plans to satisfy preliminary objections on the part of the King, or settlement of disputes between municipal and royal officials. Without the Crown's permission work could not be started, and without royal favor, or assignment of income, hospitals, schools and religious foundations could only survive with great dificulty, even though generous citizens
offered substantial gifts. Rivalries of monastic organizations were often a serious detriment to important developments in

de importancia para la comunidad se hallan consignados en archivos. El primer cabildo se verific el 10 de marzo de 1543. Se traslad el Santsimo a la catedral provisional en la procesin de Corpus Christi. Y el 3 de junio se anunci pblicamente que se haba de conocer la nueva ciudad con el nombre de sus antecesoras, es decir, Santiago.^" El 10 de marzo de 1566, el rey confiri a la ciudad el ttulo de: Muy Noble y Muy Leal Ciudad de los Caballeros de Santiago del Reino de Goathemala." Puesto que Carlos V le haba dado a la capital un escudo de armas, era lgico que pasaran ambos, el escudo y el nombre, con el gobierno de su Majestad. Desde entonces, la recin destruida capital de Almolonga se conocera como Ciudad Vieja. Al trasladarse a la nueva ciudad, los vecinos tuvieron que entregar el ttulo de sus antiguas propiedades por reas o sitios comparables en la nueva capital. Tuvieron que hacer lo mismo los tres monasterios. Para los edificios del gobierno, la catedral y una rea comercial, se sealaron sitios importantes alrededor de la plaza central que serva tambin de mercado a la manera europea. Se le dio a este centro de la ciudad varios nombres. Adems de ser la Plaza Mayor, se llamaba a veces la Plaza Real porque, entre otras razones, el Palacio de los Capitanes Generales y la Audiencia estaban al lado sur de ella, y tambin se nombraba la Plaza de Armas puesto que serva de campo de desfile para los militares y para instruccin de reclutas. Haba otras varias plazas en la traza formal, y se incluyeron fuentes y un suministro de agua. Habr parecido la capital un lugar espacioso y casi vaco durante los primeros aos, comparable a Washington, D.C. en 1800. Pero durante
capital,
tres sucesos
1

pero

los siguientes doscientos treinta aos, su destino fue ser el centro del gobierno de su Majestad, bajo el mando de un Capitn General para todas las tierras, desde los lmites septentrionales de Chiapas hasta Panam. Sobrevivi y prosper la ciudad de Santiago, a pesar de calamidades y condiciones de la naturaleza, que habran desanimado a un pueblo menos fuerte y resuelto. Era Santiago una ciudad remota que no tena ni riqueza mineral ni botines de guerra resul-

SANTIAGO Y EL VALLE DE PANCHOS'


Guatemala since each sent its critics and lobbyists to Mxico and Spain. The colony also had its
share of poor representatives as Captains General, Royal Judges. Inspectors, Bishops and lesser ofinefficent or ficials who were either corrupt, troubleinakers. The local authorities and citizenry had to have infinite patience and perseverance to achieve their objectives. Even when officialdom was at its best the plans of one bishop or governor might be interupted by death, and when his successor eventually arrived the project would be dropped, delayed or altered because a new one interested hini more. The conqucst of Guatemala was not one of religious zeal. There were not the missionary orders accompanying or immediately following the conquerors as there had been in Mxico, and certainly during the first years in Almolonga the colonists and soldiers were not even remotely concerned with religious foundations. However, the emphasis Avas to swing to the other extreme by the eightcenth century. Again and again we find the City Council of Santiago expressing doubt about the proposed establishment of a new conventual order or another church, saying that the people were too poor to be burdened with further taxes, tithes or solicitation of alms. But always this first hesitancy felt by the authorities gave way to enthusiasm and the construction of another great
ecclesiastical structure.

un centro comercial importante. Principalmente era un centro agrPor consiguiente, es ms notable que siguieran radicndose all colonizadores de todas las categoras, y que pudieran desarrollar una capital de considerable tamao e importancia, comparable a las de otras regiones coloniales que tenan menos problemas. Los representantes del rey de Espaa tenan mucho poder sobre las autoridades locales; para todas las actividades, aun las relativamente sencillas, se exiga la licencia o la aprobacin de su Majestad. Antes de recibir respuesta a las comunicaciones dirigidas a la Corte, se esperaba meses,
tantes de la conquista: ni era
cola.

y muchas veces aos, hasta que viniera una decisin. Una solicitud para la construccin de un

The

history scarches

twentieth century student of Santiago's for an explanation of the treof religious life in this city

mendous development

which was not a center of great wealth. It had no mines such as were connnon to Mxico. It dcrived no wealth from Inca gold as did Cuzco. Per. Its population was slow to grow. The problem of building and rebuilding after niunerous earthfiuakes must have been a burden to even the more prosperous landowners and townspeople. Towns throughout the country were assigned to various religious orders. and income from these places was shared by the Crown and the assignee. Some of the earlier monasteries received considerable amounts from such towns or properties. In similar fashion the limited upper class and titled citizens accumulated wealth which permitted generous gifts especially in their wills for the redemption of
their souls. of the chroniclers gives a clue, perhaps, to the excessive number of religious

una escuela, poda tardarse dcadas a causa de contestaciones que exigan ms detalles sobre rentas, cambios de planes, para satisfacer objeciones preliminares del rey. o el ajuste de disputas entre los oficiales reales y municipales. Sin la previa licencia del rey. no se poda iniciar obras, y sin el patrocinio real o la asignacin de rentas por su Majestad, los hospitales, colegios y establecimientos religiosos slo podan sobrevivir con grandes difictdtades atm cuando por parte de vecinos generosos se entregaran cuantiosos donativos. Las rivalidades de las rdenes religiosas, que enviaron a Mxico y a Espaa sus representantes, impedan muchas veces desarrollos de importancia en Guatemala. La colonia sufri tambin de algunos malos representantes de su Majestad, quienes vinieron como capitanes generales, oidores, visitadores, obispos y oficiales de menos categora (|ue eran corruptos, ineficaces o perturbadores. Las autoridades locales y los vecinos necesitaban tener paciencia y persistencia infinitas para lograr sus fines. Aun cuando los oficiales del gobierno superior eran muy buenos, los proyectos de algn obispo o gobernador podan interrumpirse a causa de su muerte, y al llegar por fin el sucesor, era posible (jue se abandonara, se postergara, o .se cambiara el proyecto, porque algn otro intereedificio religioso o

ms al recin venido. La conquista de Guatemala no fue de las de gran celo religioso. Las rdenes religiosas no acomsara

Reading the works

modest

foundations in the small confines of this otherwise capital. The people believed that the repeated earthquakes were a punishment from God for their sins, and a desire to atone for them and to propitiate God's wrath led to ever more ecclesiastical building.

Ultimately Santiago supported eighteen refoundations for men and women, and almost all had churches open to the public. Some
ligious

paaron ni siguieron imnediatamente a los conquistadores como haba sucedido en Mxico, y ciertamente durante los primeros aos en Almolonga los soldados y los colonizadores no se interesaron en la fundacin de establecimientos religiosos. No obstante, haba de cambiar el nfasis al otro extremo para el siglo XVIII. Repetidas veces expres el Ayuntamiento de Santiago dudas tocante a la fundacin propuesta de otra orden eclesistica ti otra iglesia, diciendo que los vecinos eran demasiado pobres para cargarse con ms imptiestos, diezmos, o solicitudes de limosnas. Pero siempre esta primera vacilacin de la parte

SAN

riA(;()

ANO

111'.

vai.i,i:y

of panchoy
wcvc more
las autoridades, cedi al entusiasmo y a la construccin de otra gran brica eclesistica. Rusca el estudiaiue actual de la historia de Santiago una explicacin del desarrollo tremendo de la vida religio.sa en esta ciudad cjue no era un centro de gran ri(|ueza. No tena minas como las de Mxico; no obtuvo un tesoro parecido al de los incas del Cuzco en el Per. El nmero de habitantes aument lentamente. El problema de construir y reconstruir despus e numerosos terremotos, habr sido una gran aena aun })ara los hacentlados y vecinos ms acaudalailos de la ciudad. Es verdad (pie unos pueblos por todo el pas ueron asignados a rdenes religiosas, y se reparti la renta de estos lugares entre el rey y

inainlaiiicd hospitals. In addition thcre

dc

than ihiriy chinches, chapcls and liciinitagcs also scrving ihc city. Most ol ihesc wcrc conccnirated in an aira ol Icss ihan two stiuarc miles, and a considerable nnmber wcre in adjacent blocks. By ihe eighteentli ceiuury the population ol all religious organi/aiions. including lay menibers and ihe secidar dergy. imist have apj)roached ihat of all other citizens o the Ciiy who were ol Spanish descent. Anil many ol" these organizations were dependent iipon alms lor their existence. The main boily ol the City o Santiago was made iip o sixteen districts. 1 hese did not include Jocoienango to the north or Santa Ana and beyond to the soiith. (See map) Siirromuling the City anil near enough to serve its daily markel there were about tweniv-lixe small lowns and vil-

las rtlenes.

Algunos de

los

primeros conventos

Each o ihese. o conrse, snpported chnrch or hermitage.


lages.

its

own

Santiago sntered rou several orms o calamity diiring its long history. As early as I5(>t) the nornially small Pensativo River broke o\er its banks and Hooiled a portion o Santiago. Dikes were

bnih in later years. However. Iloods o 1652, 1689 and 1762 cansed considerable damage."* Even today occasional llash Iloods carry nuid and debris
throiigh the streets a.s^ ar as the central Plaza in spite o higii eiubankments along the eastern edge
o town.

recibieron sumas considerables de tales pueblos o propiedades. De semejante manera, el peciueo grupo lie nobles y gente de categora, amas caudales cjue les permitieron regalar generosamente .sobre todo en sus testamemos, para misas destinadas a la .salvacin de su alma. La lectura ile los cronistas da c|uiz la explicacin del nmero excesixo de fundaciones religiosas ilentro de los peciueos confines de esta capital, por otra parte modesta. Crea la gente que por medio de los repetidos terremotos Dios les castigaba por sus pecailos. y el deseo de expiarlos y de propiciar la ira del Seor resultaron en un

Epitlemics also occured dnring the colonial In 17^^^^ smalljKix was so prevalent that proce.ssions o snpplication were helil on Jnne 15th anil Julv Dth according to municipal records."' Repiitedly seveial thousaiul lives were lost in this epidemic aml one which occined shortly before Santiago was abandoned.-'" .Mthough Santiago was noi as near the X'olcn de Euego as the OUl lown luul been. it remained as a source o periodic danger. On December 27, ir)81 the eruplion was seveie, and the ashes alling on Santiago at eleven in the morning made it dilicult to see.-' More than lity eniptions o Fuego were recortled between 1520 and late in the IDth ceiuury. Subseijuemly there ha\e been atldilional periods o activitv, among them 11);^2. 1915, 1962 and 196:<. The eruptions o 19 15 lasted rom July 29th umil Xovember. Those o the other ycars were or shorter duration, bul one o the violeiu eruptions in the all o 196.1, like that o 1581. tlepositeil a considerable i|uantity o cinders on .\ntigua. Eortunatelv the prevailing winds usually carry the ashes towanl the nortlnvesi instead o the northeast. Eruptions o Fuego ate not normally associated with. or accompanietl by, earthquakes; nevertheless. the awesome spectacle o Fuego in its ntore violent moods uuisl have inspired tensions among the colonists. It was repetition o earth(]uakes that led to the eventual destruction and abandonmeiu o Santiago, l.ike the eruptions. the duration o earthycars.

nmero siempre en aumento de


sas.

fbricas religio-

Con el tiempo, mantem'a Santiago diecisis undaciones monsticas })aia hombres o mujeres, v casi todas tenan iglesias accesibles al pblico. Algunas sostenan hospitales. Adems, haba ms de treinta iglesias, capillas y ermitas que servan la ciudad. I. a mayora de stas se concentraban en una rea de menos de tres kilmetros cuadrados, y un nmero consideiable estaba en man/anas contiguas. Para el siglo XVIII, el nmero de personas iledicailas a la religi)n incluyendo frailes y monjas, legos y clrigos seculares debi haber sido casi tan grande como el de todos los otros vecinos de antepasailos espaoles de la ciudad. .Algunas de estas organizaciones subsistan de limosnas. La parte principal ile Santiago .se compona tic diecisis barrios. No se incluan en stos ni Jocotenango al norte, ni Santa Ana y la regin ms al sur. (\'a.sc el mapa). Rodeando la ciudad y bstame cerca para pro\eer a su mercado diario, haba unos veinticinco pueblecitos y aUleas. Cada uno de estos ceiuros de poblacin, por supuesto, mantena su propia iglesia o ermita. Sufri Santiago de varias formas de calamidades durante su larg^a historia. Tan temprano como 1566. el ro Pensativo, generalmente pequeo, sali de su cauce e inund una parte de la ciudad. Ms tarde se construyeron diques. Sin embargo, las inundaciones de 1652, 1689 y 1762, causaron

SANTIAGO Y EL VALLE DE PANCHOY


quake periods varied from a few days to several months. Oldcr buildings were frequently weakened before major shocks occured, which consequently resulted in greater damage. Although there were some instances where earthquakes were
recorded in several consecutive ycars, the more destructive ones were spaced at long intervals, and this allowed time for repair, or reconstruction, and for a feeling of security to return among the
citizens.

estragos considerables.'** Aun hoy, de vez en cuando, una torrentada lleva lodo y ripio por las calles hasta la Plaza Central, a pesar de presas altas al lmite este de la ciudad.

Tambin

ocurrieron

epidemias

durante

la

Before the end of the sixteenth century there Icss than six severc earthquakes, with that of December 23, 1586 doing considerable damage.-^ The following century had its share also, with the one on February 18, 1651 causing great

poca colonial. En 1733, por ejemplo, la viruela atac con tal intensidad que hubo procesiones de splica el 15 de junio y el 9 de julio, segn documentos municipales.'" Se dijo (jue perecieron varios miles de personas en esta epidemia y en la que ocurri un poco antes de abandonarse Santiago.-"

were no

de Fuego

Aunque no estaba Santiago tan cerca del Volcn como Ciudad Vieja, de cuando en cuan-

destruction.-^

do era peligroso. El 27 de diciembre de 1581 hubo una gran erupcin, y las cenizas ciue cayeron
sobre Santiago a las once de la maana eran tantas que la gente vea con dificultad.-' Entre 1520 y la ltima parte del siglo XIX, se registraron ms de cincuenta erupciones del Volcn de Fuego. Subsiguientemente ha habido otros perodos de actividad, entre ellos: 1932, 1945, 1962 y 1963. Duraron las erupciones de 1945, desde el 29 de julio hasta noviembre. Las de otros aos fueron de menos tiempo. Sin embargo, una de las erupciones violentas del otoo de 1963, como la de 1581, deposit una cantidad grande de cenizas sobre la Antigua. Afortunadamente, por lo general, los vientos llevan las cenizas al noroeste en vez de al noreste. Generalmente las erupciones del Volcn de Fuego no se asocian con temblores ni estn acompaadas de ellos. Sin embargo, el pavoroso espectculo de ese volcn en erupcin violenta, habr causado tensiones entre los habitantes coloniales.

was not until 1717 that the City had its first major catastrophe. After a month of preliminary shocks, the earihquake of San Miguel on SeptemIt

ber 29th left the Capital so severely damaged that serious consideration was given to moving to another location.-^ The degrce of damage has been disputed by various chroniclers. It is safe to assume that there were exaggerations made by those favoring a new site. Among poorly constructed and older buildings, the destruction was undoubtedly great, and the conditions of others very bad even though they were still standing. Aftershocks continued until December. There was a delay in rebuilding, but further consideration of moving was soon forgotten. After 1720 construction never lagged in spite of damaging earthquakes in March of 1751.^' This was the 'Golden Period' of development, and the majority of the structures still in existence were rebuilt, or newly constructed, during these years prior to 773. In May of 1773 there were some minor shocks, and a heavy earthquake on June 1 1 th caused only slight damage. Then in mid-aftcrnoon of July 29th there was such a sharp warning that the people rushed to the open spaces. As a result of this warning, few lives were lost when the great earthquake of Santa Marta occured ten minutes later. Although it was devastating and left the City very severely damaged, it did not cause total ruin.-' Historians of the time have given vivid descriptions of what happened and of the miserable night that followed made worse by rain and lack of shelter. Most of the buildings which were not destroyed were rendered unsafe for shelter. Public fountains were broken, and the water system was
1

Fueron los terremotos repetidos la causa de la destruccin eventual y el abandono de Santiago. Como las erupciones, la duracin de perodos de terremotos variaba desde unos cuantos das hasta varios Ineses. Los edificios ms antiguos se encontraban frecuentemente hechos menos fuertes antes de suceder las conmociones ssmicas de gran intensidad, lo cual dio como resultado estragos

ms

serios. Ainiciue

motos en aos sucesivos, entre

hubo

intervalos largos, lo

hubo algunos casos de terrelos ms destructores que dej tiempo para

reparaciones o reconstrucciones y, tambin, para los vecinos su sentimiento de seguridad.

que recobraran
Antes de

Native market venders failed to bring food into the City the following days. Many people fled to nearby towns, and those who remained, including members of the religious houses, had to fashion makeshift shelters in their gardens or in open fields. During the ensuing months there were other shocks, but the citizens returned to the task of repairing less damaged houses and building temporary churches and shelters near the monasuseless.

fin del siglo XVI no hubo menos de terremotos severos, y el del 23 de diciembre de 1586 hizo estragos serios.^- Durante el siglo siguiente tambin hubo bastantes, causando gran dao el del 1 8 de febrero de 1 65 No fue sino hasta 1717 cuando sufri la ciudad su primera gran catstrofe. Despus de un mes de temblores preliminares, el terremoto de San Miguel, el 29 de septiembre, dej la capital tan severamente daada que se consider seriamente trasladarla a otro lugar.-* Se ha disputado entre
seis

SANTIAGO AND THE VALLEY OF PANCHOY


teries and convens. As in 1717 the decisin might have been in favor of rebviilding Santiago if the City Council and the citizens had been allowed to make it. The City had acquired magnificent and well-built public buildings, churches, conventual institutions and homes during the eighteenth century. Judging by what still stands nearly two hundred years later, it is doubtful that the damage was any worse than it had been in 1717. It was more extensive because Santiago was a bigger city and there was more to be destroyed. But a new Captain General had arrived on June 12th and he abandoned Santiago on September 6th, moving the official governing body to the village of the Ermita about twenty-five miles away. He declared this place the new Capital in January of 1774.-" The Captain General's insistence on the move was strengthened by other destructive earthquake shocks on December 13-14, of this same year. Damage to the previously weakened buildings was undoubtedly extensive. It was the irrevocable decisin of the Captain General that the City of Santiago should be com-

magnitud de los estragos. Se puede presumir que hubo exageraciones hechas por los que favorecieron el traslado a otro sitio. Entre los edificios ms antiguos y los mal construidos,
los cronistas la
la destruccin fue grande, y fue muy condicin de otros aun cuando todava estaban en pie. Los temblores continuaron hasta diciembre. Se tard la reconstruccin, pero pronto no se pens ms en trasladar la ciudad. Despus de 1720 nunca se retras la construccin, a pesar de terremotos destructores en marzo de 1751.-'' Fue ste el 'perodo de oro' para el desarrollo, y la mayor parte de los edificios que existen ahora se reconstruyeron o se construyeron entre el ao

sin

duda
la

mala

citado y 1773.

abandoned. The Archbishop, who had been in Santiago since 1766, opposed this decisin and continued to do so until he returned to Spain in 1779.-* Those who wanted to migrate to New Guatemla did so, but the Municipal Government and the majority of citizens began the task of rebuilding. The University resumed classes in a hut situated on the little Plaza of Santo Domingo, crude shelters were built to house the sick who were cared for by the Brothers of St. John of God, and even a provisional Cathedral was erected during 1774.-" But it is significant that the "Very Noble and Very Loyal City of the Knights of St. James of Guatemala" was called "Antigua Guatemala" for the first time in an official document on
pletely

En mayo de 1773 hubo unos movimientos ssmicos menos intensos, y un fuerte temblor el da 1 1 de junio, slo caus estragos menores. Luego, a mediados de la tarde del 29 de julio, hubo un temblor previsor de tanta fuerza que se lanz la gente fuera de las casas. Gracias a este aviso, result poca prdida de vidas, cuando diez minutos despus ocurri el gran terremoto de Santa Marta. Aunque fue devastador y dej la ciudad severamente daada, no caus su ruina total.-" Los historiadores de la poca han dejado descripciones vividas de lo ocurrido y de la noche horrible que sigui, empeorada por la lluvia y la falta de abrigo. La mayora de los edificios que no fueron destruidos quedaron en un estado peligroso. No funcionaba el sistema de distribucin de aguas, y se hallaban rotas muchas de las fuentes pblicas. Los vendedores indgenas dejaron de traer comestibles a la ciudad durante los das (jue siguieron. Huyeron muchas personas a los pueblos cercanos,
y los

que quedaron entre

ellos

muchos

religiosos

July 24,

1774.^*"

January 16, 1775 the Master of Public Works, Bernardo Ramrez, began removing all usable materials from the Palace of the Captains General for transport to the new Capital. On March 31st a decree was issued forbidding further building, or even repairs, in Antigua.'" In December Luis Diez Navarro was designated the planner of New Guatemala, and it was suggested that not only public buildings but private houses of Antigua should be stripped of all usable materials.'- Finally the City Council was forced to depart on December 29, 1775." This marked the death of the former capital after two hundred and thirty-two years and nine months in the Valley of Panchoy. On the 28th of July 1777 an edict from New Guatemala decreed that moving must be completed and all property abandoned by March 27, 1778, and that all of Santiago should be destroyed, levelled to the ground after that date. The Uni-

On

tuvieron que construir abrigos provisionales en sus jardines o en los campos. Durante los meses siguientes hubo otros sacudimientos de tierra, pero volvieron los vecinos a la obra de reparar las casas menos destruidas y de construir iglesias y abrigos provisionales, cerca de los monasterios y los conventos.
es posible que se reconstruccin de Santiago si al Ayuntamiento y a los vecinos se les hubiera permitido tomar la decisin. Se haban construido en la ciudad edificios pblicos, iglesias, establecimientos conventuales y casas, todos ellos magnficos y bien edificados, durante el siglo XVIII. A juzgar por lo que queda en pie casi doscientos aos ms tarde, parece dudoso que fuera el dao peor que el de 1717. Fue ms extenso porque la ciudad de Santiago era ms grande, y contaba con mayor nmero de construcciones. Pero el da 12 de junio haba llegado a Santiago un nuevo capitn general que abandon la ciudad el 6 de septiembre, trasladando el gobierno de su Majestad a la aldea de La Ermita a una distancia de unos cuarenta y tres kilmetros. En

Lo mismo que en
a

1717,

hubieran decidido

la

SANTIAGO Y EL VALLE DE PANCHOY


versity finally

moved

in

November
new
city,

1777.

ligious orders, except the Agustinians

The rewho were

enero de 1774 Guatemala.-'

la

declaro

la

nueva

capital

de

already established in the

were given two

La

insistencia del Capitn

General en

la trasla-

months

in

which

to comply.''^

tyrannical decrees of thesc few years were both cruel and ill-considered. Labor was conscripted for the removal of everything possible from Antigua. The Indian laborers worked under the lashes of foremen and inspectors with the threat of death if they did not obey. It was ordered that shutters, doors, locks and metal ornaments o doors, grilles, wood beams, ceilings, tiles, columns, capitals, escutcheons, and all other cut stone should be torn out of the Palace of the Captains General. Even the great stone columns of the exterior arches were to be moved, but they proved too large and heavy to transport. The columns of the patios were taken, however.^' Other public buildings were also stripped of similar objects, and as the time approached for the destruction of remaining buildings, this stripping extended to privatc homes. Naturally the churches and religious orders salvaged what they could for the new buildings that they would be forced to erect
in New Guatemala. Therefore, the altars, works of art, and furnishings of these institutions were taken. The task must have been greater than the government anticipated since a considerable number of people were still in Antigua and businesses were still operating in May of 1779. On the 18th of that month all stores were ordered closed within fifteen days and everything out of them. And again on June 9th there was a further order that everyone should be out of the city and all houses closed in twenty-two days. Prison was the alternative. However, the records show that the archbishop did not leave until November 22nd, and the parish of the Sagrario did not move until May 25, 1780.'"' Although the efforts of the Royal Government did more damage than the great earthquake of Santa Marta, the many monumental structures of the religious orders, the churches and public buildings, and even the residences could not be totally dcstroyed in a short space of time. Under the circumstances it seems almost miraculous that so much of colonial Santiago remains for our appreciation and study nearly t^vo hundred years aftcr it was partially razed. Although the city was never completely abandoned it was without government until 1789. Even after that date it was still subject to neglect, exposure to weather and decay for nearly half a century; a place of vast ruins which were fiUed with debris and sometimes almost hidden by the trees and bushes growing out of their walls. Such was the condition of the od city when John L. Stephens visited it in December of 1839 and interviewed an od man who was living in Santiago in 1773 and cotild give an eye-witness description of the post-earthquake

The

cin fue aumentada por otros temblores destructores el 13 y 14 de diciembre de este mismo ao. Sin duda fueron mayores los daos en los edificios

previamente debilitados.

El nuevo Capitn General decidi irrevocablemente que se abandonara completamente la ciudad de Santiago. Se opuso el Arzobispo, quien
estaba en la ciudad desde 1766, y sigui oponindose hasta su vuelta a Espaa en 1779.-'* Los que queran trasladarse a la Nueva Guatemala lo hicieron, pero el gobierno mmiicipal y la mayora de los ciudadanos empezaron la obra de reconstruccin. Se reanudaron las clases de l Universidad en un rancho situado en la plazuela de Santo Domingo; se construy una enfermera rstica en donde los hermanos de San Juan de Dios atendieron a los enfermos; y aun se erigi una catedral provisional en 1774.-" Pero es importante notar que, por primera vez, en un documento oficial del 24 de jidio de 1774 se hizo referencia a la 'Muy Noble y Muy Leal Ciudad de los Caballeros de Santiago de Guatemala' como la Antigua Guatemala.-^"

El 16 de enero de 1775 el Maestro Mayor de Obras, Bernardo Ramrez, comenz a sacar todos los materiales utilizables del palacio de los Capitanes Generales para trasladarlos a la nueva capital. El 31 de marzo se emiti un edicto (|ue prohibi que se construyera o aiui reparara cualcjuier fbrica en la Antigua.'" En diciembre designaron a Ltiis Diez Navarro delineador de la Nueva

Guatemala y

se sugiri

que no

slo los edificios

pblicos sino tambin las casas particulares de la Antigua fueran despojadas de todas las cosas que se pudieran utilizar.^- Al fin forzaron a partir al Cabildo el 29 de diciembre de 1775.^^ Esto marc la muerte de la antigua capital despus de doscientos treinta y dos aos y nueve meses de estar en el Valle de Panchoy. El 28 de julio de 1777 otro decreto, expedido en la Nueva Guatemala, mand que se concluyera la traslacin y el abandono de todos los innuiebles para el 27 de marzo de 1778, y (\ue se destruyera toda la ciudad de Santiago. Despus de dicha fecha se arrasara todo. En noviembre de 1777 se traslad por fin la Universidad de San Carlos. Se les mand a las rdenes religiosas con excepcin de los agustinos que ya se hallaban establecidos en la nueva ciudad que se trasladaran en el trmino de dos meses. ^* Los edictos autoritarios de estos aos eran a la vez crueles y de mal criterio. Obligaron a los indgenas a trabajar retirando todo lo utilizablc de la Antigua. Los peones indgenas trabajaron bajo los latigazos de mayordomos e inspectores, amenazados con fuertes castigos si no obedecan. Mandaron arrancar del Palacio de los Capitanes

SANTIAGO AND THE VALLEY OF PANCHOY


considerable number of citizens and natives moved back, or were still living in the abandoned capital, in the late eighteenth century. Vctor Miguel Daz cjiotes records of the period of 181820 just before Guatemala gained its independence from Spain. 1 he people of Antigua liad been using the chapel of the University as a parish

church for many

years.'***

single

opened

to the street,

but

this

door had been was considered in-

Generales postigos, puertas, cerraduras y adornos de metal para las puertas, rejas, vigas, artesonados, losas, columnas, capiteles, escudos y todo lo dems de piedra labrada. Aun mandaron trasladarse las grandes columnas de piedra de la arquera del palacio, pero afortunadamente resultaron demasiado grandes y pesadas para poder hacer efectiva la orden. Sin embargo, las columnas de los patios s, se quitaron.^'' Despojaron de objetos semejantes
los otros edificios pblicos, y al acercarse la fecha para la destruccin de los edificios que quedaron, este despojo se extendi a las casas particulares. Ftie natural que las iglesias y las rdenes religiosas se sirvieran de lo utilizable para los nuevos edificios que tuvieron que construir en la Nueva Guatemala. Por consiguiente, se llevaron altares, obras de arte y mobiliario de estas insti-

adequate lor the safety of the worshipers, and the od artesanado ceiling Avas in very bad condition; furthermore the plan was not suitable for a parish church. During several years the subject was debated, and various possibilities considered: the walls of San Pedro Church next to the hospital were standing but it was rooflless; there was space to build a church of suitable plan within the walls
of the od Palace of the Captains General opposite the City Hall; also the walls and piers of the Cathedral -vere sound, but the broken domes would have to be removed and the nave roofed to make it usable. Finally it was decided that the west end of the

tuciones.

Cathedral facing the Plaza, the former

Sagrario, could be restored most adequately. It


aisles in the north-south direction and three doors to the Plaza, and an aisle to the atrium facing Tridentino Seminary.'"' This decisin was carried out, and it is this church which still functions today as the Parish Church of San Jos. Although the organ in the north end of this parish church is not colonial it warrants mention here. It was built in Antigua in 1830 by Mariano Lpez who lived in the house diagonally opposite the church of San Pedro and facing the little plaza of the same ame. The organ is of fine tone and has been in continuous use since 1830. Lpez also built the monumental organ of the Cathedral in New Guatemala which was destroyed by the 1917-

had two

Probablemente fue la tarea ms difcil de lo que haba anticipado el gobierno superior, pues un nmero considerable de personas permanecieron todava en la Antigua, y haba varios negocios funcionando all en mayo de 1779. El 18 de aquel mes se orden que dentro de quince das se cerraran todas las tiendas y que no quedara nada en ellas. Y de nuevo, el 9 de junio hubo otro mandato para que todos partieran de la ciudad y que se cerraran todas las casas dentro de veintids
das.

muestran

embargo, docuinentos que no parti el Arzobispo hasta el 22 de noviembre, y la parroquia del Sagrario no se traslad hasta el 25 de mayo de
crcel fue la alternativa. Sin
los

La

1780.3

18 earthquake."*"

About 1840 Jos Mara Palomo y Montfar was named magistrate of the Department of Sacatepquez and conceived the plan of improving Antigua. In

1855 many families of New Guatemala had moved to Antigua where life was comfortable and commerce was active. There were two prvate schools, two hotels, two inns, and some industries. During these years the City Hall was repaired, the atrium of the od Cathedral extended, Merced Church restored, the Hospital of San Juan de Dios enlarged and the arch of Santa Catalina reconstructed. Bridges of the Pensativo were repaired, the water tank and washing place on San Pedro Plaza established, the several alamedas properly cared for and benches placed along them. The cemetery on the site of San Lzaro was reestablished in good condition and the large stone cross moved there from one of the city plazas where it had stood from colonial days. Unfortunately this civic minded leader, who would have

gobierno real hicieron gran terremoto de Santa Marta, los edificios monumentales de las rdenes religiosas, las iglesias, y los edificios pblicos, y aun las casas no pudieron destruirse totalmente en un perodo de tiempo relativamente corto. Pero dadas las circunstancias, parece casi milagroso que quede lo que hay actualmente del Santiago colonial para nuestra apreciacin y estudio casi doscientos aos despus de que se destruy parcialmente. Aunque nunca fue abandonada por completo, la ciudad estuvo sin gobierno hasta 1789. Pero aun despus de esa fecha, durante medio siglo ms o menos, todava sufri descuido expuesta a la intemperie y al deterioro; fue un lugar de vastas ruinas que estaban llenas de escombros y a veces casi escondidas por los rboles y los arbustos que crecan en sus paredes. Tal era la condicin de la antigua ciudad cuando John L. Stephens la visit en diciembre de 1839 y habl con un viejo que viva en Santiago en 1773 y pudo darle una descripcin de testigo ocular de las ruinas despus de los terremotos. Un nmero considerable de vecinos e indgenas o haban vuelto o todava habitaban la capital abandonada, en los ltimos aos del siglo XVIII. Vctor Miguel Daz cita documentos del perodo
los esfuerzos del
el

Aunque

ms

estragos

que muchos

'''

SANTIAGO Y EL VALLE DE PANCHOY


promoted many more improvements, did not live beyond 1855/' Among the few things of note that were rebuilt later was the church adjoining the hospital of San Pedro which was completed in the
1880's.

entre 1818 y 1820 inmediatamente antes de ganar Guatemala su independencia de Espaa. Desde haca muchos aos usaban los habitantes de la

Antigua

la capilla

de

la

Universidad como

iglesia

A minimum
made

of changes

and improvements was

in Antigua during the following fifty years. This had both advantages and disadvantages. Antigua was allowed to retain its colonial character since it was easier to repair od houses, following the original building customs, than to tear them down and build anew. But many splendid od mansions were allowed to fall into further disrepair, and the more monumental ruins were gradually eroding into piles of rubble. Tree roots, which were breaking massive walls apart, and seepage of water into every crevice were Nature's method of destruction. The depredations of greedy and thoughtless men were worse. Some of the ruins were used as stone cjuarries, a practice that was inspircd by the decrees of 1776-77. Other persons, no less greedy or thoughtless, were removing panelled doors, shutters and furnishings to be incorporated into homes on coffee plantations or into new hotels outside of Antigua in the highlands. Distinctive architectural features were being obliterated by unappreciative property owners in Antigua. As od roof timbers decayed the tile roofs were replaced by corrugated iron on the majority of houses, and the wide overhang of roofs, which were typical, disappeared in favor of
inartistic parapets.

haba abierto a la calle una sola puerta. Se consideraba sta inadecuada para la seguridad de los feligreses, y el viejo artcsonado estaba en estado muy malo: adems la planta no era conveniente para parroquia. Se discuti el asunto por irnos aos, y se consideraron varias posibilidades: estaban en pie los muros de la iglesia de San Pedro, al lado del hospital, pero se hallaba sin techo: haba espacio para construir una iglesia de icnografa conveniente dentro de los muros del antiguo Palacio de los Capitanes Generales, enfrente del Ayiuitamiento: tambin las paredes y los pilares de la catedral estaban buenos, pero sera necesario cjuitar cpulas rotas y volver a techar la nave para hacerla servible. Por fin, se decidi que la parte occidental de la catedral que
parroquial.''** Se

daba

a la plaza, o sea el antiguo Sagrario, se podra ms adecuadamente. Tena dos naves orientadas norte-sur, tres puertas que daban a la plaza, y ima nave que miraba hacia el Seminario Tridentino.'''' Se llev a cabo esta decisin, y esta iglesia es la que funciona todava hoy como la

restaurar"

parroquia de San

Jos.

About 1936 Govcrnor Cipriani

restored

the

central fountain in the Plaza and carried oiu other improvements that indicatcd that it was possible to retain the character and beauty of an eighteenth

century city in this, the twentieth. In 1944 Guatemala made Antigua a National
passed laws lo protect the city against further loss of character and ultimate destruction. These laws were designed to stop the stripping of houses and ruins of their authentic colonial identity and architectural details; lo preserve what was left; to prevent further erosin of monumental and historie ruins; and to control renovation in such a manner that the character of this unicjue community would not be lost for future gencralions. It was deemed still possible to preserve the eighteenth century colonial appear-

.Aunque no es colonial, el rgano colocado en el extremo norte de esta iglesia, merece mencionarse. Fue construido en la Antigua en 1830 por Mariano Lpez, (|uien viva en la casa situada diagonalmente enfrente de la iglesia de San Pedro, y dando a la plazuela de dicha iglesia. Tiene muy buen tono, y desde 1830 se ha usado continuamente. Lpez construy tambin el rgano monumental de la catedral de la Nuc\a (Hiatemala, el cual fue destrozado por los terremotos de 19171918.'"

Monument and

Hacia 1840, Jos Mara de Palomo y Monifar nombrado Oficial Mayor del Departamento de Sacatapquez, y l concibi el proyecto de mejorar la .Antigua. Para 1855 muchas familias de la Nueva Guatemala se haban nuidado a la Antigua donde
fue
era

cmoda

la

vida y activo

el

comercio. Tena

la

ance of Antigua. This was especially important since the earth(|uakc of 1773 had arrested the development of this od capital at the very height of the colonial period. The cntire city was an authentic and valuable museum of the history of its time, a monument without parallel in the Americas. No attempl was made to control what people did in remodeling the interior of their houses to make them useful and comfortable, as well as habitable, as long as the exterior character was maintained.

ciudad dos colegios, dos pensiones, dos mesones y unas industrias. Durante esos aos se repar el .Aytmtamiento. se ampli el atrio de la vieja catedral, se restaur el templo de la Merced, y se ensanch el hospital (uc estaba bajo el cuidado de los hermanos de San Juan de Dios. Se reconstruy el arco de Santa Catalina, se repararon los puentes del ro Pensativo, en la Plaza de San Pedro se establecieron
el

estan(|ue y los lavaderos, y se cui-

alamedas colocndose asientos de calicanto a lo largo de ellas. Se restableci el cementerio en el sitio de San Lzaro, y se traslad all la cruz grande de piedra de una de las plazas de la ciudad, donde haba (|uedado desde los das de la colonia. Desgraciadamente, este oficial concienzudo, quien hubiera fomentado otras muchas

daron de

las

SANTIAGO AND THE VALLEY OF PANCHOY


Although the efFort to preserve Antigua carne alniost too late, there Avas still great hope twenty years ago that the plans regarding this historie
mejoras parecidas, falleci en 1855.*' Entre las pocas cosas de importancia que se reconstruyeron ms tarde fue la iglesia contigua al hospital de San Pedro la que .se termin entre 1880 y 890. Se hicieron un mnimo de cambios y reparos en la Antigua durante los cincuenta aos que siguieron. Result tener esto ventajas y desventajas. Antigua pudo guardar su carcter colonial puesto que fue ms fcil reparar antiguas casas, segn las primitivas costumbres de construccin, que echarlas por tierra y reconstruirlas. Pero se dej caer en aun peor estado muchas viejas mansiones esplndidas, y las ruinas ms monumentales fueron corroyndose, llegando a ser montones de escombros. Las races de los rboles cfue rompan los muros macizos, y la filtracin de agua en las grietas fueron formas de destruccin de la naturaleza. Peor fue el saqueo de hombres codiciosos e irreflexivos. Servan algunas ruinas como canteras, una actividad inspirada primitivamente en los decretos de 1776 y 1777. Otras personas, tan codiciosas e inconscientes a la belleza de la ciudad como aqullas, quitaron puertas entrepaadas, postigos y mobiliario para llevarlos a casas de fincas o a nuevos hoteles fuera de Antigua, en los Altos. Dueos de casas en la Antigua, carentes de una apreciacin de lo valioso de la ciudad, destruyeron detalles arquitectnicos caractersticos. Cuando se pudran las maderas de los techos, en la mayora de los casos, reemplazaron los techos de tejas con los de lmina; y los anchos aleros, tan tpicos, desaparecieron, sustituidos por parapetos inartsticos. Hacia 1936 el gobernador Cipriani restaur la fuente central de la plaza e hizo otras mejoras que indicaron que era posible conservar el carcter y la belleza de una ciudad dieciochesca en este siglo
1

monument

could

be

achieved.

Unfortunately

these efforts have not been continuous or entirely successful. In recent years conditions have become worse rather than better. Even since Antigua was made Monument, the depradations of a National citizens have not been controlled. Distinctive and
historie buildings have
uiercialized.

been changed and com-

od crner house on the Street of the Nobles was replaced by a completely incompatible gas station. In 1962 another colonial house was wrecked to provide access to an ugly pseudomodern two story building constructed at that time adjoining one of the most beautiful residences of the colonial period. And subsequently, two od houses opposite the west side of the Palace of the Captains General, which had fine doorways framed with stone, window bases and iron grilles, have been ruthlessly destroyed despite the protests of the committee charged with the protection of the National Monument. Numerous other changes have been made without consideration of the laws, or advice that was available. Many persons in Guatemala and in other countries are interested in this monumental od City of Santiago and endorse its preservation. But the next few years are critical. The people of Antigua will have to join the crusade and insist that the law be enforced if the historie character is to be preserved. Otherwise a priceless colonial gem will

An

be

lost forever.

Bancroft, H. H., History of Central Atnerica, 2 Pardo, Gua, p. 12 & Juarros, I, 102 3 Bancroft, II, 95 ft & Juarros, II, 176-177
1

I,

6^5

tf

&

II,

74

ft

4Remesai,
'Juarros,
7

I,
I,

71 105

ff

<'lbid., 111

Helps, Life of Las Casas, p. 188 & Remcsal, I, 165 Vzquez, IV, 19 Fuentes y Guzran, I, 99 & Juarros, I, 180 Pardo, Efem., p. 1, & Fuentes y Guzmn, I, 102 11 Pardo, Efem., p. 1, & Fuentes y Guzmn, I, 103-110 1^ Pardo, Efem., p. 1, & Juarros, I, 181 13 Pardo, Efem., p. 3 14 /Wd., & Juarros, I, 181 15 Bancroft, II, 321, Juarros, II, 178 Metrpoli Colonial, pp. 153-155 10 Pardo, Efem., p. 4 17 Ibid., & Fuentes y Guzmn, I, 188 AGG, A 1.2-4-2195 (1566) & BAGG VIII, 1, 24-25 IS Metrpoli Colonial, pp. 315 ff 19 Pardo, Efem., p. 141 20 Metrpoli Colonial, p. 324 21 Pardo, Efem., p. 18 & Gonzlez Bustillo, Razn puntual, Nm. 4 22Pardo, /em., p. 21 23 Ibid., p. 46, Gonzlez h..Razn puntual, Nms. 3-6 Stephens, John L., Central America, Chiapas and Yucatn, I p. 268 24 Vzquez, IV, 392-393 Pardo, Efem. pp. 116-118 Gonzlez B., Razn puntual, Nm. 15 25 Vzquez, IV, 326-328, Pardo, Efem., p. 166 & Gonzlez B., Razn puntual, Nm. 18 26 Pardo, Efem., p. 200, & Gonzlez B., Razn puntual, Nms. 21-26 27 Pardo, Efem., p. 206 28 Ibid., p. 216
8 Juarros, I, 122-124 & 9 Pardo, Efem., p. 1, & lu

1944, Guatemala declar Monumento Nacional a la Antigua y decret la ley para proteger la ciudad contra nuevas prdidas de carcter y destruccin eventual. El propsito de esta ley fue poner fin al despojo de las casas y de las ruinas en su identidad colonial y sus detalles arquitectnicos
autnticos;

XX. En

conservar lo que quedaba;

impedir

que

siguiera la erosin de las monumentales ruinas histricas; y controlar la renovacin de tal manera

que

carcter de esta ciudad nica no se perdiera generaciones futuras. Se crea todava posible conservar el aspecto colonial del siglo
el

para

las

XVIII en la Antigua. Fue y es esto de suma importancia porque los terremotos de 1773 haban suspendido el desarrollo de esta antigua capital en el punto cumbre del perodo colonial. Era la ciudad entera un museo autntico y valioso de la historia de su poca; un monumento sin par en Amrica. La ley no trat de controlar lo que hiciera la gente por adentro de sus casas para hacerlas ms tiles y confortables con tal que se
mantuviera
el

carcter exterior colonial.

Aunque

ya fue casi demasiado tarde cuando se

SANTIAGO Y EL VALLE DE PANCHOY


29 Ibid., pp. 207-208 & Metrpoli Colonial, pp. 335-336 30 Pardo, Efem., p. 209

inici esta tentativa de preservar la Antigua, to-

3i/6id., p. 210 32/&d., p. 212 33 Ibid.


3i Ibid., p. 213 35/fe,d.,pp. 210

&

213-214

36/fed., pp. 215-216 37 Stephcns, I, p. 270 38 AGG, 1.2-11.819-1805 (1816)

& BAGG,

I.

202

3!) Daz, Vctor Miguel, Las Bellas Artes en 40 Ibid., p. 162 41 Ibid., pp. 273 ff

Guatemala, pp. 158-161

dava se tenan hace veinte aos grandes esperanzas de que se pudieran realizar los proyectos para este monumento histrico y que se pusiera en ejecucin la ley. Desgraciadamente, no han sido continuos estos esfuerzos ni han tenido el xito esperado. En estos ltimos aos, se ha empeorado la situacin. Aun despus que se hizo a la Antigua Monumento Nacional, no se ha protegido la ciudad de los despojos de algunos vecinos. Se han cambiado y se han destruido edificios histricos distintivos, a veces para fines comerciales. En una esquina de la Calle de la Nobleza una antigua casa autntica fue arrasada para construir en el sitio ima gasolinera de arquitectura totalmente incompatible. En 1962, otra casa colonial fue derrumbada para dar acceso a un edificio pseudo-moderno, sumamente feo, que se construy en ese tiempo, adyacente a una de las casas ms bellas de la Antigua colonial. Y subsiguientemente dos casas ms, enfrente del lado occidental del Palacio de los Capitanes Generales, las cuales tenan muy finos marcos de piedra alrededor de sus puertas, las caractersticas repisas para sus ventanas y rejas antiguas, se han destruido insensiblemente a pesar de las protestas de la comisin encargada de la proteccin del Monumento Nacional. Se han hecho otros numerosos cambios sin hacer caso de la ley y contra los consejos disponibles.

Muchas personas en Guatemala y en el extranjero se interesan por esta antigua ciudad monumental de Santiago y desean su preservacin. Pero de suma importancia lo que pase en los aos prximos. Es preciso que se iman a la cruzada los vecinos de la Antigua y (]ue insistan ellos en que se ponga en vigor la ley, si ha de conservarse el carcter histrico de su ciudad. De otra manera una preciossima joya colonial se perder para
es

siempre.

St. James patrn saim of the city Santiago Patrono de la ciudad

Santiago

Antigua and Agua Volcano from Manchen Hill Antigua y Volcn de Agua desde el cerro del Manchen

View from

the lower slopes of

Vista desde las faldas del Volcn de

Agua Volcano Agua

VALLEY OF PANCHOY

VALLE DE PANCHOY

Volcanes Fuego and Acatenango. Ciudad Vieja in distance at Volcn de Fuego y Volcn de Acatenango. Ciudad Vieja a lo

left center.

lejos a

mano

izquierda.

Agua

volcano. San Juan del Obispo on the lower slope among trees at left center. Volcn de Agua. San Juan del Obispo en la falda inferior entre rboles a la izquierda.

AERIAL VIEWS VALLEY OF PANCHOY

VISTA AEREA VALLE DE PANCHOY

i^v. 4k>4.^^-;^.^i|^^^^.^-

Antigua with La Merced in the foreground La Antigua con La Merced en primer plano

Central rea of the city

rea central de

la

cuidad

ANTIGUA GUATEMALA

Ruined church
Iglesia

of Recoleccin Monastery arruinada del monasterio de la Recoleccin

II

ARCHITECTURE OF ANTIGUA

LA ARQUITECTURA DE LA ANTIGUA

Any

discussion of the colonial architecture of


a preliminary under-

Para cualquier discusin de


lonial de la

la

arquitectura co-

Antigua Guatemala requires


lcale.

standing of a variety of conditions peculiar to this

The background

of

site,

economics and

earthquakes have been presented. Each one of these elements played a part in creating this architecture. The influence of Spain and the Indian was secondary to local physical conditions. In the Valley of Panchoy, the City of Santiago was built during a period of two hundred and
thirty years. Logically the architecturally minded observer expects to see periods of development, or the identification of each building by what is popularly referred to as a "style" and becomes confused and sceptical when a label can not be applied. In Mxico it is possible to speak of one structure as bcing the so-called "Early Franciscan", another as definitely Spanish Renaissance, Baroque, Churrigueresque or Rococ. Also one can often identify a building, regardless of its labelled style, or mixture of styles, as a sixteenth, seventeenth or eighteenth century structure even without documentary proof. These simple identifications do not apply because we find that the conditions are not paralleled in Antigua Guatemala. The explanation involves both complex and simple reasons. There is no single, direct way to point to the unique architectural character of this

Antigua Guatemala es preciso lui conocimiento previo de una variedad de condiciones propias de este lugar. El fondo de sitio, economa y movimientos ssmicos ya se ha presentado. Cada uno de estos elementos tuvo lui papel en la creacin de la arquitectura de esta ciudad. Las influencias de Espaa y del indgena eran secundarias
condiciones fsicas locales. Valle de Panchoy, se construy la ciudad de Santiago durante un perodo de doscientos treinta aos. Lgicamente, el observador interesado en la arquitectura espera ver perodos de desarrollo, o la identificacin de cada edificio por lo que se llama popularmente estilo,' y se confunde y se vuelve esccptico cuando no se le puede aplicar tal identificacin. En Mxico es posible hablar de
ante
las

En

el

una fbrica como del llamado 'franciscano inicial,' de otra como definitivamente del renacimiento espaol, barroco, churrigueresco, o rococ. Tambin,
ficio,

muchas

veces, es posible identificar

un

edi-

a pesar de su estilo designado, o mezcla de

estilos,

como una fbrica del siglo XVI, XVII, o XVIII aun sin prueba documentada. En la Antigua Guatemala no se puede usar estas sencillas
identificaciones

colonial capital.

ponjue no se encuentran paralemismas condiciones all. Hay razones complejas y sencillas para explicar esto. No hay una sola manera directa para sealar el carcter
lizadas las

Although planners and builders of the colony were frequently spoken of as fortification engineers, there never was need for the type of structure which is reflected in the heavy, barren walls with crenellations that one sees in Mxico at Cholula or Acolman. There is no record of any similar structure having been built in the Valley of Panchoy. A sufficient number of builders and craftsmen
carne to the colony to direct construction. Whatever architectural character the early buildings

arcjuitectnico nico de esta capital colonial.

Aunque con frecuencia se hablaba de los diseadores y constructores de la colonia como ingenieros de fortificaciones, nimca hubo necesidad
del tipo de edificio que se refleja en los muros macizos sin ornamentacin y con almenas que se ve en Mxico, en Cholula o en Acolman. No hay documentacin de haberse hecho ninguna fbrica parecida a stas en el Valle de Panchoy. Vinieron a la colonia bastantes constructores y artesanos para dirigir la construccin de los edi-

21

ARCHITECTURE OF ANTIGUA
had inust have been that of the reas of Spain
familiar to these colonists.

A number of Tlascalan

and Cholulan Indian allies arrived with the conquerors and remained.^ Among these there may have been skilled masons who passed their craft along by apprenticeship. In general the Indians of this rea were not craftsmen, and any influence from this source would have to be ruled out in favor of the stronger influence of the colonists
themselves. At this point another factor must be considered. The Indian masn of Mxico was skilled in the use of stone, its facing and decoration. In the Valley of Panchoy there was a hard, brittle stone which could be broken into rubble but it could not be quarried in large blocks or easily carved. Neither was there a variety of structural or suitable decorative stone cise at hand. There was nothing of the tezontle quality that contributed so much to the character of the architecture of the Mexican capital. or was there a ready-made source of cut stone such as the conquerors of Per found in Cuzco and the great Inca fortress of Sacsahuamn on the hill above that city. Antigua was a contemporary of Mxico City and Cuzco, but both of these latter cities were shaped in their plans and character by the fact that they not only were adapted to the sites of existing native cities but absorbed the labor and skills of the conquered people; whereas Antigua was planned and built on virgin soil and not closely related to an Indian cultural center. Shelter was a necessity from the very first days and, lacking available permanent materials, their early buildto support thatched roofs,

and temporary. They used posts and latticed walls of reeds were plastered with mud. As time permitted,
ings were modest
these were replaced with thatch covered adobes,

and
roof

after a disastrous fire in

Almolonga the use of

tiles was adopted.^ For most of the 16th cetury, adobe must have remained the predominent structural material where shelter alone was involved. However, the Spaniard was inherently a fine builder, especially where more monumental buildings were concerned. By 1550 the colonists had adopted a form

ficios. Cualquier carcter arquitectnico que tuvieran los edificios primeros habr sido el de las regiones de Espaa conocidas por esos colonizadores. Vinieron con los conquistadores aliados tlaxcaltecas y cholulas y se quedaron.' Es posible que entre ellos hubiera albailes hbiles que ensearon su oficio a aprendices. Pero en general, los indgenas de la regin no eran artesanos hbiles, y por eso no habran influido tanto como los mismos colonizadores. Hay que tomar en cuenta otro factor de gran influencia en la arquitectura de Santiago. El albail indgena mexicano era diestro en el uso de la piedra, en labrarla y decorarla. En el Valle de Panchoy exista una piedra dura y quebradiza que se poda romper para hacer mampostera, pero era imposible sacarla en bloques grandes, y no se poda tallarla. Tampoco haba cerca'una variedad de piedra estructural ni de tipo apto para la decoracin. No exista nada de la calidad del 'tezontle' que contribuy tanto al carcter de la arquitectura de la capital de Mxico. Ni haba fuente de piedra ya cortada y labrada tal como encontraron los conquistadores del Per en Cuzco y en la gran fortaleza inca de Sacsahuamn en una colina por encima de aquella ciudad. La Antigua fue contempornea de las ciudades de Cuzco y de Mxico, pero estas dos fueron influidas en sus trazas y en su carcter por el hecho de que no slo se adaptaron a los sitios de ciudades indgenas ya existentes que tenan edificios utilizables, sino que se sirvieron del trabajo y de las habilidades en construir ya desarrolladas del pueblo vencido. Al contrario, se traz y se construy la Antigua en tierra virgen que no se relacionaba directamente con un centro cultural indgena. Como fue preciso tener abrigo en seguida, y no tuvieron disponibles materiales para construcciones permanentes, las primeras fbricas eran modestas y provisionales. Se sirvieron de postes para sostener techos de paja, y paredes de caas enrejadas que se cubrieron de lodo (bajareque). Con el tiempo se reemplazaron con adobes y techados de paja; despus de un incendio desastroso en

of construction for the walls of ecclesiastical buildings which has been perpetuated through the

succeeding four centuries. Walls were built of large rubble in a bed of heavy lime mortar with no more than a rough attempt at fitting the stones. The thickness of the walls varied according to height. At intervals layers of large brick were used for levelling, and then the stonework continued. In the upper walls brick was used alone, especially

where there was a transition to brick barrel vaults or domes. This type of construction required exterior and interior facing with stucco or plaster.

The
ened

mortar, even in the earliest buildings, hardto a surprisingly strong bond (30 a)

Almolonga, empezaron a servirse de tejas.Durante la mayor parte del siglo XVI, es probable que siguiera siendo el adobe el material estructural predominante cuando era solamente cuestin de abrigo. Sin embargo, los espaoles eran inherentemente constructores sumamente buenos, sobre todo cuando se trataba de edificios monumentales. Para 1550, los colonizadores haban adoptado para los muros de los edificios eclesisticos una forma de construccin que se ha perpetuado durante los siguientes cuatro siglos. Se construyeron los muros de mampostera con slo una tentativa tosca de ajustar las piedras en argamasa. El espesor de las paredes variaba segn su altura. A intervalos, se usaban hileras de ladrillos grandes para nivelar, y luego continuaban la

22

LA ARQUITECTURA DE LA ANTIGUA

Wood was available, and until the mid-seventeenth century the churches and large monastery ^vere roofed with tile over wood construction. Beams were carved and ceilings panelled in the more elabrate structures. Descriptions speak of mudejar and artesonado ceilings. After 1650 stone arches supporting low domes were more general ly used than wood to cover large as well as small reas of churches and public buildings. The true dome, supported on a ring above pendentives, was only used over the crossing of a few churches. The usual flat dome, called a "bveda vida" , was as apt to be elliptical as circular and it was supported directly on the walls, or arches, by cutting vertical planes through the dome to fit the rectangular or square space to be covered. This form of vaulting was sturdy, and it was adaptable to an infinite variety of uses over rooms, corridors, chapis, aisles, and the naves of churches. 1 he early builders of Antigua were very conscious of the dangers of earthquakes since there were at least five between 1565 and the very serious one of 1586.'' If there had been any tendency to build lofty belfries or high walls, these recurrent earth movements would have served as warnings before any considerable number of major constructions were completed. In any event, heavy walls and continued repairs suficed to preserve the earlier buildings for nearly a century. When the earth(iuak.e of 1651 occurred very few of the 16th century buildings survived. Weakened walls and decaying wood roofs could not withstand this major earthquake. Reconstruction rather than repair was necessary. Had this been the final disaster of this category, there might have been a few remnants of the previous century survive since portions of buildings no doubt were rehabilitated and original plans left unchanged, but what remained then can not be identified
rooms
today.

construccin con piedras. En la parte superior de los muros, sobre todo cuando haba una transicin medio can o cpulas hechas de ladrillo, se usaban solamente ladrillos. Este tipo de construccin exiga que se cubrieran las paredes por adentro y por afuera con estuco o yeso. Aun la mezcla de los primeros edificios endureci de tal manera que hizo una unin de dureza sorprena bvedas de

dentemente fuerte

(30 a)

Se encontraba disponible madera, y hasta mediados del siglo XVII, las iglesias y las piezas ms grandes de los monasterios fueron techadas con

All of the major institutions constructcd before 1651 had been rebuilt, or were approaching completion, by 1717. Monastcries. convens, churches,

public buildings and private houses had increased


in size and numbers in spite of serious earthquake damage in 1689. Vaulting had rcplaced wood in

the roofs of most churches, buttressing had been added to reinforce walls or support stone arches, and farades of churches had been elaborated by the incorporation of a variety of Baroque forms. But 1717 was another year of great destruction, and subsequently most of the buildings which had

por encima de una armazn de madera. En ms primorosos se tallaron las vigas y se hicieron los techos de tableros. Hay descripciones de techos mudejares y artesonados. Despus de 1650, arcos de piedra para sostener bvedas bajas se usaban ms generalmente que madera para" cubrir reas grandes y pequeas de templos y de edificios pblicos. La verdadera cpula, sostenida sobre un crculo por encima de pechinas, slo se usaba sobre el crucero de unas cuantas iglesias. La bveda rebajada usual, llamada 'bveda vida', era igualmente tanto elptica como circular y fue sostenida directamente sobre muros o arcos, cortando planos verticales por la cpula para acomodar el espacio cuadrado o rectangular que haba de cubrirse. Esta clase de bveda era fuerte y acomodable a una variedad infinita de usos para habitaciones, corredores, capillas, naves principales y laterales de templos. Los constructores del primer siglo de la Antigua tenan muy en cuenta los peligros de los terremotos puesto que hubo al menos cinco entre 1565 y el muy grave de 1586.' Si hubiera existido una tendencia a construir campanarios altos o muros elevados, hubieran servido de aviso estos movimientos ssmicos peridicos antes de haberse acabado un mnnero considerable de fbricas de importancia. De todos modos, muros espesos y reparaciones continuas bastaron para conservar los primeros edificios formales por casi im siglo. Despus de los terremotos de 1651 (|uedaron muy pocos edificios del siglo XVI. Muros debilitados y techos de madera rodos no pudieron resistir este terremoto mayor. Ya se trataba de reconstruir, ms bien que de reparar. Si hubiera sido ste el ltimo desastre de tal categora, es posible f|ue hubieran quedado unos cuantos restos
tejas los edificios

del siglo anterior, ya c|ue sin

duda rehabilitaron

algunas partes de unos edificios sin cambiar los planos primitivos. Pero lo (ue cjued entonces no

been built prior lo 1689 required extensive reconstruction. As a result it is not easy to be certain what portion of a building, if any, is solely sevenleenlh century. Foriiniately, from the viewpoint
of the archiiectural historian, the older structures

puede

identificarse hoy como del siglo XVI. Para 1717, todas las instituciones mayores construidas antes de 1651 se haban reconstruido, o se acercaba su reconstruccin a su terminacin. pesar de daos serios causados por el terremoto de

were not completely razed and rebuilt. Most of them are unchanged in plan, and their exteriors are essentially the same in form even though the

los

1689, se haban aumentado en tamao y nmero conventos, monasterios, iglesias, edificios p-

blicos y casas particidares. Se haba

reemplazado

23

ARCHITECTURE OF ANTIGUA
may have been altered. Perhaps more than anything else, the lack of easily worked stone was responsible for the magsurfacc decoracin
nificent use of plaster decoration (ataurique) durla madera en la mayor parte de los templos, se haban aadido contrafuertes para remuros o para sostener arcos de piedra, y se haban elaborado las fachadas de las iglesias incorporando una variedad de formas barrocas. Pero fue 1717 otro ao de gran destruccin, y por con-

con bveda
forzar

ing the last century before the destruction of Santiago. Baroque architecture demanded a more plstic treatment of detail and an abundance of statue-fiUed niches. Had there been a softer and finer textured stone cise at hand, there would have been better examples of carving produced. There were many good sculptors of wood, and their images were renowned and distributed throughout Central America.* Certainly the artistic ability of those who worked in stucco is apparent. There is no way to account for the paucity of good stone carving except by the lack of this

que se haban construido antes de 1689 necesitaban reconstrucsiguiente, la mayora de los edificios

ciones considerables.
fcil estar

De

esto, resulta

que no

es

seguro de cul parte de una fbrica, o si alguna porcin, es totalmente del siglo XVII. Afortunadamente, desde el punto de vista del historiador de la arquitectura, no fueron completamente arrasados y reconstruidos los edificios ms viejos. Las trazas de la mayora de ellos quedan sin cambiar, y en su forma los exteriores son esencialsible

material as a

mdium

of artistic expression. Es-

cutcheons and fountains in limited numbers were carved in stone, but primarily it was shaped for structural uses, such as door frames, capitals, arches and, after 1725, as an exterior vencer consisting of small dressed stones. Where carving was done the finished product frequently resembled the technique of an artist in plaster rather than
that of a Sculptor of stone.

mente iguales a los anteriores, aun cuando es poque se haya alterado el adorno de su super-

ficie.

The colonial masn was extremely adept in the use of brick, not only in clever vaulting, the construction of an arch without a keystone, and other devices, but in building any form intended for artistic embellishment. Brick was used for the core of round columns, entablatures, ornamental Windows, multilinear pediments, belfries and all other architectural expressions. It was also the core of the sculptor's full relief statues for the niches of all church farades. These beautifully modelled and, at times, polychromed images were far superior in detail than they could have been if they had been carved of stone. The drapery was executed in especially commendable fashion, and the hands and faces were representations of great individuality and character rather than being merely 'pretty' as often happens with a plstic mdium. The decoration of the facades in both the seventeenth and eighteenth century churches was rather
uniformly Baroque. The composition was comindependent of the structural wall against which it was placed, except when framing doors, Windows or niches that were a part of the wall. The decorative facade might vary in proportions or size but it still appeared to be a retablo composed of rather simple architectural forms. However, the surface was enriched by intricate decorations in plaster which frequently covered every square foot of it. This was a form of Plateresque architecture, but it represented only that partof the style which relates to surface decoration. It was not carried into the architectural compopletely

Quiz ms que ninguna otra cosa la falta de piedra fcilmente laborable fue responsable por el uso magnfico de ataurique durante el ltimo siglo antes de la destruccin de Santiago. La arquitectura barroca exiga un tratamiento ms plstico de los detalles y una abundancia de nichos llenos de imgenes. Si hubiera habido disponible una piedra menos dura y de textura ms fina, se hubieran producido mejores ejemplares de piedra tallada. Se hallaban en Santiago muchos buenos imagineros, cuyas tallas eran renombradas y se distribuan por toda la Amrica Central.* Por cierto, es muy evidente tambin la habilidad artstica de los que trabajaban en estuco. No se puede explicar la escasez de buenas obras talladas en piedra si no por la falta de este material como medio de expresin artstica. Se labraron en piedra escudos y fuentes en nmero limitado, pero principalmente se tall la piedra para usarla estructuralmente como marcos de puertas, capiteles, arcos, y despus de 1725, como revestimiento exterior que consista en pequeas piedras labradas. Cuando se tallaba, con frecuencia el resultado se pareca a la tcnica del artista en estuco, ms bien que a la de un escultor en piedra. El albail colonial era sumamente versado en el uso de ladrillo, no slo en abovedar diestramente, en construir un arco sin clave, y en otros recursos estructurales, sino en fabricar un ncleo de cualquier forma, destinado para adorno artstico. Se usaban ladrillos para el centro de columnas, entablamentos, ventanas ornamentales, frontones
mixtilneos, campanarios y todas las otras expresiones arquitectnicas. Tambin fue de ladrillo el corazn de las imgenes de bulto hechas en alto
relieve para los nichos de las fachadas de todos los

templos. Estas estatuas, hermosamente modeladas y a veces policromadas, eran muy superiores en
detalles a lo

nents of the facade.

And

in spite of the richness

que hubieran podido

ser

si

se

hubieran

and variety of motifs, there is sedom a suggestion of Rococ on these exteriors. The basic architectural

labrado en piedra. Se ejecut el ropaje de manera especialmente valiosa, y eran las manos y las caras

24

LA ARQUITECTURA DE LA ANTIGUA
forms are clearly defined, and the decoration enhances these forms without confusin (30) After 1725 a sfiallow pilaster of undulating lines, and decorated on its flat surface, was used on a number of churches. This lias been given the nanie of "estpite" by some writers and several explanations ofFered as to its derivation." Kubler quotes a definition describing it as a shaft-like and inverted obelisk, and says that it was introduced by Balbs at Seville and Hurtado at Granada." The pilaster of Antigua is anything but an inverted obelisk. It faintly resembles a candelabrum, but more nearly appears to be a repetition of
guitar-like shapes.

representaciones de gran individualidad y carcter, ms bien que slo 'bonitas' como sucede a menudo cuando se trata de obras en un medio plstico. El adorno de las fachadas de las iglesias de los siglos XVII y XVIII era principalmente barroco.

lthough these

pilasters are a

departure from the classic forms that are used on the majority of Antigua churches, there is no basis for applying the label of Churrigueresque to these facades. J. Antonio Villacorta very loosely designates as Churrigueresque most of the churches of

Antigua regardless of what form or motifs are employed. In fact, he completely confuses the use of surface decoration of plaster with Churrigueresque and incltides such churches as La Merced (136) and El Carmen (252) in this category and, to make his classification even more ridiculous, adds the monumental Palace of the Captains General and the City Hall.' Actually there is no true Churrigueresque in Antigua such as is foimd so abundantly in Mxico and where, as in the Sagrario, it reached a state of development more elabrate and fanciful than in its native Spain. lthough Vctor Miguel Daz is correct in his assumption that Santa Clara Church (1734) is not Churrigueresque, his reason is in error whcn he states that this style had fallen into disuse many years before.'* Jos Churriguera had died in 1725, but the time lag between European influcnce and colonial usage caused the real impact
of his novel contribiuion to Spanish architecture to be at its height in Mxico at this date and to

continu well past the middle of the century. lthough, as has been said, there is no real Churrigueresque facade in Antigua, the nearest likeness to it is found in the decoration of the lateral street doors of Santa Clara Church (193). During the middle quarters of the eighteenth century, imder the influence of Diego de Forres, dressed stone of small and irregular size was used as a vencer on the exterior of a few churches and public buildings. This was the only departure from stucco surfaces and plaster ornamentation. Even after 1750 onc of the finest examples of plaster work was produced in La Merced Church. This, along with most of the other seventeenth and eighteenth centuries temples of Antigua, is aptly classified by Dr. Pal Kelemen as "earthquake Baroque".* That designation is well chosen because it was the repeated earthquakes which caused the unique character of Antigua, the lack of identifiable periods and a sequence of styles. If this had

Su composicin era completamente independiente del muro estructural contra el que se pona, con excepcin de los casos en que serva de marco alrededor de puertas, ventanas o nichos que eran una parte del muro. Los tres cuerpos de la fachada decorativa podan variar en sus proporciones o en su tamao, pero siempre la fachada pareca ser un retablo compuesto de formas anjuitectnicas bastante sencillas. Sin embargo, la superficie se encontraba enriquecida con adornos complicados en estuco, los cuales con frecuencia cubran cada metro cuadrado de ella. Fue esto una forma de arquitectura plateresca, pero representaba slo esa parte del plateresco relacionada con el adorno de las superficies. No se extenda a las partes constitutivas arquitectnicas de la fachada. Y a pesar de la riqueza y variedad de motivos, raras veces hay sugestin del rococ en estos exteriores. Las formas arquitectnicas bsicas son claramente definidas, y el adorno encarece estas formas sin confusin. Despus de 1725 una pilastra poco profunda, de lneas ondiantes y decorada en su superficie llana, se usaba en varios templos. Algunos escritores han dado a esta pilastra el nombre de 'estpite', y se han ofrecido varias explicaciones de su derivacin.'"" Cita Kubler una definicin en que se describe como im obelisco invertido parecido a un fuste y dice que fue introducida por Balbs en Sevilla y Hurtado en Granada." La pilastra de la Antigua no es de ningima manera un obelisco invertido. Se asemeja un poco a un candelabro, pero ms bien parece una repeticin de formas semejantes a guitarras. Aunque son distintas estas pilastras de las formas clsicas empleadas en la mayora de las iglesias de la Antigtia, no hay razn para dar el nombre de churrigueresco a estas fachadas. J. Antonio Villacorta aplica muy ilgicamente el nombre de churrigueresco a la mayora de los templos de la Antigua, a pesar de las formas o motivos (jue se han usado. En realidad, confunde completamente el empleo de adorno de la superficie en estuco con el churrigueresco, e incluye
iglesias tales
(

como La Merced

136

y el

Carmen

en esta categora, y aade el monumental Palacio de los Capitanes Generales y el Ayuntamiento, para hacer aun ms ridicula esta clasifica252
)

cin."

realidad no hay churrigueresco verdadero en Antigua tal como se halla tan abundantemente en Mxico, y donde alcanz un estado de desarrollo, como en el Sagrario, ms elaborado y ms imaginativo que en su Espaa nativa. Aunque est correcto Vctor Miguel Daz al presumir que la iglesia de Santa Clara (1734) no es churrigueresca, la razn que da es equivocada cuando dice que
la

En

25

ARCHITECTURE OF ANTIGUA
not been a place of such destructive forces, it is quite probable that there would still exist some known examples of each century, and their evolution by periods would be evident. The builders and architects of Antigua were, in some instances, familiar with certain reas of Spain and Mxico. The Spanish patio, the European cloister, the Mudejar details and the Doric or lonic orders were as suitable here as elsewhere in the Latin Americas. Luis Lujan Muoz and Ernesto Chinchilla Aguilar also point out that works of Vignola, Vitruvius, Serlio and others, which Avere published in Spain in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, were available in Antigua.'" But
there is sufficient originality and independent character about Antigua's architecture to disprove that any particidar soince or influence governed
Avhat was built there.
este
estilo

muchos

aos.**

haba cado en desuso desde haca Jos Churriguera haba muerto en

1 725, pero la demora entre su influencia en Europa y el uso de su estilo en las colonias, result en estar en su apogeo en Mxico en esa fecha esta contribucin novedosa a la arquitectura espaola, y continu hasta bastante despus de la mitad del siglo. Aunque, como ya se ha dicho, no hay ninguna fachada verdaderamente churrigueresca en la Antigua, lo que se le asemeja ms se halla en el adorno de las puertas laterales (que dan a la calle) de

Santa Clara

193

).

construction of schools and public buildsame emphasis as did the monastic foundations and churches. The University did not have a comparable building until shortly before the destruction of the City. The Palace of the Captains General and the City Hall were still incomplete when the catastrophe of 1773 occurred. Several ames stand out among the master builders of each century. The first great planner, Juan Bautista Antonelli, who laid out the townsite of Santiago in 1542, was a military engineer," as was the last to hold a similar position, Luis Diez Navarro. A native of Mlaga, Spain, the latter came to Santiago as Engineer in Chief in 1741
ings did not receive the

The

el tercer cuarto del siglo bajo la influencia de Diego de Porres, se usaba piedra labrada de tamao pequeo e irregular como revestimiento en el exterior de algunos templos y edificios piiblicos. Fue ste el tnico abandono de superficies de estuco y del ataurique. Aun despus de 1750 uno de los mejores ejemplares de ataurique se produjo en la iglesia de la Merced. Esta, junto con la mayora de los otros templos de los siglos XVII y XVIII de la Antigua, es clasificada aptamente por el Dr. Pal Kelemen como el 'barroco ssmico'.'' El uso de esa designacin es sumamente feliz, pues fueron los terremotos repetidos lo que caus el carcter tnico de la Antigua, la falta de perodos identificables y una sucesin de estilos. Si no hubiera estado situada esta ciudad en un lugar de fuerzas tan el

Durante

segundo y

XVn,

destructivas, es

muy

probable que existieran

to-

having had a hand in important architectural He was one of a group of talented architect-builders who left their imprint on
after

projects in Mxico.

the public buildings of the City before 1773,'^ and it was Diez Navarro who was named official planner of the City of New Guatemala on December
1775.''' By this time he was advanced in years. Between Antonelli and Diez Navarro some of the most outstanding men not only lacked a European background but had their beginnings as carpenters, masons or as apprentice architects in San5,

tiago. They earned their titles of Master of Public Works, Builder or Architect through years of experience, demonstration of ability and required examinations. One of these was Juan Pascual, a free mulato of the mid-seventeenth century, who was responsible for the Church of San Agustn and the plan of the Hospital of San Pedro, which was not completed when he died about 1660." Jos de Porres appears to have been a pupil of Pascual and

his assistant since, according to his own declaration, he finished the Hospital and built the

Church of San Pedro. During the last forty years of the seventeenth century, Jos de Porres was architect and builder of amost every important
'""^

project of the Capital. He is credited with the Church of Beln, the Cathedral, the Episcopal

dava unos ejemplares definitivos de cada siglo, y por perodos. En algunos casos, los constructores y arquitectos de Santiago conocan ciertas regiones de Espaa y de Mxico. El patio espaol, el claustro europeo, los detalles mudejares y los rdenes dricos o jnicos eran tan apropiados- aqu como en otras partes de Hispanoamrica. Tambin, como sealan Luis Lujan Muoz y Ernesto Chinchilla Aguilar, se encontraban en Santiago obras de Vignola, Vitruvius, Serlio y otros autores que se publicaron en Espaa en los siglos XVI y XVII.'" Sin embargo, tiene la arquitectura de la Antigua bastante originalidad y carcter independiente para desaprobar que una fuente o influencia especial alguna gobern lo que se construy all. La construccin de los colegios y los edificios pblicos no recibi el mismo nfasis como las iglesias y las fundaciones monsticas. No fue sino hasta muy poco tiempo antes de la destruccin de Santiago que la Universidad tuvo un edificio comparable a ellas. El Palacio de los Capitanes Generales y el Ayuntamiento estaban todava incompletos cuando ocurri la catstrofe de 1773. Varios nombres se destacan entre los maestros mayores de cada siglo. El primer gran delineador, Juan Bautista Antonelli, quien traz la ciudad de Santiago en 1542, era un ingeniero militar," y el liltimo que ocup semejante puesto, Luis Diez Navarro, lo era tambin. Nacido en Mlaga, Espasera evidente su evolucin

LA ARQUITECTURA DE LA ANTIGUA
Palace, the Compaa de Jess. Santa Teresa Church and Convent, and a major part of the expansin and rebuilding of San Francisco Church and Monastery. The latter was still under his dia, ste vino a Santiago como Ingeniero Mayor en 1741, despus de haber trabajado en proyectos arquitectnicos importantes en Mxico. Fue miembro de un grupo de arquitectos-constructores de gran talento que influyeron mucho en los edificios piiblicos de la ciudad antes de 1773,'- y fue Luis Diez Navarro a quien nombraron delineador oficial de la Ntieva Guatemala, el 5 de diciembre de 1775.''' Fara entonces, ya era de edad avanzada. Entre Antonelli y Diez Navarro, algunos de los hombres ms sobresalientes no slo carecan de conocimientos europeos, sino que principiaron como carpinteros, albailes, o aprendices de arquitectos de Santiago. Ganaron su ttulo de Maestro Mayor de Obras. Constructor o Arquitecto por medio de aos de experiencia, la demostracin de habilidad y los exmenes exigidos. Uno de stos fue Juan Pascual, un mulato libre de mediados del siglo XVII. a quien se debi el templo de San Agustn y la traza del Hospital de San Fedro que no estaba acabado cuando muri l, hacia 166().^* Jos de Forres parece haber sido discpulo de Pascual y su ayudante ptiesto que, segi'in su propia declaracin, termin el hospital y construy la iglesia de San Pedro.'' Durante los ltimos cuarenta aos del siglo XVII, Jos de Forres fue el arquitecto y constructor de casi todas las fbricas de importancia de la capital. .\ l se atribuyen el templo de Beln, la Catedral, el palacio episcopal, la Compaa de Jess, la iglesia de Santa Teresa y su convento, la mayor parte del ensanchamiento y reconstruccin de la iglesia y del monasterio de San Francisco. Todava estaba dirigiendo sta cuando falleci en 1703."'' El nombre de Forres (o Porras) parece haber aparecido aun entre los alarifes en lmolonga, y es posible que fuera Jos de esa misma familia.'" Otro Forres Diego, quien se dice fue hijo de Joslleg a ser Maestro Mayor de Obras en 1717 y sirvi de manera notable despus de los terremotos de aquel ao. Su nombre se encuentra asociado con La Recoleccin desde 1703 hasta 1717. Despus de esta fecha, o trabaj o tas el trabajo que haba de hacerse en los hospitales, en el Palacio de los Capitanes Generales, en la Casa de Moneda, y en el Colegio de Doncellas. Fue su trabajo en sta en 1734, antecedente de la construccin del Convento de las Capuchinas con que se asocia definitivamente su nombre. Se cree que fue obra suya tambin la Escuela de Cristo (1730), y el templo del Convento de Santa Clara (1734). Le atribuyen varias innovaciones distintivas en todas estas iglesias. Asimismo se supone haber trabajado en el Ayuntamiento que tiene muchas caractersticas y detalles parecidos a los hallados en la Escuela de Cristo. Una mencin final de Diego de Forres se halla en un documento fechado el 19 de diciembre de 1739, en que se autoriz el pago por su trabajo en la hermosa fuente pblica en la Plaza

rection when he died in lyOS.'" The ame of Forres (or Porras) seems to have appeared among builders even in Ahuolonga, and it is possible that Jos was of that same family." Another Forres, Diego, who is supposed to be Jos's son, became the Master of Fublic Works in 1717 and performed noteworthy service following the earthquakes of that year. His ame was associated with Recoleccin from 1703 to 1717. After the latter date he worked, or estimated the work to be done, on the hospitals, Falace of the Captains General, Mint and the School of Doncellas. His work on the last named in 1734 was preliminary to the biiilding of the Capuchin Convent with which his ame is definitely connected. It is also believed that he was responsible for Escuela de Cristo (1730) and Santa Clara Church (1734). He is creditcd with various distinctive innovations in all of these churches. He is likewise supposed to have worked on the City Hall which shows many similar details and characteristics foimd at the Escuela de Cristo. Final mention of Diego de

Forres is made in a document dated December 19. 1739 when payment was ordered for his work on the beautiful public foimtain in the Royal Plaza."" In 1741 Diego de Forres was succeeded by Juan de Dios Aristondo who finished work on both the Mint and the City Hall which may have been started by the former.'" Aristondo was Master of Fublic Works for six years and was followed in turn by Jos Manuel Ramrez.^" This very creative architect was responsible for many of the last Baroque expressions in Santiago, such as multilinear arches and the "cushion" pilasters. He is credited with the Seminary of Tridentino, and his ame is associated with Juan Jos Gonzles Batres and Diez Navarro on the University of San Carlos.^' Luis Diez Navarro was in charge of the Falace of the Captains General after 1741 and other works outside of Santiago. During his absences Juan de Dios Estrada was made the Master of Fublic Works in 1749. He had built new portions of the Hospitals of San Fedro and San Juan de Dios in 1739." Following his death Francisco de Estrada was named Master of Fublic Works in 1755 and he planned for the City Hall the extensin of .seventeen doiible arches which was not begun when the City was destroyed.-^ In 1770

Bernardo Ramrez was appointed chief architect, and it was this man who was made responsible for the removal to New Guatemala of all usable materials after Santiago was abandoned by the Royal
Government.*^

The
as the

City of Santiago was well

endowed with
It also

monumental

structures, particularly ecclesiastical,

following pages will show.

had

less

Real.'

27

ARCHITECTURE OF ANTIGUA
impressive architectural forms which are both interesting and frequently unusual. Some of the details are suficiently unique to merit special observation and discussion in a seprate chapter. Therefore, only brief inention of a few will be

made

here.

Because Santiago was fortnate in its abundance of good water above the city and cise at hand, from its earliest years this was used in public and private fountains without need of any restrictions. At the end of the colonial period many of these fountains were destroyed or moved away, but enough remain to provide some idea of their variety. The distribution of water was so general that most of the colonial houses possessed a freestanding or a wall fountain in one or more patios. In
the cloisters of the city there were fountains of these were truly monumental in size. Instead of using river banks or stream beds for washing of clothes, each rea had public laundries, and water for this purpose reached the private 'pilas' o the houses. In all of these places, both public and private, water ran continuously. It was distributed by gravity to a small control tank in every city block and reached its destination by
all

En 1741 fue sustituido Diego de Forres por Juan de Dios Aristondo, quien termin la obra de la Casa de Moneda y del Ayuntamiento, que posiblemente empez aqul.'" Fue Aristondo Maestro Mayor de Obras por seis aos y fue seguido en su turno por Jos Manuel Ramrez.^" A este arquitecto de gran talento creativo, se deben muchas de
ltimas expresiones barrocas en Santiago, tales los arcos mixtilneos y las pilastras 'almohadilladas.' Se le atribuye el Colegio Seminario Tridentino, y se asocia su nombre con los de Juan Jos Gonzlez Batres y Luis Diez Navarro en la
las

como

and some

Universidad de San Carlos.-' Despus de 1741 estaba encargado Luis Diez Navarro de la reconstruccin del Palacio de los Capitanes Generales y de otras obras fuera de Santiago. Durante sus ausencias le hicieron a Juan de Dios Estrada Maestro Mayor de Obras, despus de
1749.

de

los hospitales

Dios.^cisco

haba construido l partes nuevas de San Pedro y de San Juan de Despus de su muerte, nombraron a Frande Estrada Maestro Mayor de Obras, y l

En 1739

deline la extensin de diecisiete arcadas dobles para el Ayuntamiento que no se haba empezado cuando se destruy la ciudad.-^ En 1770 hicieron
a Bernardo Ramrez arquitecto principal, y se le encarg a este alarife el traslado a la Nueva Guatemala de todos los materiales tiles, despus de ser abandonado Santiago por el gobierno de su Majestad.2*

pipes of varying size. This system was adequate enough to serve for more than four centuries and was still functioning well until a pressure system with water meters was substituted in 1962. Because of their frequency and unusual form, the stone bases of windows, particularly those of comer windows, are noteworthy. Another characteristic of the colonial period is to be seen in the large number of stone door frames on both od houses and commercial or public buildings. The most remarkable reminders of colonial life are the great chimneys ^vhich were built to cover their kitchens. From any vantage point overlooking the roofs of Antigua one may observe the cupolas of these high octagonal chimneys and be certain that they mark an authentic colonial build-

La ciudad de Santiago tena numerosos edificios monumentales, especialmente eclesisticos, como se ver en las pginas que siguen. Tena tambin formas arquitectnicas menos impresionantes que
son a
lares.

la

Algunos de

vez interesantes y con frecuencia singuestos detalles son bastante raros

como para merecer su observacin y discusin especiales en un captulo aparte. Por consiguiente,
se har ms que mencionar brevemente unos cuantos. Por ser afortunada la ciudad de Santiago en la abundancia de agua potable de manantiales muy cercanos y situados a mayor altura de la poblacin, desde sus primeros aos se usaba en las fuentes pblicas y particulares sin necesidad de ninguna restriccin. Al final del perodo colonial, se destruyeron o se trasladaron muchas de estas fuentes, pero todava quedan bastantes para dar alguna idea de su variedad. Era tan general la distribucin de agua, que la mayor parte de las casas coloniales posean una fuente o un bcaro en uno o ms patios. Haba fuentes en todos los claustros de la ciudad, y algunas de ellas eran de tamao verdaderamente monumental. En vez de servirse de las orillas o de los cauces de los ros para lavar la ropa, cada barrio de la ciudad tena lavaderos pblicos, y tambin agua para este fin llegaba a las pilas de las casas particulares. En todos estos lugares, tanto en los pblicos como en los particulares, corri el agua continuamente. Fue distri-

aqu no

A few were built in New Guatemala after Santiago was abandoned, but this type of structure is rare outside of the od Capital. In addition to their many variations and combinations, which add to their architectural interest, they have the additional merit of apparently being indestructible by earthquakes. The architecture of Antigua has much to offer in its historical aspects, its variing.

ety

and

The

its extensiveness. colonial capital played

its

historical role

for over

two hundred and thirty years and now,

more than four hundred years after its founding, it is not a ghost town but still important in the economic and cultural life of Guatemala. Antigua has fine schools, a strong religious community, and the seat of Dcpartmental government. The Governor of Sacatepquez has offices and his dwelling in the od Palace of the Captains General. Antigua is the center of a rich agricultural rea which is

28

LA ARQUITECTURA DE LA ANTIGUA
outstanding in the production of the highest quality coffee. Fine woodcarvers, fumiture makers, ironworkers and masons proudly and skillfully ply their trades as individuis. Traditions are strong, and younger members of the family begin lengthy apprenticeships at an early age. The inhabitants are still convinced that the site was well chosen in 1542 as a good place to live, blessed with a fine climate and beautiful surroundings. Although Antigua is living in the twentieth century it retains its heritage on a scale that is unique among Spanish colonial reas. In Antigua the life of a colonial capital was completely arrested at the height of its development in a single catastrophic event. For nearly a century and a half Antigua remained in this state of comparative suspensin, unspoiled and unadulterated by rebuilding. There are other cities throughout the Americas that have monumental churches, or other magnificent and beautiful buildings which are perfectly preserved from the sanie era. In the larger capitals these colonial structures are sometinies almost lost among nineteenth and twentieth century construction, or they have been altercd in succeeding generations to fulfill later necds. In

buida por gravedad hasta una caja de aguas en cada manzana de la ciudad y lleg a su destino por caeras de tamao variable. Este sistema fue bastante adecuado para servir por ms de cuatro siglos y todava funcionaba bien en 1962 cuando fue sustituido por un sistema de presin con contadores.

some

cities there are historie

er renown, greater beauty, or

monuments of greatmore remarkable

structurally, than those of Antigua. But. in spite of

the ravages of time and pillage by men, only in Antigua does the entire picture of a colonial city

appear so real and understandable. and only in Antigua were there nearly sixty ecclesiastical structures, eighteen of thcm conventual eslablishments, built within such a limited rea. Becausc of its architectural ruins, interesting od houses, churches, public buildings, wealth of authentic details. and
its

causa de su frecuencia y su forma singular, de piedra de las ventanas, especialmente las de las ventanas de esquina, son dignas de notarse. Otro aspecto caracterstico del perodo colonial se ve en el gran nmero de marcos de piedra alrededor de las puertas de antiguas casas y de edificios pblicos o comerciales. Los recuerdos ms notables de la vida colonial son las grandes chimeneas de piedra que se construyeron para cubrir sus cocinas. Desde cualquier punto que la vista domine los techos de la Antigua, puede mo observar las cpulas de estas altas chimeneas octagonales y estar seguro que sealan un edificio colonial autntico. Se construyeron unas cuantas en la Nueva Guatemala despus de que se abandon Santiago, pero este tipo de estructura es raro fuera de la antigua capital. Adems de sus muchas variaciones y combinaciones, las cuales aaden a su inters arquitectnico, tienen el mrito adicional de ser, al parecer, indestructibles por terremotos. La arcjuitectura de la Antigua tiene mucho (jue ofrecer en sus aspectos histricos, en su variedad y en su extensin. La capital colonial durante ms de doscientos treinta aos, tuvo un papel histrico importante, y ahora, ms de cuatrocientos aos despus de su fundacin, no es un pueblo muerto sino todava importante en la vida econmica y cultural de
las repisas

Guatemala. La Antigua tiene buenos colegios y


escuelas, es
es
la

atmosphere of a living eighteenth century Antigua is a rare cultural center.

city.

un centro
del

jefatura

religioso de importancia, y gobierno departamental. El

Fuentes y

Guzmn

I,

24
p.

tiene sus oficinas y su domicilio en el antiguo Palacio de los Capitanes Generales. Antigua es el centro de una regin
224

Gobernador de Sacatepcjuez

2 3
*
^'

AGG. A

1.2-4-2196 138 (1538)

Cadena. Breve descripcin,

Berln, Historia de la Imaginera, pp. 79-85 Lujan Muoz. Luis, La Pilaslra-Eslipile Serliana en el Reino de Guatemala (Obra indita)

agrcola rica fjue sobresale en la produccin de caf de la mejor calidad. Buenos talladores en madera, ebanistas, herreros y albailes trabajan

pp. 37-40 & 64 J. A., The Churches of Mxico, Kublcr and Soria, Art atid Architecture in Spain and Portugal,

Baird,

pp. 58 & 369 note 28 " Villacorta, Historia de la Capitana General de Guatemala, p. 330 Daz, Vctor Miguel, Las Helias Artes en Guatemala, p. 231 '> Kclemen, P.il, faroque and Rococ in Latn America, pp. 122-13fi lu Lujan M., Luis, p. 11 Chinchilla Aguilar, Ernesto, Historia del Arle en Guatemala, pp, (il 11 Bancroft H, 321, Chinchilla A., pp. 25 & 105 Fuentes y Guzmn I, pp. 121 fl 12 Chinchilla A., pp. 103-105 i:f Pardo. /-m. p. 211 14 Chinchilla A., pp. 50-51, 73 & 76-77 l3/fcirf.,pp. 76-77 & 88 10 Ibid., pp. 77 & 88-89 l7/6irf.,pp. 15 & 89-94 18 Pardo, Efem., p. 151 & Chinchilla A., p. 28 19 Chinchilla A., p. 101 20 Pardo. Efem., p. 1,55 & Chinchilla A., pp. 101-102 21 Chinchilla A., p. 102 22 Pardo. Efem., pp. 210& 214 & Chinchilla A., 102-103 -': Pardo, Efem. p. 188 & Chinchilla A., p. 103 24 Pardo. Efem p. 188
1 *

individualmente con orgullo y habilidad. Son muy arraigadas sus tradiciones, y cuando todava son muy jvenes, empiezan aprendizajes largos los

miembros menores de las familias de artesanos. Todava creen los habitantes cjue en 1542 se escogi bien este sitio como buen lugar donde habitar, bendecido como lo es, con un clima admirable y un ambiente hermoso. Aunque vive la Antigua en el siglo XX, mantiene su herencia en una escala que es nica entre las reas coloniales hispnicas. En la Antigua la vida de una capital colonial fue completamente detenida en el pice de su desarrollo, por un solo acontecimiento catastrfico. Por casi siglo y medio se qued la Antigua en ese estado de su.spensin
comparativa,
ilesa

inalterada por reconstruc-

29

ARCHITECTURE OF ANTIGUA
ciones.
ficios

Hay

que tienen templos monumentales u


se

otras ciudades por toda la Amrica otros edi-

magnficos y hermosos de la era colonial que conservan perfectamente. En las capitales ms grandes, a veces se encuentran perdidas estas estructuras coloniales entre los edificios de los siglos XIX y XX, o se han alterado durante las generaciones sucesivas para servir a otras necesidades posteriores. En algunas ciudades hay monumentos histricos ms renombrados, de mayor belleza o estructura ms notable que los de la Antigua. Pero a pesar de la destruccin causada por la intemperie y el pillaje humano, slo en la Antigua aparece tan real y comprensible la representacin entera de una ciudad colonial, y slo en la Antigua existieron, construidos dentro de una rea tan limitada, casi sesenta edificios eclesisticos, de los cuales dieciocho eran establecimientos conventuales. Por sus ruinas arquitectnicas, sus viejas casas interesantes, sus templos, sus edificios p-

aire de

abundancia de detalles autnticos, y su ciudad del siglo XVIII que tiene vida y movimiento, es la Antigua un extraordinario
blicos, su

^^T>^'ri^.'.:^^y. -*k^*''^e>.,^
Rubble construccin
Construccin de nampostera

centro cultural.

Plaster decoration

Estpite pilasters
Pilastras estpites

Ataurique

30

Palace of the Captains General Palacio de los Capitanes Generales

III

GOVERNMENT
BUILDINGS
PALACE OF THE
CAPTAINS GENERAL
39-42

EDIFICIOS

GUBERNATIVOS
EL PALACIO DE LOS CAPITANES GENERALES
39-42

On the south side of the Royal Plaza stands the imposing facade of the Palace of the Captains General. The two story arcade extends for more than three hundred and fifty feet with a total of twentysix bays. Behind this facade there are governmental offices of the Department of Sacatapquez that have been renovated since 1773, and portions which remain in ruins. From 1549 to 1773, except for a few years when His Majesty moved the Audiencia to Panam, all of present day Central America and Chiapas sometimes called the Kingdom of Goathemala was governed from this site.* During nearly two hundred years the building had been expanded and altered to meet the needs of the officials who represented their king and administered his decrees.^ Much of it had been built of adobe, and even those parts more substantially constructed had required repair and buttressing aftcr the earlhquake of 1717. The entire palace was in poor condition by 1751, and even reported as imsafc. But funds were not available for the complete reconstruction that was recommended.'^ In what seems to be a compromise, it was decided to rebuild only those parts in ruinous condition and to strengthen the walls of the remainder by brick and rubble buttressing. ngulo Iiguez States that by 1754 most of the 'Little Palace' was rebuilt, but that the Big Palace' was still in bad
repair* (Palacios Chico and Grande,
p. 33).

Al lado meridional de la Plaza Real, se erige la fachada imponente del Palacio de los Capitanes Generales. Sus arcadas de dos pisos se extienden ms de cien metros con veintisis arcos. Detrs de esta fachada, se hallan las oficinas gubernativas del Departamento de Sacatepquez, que se han renovado despus de 1773, existiendo tambin unas partes arruinadas del antiguo palacio. Desde 1549 a 1773, con excepcin de unos cuantos aos cuando su Majestad traslad la Audiencia a Panam, toda la Amrica Central actual y Chiapas, territorio conocido como el Reino de Goathemala, se gobernaron desde aqu.' Durante casi doscientos aos se haba extendido y reformado el edificio, segin las necesidades de los funcionarios que representaron a su rey y cmnplieron sus rdenes.- Se haba construido gran parte del edificio con adobes, y aim los muros ms slidamente edificados haban necesitado reparos y estribos despus del terremoto de 1717. Para 1751, el edificio entero estaba en malas condiciones, incluso certificado como inseguro. Pero faltaban fondos para la reconstruccin completa que se recomend.''

experienced fortifications engineer, Luis Diez Navarro, presented his first plans for the reconstruction in 1755. The plan did not propose complete rebuilding.' It clearly shows that od walls were to be strengthened and only the second story rebuilt with less height. In the years 1760, 1762, 1763 and 1769 additional plans were submitted by Diez Navarro as the work progressed." During these years offices were moved from one part of the palace to another in order to make the

The

En lo que parece haber sido un compromiso entre lo deseado y lo posible, se decidi reconstruir slo las partes en estado ruinoso y reforzar los muros de lo dems con contrafuertes de ladrillo y mampostera. Para 1754, segn relata ngulo Iiguez, estaba reconstruida la mayor parte del Talacio Chico', pero el Palacio Grande' todava
(33)estaba en mal estado El perito ingeniero de fortificaciones, Luis Diez Navarro, present su primera traza para la reconstruccin en 1755. Su plano no propuso una reconstruccin completa.'* Muestra claramente que haba de reforzarse los antiguos muros y slo reconstruir el segundo piso con paredes ms bajas.
*

En los aos 1760, 1762, 1763 y 1769, Diez Navarro present planos adicionales mientras se adelantaba

GOVERNMENT BUILDINGS
ancient building safer and more useful.^ The City Hall, across the Plaza, was a very superior building with its double arcades of hewn stone. newly arrived Captain General in 1761 asked the city government for a loan of money to basten the completion of the Palace and to make it possible to replace wood with vaulting in the arcades, matching the character of the City Hall. Over the left third of the facade there is a tablet which States that the building was completed under the direction of Luis Diez Navarro in 1764. This date probably applies to the arcade rather than to the building behind this facade. Funds for the construction were requested after that date, and the plan of 1769," indicates that construction
el trabajo." Durante estos aos se mudaron las oficinas de una parte del palacio a otra para poder hacer ms seguro y ms til el edificio antiguo.^ Las nuevas casas consistoriales, al lado opuesto de la Plaza, eran un edificio muy superior con sus arcadas de dos pisos de piedra labrada. El Capitn General, recin llegado en 1761, pidi al gobierno municipal un prstamo de fondos para apresurar la terminacin del palacio y hacer posible el reemplazo de madera con bvedas en las arcadas, para igualar el carcter del Ayuntamiento.* Encima del tercio izquierdo de la fachada, hay una inscripcin que declara que se termin el edificio en 1764, bajo la direccin de Luis Diez Navarro. Probablemente, esta fecha es ms bien la de la arcada que la del edificio detrs de la fachada. Se pidieron fondos para la obra despus de aquella fecha, y el plano de 1769" indica que todava estaban construyendo la obra. Haba disputas graves tocante a la obra ya terminada, y culparon a Diez Navarro por los malos resultados obtenidos, despus de que se haba gastado una cantidad considerable de fondos. El, por su parte, dijo que los defectos se debieron a la superintendencia de Francisco Javier de Glvez, quien se haba encargado de la obra mientras Diez Navarro estuvo comisionado al ro Tinto. Lleg el litigio a los tribunales al tiempo de los grandes terremotos de 1773. No prosigui el pleito, por favorecer el Capitn General recin llegado el abandono de Santiago, para establecer una nueva capital en el Valle de la Ermita, llamado tambin el Valle de la Virgen." La seccin que cre la controversia con respecto

was

still

in progress.

serious disputes about the work already completed, and Diez Navarro was blamed for the poor results obtained after a considerable amount of money had been spent. He in turn

There were

charged that the defects were due to the supervisin of Francisco Javier de Glvez who had been directing the work while he was on a commission to the Ro Tinto. The dispute reached the courts, but the time coincided with the great earthquake

Nothing further was done since the new Captain General favored abandonment of Santiago for a new capital near the Valley of the Hermitage, also called the Valley of the Virgin." That portion of the Palace under dispute was so completely wrecked that it remains mostly in ruin
of 1773.

The arcade at the eastern end of the palace and remained down for more than a century. This fact is well illustrated in an engraving published with Stephen's account of his visit to Antigua in December of 1839." Another drawing appears in a book published in 1888 which shows
today.
fell

that the arcade was not yet reconstructed at that


later date.^^ Eventually
it

was rebuilt, and behind

the arcade several rooms were restored on the od foundations, including a Court of Justice on the second floor where the Royal Chapel was at one time. Offices of the Justice are located below at the east end of the arcade. The central portion of the Palace has remained in continuous use as a prison through the centuries. The Governor of Sacatepquez occupies the northwestern crner of the Palace facing the Plaza, and behind this the quarters of the Mint now function as offices for the collection of taxes and the bonding of liquors. Since the Mint was not constructed until after the 1717 earthquake" it was less damaged in 1773 than older portions of the vast building. Careful study of the mid-eighteenth century plans of the Palace provide a reasonably clear pieture of the complex establishment from which the Captain General executed the decrees of his sovereign. This huge structure was not merely for the offices of government but the residence of a very

palacio qued tan completamente destruida, la mayor parte de ella subsiste arruinada hoy. Las arcadas en este extremo oriental del palacio cayeron y quedaron en tierra ms de un siglo. Este hecho se ilustra bien en un grabado publicado con el relato de Stephens de su visita a la Antigua en diciembre de 1839." Hay un dibujo en otro libro publicado en 1888, que demuestra que todava no se haba reconstruido la arcada en esta ltima fecha." Con el tiempo, se reconstruy dicha seccin de la arquera, y detrs de ella se
al

que

restauraron varias habitaciones sobre los antiguos cimientos, inclusive un local para juzgado, en el segundo piso, donde se hallaba en una poca la Capilla Real. Las oficinas del juez estn por debajo, al extremo oriental de la arcada. La parte central del palacio se ha usado continuamente durante siglos como crcel. El Gobernador de Sacatepquez tiene sus oficinas y su vivienda en el ngulo noroeste del palacio, el cual da a la Plaza, y detrs de ste, las habitaciones de la antigua Casa de Moneda funcionan ahora como oficinas para el cobro de impuestos y para depsito de licores. Puesto que no se construy la Casa de Moneda hasta despus de los movimientos ssmicos de 1717,^^ se da menos en 1773 que las partes

EDIFICIOS
large

GUBERNATIVOS
la

number

of persons, including

many

officials,

ms antiguas

judges, officers. soldiers and servants. Quarters for the Captain General provided not only for his family and servants but adequate facilities for public functions, receptions and entertaining. The Palacc also housed the chancery, council chamber, treasury, archives, hearing rooms, courts of justice, a room for the Royal Seal, and working space for

Un

inmenso edificio. estudio detenido de los planos de


del
siglo

mitad del

XVIII para

el palacio,

segunda dan una

bookkeepers, scribes, notarles and others. There militia, and a troop of dragoons. Stables for thirty-four horses for the to the carriage and harness latter. in addition rooms for the horses and niules of the Captain

idea bastante clara del establecimiento complejo desde el cual el Capitn General pona en vigencia las cdulas de su rey. Este edificio extenso no era solamente para las oficinas del gobierno sino que fue la residencia de un nmero muy grande de personas, incluyendo muchos funcionarios, jueces, oficiales militares,

were barracks for the guard,

soldados y criados.

La

vi-

vienda del Capitn General era no slo la morada de su familia y de sus criados, sino que tena adems salas apropiadas para funciones pblicas,

PALACIO CHICO DE LOS

PRESIDENTES

CASA DE MONEDA

SIDENCIA DEL SUPERI NTENOC NTE

COMPOSITE OF LUIS DIEZ NAVARROS VARIOUS PLANS OF THE PALACE

(1755-1769)

PLANO COMPUESTO DE LOS DEL PALACIO HECHOS POR LUIS DIEZ NAVARRO

(1755-1769)

GOVERNMENT BUILDINGS
General, were included." Within the same complicated building there were the prison block with cells for upper and lower class prisoners, a torture room, chapel for the condemned and rooms for the prison guard. In this general rea was a very long room for the armory, and adjacent to the large courtyard was one designed for artillery. The Royal Mint was the last major addition within the boundaries of the Palace which occupied the entire block. Kitchens were located in various reas for the use of these varied groups of residents. There were also laundry facilities, store rooms, a garden court, and
recepciones y diversiones. Haba tambin en el de la Audiencia, la cancillera, la sala de acuerdos, la caja real, los archivos, los tribunales de justicia, una pieza para el Sello Real, y secretaras donde trabajaban los tenedores de libros, escribanos, notarios pblicos, y otros. Haba locales para la guardia, la milicia y un grupo de dragones. Se hallaban caballerizas para treinta y cuatro caballos de los dragones, y adems cocheras y cuartos para las guarniciones, y caballerizas para los caballos y las muas del
palacio, la Capilla Real, la sala

many

patios both large and small.^^' Athough renovations have been made from
it is

time to time,
tions,

evident that the standing por-

whether

in partial ruin or in usable condias they

were in 1773. In fact, the entire history of the building indicates that it was never at any time entirely rebuilt during the
tion, are

much

Capitn General." Dentro del mismo complicado edificio, se encontraba la crcel con calabozos para prisioneros de categora y presos de la clase baja, pieza para tormentos, capilla para los sentenciados a muerte, y habitaciones para el carcelero. En esta rea general haba una sala de armas muy larga, y contiguo al patio grande haba una pieza para la artillera. La ltima adicin importante dentro de los lmites
del palacio,
la

nearly four hundred years since the site was first utilized for a governmental building. Instead, it seems probable that the plan itself remains very much the same as it was prior to 1717, with the exception of the Mint which was built after that date (Casa de Moneda, p. 33) One other conclusin must result from a study of the od plans. The entire structure is completely devoid of logical arrangement. It is the result of growth rather than planning. The mixture of all Services public, official, military, residential indicates better than written records that the building was never completely rebuilt during its

que ocupaba una manzana

entera, fue

later history.

In the years immediately following the removal of the capital to present-day Guatemala City, the od Palace was almost completely stripped of its original architectural adornments. Doors, wooden and iron grilles, tiles, stone carvings, smaller columns and their capitals, wood beams and other fiittings were transportad for use or storage in the new capital.'" Rather a complete job was done in this respect, but the same can be said of the majority of the religious buildings and many of the residences. Along with their furniture and personal belongings it was natural to salvage everything movable from the ruins of the city that they were

Casa de Moneda. En varias partes, se encontraban cocinas para estos grupos tan variados de moradores. Haba tambin lavanderas, despensas, y aun una huerta y muchos patios, algunos grandes y otros pequeos.'^ Aunque se ha renovado este edificio de cuando en cuando, es evidente que las partes que hoy quedan en pie, las que estn en parte arruinadas lo mismo que las que se pueden usar, son muy semejantes a lo que eran en 1773. En efecto, la historia entera del edificio indica que nunca se ha reconstruido completamente durante los casi cuatrocientos aos desde que se sirvi por primera vez del sitio para un palacio del gobierno. En cambio, parece probable que el plano mismo subsiste muy parecido al que existi antes de 1717, con excepcin de la Casa de Moneda que se edific despus de aquella fecha (33). Una conclusin ms resulta de un estudio de los antiguos planos. A la fbrica entera le falta completamente una distribucin lgica. Esto es el resultado de crecimiento ms bien que de delineamiento. La mezcla de todos los servicios pbliresidenciales indica mejor los documentos, que nunca se reconstruy enteramente el edificio durante su larga historia. Durante los aos inmediatamente subsiguientes al traslado de la capital a la Nueva Guatemala, se despoj casi enteramente el antiguo palacio de sus adornos arquitectnicos originales. Puertas, rejas de madera y de hierro, azulejos, tejas, piedras labradas, las columnas pequeas y sus capiteles,
cos, oficiales, militares,

que

abandoning. The most recent renovations date from 1936. The quarters of the Governor were improved, and the fountain from the kitchen patio of Santa Clara Convent was moved to the governor 's patio (201 ). Some of the ruins of the eastern portion have been cleared of debris, and two fountains in the great courtyard have been demolished (437 d) to provide an rea for sports. The arcade and walls of the Palace of the Captains General, visible from the
of dignity

vigas y otras cosas, se trasladaron para usarse o

Plaza and the Cathedral, retain their original air and massive beauty.

almacenarse en la nueva capital.'" Se le despoj casi completamente, pero se puede decir lo mismo de la mayor parte de los edificios eclesisticos y de muchas de las casas particulares. Era natural que junto con sus muebles y efectos personales, los habitantes se llevaran todo lo removible de las

34

EDIFICIOS

GUBERNATIVOS

ROYAL MINT
33

In the early eighteenth century the scarcity of coins in Guatemala was serious, and finally a royal

order of January 1731 granted permission to establish a mint as a part of the Palace/^ Construction began in 1733, but a variety of delaying events interrupted the completion of this building. It was not dedicated until July 13, 1738.^* However,
the actual minting of coins began as early as March 1733 shortly after the necessary tools and royal seis were brought from Mxico by a director and journeymen skilled in this work.'* According to plans reproduced by ngulo Iiguez the building of 1734-39 was the work of Diego de Forres,^" who called himself the Chief Master Architect. Juan de Dios Aristondo, Master Masn, and Antonio de Glvez, Master Carpenter, are associated with this period of construction."' Additions and alterations were made in 1763, and here we again find the ame of Diez Navarro as engineer in charge. The plans and their legends indcate that the Mint was a complete and utilitarian structure of many rooms. In addition to the necessary rooms for materials, furnace, foundry, refining, assay, coining, weighing, administration, accounting, and treasury, there were also living quarters. Such rooms included guard rooms, sleeping rooms, a small detention room and a chapel. Attention was given to the control and progression of silver and gold through the various units. Water was plentifully supplied in the working reas, and several fountains decorated the principal patios. It is interesting to note that much of this building at the Southwest crner of the Palace is still in use, not for the minting of coins, but for the collection of taxes and the bonding of locally produced liquors.

ruinas de la ciudad que abandonaban. Las renovaciones ms recientes datan de 1936. Se mejor la vivienda del Gobernador, y se traslad la fuente del patio de la cocina de Santa Clara al patio del Gobernador ( 201 ). De algunas de las ruinas de la parte oriental se han quitado los escombros, y se han demolido dos fuentes (437 d) del patio grande para proporcionar un lugar para deportes. La arquera y los muros del Palacio de los Capitanes Generales, visibles de la plaza y de la catedral, son todava muy impresionantes por su gran dignidad y su belleza maciza.

LA CASA DE MONEDA
33

primera parte del siglo XVIII, la escasez de moneda en Guatemala era seria. Por fin, una cdula real del mes de enero de 1731, dio licencia para el establecimiento de una casa de moneda en
la

En

una parte del palacio.'" En 1733 se empez la construccin, pero varios sucesos causaron atrasos e
interrumpieron la terminacin de este edificio. No dedic sino hasta el 13 de julio de 1738.'** Sin embargo, parece que se inaugur la acuacin de moneda en marzo de 1733, un poco despus de llegar los instrumentos necesarios y los sellos reales de Mxico trados por el director y unos jornaleros instruidos en este oficio.'" Segn planos reproducidos por ngulo Iiguez, el edificio de 1734 a 1739 fue obra de Diego de Porres,^" quien se llamaba Maestro Mayor de Arquitectura. Juan de Dios Aristondo, maestro en albailera, y Antonio de Glvez, maestro en carpintera, estn asociados con este perodo de construccin.^' En 1763 se hicieron adiciones y alteraciones, y otra vez encontramos el nombre de Diez Navarro como ingeniero encargado de la obra. Los planos y sus explicaciones indican que la Casa de Moneda era una construccin completa y utilitaria que tena muchas piezas. Adems de las habitaciones necesarias para materiales, horno,
se

ROYAL CUSTOMSHOUSE
43-44

the Street ending at Recoleccin Monastery, the Mercedarians constructed a school between 1739 and 1757" adjacent to the small church of San Jernimo. The structure was built about a spacious cloister and was two stories in height. The surrounding site held an extensive orchard and gardens. Since the school was founded without a proper charter from the King, orders were issued for its destruction.^-* Because of its excellent construction this decree was countermanded later, and the building approved by His Majesty for use by the Royal Customs in 1765.^^ The engineer Luis Diez Navarro was not in agreement with this decisin. He felt that the location was too far from the center of the city and that

On

fundicin, afinacin, ensaye, acuacin, peso, administracin, contadura y tesorera, haba viviendas.

Entre

tales

piezas se encontraban salas de

guarda, dormitorios, una pequea crcel y una


capilla.

Se plane para el control de la plata y del oro y para su paso por las varias unidades. Haba un buen surtido de agua en las reas del trabajo, y varias fuentes adornaban los patios principales. Es de inters notar que gran parte de esta fbrica en el ngulo sudoeste del palacio se usa todava, no para la acuacin de moneda, sino para la recaudacin de impuestos y para guardar en depsito los licores producidos en el pas.

35

GOVERNMENT BUILDINGS
the customshouse should be located where the same guard could be used for the royal treasury, the mint and the tobceo administration as well.^^ When the Jesuits were expelled in 1767 it was recommended that their college would serve to better advantage for both the customshouse and the tobceo administration, and that San Jernimo could then become a barracks for the dragoons. The King opposed this use of the Jesuits' building for utilitarian purposes, and in 1769 the customshouse remained in San Jernimo, and the dragoons were also housed there.^" In 1772 Diez Navarro presented a plan to modify the

REAL ADUANA
43-44

building to include living quarters for three

customshouse officials.^^ These plans were not executed before the 1773 earthquake. The reproduction of a plan of 1767, shown by ngulo Iiguez, includes stables for about one

hundred and fifty horses on the east and south sides of the main building with ampie courtyards.^** There is no trace of these stables today, and the
two story structure have been destroyed, or quarried for their stone. Otherwise, the original building erected by the Mercedarians stands sufficiently complete to easily determine the
east walls of the

En la calle que termina en el monasterio de La Recoleccin, los mercedarios construyeron entre 1739 y 1757^ un colegio contiguo a la pequea iglesia de San Jernimo. Se fabric el edificio que era de dos pisos alrededor de un claustro amplio. En el solar que lo rodeaba haba una huerta extensa y jardines. Por haberse fundado el colegio sin la debida licencia real, se mand su demolicin.^^ A causa de su construccin excelente, se invalid este decreto ms tarde, y en 1765 el rey aprob el uso del edificio por la real aduana. ^^ Se opuso a esta decisin el ingeniero Luis Diez Navarro. El crea que estaba situado demasiado lejos del centro de la ciudad y que se deba poner la aduana en un sitio donde la misma guardia pudiera servir para la Caja real, la Casa de Moneda, ^^ y el estanco de tabaco. Cuando se expuls a los jesutas en 1767, se sugiri que sirviera mejor su colegio para la aduana y el estanco de tabaco, y que se hiciera de San Jernimo cuartel para los dragones. El rey no permiti el uso de los edificios de los jesutas para
fines utilitarios, y as, en 1769, se qued la aduana en San Jernimo que sirvi a la vez como cuartel de los dragones.-" En 1772, Diez Navarro present un plano para alterar el edificio de modo que incluyera viviendas para tres aduaneros.-" Estos planos no se usaron antes de los terremotos de 1773. La reproduccin de un plano de 1767, publicado por ngulo Iiguez, incluye caballerizas para unos ciento cincuenta caballos en los lados oriental y meridional del edificio principal y patios amplios. ^^ No se encuentran vestigios de estas caballerizas hoy, y se

entire arrangement

and to see the cise resemblance to the plan of 1767. The latter does not include the od hermitage chapel and rooms on
(

northwest adjacent to the main entrance ). It is probable that this was not considered a part of the school structure taken over by the government, and not subject to changes being made in adapting the building to its new uses. The
the
44 a
stairs,

positions of the main entrance, of the two fine the sanitary facilities, and the appendage

kitchen (44 b ) are unchanged, but the piers of the court arcade are gone. The od kitchen is still in use by the resident caretaker of the ruin, and a splendid fountain in the court of the building has been reconditioned ( 44 c ). All of this building shows that it followed the usual practices of Santiago. The walls were of an ampie thickness of stone and mortar with leveling courses of brick (44d). These walls were then finished with stucco or plaster inside and out. This type of construction had been in use for generations and was still in use in Antigua until the introduction of reinforced concrete in recent years.

han destruido

los

muros

orientales

de la fbrica de dos pisos para poder usar la piedra de su construccin. Por otra parte, el edificio original, fabricado por los mercedarios, est bastante completo para poderse averiguar fcilmente la distribucin entera y para ver la gran semejanza al plano de 1767. No incluye ste la capilla de la antigua ermita, ni los cuartos al noroeste adyacentes a la entrada principal ( 44 a ). Es probable

que no

se considerara aqulla

una parte

del colegio

apropiado por el gobierno, y as no se proyect cambiarla al adaptar el edificio a sus nuevos usos. La colocacin de la entrada principal, de las dos
escaleras esplndidas, los servicios sanitarios, y la cocina que se extiende ms all de los muros del
resto del edificio (44 b) est sin modificacin, pero

CITY HALL
45-48

Little is known concerning earlier buildings serving the municipal government. Reconstruction, or extensive repairs, were reported after
1685,2 and in 1719 the King was told that the damage of the 1717 earthquake had been repaired and the buildings improved.^"

han desaparecido los pilares de las arcadas del patio. Todava se sirve de la antigua cocina el guardin que cuida la ruina, y se ha reacondicionado ( 44 c ) una fuente esplndida en el patio del
edificio.

Toda

esta fbrica

muestra que

se

construy

36

EDIFICIOS
municipal jail, started in 1740,^^ have been in almost continuous
its

GUBERNATIVOS

The

present City Hall and

use since November 1743 when the oflficial inauguration took place.''- Several individuis were associated with the design and construction of this building which is located on the north side of the Plaza facing the Palace of the Captains General. Considerable credit is given to Juan Jos Gonzlez Batres, an ohcial of the city government who directed the work from plans which may have been influenced by the engineer, Luis Diez Navarro.^^ Also named are Juan de Dios Aristondo and Diego de Forres.'* The principal facade is a dignified, two-storied arcade with striated Tuscan columns on a base raised a few steps above the level of the street (45-46). In 1766 Francisco de Estrada presented a plan to extend the original ten bays by adding seventeen more. This would have presented a facade comparable to that of the Palace of the Captains General across the Plaza. The property

segn los mtodos acostumbrados en Santiago. Eran los muros de un amplio espesor de piedra y mezcla con hileras de ladrillos para nivelarlos (44d). Luego se terminaron estos muros con estuco por adentro y por afuera. Se haba usado este tipo de construccin por generaciones, y todava se usaba en la Antigua hasta hace muy pocos aos, cuando se inici el uso de concreto reforzado.

EL AYUNTAMIENTO
45-48

Poco se sabe de edificios, anteriores al actual, que sirvieran el gobierno municipal. Hay datos de
reconstruccin o de reparos extensivos despus de 1685^*, y en 1719, le escribieron al rey que se haban reparado los daos del terremoto de 17 17 y que se haba mejorado el edificio.'" El Ayuntamiento actual y su crcel municipal, empezados en 1740,'' se han usado casi continuamente desde noviembre de 1743 cuando se inauguraron oficialmente.'- Varios individuos se asociaron para la delincacin y la construccin de este edificio, situado al lado norte de la Plaza Mayor, mirando hacia el Palacio de los Capitanes Generales. Le han dado considerable crdito a Juan Jos Gonzles Batres, oficial del gobierno municipal, quien dirigi la obra usando planos que, posiblemente, fueron influidos por el ingeniero Luis Diez Navarro." Se mencionan tambin Juan

owners and merchants who would have been affected opposed the plan, however, and litigation was still in progress in 1773.

The
still

apparent.

when
inal

excellent construction of this building is It suffered a minimum of damage most of the city was reduced to ruins by the
for almost

great earthquake,

form

and it has remained in its origtwo centuries since that catas-

trophe. The heavy walls were built of the usual rubble masonry, and low vaults were used to support the second floor and roof. The arcade is of solid stone masonry, but the wall facing the street on the east is one of the few in the city with a veneer of cut stone. Although the white plaster joints crate an impression of large horizontal blocks of stone, the veneer is made of smaller stones laid in a mortar of matching color (46 b). The building enclosed a large prison courtyard. This is cntered from a long corridor and through a magnificent loggia (47 ac) which supports a room of similar proportions on the second floor. The cells occupied both floors opposite the loggia. A monumental divided stairway between heavy walls ( 48 c ) on the east side of the courtyard served the second floor prison room at the rear and the Hearing Room on the south (48 da). The entire plice and prison quarters of this od building were used for their intendcd purpose until a few years ago. Now the courtyard and its related rooms have been converted into a municipal museum. The remainder of the building contines its functions as a City Hall with a Council Chamber, Mayor's office, and other city services adequately

provided.

de Dios Aristondo y Diego de Porres.'* La fachada principal es de doble arquera, de aire noble, con columnas toscanas estriadas en una base situada unos cuantos escalones por encima del nivel de la calle (45-46). En 1766, Francisco de Estrada present un plano para extender los diez arcos originales, aadiendo diecisiete ms. Esto hubiera presentado una fachada comparable a la del Palacio de los Capitanes Generales al otro lado de la plaza. Los dueos de casas y los comerciantes, quienes hubieran tenido que mudarse, se opusieron al proyecto, y el litigio que result estaba todava sin concluirse en 1773. Todava es evidente la excelencia de la construccin de este edificio. Sufri muy pocos daos cuando fue arruinada por el gran terremoto la mayor parte de la ciudad, y se ha quedado en su forma original por casi dos siglos desde aquella catstrofe. Se construyeron los muros pesados con la acostumbrada mampostera, y se sirvieron de bvedas de poca elevacin para sostener el piso segundo y el techo. La arquera es de piedra maciza, pero el muro oriental que da a la calle es uno de los pocos en la ciudad con revestimiento de piedra tallada. Aunque las junturas de argamasa blanca dan la impresin de ser este muro de grandes bloques horizontales de piedra, el revestimiento se ha hecho de piedras ms pequeas colo-

37

GOVERNMENT BUILDINGS
1 AGG, A 1.23-1511-143 (1549) & A 1.23-10.040-1512-391 (1571) 2AGG,A 1.23-151 1-143 (1549), A 1.23-1511-220(1556), A 1.23-1512-360 (1569), A 1.23-1513-489 (1575), A 1.10.1-14.902-2101 (1711), A 1.10.1-14.903-2101 (1736), A 1.10.1-14.904-2101 (1736), A 1.10.1-14.905-2101 (1740), A 1.10.1-14.906-2101 (1746), A 1.10.1-1421-64 (1760), A 1.10.1-1422-64 (1761), A 1.23-1528-395 (1763), A 3.1-22099-1283-66 (1763), A 1.10.1-31222-4044 (1768), A 1.1-184 (1769) & A 1.10. 1-1423-64 (1769)

SChinchillaA.,
4

ngulo

5 Ibid., II, 58-61 6 Ibid., II, 62-68


7 8

AGG, A
ngulo

p. 41 Iiguez, Planos, IV, 417 & Pls. 157 & 158 & Pls. 159, 160 & 161 1.23-1528-395 (1763) Iiguez, IV, 418

9 Ibid., II,

68

&

Pl. 161

lO/fcid., IV, 419-420 11 Stephens, I, p. 266 12 Curts, The Capitals of 13 Pardo, Efeiit., p. 137
14

Spanisb America,

p.

65

ngulo

Iiguez, IV, 420-422

&

Pls. 157-161

1.10.2-1642-66 (1774) , A 1.10-1543-56 (1775), 1.10.2-4523-69 (1777) , A 1.10.2-4524-69 (1777) 1.10.1-6458-307 (1779) 17 Pardo, Efem., p. 137 & ngulo Iiguez, IV, 426

15 Ibid. 16

AGG, A

&

18 Pardo, Efem., p. 147 & ngulo Iiguez, IV, 426 19 Pardo, Efetn., pp. 140-141 20 ngulo Iiguez, II, Pls. 165-166 21 Ibid., IV, 426-427

cadas con una mezcla del mismo color que la piedra (47 ac). El edificio encerraba un patio grande para crcel. Se entra a ste por un corredor largo y una loggia magnfica (47ac) que sostiene una sala de proporciones semejantes en el segundo piso. Los calabozos ocupaban ambos pisos enfrente de la loggia. Una escalera dividida monumental entre muros macizos ( 48 c), en el lado oriental del patio, serva la crcel en la parte trasera del segundo piso y la sala del tribunal al sur (48 da). Toda la parte de este antiguo edificio destinada a la crcel y a la polica, serva para su destino original hasta hace muy pocos aos. Actualmente se han convertido el patio y las salas contiguas en museo municipal. Las dems partes del edificio siguen funcionando como Ayuntamiento, con Sala de Cabildo, oficinas del alcalde, y provisin adecuada para otros servicios municipales.

22 Pardo, Guia, p. 49

23AGG, A

1.11-2113-98 (1763) & 24 ngulo Iiguez, IV, 422 25 Ibid., IV, 422-423 26 Ibid., IV, 423-424 & Pl. 163 27 Ibid., II, 77, IV, 424 & Pl. 164 28/6., Pl. 163
29

BAGG,

VIII, 4, 414-442

AGG, A 1.2.2-11.779-1785 (1695) & VIII, 1, 81-82 A 1.2.7-30.294-4003 a696) A 1.2-952-39 (16%) 30 AGG, A 1.2.5-15.776-2207-71 (1719) & VIII, 1, 125-127 31 Pardo, Efem., p. 152 32 VIII, I, 132-134 & Pardo, Efem., p. 158 34Chinchilla A., p. 101

BAGG

BAGG

BAGG

East wall of the Palace. In the background, Agua volcano.

Muro oriental
En
el

del Palacio.

fondo,

el

Volcn de Agua.

38

View from

the top of the Cathedral

Vista desde la parte alta de la Catedral

East wall

Muro

oriental

PALACE OF THE CAPTAINS GENERAL PALACIO DE LOS CAPITANES GENERALES

:^-T-V^"---

wmmr-

0^'

Eastern third o facade

Tercio oriental de

la

fachada

Corridor

Arquera

Column

detail

Detalle de

columna

PALACE OF THE CAPTAINS GENERAL PALACIO DE LOS CAPITANES GENERALES


40

'^ V

m^

w-

Central arul wcstern

tliiicls

of facadc
la

Tercios central y occidental de

fachada

Escutcheon of the City of Santiago (recently installed)

Escudo de la ciudad de Santiago (instalado recientemente)

PALACE OF THE CAPTAINS GENERAL PALACIO DE LOS CAPITANES GENERALES

Central fa^ade facing Plaza

Fachada central hacia

la

Plaza

Escutcheon of Charles III

Escudo de Carlos

III

PALACE OF THE CAPTAINS GENERAL PALACIO DE LOS CAPITANES GENERALES

North wall

Pared septentrional

Main doorway and

detail

Portada principal y detalle

San Jernimo

ROYAL CUSTOMSHOUSE

REAL ADUANA
43

Courtyard fountain

Wall construction
Construccin de
los

Fuente del patio

muros

ROYAL CUSTOMSHOUSE
44

REAL ADUANA

..iSi.....

._i.

^'

View from the southeast

Vista desde

el sureste

j^a
b

ff.

'

i,^-..

-^
c

Detail of east wall

Detalle del

muro

oriental

Arcades facing the Plaza Arcadas que dan a la Plaza

CITY HALL

AYUNTAMIENTO
45

Door on

east ele\'ation
el

Puerta en

lado oriental

Double arcade

Arquera doble

Details of crner pier

Detalles del pilar de


la

esquina

CITY HALL

AYUNTAMIENTO

Loggia opening to central court Arcadas que dan al patio central

:J^Jt^

i*^;'|
b

Door

to

double stairway
la escalera

Puerta que da a

doble

Central court and loggi


Patio central y arcadas

CITY HALL

AYUNTAMIENTO
47

North room of second

floor

Sala septentrional del segundo piso

48

CITY HALL

AYUNTAMIENTO

Cathedral La Catedral

Tft

IV

CATHEDRAL AND
EPISCOPAL PALACE
CATHEDRAL
55-65

LA CATEDRAL Y EL PALACIO EPISCOPAL


LA CATEDRAL
55-65

Bishop Marroqun began saying mass in the city on November 22, 1542 in the little hermitage church of Santa Luca at the western edge of town.' This became the temporary cathedral in

new

permanent structure It must have been several years before the ambitiously planned new Cathedral was ready since labor and materials were needed for niany other projects under construction at the same time.
until a

June 1543^ and served

was built facing the Royal Plaza.

Some

authorities state that neither the starting

or completion date of the Cathedral is known. But there is no doubt of the approximate time. Records in the archives of Guatemala show that revenue of various towns was assigned for the building as early as the first of August 1542, and on the fourteenth of August of that same year a stone cutter was engaged to start the foundations.'' After that there were frequently mentioned gifts and assignments prior to 1550, at which time the King approved changes in the plan and gave new revenues.* Although it is recorded that the Cathedral was not finished in 1576,' it is not to be assumed that it was not in use long before that date. Such buildings were seldom completed in their entirety before their inauguration,

which certainly
accounts

was true in
also

this instance, for there are

that chapis were being built, or rebuilt, nearly a century later. For our purpose, details of this sixteenth century building are unimportant. The Cathedral which was in use in 1773 and which remains in ruin was the second to occupy this site. It is interesting to note, however, that the plan was only slightly changed in the rebuilding. The first Cathedral occupied the same rea, had similar side chapis and was of stone-rubble construction. There was one major difference: the earlier building, like similar churches of the period in Mxico, was roofed with wood instead of vaulting, and was beautified with a carved and paneled ceiling.*"'

El limo. Sr. Obispo Marroqun celebr la misa por .primera vez en la nueva ciudad el da 22 de noviembre de 1542, en la pequea iglesia de la ermita de Santa Luca que se encontraba en el lmite occidental de la capital.' Esta iglesia se convirti en la catedral provisional en el mes de junio de 1543,- y sirvi hasta que se construy el edificio formal, que daba a la Plaza Real. Habran pasado varios aos antes de estar lista la nueva catedral de traza ambiciosa, pues al mismo tiempo se construan otros numerosos edificios para los cuales tambin, se necesitaban materiales y obreros. Algunas autoridades declaran que no se sabe con certeza ni la fecha del comienzo ni la de la terminacin de la catedral. Pero no hay duda de la fecha aproximada. Unos documentos en el Archivo General de Guatemala muestran que los ingresos de varios pueblos se asignaron a la construccin el primero de agosto de 1542, y el 14 de agosto del mismo ao se contrat a un cantero que haba de poner los cimientos.'^ Despus de aquella fecha y antes de 1550, se mencionaron frecuentemente regalos y rentas que se dieron, y en este ao el rey aprob cambios en el plano y dio nuevas rentas.* Aunque se dice que no se haba terminado la catedral en 1576,'' ello no significa que no se utilizara desde haca bastante tiempo antes. Raras veces se terminaron enteramente tales edificios antes de su inauguracin, y en este caso no cabe duda que as se hizo, pues se construan y reconstruan capillas casi un siglo despus, segn las
crnicas.

Los detalles de este edificio del siglo XVI no tienen importancia para nosotros. La catedral que en 1773, y cuyas ruinas se ven hoy, fue la segunda erigida en este sitio. Sin embargo, es interesante notar que su icnografa se cambi muy poco cuando la reconstruyeron. La primera catedral tena las mismas medidas, haba capillas laterales semejantes, y fue de mampostera. Haba una sola diferencia de importancia; el primer ediserva

49

CATHEDRAL AND EPISCOPAL PALACE


By 1660 the roof of the first Cathedral was rotand due to numerous earthquakes and the normal ravages of nearly a century of use, the building was in great need of repair." Such work during preceding years had been inadequate to preserve the Cathedral, but there was a natural reluctance to demolish it since many chapis had been recently built, and the funds which would be needed for so great a construction would be tremendous. In spite of all the obstacles, however, the
ting,
ficio, como las iglesias parecidas de aquella poca en Mxico, tena el techo de madera en vez de bveda, y se adornaba con alfarje y artesonado." Para el ao 1660, el techo de la primera catedral estaba podrido, y a causa de los numerosos terremotos y la destruccin que normalmente causa un siglo de uso, al edificio le hacan gran falta reparaciones extensas.'' Las composturas que se haban hecho en aos anteriores no haban bastado para conservar la catedral. Sin embargo, haba muchas personas que se opusieron a su demolicin porque se haban construido recientemente varias capillas, y se necesitara una cantidad enorme de dinero para construir un edificio tan grande. No obstante, a pesar de todos los obstculos, el deseo del Capitn General que fue reconstruirla completamente, prevaleci, y la demolicin se inici en 1669.* Al principio trataron de servirse de algunas partes de la fbrica durante la reconstruccin, pero despus de poco tiempo se traslad la catedral a la nueva iglesia de San Pedro Apstol, que se encontraba a slo una cuadra al

Captain General's desire for rebuilding prevailed,

and demolition began in 1669.* At first there was an attempt to use parts of the building during the
reconstruction, but after a short time the Cathedral was moved to the new church of San Pedro Apstol only one block to the south.'' Juarros states that the move was made with great pomp on December 2, 1675 when San Pedro was inaugurated/" Elsewhere Juarros writes that the inauguration of that church was December 2, 1663 and that the Cathedral was transferred to it on the same day/^ In another reference he says that the first stone of San Pedro was laid in November 1662.^- These conflicting statements from the same source have only one thing in common with the date given by Fray Molina for moving of the Cathedral December 2nd. He gives the year as 1669, which seems more logical." Possibly Juarros meant that the Cathedral was moved on the anniversary of the inauguration of San Pedro, but certainly the year could not have been 1675 at which time the new construction on the Cathedral was well advanced. More certainly, the cornerstone of the new Cathedral was placed on October 5, 1669" in a solemn ceremony, and archive records show that its dedication took place eleven years and one

sur.

Juarros dice que se traslad con gran ceremonia da 2 de diciembre de 1675 cuando se inaugur la iglesia de San Pedro. ^^ En otro lugar escribi Juarros que se inaugur aquella iglesia el da 2 de diciembre de 1663 y que se traslad la catedral a
el

ella el

mismo

da."
la

En

otra referencia se indica

que se coloc noviembre de


dictorias del

primera piedra de San Pedro en

1662.^^ Estas declaraciones contra-

month

later,
first

November

6,

1680.^"

plan was drawn by Captain Martn de Andjar,^" but he was succeeded by the noted architect Jos de Portes who made corrections in the original plan and is credited with direction of the work to a successful completion " (56). The entire structure is raised on a platform to
the level of the Street of the Bells at the rear. The total length from west to east is three hundred and eighteen feet. Three doors opened to the platform overlooking the Royal Plaza, and another two doors at the end of the side aisles gave access to the Street of the Bells. raised atrium on the south side of the Cathedral, between the Sagrario and the priest's house or "casa del Sacristn Mayor"

The

tienen una sola cosa en fecha del traslado de la catedral dada por Fray Antonio Molina el 2 de diciembre. El escribi que el ao fue 1669, que parece ms lgico. ^^ Posiblemente quera decir Juarros que se traslad la catedral en el aniversario de la inauguracin de San Pedro, pero ciertamente el ao no habra podido ser 1675 cuando la construccin de la nueva catedral ya estaba bastante avanzada. Lo cierto es que se coloc la primera piedra de la nueva catedral el da 5 de octubre de 1669" en una ceremonia solemne, y los documentos en el

mismo autor

comn con

la

Archivo Nacional muestran que

provided an additiorial door to the Cathedral as well as to the Sagrario. This entrance opened onto an aisle that passed in front of the choir and terminated at a door to the episcopal palace on the north. The general plan followed the arrangement of the typical Spanish cathedral of its period. The ampie choir, said to have held a hundred seats and the Bishop's chair, was at one end of the nave, and

se dedic once aos y un mes ms tarde, el da 6 de noviembre de 1680.15 El capitn Martn de Andjar deline el primer plano," pero l fue sustituido por el famoso arquitecto Jos de Porres quien corrigi defectos en el plano original y, segn se dice, dirigi la obra hasta su feliz terminacin " (56). El edificio entero se encuentra en una plataforma que lo eleva hasta la altura de la Calle de las Campanas que est detrs de l. Desde el oeste al este su longitud es de unos noventa y siete metros. Tres puertas se abran sobre la lonja que daba a la Plaza Real, y otras dos puertas al trmino de las naves laterales daban acceso a la Calle de las Campanas. Un atrio elevado al lado meridional de la catedral, entre el Sagrario y la Casa del

50

LA CATEDRAL Y EL PALACIO EPISCOPAL


the Royal Chapel was at the east end beyond the main altar. '^ A cross-aisle separating the main altar from the Royal Chapel extended from the spacious sacristy and the Chief Sacristan's house to the large Socorro Chapel (65 b), passing the door of the Chapter Room (65 c ). The nave was paralleled by wide side aisles, and beyond these were fourteen deeply recessed and vaulted bays, the majority of which contained chapis whose rich altars were variously dedicated. A bay north of the choir served as a baptistry. The main altar, raised on a platform several steps above the floor of the nave and covered by a baldachino, was separated by three bays from the choir. This has been described in detall by historians and is attributed to the renowned Sculptor. Mateo de Ziiiga. Composed of sixteen colimins
Sacristn Mayor, haca posible otra entrada a la
a

catedral y al Sagiario. Por esta puerta se entraba un pasillo que pasaba por delante del coro y terminaba en la puerta del palacio episcopal, al
norte.

on a polygonal base and surmoimted by a dome, the baldachino and altar were richly decorated with tortoise shell, bronze and ivory.'" Above the rea of the main altar there was a great dome supported by handsome pendentives
resting
(61-62) displaying the typical decorative

En general, la icnografa era la de una catedral espaola tpica de la poca. El coro que era amplio. y segn se deca, contena cien sillas y la del obispo, estaba a un extremo de la nave principal, y la Capilla Real estaba al extremo oriental, detrs del altar mayor. ^* Un deambulatorio que separaba ste de la Capilla Real se extenda desde la amplia sacrista y la Casa del Sacristn Mayor hasta la capilla grande de Nuestra Seora del Socorro, pasando por delante de la puerta de la Sala Capitular (65 be). A los dos lados de la nave central, haba anchas naves laterales, y ms all de stas, haba catorce espacios abovedados de bastante profundidad, la mayor parte de los cuales contenan capillas cuyos ricos altares tenan advocaciones distintas. Un espacio, al norte del coro, serva de bautisterio.

sculpture

executed with lime mortar over brick. The same refined and varied decorative modelling is to be
seen on the capitals of the piers and the pilasters (61 be), the cornices, the escutcheons in the vaulting, and throughout the interior where it has defied the ravages of time and weather. (63 be).

El altar mayor, cubierto de baldaquino, (jue estaba sobre una plataforma elevada, y estaba separado del coro por tres bernegales, ha sido descrito detalladamente por algunos historiadores y se atribuye al famoso escultor Mateo de Ziga. Compuesto de diecisis colunmas sobre una base

Of

the

many

chapis, that of Nuestra Seora del

Socorro

(65 b) was the largest.

The

venerated

de forma poligonal y sosteniendo vma cpula de media naranja, el altar entero y su baldaquino estaban ricamente adornados con carey, bronce y
marfil.i

image of the Virgin, which had been brought to Guatemala in 1524. had occupied its traditional place nearest the High Altar. In 743 a new chapel was inauguraled. To rcach it a passage was opencd through an existing chapel which had a door to the Chapter Room (Sala Capitular) (65 e). The Chapel of Socorro consisted of cross vaults surmounted by a dome with eight windows.-" A magnificcnt altar and a silver throne for the Virgin
1

made

this the finest

chapel in the Cathedral.

door provided acccss from the Street of the Bells. Burial vaults were constructed beneath this chapel as in other parts of the Cathedral. Beneath the Royal Chapel, the High Altar, the Sagrario and
various other chapis,

many

illustrious

persons

were buried (63 a). At the back of the choir, facing the central door of the facade, there was an altar dedicated to Nuestra Seora de Guadalupe,-' and to the south of this was the large parish church of the Sagrario. This entire rea has been renovated and preserved as the principal church of twentieth century
Antigua. Descriptions of contemporary as well as modern writers are scldom in agreement concerning the physical and decorative features of the Cathedral. Rather than add further confusin, or merely repeat conflicting descriptions, it seems preferable to

Por encima del rea del altar mayor, haba una gran cpula apoyada en hermosas pechinas (61-62) que estaban adornadas con la tpica escultura decorativa hecha con mezcla sobre ladrillo. La misma refinada y vanada escultura decorativa se ve en los capiteles de los pilares y las pilastras (61 be), las cornisas, los escudos de armas en las bvedas, y por todo el interior donde la decoracin se conserva bella a pesar del asolamiento de los aos y del tiempo (63 be). Entre las muchas capillas, la de Nuestra Seora del Socorro (65 b) era la ms grande. Su venerada imagen de la Virgen, que se haba trado a Guatemala en 1524, ocupaba su sitio tradicional en una de las capillas ms cercanas al altar mayor. En
1743, se estren una capilla nueva que se hizo abriendo paso por una capilla abierta que daba entrada a la sala capitular, y consista en un crucero hermoso con im cimborrio de ocho ventanas. ^ Un altar magnfico, y un trono de plata para la Virgen, hicieron de esta capilla la mejor de la catedral. Se poda entrar a la capilla desde la Calle de las Campanas. Se construyeron bvedas debajo de esta capilla como en otras partes de la catedral. Debajo de la Capilla Real, el altar mayor, el Sagrario y otras varias capillas fueron sepultadas muchas personas ilustres de la poca. (63 a).

CATHEDRAL AND EPISCOPAL PALACE


by what remains visible and in its magnificent ruins. We do not need to determine the exact number of vaults, or Windows, or to be told that certain chapis housed gilded altars, splendid images, fine paintings and sculptures, or that other treasures of great merit were in this building. AU of these items would be a natural part of any cathedral of this magnitude and period. Earthquakes prior to 1773 caused varying degrees of damage. The first, in 1689, was of minor conseqiience since the building was new and wellbuilt." Even after 1717 the principal damage was confined to the towers and the main vault.^'' After 1751 the cupola was rebuilt with less height,-* but these earthquakes were responsible for weakening the walls and particularly the vaults. The great earthquake of 1773 left the Cathedral a complete
judge
this great cathedral

in the plan

Detrs del coro, mirando hacia la puerta principal de la fachada, se hallaba un altar dedicado a

Nuestra Seora de Guadalupe,^^ y


estaba la parroquia del Sagrario.

al

sur de ste

Toda esta parte se ha renovado y conservado como la iglesia principal de la Antigua del siglo XX. Cuando se trata de las caractersticas fsicas y decorativas de la catedral, raras veces estn de acuerdo ni las descripciones de los autores de aquella
las de escritores modernos. No es nuestro propsito ni repetir las descripciones contradictorias ni aadir ms confusin. Ms vale juzgar esta gran catedral por lo que queda visible en el plano y en sus ruinas magnficas. No es preciso saber el nmero exacto de bvedas ni ventanas, ni hace falta que nos digan que ciertas capillas tenan altares dorados, imgenes esplndidas, pinturas y esculturas de gran mrito, ni que otros tesoros de valor artstico incalculable se encontraban en este gran edificio. Cualquier catedral de esta magnificencia y poca habra posedo tales bellezas. Los terremotos antes de 1773 causaron daos, unos ms graves que otros. El primero que sufri, en 1689, no fue de mucha importancia, pues era nuevo el edificio y estaba bien construido. ^^ Aun en 1717, los estragos principales se limitaron a las torres y a la bveda mayor.^^ Despus de 1751 se reconstruy la cpula hacindola menos alta.^* Sin embargo, debido a estos terremotos, los muros y sobre todo las bvedas quedaban menos fuertes. El gran terremoto de 1773 dej la catedral completamente arruinada (55) (61c)Al ponerse a discutir la fachada tiene que hacerse con ciertas reservas. Lo que se encuentra en pie hoy, no corresponde a las descripciones anteriormente hechas. Es evidente que ha habido cambios y reconstrucciones parciales antes de 1773 y despus de esa fecha, algunos de los cuales se hallan documentados. Se lee que estaba coronada la fachada de dos torres en donde se encontraban un reloj y unas campanas, una de las cuales era muy grande. Los dibujos de los libros escritos por John L. Stephens-'' y William E. Curts,^ hechos durante el siglo XIX, muestran al norte una torre de dos pisos que tena indicaciones de que le faltaba una parte ms alta en aquella poca. Al parecer, una torre semejante que se ve menos claramenteestaba al lado sur de la fachada para darle un aspecto simtrico. Otras partes de la fachada son ms o menos semejantes a lo que queda hoy, excepto que en estos dibujos no se ve indicacin de la lonja que da a la Plaza. Parece indiscutible que tena torres o campanarios. Vctor Miguel Daz escribi que las torres se desmoronaron o cayeron en 1773, cuando hablaba de la renovacin del Sagrario para parroquia en 1830 a 1832, y adems dijo que las figuras por encima de la cornisa se hicieron despus de que se emancip Guatemala de Espaa.-^ Probablemente quera decir que fue-

poca ni

ruin (55) (61c). One approaches the subject of the fa^ade with some reservations. What stands today does not conform to earlier descriptions. That there have been changes and partial rebuilding both before and after 1773 is evident and to some extent documented. We are told that the fa(:ade was crowned with two towers housing a clock and a number of bells, one of which was very large. Drawings in books by John L. Stephens-' and William E. Curtis,-'" made during the nineteenth century, show a two-storied tower on the north with indications that a higher part was missing at that time. Apparently a similar tower less clearly shown balanced this on the south side of the fa^ade. Other portions of the fa^ade are reasonably similar to what remains today except that there is no indication of the raised platform, or porch, overlooking the Plaza. That there were towers, or belfries, seems indisputable. Vctor Miguel Daz wrote that the towers crumbled, or fell, in 1773, when he referred to the renovation of the Sagrario as a
parish church in 1830-32, and further said that the figures above the cornice were executed after inde-

pendence from Spain.-' Probably he meant that the towers were damaged. Certainly the major portion of the towers was still standing more than sixty years later. However, there is no trace of them now, and from inspection of the plan there is no clear indication of an adequate support for such towers. Perhaps the lack of proper foundations could have contributed to their destruction.

What remained

late in the last century must have been considered unsafe, and removal rather than

repair took place. To what extent the fa^ade was renovated or rebuilt after 1717 there seems to be no sure answer. Whether the central portion dates before or after that time is uncertain. However, it is relatively certain that the splendid decoration about the main entrance ( 59 a ) was not a product of the

LA CATEDRAL Y EL PALACIO EPISCOPAL


period after 1773, or even after 1717. It is too and the workmanship is equal to that of the pendentives and capitals of the interior (61-62). For this reason the statement of Vctor Miguel Daz that the figures above the cornice were executed after the date of Independence seems open to doubt. He did not give his source of information although he said that he had seen the account. The remainder of the fa^ade is rather simple and even austere. The details are well-executed in the upper story and about the niches which are filled with statues excellently modelled in plaster over brick cores. Although the fa^ade lacks the monumentality that one expects from the plan, this can be attributed in part to the loss of the bell towers, but mostly to the awareness of earthquakes
elabrate,

ron daadas las torres. Es cierto que la mayor parte de las torres estaba todava en pie ms de sesenta aos despus de 1773. Sin embargo, no existe vestigio de ellas ahora, y al inspeccionar el plano no se ve indicacin definitiva de un sostn adecuado para tales torres. Tal vez la falta de base apta haya contribuido a su destruccin. Sin duda las partes de estas torres que quedaban en el siglo XIX, se consideraban peligrosas y por eso las quitaron en vez de repararlas. Es imposible saber con certeza hasta qu punto se renov o se reconstruy la fachada despus de
1717. No es cierto que la parte central se edificara antes o despus de aquella fecha. Sin embargo, parece relativamente cierto que los adornos esplndidos alrededor de la entrada principal (59 a )
la poca despus de 1773, ni aun despus de 1717. Son demasiado primorosos, y la hechura iguala la de las pechinas y los capiteles del interior (61-62). Por esta razn parece dudosa la declaracin de Vctor Miguel Daz que las figuras por encima de la cornisa se hicieron despus de la Independencia. No cit la fuente de sus datos, aunque dijo que haba visto el relato. Lo dems de la fachada es bastante sencillo y aun austero. Los detalles se han hecho hbilmente en el cuerpo superior y alrededor de los nichos que estn llenos de imgenes primorosamente modeladas en estuco alrededor de un ncleo de ladrillo. Aunque le falta a la fachada el aspecto mo-

which dictated

a lovv

and heavy

fa^ade.

no son de

HOUSE OF THE PRIESTS OR


CHIEF SACRISTN
66-72

An interesting appendage to the Cathedral is the Chief Sacristan's or priests' house which is very Spanish in character. In fact, the small patio (67) is reminiscent of the house of El Greco in Toledo. There are only four rooms of masonry construction, but part of a gallery around the patio was utilized for additional rooms, including a kitchen (72 d), by using walls of light half-timber construction (69 ab).
From the patio there is not only direct access to the sacristy but also the aisle, extending to the Socorro Chapel and to the Chapter Rooni. The wood construction of the corridor and gallery roof (69 c) is a splendid example of its type.
rooms on the second floor are distinguished by their panelled ceilings (70-71) and the carving of the doors and shutters(72 abr).7 he craftsmanship of these rooms can be related to other structures of Antigua which are dated as mid-eighteenth century (329)
large

numental que uno espera, dado el plano, se puede atribuir esto en parte a la prdida de los campanarios, pero principalmente al hecho de que tomaban en cuenta la frecuencia de terremotos,
lo

que aconsej una fachada baja

y fuerte.

The two

LA CASA DEL SACRISTN MAYOR


66-72

architecturally

EPISCOPAL PALACE
73-74

Una dependencia interesante de la catedral es la Casa del Sacristn Mayor la cual es muy espaola. En realidad, el pequeo patio ( 67 ) recuerda la casa de El Greco en Toledo. No hay ms que cuatro habitaciones de construccin de albailera, pero construyendo tabiques, se serva de una parte de la galera alrededor del patio para otros cuartos, incluyendo una cocina (72 d ) (69 ab).
puede entrar directamente a la que se extiende a la capilla del Socorro y a la sala capitular. La construccin de madera del corredor y de la techumbre de la galera (69 c) es un ejemplo esplndido de su tipo. Las dos habitaciones grandes en el segundo piso se distinguen arquitectnicamente por un artesonado (70-71) y por la obra de talla de las puertas y de los postigos (72 abe). Se puede relacionar la
Del patio
se

In the original town plan the house of Bishop Marroqun was located at the east end of the block which later becamc the Palace of the Captains General. This was not convenient, and Bishop Marroqun turned it over to the government for use as the residence of the Captain General. He
started his

sacrista y al pasillo

new residence adjacent to the north wall of the first cathedral, which was under construction at that time. This structure faced the
Royal Plaza, and was only partially finished when

artesana de estas habitaciones con otras fbricas

CATHEDRAL AND EPISCOPAL PALACE


he died on April
8, 1563.-**

de

la

Antigua que datan de


(329)
.

la

mitad del

siglo

There

is

no record of extensive construction

XVIII

during the following century. The bishop's house probably reniained a modest one. The need for a fitting episcopal palace became apparent when the new seventeenth century cathedral was nearing completion, and pressures were increased concerning the elevation of the Cathedral to an archbishopric. For nearly a century there had been requests and correspondence between the colonial authorities and the King regarding this matter.^* In 1687 the architect of the Cathedral, Jos de Forres, stated that he had worked on the Falace,''*' but this was probably to improve its relationship to the recently completed Cathedral. It was not until 1706 that the new bishop. Fray Mauro Larretegui y Coln, dedicated himself to the task of pushing construction of this spacious and dignified building. The Bishop died on the 29th of November 1711,^' but not before the building was completed with fountains, servants' quarters and stables added. The Palace was inaugurated a

EL PALACIO EPISCOPAL
73-74

En

la traza original

de

la

ciudad de Santiago,

Obispo Marroqun estaba situada al extremo oriental de la manzana donde se edific ms tarde el Palacio de los Capitanes Generales.
la casa del

Este sitio result inconveniente para casa episcoObispo Marroqun lo cedi al gobierno superior para vivienda del Capitn General. Empez a hacer construir su nueva casa contigua al muro septentrional de la primera catedral que se estaba construyendo entonces. Este edificio daba a la Plaza Real, y slo una parte se hallaba construida cuando l falleci el 8 de abril de 1563.^^ No hay documentacin acerca de construccin ms amplia destinada a morada episcopal durante
pal, y el

month before

his death.^^

The

efforts of

many

years to elvate the Cathe-

dral were finally realized when Pope Benedict XIV signed the necessary bull on December 16, 1743,^^ and investiture of the first Archbishop took place

Probablemente la casa del obispo sigui siendo modesta. Cuando se acercaba la terminacin de la nueva catedral del siglo XVII y los esfuerzos para la elevacin de la catedral a metroel siglo siguiente.

on November 14, 1745.'''* Although the Palace and


to

its

service reas

seem

politana se aumentaban, era evidente la necesidad de tener un palacio episcopal apropiado. Durante casi un siglo las autoridades coloniales haban enviado memoriales y rogativas al rey, tocante a este
asunto.^

have covered all of the block not occupied by the Cathedral itself, very little of this building remains. The perimeter adjacent to the streets has been converted to commercial uses of the twentieth century. Only in the ruins of the cloister (74) is it possible to gain some idea of the splendid architectural appearance that must have existed
in this building when it was newly completed. Undoubtedly there was a second story around the main patio. Portions of two stairways were still visible in 1938, and drawings published in the nineteenth century by Stephens and by Curtis previously mentioned show a second story facing the Royal Plaza. There has been reference to a gallery overlooking the Plaza, but there is no indication of this visible. The low and heavy walls are roofed over as a single story building. Only the big door to the cloister (73 c ) and stone door frames on the west facade, (73 b ) with escutcheons, seem to relate to the eighteenth century.
1

arquitecto de la catedral, Jos de que haba trabajado en el palacio episcopal,^" pero probablemente fue esto para mejorar su relacin con la recientemente terminada catedral. No fue sino hasta 1706 que un nuevo obispo, Fray Mauro Larretegui y Coln, se entreg a la tarea de llevar adelante, con energa, la construccin de este amplio y sobrio palacio epis-

En

1687

el

Forres, declar

muri el da 29 de pero antes de morir haba visto concluido enteramente el edificio con sus fuentes, sus habitaciones para la servidumbre, y
copal. El obispo Larretegui

noviembre de

1711,^^

sus caballerizas. Se estren el palacio

un mes

antes

de su fallecimiento.^^ Los esfuerzos de muchos aos para erigir en metropolitana la catedral, se realizaron por fin al firmar su Santidad Benedicto XIV la bula del 16 de diciembre de 1743,^^ y se verific la investidura del primer arzobispo el da 14 de noviembre de
1745.3*

Juarros, Juarros,

2
3

II, 235 Pardo, Efem., p. 4 II, 235 & Pardo, Efem., p. 3

4AGG, A
A &

1.23-1511-9 (1540) A 1.2.4-15750-2196-148 (1546), 1.2.4-15750-2196-153 (1547). A 1.23-1511-148 (1550)


,

1.2.4-15750-2196-148 (1550)

Pardo, Efem., pp. 5-7 Pardo, Efem., p. 15 6 Juarros, II, 236 7 Ibid., 239
8 Ibid.

palacio y sus dependencias parecen la parte de la manzana que no catedral misma, queda muy poco de este edificio. El permetro contiguo a las calles se ha convertido para usos comerciales del siglo
el

Aunque

haber ocupado toda


perteneca a
la

9 Ibid., 235 & Molina, Fr. 10 Juarros. II, 240

Antonio de, Memorias,

p. 123

XX. Slo en las ruinas del claustro es posible obtener alguna idea de la esplndida apariencia arquitectnica alcanzada por este edificio cuando

54

LA CATEDRAL Y EL PALACIO EPISCOPAL


Juarros, I, 151 152 bid., 127-129
l I

Juarros,

Molina, pp. 122123 II, 240

AGGA
! !

1.23-4587-23 (1681) & Pardo, Juarros. II, 240 Chinchilla A., Historia, pp. 75-77. Juarros. 11.241
Ibid.

/em

p. 72

estaba recin terminado. Sin duda, exista un segundo piso alrededor del patio principal. En 1938 todava eran visibles algunas porciones de dos escaleras, y los dibujos ya mencionados, publicados

en

el siglo

XIX

por Stephens y por Curtis, muesPlaza Real,


galera

>

tran
& Vzquez.
IV, 393

)/&id..250 Ibid. ,24\ Ibid., 247


!

un segundo piso que daba a la Tambin ha habido referencia a una


la Plaza Real,

que

Juarros, II. 247 Ubid., 248 ; Stephcns. I. 266 Curtis. p. 65 Daz, V. M., Bella.'. < Pardo, Guia, p. 73
i
> r

Arte.',, p.

161

Pardo. /fm.,pp. 27. 111. 113. 116. 148 Chinchilla A., p. 77 Pardo, Efeiii., p. 110 & Juarros. II. 205 Pardo. Efem.. p. 110 Ibid., pp. 158-159 Ibid.. p. 160
)
)
I

& 158

pero no se encuentran visibles ahora indicios de sta. Los muros bajos y gruesos estn techados como un edificio de un solo piso. Solamente la puerta grande del claustro ( 73 c ) y los marcos de piedra de las puertas de la fachada occidental (73 b), con sus escudos de armas, parecen relacionarse con el siglo XVIII.

daba a

Cathedral ruin viewed from the roof of the restored part. Catedral arruinada vista desde el techo de la parte restaurada.

Archbishop's Palace

CATHEDRAL
Legend
A
C
H,0 AUT.

of

ANTIGUA
J660

Antig-ua,
CHO.R

Guatemala
Dedicaied

BAPT.STE.

B D
F

S.CR.S

E G
I

SOCORRO CHAPEL
GUADALUPE ALTAR

POYAL
CHAPEL
CACITU

Founded 1545

H
S*IA

CMAP-ER

ROOM

MUNIC.PAL CMURCH
CH.Cr SACR.STAN-S

(CAPILLA

K L

CL0I5TER
R

EPISCOPAL

CLO.ST

Mfasura And Drdwn b^ V.L.ANNia

56

T'?T

^
^.
..<*

<PiA

Fa^ade and

cietails

Fachada

y detalles

CATHEDRAL

LA CATEDRAL

CATHEDRAL
58

LA CATEDRAL

Ornamental

stiicco

over central entrance

Ataurique sobre puerta central

Od bells Campanas antiguas

CATHEDRAL

LA CATEDRAL

Upper part of the fa^ade Cuerpo superior de la fachada

Fagade and raised atrium of tfie cathedral. Fachada y lonja de la catedral.

60

CATHEDRAL

LA CATEDRAL

Nave ruin Nave arruinada

CATHEDRAL

LA CATEDRAL

b, c,

Details below the

dome

Detalles bajo la cpula

CATHEDRAL

LA CATEDRAL

Subterranean chapel below the Royal Chapel Capilla subterrnea debajo de la Capilla Real

Southeast door to the


Street of the Bells

Puerta sudeste a Calle de las Campanas


'.

b, c

Escutcheons under vaults

Escudos de armas bajo

las

bvedas.

CATHEDRAL

LA CATEDRAL
63

LARGE

DOORS

TO

THE

CHAPTER

ROOM

OF

THE

Catiedral
SCALC

or
B1

Antigua

ron eleva

lEASUREO
5CALC

AND
OETAILJ

DRAVVN

FOR

64

Door

of the Chapter
la Sala

Room

Detalle de puerta

Puerta de

Capitular

CATHEDRAL

LA CATEDRAL

Exterior Windows

Ventanas exteriores

Street entrance

Puerta de calle

Patio fountain

Fuente del patio

House

of the Chief Sacristn

Casa del Sacristn Mayor

CATHEDRAL

LA CATEDRAL

67

Northwest crner o pato Esquina noroeste del patio

South side of patio

Lado

sur del patio

c,

Details of the patio

Detalles del patio

House

of the Chief Sacristn

Casa del Sacristn Mayor

CATHEDRAL

LA CATEDRAL
69

scALt

ron

CATHEDRAL
70

LA CATEDRAL

"^
..^
S^-

LJ?*^, t>^
-&-'

'-'

Detail of a

Detalle de

comer of the ceiling una esquina del techo

House

of the Chief Sacristn

Casa del Sacristn Mayor

CATHEDRAL

LA CATEDRAL

Detail o a carved door

Detalle de

una puerta

tallada

^^^^^^^^g
a

Door

to

an exterior balcony

Puerta a un balcn exterior

1
)1,
c

Interior doors

Puertas interiores

House of the Chief


72

Sacristn

Casa del Sacristn Mayor

CATHEDRAL

LA CATEDRAL

- -

'-*

'

-^

Door facing Plaza Puerta que da a la Plaza

Entrance from the

street

Entrada desde

la calle

ARCHBISHOP'S PALACE

PALACIO ARZOBISPAL

^^^S i
j"
PFj^'^a
Palace ruin from the Southwest crner

fli

i i; i

1
^

tLiJBfete WP^^jr'
I

^^

"^

'

"IB

>^'*''%rS^9l

Ruina
la

m
del palacio desde esquina sudoeste

tl^^^^1*

I^JUH

11
b

m 1
sr-'-^^k
the cloister
del claustro

1^1

Southwest crner of

Esquina sudoeste

ARCHBISHOP'S PALACE

PALACIO ARZOBISPAL

La Merced Monastery Church Iglesia del monasterio de la Merced

MONASTERIES

LOS MONASTERIOS

Three modest monasteries and their churches were founded before the 1541 disaster at Almolonga. AU were assigned sites in carefully selected

Antes del desastre de 1541

se

fundaron

tres

mo-

nasterios modestos y sus iglesias en Almolonga. Se les asignaron a todos, sitios cuidadosamente esco-

new City of Santiago as a part of the general plan of the engineer Juan Bautista Antonelli. The formal plan was orientad about a central plaza, where the Cathedral and government buildings were to have prominent positions. From this Royal Plaza the straight streets extended for three blocks in each direction. Very wisely the monasteries were given locations on the boundaries of the quadrilateral arrangement. This permitted space to expand and room for gardcns and oichards for each. Santo Domingo received the most extensive site at the northeast crner. San Francisco was located at the southeast crner. The Mercedarians were assigned the most modest property on the north boundary almost directly in line with the central plaza. The terrain of the entire city sloped to the Southwest. Therefore, the original monasteries not only occupied positions with good drainage but where an abundant supply of water would reach them first.
locations in the

gidos en la nueva ciudad de Santiago, como parte del plan general del ingeniero Juan Bautista Antonelli. La traza formal estaba orientada alrededor

de una plaza central, donde haban de situarse la catedral y los edificios del gobierno. De esta Plaza Real las calles rectas se extendan tres manzanas en cada direccin. Sabiamente se les dio a los monasterios sitios en los lmites de este arreglo cuadriltero. Esto les permiti espacio donde ensancharse y lugar para jardines y huertas para cada uno. Recibi Santo Domingo el sitio ms extenso en el ngulo noreste de la ciudad. Se situ San Francisco en la extremidad sudeste. A los mercedarios se les asign la propiedad ms modesta en el lmite septentrional, casi en lnea directa con la plaza central. El terreno de la ciudad entera se inclinaba hacia el sudoeste. As es que todos los monasterios originales ocupaban sitios no slo de buen drenaje, sino tambin donde ini abastecimiento abimdante de agua estara a su alcance antes de entrar en la ciudad.

SANTO DOMINGO
110-113

SANTO DOMINGO
110-113

Fray Domingo de Betanzos came to Almolonga in 1529 and chose a site for a church and monastery at the edge of the small community. He was recalled to Mxico before more than thatched adobes could be built, and there was no one to leave in his place. His sol companion was a young friar, who had only been in the order twenty-seven months.' But in 1535, at the request of Bishop Marroqun, four Dominican missionaries came to take over the house that had been abandoned most

Fray Domingo de Betanzos lleg a Almolonga 529 y escogi sitio para una iglesia y convento los lmites del pequeo pueblo. Le pidieron que regresara a Mxico antes de que pudiera construirse nada ms que edificios de adobes techados de paja, y no haba ningn sustituto que ocupara su puesto. Su nico compaero fue un religioso joven que slo haba estado en la Orden veintisiete meses. Pero en 1535, a peticin del obispo Marroqun, vinieron cuatro misioneros dominicos a to-

en en

MONASTERIES
of the intervening years.- Among these friars was Bartolom de las Casas, who had stopped here briefly in 1531. These missionaries spent most of
their time in other reas, however, and very little development occurred in Almolonga. Because they had been brought to the colony by the Bishop, it is certain that he offered more inducements for them to become a part of the new City of Santiago
in 1542.

mar

posesin de las pocas habitaciones que haban estado abandonadas la mayor parte de los aos de intervalo.- Entre estos frailes estaba Fray Bar-

tolom de las Casas, quien se haba detenido aqu en breve estancia en 1531. Sin embargo se desarroll muy poco este convento en Almolonga,
puesto que estos misioneros pasaron la mayor parte de su tiempo en otras regiones. Pero ya que haban sido trados a la colonia por el obispo, es cierto que l les ofreci ms preiTOgativas para que formaran parte de la nueva ciudad de Santiago, en
1542.

That they were


is

active

when

the

move was made

evident because Pardo found that the Dominicans asked for four additional building sites in the

new city on the 22nd of July, 1542.^^ From this date on, their development was rapid, and it is reported in a document of the National Archives that there were fifty friars by 1579.* Physically there is less remaining of this monastery than any of the nine which were founded during the folowing two centuries. There are two major reasons for the scanty ruins of this onetime great establishment. Although damage of earlier earthquakes had been heavy, with the
wealth and
sters,

number

of friars

housed

in their cloi-

they had continued to build, rebuild and expand. But in 1773 it was this rea of the city that was almost completely destroyed, and Santo Domingo suffered the most. That was a calamity beyond human control, but the second reason for its destruction can be attributed directly to the

hand

of

man, and could have been controUed even

in this century.

ruins of Santo Domingo may have been as a stone quarry in the nineteenth century, but there was almost enough left standing in too, 1934 to permit a survey of the plan. At that time the fountain of one of the cloisters (113 d) was still in its original position. In 1936 it was moved to replace an od community laundry (113 e) at the entrance to the city, and after a few years it was

The

used

placed in its present location in a small plaza adjacent to the od atrium of the Dominican church. In those years there were portions of buildings, foundations and low walls scattered among weeds, bushes and corn fields. During the next ten years a daily procession of oxcarts hauled stone away from this ruin which was considered a source of cheap building material. By the time Antigua was declared a National Monument in 1944, there was almost no visible trace of this huge monastery. Only a few massive piles of masonry marked the lower fa^ade and the crossing (llOb) of a church which was second only to the Cathedral in the seventeenth century. This was a crime against
history

and architecture.

Today we can satisfy our curiosity about Santo Domingo only through the words of seventeenth
and eighteenth century historians. Fortunately more has been written about this monastery than some of the others. There is no space to summarize

Es evidente que estaban activos cuando se hizo traslacin porque descubri Pardo que los dominicos pidieron cuatro solares adicionales en la ciudad nueva, el 22 de julio de 1542.^ Desde esta fecha en adelante fue rpido su desarrollo, y se cuenta en un documento del Archivo Nacional que para 1579 haba cincuenta religiosos.* Materialmente, queda menos de este monasterio que de ningn otro de los nueve que se fundaron durante los dos siglos siguientes. Las causas principales de la escasez de ruinas de este establecimiento, que en una poca era tan grande, son dos. Aunque haba sido severamente daado por terremotos anteriores, dada su riqueza y el nmero de religiosos alojados en sus claustros, haban seguido construyendo, reconstruyendo, y ensanchando. Pero en 1773 fue este barrio de la ciudad el que se destruy casi por completo, y sufri el convento de Santo Domingo ms que ningn otro edificio. Eso fue un desastre de la naturaleza, pero la segunda causa de su destruccin se tiene que imputar directamente a las manos del hombre, y aun en este siglo se habra podido restringir. Quiz sirvieran las ruinas de Santo Domingo de cantera en el siglo XIX tambin, pero todava en 1934 se mantena en pie casi bastante para permitir un reconocimiento del plano. En aquel tiempo, la fuente de uno de los claustros (ll3d) se hallaba todava en su sitio original. En 1936 fue trasladada a la entrada de la ciudad para sustituir una pila vieja (I13e) que serva de lavadero pblico. Despus de unos aos fue colocada en su sitio actual: una plaza pequea contigua al antiguo atrio de la iglesia de Santo Domingo. En aquellos aos, existan porciones de edificios, cimientos, y muros bajos esparcidos por matorrales, arbustos y milpas. IDurante los diez aos siguientes, un desfile diario de carretas tiradas por bueyes extrajeron piedra de esta ruina que se consideraba una fuente barata de materiales de construccin. Cuando se declar a la Antigua Monumento Nacional, en 1944, apenas quedaba rastro visible de este vasto convento. Slo unos cuantos montones enormes de mampostera quedaban para marcar la parte inferior de la fachada y el crucero (110 b) de una iglesia que slo la catedral superaba en el siglo XVII. Fue esta destruccin un crimen cometido
la
,

76

LOS MONASTERIOS
these historical accounts here where pictures rather than words are intended to convey information, but it seems necessary to include some architectur-

contra

la historia

y la arquitectura.

data to illustrate what the camera can not show. Santo Domingo eventually became the largest and richest monastery in the city. Its church was completad in 1666, or fourteen years before the new Cathedral was finished.'' It was the first monastic church to be planned with a nave and side aisles. The fa^ade was described as massive, with two enormous towers which held ten bells, one of which was very large. Also one of the towers displayed the first public clock brought to Santiago in 1553." The church was enriched with magnificent altars and chapis, and throughout both it and the monastery there was a wealth of art. The English friar, Thomas Gage, describes a great lamp of silver hanging in front of the main altar as being so heavy that it required "the strength of three men to hale it up with ropes." Molina describes the same lamp and gives the weight in figures that transate into about one hundred and eleven pounds.' The monastery itself, with several cloisters, extensive gardens and a farm, covered a very large rea. The fountain previously mentioned evidently was not the principal one if an historian's description is to be credited. We are told that the finest fountain in the kingdom was constructed in 1618 by the Dominican friar Flix de Mata, that it was octagonal in shape and of great dimensions. Furthermore, its central part was a globe surmounted by a cross. Twenty spouts emptied into smaller basins, and then into the great one which was covered with tiles brought from Genoa.** The abundance of water in the cloisters and gardens impressed Gage who speaks of the soimd of water everywhere giving music to the cloisters. Since he lived here at some time about 1625 he probably refers to the great fountain when he speaks of one as "casting up the waters, and spouting it oiu of at least a dozen pipes." He also tells us that in one of the gardens there was a paved pond a quarter of a mile long, contained by a low wall, on which there was a boat for fishing or the recreation of the friars." Even if one is inclined to discount some of the observations of these writers, it remains indisputable that this was truly a great monastic
al

Hoy, slo se puede satisfacer en parte nuestra curiosidad tocante a Santo Domingo, leyendo las palabras de los historiadores de los siglos XVII y XVIII. Felizmente, se ha escrito ms acerca de este convento que de algunos otros. No cabe un

resumen de

estas relaciones histricas aqu,

donde

las ilustraciones

palabras han de transmitir conocimientos, pero parece necesario incluir algunos datos arquitectnicos para ilustrar

ms bien que

las

lo que no se puede mostrar con la cmara. Con el tiempo, Santo Domingo lleg a ser el convento ms grande y ms rico de la ciudad. Se termin su iglesia en 1666, o sea catorce aos antes de acabarse la catedral nueva.'' Fue la primera iglesia monstica de Santiago que tena ima nave

establishment.

eighty-one friars, according by the Prior on January 26, 1741, but needed more as it was also the seminary of this province, the only House of General Studies, and
to a report

The monastery had

supplied several professors to the University.'" Records of 1673 and 1676 have occasion to mention its infirmary and pharmacy." According to Vzquez, who was a Franciscan writer, Santo Domingo was not as well planned as San Francisco or as pleasant. However, he con-

principal y dos naves laterales. Se describi la fachada como maciza, con dos torres enormes que contenan diez campanas, siendo muy grande una de ellas. Tambin luci una de las torres el primer reloj pblico, trado a Santiago en 1553.''' Fue enriquecida la iglesia con altares y capillas magnficas, y por todo el convento, de igual manera que en el templo, haba gran riqueza artstica. El fraile ingls Toms Gage, describi ima lmpara grande de plata, suspendida delante del altar mayor, diciendo que pesaba tanto que "se necesitaba la fuerza de tres hombres para le\antarla con cuerdas." Fray Antonio Molina describiendo la misma lmpara dijo que pesaba unos cincuenta kilos." El convento mismo con varios claustros, huertas extensas y una chcara cubri una rea muy grande. La fuente ya mencionada no era evidentemente la principal, si se ha de creer la descripcin de un historiador. Se nos dice que la mejor fuente del reino fue construida en 1618 por el padre dominico Fray Flix de Mata, y que era octagonal y de grandes dimensiones. Adems, la parte central era un globo con una cruz (jue la coronaba, y veinte caos derramaban agua en piletas y luego en la fuente grande, que estaba cubierta de azulejos trados de Genova.** La abundancia de agua en los claustros y en los jardines impresion a Gage, (]uien escribi que el sonido del agua corriendo por todas partes daba msica a los claustros. Puesto que vivi l all por el ao de 1625, probablemente se refiri a la fuente grande cuando relat que "una fuente verta agua echndola por al menos una docena de caos." Nos dice tambin que en uno de los jardines haba un estanque pavimentado que tena cerca de cuatrocientos metros de largo y que estaba cercado de un muro bajo. Sobre este estanque haba una barca para el recreo de los religiosos y para que pudieran pescar. Aunque puedan parecer exageradas algunas de las observaciones de estos escritores, queda indiscutible que era ste en realidad un gran establecimiento monstico.

Tena

el

convento ochenta y un

religiosos,

segn

77

MONASTERIES
ceded that the church was the most sumptuous
finished that Guatemala had before the Cathedral and the magnificent temple of the Compaa de Jess were buik.^The 1717 earthquake caused the cupola of the church to fall, and with it much of a transept and part of a bell tower. It is probable that so much of the entire monastery was weakened in 1717, and again in 1751, that the structure was never completely repaired.

and well

The

severity of the destruction


if

in 1773 could be largely explained

this

were an

established fact.

The Dominicans created more, however, than a great monastery and church. Even by 1556 a chair of theology was established, ^' and the agreement made by their Provincial and Bishop Marroqun resulted in the founding of the Colegio de Santo Toms de Aqiiino}* Although there was opposition from some of the rival monastic orders, particularly the Jesuits, the first major degrees (including a doctrate) were conferred on the 15th of June 1625, and the Dominicans considered that the School of Santo Toms was a university.^^ In spite of the controversies that followed, it was supported by substantial gifts, the older building was improved, and a new edifice constructed. By royal decree this school was made a university in 1676,^" and in 1687 a papal buU raised it to the same rank as the Universities of Mxico and Lima, giving it the title of "Royal and Pontifical University of San Carlos."" The University was not moved from the Dominican site until 1763.

el prior el 26 de enero de 1741, pero le haca falta ms por ser tambin el seminario de esta Provincia, la nica Casa de Estudios Generales, y provea de varios catedrticos a la Universidad.^" En documentos archivados de los aos 1673 y 1676 hay mencin de su enfermera ^^ y de su farmacia. Segn Vzquez, quien fue un escritor franciscano, no estaba tan bien trazado Santo Domingo como el monasterio de San Francisco, ni era tan alegre. Sin embargo, concedi que la iglesia era la ms suntuosa y bien acabada que tena Guatemala, antes de construirse la iglesia catedral y el magnfico templo del Colegio de la Compaa de

un informe hecho por

Jess.-

SAN FRANCISCO
114-131

Los terremotos de 1717 derrumbaron la cpula la iglesia y con ella gran parte de un transepto, y una parte de un campanario. Es probable que se debilitara tan considerablemente el monasterio entero en 1717, y otra vez en 1751, que nunca se repar completamente el edificio. La severidad del destrozo en 1773 se podra explicar en gran parte, si fuera esto un hecho probado. Los dominicos crearon algo ms que un gran convento e iglesia. Ya para 1556, se estableci una ctedra de teologa/^ y el convenio hecho por su Provincial y el Obispo Marroqun result en el establecimiento del Colegio de Santo Toms de Aquino." A pesar de la oposicin de algunas de las otras rdenes, principalmente de los jesutas, los primeros grados mayores (incluido el doctorado) se confirieron el 15 de junio de 1625, y los dominicos consideraban que era universidad el Colegio de Santo Toms. ^^ A pesar de los controde
versias

que siguieron, recibi


primer

el

colegio regalos

substanciales, el

edificio fue

mejorado, y

Although the Franciscans were in other reas of Guatemala by 1525 they did not lcate in Almolonga until 1530.^** Vzquez gives the actual founding of the monastery, by five friars from Mxico, as November 1540. Their earlier site never had more than a thatched hut and was used as a hospice rather than a dwelling.'" After the destruction of Almolonga by the floor of mud and water in 1541, they were requested by Bishop Marro-

una

fbrica nueva construida. Por cdula real, este colegio fue convertido en universidad en 1676," y en 1687, una bula papal la elev al mis-

mo

rango que gozaban las universidades de Mxico y de Lima, dndole el ttulo de la Real y
Pontificia Universidad de San Carlos." No se trasla Universidad del sitio dominico hasta 1763.

lad

SAN FRANCISCO
114-13

qun to maintain a monastery in the od town in


order to administer to the needs of those who did not wish to move to the new Santiago.-" The large church in Ciudad Vieja is of Franciscan origin. The Franciscans were among the very first to choose a location in Santiago, and the enthusiasm of the citizens was so great that their first humble dwelling and small adobe church were ready for temporary use by June of 1542 on the site now occupied by the Escuela de Cristo. ^^ The following year they began to develop their permanent property three blocks to the north where the great church and monastery gradually took form during the next century and a half. They continued to

Aunque ya estaban los franciscanos en otras regiones de Guatemala para 1525, no se radicaron en Almolonga hasta 1530.^** Dice Vzquez que la fundacin efectiva de su convento se verific en noviembre de 1540 y que la fundaron cinco religiosos venidos de Mxico. Su residencia anterior no era nada ms que un sencillo albergue de palos, cubierto de paja, que fue usado como un hospicio ms bien que vivienda.^" Despus de la destruccin de Almolonga por el torrente de agua y lodo, en 1541, el Sr. obispo D. Francisco Marroqun, les pidi mantener un monasterio en Ciudad Vieja,

LOS MONASTERIOS
administer their original establishment in Santiago as the Hermiiage of Vera Cruz for the next one hundred and twenty years.-In 1548 they were granted permission to cise a Street to the south that divided their property because it ivas evident that they lacked room for expansin.-'' But for the next hundred years they were unsuccessful in all further attempts to enlarge their holdings. It was not until 1685 that they were able to gain a small strip of land giving
para servir a
es
las

necesidades espirituales de

los

them

access to their orchard.-*

Santiago were filled with and trouble. The earthquakes of 1565 badly damaged their chinxh and new monastery: and the Franciscans were opposed by the then curearly years in

The

dissensions

nueva capital.^" As grande, actualmente en Ciudad Vieja, es de origen franciscano. Se cuentan los franciscanos entre los primeros (jue eligieron sitio en el nuevo Santiago, y era tan grande el entusiasmo de los ciudadanos, que su primera vivienda humilde y peciuca iglesia de adobes estaban listas para su uso provisional en junio de 1542. en el sitio actual de la Escuela de Cristo.-^ El ao siguiente empezaron a desarrollar su propiedad permanente, a tres manzanas al norte, donde la gran iglesia y con\ento fueron tomando

que no que

cjucran trasladarse a la
la iglesia

rent Bishop. In 1568 thirty-four friars left Santiago in a procession after turning over the keys to civil authorities and declaring that they would go else-

where.

Ihe

citizens

and

oicials

begged them

to

return, and sonie of them did. but for the next year they lived in a prvate house to escape persecution. Several of the group went back to smaller towns or returned to Mxico. A decree from Phillip II, dated 1568, arrived in January 1570 and resultcd in the departure of the Bishop and the reoccupation of the monastery by the friars.--' In 1574 a letter to the King stated that the

forma durante el siglo y medio siguientes. Tambin siguieron administrando su primer establecimiento en Santiago, como la ermita de Vera Cruz, dtnante los siguientes ciento veinte aos." En 1548, se les dio licencia para cerrar una calle al sur que divida su propiedad, puesto (|ue era evidente que les fallaba espacio para ensancharse.^'' Pero durante los cien aos siguientes, no tuvo xito ninguna de sus tentativas adicionales para aiunentar sus terrenos. No fue sino hasta 1685 que pudieron obtener im pe(]ueo pedazo de terreno
(|iic les

dio acceso

a su huerta.-*

monastery was very poor and almost falling down. The friars were in great need of financial help.-'' But in spile of their poverty, according to Juarros, they had a house of studies in 1575. He wrote that it had chairs of Theology, Canonical Law and Philosophy.-' And Vzquez described as sumptuous the small chapcl which was built in 1600 as the Chapel of Alcntara, but which was dedicated in 1605 to Our Lady of Loreto. Ihe description of this chapel is so complete and detailed that there is no doubt that it is the small room under the clock tower at the right of the church entrance.-"* (116 c) From this we must conclude that the big church of the Franciscans was in existence bcfore
1600.

Los primeros aos en Santiago estuvieron llenos de disenciones y molestias. Los terremotos de 565 haban daado seriamente la iglesia y el convento nuevo, y el obispo de entonces actu en oposicin
1

a ellos.

En

1568, treinta y cuatro religiosos salieron

en procesin de Santiago, despus de haber entregado sus llaves a las autoridades civiles y declarado ([ue iran a otra parte. Los vecinos y los funcionarios les rogaron volver, y alginios de ellos lo hicieron, pero diante el ao siguiente habitaban una
casa particular para escapar a las persecuciones del obispo. Varios regresaron a pueblos pe(|ueos o \olvieron a Mxico. Una cdula de Felipe II, fechada en 1568, lleg a Santiago en enero de 1570, resultando en la partida del obispo y la Mielta de
los franciscanos a su

convento. ^^
carta al

En

1574, en

una

monarca

se

declaraba

According to Vzquez, the work begun on the monastery in 1612 was finished by 1625.-" However, much remained to be done. The novices'
quarters, porter's lodge, the

De

Projiiudis

room

and other improvements were still under construction in 1630,''" and further important work was undertaken late in the century. One must remember that Vzquez was a Franciscan and possibly a little prejudiced in some of his statemenls when he speaks of San Francisco Monastery as the finest, best planned, most checrful, sturdy, spacious and suitable in the City.'" But also it must be granted
that
it was a great monastery even in the seventeenth century. l'he inhabitants regularly num-

pobre el convento y que estaba casi para desplomarse. Les haca gran falta a los frailes ayuda econmica.^" Pero segn Juarros, a pesar de su pobreza tenan una casa de estudios en 1575, y cuando escriba l, su colegio tena ctedras de teologa, cnones, y filosofa.-' Vzquez describi como suntuosa la pejuea capilla que se construy en 1600 como la ca])illa de Alcntara, pero cjue se dedic en 1605 a Nuestra Seora de Loreto. Es tan completa y detallada la descripcin de esta capilla (|ue no cabe duda (]ue es la pequea pieza, debajo de la torre del reloj, a la derecha de la entrada a la iglesia (116 c).^ De esto hay que concluir fjue la iglesia grande de los franciscanos exista antes de
(|ue era nuiy

bered eighty friars. With those in the infirmary, and those temporarily there from other monasteries, the total was possibly one hundred. In-

1600.

Segi'm Vz(]uez,

la

construccin en

el

convento,

empezada en

1612, fue terminada para 1625.-"'

No

79

MONASTERIES
cluded were twenty, or more, lay brothers who were in the various dependencies, or who solicited alms.^ According to Juarros, probably the first foundation of the

obstante quedaba

la portera, y la sala
1630,''"'

mucho por hacer. El noviciado, De Projundis, lo mismo que


otras obras importantes
(|ue recordar

otras mejoras, estaban todava en construccin en

y se

emprendieron

Third Order

of Franciscans in the

hacia fines del siglo.

Hay

que Vz-

Americas occurred here when Don Bartolom Martnez del Anillo

the habit in
later.*^

became the first Tertiary, taking December 1613 and professing a year

suffered

During the seventeenth century this monastery numerous minor catastrophes. The clock
(l25cd)

tower

over the Chapel of Nuestra Seora de

Loreto was struck by lightning in 1634, as was the refectory in 1635 and the archives in 1669.^* Fires occurred in the cell of the Provincials in 1 680 and in the Guardian's quarters in 1681, also.''''

was during the last quarter of the century improvements were made. In the dry season of 1674-5, when the church of San Franone hundred years od, the roof cisco was about timbers and wood ceiling of the church were replaced.^*"' This indicates that the appeal for financial help (previously mentioned) must have been answered and that the main body of the church was built about 1675-90. The od ceiling was almost ready to fall, and it was necessary to replace it from the crossing in front of the main altar to the fa^ade. Tweive pairs of joists were used, and the ceiling was constructed of the best seasoned cedar, panelled, carved, painted and gilded with such excellent workmanship that there was none to equal it in the realm.-" The description clearly suggests that it was Mudejar in character, probably resembling the ceiling of the church of Tecpn which is said to be the oldest still existing in
It

quez era franciscano, y posiblemente elogiaba demasiado su convento, cuando escribi (ue San Francisco era el ms primoroso, el mejor trazado, el ms alegre, fuerte, amplio y conveniente de la ciudad.^' Pero tambin hay que conceder que era un gran convento aun en el siglo XVII. Regularmente lo habitaban ochenta religiosos. Aadiendo los de la enfermera y los de otros conventos de la Orden, habitndolo provisionalmente, posiblemente el nmero de sus moradores era ciento. Se incluan en ste, veinte o ms hermanos legos que estaban en las dependencias variadas o que pedan
limosnas.^-

that the greatest

Segn Juarros, probablemente se verific all primera fundacin en la Amrica de la Tercera los franciscanos, cuando don Bartolom Martnez del Anillo se convirti en el primero de esta Orden, tomando el hbito en diciembre de 1613 y profesando un ao ms tarde. Durante el siglo XVII sufri este convento varias catstrofes menores. La torre del reloj (l25cd), por encima de la capilla de Nuestra Seora de Loreto, fue golpeada por un rayo en 1634; en 1635 cay otro en el refectorio y en 1669 un tercero cay en el archivo.''* Hubo incendio en la celda de los Provinciales en 1680, y en la del Guardin en
la

Orden de

^'^

1681, tambin.-'-'

Guatemala

(455 a).

Fue durante el ltimo cuarto del siglo cjue se las mejoras ms considerables. Durante la temporada seca de 1674 a 1675, cuando la iglesia de San Francisco tena unos cien aos, se reemplahicieron
del techo y el artesonado del que la susodicha splica para ayuda econmica debi haber resultado favorable iglesia y que se construy el cuerpo principal de la hacia los aos 1575 a 1590. Estaba para caerse el

7, 1675 a contract was made with the master stone masn, Ramn de Autillo, to install the arched frame of stone about the main entrance.'"* Other documentary evidence is lacking to date the entire fa^ade, but this door frame surely was a finishing detail rather than a beginning. If this is true, the Baroque fa^ade of San Francisco pre-dates that of the Cathedral which was under

On March

zaron

el

maderamen

templo.-'" Esto indica

construction in this same decade. The architect of the Cathedral, Jos de Forres, was working also on various parts of San Francisco according to Chinchilla Aguilar.""' ngulo Iiguez, among others, has noted that the column and niche composition of San Francisco (l 16 c ) was used in the central part of the Cathedral fa^ade ( 60 b ).*" It would not be unusual for an architect to repeat a favorite architectural arrangement, but that fact does not help to establish a definite date for the San Francisco fa^ade. Jos de Forres, who died in 1703, had been actively engaged on many of the important buildings of the Capital for the preceding fifty years. What he did at San Francisco after he worked on the Cathedral is clearer than what he did in his earlier association. The fa^ade of San Francisco is

antiguo techo, y fue preciso reemplazarlo desde el crucero delante del altar mayor hasta la fachada. Se usaron doce pares de tirantes, y se construy el techo del mejor cedro, bien seco, de artesonado, tallado, pintado y dorado con artificio tan excelente que no haba otro que lo igualara en el reino.^^ La descripcin sugiere claramente que era de tipo mudejar, semejante, probablemente, al techo de la iglesia de Tecpn que tiene fama de ser la ms antigua existente en Guatemala (455 a). El 7 de marzo de 1675, contrat el maestro de cantera, Ramn de Autillo, un arco de piedra para la puerta principal.^^ Falta otra declaracin archivada para fijar la fecha de la construccin de la fachada entera, pero este arco era, sin duda, un detalle para la perfeccin y no de la iniciacin de la obra. Si en realidad lo es, la fachada barroca de San Francisco anticipa la de la catedral que se estaba construyendo durante este mismo decenio.

LOS MONASTERIOS
those things attributed to him in his he did this, it must have been some time between 1650 and 1670. before work was started on the Cathedral. It probably was completed prior to the rcplacenient of the roof in 1674 and the installation of the stone door fraine in 1675. The fa^ade of San Francisco is good Baroque, and the polychromed images, modelled in plaster over brick cores like the twisted (Salomonic) columns, are cxcellently done. The entire fa^ade, with its horizontally banded pilasters on the bel] tower (l 18 b) and its heavy base, gives the church both dignity and beauty, and a freshness of design that is lacking in the Cathedral. If Forres was the creator of both designs, why did he revert to an almost sterile Renaissance on the Cathe-

not

among

later years. If

El arquitecto de la catedral, Jos de Forres, trabajaba tambin en varias partes de San Francisco, segn Chinchilla Aguilar.'"' .\ngulo Iiguez, entre
otros,

ha notado que

la

composicin de

las

colum-

nas y de los nichos de San Francisco (I16c) se ha usado en la parte central de la fachada de la catedral ( 60 b )''" No sera raro que un arquitecto repitiera una distribucin arquitectnica predilecta, pero esto no ayuda a establecer ima fecha definitiva para la fachada de San Francisco. Jos de Forres, quien muri en 1703, se haba ocupado de

muchos de los edificios importantes de la capital durante los cincuenta aos anteriores. Lo que hizo en San Francisco, despus de haber trabajado en
claro (|ue lo (|ue hizo antes. No fachada de San Francisco entre las obras atribuidas a l durante los ltimos aos que trabajaba. Si la hizo habr sido entre 1650 y 1670, antes de empezarse la obra de reconstruccin de la catedral. Se habr terminado antes del reemplazo del techado en 1674 y la instalacin del marco de piedra de la pticrta en 1675. La fachada de San Francisco es de un buen barroco, y las imgenes policromadas, modeladas en estuco sobre ncleos
la catedral, es

ms

se

encuentra

la

dral? The latter building is what might have been expected before mid-seventeenth century. The Baroque of San Francisco (if conceived between 1650 and 1670) is early for the remote City of Santiago. With all this in mind one can only wonder if the fa^ade of the Cathedral might have been a reconstruction of its earlier one, with enrichment of detail in the tipper story and over the main entrance added during 1669-80. In 1684 the infirmary of San Francisco was enlarged with an addition of three bays at the south extremity of the monastery. The ground floor contained six cells and a dormitory to accommodate demented monks and those needing corrcction or punishment. These cells had windows with iron grilles facing east and west. On the second level there were also six cells, a very ampie abode for the sick,opening to arched balconies. And on the

de ladrillo

lo mismo que las columnas helicoidales (salomnicas), estn primorosamente hechas. La

third floor were fotir more spacious rooms for the seriously or habitually ill. These also opened onto outside decks with fine views

monks who were


(131 abe
).

Beyond the infirmary, and terminating it, there was built at this time the spcndid Chapel of San Antonio de Padiia, which consisted of three vaidted bays, with its axis rimning east and west at right angles to the infirmary (120-21). The Chapel is described as being sumptuous and artistic and having a spacious sacristy. It was on the upper level. Below it was the pharmacy, a very large and well equipped room which not only served the needs of the monastery btit extended aid to poor people who fre(iuently camc for help. At the lowest level there was apparently a large vaulted room for
other useful ptirposcs." All these new additions are definitely attributed to Jos de Forres. It was in this same period of building that mural and ceiling decorations were added to the reception room (portera), cloisters, refectory and novitiate, according to Vzcjuez. But while this work was in progress, or scarecly finished, the earthquake of February 12, 1689 occurred. Great damage was done. Not a cell remained that could

fachada entera, con stis pilastras 'fajadas' horizontalmente en el campanario (118 b),y su base pesada, dan a la iglesia dignidad, hermosura y una novedad de diseo que le falta a la catedral. Si fue Forres el creador de ambos diseos, tmo se pregimta por cju volvi atrs a un renacimiento casi estril en la catedral. Este edificio es lo (]ue se hubiera podido esperar antes de la mitad del siglo XVII. El barroco de San Francisco (si fue concebido entre 1650 y 1670) es adelantado para la lejana ciudad de Santiago. En vista de todo esto, stirge la idea de cjue posiblemente fue la fachada de la catedral una reconstruccin de la anterior, con enri(|uecimiento de detalles en el cuerpo superior y por encima de la entrada principal, aadidos durante los aos 1669 a 1680. En 1684, en el extremo meridional del monasterio, se alarg la enfermera de San Francisco con una adicin de tres divisiones. El piso bajo contena seis celdas y un dormitorio para los religiosos dementes y los que merecieran correccin o castigo. Estas celdas tenan ventanas con rejas de hierro, algunas mirando hacia el este y otras hacia el oeste. En el piso segundo haba seis celdas tambin, una vivienda muy amplia para los enfermos, la cual se abra a una galera con arquera. Y en el piso superior, haba otras cuatro celdas capaces para los religiosos graves o habitualmente enfermos. Estas, tambin, tenan salida a galeras desde las cuales se gozaba de hermosas vistas
(131 abe).

Ms all de la enfermera y terminndola, se construy en aquel tiempo, la esplndida capilla

81

MONASTERIES
be inhabited, or a dormitory that was not filled with rubble. Brick walls that had been repaired after previous earthquakes were demolished, and the vault of the main stairway was so unsafe that it had to be razed and entirely rebuilt. Fortunately,

the monks,

who were

in the refectory for their

11:00 a.m. repast when the earthquake occurred, managed to escape froni the building.*The work of reconstruction was renewed, walls were reinforced or built new throughout the monastery. Although this work was costly it was not as great as the first estimates had indicated, and new and essential work was understaken as soon as the principal damage was repaired. One of the new
projects was the construction of a great vaulted kitchen with its chimney, wall cupboards and convenient trough of running water. This was a room

grand scale.*^ end of the church had not been repaired when the ne^v roof was placed over the six bays from the fa^rade to the crossing. After conbuilt
a

on

The

east

siderably

more than

a century, this portion of the

church was in bad repair although it had not fallen during the recent earthquake. The upper part of the lantern had been damaged. Work was begun on rebuilding the transepts and chancel on June 25, 1692. This took approximately six years to complete. When it was started, the body of Hermano Pedro was transferred to a confessional between the altar of San Antonio and that of San Pedro Alcntara.** While work was progressing on the east end of the church, there was considerable other construction undertaken and completed. The magnificent sacristy of three vaulted bays was built in the angle between the south transept and the chancel (ll9ac), and the lower cloister with its decorated vaults was constructed (l29ab).''^ In 1697 the transept with its splendid cornices, high vaulted crossing (l24 a) and the new chancel (l 19 b) were so beautiful that it was deemed necessary to bring the large nave of the church up to the same standard and appearance. Although the nave had been covered in 1674 with what was considered to be the finest ceiling in the country, it was now in poor condition only twenty-three years
later. In the reconstruction of the nave, pilasters were added, and six great arches spanned the space to support the low vaults which replaced the wood roof. The cornices of the transepts were continued throughout the church, and windows were placed high in both the north and south walls (122 ac). The choir occupied the first two bays over the entrance to the church (122 bd). Large burial vaults were included in the new construction,*" and the crypts in the transept were arranged to receive those who were previously buried there, including Hermano Pedro whose remains were again interred at the left of the altar in 1703.

de San Antonio de Padua, que consista en tres bernegales con su longitud de oriente a poniente, y que haca un ngulo recto con la enfermera (120-21). Se ha descrito la capilla como suntuosa y artstica y con una sacrista capaz. Estaba en el nivel superior. Debajo de ella se hallaba la botica, un saln muy espacioso y bien provisto de todo lo necesario para servir no slo para la curacin de los religiosos, sino tambin para socorrer a los pobres que acudan frecuentemente pidiendo ayuda. En el piso inferior haba otro saln espacioso y abovedado, (jue tena tambin su utilidad.*^ Se atribuyen todas estas nuevas adiciones, definitivamente, a Jos de Porres. Fue durante este mismo perodo de construccin que se adornaron la portera, los claustros, el refectorio, y el noviciado con decoraciones en los muros y en los cielos, segn Vzquez. Pero mientras estaban haciendo esto o apenas se haba terminado, ocurri el terremoto del 12 de febrero de 1689. Hubo muchos estragos. No quedaba celda que se pudiera habitar, ni dormitorio que no estuviera lleno de escombros. Fueron demolidas las paredes de ladrillo que se haban reparado despus de terremotos anteriores, y la bveda de la
escalera principal era tan insegura

que tuvieron

que demolerla y reconstruirla completamente. Afortunadamente, los religiosos, cjue estaban todos en el refectorio para la comida de las once cuando ocurri el terremoto, lograron escapar del
edificio.*^

cin, reforzando

Comenzaron de nuevo la obra de reconstrucmuros o reconstruyndolos por


el

todo

convento.

Aunque

era costosa esta obra,


las

no

primeras computaciones, y se emprendieron obras nuevas y esenciales luego que se terminaron las reparaciones ms urgentes. Uno de los proyectos nuevos fue fabricar una cocina grande, toda de bveda, con su chimenea, sus alacenas y pilas de agua corriente. Fue una pieza construida en escala
lo era tanto

como haban indicado

considerable.*^

La extremidad oriental de la iglesia no se haba reparado cuando se puso el techado nuevo por encima de los seis bernegales que se extendan desde la fachada hasta el crucero. Despus de bastante ms de un siglo, esta parte de la iglesia estaba en malas condiciones aunque no se haba cado durante el terremoto reciente. Se haban daado la parte superior y la linterna. Se inici la obra de reconstruccin de los brazos del crucero y el presbiterio, el 25 de junio de 1692. Pasaron unos seis aos en su construccin. Cuando
se

comenz

esta obra, se trasladaron los restos del

Hermano Pedro

a un confesionario en un espacio entre el altar de San Antonio de Padua y el de San Pedro Alcntara.**

Mientras

se

adelantaba

la

obra de

la

oriental del templo, se

emprendieron y

extremidad se acabaron

LOS MONASTERIOS
thrce years of the century, the Hall of Studics was built south of the transept, next to the cloister and the main stairway. The low, ribbed vaiilts of this rooni were different from those of any other of the monastery (124 cd). The decorations and furnishings were described by Vzquez as being very sitable for their purpose, with carved benches, ebony balustrades dividing the upper and lower tiers of seats, a very magnifilast

During the

bastantes otras construcciones. Se fabric la magnfica

sacrista

de
el

tres

tramos abovedados en

el

et cetera.*'

cent professor's lectern filling the end of the room, This Avas where the thcses of candidates for degrees were attacked and defended. The end treatment of the room suggests a place for an altar. It scems probable that this room also served as a

chapel for the prayers of the monks.

Immediatcly after 1700, finials wereadded to the upper fa^ade to finish it. but again it is apparent that this was a minor addition. In the three year period after 1700 iron balustrades and panels of low relief were installed in the choir, and glass was placed in all the windows of the church. The main altar of five stories with sculptured saints was completed, and five gildcd sidc altars were installed. A silver lamp ovcr the high altar is said to have weighed one himdred pounds.'*^ All the cornices were adorned with balustrades painted green and gold. It is probable that the architect of the newer portions of the church was still Jos de Forres as he did not dic until 1703 at which time, according to Pardo, Juan de Bonilla was named to succeed
superintendent of works.'"' Vzquez wrote that the church was inaugurated September 25, 1702 but that work was still going on and that the pulpit was not finished imtil 1710.''" Documents in the archives, however, give the date of dedication by Bishop Alvarez de Toledo as September 23. 1714.''' During these disputed years there was one last major addition. A library was built over the great sacristy, with large winas

transepto meridional y el presbiierio(119ac), y se edific el clatistro bajo con sus bvedas adornadas ( 129 ab ).'"^ En 1697 los brazos del crucero con sus cornisas esplndidas, el alto crucero de bveda (124 a) y el nuevo presbiterio (I19b) eran tan bellos que se crea preciso hacer que correspondiera la gran nave del templo. Aunque en 1674 se haba cubierto la nave con lo que se consideraba el mejor techo del pas, slo veintitrs aos ms tarde estaba en mal estado. En la reconstruccin de la nave, se aadieron las pilastras, y seis arcos grandes se extendan sobre el espacio para sostener las bxedas bajas cpie sustituyeron el techado de madera. Las cornisas de los brazos del crucero se continuaron por todo el templo, y se colocaron ventanas en la parle superior de los nnnos septentrional y meridional (122 ac). El coro ocup los dos primeros tramos por encima de la entrada a la iglesia (l 22 bd). Se incluyeron en la nueva construccin grandes bvedas para entierros,"' y se arreglaron las criptas en el transepto para recibir a los que antes estaban enterrados en ellas, incluyendo al Hermano Pedro, cuyos restos se enterraron de nuevo a la izcitiierda del ahar, en 170.3.
fic el

ngulo entre

Diante los tiltimos tres aos del siglo, se ediGeneral de los Estudios, al sin- del transepto,

him

dows on thrce

sides."'-

The

entirc

complex of

church, monastery and school had reached its zcnith. It occtipicd a site equivalent to abotit four city blocks within a walled compound controUed by several gates. One of thcse with its Salomn ic columns ( 115 ) served as the principal entrancc from the Street of the Processions (Calle de los Pasos) to the atrium of the church. The buildings by 700 covered more than eight acres of ground. The earthcpiake of 1717 was more severe than any of those in the preceding century and, in spite of the fact that most of the church and monastery had been so recently rcconstructed, the damage was very extensive. The Chapel of San Antonio de Padua, which had been built in 1685, had to be completely rebuilt. This was true of the upper story of the new infirmary, also. Walls fell, or were weakened throughout the monastery, and all of the arches of the new church were cracked. The
1

bell

tower was partially

destroyed.'"'^

contiguo al clausLas bajas bvedas de nervadura de esta sala eran distintas de las de cual(|uier otra del convento describi los adornos y muebles ( 124 cd).Vzcjuez como muy propios para su propsito, con bancos tallados, barandillas de bano que dividan los asientos altos de los de abajo, luia magnfica ctedra que llenaba el extremo de la sala, etc.''' Fue esta sala donde se atacaban y se defendan las tesis de los candidatos para grados. El arreglo de un extremo de ella sugiere tm lugar para altar. Parece probable c|ue tambin sirviera esta sala como capilla para las oraciones de los frailes. Inmediatamente despus de 1700, se aadieron remates a la parte superior de la fachada para su perfeccin, pero otra vez, es evidente (jue fue sta inia adicin menor. En el trienio posterior a 1700, se instalaron barandillas de hierro y tableros de media talla en el coro, y en todas las ventanas de la iglesia se colocaron vidrieras. Se termin el altar mayor con im retablo de cinco cuerpos con santos de escultura, y se hicieron e instalaron otros cinco altares laterales dorados. La lmpara de plata del altar mayor pesaba cuatro arrobas o irnos cuarenta y seis kilos, segn se dice.''* Todas las cornisas de este templo estaban adornadas con barandillas pintadas de verde y oro. Es probable cjuc aun fuera arquitecto de las partes nuevas de esta iglesia Jos de Porres, pues no muri hasta 703 cuando, segn Pardo, se le nombr a Juan de Bonilla como su
jiuito a la escalera principal y
tro.
1

8S

MONASTERIES
But again this great inonastery was repaired and strengthened. It is probable that it was in the years following 1717 that most of the tremendous buttresses were raised in various parts of it. Unfortunately these were not niade an integral part of the walls, but merely built against them in most instances. Even though the structure withstood another heavy earthquake in 1751, the buttresses contributed to the final destruction of 1773 by acting as battering rams. Walls fell under their impact, but the buttresses remained standing
(130a).

sucesor en el puesto de Maestro Mayor de Obras.*" Escribi Vzquez que se estren la iglesia el 25 de septiembre de 1702, pero que todava se trabajaba en ella y que no se termin el pulpito hasta 1710.'" Sin embargo, documentos en el Archivo Nacional de Guatemala, dan el 23 de septiembre de 1714 como el da cuando la dedic el obispo

San Francisco attracted many learned men and great artists during its long history. From the sixteenth century until its destruction, a wide variety of subjects were taught in the School of San Buenaventura which was attached to the monastery.'"'* Descriptions are inadequate to positively identify its location, but probably it was in the rea north of the church. During the middle of the eighteenth century there was considerable controversy
about closing or moving the school. Funds for construction were requested of His Majesty in 1748,^" but there is no record of work before or after the earthquake of 1751. More complete destruction of it may have residted from the fact that the buildings were in poor condition. In addi^'^

tion to the scholars, theologians, writers, and those advanced in the sciences of that age, the monastery supported such renowned sculptors as Alonso de la Paz and Juan de Aguirre, and the famed painter Toms de Merlo. However, it was Cristbal Villallife

pando who painted the immense canvases of the of Saint Francis for this monastery. Most of these men were buried in the pantheon of this church. Many Franciscan artists worked within the monastery in what was called a Hall of Arts.

The

press brought to
tises of

Franciscans also possessed the second printing Guatemala which printed trea-

No
and

some of their scholarly monks. original plan seems to exist for this church monastery. Numerous plans were made in the

Alvarez de Toledo. '^ Durante estos aos en disputa, todava hubo una adicin mayor. Por encima de la gran sacrista se edific una biblioteca que tena ventanas grandes en tres lados. El conjunto entero de templo, convento y colegio haba llegado a su apogeo. Ocupaba un sitio cercado de muros que equivala a cuatro manzanas, ms o menos, el cual fue controlado por varias puertas. Una de stas con sus columnas salomnicas ( 115 ), serva como la entrada principal desde la Calle de los Pasos al atrio del templo. Para 1700, los edificios cubran ms de ocho acres de terreno. Los terremotos de 1717 fueron ms severos que cualquiera de los del siglo anterior, y a pesar de haberse reconstruido tan recientemente la mayor parte de la iglesia y del convento, los daos fueron extenssimos. La capilla de San Antonio de Padua, que se haba construido en 1685, necesitaba reconstruirse completamente. Lo mismo sucedi con el piso superior de la enfermera nueva. En todo el convento se vinieron a tierra o se debilitaron muros, y se resquebrajaron todos los arcos de la iglesia nueva. Se destruy una parte del campanario."'^ Pero otra vez se repar y se reforz este gran convento. Es probable (|ue fuera en los aos siguientes a 1717 cuando la mayor parte de los contrafuertes tremendos se levantaron en varias partes de l. Desgraciadamente, estos contrafuertes no se construyeron de manera que fueran una parte ntegra de los muros, sino que slo fueron puestos contra ellos en la mayora de los casos. Aunque el edificio resisti otro terremoto severo en 1751, contribuyeron los contrafuertes a la destruccin final en 1773, obrando como arietes. Se cayeron los muros bajo su choque, pero se quedaron en pie los
'^^

eighteenth century for new and reconstructed portions of the Palace of the Captains General, and probably some were made for San Francisco. But if such plans do exist, they are 'lost' among the scattered documents of the various archives. It is fortnate that the ruins of San Francisco were allowed to remain with a mnimum of quarrying, vandalism, or change until after 1960. The plans (120-21) presented here were made in 1938 with all the accuracy possible considering that many portions were buried in debris. Although the designation of some of the rooms may be subject to question, the plans of the ground and second floors make it possible to visualize the extent and scale of this great religious foundation. From these one

contrafuertes (130 a). Durante su larga historia San Francisco atrajo a


sabios y a grandes artistas. Desde el siglo hasta su destruccin, se ense una gran variedad de materias en el Colegio de San Buenaventura, que era una dependencia del convento.'* Las descripciones no son adecuadas para identificar con certeza su situacin, pero es probable que estuviera en el rea al norte del templo. mediados del siglo XVIII, hubo bastante controversia sobre cerrar o trasladar el Colegio.'*"' Le pidieron a su Majestad fondos para construccin en 1748,'" pero no hay relacin de haberse trabajado en l, ni antes ni despus de los terremotos ce 1751. Es posible que haya causado la destruccin completa del Colegio, el hecho de que estaban en mala condicin sus edificios. Adems de los letrados,

muchos

XVI

may

get

Santo Domingo. San Francisco

some idea of what might have existed at is not only a most

LOS MONASTERIOS
impressive ruin but one of the great examples of monastic planning. Here it was possible to study the unadulterated devclopment of such an institution. It should have been retained as a National Monument, as originally intended, preserved from further deterioration but standing as a testimonial of the period. The church fa^ade was unchanged after 1773 until early in the twentieth century. The od drawing, published in 1888 (I16b),'^' shows only one difference from the photograph taken in 1934. The upper story with the statue of St. Francis of Assisi fell at the time of the last severe earthquake in 1917-18. A picture taken before this date shows that the crner of the bell tower was broken almost to the ground."'^ After 1918 this crner was rebuilt to the present level, and the chapel of the Third Order was reconditioned. The interior of the Franciscan church. with its single nave of great length and proportional height, was impressive when viewed from either

hombres doctos en las ciencias de la poca, mantuvo el convento a escultores renombrados, tales como Alonso de la Paz y Juan
telogos, escritores y

de Aguirre, y el famoso pintor Toms de Merlo. Sin embargo, fue el artista mexicano, Cristbal Villalpando, quien pint unos inmensos lienzos de la vida de San Francisco para este convento. Se enterr a la mayora de dichos intelectuales y
artistas

en

el

panten de

esta iglesia.

Trabajaron

otros muchos artistas franciscanos dentro del convento, en una pieza que se llamaba el Saln de Artes. Tambin posean los franciscanos la segun-

end ( 122 ). The main altar must have been as beautiful as it was unusual. Four large windows wcre superimposed in the altar. These opened into an apsidal appendage(ll9bd) which was lighted from three sides. At each level were shrines: for the monstrance, the Virgin of the Immaculate Conception, St. Francis of Assisi and St. Michael. Back of this tower there was a single jet of water from a fountain. At the west end of the church (122 bd) was a large and beautifully furnished choir with seats carved by Juan de Aguirre who also did
the figtires for the main altar. Over the crossing there was a dome with one of the highest cupolas in the city. Most of the great rooms of the monastery are now roofless, or partially so. One, the Hall
of Studies(l24cd),
is

da imprenta trada a Guatemala, la cual public tratados escritos por algunos de sus religiosos. Parece que no existe ningiuia traza original de este templo y convento. Se hicieron planos numerosos en el siglo XVIII para porciones nuevas y reconstruidas del Palacio de los Capitanes Generales, y es probable cjue se hicieran para San Francisco. Pero si existen tales planos, estn 'perdidos" entre los documentos esparcidos en los varios archivos. Fue afortunado el hecho de permitir (|ue las ruinas de San Francisco permanecieran con un mnimo de extraccin de piedra, vandalismo, o cambios hasta despus de 1960. Los planos(l 20-21) presentados aqu se hicieron en 1938 con toda la
exactitud posible, dado que muchas partes estaban enterradas bajo escombros. Aunque es posible que se haga objecin a la designacin de algunas piezas, los planos de los pisos bajo y alto hacen posible percibir la extensin y la escala de este gran establecimiento religioso. De estos planos se puede obtener algima idea de lo que existi, probablemente, en Santo Domingo tambin. No es San Francisco solamente una ruina muy impresionante, sino tambin uno de los grandes ejemplares de planeamiento monstico. Aqu se poda estudiar
el

entirely covered.

Kubler

be-

lieves that this rib-vaulted

1575, placing it five years earlier than the date of construction given by Vzquez. Howcver. vaulting was not uscd until much later in Santiago, and Vzquez was living in San Francisco when this room was built just prior to 1700. The reception hall has part of its vatdted ceiling (125 b), and in this room may be seen fragments of colorful frescoes (125 a) which

room dates from about ncarly one hundrcd and twcnty-

desarrollo genuino y sin falsificacin, de

tal ins-

titucin.

Debi haberse conservado como Monti-

mento Nacional, como se proyect originalmente, imposibilitando mayor deterioracin y mantenido

como

testimonio del perodo colonial.

were done

late in the

seventeenth century.

part

of the barrcl-vaulted ceiling of the refectory displays patterns of color which have been almost

obliterated by the smoke from cooking fires of squatters in the ruins. The vault over the great stairs (I29d) fell for the third and last time, and only part of the immense kitchen vault is standing (130 d). Most of the cells and dormitory reas were completely ruined. The infirmary is merely an impressive pile of masonry (130 a), and only the exterior walls of the Chapel of San Antonio de Padua

remain

131

).

The main

cloister

was one of the most rnate

Despus de 1773 no se cambi la fachada del templo hasta los primeros aos del siglo veinte. El dibujo antiguo publicado en 1888 (116 b),'''' muestra una sola diferencia con la fotografa sacada en 1934. El cuerpo superior con la estatua de San Francisco de Ass cay durante los ltimos terremotos severos, en 1917-1918. Una fotografa sacada antes de esa fecha muestra que una esquina del campanario estaba rota casi al nivel de la tierra.'^" Despus de 1918 se reconstruy esta esquina hasta el nivel actual, y se restaur la capilla de la Tercera Orden. El interior de la iglesia franciscana de una sola nave, era de gran longitud y con su proporcionada altura, ofreca una imponente vista de un extremo u otro ( 122 ). El altar mayor habr sido tan bello como inusitado. Haba cuatro ventanas grandes

MONASTERIES
though it was not as large as of the others. What little is left of the architecture and its decorated surfaces (I26bc) shows
in Santiago even

many

delicacy than one finds in the arcades of other cloisters of the city. The twostoried arcades echo the quality of the church interior but with smaller proportions and a weakh of stucco ornamentation (129 b). Paintings were hung on the walls of the cloister, it is reported, giving an effect of considerable richness. But not the least of its features must have been the great fountain. In 1934 there was no evidence of this fountain since it was hidden under heaps of fallen masonry (l29c). But while making the plans of San Francisco the author noted that there was a depression in the center of the cloister and surmised that the fountain had been removed. In a search of Antigua only one fountain appeared to be of that approximate size, and at the same time unrelated to its current location. This fountain was in the Plaza of Merced, and at that time it lacked the central font. A statue of Las Casas replaced the original column and cup. The meas-

more refinement and

superpuestas verticalmente en el altar. Estas se abran a un apndice al bside (l 19 bd) que reciba luz de tres lados. En los varios niveles haba santuarios: uno para el Santsimo, y los otros para Nuestra Seora de la Inmaculada Concepcin, San Francisco de Ass y San Miguel. De una fuente detrs de esta torre, sala un chorro de agua. En el extremo occidental del templo (122 bd) estaba el coro grande amueblado con perfeccin, con asientos tallados por Juan de Aguirre quien hizo tambin las figuras para el altar mayor. Por encima del crucero haba una de las cpulas ms altas de la ciudad. La mayora de las salas grandes del convento estn ahora sin techo o slo techadas en parte. Una, el General de los Estudios (124 cd), est

ured drawing was made at this time and titled with a surmise that seemed reasonable (128 ). When Antigua was declared a National Monument in 1944, the cloister was completely cleared
of the debris of
(

126

).

It

one hundred and seventy-one years was a personal satisfaction to find the

foundation for the fountain of Merced Plaza. The outline of the basin was clear and exact. But there was more revealed than was anticipated. There were the surrounding pool and bridges (126 a) which either inspired, or imitated, the great fountain of the Mercedarian monastery ( 140-43 ). The Chapel of the Third Order was reconstructed, and in 1 8 1 7 the tomb of Hermano Pedro was placed in its present position ( 123 ). The rest of the church and monastery remained in ruin, the playground of children and the home of a few families, until Antigua was declared a National Monument. A caretaker was put in charge. No other construction, or attempt to use the ruins, occurred until 1960 when this vast colonial monument was assigned to the Franciscan Order. Their projected reconstruction has been the subject of much controversy. Protests were voiced from points far beyond the environs of Antigua. Despite the opposition of historians, architects, structural engineers and prominent individuis, the rebuilding of San Francisco Church, and probably the monastery, in reinforced concrete, is slowly proceeding.

enteramente cubierta. Cree Kubler que esta sala de bvedas de nervaduras se construy hacia 1575, fechndola casi ciento veinte y cinco aos antes de la fecha de construccin dada por Vzquez. Es verdad que tiene ese carcter, y nos gustara aceptar su opinin. Sin embargo, no se utilizaban bvedas en Santiago hasta mucho despus, y Vzquez viva en San Francisco cuando se construy esta sala, un poco antes de 1700. La portera tiene una parte de su cielo abovedado (125 b), y en esta sala se puede ver fragmentos de pinturas al fresco en colores (125 a), que se hicieron en la ltima parte del siglo XVII. Una parte del techo de medio can del refectorio muestra diseos en colores que casi se han borrado con el humo del fuego para cocinar de los intrusos que habitaban las ruinas. La bveda por encima de la escalera grande (129 d) cay por tercera y ltima vez, y slo una parte de la bveda de la inmensa cocina queda en pie (130 d). Se arruinaron por completo la mayor parte de las celdas y los dormitorios. La enfermera es slo un montn impresionante de restos de albailera, y no queda ms de la capilla de San Antonio de

Padua que

los muros exteriores (l30a)( 131 ). El claustro principal estaba entre los ms ador-

como muchos

nados de Santiago, aun cuando no era tan grande otros. Lo poco que queda de su

arquitectura y de sus superficies decoradas (126 be) muestra ms refinamiento y delicadeza que los que se encuentran en las arcadas de los otros claustros de la ciudad. Las dobles arcadas repiten la calidad del interior de la iglesia, pero con proporciones ms pequeas y gran riqueza de ornamentacin en estuco (129 b). Haba pinturas colgadas en los

muros del claustro, segn se relata, produciendo un efecto de gran riqueza. Pero su gran fuente debi de ser una de las cosas ms distintivas. En 1934 no se vea vestigio de esta fuente, puesto que estaba escondida por debajo de montones de
construcciones de albailera cadas (129 c). Pero mientras haca los planos de San Francisco, not el autor que exista una depresin en el centro del

LA MERCED
132-145

request for a
la

site for a

monastery of Nuestra

Seora de

Merced

in

Almolonga was made on

que se haba sacado la fuente. Buscando por Antigua, encontr una sola fuente
claustro y supuso

LOS MONASTERIOS
June
and the first friars arrived from Mxico later the same
29,
1536,"''*

of the

Order

que pareca ms o menos de


vez,

ese

tamao

y,

a la

year. According to thcir report to the Crown in 1741, royal permission was given in a decree of February 26, 1538/'" When the town was destroyed in 1541 their building was unfinishcd and imoccupied as the

fathers

were away on religious

missions.*"''

When

they did not imniediately abandon their original in Almolonga, they were not assigned a place in the new city. Bishop Marroqun intervened. however, and a generous citizen surrendered his site on the northern edge of Santiago."" The property was small, and as early as 1546 there was an appeal for enough additional land to finish the church. Again in 1548 land was requested to enlarge the temple."' This was built between 1548 and 1561. From then until 1717 the Mercedarians frequently changed. repaired and enlarged both the original church and monastery. But there is no record or indication that this sixteenth century church was rebuilt before 1717. At the time of its construction it would not have been a vaulled church. and its width inust have bccn

house

much narrowcr
roof.

to

have been spanned by a wood

I herefore, any assumption that the towers date from the sixteenth ccntiuy seems inconsistent with their later relationship to a church with

a nave

and

side aisles.

evidentemente sin relacin con su sitio actual. Estaba ella en la Plaza de la Merced, y le faltaba en aquella poca la taza central. Una estatua de Bartolom de Las Casas reemplazaba la coltmina y la taza originales. Se hizo entonces el dibujo acotado que se intitul con una conjetura que pareca razonable ( 128 ). Cuando se declar a la Antigua Monumento Nacional en 1944, se quit todo el ripio de ciento setenta y un aos del claustro ( 126 ), y fue una satisfaccin personal encontrar los cimientos de la ftiente que estaba en la Plaza de la Merced. La planta de la base del tazn de la fuente era clara y exacta. Pero se descubri ms de lo supuesto. Se vieron el estanque y los pasillos (126 a) que la rodeaban y que inspiraron o imitaron los constructores de la gran fuente del convento de la Merced ( 140-43V Se reconstruy la capilla de la Tercera Orden, y en 1817. la tumba del Hermano Pedro se coloc donde hoy se ve ( 123 ). Lo dems del templo y del convento qued en ruinas, convirtindose en un patio de recreo de los nios y hogar de unas cuantas familias hasta que se hizo de la Antigua Moniunento Nacional, quedando San Francisco bajo la custodia de un guardin. Desde aquel tiempo no se hizo otra construccin ni otra tentativa de servirse de las rtiinas hasta
1960, cuando este inmenso monumento colonial fue entregado a la Orden franciscana. La reconstruccin que se proyect ha sido tema muy controvertido, dando lugar a nuichas protestas de distintos pases, algunos nuiy lejanos de la .Antigua.

In 1687 it is recordcd by Pardo that the City granted an extensin of their property eastward by giving them four and one-half varas of the street that passed behind the altar of La Merced.'''' Their orchard and gardens then extended to the street of Santa Teresa on the east and north to that of Manchen. The extensin into the rea of the closcd street afforded room for an enlarged sanctuary, and a main altar which was gilded in 1704."'' The earth(]uake of 1717 did so nuich damage that repairs were very difficult, and a spccial report to the King, dated April 12, 1718, stated that the

tectos,

pesar de las objeciones de historiadores. ar(]uiingenieros estructurales c individuos eminentes, la reedificacin de la iglesia, y probable-

mente del convento franciscanos, con hormign armado, prosigue lentamente.

monks were cilher living in dangerous among the ruins or in straw huts, and

(uarters

LA MERCED
132-145
ini sitio destinado al monasde Nuestra Seora de las Mercedes en Almose hizo el 29 de junio de 1536,''" y los primeros religiosos de la Orden llegaron de Mxico ms tarde en aquel mismo ao. Segiin su informe al rey en 1741, se acord la licencia real en una cdula del 26 de febrero de 1538."" Cuando se destruy la ciudad, en 1541, estaba desocupado y sin terminar su edificio, puesto (ue los religiosos estaban afuera en misiones."' Como no abandonaron inmediatamente su casa primitiva en Almolonga, no se les seal un sitio en la nueva ciudad. El obispo Marroqun intervino, sin embargo, y im vecino generoso les cedi su sitio en "el lmite septentrional de Santiago. La propiedad era pecjuea, y en 1546 rogaron

that the

church was both uncomfortable and in danger under its thatched roof. This condition was lamented because the church was a popular one in the City and because it had housed for many years the venerated image of Nuestra Seora de la Merced, the patroness of the Capital.''"

La peticin para

terio

longa

The monastery probably was rebuilt first as this had been the provincial headquarters of the Mercedarians since 1561, and studies of Theology and Philosophy were conducted here."" A document of 1741 in the archives states that there were one hundred living in the monastery including eleven novices and sixteen lay brothers."" There would have been ampie time to have repaired and rebuilt their main building in the years between 1718 and 1741.
Actual construction of their

new temple did not

MONASTERIES
under way until 1749 Avhen Juan de Dios Estrada was put in cliarge as architect on the third of June. His appointment followed criticism that the preliminary work, that had been done after the ruined church was torn down, was poorly executed because of either the inexperience or lack of knowledge of the masons.'"' The rebuilding was further delayed by damage inflicted by the 1751 earthquake,"" and it must have proceeded very slowly. Unfortunately the Mercedarians lacked a chronicler like Vzquez, and a chronology of construction is not fully documented. Earlier descriptions of the fa^ade make it appear older than the body of the church by mentioning the niche over the door having a sculptured figure
get
of Nuestra Seora de la Merced.

que les dieran bastante terreno adicional para terminar su iglesia. Nuevamente en 1548 pidieron tierra para poder ensanchar su templo."'' Se edific
548 y 56 De aquella fecha hasta 1717, mercedarios cambiaron, repararon y ensancharon con frecuencia su iglesia y convento primitivos. Pero no hay relacin ni indicio de que se reconstruyera esta iglesia del siglo XVI antes de 1717. En la poca de su construccin probablemente no fue un templo abovedado, y tendra que haber sido mucho ms angosto para haber tenido techo de madera. Por eso, cualquier suposicin de que las torres eran del siglo XVI parece inconsistente con su relacin posterior con una iglesia de una nave central y naves laterales. Relata Pardo que en 1687, el Ayuntamiento les concedi una extensin de su solar hacia el este, dndoles cuatro varas y media de la calle que pasaba por detrs del altar de La Merced."* Luego se extendan su huerta y sus jardines a la calle de Santa Teresa al este, y a la del Manchen al norte. La extensin hecha en la calle que se haba cerrado, dio espacio para un presbiterio ms grande. y un altar mayor que se dor en 1704."' Los terremotos de 1717 causaron tantos daos que era sumamente difcil repararlos, y un informe especial al rey, fechado el 12 de abril de 1718, declar que los religiosos o vivan en habitaciones peligrosas, entre las ruinas, o en ranchos de paja, y que la iglesia era incmoda e insegura bajo su techo de paja. Esta condicin se lament porque la iglesia era muy popular, y a causa de haber sido el lugar donde desde haca muchos aos se veneraba la imagen de Nuestra Seora de las Mercedes, patrona de la capital. Es probable que se reconstruyera primero el convento puesto que haba sido el centro provincial ms importante de los mercedarios desde 1561,
ste entre
los
1 1
1
.

However,

new

fa^ade most probably retained this architectural and decorative feature. There are conflicting statements concerning the actual completion of the church. The documented date for the inauguration is given as October 10. 1767 by Pardo," but it may have been in use by 1760. The sturdy new church escaped damage in the July earthquake of 1773 that ruined most of the older buildings of Santiago, but in December there was serious damage. The monastery suffered most and was left in ruin in spite of its massive walls. In the middle of the ninteenth century it was used as a quarry to supply materials for the rebuilding of San Felipe de Jess church, but in the same period (1850-55) La Merced church was repaired and has served Antigua since that time. Some damage occurred in the 1917 earthquake but was quickly repaired. Again in 1942 cracks were opened in the dome and towers, but there

was no major damage, and repairs were completed by 1945. La Merced was not a competitor of Santo Domingo or San Francisco in size, wealth or architectural development during the first two centuries of Santiago's history. But the great church that the Mercedarians constructed in the last three decades before the destruction of the City was an impressive structure built to withstand earthquakes and to outlive all others. The fa(:ade (133 a) with its low and heavy proportions expresses strength, and from every angle the structure reflects the builder's consciousness of the hazard of earthquakes. The Windows were small in walls of great thickness, and these walls were buttressed on the north as well as the visible south wall. Still they dared to raise a dome of considerable proportions and architectural merit over the crossing of this church. It was strategically placed for its silhouette at the end of the street leading from the Royal Plaza. Sixteen large ceramic lions are distributed about

y se lean all teologa y filosofa."'

Un documento

de 1741 en el archivo relata que haba cien religiosos habitando el convento, incluyendo once
novicios y diecisis hermanos legos. "^ Habran tenido bastante tiempo para reparar y reconstruir su edificio principal, durante los aos (jue haban transcurrido entre 1718 y 1741. No se comenz la construccin efectiva de su templo nuevo sino hasta 1749, cuando se encarg de ella como arquitecto Juan de Dios Estrada, el
3 de junio. Su nombramiento fue provocado por que la obra preliminar, hecha despus de haber derrumbado el templo arruinado, se ejecut mal, o por falta de experiencia o de conocimientos de parte de los albailes."^ Los daos causados por los terremotos de 1751 atrasaron la reconstruccin,'" y probablemente prosigui muy lentamente. Desgraciadamente no tenan los mercedarios un cronista como Vzquez, y una cronologa de construccin completamente documen-

crticas

the base of the dome which is surmounted by an interesting lantern (145 ). The first impression of heaviness in the fa^ade

tada no existe.

LOS MONASTERIOS
nicely ofFsc by thc central rea which has two stories of superimposed columns to give it a modis

decoration which covers this is what gives this fa^ade its greatest distinction. The adornment of the second
est verticality.

The

central rea, howe\'cr,


is

story

examples of plaster work where this form of decoration was very popular and where there are many fine examples dating from the late seventeenth and

one of the

finest

(atauriqie) in a city

early eighteenth centuries.

The lower story Doric are covered with a spiral pattern of grapes that are mediocre, possibly because of unskilled repairs and frequent repainting. BiU the
columns (134
a)

second story lonic columns, the wall surfaces, and the recessed window are entirely covered with interesting and well-executed designs (136-37)- In contrast, the details of the bell towers are less pleasing, but their scale is in harmony with the massive buttresses, the deeply recessed windows beneath them, and the fact that their efect is gained from a distance as a part of the entire mass. The enriched central portion is secn and appreciated by those approaching the single large entrance. The church is set back a considerable distance

from the street and rests on a low platform. At the the temple fa^ade is the entrance to the monastery. Three arches are open to the covered porch, but the central arch was developed by the application of a Baroque form to give it considerable dignity ( 139 ). The twisted (Salomonic) columns are decorated, and the niche rea above the broken pcdiment retains the character of the church fa^ade. Fhe door from this porch to the vestibule (portera) is panelled and carved ( 138 ) and is one of the few doors of this scale rcmaining in Antigua. The cloister, like the church. is very heavy in both its construction and general proportions. The ceiling of the cloister walks has the appcarance of corbeling rather than the usual vaulting. The arches of the arcade ( Hl ) are without architectural character, but an efFort was made to overeme their severity by painting them with stylizcd
left of

floral

designs in color.

of the monastery was entirely

how much new construction following the 1717 earthcjuake. Some walls were evidently savcd and made heavier. One senses that more thought was given to the safe housing of its members than to beaiuifying their surroundings.
It is diiicult to

determine exactly

Descripciones anteriores de la fachada la hacen parecer ms antigua que el cuerpo de la iglesia, mencionando que el nicho por encima de la puerta tena una imagen tallada de Nuestra Seora de las Mercedes. En todo caso, es nuiy probable cjue una fachada nueva conservara esta forma arquitectnica y este detalle decorativo. Hay declaraciones contradictorias tocante a la terminacin efectiva del templo. La fecha documentada de la inauguracin fue dada por Pardo como el 10 de octubre de 1767,"' pero puede ser (jue ya se usara para 1760. La maciza iglesia nueva no se da durante el terremoto de julio de 1 773. cjue arruin la mayora de los edificios ms viejos de Santiago, pero en diciembre sufri estragos serios. Se da ms el convento (jue se qued en ruinas, a pesar de sus muros slidos. A mediados del siglo XIX. se usaba como cantera para surtir los materiales para la reconstruccin de la iglesia de San Felipe de Jess, pero en el mismo perodo (1850-55) se repar el templo de la Merced, y sta ha servido a la Antigua desde entonces. En 1917, el terremoto caus algunos daos, pero se restaur con presteza. De nuevo en 1942, se abrieron grietas en la cpula y en las torres, pero no ocurrieron perjuicios mayores, y se concluy la reparacin para 1945. La Merced no compiti con Santo Domingo ni con San Francisco en tamao, en riqueza ni en desarrollo ar(|Utectnico durante los dos primeros siglos de la historia de Santiago. Pero el gran templo que construyeron los mcrcedarios durante los ltimos tres decenios antes de la destruccin de la ciudad, era un edificio imponente construido para resistir los terremotos y que sobrevivi a todos los dems. La fachada (133 a) con sus proporciones bajas y macizas expresa gran fuerza, y desde cada ngulo la fbrica refleja la conciencia del alarife del peligro de terremotos. Eran pecjueas las ventanas en los nuuos de gran espesor, y tenan stos estribos en la pared septentrional y en la meridional, que era visible. Y no obstante, se atrevieron a alzar tma cpida de proporciones considerables y de bastante mrito ar(|uitectnico, por encima del crucero de esta iglesia. Esta se coloc estratgicamente para presentar una silueta interesante al trmino de la calle (ue vena de la Plaza Real. Alrededor de la base de la cpula, que tiene por encima una linterna interesante ( 145 ), hay distribuidos diecisis leones de cermica vidriada.
la fachada balanceada por la parte central, que tiene dos cuerpos de columnas sobrepuestas que le dan una modesta verticalidad. El ataurique que cubre esta rea central, sin embargo, es lo qtie le da a esta fachada su mayor distincin. La decoracin del segundo cuerpo es tmo de los mejores ejemplares de atauricjue en una ciudad en donde esta forma de ornamento era muy popiar y donde hay

Historians tell us that the monastery contained splendid rooms, including a notable library, great hall, oratory, refectory, infirmary and all the other needs of a major monastery. From the existing ruins, however, the plan seems very compact and
inadetjuate for one hundred members. It must be assumed that some adjacent buildings were re-

La primera impresin de pesadaz en

est bien

moved
is

in the nineteenth century. What remains and a very barren ruin of the main building

89

MONASTERIES
the fountain. The contrast of this elabrate and beautiful fountain with the stark arcades that surrounded it
at
as

one time must have been


it is

as

remarkable in 1773

today. In size this fountain exceeds all others still existing, and must be as grand as that

described by historians in the cloister of Santo

Domingo. It is eighty feet in diameter, and the central column and bowl are nearly twenty feet
high(141 ab). In 1934 the fountain was
(

still

in ruin
ani-

142

).

When

the measured drawing was made,


to sce
at

was possible mal had rested


it

where some sculptured

each of the four corners of the

). Not enough was visible, howwhether it was a single animal or whether it was seated or reclining, but feet and tail suggested that it was a lion. A number of pipes were also visible, two of which evidently were incorporatcd into the animal figure. These undoubtedly spouted water into the basin. The central bo^vl had eight grooves for water to fall into the same rea. The partial restoration of the

main basin (140

ever, to indicate

nuichos ejemplares finos que datan de la ltima XVII y los primeros aos del siglo XVIII. Las columnas dricas del cuerpo inferior (134 a) estn cubiertas de un diseo de uvas en espiral que son mediocres, posiblemente a causa de reparaciones inhbiles y pintura frecuente. Pero las columnas jnicas del segundo cuerpo, las superficies de los muros, y la ventana hundida, estn completamente cubiertas de dibujos interesantes y bien ejecutados ( 136-37). En contraste, los detalles de los campanarios son menos agradables, pero su escala armoniza con los contrafuertes macizos, las ventanas profundamente hundidas por debajo de ellos, y el hecho de que se obtiene su efecto desde una distancia como parte de la masa entera. La parte central profusamente adornada es vista y apreciada por los que se acercan a su nica y gran puerta.
parte del siglo

fountain in 1944 ( 143 ) did not attempt a reactivits flowing water, but it is not difficult to imagine its beauty. Original color was still visible in the ruined fountain. The exterior of the central basin was weathered to a very soft rose. The exterior form of the fountain almost filis the open space of the cloister. and in comparison to the round pool at San Francisco this one at La
ation of

La iglesia est situada a una distancia considerable de la calle y est asentada sobre una plataforma baja. la izquierda de la fachada del templo est la entrada al convento. Tres arcos estn abiertos al prtico cubierto, y se desarroll el arco central, aplicndole una forma barroca que

le da una considerable dignidad ( 139 ). Las columnas salomnicas estn decoradas, y el rea del nicho, por encima del frontn roto, guarda el

carcter de la fachada del templo. La puerta tallada que da acceso desde este prtico a la portera es de tableros ( 138 ), siendo una de las pocas

Merced

is

complex and elabrate. Here the bridges

to the central island radiate to the corners of the cloister in contrast to those of San Francisco which

are parallel to the sides. (l26a).

The eighteenth century plan of La Merced church folowed the precedents established by Santo Domingo, La Compaa de Jess and La Recoleccin monasteries in building a church with nave and side aisles. As previously mentioned it seems certain that their earlier temples were of the usual single nave common lo the sixteenth
century. Although the interior of their eighteenth century church was architecturally simple it had excellent proportions and great dignity ( 144 ). In July of 1773 it nuist have been very beautiful also,

puertas de esta escala que queda en la Antigua. El claustro, lo mismo que la iglesia, es muy pesado en su construccin y en sus proporciones generales. Los intrads de los corredores de los claustros tienen el aspecto de bvedas saledizas ms bien que de las usuales. Los arcos de la arquera ( 141 ) no tienen carcter arquitectnico, pero se hizo un esfuerzo para vencer su severidad, pintndolos con diseos de flores estilizadas en
colores.

because at that time

it

had many

fine altars

along

the side aisles, in the transepts and in the chancel. To get a composite pictme one must go to La Merced in Guatemala City where these altars have been preserved( 275-77). When the new Capital was established in the Valley of the Virgin shortly after the 1773 disaster. the Mercedarians built their new church to accommodate the altars which had graced the abandoned building in Santiago. These were undamaged and readily removed and reassembled where they are used at the present time. There was a very large choir over the first two bays at the western end of the church, where there

Es difcil saber exactamente qu partes del convento eran de construccin enteramente nueva despus de los terremotos de 1717. Evidentemente, se salvaron algunos muros y se hicieron ms gruesos. Uno tiene la sensacin que se pensaba ms en habitacin segura para sus miembros que en embellecimiento de su ambiente. Los historiadores relatan que contena el convento piezas esplndidas, incluyendo una biblioteca notable. Sala Magna, oratorio, refectorio, enfermera y todas las dems dependencias necesarias para un convento principal. Al estudiar las ruinas existentes, sin embargo, el plano parece muy compacto e inadecuado para vivienda de cien personas. Hay que presumir que se removieron unos edificios contiguos en el siglo XIX. Lo que queda, son las
ruinas sin adorno del edificio principal
fuente.

y la

El contraste de esta fuente hermosa y elaborada,

90

LOS MONASTERIOS
was a magnificent organ. This also was moved to New Guatemala (278 a). The similarity of the two church interiors is rather striking since various motifs of the one in Santiago were repeated in that
of

Guatemala

City.

arcadas severas que la rodeaban en una poca, debi de haber sido tan notable en 1773 como lo es hoy. En tamao, esta fuente supera a todas las otras que existen ahora, y debe de ser tan grandiosa como la del claustro de Santo Domingo,

con

las

LA compaa de jess
146-148

descrita por los historiadores. Su dimetro es de unos veintisiete metros, y la columna central y la
taza tienen

ima altura de un poco ms de


ab).

seis

In 1561 His Majesty denied the request of Bishop Marroqun for the establishment of a house of the Compaa de Jess in Santiago."- On January 4, 1580 the municipal government agreed to ask the Visitador General of the Compaa and the royal government, for the founding in Santiago of a Jesuit institution.''' On February 12, 1582 the municipal government, taking advantage of the presence of fathcrs of the Compaa de Jesiis in the City, asked them to found a house. and on .April 24th the coiuicil asked the royal government to pcrmit this foimdation.'*
Juarros says that Jcsuits visited Guatemala in 1582 to discuss the founding but that it was 1607 before two more fathers arrived for the purpose of establishing the Colegio de la Compaa de Jess.'"' A report to the King in 1740 gives the year 1607 as the founding date.'" Like the first three monastic orders. the Jcsuits lived for a time in modest huts and had only a small church.'" Their first formal church was inaugurated July 18, 1626."** Its construction was directed by Jos de Forres according to Pardo,'" but Chinchilla Aguilar attributes it to Francisco Fernndez de Fuentes.**" The latter is (uite probably correct since thcre is no other evidence of work by a Jos de Forres at this carly date. It was a quarter century latcr before the renowned architect

todava estaba en ruina la fuente ( 142 se hizo el dibujo acotado, era posible ver dnde haba estado algn animal esculpido en cada una de las cuatro esquinas del tazn principal de la fuente ( 140 ). No quedaba visible lo suficiente, sin embargo, para indicar si era un solo animal o si estaba sentado o yacente, pero unas patas y ma cola sugeran que era un len. Tambin eran visibles varias caeras, dos de las cuales se incorporaban evidentemente en las figtnas de los animales, .aqullas sin duda surtan de agua la pila. La taza central tena ocho salidas para que cayera agua a la misma parte. La restauracin parcial de esta fuente, en 1944 ( 143 ), no trat de darle la posibilidad de agua corriente, pero no es difcil imaginar su belleza. El color original se vea todava en la fuente arruinada. El exterior de la parte inferior haba llegado a ser con el tiempo de lui rosado nuiy suave. Casi llena el espacio abierto del claustro la forma exterior de la fuente, y comparado con el estanque redondo de San Francisco, ste de la Merced es complejo y elaborado. A(]u los pasillos a la parte central irradian a las esquinas del claustro, en contraste con los de San Francisco (ue son paralelos a los lados ( 126a ). El plano dieciochesco del templo de La Merced sigui el precedente establecido por los conventos
1

metros (14

En 1934. ). Cuando

by that ame bcgan

his carcer.

In 1622 the Rector of the Compaa prescnted to the Bishop a Papal bull permitting Jesuit schools lo confer various degrecs including that of doctor.**' In the same year the Bishop ordered the Papal brief put into effcct, and giving of dcgrees was aiuhorized by a royal decrec in 1625.**Classes were given in Philosophy, Theology, Grammar and Rhetoric, but degrees were not conferred at this time bccause Santo Foms started giving degrees the same year.**'' It was not until about 1690 that the Jesuit school of San Francisco de Borja was foinidcd, according to Juarros.**^

de Santo Domingo, La Compaa de Jess y La Recoleccin, en construir ima iglesia con ima nave principal y naves laterales. Como ya se ha mencionado, parece cierto que los templos anteriores eran de la acostumbrada sola nave que se sola construir en el siglo XVI. Aunc]ue el interior de su templo
era sencillo arquitectnicamente, proporciones excelentes y gran dignidad ( 144 ). En julio de 1773, debi ser tambin muy bello, porque entonces tena muchos suntuosos altares a lo largo de las naves laterales, en los brazos del crucero, y en el presbiterio. Para obtener ima idea completa, hay que ir al templo de la Merced en la capital actual, donde se han conservado estos altares (275-77). Cuando se estableci la nueva capital en el Valle de la Virgen un poco despus del desastre de 1773, los mercedarios construyeron su nueva iglesia para acomodar los altares que haban embellecido su edificio abandonado en Santiago. No se haban daado stos, y no era difcil trasladarlos y ensamblarlos de nuevo en el lugar donde actualmente se sirven de ellos. Haba un coro muy amplio por encima de los
tena

dieciochesco

Toward the end of the century the Jesuit church was completely rebuilt. and we find Jos de Forres in charge of the work as architect. He had completed the Cathedral and additions to the Episcopal Falace a few years previously and was at this same time working on the rebuilding of San Francisco. The magnificent new church of the Jesuits was dedicated December 5, 1698.^"' It was paid for

MONASTERIES
in grcat part

by inoney given in 1642 by Nicols

Justiniano
It

Chavarra.**''

dos primeros tramos, al extremo occidental de la iglesia, y all se hallaba un rgano magnfico. Se
traslad
ste

was one of the most colorlul and splendid

tambin

la

Nueva Guatemala

of the conventual churches of Santiago, and niost centrally located. It faced east on a spacious atrium

(278 a). La semejanza del interior de los dos templos es bastante impresionante, puesto que varios

only one block from the Royal Plaza. The fa^ade was decorated with colors on plaster, using red,

motivos arquitectnicos del de Santiago se repitieron en el de la nueva capital de Guatemala.

brown and black, which resulted an effect completely different from any other church in the city ( 147 ). The coupled columns
green, yello^v.
in

LA compaa de jess
En 1561 su Majestad deneg la solicitud del obispo Marroqun, tocante al establecimiento de los padres de la Compaa de Jess en Santiago.'^ El 4 de enero de 1580, el gobierno municipal acord pedir al visitador general de los Colegios de la Compaa, y a la Audiencia, la fundacin de una institucin jesuta en Santiago.''' El 12 de febrero de 1582, el Ayuntamiento, aprovechando la estancia de unos padres de la Compaa en la ciudad, les pidi fundar un Colegio, y el 24 de abril le rog a la Audiencia que permitiera esta
fundacin.^*

very similar to the composition that Jos de Forres used on the central portion of the Cathedral and also on the fa^ade of San Francisco, but otherwise the three farades are considerably different. It is the use of color on the columns, about the openings, the niches and even on the plain wall surfaces that give this church special distinction. The interior was both large and rnate (148 ). It had a nave and side aisles, a large choir over the east entrance, a spacious sanctuary and a number of rich side altars. The pilasters, arches and pendentives of the interior were also decorated with patterns of color (148 be). Because of its newness the church suffered less damage in the 1717 earthcjuake than the monastery which occupied the remainder of the city block.**' Although the original building was finished about 1700, rebuilding and expansin continued after the earthcjuakes of 1717**** and 1751, and the structure was not considered entirely complete until 1767. After the 1751 earthquake, the Jesuits asked for four thousand pesos of tax money to assist in repairs,**" and two years later the oficial in charge of city funds was authorized to replace the cobble paving in the atrium of their church with flagstones."" The two story building that covered a major portion of the city block north of the church served as a 'house of exercises' and residence. Its magnitude may be judged by the fact that it contained three large and one small patio. A report to the King in 1740 stated that there were only eleven monks in their house, and that these included no less than five professors and an elementary teacher.''^ Juarros wrote that in 1767 twelve
is

and the distribution

of niches

monks were living in residence."- There seems to be no controversy about these figures, but in comparison with the large numbers of other orders in Santiago one is forced to question statistics. In these same years La Merced had approximately one hundred living in its monastery, and San Francisco had even more. The number was supposed to be even greater in Santo Domingo since it had about fifty as early as 1579. To occupy and maintain a building of this size the Jesuits must have had a very large corps of servants or lay brothers. The four cloisters could have housed as many as any other monastery in the City. There

Juarros escribi que en 1582 visitaron los jesuGuatemala para discutir la organizacin, pero que no fue sino hasta 1607 que llegaron dos religiosos ms con el propsito de fundar el Colegio de la Compaa de Jess. Un informe al rey en 1740, da el ao de 1607 como la fecha de la fundacin.'" Lo mismo que las tres primeras rdenes monsticas, por un tiempo habitaron los jesutas chozas modestas y tenan slo una iglesia pequea.^' El 18 de julio de 1626 se inaugur su primer templo formal."** Fue dirigida su construccin por Jos de Forres, segn Fardo, ^" pero Chinchilla Aguilar la atribuye a Francisco Fernndez de Fuentes.^" Es muy probable que tenga razn este autor, puesto que no hay otra evidencia de obras de ningn Jos de Forres en aquel entonces. Un cuarto de siglo ms tarde es cuando el renombrado arquitecto de este nombre inici su carrera. En 1622, el rector de la Compaa present al obispo un breve librado por su Santidad que permita que en los centros de estudios de los jesutas (a cierta distancia de las universidades) se pudieran otorgar grados, inclusive el doctorado.**^ El mismo ao mand el obispo que se cumpliera este breve del Fapa, y una cdula real de 1625 autoriz el conferir grados."- Se lean filosofa, teologa, gramtica y retrica, pero no se dieron grados en aquella poca, porque empez, a conferirlos el Colegio de Santo Toms el mismo ao.*'"' Segn Juarros, fue hacia 1690 cuando el colegio jesuta de San Francisco de Borja se fund.**
tas
''^

Hacia

fines del siglo, el

templo jesuta

se recons-

truy por completo, y encontramos a Jos de Forres encargado de la obra como arquitecto.

92

LOS MONASTERIOS
seems to be no record of the number of students that may have been housed in this building. Supposedly the school of San Francisco de Borja occupied a building across the street, immediately south of their church. The fragmentary descriptions that are given of the monastery, or 'house of exercises', list the usual important units library, assembly, administration, refectory, classrooms, and so forth. These very ampie rooms were on the ground floor. There also seems to be reason to say that each Jesuit had a splendid apartment in which he was surrounded by all the comforts allowed him, and where he could dcvote himself to specialized studies. Among this small number of religious scholars one of the most erudite was Raphael Landvar who was born in Santiago in 173 i."'' He distinguished himself as a very youthful student and became the notcd poet of "Rusticatio Mexicana." Expelled from Santiago with his fellow Jesuits. he died in Bologna, Italy in 1793.''* Early in 1767 a royal decree expelled the Jesuits from all the realms of Spain, and the local group was notified of this action on June 16th. Early in the morning of July Ist the fathers of La Compaa de Jess departed, leaving their property in charge of a connnittec under the Archbishop.''"' Final disposition of the assets and funds of the Ordcr was not fully completed by 1773. Various suggestions were made regarding the possible use of the monastery building for civil or governmental purposes, such as the administration of the tobceo monopoly. The idea of ceding the property to the congregation of San Felipe Neri of the Escuela de Cristo was also advancecl. The church was destroyed in 1773, but the monastery building survived the earthquake and still stands. In 1865 the building was used as a textile factory.'"' In this century shops have been opened to the street, and some rooms used by the municipal government, but the major portion, including all of the cloisters, interior rooms. walled atrium, and even the interior of the church ruins are used as the Public Market of Antigua. Because of the enclosure and roofing of the atrium. it is extremely diflicult to appreciale what remains of the elabrate fa^ade or to pliotograph it ade-

y vuias adiciones al palacio arzobispal unos cuantos aos antes, y en ese tiempo trabajaba en la reconstrticcin de San Francisco. Este nuevo magnfico templo de la Compaa de Jess se dedic el 5 de diciembre de 1698."' Lo pagaron en parte con dinero obsequiado en 1642 por Nicols Justiniano Chavarra.*"' Era una de las ms vistosas y esplndidas de las iglesias conventuales de Santiago y la ms cntrica. Daba al oriente a su propio atrio amplio y no distaba ms qtie una manzana de la Plaza Real. Estaba adornada la fachada en colores aplicados sobre el estuco, usndose el rojo. \'erde, amarillo, pardo y negro, lo cual le dio un aspecto completamente distinto de cualquier otro templo de la citidad Las columnas pareadas y la distribucin ( 147 ).
la catedral,

Haba terminado

de hornacinas
dral y

es

muy

semejante

que emple Porres en

tambin en la pero por otra parte, las tres fachadas difieren bastante entre s. Es el uso de colores en las colinnnas, alrededor de las aberturas, los nichos y aun en las superficies lisas de los muros, lo que le da a esta iglesia su distincin especial. Era a la vez grande y muy adornado el interior ( 148 ). Tena tres naves, tni coro grande sobre la entrada oriental,

composicin de la catefachada de San Francisco,


a la
la parte central

im

ricos.

Las

presbiterio amplio y varios altares laterales pilastras, los arcos y las pechinas del

quately.

The
some

north and west exterior walls still retain of the architectural character of the monas-

tery (148 e).

SAN AGUSTN
149-151

Although the Augustinians were among the first three Mendicant Orders in Mxico early in the
sixteenth century, the first friar to visit Santiago carne in 1610."' He returned to Mxico to get the

tambin con dibujos en colores ( 148 be). Por ser nuevo, sufri el templo menos daos en los terremotos de 1717 que las otras instalaciones que ocupaban lo cjue (uedaba de la manzana.'*' Aunque el edificio original se termin hacia 1700, reconstrucciones y ensanchamientos continuaron despus de los terremotos de 1717**'' y 1751, y no se consider completamente terminada la fbrica hasta 1767. Despus de los terremotos de 1751, pidieron los jesutas cuatro mil pesos de los fondos fiscales para ayudarles en la reparacin,**" y dos aos ms tarde, el mayordomo de los propios de la ciudad fue autorizado a stistituir el empedrado del atrio de su templo por losas."" El edificio de dos pisos que cubri la mayor parte de la manzana al norte del templo, sirvi de residencia y de casa de ejercicios. Se puede juzgar su magnitud por el hecho de haber contenido tres patios grandes y tnio pequeo. Un informe enviado al rey en 1740. declar que no se encontraban ms de once religiosos en su residencia y entre stos haba nada menos que cinco catedrticos y un maestro de escuela elemental."' Escribi Juarros que en 1767 doce religiosos habitaban all."- No parece haber duda tocante a estos nmeros, pero comparado con el nmero considerable de otras rdenes en Santiago, hay que dudar de la estainterior estaban decorados

Durante estos mismos aos, La Merced tena unos cien religiosos que habitaban su convento, y en San Francisco vivan aun ms. Se
dstica.

93

MONASTERIES
approval of the King and the parent house of the Order for a monastery. Upon his return lo Guatemala he asked perinission of the local aiithorities. The Mayor advised against such a foundation on

July 21, 161 1."** It was considered iinwise to start a fifth monastery which woid be diFicidt for the community to siipport. However, a wealthy patrn
ofFered a large sum of money to the friars, City granted the necessary approval.""

and the
in San-

Remesal
tiago in the

says that only


first

two

friars

were

years.

They

lived for a time in a

house near San Francisco Monastery that had been purchased by their patrn, but after some controversy they moved to another location which was
small and unhealthful. A new- prior, accompanied by ten brothers, arrived from Mxico in 1615. They acquired another property two blocks west of the Palace of the Captains General on the 3rd of August 1615. This building had been unoccupied since it was vacated by the ninis of Santa Catalina Mrtir who had moved to their perma-

nent new convent near La Merced a little over two years previously.^"" Development of the property proceeded slowly during the first half of the seventeenth century. In 1637 Juan Pascual, a free mulatto architect, submitted a plan for the church and contracted to build it.^"* The date of dedication is given as January 28, 1657.^"- Juan Pascual is also credited with the construction of the small plaza fountain."" This no longer exists. The church had a single nave of considerable length, and was vaidted throughout. Innnediately forward of the sanctuary there was a modestly high dome which did not fall in 1773 but collapsed in December of 1917."" Records in the archives, however, show that the church was badly damaged in 1751, and one document authorized lowering the walls of the church above the windows."'"' The interior is said to have had splendid altars to display numerous fine images. The church also possessed some magnificent paintings of the grcat artist, Antonio de Montfar, who lived in the crner house opposite the church. In addition to the main door there was an entrance from the Street on the south, and opposite it a large door opening to the monastery. The fa(;ade faced east onto a very small atriinn (149 a). It was severely plain except for five sculptures in rather large niches, and a window over the door,which lighted the choir. The three stories of Doric cokunns have the simplicity and restraint of early Italian Renaissance. The bell tower at the right of the fa(:ade is very low and heavy, which may account for the fact that it has withstood all earthquakes. In fact the entire church stands today more nearly intact than any other dating from the seventeenth century. Until recent years it has served many uses, and before Antigua was de"^''

supone un nmero todava ms grande en Santo Domingo puesto que tena unos cincuenta casi dos siglos antes, en 1579. Para ocupar y mantener un edificio de este tamao, debieron de haber tenido los jesutas un grupo muy grande de criados o de hermanos legos. Los cuatro claustros habran podido servir de morada a tantos como cualquier otro convento de la ciudad. No parece haber datos sobre el nmero de estudiantes que habitaban en esta fbrica. Se cree que el Colegio de San Francisco de Borja ocup un edificio inmediatamente al sur y enfrente de la iglesia. Las descripciones fragmentarias que se hallan del convento o 'casa de ejercicios', dan las acostumbradas piezas importantes biblioteca, General, administracin, refectorio, aulas, etc. Estos cuartos muy amplios se encontraban en el piso bajo. Parece tambin que se puede decir con razn que cada jesuta tena un apartamento esplndido en que estaba rodeado de todas las comodidades que le permitan las constituciones de la Orden, y donde poda dedicarse a sus estudios especializados. Entre este nmero pequeo de letrados religiosos, uno de los ms eruditos fue Rafael Landvar, quien naci en Santiago, en 1731."'' Se distingui cuando era estudiante muy joven y fue ms tarde el famoso poeta autor de Rusticatio Mexicana. Expulsado de Santiago con sus compaeros jesutas, muri en Bolonia, Italia, en 1793."* En marzo de 1767 se emiti una cdula real que expuls a los jesutas de todas las tierras de Espaa, y se les notific de esta accin a los jesutas de Santiago, el 16 de junio. Muy temprano por la maana del primero de julio, los religiosos de la Compaa de Jess salieron dejando sus bienes encargados a una comisin dependiente del arzobispo."' En 1773 no se haba dispuesto todava del caudal de la Orden. Se hicieron varias sugestiones tocante al uso posible del edificio del convento para fines civiles o gubernativos, tal como el estanco del tabaco. Se sugiri tambin cederlo a la congregacin de San Felipe Neri de la Escuela de Cristo. En 1773 se destruy la iglesia, pero resisti el edificio del convento (jue todava queda. En 1865 se serva de l para fbrica de tejidos."" En el siglo actual se han abierto tiendas a la calle, y algunas piezas son usadas por el gobierno municipal, pero la mayor parte, incluyendo todos los claustros, los cuartos interiores del piso bajo, el atrio amurallado y aun el interior de la iglesia arruinada, sirven como mercado pblico de la Antigua. Por estar encerrado y techado el atrio, es sumamente difcil apreciar lo que queda de la primorosa fachada o de
adecuadamente. Las murallas exteriores, septentrional y occidental, conservan todava algo del carcter arquitectnico del convento (I48e).
fotografiarla

94

LOS MONASTERIOS
clared a National

Monument

in

1944,

woodworking shop where ox carts were inade. The church and monastery occupied the entire

was a and wheels


it

SAN AGUSTN
149-151

Aunque

estuviei-on los agustinos entre las tixs

eastern side of an oversized city block. To the west there were gardens and an orchard extending all the way to the wide Alameda of Santa Luca. The monastery has been described as having a large cloister surrounded by an arcade of two stories. As the plan shows ( 151 ) the building is almost completely in ruin. The arcades are gone, and only the main walls are partially standing. After the 1751 earthjuake the Augustinians were in great necd of financial help. and there were recommendations according to existing docuthat this monastery should be abandoned ments because they were without sufficient income.'"" But one must assume from the prcsent condition of the church that their sittiation was probably better than that of somc of the other Orders.

It is

possiblc that the monastery was left in a

more ruinous state than the church after 1773 because the Augustinians were the first to movc to the new capital. However, in this building we have anothcr examplc of man's avarice doing more damage than carth(|uakes. In 19.38 whcn the ruin was measured for the accompanying plan (151 ). the former cloister was used as a stable yard for oxen, and the walls were still being c|uarried for their stone. All but two of the stone piers of the arcades, with their Tuscan capitals, had been sold. Stone door frames, including part of the main
entrance, were removed after that date. Anyonc who wanted either rubble or dressed stone could

purchase

it

from

this ruin.

primeras rdenes mendicantes en Mxico, a principios del siglo XVI, el primer fraile agustino que visit Santiago lleg en 1610."' Luego volvi a Mxico para obtener la aprobacin del rey y del Capttdo Provincial del Dtxlcsimo Nombre de Jess, para erigir un convento. Cuando regres a Guatemala pidi el permiso de las autoridades locales. El alcalde aconsej c|ue no se lo concedieran, el 21 de julio de 1611.''** Se crea inconveniente fundar un quinto convento que sostuviera con dificultad el vecindario. Sin embargo, un benefactor adinerado ofreci una suma considerable de dinero a los religiosos, y el Ayuntamiento otorg la licencia necesaria."'' Escribe Remesal que durante los primeros aos no haba ms que dos religiosos en la ciudad. Por un tiempo habitaron una casa cerca del convento de San Francisco que su patrocinador haba comprado, pero desptis de unas disputas se trasladaron a otro sitio (pie era pequeo y malsano. En 1615 lleg de Mxico un nuevo prior acompaado de diez religiosos. Entonces se instalaron en otra propiedad a dos manzanas al oeste del Palacio de los Capitanes Generales, el da 3 de agosto de 1615. Haba estado desocupado este edificio desde que lo dejaron las monjas de Santa Catalina Mrtir, quienes se haban trasladado a su nuevo monasterio permanente, cerca de la Merced, poco ms de dos aos antes. ^"" El desarrollo de la propiedad se hizo con lentitud durante la primera mitad del siglo XVII. En
1637. Juan Pascual, un nuilato libre que era arquitecto, present un plano para la iglesia y contrat su construccin.^"' Se da el 28 de enero de 1657 como la fecha de su dedicacin.'"- Se atribuye

SAN JUAN DE DIOS MONASTERY AND HOSPITALS


152-154

San Juan de Dios was the sixth monastery cstabin Santiago, but its function was different from those which camc earlier. Foundcd in 1636,""' the brothers of St. John of God took o\er the operation of the Royal Hospital of St. James which was built by Bishop Marrocpu'n in 1,5,53.'"" The King had accepted the patronage of this hospital on November ^9, 1559 and designated an annual sum toward its maintenance."" It servcd the Spaniards and creles only. At the time that it passcd to the direction of San Juan de Dios it was small and inade(|uatc.
lished

Juan Pascual, tambin, la construccin de la peqtiea fuente del atrio, (jue ya no existe.'"'' Tena el templo ma sola nave de bastante longitud, y estaba enteramente abovedado. Haba ima ctipula modestamente alia inmediatamente delante del presbiterio, la cual no cay a tierra en 1773, pero diciembre de 1917.'"' No obstante, s cay en documentos en el archivo nuiestran (pie se da severamente la iglesia en 1751, y uno de los documentos autoriz el bajar los muros del templo hasta la altura de las ventanas.'"' Se dice que tena el interior altares esplndidos para lucir ntnnerosas imgenes primorosas. Posea el templo tambin unas jiinturas magnficas del
a

The limitations and rules set forlh for the brothers of San Juan de Dios in a royal edict of September 26, 1654 were very specific. There could be no more brothers than iiecessary for the care of the sick. with one or two extra in case of the death or illness of one of them. Iheir number

Antonio de Montfar, quien viva en de escpiina enfrente del templo.'"" Adems de la puerta principal, haba una entrada con acceso desde la calle en el lado sur, y frente a ella, una grande que comunicaba al convento. La fachada estaba orientada al este y daba a un
gran
artista.
la casa

95

MONASTERIES
to be detcnnined by civil authorities according to needs. alins, nuniber o cases, ct cetera. One or two ot the number could be priests to say mass, adniinister sacraments, and supervise the quantity and quality of the food in the hospital. They were not to have a nionastery capable of giving habits to those who niight ^vish to join. They were subject to inspection by civil authorities, recjuired to give accounts of income every year or oftener, and were cautioned to remember that they were not owners but were there to adniinister to the ill, that they were not perniitted to change buildings, or to build a church, cells, or cloisters for themselves. They were to malee only those repairs or constructions suited to a hospital and dwelling for the brothers, and this only after consultation with the governor and other civil authorities. They were allowed to take from income or alms only what was necessary for their food and clothing. Their numbers should be decreased, or increased, by exchanges with other houses in the New World or Spain."' The modest church, or chapel, of the hospital was inaugurated in 1647, and after being badly damaged in 1651 was completely reconstructed with a barrel vault.^'Even before the Hospital of St. James was founded the Dominicans had becn interested in giving medical aid to the Indians and, according to Juarros, had established a small hospital for Indians in the Candelaria district.^''' This was later transferred to a site near the monastery. So many Indians came to this hospital that it lacked space and funds to carry on, and the King granted financial aid in 1559."^ Both the Bishop and the King tried to unite the two hospitals, but the Indians refuscd to be trcated in the same building with the Spaniards.""' The Hospital of the Indians, San Alejo, ho^vever, was placed imder the direction of San Juan de Dios in 1667.'"' The unin of San Alejo with the Royal Hospital of St. James was finally accomplished by a royal edict in 1685."'

was

atrio

sencilla

(149 a). Era severamente con excepcin de las cinco figuras esculpidas en nichos bastante grandes, y una ventana por encima de la puerta, que alumbraba el coro. Los tres cuerpos de columnas dricas tienen la sencillez y la mesura del renacimiento italiano primitivo. El campanario, a la derecha de la

sumamente pequeo

fachada, es muy bajo y pesado, lo cual explica tal vez su resistencia a todos los terremotos. En realidad, el templo entero queda hoy ms intacto que ningn otro del siglo XVII. Hasta hace muy pocos aos, ha servido de muchas maneras, y antes de que se declarara a la Antigua Monumento Nacional en 1944, fue un taller de carpintera donde se hacan ruedas y carretas de bueyes. La iglesia y el convento ocuparon el lado oriental entero de una manzana ms grande que lo acostumbrado. Al oeste haba jardines y una huerta que se extendan hasta la ancha Alameda de Santa Luca. Se ha descrito el convento como poseedor de un claustro grande rodeado de una arquera de dos pisos. Como se ve en el plano ( 151 ) est ahora
casi

enteramente arruinado

el edificio.

Han

desa-

parecido

las arcadas, y slo una parte de los muros principales queda en pie. Despus de los terremotos de 1751, les haca gran falta a los agustinos

ayuda econmica, y hubo recomendaciones segiin documentos existentes de que se deba abandonar este convento por no tener rentas suficientes.'"' Pero hay que presumir del estado actual del templo que probablemente era mejor su situacin que la de algunas otras rdenes. Es posible que dejasen el convento en un estado ms ruinoso (}ue el templo, despus de 1773, porque fueron los agustinos los primeros que se trasladaron a la nueva capital. De todos modos, en este edificio tenemos otro ejemplo de haber hecho la avaricia del hombre ms dao que los terremotos. En 1938, cuando se midi la ruina para hacer el plano que se presenta aqu, se usaba el
antiguo claustro como corral para bueyes, y todava se sacaba piedra de los muros como si fuera cantera. Slo dos de los pilares de las arcadas con sus capiteles toscanos no se haban vendido. Marcos de piedra de las puertas, inclusive una parte de la entrada principal, se quitaron despus de aquella fecha. Cualquiera que quisiera manipostera o piedra tallada poda comprarlas de esta
ruina.

By

this

time the latter hospital was commonly

known

as San Juan de Dios. Additional houses and property were purchased adjacent to the original site to allow expansin. The Indians were housed in a seprate ward, and other facilities were improved. But documents in the archives show that San Juan de Dios had only twenty-four beds
''**

in 1687
to

when the City was asked construct new buildings."''


hospital,

for financial aid

This

which faced the Street of Con-

cepcin in the third block east of the Royal Plaza, was destined to expand rapidly after this date. Eventually it covered the entire over-sized block with two great patios and two smaller ones, long
corridors,

SAN JUAN DE DIOS, CONVENTO Y HOSPITALES


152-154

many ampie wards

for the

ill,

and the

necessary dependencies

in addition to a chapel

Fue San Juan de Dios la sexta casa de religiosos establecida en Santiago, pero fue su funcin distinta de la de los monasterios (jue le antecedieron.

and quarters for the brothers. Much of the building was of two storics, and it is said that there

Fundada en
de Dios
se

1636,""' los Hermanos de San Juan encargaron del manejo del Hospital

LOS MON.\STERIOS
were
six fountains

and an abundance of water.

of 1773 destroyed this great but inany of its walls are still standing in ruin while others have been altered and incorporated by tuentieth century owners to meet resiedifice,

The earthquake

grow

and business needs. Coffee and citrus trees in the niidst of crumbling walls in the northof the ruins. There is very little reportion ern maining visible, except massive walls, to identify it either as a nionastery or hospital.
dencial

HOSPITAL OF SAN PEDRO APSTOL


152-153

Even before the unin of the Royal Hospital of Santiago and San Alejo was made, another institution was planned to serve the clergy, and a portion of the cathedral tithes were designated for this purposc. However. because the amount
was too small to purchase a site, this money was distributed as alnis until in 1646 the Bishop ended that praclice, and a site with houses was purchased.
Construction was delayed first because the Bishop decreed the resuinption of the distribution of the alms during an epidemic which occurred. and then because of the death of this bishop and of his successor-elect.'-" Finally, on November 3, 1654 the work was bcgun on the hospital building.'-' This was ready for its first patients in May 1663. Chinchilla Aguilar says that Juan Pascual niade the plan after 1653 and worked on this hospital which was called San Pedro Apstol. The work was far along before his death.'" This was the sanie free inulatto architect who designed and built the church of the Augustinians. Jos de Forres coinpleted the hospital after Juan Pascual's death, and is said to have built the church of San

Real de Santiago que fue construido por el ilustre obispo Marroqun en 1553.'"'' El rey haba aceptado el patronato de este hospital, el 29 de noviembre de 1559. y dio una suma anual para ayudar a su mantenimiento.^'" Slo serva a los espaoles y a los criollos. En la poca en que pas a la direccin de los religiosos de San Juan de Dios, era pequeo e inadecuado. Las limitaciones y las reglas para los Hermanos de San Juan de Dios, enunciadas en una cdula real del 26 de septiembre de 1654, eran muy especficas. Slo se poda tener los hermanos necesarios para atender a los enfermos, con uno o dos ms por si acaso enfermara o muriera uno de ellos. Su nmero deba ser determinado por las autoridades civiles, segiin las necesidades, limosnas, nmero de enfermos, etc. Uno o dos de ellos podan ser sacerdotes para decir misa, dar los sacramentos, y vigilar la cantidad y la calidad de las comidas del hospital. No podan tener convento

que otorgara hbitos


religiosos.

a los

que quisieran hacerse

Estaban sujetos a la inspeccin de las autoridades civiles, y se les exigi hacer cuentas de sus rentas todos los aos o ms a menudo; y se les advirti que no se olvidaran de que no eran dueos, sino cjue estaban all para atender a los enfermos, que no se les permitiera cambiar los edificios, ni hacer construir templo ni celdas, ni claustros para s. Slo haban de hacer reparos o fbricas convenientes para un hospital y para vivienda de los hermanos, y aiui stos no se haban de hacer sin consultar con el gobernante y los dems funcionarios civiles. Se les permiti tomar de las rentas o de las limosnas slo lo necesario para su alimentacin y su ropa. Se deba disminuir o aumentar su ni'imero por intercambios con otros conventos de la Orden, en Espaa o en
el

Pedro
used
as

Apstol.'-''

A room

in

the

hospital .was

Nuevo Mundo."'

an oratory until the church could be constructed.'-' The cornerstone was laid in November of 1662.'-' It was this church which scrved as an intcrim Cathedral during the years 1669-80 while the new Cathedral was imder construction.'-'' Both this hospital and its church were badly daniaged in 1717 and reniained unrepaircd
in 1719.'-'

worked on San expanded. Those listed, in addition to Jos de Forres, were Diego de Forres and Diego de Medina (1721), Diego de Forres (1730), and Juan de Dios Estrada (1739), who had also built part of San Juan de Dios hospital.'-** The Hospital of San Pedro was placed under the direction of San Juan de Dios later, and after 1773 this was the only hospital that was usable for all of the citizens who remained in the ruined
Several architects either bid or
as
it

La modesta iglesia o capilla del hospital se inaugur en 1647, y despus de haber sido severamente daada en 1651. fue completamente reconstruida con bveda de medio can. "Aun antes de la fundacin del Hospital de Santiago, los dominicos se haban interesado en dar servicios mdicos a los indios y, segn Juarros, haban establecido un pecjueo hospital para indgenas en el barrio de la Candelaria.'" Este se
traslad ms tarde a tm sitio cerca del convento. Acudieron tantos indgenas a este hospital que fal-

Pedro hospital

taban lugar y fondos para continuar, y el rey concedi ayuda econmica en 1559."* Sti Majestad y el obispo se esforzaron para unir los dos hospitales, pero se negaron los indgenas a ser atendidos en el
los espaoles.'"' De todos mohospital de los indios, San Alejo, bajo la direccin de San Juan de Dios, en 1667.""

mismo

edificio

que

dos, se

puso

el

city men, women and children. The brothers of San Jtian de Dios continued to maintain it until

1865 at which time Capuchin nuns took

it

over

fin, se efectu la unin de San Alejo con el Hospital Real de Santiago por medio de una cdula real en 1685."' Para esta fecha, ya se 11a-

For

97

MONASTERIES
and operated
it

until 1869. Since then, for ncarly

a century, the Sisters of Charity of the Congregation of Saint Vincent of Paul have ministered to

the ill in this three hundred year od hospital which occupies an entire city block and contines
to serve all the inhabitants of Antigua.

The church of San Pedro was among those reported ruined in 1773 and according to known records remained unroofed until the year 1869 when it was rebuilt. This was the same year that the Sisters of Charity carne to service this conimunity hospital. The farades of both the church and the hospital entrance may have been altered in detail at this date. The applied stucco work is not in character with the eighteenth century churches, but the basic forms are typical, and it seems probable that there were no structural changes ( 152 ).
At the rear of the church there is one of the most interesting Baroque doorways of Santiago (l53b). The coupled Salomonic (twisted) columns of both stories spiral in opposite directions. This door may have been the entrance to the room of the hospital which was used as an oratory during
the construction of the original church. Certainly its character is that of the period when the hospital was founded. The upper columns frame a niche containing a statue of the Assumption in polychromed stucco. A coat-of-arms of Castile and Len, carved in stone, is inserted in the broken

este hospital el de San Juan de Dios. Se compraron ms casas y solares contiguos al hospital primitivo para hacer posible su ensanchamiento."** Se instal a los indgenas en sala aparte, y se mejoraron otras comodidades. Pero documentos de los archivos muestran que tena San Juan de Dios slo veinticuatro camas en 1687, cuando se le pidi al Ayuntamiento ayuda econmica para construir edificios nuevos."" Este hospital, que daba a la Calle de la Concepcin en la tercera manzana al este de la Plaza

maba comnmente

Real, haba de ensancharse rpidamente despus de esa fecha. Con el tiempo absorbi toda la manzanade tamao mayor que las corrientes con dos patios de grandes dimensiones y otros dos ms pequeos, corredores largos, muchas salas amplias para los enfermos, y las dependencias necesarias, adems de una capilla y habitaciones para los religiosos. Gran parte del edificio era de dos pisos, y se dice que haba seis fuentes y abundancia de

agua.

pediment
to

(153 a).

Los terremotos de 1773 destruyeron este gran pero todava estn en pie muchos de sus muros arruinados, y otros han sido cambiados e incorporados por propietarios del siglo XX, para adaptarlos a necesidades residenciales y comerciales. Crecen cafetos y naranjos en medio de muros derruidos, en la parte septentrional de las ruinas. Ya queda muy poco visible, con excepcin de muros macizos que permiten identificarlo como convento o como hospital.
edificio,

of San Juan de Dios was transferred San Pedro after 1773, but in recent years it was once more changed to Hermano Pedro, in memory of the founder of the Hospital of Beln, Pedro de Betancoiut.

The ame

EL HOSPITAL DE SAN PEDRO APSTOL


152-153

Aun

antes de

que

se hiciera la
el

HOSPITAL OF SAN LZARO


154

pital

Real de Santiago con

unin del Hosde San Alejo, se

In 1634

it

became evident

that

an infirmary and

a place of detention for lepers should be provided. large site, with ampie land for gardens and

orchard, was selected west of the city cise to the Guacalate (Magdalena) River, and the hospital

and church

of San Lzaro

were begun

in 1638.'-"

brothers of San Juan de Dios were assigned the administration of this institution on February 3, 1640."" These buildings, which probably were hastily constructed, were destroyed by the earthquakes of 1681 and 1717."' In 1720, the hermitage of Our Lady of Guadalupe, which was begun in 1709, ceded its property to the hospital of San Lzaro."- This site was at the western end of a Street from the Palace of the Captains General

The

and the Royal Plaza. The church and hospital were rebuilt on this site between 1722 and 1734.'''^ In the meantime the patients were evidently scattered because an

proyect otra institucin para servir a los clrigos, y se design una parte de los diezmos de la catedral para este propsito. Pero como la cantidad era demasiado pequea para comprar un sitio, se distribuy este dinero como limosnas, hasta que. en 1646, el obispo puso fin a esa costumbre y se compraron un sitio y casas. Se retras la construccin, primero porque mand el obispo reanudar la distribucin de limosnas durante una epidemia, y luego a causa de la muerte de ese obispo y del que haba de sucederle.^-" Por fin, el 3 de noviembre de 1654 se inici la obra del edificio para el hospital.^-' Estaba listo para sus primeros pacientes en mayo de 1663. Dice Chinchilla Aguilar que traz Juan Pascual el plano despus de 1653 y que trabaj en este hospital que se llamaba de San Pedro Apstol. Estaba muy avanzada la obra antes de su muerte."- Fue ste el mismo arquitecto, mulato libre, que traz los planos y construy la iglesia de los agustinos. Jos de Porrcs termin el hospital despus del fallecimiento de Juan Pascual,

LOS MONASTERIOS
edict in thc archives, dated

June

24, 1743 directed

that all lepers who were in other hospitals or free should be placed in this hospital.'''* The earthquake of 1751 again damaged ihe church, and it was deenied unsafe in 1765. Just how much of the present edifice was built in the early eighteenth century is problematical. It may have been repaired. or reconstructed. after the property ^vas converted to a municipal cemetery in 1834. The brothers o San Juan de Dios served four of Santiago's six hospitals for two hundred and twenty years.

que construy la iglesia de San Pedro y Apstol.'-'' Se utiliz una sala en el hospital como oratorio hasta qtie pudo construirse la iglesia.^"* Se puso la primera piedra en noviembre de 1662.^-'' Fue este templo el que sirvi de catedral provise dice

BELN MONASTERY AND HOSPITAL


155-156

church, monastery and hospital of Our Lady of Bethleheni did not result from outside influence or petition froni an existing Order. It is unique among religious orders of the New World since it had ils origin in Santiago and then expanded to other countries.'"'' Pedro de San Jos Betancourt, according to his

The

own
in

erife in the

on the island of TenCanary Islands in 626.'"' He arrived Santiago on the 18th of February. 1651 and
declaration, was born
1

studied three years in the Jesuit school. He cotdd not qualify for entrance into the Jesuit congregation and in 655 or 656 becanie a lay brother of For a time the Third Order of PVanciscans.' Brother Pedro lived at the hermitage of El Calvario, caring for the church and garden, but in
1

''

his zeal to serve his

fellow-men he established a very small hospital in a crude shelter cise to the Southern botuidary of San Francisco monastery.'""* Two generous men gave him the small sun needed to purchase the property.'-''' This was done on December 25, 1661."" The work of this diligent and dedicated man was an inspiration to those who soon came under his influence. In a little over five years he expandcd his hospital,
established the
first

free

school

for children,"'

provided a hospice for travelers, and gathered about him a group of devoted helpers some of whom were also members of the Third Order of Franciscans. His scrvice to the ill, unfortunate and needy gained the admiration and support of the more prosperous citizens from the very beginning. Brother Pedro did not spare himself and accomplished in a few years what might have taken a lifetime for a less dedicated man. On July 9, 1666 Hermano Pedro asked for land next to the site where he was constructing a hospital for convalescents. His request was granted

August

20th'*- and, on a little street that led across the river to the church of Santa Cruz, he constructed an intrmary, kitchen and several other rooms with a corridor facing the river. Construc-

sional, desde 1669 hasta 1680, mientras se estaba construyendo la nueva catedral.'-" La iglesia y el hospital se daaron severamente en 1717 y permanecieron todava sin reconstruir en 1719.'-' Varios arqtiitectos tasaron o trabajaron en el hospital de San Pedro mientras se ensanchaba. Entre ellos, se encontraban Diego de Porres y Diego de Medina (1721), Diego de Porres (1730), y Juan de Dios Estrada (1739) quien tambin haba construido una parte del hospital de San Juan de Dios.'-^ Se puso el hospital de San Pedro bajo la direccin de los Hermanos de San Juan de Dios ms tarde, y despus de 1773, fue ste el nico hospital disponible para todos los vecinos hombres, mujeres, y nios qtie qtiedaban en la ciudad arruinada. Los religiosos de San Juan de Dios siguieron encargados de l hasta 1865. cuando unas monjas capuchinas lo tomaron bajo su direccin, hasta 1869. Desde entonces, por casi un siglo, las Hermanas de la Caridad de la congregacin de San Vicente de Paiil han atendido a los enfermos de este hospital de ms de trescientos aos de existencia, el cual ocupa una manzana entera, y sigue sirviendo a todos los habitantes de la Antigua. Se dijo que estuvo la iglesia de San Pedro entre las que fueron arruinadas en 1773, y segiin las relaciones, se qued sin techo hasta el ao de 1869 cuando se rcconstrtiy. Fue ste el mismo ao en que vinieron las Hermanas de la Caridad a servir a este hospital de la ciudad. Es posible que se hayan cambiado los detalles de la fachada de la iglesia y la de la entrada del hospital en esa fecha. El ataurique no es del tipo que se encuentra en las iglesias del siglo XVIII, pero las formas bsicas son tpicas, y parece probable que no haya habido cambios estructurales ( 152 ). En la pared al sur tlel templo se encuentra uno de los portales barrocos ms interesantes de Santiago (153 b). Las columnas pareadas salomnicas de ambos cuerpos, curvan espiralmente en direcciones opuestas. Es posible que haya sido esta puerta la entrada a la sala del hospital que se us como oratorio durante la construccin de la iglesia primitiva. Corresponde efectivamente al carcter del perodo en que se fund el hospital. Las columnas superiores encierran un nicho que contiene una estatua en estuco policromado de la Asuncin. El escudo de Castilla y Len, tallado en piedra, est inserto en el frontn roto (153 a). Se dio el nombre de San Juan de Dios al hospital de San Pedro despus de 1773, pero ms recientemente se ha cambiado una vez ms el nombre por el del Hermano Pedro, honrando la me-

99

MONASTERIES
tion was
for another unit with cells for but Brother Pedro did not live to see the project coinpleted. He died on April 25, 1667
his assistants,

under way

moria del fundador del hospital de Beln, Pedro de Betancourt.

in his forty-first year."^ Among those who joined

him as a novice was a nobleman and former governor of Costa Rica, Don Rodrigo de Arias Maldonado, Marqus de
Talamanca, who renounced his worldly life to serve under Brother Pedro."* In 1667 this follower, kno^vn as Fray Rodrigo de la Cruz, became the leader of the small group. On January 25, 1668 they took an oath of obedience and hospitality before the den of the Cathedral as Brothers of Nuestra Seora de Beln,"'' and Fray Rodrigo de la Cruz was chosen as head of the Order on February 2nd." Considerable confusin arises from the dates that have been given in connection with the descriptions of the church of Beln."' Pardo, for instance, has given the date of 1668 for its completion without clarifying that this was not the
structure that exists today. From Fray Francisco who lived and wrote in the late seventeenth and early eighteenth centuries, it is possible to get a correct chronology. The church that was put into use in 1667 had been the infirmary

EL HOSPITAL DE SAN LZARO


154

En

1634, se vea

que haca

falta

y lugar de asilo para leprosos. Se escogi

una enfermera un sitio

grande con bastante terreno para jardines y huerta, al oeste de la ciudad, cerca del ro Guacalate (o Magdalena), y se iniciaron el hospital y la iglesia de San Lzaro en 1638.'-" Se les asign a los religiosos de San Juan de Dios la administracin de esta institucin el 3 de febrero de 1640.'-'" Estos edificios que probablemente se construyeron con presteza, fueron destruidos por los terremotos de 1681 y 1717.'^' En 1720 la ermita de Nuestra Seora de Guadalupe, empezada en 1709, cedi sus inmuebles al hospital de San Lzaro. '^- Estaba este sitio en el extremo occidental de una calle que vena desde el Palacio de los Capitanes Generales
y la Plaza Real. Se reconstruyeron el templo y el hospital en este sitio entre 1722 y 1734.'^^ Mientras tanto, evidentemente estaban esparcidos los pacientes, pues un acuerdo en los archivos, con fecha del 24 de junio de 1743, mand que se recogiera a todos los leprosos que estaban en otros hospitales o que estaban libres en la ciudad, y que se los pusiera en este hospital.'^' Los terremotos de 1751 volvieron a daar la iglesia, y se juzg inseguro en 1765. Es dudoso cunto del edificio actual se construy en la primera parte del siglo XVIII. Posiblemente

Vzquez,

where Hermano Pedro

died.^'** It was opened to the small street at the south end of the property by putting a door where Hermano Pedro had had his bed in a niche in the wall. This oratory was soon moved to another room nearby which was used for ten years before the new temple was completed."" Fray Rodrigo de la Cruz wrote the rules of the new community, and one of the brothers, who was in Madrid, went to Rome where he obtained the approval and confirmation of Pope Clement X on May 2, 1672.^"' Later Fray Rodrigo went to Rome and in 1674 the same Pope approved the revised rules.'"'' In 1687 Pope Innocent XI issued a decree that Beln should follow the rides of San Agustn and named Fray Rodrigo de la Cruz Superior General of the Congregation.'" In this office Fray Rodrigo supervised the founding of a number of monasteries of the Bethlemites in Mxico, Per, Ecuador and Cuba'"''' before his death in Mxico at the age of seventy-one on February 23, 1716.'"'* In 1691 eTorts were already being made for the beatification and canonization of Brother Pedro de Betancourt.'"'"' Soon after the death of Brother Pedro, the new Prior, Fray Rodrigo, began to make plans for the expansin of the facilities along the Pensativo

repar o se reconstruy despus de que el sitio fue hecho cementerio municipal, en 1834. Los religiosos de San Juan de Dios atendieron a cuatro de los seis hospitales de Santiago por doscientos veinte aos.
se

BELN, CONVENTO Y HOSPITAL


155-156

River. number of small prvate properties north of the little hospital were acquired, and plans for the large church were finally under way in 1673. It was completed by 1677. If Pardo is correct in
'''''

La iglesia, el convento y el hospital de Nuestra Seora de Beln no fueron consecuencia de influencia externa ni de una peticin de una orden que ya exista. Es nica entre las rdenes religiosas del Nuevo Mundo ya que se origin en Santiago y se extendi despus a otros pases.'^'' Pedro de San Jos Betancourt, segiin su propia declaracin, naci en la Isla de Tenerife, en las Islas Canarias, en 1626.""'' Lleg a Santiago el 18 de febrero de 1651 y estudi tres aos en el colegio
jesuta.

No tena las capacidades necesarias para ingresar en la congregacin jesuta, y en 1655 o en 1656, se hizo hermano lego de la Tercera Orden
Francisco.'^'

attributing this building to Jos de Porres,'"^

it

de San

Vivi

el

Hermano Pedro

al-

100

LOS MONASTERIOS
means that the architect of the Cathedral was working on both structures simultaneously. The church faced a plaza to the west and was limited
depth by the river at the east end. It was in size, however, and was covered by domipenetrated by windows for light (156 d). The fa^ade was severely plain, almost without adornment (156a). There were two towers which
in
its

gn tiempo en
la iglesia y el

ermita de El Calvario, cuidando jardn, pero deseoso de servir al prla

ampie

cal vaults

held eight bclls originally.

built

South of the church the necessary rooms of the refectory, archives, and so forth were around a spacious patio (155 c). The center of the cloister was dominated by a simple but heavy fountain (155 b). Cells for the brothers occupied the second story. The exterior of the building was also very unpretentious (155 a). In 1692 the City sold another piece of ground,
hospital,

north of the church, to the Bethlemites,*** and a building for novitiates and for other needs was constructed. This addition was not completed until 1705 according to Vzquez. The church occupied a position almost in the center of the entire
property.

jimo, estableci un pequeo hospital en inia casita de paja, cercana al lmite meridional del convento de San Francisco."^ Dos vecinos generosos le regalaron la pequea suma que le faltaba para comprar la propiedad.''*' Esto se hizo el 25 de diciembre de 1661."" El trabajo de este hombre diligente y dedicado, inspir a los que muy pronto cayeron bajo su influencia. En poco ms de cinco aos, ensanch su hospital, estableci la primera escuela gratuita para nios," arregl un hospicio para viajeros, y reuni alrededor de s un grupo de devotos auxiliadores, algunos de los cuales eran miembros de la Tercera Orden franciscana. Sus servicios para los enfermos, los desheredados y los pobres le ganaron desde el principio la admiracin y el apoyo de los ciudadanos ms adinerados. El Her-

mano Pedro no economiz


en

sus esfuerzos y logr,

Although the number of brothers was not speby decree whcn the monastery was founded, a document reported to the King that there were
cified

sixteen monks caring for twenty Ijeds in the men's hospital in 1740.'''" At the same time there were

thirteen sisters wearing the habit of the Order to eight beds of women convalescents. This hospital for women had been started by a widow and her daughter in 1670 and

who were attending

had been authorized


of
Beln.''''

to oprate

in a small building at the south

under similar rules end of the Plaza

None

of the chroniclers give details of

damage

by earthquake, and one must assume that the buildings of Beln were too new to have been seriously damaged in 1689; but in 1721 the Bethlemites asked the Ayuntamiento to inform His Majesty of the state of the temple and hospital due to the earthquake of 1717."' Also, there is a record that the municipality was asked for monetary aid in 1751 for repairs.'"- In 1773 the hospital and monastery were badly wrecked, but the church did not fall.

monks established themselves 1852 and lived in the partially restored buildings of the monastery. They were expelled in 1873 without thcir having accomplished
Several Capuchin
in

pocos aos, lo que habra requerido toda tma vida para un hombre menos dedicado. El 9 de julio de 1666. el Hermano Pedro pidi terreno contiguo al sitio donde se estaba construyendo un hospital para convalecientes. Se le concedi su peticin el 20 de agosto,'- y, en una calle pequea que atravesaba el ro y conduca a la iglesia de La Santa Cruz, construy una enfermera, una cocina y varias otras piezas con un corredor (jue miraba al ro. Se haba empezado la construccin de otra unidad con celdas para sus ayudantes, pero no vivi el Hermano Pedro hasta la terminacin de ese proyecto. Muri el 25 de abril de 1667 a la edad de cuarenta y un aos.*^ Entre los (jue se agregaron a l como novicio, haba un noble, antiguo gobernador de Costa Rica, Don Rodrigo de Arias Maldonado, Marqus de Talamanca, quien renunci la vida mundana para servir junto al Hermano Pedro.'" En 1667, este discpulo, conocido como Fray Rodrigo de la Cruz, lleg a ser el lder del pequeo grupo. Y el 25 de enero de 1668. ante el den de la catedral hicieron votos de obediencia y hospitalidad, como Hermanos de Nuestra Seora de Beln,"''"' y eligieron a Fray Rodrigo de la Cruz General de la Religin, el 2 de febrero."' Ha resultado bastante confusin de las fechas

muy

Antigua

in

que

any major changes. The single nave church was in use as a saw mili in 1934. The monastery and hospital housed several families of squatters around the ruined cloister ( 155 ). A few years later this portion of the ruin was renovated and transformed into a hotel. The portions of the ruins to the north and to the east along the bank of the Pensativo River were left untouched.

se han dado tocante a las descripciones del templo de Beln.' Por ejemplo. Pardo ha dado la fecha de 1668 para su terminacin, sin aclarar (jue no era sta la iglesia actual. De Fray Francisco Vziuez, quien vivi y escribi a fines del siglo XVII y principios del XVIII, es posible obtener la cronologa correcta. La iglesia que se principi a usar en 1667. haba sido la enfermera en donde

muri el Hermano Pedro.'" Fue abierta a la pequea calle, al lmite meridional del solar, poniendo una puerta en el lugar donde haba tenido el Hermano Pedro su cama en un nicho en la pared.

101

MONASTERIES

LA RECOLECCIN
157-161

Pronto

se traslad este oratorio a otra sala

cercana

In 1685 two friars of the Recolects carne to Santiago to establish a mission,^'''^ and in 1695 one of these asked the City for permission to found a monastery for missionary fathers.'"* Four more missionaries arrived two years later, and all were housed at Calvario for four years while they awaited the requested permission."'"' The City Council had not favored the establishment of the monastery as the citizens were already supporting more religious houses than they could afford. The missionaries were very poor and without income except for the alms given them.^"** The report of the Council dated December 6, 1695 is interesting for the opinions that were recorded at that time: although the Coiuicil expressed appreciation for the splendid work of these two missionaries and Avas willing to support them, or let the opulent Franciscans do so, they believed that there was no need for more monasteries, with or without income, in the City. Furthermore, if there were not more than eight or ten monks they should be distributed throughout the province and not be allowed to enlarge their hospice with a monastery, a sumptuous church, or give habits. If the Council granted this foundation to these two men
their

que se utiliz por diez aos antes de terminarse el nuevo templo. ^*^ Escribi Fray Rodrigo de la Cruz las reglas de la nueva comunidad, y uno de los hermanos, quien estuvo en Madrid, fue a Roma, donde obtuvo la
aprobacin y
la

confirmacin de su Santidad Cle-

mente X, el 2 de mayo de 1672.'"'" Ms tarde, fue Fray Rodrigo a Roma, y en 1674, el mismo Ponaprob las constituciones reformadas."''' En Papa Inocencio XI emiti un breve para que siguiera Beln las reglas de la orden de San Agustn, y nombr a Fray Rodrigo de la Cruz. Superior General de la congregacin."'''- En ese cargo Fray Rodrigo dirigi la fundacin de varios conventos de los betlemitas en Mxico, el Per, el Ecuador y Cuba,"''''' antes de su fallecimiento en Mxico, a la edad de setenta y un aos, el 23 de febrero de 1716."''*
tfice

1687

el

En
cacin

y canonizacin Betancourt.'"'''

1691, ya se hacan tentativas para la beatifidel Hermano Pedro de

Muy pronto despus de la muerte del Hermano Pedro, el nuevo general. Fray Rodrigo, empez a planear la extensin de las dependencias del convento a lo largo del ro Pensativo. Se adquirieron varias pequeas propiedades particulares al norte
fin, en 1673, empezaron a templo grande. Se termin para 1677."*"' Si tiene razn Pardo al atribuir este edificio a Jos de Forres,""'' significa ctie el arquitecto de la catedral trabajaba en los dos edificios a la vez. La iglesia miraba a una plaza al oeste y fue limitada en su profvmdidad por el ro, al extremo oriental. Era de tamao amplio, no obstante, y cubierta de bvedas de media naranja, perforadas por ventanas para dar luz al templo (156 d). Era severamente sencilla la fachada, casi sin adorno (156 a). Originalmente haba dos campanarios con ocho cam-

del hospitalito, y por

demands would

gro\v.

They would want


statues, altars
in

hacer

el

temple with arches. domes, naments, and a dwelling


these.'^'

and

orall

kceping with

But in spite of local opinin,'"'^ a royal decree was issued on July 16, 1700 permitting the foundation of the monastery of the Crucified Christ of the Apostolic Missionaries.""' This small group took possession of a pasture beyond the western limits of the city, and in 1701 had a thatched church and a modest monastery of the same construction.^'" Citizens came to their aid, land was given to them, and even the Captain General gave his support.*'^ The cornerstone of their church was laid on September 8, 1701.''- By 1708 cloisters, cells, an infirmary, classrooms and library were completed. The church was finished in 1715."'' Chinchilla Aguilar wrote that Diego de Forres was associated as architect with the work after 1703.''* Vzquez gives the date of inauguration of the church as May 23, 1717."^ The establishment was barely completed before the earthquakes of 1717 occurred."'' Both the church and the monastery suffered considerable damage."" And again in 1751 extensive repairs were needed."* But after both disasters rebuilding was not only carried out, but the monastery and church fulfiUed all the predictions of those who opposed its original foundation. The church became one of the largest in Santiago with its great nave and side aisles rivaling the Cathedral and sur-

panas. Al sur de la iglesia se construyeron, alrededor de un patio capaz (155 c), las piezas necesarias para el hospital, refectorio, archivo, etc. Fue dominado el centro del claustro por una fuente sencilla pero pesada (l55b). Celdas para los religiosos ocuparon el piso alto. Era tambin sin pretensin alguna el exterior del edificio (155 a).

En 1692 vendi el Ayuntamiento a los betlemitas otro terreno, al norte de la iglesia,"'^'' y se construy una fbrica para el noviciado y otras dependencias. Esta adicin, segn Vzquez, no se
termin hasta 1705. Ocup la iglesia un sitio casi en el centro de la propiedad entera. Aunque no se especific por cdula el nmero de religiosos al fundarse el convento, por un documento que existe en el archivo, se inform al rey que, en 1740, haba diecisis religiosos que cuidaban veinte camas en el hospital para hombres.""'" Al mismo tiempo haba trece hermanas

102

LOS MONASTERIOS
passing the temple of the Jesuits. The magnitude of the interior is apparent from the uiassiveness of the walls and the impressive scale of the sixty foot arch that spanned the sanctuary, and which still stands ( 157 ). Behind this sanctuary the main sacristy exceeded in size any other in the city, and it was as large as many churches (159 c). The secondary sacristies at either side of the sanctuary are

more spacious than


churches had.

the single sacristy that most

fa^ade which faced east, centering on a extended past La Merced to the plaza adjacent to the great Dominican Church, was evidently impressive with its three entrances. The tremendous thickness of the walls is apparent from the massive fragments which remain where they fell. Although nothing is left of the choir, which was locatcd above the east entrance, there is a door from the second floor cloister which would have given access to it. The main stairway, which connected the upper story of the monastery with the sacristy, refectory and cloisters was perfectly placed and magnificent in scale beneath its great vaulted roof and cupola (159 b). The cloisters were like everything else
Street that

The

hbito de la Orden, qtiienes atendan las ocho camas de mujeres convalecientes. Este hospital para mujeres haba sido iniciado por una viuda y su hija en 1670, con autorizacin para obrar bajo reglas semejantes a las de los betlemitas, en un edificio pe(]ueo, al lmite meridional de la Plaza de Beln.!"" Ninguno de los cronistas da detalles de daos hechos por terremotos, y hay que presumir que eran los edificios de Beln demasiado nuevos para haber sido seriamente averiados en 1689, pero en 1721, pidieron los betlemitas que informara el Ayuntamiento a su Majestad sobre el estado del templo y del hospital, debido a los terremotos de jyjy ici Tambin hay una relacin de haberse pedido al Ayuntamiento ayuda econmica en 1751 para reparar daos.*'"'- En 1773. se daaron mucho el hospital y el convento, pero no se cay la iglesia. Se establecieron varios religiosos capuchinos en
vistiendo
el

la Antigua en 1852. habitando los edificios conventuales, en parte restaurados. Se les expuls en 1873, sin que hubieran realizado cambios de

importancia.
1934. serva el templo, que era de una sola como aserradero. En el convento y en el hospital, moraban unas cuantas familias de intrusos alrededor del claustro arruinado ( 155 ). Unos

En

nave,

grandiose institution. They were much larger than those of other religious houses. The two Southern cloisters w-ere separated by the refectory which was long and low, with a rather crudely decoratcd ceiling of modellcd plaster (160(1). The vaulting of the cloister walks was similar to that in La Merced more corbcled than arched (161 d). Very little rcmains of the arcades of the cloister, btit it is evident that there was a mniof decoration (161 be). Size was more important than ornamcntation, which was a direct con-

about

this

pocos aos ms tarde,

se

renov

este sector

de

las

ruinas, y la transformaron en hotel. Las partes de las ruinas, al norte y al este, a la orilla del ro Pensativo, quedaron sin tocarse.

LA RECOLECCIN
157161
1685. dos frailes recoletos vinieron a Santiago para establecer ma misin,"'''' y en 1695. tmo de ellos pidi al Ayuntamiento licencia para

mum
trast

to the beautiful cloister of San Francisco. This desire for size seems inconsistent with the professed aim of this missionary order which had no inconle other than alms. Although this monastery was not limited as to niunbers when founded, it was primarily established to carry on missionary work among the Indians in all parts of the country, the brothers supposedly living on alms in modest (|uarters in the same manner the first two missionaries had from 1685 to 1701. The ninnber of friars in the monastery on April 30, 1740 was thirty-five, which they deemed inadequate to maintain the monastic government, to go to missions. give sermons and so forth, according to documents of that date.*'" The size of the monastery indicates that they anticipated a group as large as the

En

fundar un convento para padres misioneros.*"' Cuatro misioneros adicionales llegaron dos aos ms tarde, y todos se albergaron en El Calvario por cuatro aos, mientras esperaron la llegada de
la licencia del rey.'"''

Franciscans. South of the main monastery building there are three appendages. The smallest is the typical colonial kitchen of Santiago (161 a). Another building, which was undoubtedly attached to the main cloister during the period before 1773, is entirely different in scale and character. Although it has

El Ayuntamiento no haba favorecido el establecimiento del convento, porque ya sostenan los vecinos ms casas religiosas de las que podan mantener. Eran muy pobres los misioneros, sin ms rentas que las limosnas que se les daban.""'" El informe del Cabildo, fechado el 6 de diciembre de 1695, es de inters por las opiniones que se registraron en aquella sesin: aunque expres el Cabildo aprecio del trabajo esplndido de estos dos misioneros, y no se opuso a mantenerlos, o
dejar que los opulentos franciscanos lo hicieran, crean que no haba necesidad de ms conventos, con o sin rentas, en la ciudad. Adems, si no haba ms de ocho o diez religiosos, debieron distribuirse por el pas y no permitirse ensanchar su hospicio

103

MONASTERIES
been rebuilt for use as a residence in later years, it might very wcll have been adequate as a monastery when their numbers were few. This is unlikely, but the small cloister-like patio, domed chapel, and modest sized rooms are quite charniing. Plaster ornamentation of good quality still surrounds the door to the chapel. The third
is a two story structure projecting from the southeast crner of the monastery in a semidetached position. This could have been the infirmary and quite possibly a hospice. The ruin of Recoleccin has also been subject to a variety of depradations of man. The arcades were removed to build a s^vimming pool in the first cloister earlier in this century, and materials

building

were hauled away to build Avalls around agricultural lands. At one time both cloisters were used and the local fairs, and a race track occupied the field behind the monastery in 1934. The sacristy was used as a soap factory, and the refectory served as a stable and wagn shed. The church itself was never cleared of its jumble of masonry debris which does not necessarily represent the results of the 1773 earthquake alone. Time, weather, subsequent earthquakes, and man have all had a hand in what one sees today. Some of the columns and vaults were blasted, it is said, partly because they were unsafe, and partly to infor sports

con un convento y un templo suntuoso, ni tener noviciado. Si concediera el Cabildo licencia para la fundacin a estos dos religiosos, se aumentaran sus peticiones. Querran tener un templo con arcos, bvedas, imgenes, altares y ornamentos y una vivienda correspondiente a todos stos.'"' Pero, a pesar de los pareceres locales,'''^ se emiti una cdula real el 16 de julio de 1700, permitiendo la fundacin del Colegio de Cristo Crucificado de los Misioneros Apostlicos.'"" Este pequeo grupo se apoder de una dehesa ms all de los lmites occidentales de la ciudad, y en 1701, tena una pequea iglesia cubierta de paja y un convento modesto de la misma construccin.'"" Unos vecinos acudieron a ayudarlos, se les dio un solar, y aun el Capitn General les dio apoyo.'"' Se puso la primera piedra para su iglesia el 8 de septiembre de 1701.'"- Para 1708, estaban terminados
claustros, celdas,

enfermera, aulas y biblioteca.

se acab la iglesia.'"^ Escribi Chinchilla Aguilar que se asociaba Diego de Porres con la obra, como su arquitecto, despus de 1703.'"* Da Vzquez el da 23 de mayo de 1717 como el del

En 1715

estreno del templo.'"''

Apenas

se

concluy

el

establecimiento antes del

sure that they ^vould not be rebuilt

when

the city

was ordered abandoned. Whatever the cause, the ruin is impressive and interesting (160 f).

SAN FELIPE NERI (ESCUELA DE CRISTO)


162-163

This monastery was the last to be confirmed by Papal recognition in Santiago, but it has one of
the longest historical backgrounds among the religious houses of the City. The hermitage of Vera Cruz was founded in Almolonga March 9, 1533

by Bishop Marroqun, priest-lawyer, who was its member.^*' Soon after the Franciscans moved to their permanent site, this hermitage took possession of the little church and house that the Franciscans had built for temporary use at the southeast edge of the new city.'*' The hermitage remained under Franciscan care from 1543 to 1664. Part of this time it was known as the Church of San Miguel. A group of friars of this hermitage joined together in 1664 to found an institution which was named Escuela de Cristo.'**- Later, on the 4th of January 1689, this became the Congregation of San Felipe Neri, but confirmation of Pope Clemfirst

terremoto de 1717.'"" La iglesia y el convento sufrieron considerables daos,'"" y otra vez en 1751, se necesitaban reparaciones considerables."" Pero despus de ambos desastres, no slo se reconstruyeron sino que, tanto en el convento como en el templo, se cumplieron todas las profecas de los que se opusieron a su fundacin primitiva. Lleg a ser el templo, con su gran nave central y sus naves laterales, uno de los ms grandes de Santiago; rivalizaba con la catedral y superaba al templo de los jesutas. Se ve la magnitud del interior de lo macizo de los muros y la escala impresionante del arco de casi dieciocho y medio metros que se extendi de un lado al otro del presbiterio, y que todava queda en su lugar ( 157 ). Detrs de este presbiterio, la sacrista principal superaba en tamao cualquier otra de la ciudad, siendo tan grande como muchas iglesias (159 c). Las sacristas secundarias, a cada lado del presbiterio, eran mayores

que

la

nica

sacrista

que

tena la mayora de los

ent

XI did not

arrive until 1704. Previously they


for the
25,

had received permission


Papal Bull dated

foundation by a

templos. La fachada, con sus tres entradas, que daba al este con su eje en una calle que se extenda, pasando por La Merced, a la plaza contigua al gran templo dominico, era sin duda imponente. Es evidente el espesor tremendo de los muros, al mirar los fragmentos macizos que aun quedan donde cayeron. Aunque no queda nada del coro, situado encima de la entrada oriental, hay una puerta en el claustro alto que probablemente daba acceso a l. La escalera principal con su gran techo abovedado y su cpula (160 a), una el piso alto del

May

1683, however,

and

convento con

la sacrista, el refectorio y los claus-

104

LOS MONASTERIOS
various
date.'*^

other

recognitions

prior

to

the

1704

The friars of this Order accepted evangelistic missions to the most remote parts of the country, but between missions they led a dedicated life of meditation and prayer. Their first years were very restrictcd because expected gifts and endowments failed to materialize.'** The earthquake of 1717 greatly added to their troubles since their od
church was completely ruined.'*'' In 1728 they asked for aid in rebuilding their temple and monastery cells.'**'' It was not until 1730 that the church was entirely rebuilt.'**' Diego de Forres has been credited with this work as architect, and this is considered to be the first building faced with a veneer of cut stone. Since the church seems to have been rebuilt without any major changes in plan it is possible that some of the original walls and foundations were incorporated in the reconstruction. This might even account for the use of the stone veneer. The fagade is very simple with three stories of
shallow pilasters and e(]ually shallow recesses in place of the usual Barocpie niches (162 a). The silhouette of the towers did not materially relieve the severity of the fa(;ade because they were both small, and incorporated the same shallow type of pilasters. These pilasters have been given the ame "estpite" by most writcrs. In Antigua, according to Kubler, a peculiar baluster of opposed palmettes, with bases connected at the center of the shaft, is the closest approach to this unstable form.'**^ He gives as examples Santa Clara in Antigua(l64 cd) and the Franciscan Church in Ciudad Vieja (164 ab). This makcs an intercsting comparison since ngulo Iiquez attributcs the origin of this form to Diego de Forres architect of San Felipe Neri (Escuela de Cristo), and (piite probably of Santa Clara as well. Hoth of these churches were built in the second quartcr of the eightcenth century, but the church in Ciudad Vieja is supposedly sixteenth century(5). There is definite disagreement concerning this
in Ciudad Vieja. It has been designated as the first Cathedral of Guatemala. Evidently the basis for this claim lies in the fact that Francisco Marrocjun became the first bishop of Guatemala a few years before Almolonga suffered its disaster of 1541. Even though a cathedral

estaba perfectamente situada y era magnfica su escala (l59b). I>os claustros eran como todo lo dems de este establecimiento grandioso. Eran
tros;

mucho ms grandes que los de los otros edificios monsticos. Los dos claustros meridionales estaban separados por el refectorio (]uc era largo y bajo, y tena el cielo de relieve en estuco algo toscamente decorado ( 160 d ). Las bvedas de los corredores de los claustros eran semejantes a las de La Merced ms como bvedas saledizas que de can corrido (161 d). Queda muy poco de las arcadas del claustro, pero se ve que haba un nn'nimo de ornamentacin en ellas (161 be). Eran ms importantes las dimensiones (]uc el adorno, lo cual era un gran conen relacin al hermoso claustro de San Francisco. Esta aspiracin a lo grandioso parece incongruente con la finalidad que profesaba esta orden misionera, que no tena ms renta que las limosnas. Aunque su nmero no fue limitado al fundarse este convento, se estableci principaltraste,

mente para llevar a cabo una labor misionera entre los indgenas en todas las regiones del reino, mantenindose los religiosos, segn se supona, en viviendas modestas, lo mismo que lo haban hecho los primeros misioneros, desde 1685 a 1701. El 30 de abril de 1740. haba treinta y cinco religiosos en el convento, nmero que les pareca inadecuado para mantener el gobierno monstico, ir a las misiones, predicar, etc.. segn relatan los documentos de esa fecha. "'^ El tamao del convento indica que prevean un grupo tan grande como el franciscano. Al sur del edificio principal del con\ento hay tres dependencias. La ms pequea es la tpica cocina colonial de Santiago ( 161 a). Otro edificio, que sin duda estaba unido al claustro principal durante el perodo anterior a 1773, es enteradistinto en escala y en carcter. Aunque se ha reconstruido j^ara vivienda en aos ms recientes, bien hubiera podido ser adecuado para servir de convento cuando el nmero de religiosos era ms reducido. Esto es improbable, pero el pequeo patio parecido a un claustro, la capilla abovedada y las piezas de tamao modesto son encantadoras. Todava franquea la puerta a la capilla ataurique de buena calidad. El tercer edificio es una fbrica de dos pisos (jue sobresale del ngulo sudeste del convento, localizada en un lugar separado. Habra podido ser sta la enfermera o, muy posiblemente, un hospico. Las ruinas de La Recoleccin han sufrido tambin de una variedad de depredaciones del hombre. En poca ms temprana de este siglo, se (juitaron las arcadas para hacer una piscina en el primer claustro, y se han retirado materiales para construir nuiros alrededor de terrenos agrcolas. En un tiempo se servan de ambos claustros para deportes y para las ferias locales, y se hizo una pista para carreras de caballos en el campo detrs del

mente

one existing church

may have been planncd


is

for this particular site,

it

extremely unlikely that one of the proportions of this church would have been contemplated and much less constructed between 1537 and 1541. After 1541 it could not have been built as a cathedral since the bishopric was established in the new Santiago. To further confuse the history of this church, many authoritative writers consider this a Franciscan establishment built, or completed, at the request of Bishop Marroqun who wanted them

105

MONASTERIES
assume responsibility for the parish of the od There was only one other ecclesiastical structure built in Ciudad Vieja after 1541, a small church. Henee, if the Franciscans were established
to
capital.'""

in this coniniunity

it

is

logical to associate this

church and

its

dependencies with them.

iniportant than this controversy, however, is the explanation and dating of the fa^ade which obviously is not sixteenth century. The resident priest of Ciudad Vieja, Carlos JofFre Estrada, advances the opinin that the original church fagade faced west instead of east as it does now. This is not illogical, but only emphasizes the fact that one must disregard any serious claims about the present church being the first Cathedral. The entire church is vaulted, and there is a sizeable dome. This type of construction was not used until midseventeenth century. In this small town such an

More

convento, en 1934. Utilizaban la sacrista como fbrica de jabn, y el refectorio como establo y para guardar carretas. Nunca se han quitado los montones de mampostera arruinada de la iglesia, los cuales no son nicamente el resultado de los terremotos de 1773. Los aos, la intemperie, los ten-emotos posteriores y el hombre, han sido responsables de lo que se ve hoy. Cargas de plvora destruyeron algunas de las columnas y bvedas, segiin se dice, en parte porque amenazaron ruina, y en parte para asegurar que no se reconstruiran cuando se mand abandonarla ciudad. Cualquiera que fuera la causa de su estado actual, la ruina es impresionante e interesante (160f).

SAN FELIPE NERI (ESCUELA DE CRISTO)


162-163 esta casa religiosa la ltima confirmada por breve papal para Santiago, pero sus antecedentes histricos estn entre los ms antiguos de los establecimientos religiosos de la ciudad. La ermita de la Vera Cruz fue fundada en Almolonga el 9 de marzo de 1533 por el obispo Marroqun, quien fue su primer miembro.'**" Poco tiempo despus de trasladarse los franciscanos a su sitio permanente, tom posesin esta ermita de la pequea iglesia y la casa, en el lmite sudeste de la nueva ciudad, que haban construido los franciscanos para uso provisional.'*' Se qued la ermita bajo la administracin de los franciscanos desde 1543 hasta 664. Durante una parte de este perodo, se conoci con el nombre de la iglesia de San Miguel. En 1664, un grupo de frailes de esta ermita se reunieron para establecer una institucin que nombraron la Escuela de Cristo.'*- Ms tarde, el 4 de enero de 1689, se constituy sta la Congregacin de San Felipe Neri, pero no lleg la confirmacin de su Santidad, Clemente XI. hasta 704. Sin embargo, antes les haba sido concedida licencia para la fundacin, mediante una bula pontificia fechada el 25 de mayo de 1683, y haban recibido varios otros reconocimientos antes de
1

ambitious roof certainly was not built that early. The church was probably enlarged and the heavy buttresses added when the wood roof was replaced by vaulting. And, if the fa^ade was transferred from the west to the east end of the church, it seems evident that the vaulting was not done until the same period since the dome adjacent to the sanctuary is at the west end of the church. All of these aspects are stated here for the single purpose
of dating the existing fa^ade at Ciudad Vieja and associating it with the foregoing reference to
"estpites"

Fue

by Kubler and ngulo Iiguez. This

form

of a pilaster was not used in Santiago until

the second quarter of the eighteenth century. There is a remarkable resemblance between the

and Ciudad Vieja. If Diego de Forres was the originator of this detall, it is evident that either he or one of his contemporaries was responsible for both of these churches and therefore they were constructed after 1725. Because these much discussed pilasters do not
estpites o Santa Clara

conform to the more classic precedents some modern writers have referred to them as Churrigueresque. This appears to be an exaggerated use of the term. Certainly there is very little resemblance to what is generally classified as Mexican Churriit seem to be related to SpanChurrigueran precedents. Furthermore, it has even less similarity to the estpite of Italy or Spain from which it is supposedly derived. However, Diego de Forres could have developed his interpretation of this form from Italian and Spanish books on architecture which were known in Guatemala, as Luis Lujan Muoz points out.'"" The cloister of Escuela de Cristo is interesting although relatively small and unadorned. The vertical feeling of the two story arcade is the result of the small rea that is enclosed and is achieved in spite of the low and heavy proportions of the Tuscan type of piers (163 d). There is a definite resemblance between this arcade, with its flat vaults

gueresque, or does
ish

1704.'*^'

Los religiosos de esta Orden aceptaron misiones evanglicas a las regiones ms remotas del reino, pero entre una y otra misin llevaron una vida
la meditacin y al rezo. Estuvieron muy limitados econmicamente en sus primeros aos porque no recibieron todas las dotaciones y regalos esperados.'** Los terremotos de 1717 aumentaron mucho sus dificultades puesto que se arruin por completo su vieja iglesia.'*' En 1728, solicitaron ayuda para reconstruir su templo y las celdas de su convento.'*" Pero no fue sino hasta 1730 que se reconstruy completamente su iglesia.'*' A Diego de Forres se le ha atribuido ser el arquitecto de esta obra, y se considera el

dedicada a

106

LOS MONASTERIOS
(I)vedas vidas)

and that of the City Hall which was also the work of Diego de Forres.

reported that the work on the church was finished in 1730, he also gave an estimate of the cost of finishing the monastery.^'" This would indcate that the monastery was not completed in 1720, at which time Villacorta says
this architect

When

that

it

was

blessed.^-'-

In 1740 the monastery was in bad condition, and there were only five friars and two novices in residence.'"'' After the 1751 earthquakes financia! aid was requested.'"* Until recent years the monastery buiking remained in a poor state of repair with only a few rooms in use. The earthquakes of 1773 wrecked one wall of the cloister, but the church remained standing and was less damaged than most of the others in Santiago. One tower was damaged. but this and the church were reconstrucied in the middle of the nineteenth century according to Pardo.""' But the word "reconstructed" probably should be interpreted as "repaired." Pardo also says that the south tower on the fa(^ade, with its clock, was destroyed in the earthquakes of 1917-18.'"" This tower was rebuilt without its clock when the monastery was rcnovated shortly before 1944. Known today as Escuela de Cristo, the church is in good repair and one of importance to the commtmity. If one considers the fa^ade too severe and the stone vencer le.ss interesting than the fanciful stucco decoration of other churches of Antigua, it is possible to admire from a distance the well-proportioned dome ( 163 b). And. though it lacks good altars. the church contains some of its original art. including the vcnerated life-sized Christ bearing the Cross and a Crucified Christ, entombed. Both of thesc wood sculpiures are supposedly the work of the renowned artist Quirio Catao'"' who, it is said, lived near this church from 1575 to 1595.""*
1

primer edificio cubierto de lui revestimiento de piedra labrada. Ya que parece que se reconstruy el templo sin cambios de importancia en su plano, es posible ([ue se hayan incorporado en la reconstruccin alginios de los muros y cimientos primitivos. Posiblemente sea sta la causa por la que se us el revestimiento de piedra. Es muy sencilla la fachada de tres cuerpos, con pilastras y depresiones de poca proftmdidad, en contraste con los acostumbrados nichos barrocos (162 a). La silueta de las torres no suaviz tangiblemente la severidad de la fachada, por ser

Juarros,

I.

122

X:

Rcmcsal,

I.

70-78

2 Ibid. 3 Pardo, Efein., p. 3 4 AGG. 1.18-5028-211

(1741)

"'

I. 178-79 & Ximcncz. II, 224 Gagc, Thomas. The l:uglhh Amerirati, pp. 200-201

Molina, p. 1 17 Pardo, Guia, p. 88 Molina, p. 126 Fuentes y Guzm.in,

10
11

AGG, A

1.18-5028-211

(1741)

ft

BAGG.

X.

2,

104

Molina, pp. 129 & 132

pequeas y por usarse en ellas el mismo tipo de pilastras de poco relieve. Han dado la mayora de escritores el nombre de "estpite' a estas pilastras. Segiin Kubler, un balaustre singular de palmettes opuestos, unidos al centro del fuste por las bases, es la forma que ms se asemeja al estpite, en la Antigua. '** Da como ejemplos, la iglesia del monasterio de Santa Clara en la Antigua (164 cd)y el templo franci-scano en Ciudad Vieja( 164 ab). Esto obliga una comparacin interesante, ya que ngulo Iiguez atribuye el origen de esta forma a Diego de Pones ar(]uitecto de San Felipe Neri (Escuela de Cristo) y, muy probablemente, tambin de Santa Clara. Se construyeron estos dos templos en el segiuido cuarto del siglo XVIII. aunque algunos indican que es del siglo XVI la iglesia de Ciudad Vieja ( 5 ). Definitivamente no hay acuerdo tocante a esta tnica iglesia que existe ahora en Ciudad Vieja. Se le ha designado como primera catedral de Gtiatemala. Evidentemente, la base de esta pretensin se enctientra en el hecho de que Francisco Marroqtin fue nombrado primer obispo de Guatemala unos cuantos aos antes de sufrir .>\lmolonga el desastre de 1541. \un cuando se haya proyectado una catedral para este mismo sitio, es muy inverosmil que se hubiera planeado, y mucho menos construido, entre 1537 y 1541 una con las proporciones de esta iglesia. Despus de 1541, no habra podido ser construida como catedral, puesto cjue el obispado se encontraba establecido en la nueva Santiago. Confimdiendo ms la historia de esta iglesia, nuichos escritores serios son de opinin que es una fbrica franciscana construida o terminada, a peticin del obispo Marrocjin'n, que quera que se encargara esa Orden de la parroquia de la
antigua capital.'**" Se construyeron slo dos iglesias en Ciudad Vieja despus de 1541. Siendo la otra pequea, es lgico asociar la que discutimos y sus dependencias con los franciscanos, puesto que stos estaban establecidos en esa poblacin. Ms importante que esta controversia, sin embargo, es la explicacin de la fachada y la averiguacin de la fecha de su construccin, fjue obviamente, no fue en el siglo XVI. El actual prroco de Ciudad Vieja, Pbo. Carlos Joffre Estrada, opina fjue la fachada original de la iglesia daba al oeste.

12
13 1*

Vzquez IV. 362


Pardo, Efern.,
p.
2,

BAGG,

VIII,

9 227

is Juarros, I, 116 & l Pardo, Efem., p.

AGG, A
66

1.36-1-13.357-1968 (162.5)

17 Ibid., p.

82 50

18

Vzquez,

I,

19 Ibid., 63 & 65 & Juarros, I, 123 20 Vzquez, I, 98 21 Ibid.. 98-99 22 Ibid., 163-166 23 Pardo, Efem., p. 7 24 Vzquez, I, 163-166 20 Ibid., 183, 189-190 & 197 26 AGG, A 1.23-1512-474 (1575), & Vzquez. I, 93

AGG, A

1.23-1512-475

(1575)

107

MONASTERIES
27 Juarros, I, 124 28 Vzquez, IV, 219-224 29 Ibid., 247-248 30 Vzquez, III, 134 31 Vzquez, IV, 353 32 Ibid. 33 Juarros, I, 140-141

34Vzqucz, IV, 271-272 35 Ibid., & Molina, p. 149


XGIbid., 329, AGG, A 1.20-476-10 (1673) 3T Ibid. 38 AGG. 1.20-477-32 (1675) & BAGG, 39 Chinchilla Aguilar, Historia, p. 98 40 ngulo Iiguez, Historia, II. 64

& BAGG. X,
X,
2,

2,

131-133

133-134

iVzqucz,

IV, 330-331

42 /6,rf., 331-332 43 Ibid., 332 44 Ibid., 332-335 45 Ibid., 390 46 /b,V., 390-391 47 Ibid. 48 Ibid.

en vez de al este como ahora. No es ilgico esto, pero slo da nfasis al hecho de que es preciso no hacer caso de cualquier pretensin seria con respecto a que sea la iglesia actual la primera catedral. El templo entero es abovedado y tiene cpula de tamao considerable. No se us este tipo de construccin hasta la mitad del siglo XVII. En este pequeo poblado, es indudable que no se construy tan temprano un tipo de techumbre tan ambicioso. Es probable que se ensanchara la iglesia y que se aadieran los pesados contrafuertes, cuando se sustituy con bvedas el techo de madera. Y, si se trasladara la fachada del extredente que no
occidental al oriental del templo, parece evise abovedara la fbrica hasta el mismo perodo, puesto que la cpula adyacente al presbiterio est al extremo occidental de la iglesia. Se tratan todos estos aspectos acju, con el solo propsito de computar la fecha de la fachada actual del templo en Ciudad Vieja y asociarla con la susodicha referencia a estpites de Kubler y ngulo Iiguez. No se us esta forma de pilastra en Santiago hasta el segundo cuarto del siglo XVIII. Hay notable semejanza entre los estpites de Santa Clara y los de la iglesia de la Concepcin, Ciudad Vieja. Si origin Diego de Forres este detalle, es evidente que l o uno de sus contemporneos fue responsable de ambas iglesias, y por tanto, se construyeron despus de 1725.

mo

49 Pardo,

/<>?., p.

102

50 Vzquez, IV, 392 51 Pardo, /fm., p. 112 52 Vzquez, IV, 391-392 53 Ibid., 393 54 Pardo, Efem., p. 154 55 Ibid., pp. 162-163 & 165 56 Ibid., p. 162
57 Curtis, p. 79 58 Daz, V. M., Bellas Artes, p. 339

Vzquez, IV, 362 & Juarros, I, 124 6 AGG, 1.11-5025-211 (1741) & BAGCi, X, 2, 163 61 Juarros, I, 124 62 Ibid., & Samayoa Guevara, H. H., ASGH, IX. 2 03 Pardo, lifew., p. 6 & BAGG, VIH, 1, 13 64 Pardo, f;/fm., p. 81. Gum, p. 97 & AGG, A 1.2-2-1 1.777-1783
5

(1687) 5 Pardo, Efem., p. 104 66 AGG, A 1.2-5-15.766-2207-16 (1718) 67 Vzquez de Espinosa, Antonio. Ln Audiencia de Guatemala, 68AGG, A 1.11-5025-211 (1741) & BAGG, X, 2. 162 ff 69 Pardo, :/fm.,p. 164
70/fcid., p. 166

I,

Por no conformarse

estas pilastras

muy

discuti-

~lbid.,ip. 192

das a los antecedentes ms clsicos, las han descrito algunos autores modernos como churriguerescas.

72 Pardo, Efem., p. 10 -3 Ibid., p. 17 74 /6i., pp. 18-19

75 Juarros,

I,

125-126
1

76AGG, A

1.18-5031-21

(1740)
la

77 Villacorta C., J.

Antonio, Historia de Guatemala, pp. 229-233

Capitana General de

78 Juarros, I, 126 & Vzquez, IV, 363 79 Pardo, Efem., p. 36

80 Chinchilla A., p. 87
81 Pardo, Efem., p. 34

82AGG, A 1.18-5031-211 (1740) & BAGG. I. 2. 141-144 83 Vzquez, IV, 364 & Pardo, Efetti., p. 35 84 Juarros, I, 126 85 Pardo, Efem., p. 97, AGG, A 1.2-2-11.779-1785 (1698) BAGG, X, 3, 193-194. AGG, A 1.2.9-25.348-2840 (1698),
,

Parece ser esto un uso exagerado del trmino. Por cierto, hay muy poca semejanza con lo que se generalmente como el churrigueresco mexicano y no parece relacionarse con los antecedentes churriguerescos espaoles. Adems, se asemeja aun menos al estpite de Italia o de Espaa, del cual se supone haberse derivado. No obstante, es posible que desarrollara Diego de Porres su interpretacin de esta forma, de libros de arquitectura italianos y espaoles que se conocan en Guatemala, como ha sealado Luis Lujan
clasifica

VI, 3, 429 1.18-5031-211 (1740) & BAGG, I. 2. 142 87 Vzquez. IV, 393 & Ximnez, III, 356 88 AGG, A 1.10.3-31313-4047 (H-fS) 89 Pardo, /fm.,p. 166 'MIbid.,p. 169 91 AGG, A 1.18-5031-211 (1740), BAGG, 1.2. 141-144 & BAGG, X, 3, 194-196 92 Juarros I, 126 93 Pardo. Efem., p. 138 94 Pardo, GhiVi, p. 179 95AGG A 1.11-28.941-3011 (1767) & BAGG, VIII, 3, 359-367 96 Daz. V. M. Ciudad Romntica Colonial, p. 40

BAGG,

Muoz.
Cristo,

^'"^

80AGG, A

Es interesante

el

claustro

de

la

Escuela de

aunque es relativamente pequeo y sin adorno. La sensacin de verticalidad de la arquera de dos pisos, resulta del rea pequea que se
encuentra as circunvalada y se logra a pesar de las proporciones bajas y pesadas de los pilares de orden toscano (163 d). Hay semejanza definitiva entre esta arcada, con sus bvedas vidas, y la del Ayuntamiento, que fue tambin obra de Diego de Porres.
este arquitecto que estaba terla obra de la iglesia en 1730, tambin tas para dar trmino al convento. ^"^ De ello se desprende que dicho convento no estaba concluido en 1720, ao sealado por Villacorta como el de su bendicin. ^*-

97 Juarros, I, 126 98 Pardo, Efem., p. 29-30 A 1.2-2-11.766-1772 (1611) & BAGG, VIII, 99 Ibid. 100 Remesal, II, 354 & Vzquez, IV, 324 & 368 ff 101 Chinchilla A., p. 50 102 Pardo, Efem., p. 51 8c Ximnez, II, 244

Cuando inform

AGG

1,

27

minada

el costo

lOSChinchilla A., p. 51
104 Daz, V.

M.

op.

cit. p.

58

108

LOS MONA.STERIOS
105 Pardo, Efem., p. 166 101! Pardo, Gua, p. 103 107 Pardo, Efem., p. 166 108 Juarros, I, 127
ion/6rf.

&

172

and AGG, A 1.23-1512-262 (1559) no Juarros, I, 127 & AGG, A 1.7-7-14.301-2054 (1690) iiiAGG, A 1,7-14.299-20,53-80 (1645) & BAGG, X, 4,
112

276-281

Vzquez, IV, 381


I,

113 Juarros,

127-128

114 Ibid., 128

1.7-14.299-2053-156(1559) BAGG, X, 4. 267-268 & AGG, A 1.7-7-14.301-2054 (1690) 115 Juarros, I, 182 & Milla, Jos, Hiitoiin de la Amrica Central II, 139 n.\GG, A 1.7-53.999-6065- 1 7V (1667) AGG, A 1.7-14.299-2053-92 (1667) k BAGG, X, 4, 281-286 AGG, A 1.7-14.299-2053-97 (1667) & BAGG, X, 4, 286-289 117 Juarros, I, 128 118 AGG, A 1.2-2-11.777-1783 (1686) & BAGG, X, 4, 290-291 119 Pardo, Efein.,p. 81 AGG, A 1.2-2-11.777-1783 (1687) & BAGG, X. 4, 291-294 120 Fuentes y Guzmn, III, 351-359, Juarros, I, 128 & Pardo, Guia, p. 116 121 Juarros, I, 128, Fuentes y Guzmn. III, 349-355 & Pardo, Efem., p. 64 122 Chinchilla A., p. 51 12:! Ibid., pp. 76, 77 & 89
124 Fuentes y Ibid., 352 126 Ibid., 359
12-5

& AGG, A

Guzmn,

111,

359

IV, 381 12-Vzquez, IV, 359, AGG, A 1.2-5-15.776-2207-71 (1719) & BAGG, VIII, 126 128 Chinchilla A., pp. 90-91 & 103 129 AGG, A 1.7-14,299-2053-59 (1638) BAGG, X, 4, 270-276
,

& Vzquez,

&

Juarros
130 Juarros,
131

I,

151 151

I,

& Pardo, Efem.,

p. 41

AGG, A 1.2-2-1 1.776- 1782 (1683) & A 1.10.3-18.803-2448 (1720) BAGG, VIII, I, 122 & Pardo, Efem., p. 120 A 1.10,3-18.803-2448 (1720) 134 AGG, A 1.7-14.299-2053-254 (1743) & BAGG, X, 4, 294-295
132

133..\GG,

13,5

Garca de Concepcin,
.527-530

P. Fr. Jos, Historia bethlemitica. pp. 367-371, 376-386, .399-403, 406-419, 486-494, 511-524 &

Vzquez, Hermano Pedro, p. 6 137 Vzquez, op. cit. pp. 19 & 29-49, Pardo, Efem., p. 50 Garca de Concepcin, pp. 161-171 k Metrpoli Colonial, 138 Juarros, I, 129 & Garca de Concepcin, pp. 171-176 139 Garca de Concepcin, p. 170 140 Pardo. Efem., p. 54 141 Garca de Concepcin, pp. 175-181 142 Pardo, Efem.. p. 57 143 Vzquez, IV, 4,58 & Garca (le Concepcin, pp. 179-181 144 Vzquez, IV. 466-471 14,') Garca de Concepcin, p. 364 140/birf. and Juarros I. 129
I3fi

p.

220

estaba en mal estado el convento, y no haba ms que cinco religiosos y dos novicios en 19,3 I Despus de los terremotos de 1751, pidieron ayuda econmica.'"* Hasta aos recientes, el edificio del convento ([ued en mal estado y estaba desocupado con excepcin de unas cuantas habitaciones. Los terremotos de 1773 destrozaron un muro del claustro, pero qued en pie el templo y sufri menos daos (|ue la mayor parte de los otros en Santiago. Se da una torre, pero segn Pardo, sta y la iglesia se reconstruyeron a mediados del siglo XIX.'"' Probablemente sera ms exacto interpretar la palabra "reconstruida' como 'reparada.' Tambin dice Pardo que la torre meridional de la fachada con su reloj, se destruy en los terremotos de 1917-18.'"" Se reconstruy esta ltima sin su reloj, al renovarse el convento, un poco antes de 1944. Conocido hoy el templo como la Escuela de Cristo, est en buenas condiciones, siendo uno de los ms importantes de la ciudad. Si se considera demasiado severa la fachada, y el revestimiento de piedra menos intere.sante que el ataurique ms imaginativo, usado en otras iglesias de la ntigtia, es posible admirar a la distancia su cpula bien proporcionada (1()3 b), Y aimque carece de buenos altares, contiene la iglesia algunas obras de arte de la poca colonial, entre ellas el muy venerado Cristo con la cruz a cuestas (Nazareno) de tamao natural, y un Cristo crucificado. Se supone que estas dos imgenes de madera son del renombrado escultor, Ouirio Catao.'"' quien se dice vivi cerca de este templo, desde 1575 a 1595."'*'

En 1740

147
148

AGG, A

1.2-2-11.775-1781

(1668)
172

Vzquez. IV, 464 & Vzquez, Hermano Pedro, pp. 3.39-340 Vzquez, Hermano Pedro, p. 340 k Garca de Concepcin, pp. 312-343 1-.0 AGG, A 1,23-4583-120 (1675) Juarros I, 130 k Garca de Concepcin, pp, 366-397 IM Ibid., pp, 392-397 It AG(,, A 1.23-4,583- 20 (1675) i')2 Garca de Concepcin, pp. 462 469
149
,

V izqi

173 174 175 176 177

153 Ibid., pp. 376-378. 401-419, 485-494 154 Ibid., p. 596 155 Pardo, Efem., pp. 85-86 156
157

,507-530

178
179

IV, 365 Pardo, Gim, p 108 Chinchilla A., p. 90 Vzquez, IV, 366 Pardo, Efem.,p. 166 Pardo, Guia, p. 108 Pardo, //cm.,p. 166

AGG, A 1.18.5027-21 BAGG, X, 3, 200 201


Juarros,
I,

Vzquez, Hermano Pedro, pp. 343-344 Pardo, Guia, p. 105


1

p.

342

Garca de Concepcin,
I

148 132
(1740)

158

159

AGG, A 1.2-2-11.778-1784 (1692) k BAGG, VIH, 1,72-75 AGG, A 1,18.5034-21 (1740) B.VGG, I, 2, 145-147 & BAGG, X, 3, 197-198
,

Vzquez, IV, 384


I

Juarros,

I,

AGG A
Ibid.

1.18-.5029-211

k BAGG,
,

I, 2,

1.36-137

'

160 Ibid.. k Garca de Concepcin, pp. 161 Pardo. Efem.,p. 122


162/foid., p. 166

372

ff
i

AGG, A

1.11-16.779-2292 (1720)

BAGG,

VIII,

1,

129

Juarros,

I,

131

Pardo, Efem., p. 92 Vzquez. IV, 365

Juarros, I, 190 iPardo, /em., p. 133 Pardo, Guia, p. 1 10 Kubler k Soria, Art and Architecture of Spain and Portugal, Vzquez, I, 98
' i

p.

>

Lujan Muoz, Luis, La Pilaslra-Estifnte Serliana, C. 4


Chinchilla A., p. 91
Villacorta, Historia, p. 320 AGG, A 1.18,5029-211 (1740) k BAGG, AGG, A 1.10.3-18.807- 2448 (1751) Pardo, Guia, p. 111

AGG. A AGG, A

1.2-2-11.778-1784 (1691-1695) 1.2-2-11.779-1785 (1695)


p,

It

BAGG

VIII.

1,
:

iPardo, /fHi.,

97
(1740)
8c

I,

2,

137

'AGG, A
I

1,18-5027-211

Pardo, /i/em.,

p.

99
' 1

AGG. A 1.2-2-11.780-1786 (1701) & Vzquez, IV, 365 AGG. A 1.20-738-24 vuelto (1703) Juarros, I, 131-132. BAGG, X, 3, 199, BAGG, I, 139 ff, Vzquez, IV, 365-366.
,

Ibid. Daz, V.

M.

Bellas Artes, p. 214


p.

Pardo, Efem.,

p. 100

& Pardo, Guia,

p. 108

Pardo, Guia,

179

Church ruin

Iglesia arruinada

Section of monastery ruin Porcin arruinada del convento

Kitchen

SANTO DOMINGO
110

Fragment of a statue Fragmento de imagen

Closter ruin

Ruinas del claustro

SANTO DOMINGO
111

CLOISTER FOUNTAIN
formerly
in

Santo Domingo

Monastery

ANTIGUA

234 56789K5

112

d Fountain in its original location Fuente en su sitio original

e VVashing place ormerly on the site of 'a' Pila con lavaderos antiguamente en el
sitio

de

'a'

SANTO DOMINGO
113

SAN FRANCISCO

Street of the Processions

Calle de los Pasos

Salomonic pilasters Pilastras salomnicas

West gate

to the church enclosure Entrada occidental al atrio del templo

SAN FRANCISCO
115

Bm
a

View from

the tower of Santa Clara

Vista desde la torre de Santa Clara

Drawing of fabada, after Curtis (1888) Dibujo de la fachada, segn Curtis (18

Fa9ade of church in 1938 Fachada en 1938

SAN FRANCISCO
116

Bell tower base

Detail over entrance

Base del campanario

Detalle sobre la entrada

SAN FRANCISCO
117

'i
c,

Salomonic columns of the fa^ade Columnas salomnicas de la fachada

SAN FRANCISCO
118

Interior of sacristy

Interior de la sacrista

Tower back of high Apndice absidal

altar

SAN FRANCISCO
119

120

i j

'
(

}z t

fT

5 "i^L^^i

121

^^.l'

--^

Interior detail of church wall

Detalle de

muro

interior de la iglesia

SAN FRANCISCO
122

4L
tB^'
a

Ruin north of church and the restored Chapel of the Third Order Ruina al norte de la iglesia y capilla restaurada de la Tercera Orden

SAN FRANCISCO

123

Painted decoration of transept Pintura decorativa del transepto

c,

Great hall or Aula magna

General de Estudios

SAN FRANCISCO
124

Decorative mural of the reception room

Decoraciones murales en

la portera

^^^""^
b
Reception room ceiling

Techo de

la portera

Exterior of Loreto Chapel


Capilla de N.S. de Loreto (exterior)

Clock tower over Loreto Chapel Torre del reloj encima de la capilla de N.S. de Loreto

SAN FRANCISCO
125

^i^

Cloister fountain

and west wall

after excavation in 1944


ser

Fuente del claustro y muro occidental despus de

excavados en 1944

*i^*.-

-'"J:

'/

^i-.,

m
b
Southwest comer of cloister (1934) Esquina sudoeste del claustro
c

Northwest crner befoi Esquina noroeste antes tk


(

lada

SAN FRANCISCO
126

b Bowl (as seen in the prison patio in 1934) Taza (como se vea en el patio de la crcel en 1934)

iittiuyiinii

..

..

Basin of the fountain, without bowl (1938)


Pila de la fuente, sin taza (1938)

Fountain

ot

San Francisco, now in

La Merced Phua
Fuente de San Francisco, actualmente en la plaza de la Merced

d, e Details of

basin

Detalles de la pila

SAN FRANCISCO
127

CLOISTER rOUNTAIN

SAN

FRANCISCO MONASTERY

MOVED TO MERCED PLAZA ANTIGUA

_-

'?

'I

Vault of

cloister

walk

Bveda

del claustro

Cloister before excavation

Central stairway
Escalera central

Claustro antes de

la

excavacin

SAN FRANCISCO
129

^^'
a

Ruin

of nfirmary

Restos de

la

enlermera

Room between central stair and refectory


Sala entre la escalera central y el refectorio

Ruin from south garden


Ruinas desde
el

Kitchen

Cocina

jardn meridional

SAN FRANCISCO
130

^^fiT
a

->-'>,wr

San Antonio Chapel and infirmary from the


Capilla de San

east

Antono

y enfermera desde el este

South wall of San Antonio Chapel Muro meridional de la capilla de San Antonio

SAN FRANCISCO
131

MONASTERY

AND

ChURCH

La
FOUNDFJD

Merced
Antigua
154 2
1,54 7 - 16(i()

C:c)N.si li f:Ti;i)

182

Platform of entrance to monastery

and church Lonja delante


y la
iglesia

del convento

LA MERCED

133

South entrance to church Portada meridional de la iglesia

Main entrance

to

church

Puerta principal de la iglesia

Buttresses of south wall

Contrafuertes del
c

muro meridional

Monastery and church Convento e iglesia

LA MERCED
154

Gable crowning fa^ade

Remate de

la

fachada

South

bell

tower

Campanario meridional

LA MERCED

myM^^m^1^^
.'

^ i^^s ^HP--^ -^^^^^^^^ W'-^-'.^m^m^ mi mm^W^ ^^:: V^M^'^^f

i-&^^ifX

^IH
W/^^^^w

B w^im WL m vnm'bt
&r-'

KpK'^:^
r^^^w^^il^?'
:--~^~-^^^^
?'.,,

"^nSSimSk^S^A 1 lP^*ltf-r
li.^ti^s>'V
1

i^^^^F^''

'r^^W m^1

^^H
''i^^RRS^Hv

^^HKSPniQlH

IM'l

^^1

.}]^

'";'

IPK^^J ^^^3| *^^*'5i|^B '^'"^^H 9/mJAiL ^^p"^-'' i t'' .^^wv 1


'

^^^

^' ?S^
c/fr\^-V^

j^^gg^-Jj'

fr!!rr-:;"::-:!r

n 1

^^^^^^^^^^^K

iO^iiai>^^^s ^i
Details of the fa^ade

Detalles de la fachada

LA MERCED
136

Plaster decoration of

upper fa^ide

Ataurique de

la

parte superior de la fachada

LA MERCED

137

/
\ /

K
5

DOUBLE DOOR TO THE CLOISTER

OF

MERCED
.2

MONASTERY
i
I

SCALE OF DOOR

1=

=^

N^

2
3

I
4

SCALf Of DETAILS

138

Monastery entrance
Prtico del convento

Door

to

monastery

Puerta del convento

c,

Details of monastery entrance Detalles de la entrada al convento

LA MERCED

139

CLOISTER

FOUNTAIN

MERCED

MONASTERY
ANTIGUA

140

LA MERCED

Cloister fountain before restoration

Fuente del claustro antes de

ser restaurada

LA MERCED
142

Cloister fountain after restoration

Fuente del claustro despus de restaurada

LA MERCED

143

te.

#.

p
b

Dome over crossing


Cpula sobre
el

1*

i*'

crucero

Dome from cloister Cpula desde el claustro

South

aisle of

church
del templo

Nave meridional

LA MERCED

i^

wm^^srsttmrIS^

^
Upper
part of church from the southeast
el

Parte superior de la iglesia desde

sudeste

Glazed lion
de
la

at base of

dome
1

Len en cermica vidriada en


cpula

base

Linterna de

Lantern above dome la cpula

LA MERCED

145

South wall of church

Muro
.^a?.

meridional de

la iglesia

-fme^.

vf

Northeast comer of nave Extremo noreste de la nave

Door from church


Puerta desde
el

to cioister
al

templo

claustro

compaa de jess
146

East fa^ade

Fachada oriental

Head

of choir

window
d
Detail of lower fa^ade

Cabecero de ventana del coro


Detalle de la parte inferior de la fachada

compaa de jess

147

Interior detail over aisle

Detalle sobre la nave lateral

ife J.

El ^^^'^.wm.
,

/i

gJ
JHk
''<^^I[
d

Painted decoration of arches Pintura decorativa de los arcos

'^

lll^L-.. <e

North wall of the Jesuit house

Muro

septentrional de la casa jesuta

Narthex of church Nrtex del templo

compaa de jess
148

Church and
Iglesia y

bell

tower

campanario

South wall of church

Muro

meridional de

la iglesia

SAN AGUSTN
149

Upper niche

Nicho superior

Lower niche

Nicho

inerior

SAN AGUSTN
150

MEASURED AND DRAWN BY

A N N S
I

151

C:hui

h of San Pedro Apstol

Iglesia

de San Pedro Apstol

Entrance to hospital Portada del hospital

Detail above hospital entrance

Detalle sobre la entrada al hospital

SAN JUAN DE DIOS


152

Polychromed statue of the Assumption Imagen policromada de N.S. de la Asuncin

Niche and pediment above door Nicho y frontn sobre la puerta

SAN JUAN DE DIOS

San Lzaro Church


Iglesia

de San Lzaro

Upper

fa^ade of church

Parte superior de la fachada de la iglesia

154

SAN JUAN DE DIOS

Cloisterruin (1934)

Ruinas del claustro (1934) c

BELN
155

Detail of fa^ade

Detalle de la fachada

Typical vault

Bvedas

tpicas

BELN
156

Northweast crner of nave Esquina noroeste de la nave mayor

^^K^

Church and monastery from


Iglesia y

the west

convento desde

el oeste

RECOLECCIN
157

158

Northwest comer o first cloister Esquina noroeste del primer claustro

Interior of sacristy

Interior de la sacrista

RECOLECCIN
159

^^m.^
Lantern over central stairs Linterna encima de la escalera central b
Northeast comer of second cloister (1931) Esquina noreste del segundo claustro (1934)

Arch at front of sanctuary Arco delante del presbiterio d


Plaster decoration of refectory ceiling

Ataurique del techo del refectorio

Cornice of sanctuary Cornisa del presbiterio

View

of nave

from

sacristy roof
el

Vista de la nave desde

techo de la sacrista

RECOLECCIN

Southwest crner of

first

cloister

Esquina sudoeste del primer claustro

Kitchen

Cocina

Second

cloister

from roof of
el

sacristy

Claustro segundo desde

techo de la sacrista

South corridor of second cloister Corredor meridional del segundo claustro

Top of spiral

stairs to sa(

Parte superior de escaler. al techo de la sacrista

RECOLECCIN

161

West fa^ade of Escuela de Cristo Church Fachada occidental de la Escuela de Cristo

Cloister (1934)

Claustro (1934)

SAN FELIPE NERI


162

(ESCUELA DE CRISTO)

Interior of

dome over crossing

Interior de la cpula sobre el crucero

Cloister in 1934

Claustro (1934)

SAN FELIPE NERI

(ESCUELA DE CRISTO)

Detail of south facade of

d Estpite
Clara

pilasters of west wall of

Santa

Santa Clara in Antigua Detalle de la fachada meridional de Santa Clara en la Antigua


164

Pilastras estpites del

muro

occidental

de Santa Clara

estpites

La Concepcin Convent entrance


Portada del convento de
la

Concepcin

VI

convens
LA CONCEPCIN
182-189

CONVENTOS
LA CONCEPCIN
182-189

For more than fifty years the City of Santiago was without a religious house for women. Bishop Marroqun had recognized the need and willed properties for a nunnery in 1563,^ but it was not until February 1, 1578 that an abbess and three nuns arrived from Mxico to found the convent of La Inmaculada Concepcin de Mara.- The evidence of this institution's importance to the community is apparent from its rapid growth. By the end of March 1585 there were more than thirty professed nuns in residence.'' Dowries were large among the new nuns because most of these women came from the leading families of the colony. Eventually the convent occupied a site of more than two square blocks, a space comparable to that of San Francisco Monastery, and its church was one of the richest in the City of Santiago. Since no limit was set on the number of nuns at the time of its foundation, there were great variations over the nearly two centuries of its history. There may have been as many as one hundred and ninety at one time.' A statement dated December 9, 1729 says that one hundred and three nuns, one hundred and forty wards, seven hundred servants and twelve charity workers were housed in the convent, and adds that there were twenty-two running fountains in the cloisters and patios.'' Ho.wever, in 740 there were only two novices and seventy-nine nuns." The buildings of the convent were almost completely destroyed in 1717, and the nuns were
1

Durante ms de cincuenta aos, la ciudad de Santiago no tuvo monasterio de monjas. El obispo Marroqun se haba dado cuenta de esta falta y en su testamento haba dejado unos bienes para este propsito, en 1563.^ Pero no fue sino hasta el primero de febrero de 1578 que llegaron una abadesa y tres monjas de Mxico para fundar el monasterio de la Inmaculada Concepcin de Mara. ^ Su crecimiento rpido muestra la importancia de este establecimiento para la ciudad. Para fines de marzo de 1585 haba ms de treinta monjas profesas que vivan en l.^
Las nuevas profesas traan dotes grandes, pues
la

mayor parte de ellas eran de


de
la colonia.

las familias

principales

forced to live in thatched huts for a considerable


time.' It is probable that the decline in numbers was a direct result and that, with the completion

of other convents, the original interest in this convent was never regained. However, the church was repaired, and portions of the remaining ruins indicate that it was still an important religious house in 1773(185). There are insufficient ruins to give an adequate idea of the plan of the establishment at the period of its greatest expansin. But the plan of the church ( 182 ) is an indication of the size and im-

el tiempo, el convento ocup un sitio de ms de dos manzanas cuadradas, una rea comparable a la del convento de San Francisco, y su iglesia estaba entre las ms ricas de la ciudad de Santiago. Puesto que no se limit el nmero de monjas cuando se fund, ste vari bastante durante su historia de casi dos siglos. Es posible que en una poca haya habido hasta ciento noventa.* Una declaracin fechada el 9 de diciembre de 1729, afirma que haba ciento tres monjas, ciento cuarenta pupilas, setecientas criadas y doce beatas profesas domiciliadas en el convento, y aade que haba en los claustros y patios veintids fuentes "corrientes."'^ Sin embargo, en 1740 no haba ms que dos novicias y setenta y nueve monjas." Se arruinaron casi por completo los edificios del convento en 1717, y las monjas se vieron forzadas a vivir en ranchos de paja por bastante tiempo.^ Es probable que la disminucin del nmero de religiosas se debi a eso y a que al completarse otros conventos, el inters original en ste nunca se recobr. De todos modos, se repar la iglesia, y las partes que quedan arruinadas indican que todava era una casa de religiosas importante en 1773(185). No quedan bastantes ruinas para proporcionarnos una idea adecuada del plano del establecimiento en el perodo de su mayor desarrollo. Pero el plano del templo ( 182 ) indica el tamao y la

Con

CONVENTS
portance of the convent. The church, as seen from the Street, (183 a) is massive and almost devoid of any ornamentation or architectural interest except for the belfries at the west end of the choir (183 b). The large, single nave parallels the street in the typical fashion of convent churches with two large doors opening to the street. The nuns' choir occupied about one-third of the temple and ^vas t^s'O
stories high.

Another indication of the

size of the

convent may be noted in the number of confessionals serving the nunnery. It is reported that some of the finest altars and art of the city adorned
this church.

In spite of the ruinous condition of the convent whole there is one rea that is surprisingly well preserved. This is the unique cloister within a cloister supposedly built for the daughter of a wealthy citizen who was also a judge of the Royal Court. Juana de Maldonado y Paz, beautiful and talented poetess and musician, was a controversial figure until her death at the age of forty in 1638. With the wealth of her father she was able to build and retire into an extensive house of her own within the convent grounds ( 188 ). This unit furnishes a clear picture of the manner in which this professed nun lived. There were spacious rooms
as a

around a private cloister. a prvate chapel, and a sumptuous bath which had its own hot water supply ( 189 ), a laundry, kitchen and servants' quarters, all suggesting comfort, refinement and even
luxury
(

187

).

importancia de este convento. La iglesia, vista desde la calle (183 a), es maciza y casi sin ornamentacin o inters arquitectnico, con excepcin de los campanarios al extremo occidental del coro (183 b). Su nica nave es grande y paralela a la calle en la manera tpica de los templos conventuales de rdenes femeninas, con dos puertas grandes que se abren a la calle. El coro de las monjas llenaba la tercera parte, ms o menos, de la iglesia y era de dos pisos. Se puede notar otro indicio del tamao del convento en el nmero de confesionarios que posea. Se dice que algunos de los altares ms esplndidos y unas de las mejores obras de arte de la ciudad adornaban esta iglesia. A pesar de la condicin ruinosa de la totalidad del convento, hay una parte que sorprende por estar bastante bien conservada. Es sta un singular claustro dentro de otro, construido segn se dice, para la hija de un vecino acaudalado que desempeaba el cargo de oidor de la Real Audiencia. Juana de Maldonado y Paz, hermosa poetisa y msico de gran talento, fue una persona que origin polmicas hasta su muerte, en 1638, a la edad de cuarenta aos. Con la riqueza de su padre, pudo construir una casa amplia ( 188 ) dentro del convento y vivir en ella. Esta unidad da una vista clara de la manera de vivir de una monja profesa. Haba habitaciones capaces, alrededor de un claustro particular, una capilla, y un bao suntuoso que tena su propio depsito de agua caliente ( 189 ), lavandera, cocina y cuartos para las criadas, sugiriendo todos la comodidad, el refinamiento y aun
el lujo
(

187

).

SANTA CATALINA MRTIR


190

second convent to be founded in Santiago was granted the necessary permission in 1609.** On the 27th of December of that year four nuns of Concepcin took possession of a house which was given them in order to establish a convent of Santa Catalina (Catarina) Virgen y Mrtir." Located on a site later taken over by the Agustinians, the house proved to be unadaptable to the needs of the nuns, and a few years later the bishop sought a better location for them.'" Their benefactor was Alonso de Cullar who gave them a house and property in the block just south of Merced Monastery with a considerable frontage on the street leading to the Royal Plaza. The house was adequate for their immediate needs and was rapidly readied for their occupancy on May 10, 1613." In the ensuing years both the convent and the church were developed with great fervor. By 1631
the number of nuns had increased to fifty-two'Although the convent was physically small in size, its cloister was described as being of well-built masonry with columns having capitals and bases
of carved stone. The smallest of the conventual churches in

The

SANTA CATALINA MRTIR


190

1609, se concedi el permiso necesario para fundacin del segundo convento de monjas en Santiago.* El da 27 de diciembre de aquel ao se les dio a cuatro monjas de la Concepcin, posesin de una casa donada a ellas para establecer un convento de Santa Catalina Virgen y Mrtir." Situado en un solar adquirido ms tarde por los agustinos, result ser inadaptable a las necesidades de las monjas, y unos aos ms tarde les busc el obispo mejor sitio.'" Fue su bienhechor Alonso de Cullar, quien les dio una casa y un sitio en la manzana inmediatamente al sur del convento de la Merced,
la

En

que

tena

un

frente considerable sobre la calle

que

conduca a la Plaza Real. Era adecuada la casa para sus necesidades inmediatas, y se alist rpidamente para que la pudieran ocupar el 10 de mayo de 1613." En los aos siguientes el convento y el templo se desarrollaron con gran entusiasmo. Para 1631, el nmero de monjas se haba aumentado a cincuenta y dos.'^ Aunque el convento era de redu-

CONVENTOS
Santiago was begun in 1626 when Francisco Hernndez de Fuentes contracted to do the work.^'* It is evident that this construction was faulty, or inadequately completed, since it required rebuilding in 1631. The church which stands in ruin today was begun under the direction of Cristbal de Salazar with funds bequeathed by Alonso de Cullar. The funds were exhausted before the church ^vas completed. however, and when Salazar died he bequeathed sufFicient money to carry on the work. The church was finally dedicated on September 15, 1647.^* The plan followed a common arrangement found in convent churches where the long dimensin parallels the street. Two doors in the east wall provided public access to the single nave, the main altar was at the north end, and at the south end there was a screened choir for the nuns. The church is described as having six side altars with sculptures of considerable merit. Today only the walls of the chtirch remain standing, and the interior is filled with debris. There is littlc that is recognizable from the decido tamao materialmente, su claustro se describi como de mampostera, bien construido, con columnas que tenan capiteles y basas de piedra
tallada.

La ms pequea de las iglesias conventuales de Santiago se empez en 1626, cuando Francisco Hernndez de Fuentes contrat la obra.^^ Es evidente que esta fbrica era defectuosa o inadecuadamente terminada, puesto que necesitaba reconstruirse

en

1631.

La

iglesia

que permanece en

beyond the fact that the fa^ade is high and plain, and one of the two doors has a royal Spanish coat of arnis that is delicately carved ( 190 ). There are no indications of two bell towers or of twisted coluinns on the facade. If these features existed on the original facade, it is possible that they might have been removed after the earthcjuake of 1717 when both the church and the convent suffered some daniage. During the second half of the seventeenth century there were numerous requests from the abbess for space to expand.^'^ The convent was limited by private properties to the south and adjacent streets, and the number of nuns was increasing. In 1683 the municipality had refused a request to cise the Street to the south for an extensin in that direction.""' But on August 21. 1693 permission was granted to build an arched bridge over the street to provide access to an orchard and garden on the east.^^ This was accomplished at the period when membership of the convent was near its height. In 1697 it is reported that there were one hundred and ten nuns and six novices." After the damage of the 1717 earth(]uake was repaircd, the number of nuns declined to less than fifty in 1740.'" The arch of Santa Catalina sustained damage in 1773 but did not fall. It was repaired in the middle of the nineteenth century and still spans the street-" (190 a). The cloisters of the nunnery are now so completely rebuilt for school and residential use that it is very difTicult to positively identify any pre-1773 construction, or to be sure of the general forn of the plan. One can only surmise that the several courtyards may represent those of the colonial period in size and position.
scriptions of early writers

ruinas hoy se inici bajo la direccin de Cristbal de Salazar, albacea de Alonso de Cullar, con fondos dejados por ste. Se agot este caudal antes de terminar el templo, sin embargo, y cuando falleci Salazar, dej bastante dinero para continuar la obra. Por fin se dedic la iglesia el 15 de septiembre de 1647.'^ El plano sigui la distribucin encontrada comnmente en iglesias conventuales femeninas, donde la dimensin ms larga queda paralela a la calle. Dos puertas en el muro oriental daban acceso al pblico a la nica nave; el altar mayor estaba al extremo septentrional, y en la extremidad meridional, se hallaba un coro con reja para las monjas. Se ha escrito que tena
el

templo

seis

altares laterales

con imgenes de
la iglesia,

considerable mrito.

Hoy

slo

quedan en pie

los

muros de

y est lleno el interior de escombros. Hay poco de las descripciones de los autores de otros tiempos

que se ptieda reconocer, excepto el hecho de que era alta y sencilla la fachada, y que una de las dos puertas tiene im escudo de las armas reales de Espaa, delicadamente tallado ( 190 ). No hay indicios de dos espadaas o campanarios ni de columnas salomnicas en la portada. Si existan estos elementos en la fachada primitiva, es posible que fueran destruidos despus de los terremotos de 1717, cuando el templo y el convento sufrieron
algn dao.

Durante

la

abadesa solicit

segunda mitad del siglo XVII, la sitio para ensanchar el convento

varias veces.'" El solar original estaba limitado por


casas particulares al norte y calles contiguas, y el

nmero de monjas se atunentaba continuamente. En 1683, el Ayuntamiento haba rehusado una


solicitud para cerrar la calle al sur para permitir
esa direccin.'"' Pero el 21 de concedieron licencia para construir un puente arqueado sobre la calle, para darles acceso a una huerta y unos jardines al este.'^ Se hizo esto en el tiempo en que el convento alcanzaba su mayor nmero de profesas. Se inform que en 1697, tena ciento diez monjas y seis novicias.'* Despus de la reparacin de los daos causados por los terremotos de 1717, el nmero de monjas baj; y en 1740, haba menos de cincuenta.'" El arco de Santa Catalina sufri daos en 1773 pero no se cay. Se repar a mediados del siglo XIX y todava se extiende de un lado a otro de la

una ampliacin en
les

agosto de 1693

CONVENTS

SANTA TERESA DE JESS


191-192

calle (190 a).^"

Ya

se

han reconstruido tan complepara utilizarlos

tamente

los claustros,

como

colegio

y viviendas,

que

es

sumamente

difcil identificar

For many years the people of Santiago had wanted a convent of the Barefoot Carmelites.-' Teresa de Jess of Avila, Spain, had made a great impact on that country during the second half of the sixteenth century, and Santa Teresa convent had aheady been founded in Lima, Per. On June 22, 1675 the King gave his permission for the Carmelite foundation in Santiago which was to be known as Santa Teresa de Jess.^- Three nuns of the order who were brought from Lima arrived in Santiago on May 25, 1677.-' They were lodged in the Convent of Santa Catalina Mrtir until their new house was ready on Septembcr 29th of that
In addition to funds raised locally for the construction and endowment, a very considerable sum was given to this convent by a Lima philanyear.-^

plenamente cuakjuier construccin de antes de 1773, o estar cierto de la forma general del plano. Slo se puede suponer que los varios patios representen, posiblemente, los del perodo colonial en tamao y en colocacin.

SANTA TERESA DE JESS


191-192

thropist

and

his wife.-^

formal church of the convent was begun on 17, 1683-" and, following its completion, a week-long festival of inauguration began on April 12, 1687.-' Jos de Forres, the renowned architect of the new Cathedral, was also responsible for this church, and it is a very creditable example of his abilities. The plan is not typical of convent churches. It has greater width and less length than most. The principal public entrance was from an atrium at the west ( 191 a). There was another large door centrally located on the south wall of the church which may have opened to an orchard or garden, but which quite possibly served as a secondary entrance. A similar side door exists at the church of El Calvario.

The

August

Both the fa^ade (191-2) and the interior of the church show the same architectural forms that Forres had recently used at the Cathedral (58-60) even though the proportions and scale of the two churches are very different. There are the same coupled Doric columns on the lower level of the fa^ade with superimposed niches between them. The upper story has lonic columns, but not the

numerous niches
of the niches, the

of the Cathedral.

Minor

details

broken entablature, triangular and broken pediments and decorative motifs, show the same guiding hand in both the Cathedral and Santa Teresa, and quite possibly the craftsmanship of the same masons. The construction of the vaulted interior follows the precedent of the Cathedral (61-62), and there is a striking resemblance in the capitals of the heavy pilasters supporting the vault arches (192 c). Unlike its predecessors in Antigua, the church of Santa Teresa has more resemblance to a parish church than one belonging to a convent. This is suggested both in the plan and the fa^ade. partial explanation for this may be the fact that Santa Teresa was limited to eighteen nuns and three

Desde haca muchos aos los vecinos de Santiago deseaban tener un monasterio de monjas carmelitas descalzas.-^ Teresa de Jess, en Avila, Espaa, haba impresionado muchsimo a su patria durante la segunda mitad del siglo XVI, y ya se haba fundado un convento de su Orden en Lima, Fer. El 22 de junio de 1675, el rey dio licencia para la fundacin carmelita en Santiago, la cual haba de conocerse como el convento de Santa Teresa de Jess. -^ Trajeron de Lima a tres religiosas de la Orden, quienes llegaron a Santiago el 25 de mayo de 1677.^^ Las alojaron en el convento de Santa Catalina Mrtir hasta que estuvo lista su nueva casa, el 29 de septiembre de aquel ao.^* Un filntropo de Lima y su seora haban aadido una suma muy considerable a los fondos dados en Santiago, para la construccin y dotacin de esta Orden. ^" Se inici el trabajo de la iglesia formal de Santa Teresa el 17 de agosto de 1683,^" y una vez terminada la obra, hubo una fiesta de ocho das que empez el 12 de abril de 1687 para celebrar su inauguracin.^^ Jos de Forres, el renombrado arquitecto de la nueva catedral, se encarg tambin de esta iglesia, y es un ejemplo muy apreciable de sus habilidades. El plano no es tpico de las iglesias conventuales. Es ms ancha y menos larga que la mayora. Su entrada principal para el pblico se abra hacia un atrio al oeste (191 a). Haba otra puerta grande colocada centralmente en el muro meridional del templo que, tal vez, se abra a una huerta o jardn, pero que muy posiblemente tambin serva como entrada secundaria. Una puerta lateral parecida existe en la iglesia de

mismo que el interior de muestra las mismas formas arquitectnicas que haba usado Forres un poco antes en la catedral (58-60), aun cuando las proporciones y la escala de las dos iglesias son muy distintas. Se ven las mismas columnas pareadas de orden drico en el cuerpo inferior de la fachada, con nichos superpuestos entre ellas. El cuerpo superior tiene columnas jnicas, pero no tiene las hornacinas numerosas de la catedral. Los detalles menores de los
la iglesia,

El Calvario. La fachada (191-2) lo

CONVENTOS
novices.-'*

The modest upper

choir over the

main

entrance was reached from a large second floor room which was distinguished by a barrel vault. The grille separating the lower nuns' choir from the sanctuary was immediately north o the main altar. This arrangement was repeated in the nearby Capuchin Church ( 205 ) nearly half a century later. The existing ruin indicates that there were only four side altars. The small number of nuns, however, did not restrict them to an overly modest convent. This

nichos, el entablamento roto, los frontones triangulares y rotos, y los motivos decorativos, muestran

directora en la catedral y en Santa posiblemente la artesana de los mismos albailes. La construccin del interior abovedado sigue el ejemplo de la catedral (61-62), y hay una semejanza notable en los capiteles de las gruesas pilastras que sostienen los arcos en que
la

misma mano

Teresa, y

muy

las

bvedas descansan (192

c).

Distinto de sus antecesores en

la

Antigua,

el

was built entirely of masonry around a cloister two stories in height throughout, and was ampie in every rcspect. The arcades of the cloister were low, and the columns heavy in proportion. There were
adjacent gardens. Both the convent and the church were severely damaged by the earthquake of 1717. In 1740, according to a document in the National Archives,-"' temporary shelters were constructed for the nims in the orchard while the convent was restored to its former condition. The vaults of the church were destroyed in 1773, and again the convent suffered damage, biu the building that was repaired in 1740 is still in use more than two centuries later as a municipal
prison.

templo de Santa Teresa se asemeja ms a una iglesia parroquial que a una de un convento femenino. Queda esto sugerido en el plano y en la fachada. Posiblemente esto puede explicarse en parte, por el hecho de que Santa Teresa fue limitado a dieciocho monjas y tres novicias.-* Se entraba al modesto coro alto, por encima de la entrada principal, desde una sala grande del piso alto, la cual fue diferenciada por una bveda de

medio can. La

reja

que separaba

el

coro bajo

del presbiterio estaba inmediatamente al norte del altar mayor. Se repiti esta distribucin casi medio
siglo

ms tarde en
(

la

chinas

205

).

Indica

la

cercana iglesia de las Capuruina actual que no haba

ms que cuatro
les

altares laterales.

SANTA CLARA
193-201

Preparations for Santiago's fourth convent bcgan during the last decade of the seventeenth century. Royal approval for a convent to be founded under the rules of San Francisco was grantcd in 1693.^" house at the east end of the Plaza of San Pedro Apstol was bequeathed with an endowment for the use of the Clarisas, and citizens were

Sin embargo, el pequeo nmero de monjas no limitaba a un convento muy modesto. Este fue edificado enteramente de calicanto alrededor de un claustro de dos pisos por todos sus lados, amplio en todos sus aspectos. Las arcadas del claustro eran bajas, y las columnas pesadas en su proporcin. Haba jardines adyacentes. Los terremotos de 1717 causaron muchos perjuicios en el convento y en la iglesia. En 1740, segn un documento del Archivo Nacional,^" se

construyeron albergues provisionales en la huerta para las monjas, mientras se reconstrua el convento.

generous in their donations.'" The house was made ready for temporary use as a convent, and a small church was built.''Mxico, in December of
guests of

En 1773

se

destruyeron

las

bvedas de

la iglesia,

y otra vez sufri deterioro el convento, pero el edificio que se repar en 1740 sirve todava poco

Six nuns arrived from Puebla de los Angeles, 1699,'''' and were the

ms de dos

siglos

despus como

crcel municipal.

Concepcin Convent until they were ceremoniously installed in their own quarters the I4th of January 1700.''* Until 1703 the nuns had the necessary religious departments in their house, and they were carefully cloistered even though their building was not of the regular convent plan, according to Vzquez. They were successful in obtaining substantial alms, and on February 15, 1703 construction started on a convent building of rough stone and mortar. The building was two-storied and formed three sides of the cloister. The lower story had the inner sacristy, refectory, kitchen, work room and other departments, and the second floor had the novitiate and cells for forty-six nuns. There were infirmarles on both levis. This was finished in two years and re-

SANTA CLARA
193-201

Durante el ltimo decenio del siglo XVII se iniciaron los preparativos para la fundacin del cuarto monasterio de religiosas en Santiago. En
1693, se concedi la licencia real para la fundacin de un convento bajo la regla de San Francisco.^" Se les leg una casa al extremo oriental de la Plaza de San Pedro Apstol y un donativo para el uso de las clarisas. Los vecinos dieron limosnas generosas.^^ Se alist la casa para servir provisionalmente de monasterio, y se construy una iglesia

pequea.^-

CONVENTS
mained unchanged
until 1716.'*'

Juarros also wrote that this first convent was completed in two years.'"'' Certainly the extensive convent building which stands in ruin today could never have been built in this short period of time. Therefore, when it is recorded that the chiirch and convent building suffered severe damage it must be granted that both were structures which were replaced by new construction after 1717. An interesting archive document, dated May 22, 1734, concerning an inspection of the convent by Diego de Forres and Antonio Glvez shows that the building was incomplete on that date. Some of the enclosing walls were not finished, and there were only thirteen cells for nuns upstairs, although there were three stairways leading to these and the infirmary and novitiatc. Downstairs there were ten rooms serving as sacristy, room for convalescents, prison for demented nuns, refectory, kitchen, stair

En diciembre de 1699, llegaron de Puebla de los Angeles, en Mxico, seis monjas^'' quienes fueron huspedes del convento de la Concepcin, hasta que se las instal con toda ceremonia en su propia morada, el 14 de enero de 1700.''* Hasta 1703, tenan las monjas las oficinas necesarias en su casa y bien guardada clausura, aun cuando no era su edificio de la forma conventual acostumbrada, segn Vzquez. Tuvieron xito en obtener limosnas cuantiosas, y el 15 de febrero de 1703, se inici la construccin de un convento de calicanto. Era el edificio de dos pisos y configuraba tres lados
del claustro.

En

el piso

bajo estaban

la sacrista

interior, el refectorio, la cocina, sala

otras oficinas, y el piso alto tena el celdas para cuarenta y seis religiosas. Existan en-

de labor y noviciado y

and passages to interior patios. It was stated main walls enclosing the cloister should be completed as planned and that additional new space was needed in order that rooms around the main cloister might be better used for departments which were currently lacking.'*'
halls

that the

fermeras en ambos pisos. Se termin en dos aos y qued sin cambio hasta 1716.^^ Juarros tambin escribi que se concluy este primer convento en dos aos."" Es verdad que el gran convento que se ve en ruinas hoy, nunca se habra podido edificar en tan poco tiempo. Por
se encuentra apuntado que el templo convento sufrieron daos severos, hay que que los dos eran edificios que fueron reemplazados por nuevas construcciones, despus de 1717. Un documento archivado de mucho inters, fechado el 22 de mayo de 1734, tocante a una inspeccin del convento por Diego de Porres y Antonio Glvez, muestra que estaba incompleta la fbrica en esa fecha. No estaban terminados algunos de los muros que la cercaban, y no haba ms que trece celdas para monjas en el piso alto, aunque haba tres escaleras que daban acceso a stas, a la enfermera y al noviciado. En el piso bajo, se hallaban diez salas que servan de sacrista, sala para convalecientes, crcel para monjas deeso,

cuando

el

asentir

The

formal church of Santa Clara stands at the

end of San Pedro Plaza where it is said that the first house of the nuns was located. Perhaps this large, new temple was planned before 1717, but authentic records are lacking that would verify this. There is a document which states that in 1723 the Church of Santa Clara was being worked

The inauguration, however, did not take place until the llth of August 1734.'"' This long delay was explained in a letter to the King before 1732 asking for assistance, and stating that because of the 1717 earthquakes the Order was without a church and had only half of its former income.'"' The eventual completion a few years later was accomplished through the gcnerosity of the Captain General.*^ The church of Santa Clara, like that of Santa Catalina is oriented with the altar to the north and had two public entrances on the west lateral wall. The street wall has a massive and almost forbidding appearance. Even the decorated entrances ( 193 ) do not overeme this effect. The exterior of the church is faced with a vencer of cut stone
on.''**

mentes, refectorio, cocina, tres piezas para


caleras, y ante trnsito

las es-

que

sala a patios interiores

y a la cocina. Se relataba que los muros que encerraban el claustro, debieron terminarse segn se proyectaba y que se necesitaba espacio adicional para poder servirse mejor de las salas alrededor del claustro principal, para oficinas que les faltaban
entonces.""

La

iglesia definitiva
la

extremo de
se dice,
se

de Santa Clara estaba al Plaza de San Pedro, donde, segn

which is marked off by false mortar joints. The same technique was used on the City Hall and a
few other buildings of the eighteenth century. Beneath this vencer the usual massive walls of masonry construction rubble, brick and mortar were used. Since Diego de Porres was associated with the City Hall and believed to be the architect of the Escuela de Cristo, where this stone vencer was also employed, there is a supposition that he might have been the architect of Santa Clara Church as
well.

encontraba la primera casa de estas Quiz se deline esta nueva iglesia grande antes de 1717, pero faltan documentos autnticos que lo verifiquen. Hay uno, sin embargo, que declara que en 1723 se trabajaba en el templo de Santa Clara."** No obstante, no se estren hasta el 1 1 de agosto de 1734." Esta tardanza larga fue explicada en una carta al rey, antes de 1732, rogndole ayuda, y diciendo que a causa de los terremotos de 1717, estaba sin templo la Orden y no tena ms que la mitad de las rentas que antes
religiosas.

170

CONVENTOS
lengthened to the south by a large two-storied choir for the nuns. It has been pointed out that the door in the south fa^ade o the church was sealed by masonry after the church was completed and a screen added to make a lower choir. This is easily verified by inspection, and it is possible that this was done to correct an error of
is

The

single nave

design as a

document

in

Mxico

states.*-

There

was no real need for the south doorway, and a lower choir opposite the main altar was normal in convent churches. If the lower choir was a change

made

after

1734,

it

improved the functional

ar-

rangement. The same document enumerated various other faults of planning which were evident to the Clarisas, but in its entirety the plan of this convent and its church indicates a unity and a quality which are outstanding. It is apparent that it was an institution designed as a whole and not onc which grew by accretion. The circulation for the various religious functions is well-planned, and there is a particularly
interesting arrangement of confessionals built into

the inner church walls. The sacristy and sanctuary are both large, and crypts were built beneath them
as well as

the
tire

main

under the nave and choir. In addition to altar there were four side altars. The enchurch and choir were covcred with the low

circular vaults

common

to this arca.

unos aos ms tarde, se efectu gracias a la generosidad del Capitn General.*' El templo de Santa Clara, como el de Santa Catalina, est orientado con el altar al norte, y tena dos entradas para el pblico en el muro lateral occidental. Este muro que da a la calle tiene un aspecto macizo y casi demasiado severo. Aun las entradas adornadas ( 193 ) no logran cambiar esta impresin. El exterior de la iglesia est cubierto de un revestimiento de piedra labrada, sealada con junturas de mezcla fingidas. Se us la misma tcnica en el Ayuntamiento y en unos cuantos otros edificios del siglo XVIII. Debajo de esta capa, se usaron las acostumbradas paredes macizas de manipostera, ladrillo y argamasa. Puesto que se asocia Diego de Forres con el Ayuntamiento, y se cree que fue el arquitecto de la Escuela de Cristo, donde tambin se us este revestimiento de piedra, se supone que pudiera haber sido tambin el arquitecto de la iglesia de Santa Clara. La nica nave se extiende al sur por medio de un coro grande de dos plantas para las monjas. Se ha sealado que la puerta en la fachada meridional de la iglesia fue tapiada con calicanto despus de haberse terminado el templo, y aadida una reja para hacer un coro bajo. Esto se verifica
reciba.*"

La terminacin

eventual,

is

rich decoration of the south fac^ade (194-5) in sharp contrast to the severity of the one facing

The

the plaza; moreover. it is almost cntirely hidden from public vicw. This fa<;ade is covered with a pattern of deeply modelled plaster ornamentation (195 ac)integrated with a variety of architectural forms. The predominant form is one which is more commonly found in Antigua than any other type of pilaster, a shape which has been given the special

ame of estpite There


.'

is

marked

similarity

between those of Santa Clara and the pilasters on the facjade of the Franciscan church in Almolonga, or Ciudad Vieja(l64 ab). which had an earlier foundation, as has been described prcviously under San Felipe Neri in Chaptcr V. Here the pilasters of Santa Clara are coupled at all levis of the fa^ade and frame nichcs which are filled with figures modelled in plaster. These pilasters, and those used about the doors of the church, are the nearest approach to Churriguercsc]ue in Antigua architecture, but they lack the sharp refinement of line found in the carved stone of Mexican Churrigueresque (193 be). The most interesting feature of this fa^ade is not the estpite forms but the intricate and flowing pattern of molded plaster which is partly stylized and partly naturalistic (194 b)The placement of this elabrate fa^ade seems odd if one considers the financial problem of completing the church. It represents a considerable waste of money and labor if the original intention was to surround it with concealins; walls. A care-

fcilmente reconocindolo, y es posible que se un defecto del plano, como relata un documento en Mxico.*- No se necesitaba realmente la puerta meridional, y un coro bajo enfrente del altar mayor era normal en iglesias conventuales. Si era el coro bajo un cambio hecho despus de 1734, mejor funcionalmente la distribucin. El mismo documento enumer otros varios errores de la traza que eran manifiestos para las clarisas, pero, en su totalidad, el plano de este convento y su iglesia muestran unidad y calidad sobresalientes. Se ve que fue ima institucin que se plane en su totalidad y no creci por agregados
hiciera as para corregir
posteriores.

Se ha proyectado bien

la

circulacin para las

varias funciones religiosas, y la distribucin de los

confesionarios construidos dentro de las paredes interiores del templo, es sumamente interesante. La sacrista, lo mismo que el presbiterio, es grande, y se construyeron bvedas debajo de los dos y tambin debajo de la nave y el coro. Adems del altar mayor, haba cuatro retablos laterales. La iglesia entera y el coro estaban techados con bvedas bajas y circulares tpicas de esta regin. El rico decorado de la fachada (194-5) contrasta

vivamente con plaza; adems,

la

severidad del

est casi

muro que da a la completamente escondida

a los ojos del pblico. Esta fachada est cubierta de un diseo de ornamentacin en estuco pro-

fundamente modelado( 195 ac), integrado con una variedad de formas arquitectnicas. La que pre-

CONVENTS
( 196 ) leads to the conclusin that such was not intended. It is more than probable that this fa^ade faced an atrium, or raised platform, which extended to the crner of the block. There is ampie precedent for this as nearby as the hospital and church of San Pedro Apstol at the opposite end of the plaza ( 152 ). The building immediately in front of the fa^ade is not of the same period or seemingly a part of the convent plan. And certainly the private house on the cr-

ful inspection of the plan

domina es la que se encuentra ms en la Antigua que cualquier otro tipo de pilastra, una forma a la cual se ha dado el nombre especial: 'estpite.' Hay una semejanza notable entre stas de Santa Clara y las pilastras de la fachada de una iglesia franciscana fundada anteriormente en Almolonga o Ciudad Vieja(l64 ab), como se ha descrito al trade San Felipe Neri, en el captulo V. Las pilasestn pareadas en todos los cuerpos de la fachada y forman marcos para hornacinas, donde
tar
tras

ner does not belong there. Such an atrium would have added dignity to the church and emphasized the approach to the convent. The convent building was planned with classic simplicity. The very large cloister ( 198 ) was surrounded by a two-storied arcade of excellent proportions. Stairs were large and conveniently placed,

and the rooms of the ground floor were spacious. Most of the walls of the second story have fallen,
but the deep window recesses with
still

seats that are

visible suggest that the cells of the

nuns were

pleasant.

large fountain was centered in the main cloister(l99cd), and a very beautiful smaller fountain

was located

garden south of the kitchen ( 200-1 ). was moved to the courtyard of the Governor's quarters in the od Palace of the Captains General about 1936. Still another garden paralleled the convent on the east, and a very slender court along the north gave the rooms on that side additional privacy. Smaller fountains were located in both of these reas, and small loggias opened to them. There were many refinements both in the Church and
in a

The

tile

of the latter

hay figuras modeladas en estuco. Estas pilastras y las empleadas alrededor de las puertas del templo, se asemejan ms al churrigueresco que cualquier otra obra de la arquitectura de la Antigua, pero les falta el bien diseado refinamiento de lnea que se encuentra en la piedra tallada del churrigueresco mexicano(193bc). Lo ms interesante de esta fachada no es el 'estpite' sino el diseo intrincado y fluido del ataurique que est en parte estilizado y en parte es naturalista (194 b). La situacin de esta esmerada fachada parece rara si uno piensa en los problemas econmicos para concluir el templo. Representa una prdida considerable de dinero y de trabajo si la intencin original fue cercarlo con muros que la escondieran. Un estudio cuidadoso de la planta ( 196 ) hace creer que no fue eso el pensamiento original. Es muy probable que esta fachada diera a un atrio, o lonja, que se extenda hasta la esquina. Hay
suficientes precedentes para esto, tan cerca

como

en

hospital e iglesia de San Pedro Apstol, al otro extremo de la plaza ( 152 ). El edificio que
el

the Convent of Santa Clara, and for a limit of less than fifty nuns the building appears to have been very spacious.

inmediatamente delante de la fachada no es del mismo perodo, ni parece ser parte del plano del convento. Y no hay duda de que la casa particular que se encuentra en la esquina es cosa ajena al diseo. Tal atrio hubiera aadido dignidad a
est

LAS CAPUCHINAS
202-206

At the request

of the

for a convent of their order in Santiago, the

Capuchin nuns of Madrid King

y hecho destacarse la entrada al convento. El edificio del convento se deline con sencillez clsica. El espacioso claustro ( 198 ) estaba rodeado de una doble arquera de proporciones excelentes. Eran grandes las escaleras y estaban bien situadas, y las piezas del piso bajo eran amplias. La mayora
la iglesia los muros del piso alto se han cado, pero los hondos nichos de las ventanas con asientos que son todava visibles, sugieren que eran agradables las celdas de las monjas. Una fuente grande se encontraba en el centro del claustro principal(l99 cd), y otra ms pequea muy hermosa estaba situada en el jardn al sur y de la cocina (200-1). Los azulejos de esta fuente se trasladaron al patio de la vivienda del Gobernador,

de

began investigating in 1720 the advisability of establishing one." The problem of providing adequate housing was discussed over a period of time, and several houses, or groups of houses, were considered. The royal edict for the founding of Nuestra Seora del Pilar de Zaragoza of Capuchin nuns was given on May 5, 1725 and provided that the convent, which was to be established in the church of Our Lady of Carmen and its attached
should be limited to twenty-five nuns, five of whom should be lay members.** Probably the decisive factor in the King's suspensin of an earlier royal decree, which prohibited the founding of additional cloistered establishments, was the fact that there was a need
cloister,

el antiguo Palacio de los Capitanes Generales, hacia 1936. Haba otro jardn paralelo al convento hacia el este, y un patio angosto dio a las piezas en ese lado privacidad adicional. Fuentes ms pequeas se

en

encontraban en ambas

daban a

ellas.

reas, y pequeas loggias Se hallaban muchos refinamientos

172

CONVENTOS
convent which did not require a dowry for entrance as did those already operating. Many wonien of good but poor families had been prevented from adopting the religious life because
in Santiago for a

en el templo y en el convento de Santa Clara, y para un lmite de menos de cincuenta religiosas parece haber sido muy amplio el edificio.

of this requirement.*"'
as founders left Madrid 725 but did not arrive at their destination until January 22, 1726.**' They were lodged in the convent of the Carmelites because theirs was not ready for them. The bishop blessed their church and convent on the afternoon of March 19, and on March 20, 1726 the nuns were led in solenin procession by the bishop from the Cathedral to the Capuchin Church.*' Actually, the founding did not take place in the church of El Carmen in accordance with the provisions of the royal decree, for it had been decided that it was unsuitable for the purpose, and one of the other proposed sites which had been puchased from Mr. Yrive by the bishop was substituted for it. This change was approved by the King on July 24, 1727.'" Scarcely a year later, July 14, 1728, His Majesty was asked for permission to increase the number of nuns to thirty-three which was the
five

The

nuns chosen
]

on April

25,

LAS CAPUCHINAS
202-206

A peticin de las madres capuchinas de Madrid para fundar un convento de su Orden en Santiago en 1720, el rey inici investigaciones sobre la conveniencia de establecerlo.*-' Durante un perodo de tiempo se discuti el problema de proveer vivienda adecuada para tal convento, y se consideraron varias casas o conjuntos de casas. La cdula real que dio licencia para la fundacin del convento de Nuestra Seora del Pilar de Zaragoza, de religiosas capuchinas, se expidi el 5 de mayo de 1725 y decretaba que el convento que haba de establecerse en la iglesia de Nuestra Seora del Carmen
y su claustro adyacente, se debiera limitar a veinticinco religiosas, cinco de ellas legas." Probablemente el factor decisivo en la suspensin temporal por el rey de la cdula anterior, que prohiba la fundacin de otros monasterios, fue el hecho de que faltaba en Santiago un convento que no exigiera dote para profesar como lo hacan los que ya existan en la ciudad. Este requisito haba impedido que muchas jvenes de familia buena pero pobre, abrazaran la vida religiosa. ^^ Las cinco madres fundadoras salieron de Madrid el 25 de abril de 1725, pero no llegaron a su destino sino hasta el 22 de enero de 1726."' No estando listo su convento, las alojaron en el de las carmelitas. El obispo bendijo su iglesia y convento la tarde del 19 de marzo, y el 20 de marzo de 1726, l mismo llev a las religiosas en procesin solemne de la catedral al templo de Capuchinas.*" En efecto, no se fund en la iglesia del Carmen conforme a las provisiones de la cdula real, pues se haba decidido que no era conveniente para el propsito. Uno de los otros sitios propuestos, el comprado al Sr. Yrive por el obispo, se sustituy por el del Carmen. El Rey aprob este cambio el

usual number in the establishments of this Order in Spain, and in the New World there ordinarily were even more.'"' Also the President of the Audiencia and the Ecclesiastical Council had written letters attesting to the Capuchins' need for more adequate quarters.^

Fortunately for these nuns, the new bishop who his office in 1730 undertook to build a spacious convent for them at his own expense.'"' Deeming their site inadequate, he decided upon one of those which had been considered before the founding, that of the school of the Nias Doncellas, commonly called the "Niado." It, as well as the Capuchin Convent, were undcr royal protection which facilitated the exchange of sites. The transfer was to be made in 1731,'''- and that same year Diego de Forres examined the Niado and estimated the cost of adapting it to conventual requirements. Begun in 1731, the magnificent church and convent, which were built at the expense of Bishop Juan Gmez de Parada, were finished at the beginning of 1736. The bishop consecrated the church January 25th of that year,"'^ and the nuns moved into the new convent in March. The following year there was a contract made for the building

assumed

of the

main

altar.^*

Niado was recommended for the use of Las Capuchinas a few years earlier. it was said to have a formal church and buildings in good condition."'"' There seems to be no record of the removal of the earlier structures. An interesting supposition may be advanced to account for the veneer of stone on this temple and the light buttresses on the street fa^ade. A document in the
the

When

24 de julio de 1727.*^ Apenas un ao ms tarde, de julio de 1728, le pidieron al Rey licencia para aumentar el nmero de madres a treinta y tres, que era el nmero acostumbrado en Espaa en los establecimientos de esta Orden, y por lo general en el Nuevo Mundo haba ms.*** Tambin el Presidente de la Audiencia y el cabildo eclesistico haban escrito cartas afirmando la necesidad de las capuchinas para vivienda ms amplia.'"''* Afortunadamente para estas monjas, el nuevo obispo que tom posesin en 1730, emprendi la construccin a su propio costo, de un convento espacioso. ^^ Parecindole inadecuado su sitio, escogi uno de los que se haban discutido antes de
el 14

173

CONVENTS
March 4, 1782 mentions that propwas purchased west of the convent and behind the church, which was under construction.^" This could mean that the temple was to be enlarged by extending the church of the Niado on the existing site as Jorge Lujan Miuioz suggests.''" It seems reasonable that the church of the Niado was small but too recently built to warrant complete removal and reconstruction. The walls could be used, if heightened, and the nave extended. But my agreement in this incorporation of the older church does not include the supposition that the fa^ade is that of the seventeenth century church of the Niado. There is no precedcnt of dressed
archives dated
erty

fundacin, el del Colegio de las Nias Doncellas, llamado comiinmente el 'Niado.' Estando los dos
la

establecimientos bajo
el

la

proteccin real,

se facilit

cambio de sitios. Haba de verificarse la permuta en \73\,^~ y el mismo ao Diego de Forres

reconoci

el 'Niado' y tas el costo de adaptarlo a los requisitos conventuales. Empezados en 1731, se construyeron la magnfica iglesia y convento a costo del obispo, Juan Gmez de Farada, y se acabaron a principios de 1736. El

obispo consagr el templo el 25 de enero de aquel y las religiosas se instalaron en su nuevo convento en marzo. El ao siguiente se contrat la
ao,'*

fbrica del altar mayor.''*

stone for construction in that century (202 a). The use of stone vencer in buildings had its origin in the second quarter of the eighteenth century. San Felipe Neri (Escuela de Cristo) was extensively rebuilt several years after incurring great damage in 1717. Descriptions of its plan do not indcate that radical changes were made, and therefore it is reasonable to suppose that the walls were not entirely new. Facing the od walls with dressed stone would not have been inconsistent with the renovation. Diego de Forres, who was associated with the building, reported that it was considered finished in 1730. This master architect may not have introduced the use of stone vencer, but certainly his ame is associated with all of the buildings where it was tised during two decades Escuela de Cristo, Santa Clara, Las Capuchinas, the City Hall and the western part of the Palace of the Captains General. In 1731 Diego de Forres began work on the Capuchin church. When his estmate was made for the adaptation of the Niado for a convent, it would have been an economy to save the original walls of their church. The same source of materials and the same experienced masons were available to repeat the type of construction used on the Escuela de Cristo. Behind the vencer of cut stone, it was possible to use the existing walls of rubble and brick on the lo^ver part, and to employ brick alone to increase their height and make the transition to the vaulting. The severity of these eighteenth century farades and their lack of decoration, was due to a stone which did not lend itself readily to carving. The plateresque decoration that was so popular, and so skillfully used in stucco, was not adaptable to the local stone. Although the church had a side entrance, there was also a door at the east end of the nave opening to a small atriimi. This was made possible by a departure from the usual convent plan in the placement of the nuns' choir. Instead of being at the end of the nave opposite the main altar, the principal nuns' choir faced the sanctuary from the north, and only a small choir above the east door followed the usual precedent. There were five

Unos aos
para

antes,

cuando

se

propuso

'El

Niado'

las religiosas

capuchinas, se declar que tena

iglesia formal y edificios en buen estado.^' No se encuentra relato de haberse removido estas fbricas anteriores. Se puede ofrecer una suposicin interesante para explicar el recubrimiento de piedra labrada en este templo y los ligeros contrafuertes en la fachada de la calle. Un documento en el Archivo, fechado el 4 de marzo de 1732, menciona la compra de inmuebles al oeste del convento y detrs de la iglesia en construccin.^'" Esto podra significar que el templo haba de ensancharse mediante la ampliacin de la iglesia del 'Niado,' en el sitio existente, como sugiere Jorge Lujan Muoz. Farece razonabk creer que era demasiado pequea la iglesia del 'Niado,' pero construida muy recientemente para justificar su demolicin y reconstruccin completas. Se podan usar los muros, si fuesen hechos ms altos, y ampliar la nave. Pero mi opinin favorable sobre la incorporacin de la iglesia ms antigua, no incluye la suposicin que sea la fachada la del templo del 'Niado' del siglo XVIL No hay precedente del uso de piedra tallada para la construccin en aquel
'^^

siglo (202 a).

El empleo de

un revestimiento de piedra
tuvo su origen en
el

labra-

da en

los edificios,

segundo

cuarto del siglo XVIII, cuando se reconstruy considerablemente San Felipe Neri (Escuela de Cristo), varios aos despus de haber sufrido gran dao en 1717. Las descripciones de su planta no indican haberse hecho cambios radicales, y por eso es razonable suponer que no fueran enteramente nuevas las paredes. El vestir los antiguos muros de piedra labrada no habra sido incongruente con la renovacin. Diego de Forres, quien se asociaba a la reconstruccin, inform que se consideraba terminada en 1730. Este Maestro Mayor en Arquitectura posiblemente no inici el empleo de revestimientos de piedra, pero es indudable que su nombre se asocia con todos los edificios donde se us Escuela de Cristo, Santa durante dos dcadas Clara, Las Capuchinas, el Ayuntamiento, y la parte occidental del Palacio de los Capitanes Generales. En 1731, Diego de Forres comenz a trabajar en

174

COxWENTOS
splendid

moved

to

which were salvaged and the Capuchin church in the new capital
side
altars

in 1779(276-77).

The
also

employed stone

interior o this small, single-nave church in the fluted pilasters and

(203 a). Above a simple stone cornice there were semicircular spaces pierced by octagonal windows on the street side. Fiat, slightly elliptical vaults covered all but one of the five bays of the church. One just forward ol' the sanctuary was square in plan and had a higher circular vault (203 c). An innovation in reinforcing was introduced in the transverse arches over the nave in the form of U-shaped cramp irons (203 b). This seems to be the only experiment with iron reinforcing in Antigua. The sacristy was located behind the sanctuary and was accessible from the street. There is no place on the existing plan for a house of the chaplain and sacristn which one finds in most convents. A single confessional opened from the ante-choir to the church. Although the convent is as excellently planned as Santa Clara, which was under construction during the same decade, there is no other comparison to be made. The two cloisters and their surrounding rooms are completely different in character. Las Capuchinas shows an evident effort to build for earthquake resistance. The massive, squat columns, the hcavy walls and lower ceiling heights suggest great strength. As far as the first story is concerned the objective of earthquake resistance was successful. It was the upper story that suffered the greater damage in 1751 and 1773. The walls were lighter in construction and the roofs of wood and tile. It is even possible that the upper corridor had wood posts instead of masonry piers. The rooms around the main cloister were the normal complement of a convent. There were the outer and inner rooms for the door keeper, rooms
transverse arches

capuchina. Al tasar el trabajo necesario para adaptar el 'Niado' como convento, habra sido una economa conservar los muros originales de su iglesia. Tena disponibles la misma fuente de materiales y los mismos albailes para repetir el tipo de construccin usada en la Escuela de Cristo. Detrs del revestimiento de piedra labrada, era posible servirse de los muros existentes de
la iglesia

ladrillo en la parte inferior, y en parte superior usar slo ladrillo para aumentar su altura y para efectuar la transicin a las bvedas. La severidad de estas fachadas dieciochescas y su falta de adorno, se debe a un tipo de piedra que no se tallaba con facilidad. Los adornos platerescos que eran tan populares y tan hbilmente usados en estuco, no se adaptaban a la piedra de la regin. Aunque tena el templo una entrada en un muro lateral, haba tambin una puerta al extremo oriental de la nave, que se abra a un pequeo atrio. Esto vino a ser posible por colocarse el coro de las monjas en un sitio distinto del que generalmente ocupaba. En vez de estar en el extremo de la nave opuesto al altar mayor, el coro principal de las religiosas miraba desde el norte hacia el presbiterio, y slo un pequeo coro sobre la puerta oriental segtia el plan acostinnbrado. En 1779, sus cinco esplndidos altares laterales se trasla

mampostera y

ladaron a

la iglesia

de

las

Capuchinas en

la

Nueva
iglesia

Guatemala

(276-77)
el interior de esta

Tambin en

pequea

choir,

nuns through a covered the mother abbess. the choir, antework rooms, wardrobe room, refectory, kitchen, storerooms, laundry, bath and so forth.
for relatives to talk with
grille, oflice of

de una sola nave, se serva de la piedra en las pilastras estriadas y en los arcos transversales (203 a). Por encima de una sencilla cornisa de piedra, haba espacios semicirculares perforados por ventanas octagonales en el lado de la calle. Bvedas rebajadas y un poco elpticas cubran cuatro de los cinco tramos del templo. El que estaba inmediatamente delante del presbiterio era cuadrado en su forma y tena una bveda circular que era ms alta (203 c). Una innovacin en la manera de reforzar se introdujo en los arcos transversales por encima de la nave, con grapas de hierro en forma de U (203 b). Este parece ser el nico ensayo con refuerzos de hierro en Santiago.

second floor, reached by two excellent was not so ruined that there is any question of the size and disposition of the rooms. Roofs are gone, but the walls remain. It is even possible to make an accurate count of cells (204 d). The main dormitory had thirty, and t^\o adjacent rooms had eight in each. Parallel to the church a large room had ten cells, and a smaller room is also subdivided. This great number of cells is rather confusing in view of the fact that Las Capuchinas was never granted its request for an increase of numbers. A provisional grant allowed three more because they could not properly care for all the offices and obligations without breaking the rules of the Order with the originally specified twentystairs,

The

La sacrista se hallaba detrs del presbiterio y era accesible desde la calle. En el plano existente, no hay lugar para una casa para el capelln y el sacristn, como suele haber en la mayor parte de
conventos. Un solo confesionario .se abra desde antecoro al templo. Aunque el convento tiene una planta tan excelente como la de Santa Clara, construido durante el mismo decenio, no se puede realizar otra comparacin. El carcter de los dos claustros y las piezas que los rodean es completamente distinto. Se ve en Capuchinas un esfuerzo patente por construir de manera que fuera resistente a los terremotos. Las columnas macizas y chatas, los muros pesados, y los techos menos altos sugieren gran fortaleza.
los
el

CONVENTS
five.

One room probably was an


and
a

infirmary, but

several other large

oversized,
is

rooms seem unnecessary and kitchen in a remote crner of one

not easily explained(205 L, 2ndfloor)Although the main kitchen of the convent was attached to the north wall of the refectory, there was no connection between the two except where the food was served through a turn-table. Patios flanked the kitchen on the east and west. The latter had four cells which were either for lay nuns
or servants. Both patios had direct access to the cloister. Had the convent stopped at that northern rectangular wall of the two small courts, it would have been considered coiiipletely normal. But it did not stop there, and as a result this plan beconies one of the most unusual and intriguing of any structure in the New World. Despite the various explanations assigned to the circular building which is beyond the east service patio, there is no single satisfactory explanation for its construction or use. In the first place it is unique in form with no counterpart in the Americas or Spain. In addition it represents planning that is not consistent with that of this convent or any other institution of the eighteenth century. There is no record of its construction date, but in ruin it remains a monument to its builders. The unique circular form of this appendage is not the only reason for a more thorough analysis, although it is the basis for a fascinating architectural study. Below the circular court, shown on the plan ( 205 ), there is a vault of the same size and shape. In the center of this basement there is a column ten feet in diameter from which springs a circular barrel vault, in a mushroom effect, which supports the patio above. This room is ventilated, cool and dry at all times. Around this room there is a sewer through which water flowed continuously. The main level of the court (206 a) is a few feet above that of the principal cloister patios. The passageway connecting the two units is almost on an axis with the east cloister corridor and contains a few steps at intervals to make the adjustment between levis almost unnoticeable. From the circular patio eighteen cells radate in addition to two passages and a ventilation shaft. Besides the approach passage already mentioned, a smaller one with stairs winds down to a small room which has a long trough for water in front of a curved wall. This detall, in itself, has been a subject of controversy, but has a simple explanation if the adjacent room actually was a small refectory. A lavatory of this sort is not unusual, and a similar convenience existed in Santa Clara. The cells are peculiar in numerous ways, but primarily in the fact that their size and shape are very irregular and that none of the dividing walls either actually radate or have the same thickness. There is, however, uniformity in the facilities of

respecto al piso bajo, el fin de resistir a los terremotos ha tenido buenos resultados. Fue el piso alto el que sufri el mayor dao en 1751 y 1773. Los muros eran de construccin ms ligera
y los techos de
el

Con

madera y

teja.

Aun

es posible

que

corredor alto tuviera pilares de madera en vez de calicanto. Las piezas alrededor del claustro mayor eran las que generalmente se encontraban en un convento.

Haba porteras exterior e interior, locutorio, oficina de la madre abadesa, coro, antecoro, salas de labor, guardarropa, refectorio, cocina, despensas, lavandera, bao, etc. El segundo piso, al que se suba por dos excelentes escaleras, no se arruin tanto que haya duda del tamao y la disposicin de las piezas. Faltan los techos, pero quedan las paredes. Aun se puede contar exactamente el nmero de las celdas (204 d). El dormitorio principal tena treinta, y otras dos salas adyacentes tenan ocho cada una. Paralelo a la iglesia, un cuarto grande tena diez celdas, y una pieza ms pequea estaba subdividida tambin. Este gran nmero de celdas confunde, en
vista de que nunca les concedieron a las monjas capuchinas su peticin para un aumento en el nmero de religiosas. Una concesin de parte del obispo y del presidente de la Audiencia les permiti tener provisionalmente tres ms porque con las veinticinco originalmente especificadas, no podan cuidar debidamente de todas las oficinas y obligaciones sin quebrantar las reglas de la Orden. Otra sala era probablemente una enfermera, pero otras varias piezas grandes parecen innecesarias y demasiado amplias, y una cocina en un ngulo alejado no se explica con facilidad (205 L, 2 piso)Aunque la cocina principal del convento estaba unida a la pared septentrional del refectorio, no haba acceso de la una al otro excepto por un torno por medio del cual se servan las comidas. Un patio al este y otro al oeste lindaban con la cocina. Al del oeste daban cuatro celdas que eran para legas o para criadas. Ambos patios tenan acceso directo al claustro. Si se hubiera terminado el convento en aquella pared rectangular septentrional de los dos patios pequeos, se le hubiera considerado completamente normal. Pero no termin all, y en consecuencia, este plano resulta ser uno de los ms inusitados y fascinantes de cualquier

estructura arquitectnica del Nuevo Mundo. pesar de las explicaciones variadas que se han dado al edificio circular, que est ms all del patio

de servicio oriental, no hay ninguna satisfactoria para su construccin y su uso. En primer lugar, es nico en su forma, sin contraparte ni en Amrica ni en Espaa. Adems tiene una icnografa que no se correlaciona con la de este convento ni con la de ninguna otra institucin del siglo XVIII. No se encuentra anotada la fecha de su construccin, pero aun arruinado, queda como un monu-

176

CONVENTOS
approached through a narrow hall, passing first a small recessed cupboard and then a larger recess over the sewer. From an ingenious system of water distribution on the level above (206 d) there was a constant flow of water. It has been coninionly supposed that these recesses were toilcts, but this assumption is open to question since a vcry adequate room for this purpose
the
cells.
is is

Each

ment a sus edificadores. La singular forma circular de esta dependencia no es la nica razn para un anlisis ms detallado, aunque es la base para un estudio arquitectnico
fascinante.

en

el

Por debajo del patio circular mostrado plano ( 205 ), hay una bveda de igual ta-

mao y forma. En el centro de este stano hay un machn de tres metros de dimetro del cual
arranca una bveda de can parecida a un hongo, que sostiene el patio de arriba. Esta habitacin
est esta pieza
el

located adjacent to the sniall passage. Whatever the actual function, the provisin of running

water to each cell was a refinement not provided in any other conventual structure. A fcw cells had an additional cupboard, and all had an exterior window and a niche with a vcntilation chimney for a lamp or candle. The weight of the exterior wall of this tower was lightened by introducing niches (205-6) of varying sizes coinciding with the intersection of the interior and outer walls. The use of these niches has been variously explained and in some instances with extremely imaginative theories. Each one is equipped with a small vent at the top, though its purpose in an open niche is obscure. On a number of niches stone rings protrude froni
the sides just below the circular head. The inajority of these rings have been broken or removed,

siempre fresca, seca y ventilada. Alrededor de hay un desage de planta circular por cual corra agua continuamente. El nivel principal del patio ( 206 a) est aproxi-

but there

is

no doubt

that all of the niches

them

originally.

The

rings

had and vents have con-

tributed to the commonest explanations of the function of these seventeen niches. One of the most bizarre theories is that they could be closed with doors to confine erring nuns, or for selfpunishment, and that the vents allowed water to drip on them in the gloom of their vertical sarcophagi. But it seems very doubtful that these estimable Capuchin nuns needed seventeen niches for punishment or penance. more prosaic explanation suggests that the stone rings were to hold torches. The need for this abinidance of illuniination is not explained. If the niches were ever closed by doors, the rings were there f r that purpose. The bottom of the door pivot woidd have rested in a hollowed stone block. and the top of the door would have been sectircd and allowed to swing by the stone ring. This method of hanging large or heavy doors was used bcfore the introduction of metal hinges (206 b). The bottom stone sockets in the author's Antigua house were not removed until 1958, but in this instance the up-

del de los patios de mayores. El pasillo principal que une las dos unidades est casi en un eje con el corredor del patio oriental, y tiene unos cuantos escalones a intervalos para hacer el ajuste entre niveles casi imperceptible. Del patio circular, irradian dieciocho celdas, dos pasadizos, y un espacio de las dimensiones de una celda y abierto al cielo, para ventilacin. Adems del ya mencionado pasaje de entrada, tmo menor con escaleras desciende a una pieza peqtiea, que contiene tm depsito alargado para agua delante de una pared curva. Este detalle por s ha sido tema de controversias, pero se explica sencillamente si la sala adyacente era en realidad un refectorio pequeo. Un lavamanos de
los claustros

madamente un metro encima

este tipo

no

es extraordinario, y luia

comodidad

per socket was in the

wood

lintel.

Recent theories have favored the idea that the fourteen smaller niches were Stations of the Cross used in religious observances. This would be an acceptable explanation, and does not exelude the
use of doors, but
it

does not fully explain the air

vents. Similar tubes, in the small niches within

the cells, are commonly explained as vents for the candle or lamp which would have been placed there. Although this appears to be an unnecessary

semejante exista en Santa Clara. Las celdas tienen varias peculiaridades, pero ante todo es el hecho de que su tamao y forma son muy irregulares y (jue ninguna de las paredes divisorias en realidad es radial ni tiene la misma espesura. Sin embargo hay uniformidad en las comodidades de todas las celdas. A cada una se llega por un pasillo angosto, pasando primero por delante de una pecjuea alacena embutida en la pared y, despus, un entrante mayor que contiene una abertura directamente por encima del desaguadero. Desde un sistema ingenioso de distribucin de agua que estaba en el nivel de encima (206 d), corra constantemente el agua. Se ha supuesto comnmente (ue eran estos nichos los sanitarios de la poca, pero se puede dudar esto, puesto (jue est colocada vuia habitacin muy adecuada para este propsito, contigua al pequeo pasillo. Cualquiera que fuera la verdadera funcin, el abastecimiento de agua corriente a cada celda, fue im refinamiento de (jtic no se provey a ningn otro edificio conventual. Unas cuantas celdas tenan una alacena adicional, y todas tenan una ventana exterior y un nicho con una abertura para ventilacin de la lmpara o vela. El peso del muro exterior de esta torre se aliger hacindole entrantes de varios tamaos (205-6) que coincidan con las intersecciones del muro interior con el exterior. Se ha explicado el uso de

177

CONVENTS
refinement for an open rooni, it is even more superfluous in an open external niche. And as Stations one can not help but feel that access to sonie of the niches would have been extreniely awkward except for one individual at a time. Perhaps the most amusing suggestion was that the niches might be shower baths. The need for seventeen on the exterior of the tower without a supply of water is an imaginative deduction. Returning to the interior of this building one is impressed by another feature that is remarkable for its inclusin in an eighteenth century edifice. In an elongated and vaidted room which opens
of the Cross,

from the main passage to the circular court, there are two sunken baths. Within Concepcin Convent there was such a bath(189 be), built more than one hundred years before, which is said to have belonged to the prvate quarters of Sister Juana de Maldonado, but none of the later convents had such baths. Here not only the bath is similar, but the same method is used for heating the water in a metal tank outside and then conveying it by tubes and channels to either bath. (There are indications that Recoleccin Monastery had a bathroom where ^vater could be heated). The true function of this building is even more controversial than the attempts to explain its details. On the 29th of May 1731 the abbess asked the City for two reales of water for the site of
the novitiate where the temple and convent were be built.''** Apparently this gave various writers a reason to cali this circular structure the "Tower
to

de varias maneras, en algunos casos con teoras sumamente imaginativas. Cada uno tiene un pequeo orificio en la parte de arriba, aunque su finalidad en un nicho abierto es abstrusa. En varias de las cavidades un anillo de piedra se proyecta al exterior del lado inmediatamente por debajo de la cabeza circular. Se han roto o se han quitado la mayora de estos anillos, pero no cabe duda que todos los nichos los tenan originalmente. Estos anillos y los respiraderos han contribuido a las explicaciones ms comunes de la funcin de estas diecisiete cavidades. Una de las teoras ms raras es que se podan cerrar con puertas, para castigar y confinar a las monjas o para autopenitencia, y que los respiraderos dejaban caer agua gota a gota sobre ellas en la lobreguez de sus sarcfagos verticales. Pero es muy dudoso que las estimables monjas capuchinas necesitaran diecisiete cavidades para castigo o para penitencia. Una explicacin ms prosaica sugiere que los anillos de piedra eran para sostener antorchas. No se explica la necesidad de esta abundancia de iluminacin. Si los nichos en alguna poca tenan puertas, los
estos nichos

anillos estaran all para esa finalidad.

La parte

inferior del pivote de la puerta hubiera descan-

But this is almost absurd when one remembers that the Order was limited to nuns when the convent moved here in twenty-five 1736. Later it had three provisional nuns beyond the limit, but the Order was never granted its further requests. Allowing one cell for the mistress of novices, there still would have been seventeen cells. Why plan for this number of novices at one time? Already there was ampie space in a room next to the church for ten who would have been properly segregated from the dormitory of the professed members, and there was no prospect of expanding in proportion to the facilities of the tower. For an Order that was operating with extreme poverty, existing on the alms of the people, and professing an austere life, the luxuries of this tower are entirely inconsistent. Furthermore, it was not appropriate for novices who were entering without a dowry, and who were preparing for a severely regulated and cloistered life where they would share a dormitory with only an alcove as
of the Novices."

sado en un bloque de piedra horadada, y la parte superior de ella hubiera sido asegurada y permitida girar por el anillo de piedra. Este era un modo comn de colocar puertas grandes o pesadas antes de la introduccin de las modernas bisagras de metal (206 b). Los quicios de piedra inferiores en la casa del autor no se removieron hasta 1958, pero en este caso el quicio superior estaba en el dintel

de madera.
Teoras recientes han favorecido la idea que los catorce nichos ms pequeos formaban un via crucis para la liturgia religiosa. Esta sera una razn admisible, y no excluye el uso de puertas, pero no explica completamente los respiraderos. Conductos semejantes en los nichos pequeos, den-

de las celdas, se explican comnmente como lumbreras para la vela o lmpara que se habra puesto all. Aunque esto parece un refinamiento innecesario para un cuarto abierto, es aun ms superfluo en una cavidad exterior igualmente
tro

Y como via crucis le parece a uno que el acceso a algunos de los nichos habra sido sumaabierta.

a
a

cell.

Other writers have called

this

"Tower

of Retreat." If this

unique building was intended for

would be

the use of the nuns in residence only, the idea as extreme as the suggestion concerning novices. When was it possible for an understaffed

mente difcil, excepto para una persona a la vez. Probablemente la sugestin ms cmica es que posiblemente eran duchas. La necesidad de diecisiete en el exterior de la torre, sin posibilidad de agua, es una deduccin sumamente imaginativa. Al volver al interior de este edificio, impresiona una cosa ms que es notable por su inclusin en un edificio del siglo XVIIL En una pieza larga y abovedada que abre del pasaje principal al patio circular, hay dos baos hundidos. Dentro del convento de la Concepcin haba tal bao (189 be) construido ms de cien aos antes, que, segn se dice,

178

CONVENTOS
convent o twenty-eight nuns to use eighteen luxurious cells even for brief periods of solitude or spiritual contemplation? The handful of remaining nuns could not have conducted the necessary offices and duties of the convent. Other Orders than the Capuchin might have operated a hospice or retreat for religious lay women, but this was not compatible with the rules under which these nuns operated. Therefore, the theory of a "retreat" is logical only on the basis of certain suppositions which are not substantiated. San Francisco Monastery had a hospital wmg for its infirn, aged and mentally deranged brothers, and, according to the writing of Fray Francisco Vzquez, in order to avoid the necessity for obtaining royal permission for a new establishment, the Franciscans planned to use part of their monastery
in
to

perteneca a los aposentos particulares de Sor Juana

de Maldonado, pero ninguno de


posteriores tena tales baos. Aqu es semejante, sino que se serva del

los

conventos
el

no slo

tipo

mismo mtodo

Almolonga

for

those

members who

devote their life lo contemplation. In a footnote concerning this, Fray Lzaro Lamadrid'" suggests that this might provide an explanation for the building of Las Capuchinas for which popular fancy has invented such varied and odd interpretations. This suggestion has merit on the basis of the supposition that the Capuchins planned to retire their older nuns, some of whom were possibly unable to perform the duties of their rigorous life, to this tower. Since they could not increase the number of nuns above twenty-eight by any other means, this subterfuge would have made it possible to replentish their convent with younger

wished

and more useful members. The seating arrangement demanded of the Order would not have allowed space for more than the normal number of nuns in the main refectory of the convent. And since it was required that the two simple meis had to be caten in a refectory, it is apparcnt that the new building needed one. Such a room was built immediately behind the kitchen. Although it does not have a turntable to the kitchen itself, there is a place for one at the
northwest crner of the kitchen patio. Thirty years ago there were structural indications of an overhang along the east side of the kitchen. This would have sheltcred a walk and protected both
the opening to the small 'refectory' and a window opening to the end of the kitchen under the great chimney where food was prepared. Between the small "refectory' and the main passage to the circular patio, there is a room which was either a storeroom or a working rea since it Controls the access to the subterranean room under the patio. This latter room has been described as a drying room for clothes becausc there were some iron rings on the wall from which lines could have been stretched. In the rainy season this would have served such a purposc satisfactorily even though it was remote from the laundry rea. But for a people who prefer sun-drying on grass, rocks

para calentar el agua en im tanque de metal afuera, y luego por medio de tubos y conductos se llevaba el agua a un bao u otro. (Hay indicios de que el monasterio de la Recoleccin tena un cuarto de bao donde se poda asimismo calentar agua.) La verdadera funcin de este edificio es aun ms controvertida que las tentativas para explicar sus detalles. El 29 de mayo de 1731, la madre abadesa le pidi al Ayuntamiento dos reales de agua para el sitio del noviciado, donde haba de Al parecer, construirse el templo y el convento. esto les dio a varios escritores motivo para llamar esta construccin circular la 'torre del noviciado.' Pero esto es casi absurdo cuando se recuerda que todava se limitaba la Orden a veinticinco religiosas cuando se traslad el convento aqu en 1736. Ms tarde tena tres monjas con categora de 'por ahora,' adems del nmero permitido, pero nunca se le concedi su peticin para tener ms. Dejando una celda para la maestra de novicias, todava quedaran diecisiete celdas. No parece creble que se hubiera proyectado para tantas novicias a la vez. Ya en una habitacin contigua a la iglesia exista lugar para diez, quienes hubieran quedado bastante separadas del dormitorio de las monjas profesas, y no tenan esperanzas de aumentarse en proporcin con las conveniencias de la torre. Para inia comunidad que subsista con sinna pobreza, viviendo de las limosnas de los vecinos y abrazada a una vida austera, el lujo de esta torre es enteramente incongruente. Adems no era apropiada para novicias que entraban sin dote, y que se preparaban para una vida severamente reglamentada en clausura, donde compartiran un dormitorio con slo inia pequea parte de l como celda. Otros escritores han llamado este edificio sin
''*

igual

una
el

'torre del retiro.' Si se destinara slo


las

para

uso de

monjas que habitaban

el

con-

vento, la idea sera tan extrema como la sugestin tocante a las novicias. Cundo ha sido posible que un convento sin bastantes religiosas, pues tena slo veintiocho, se sirviera de dieciocho celdas lujosas, aim para perodos breves de soledad o de con-

templacin espiritual? El puado de monjas que habra quedado no habra podido cumplir con los oficios necesarios y los deberes del convento. Es posible que otras rdenes religiosas hubieran podido tener un hospicio o retiro para devotas legas, pero no era compatible esto con las reglas bajo las cuales vivan estas monjas. Por eso la teora de un 'retiro' es lgica slo sobre la base de ciertas suposiciones que no estn verificadas. El convento de San Francisco tena un ala para sus religiosos enfermos, ancianos o dementes. Y, segn lo escrito por Fray Francisco Vzquez, para

179

CONVENTS
it remains in the manner still in use or roofs doubtful that the basement was constructed for

evitar la necesidad de obtener la licencia real para

this

purpose alone.

served,

Structurally the 'tower' is as controversial as its function. Although its ^\'alls are excellently prethere are no indications of how it was if it ever was roofed. It has been sugroofed

gested that the entire inner court was covered with a conical wood roof, possibly having a central wooden support resting on the great circular column of the subterranean vault. This would have been possible. But the remaining walls do not show any indication whatever of rafters or beams having restad on them. Some of the walls on the upper level look as though they were intended for another story. This evidence is also inconclusive, but the upper masonry, of varied height and thickness, does not indicate walls in ruin as much as walls that were never finished (206)Another structural explanation proposes that the circular court was never covered but that there was a shed roof over the cells. This seems logical except for the lack of any evidence of the wood superstructure. If this building was roofed at the time of the 1773 earthquake, it is the only ruin in the city today that does not clearly show signs of

un establecimiento nuevo, los franciscanos proyectaban usar una parte de su convento en Almolonga, para los religiosos que queran dedicar la vida a la contemplacin. En una nota referente a esto, Fray Lzaro Lamadrid'''" sugiere que es posible que este uso d la explicacin para el edificio de las Capuchinas, para el cual la imaginacin popular ha inventado explicaciones tan variadas y raras.
Esta suposicin tiene mrito, basada en la idea de que las Capuchinas proyectaban jubilar a las monjas ms ancianas, algunas de las cuales posiblemente ya no podan cumplir con los quehaceres de su vida rigurosa, y dejarlas vivir en esta torre.

the relation between wood and masonry. Assuming that such a roof did exist, or was intended, we still face the question of shelter for the openings to the cells. This is the only place in the convent where there was no apparent use of doors although some aid to privacy must have been intended even if protection from the weather had been provided by roofing the entire patio. Certainly they would not have been left exposed to the weather. It would have been possible to cantilever an overhang from the level of the water distribution system, but again there is nothing to show that there ever was such a construction. For purposes of maintenance it would have been necessary to retain access to the water channels (206 d). One is almost forced to conclude that this building was under construction, or in a suspended state of construction, in 1773. Las Capuchinas was the fifth and last convent founded in Santiago. Its existence covered a span of only a little over forty-seven years, but it provided US with a splendid example of an eighteenth century conventual establishment. As a monumental ruin it has interested all who have seen it, and for students of history and architecture it remains a superb subject for study. It is to be

Puesto que no podan aumentar el nmero de ms de veintiocho, de otra manera, este subterfugio les habra hecho posible surtir su convento con monjas ms jvenes y ms aptas. La manera de estar sentadas en el refectorio exigida por la Orden, no habra dejado lugar para ms del niimero normal de monjas en el refectorio principal de este convento. Y como fue requisito que las dos colaciones sencillas tenan que tomarse en un refectorio, se ve que el nuevo edificio necesitaba uno. Tal pieza fue construida inmediatamente detrs de la cocina. Aunque no tiene torno hacia la cocina misma, hay espacio para uno al ngulo noroeste del patio de la misma. Hace treinta aos existan indicaciones estructurales de un alero a lo largo del costado oriental de ella. Este hubiera abrigado un paseo y protegido a la vez el acceso al pequeo refectorio y una ventana que se abra al extremo de la cocina, debajo de la gran chimenea donde se preparaban las comidas. Entre el pequeo refectorio y el pasaje principal al patio circular, hay una pieza que era o una despensa o una rea de labor, puesto que controla el ingreso a la pieza subterrnea debajo del patio. Este cuarto se ha descrito como un sitio para secar ropa, a causa de los anillos de hierro en el muro, entre los cuales se habran podido extender cuerdas. Durante la temporada de las lluvias, esto habra servido para tal propsito admirablemente, aunque est lejos de las pilas para lavar. Pero para un pueblo que prefiere secar al sol sobre la grama, piedras o azoteas, como todava hoy se hace, es dudoso que se construyera este stano solamente para
religiosas a
tal

propsito.

En cuanto a la estructura de la 'torre,' es tan discutible como su funcin. Aunque sus muros se
hallan excelentemente conservados, no quedan insi bien jams ha dicios de la manera de techarla tenido techo. Se ha sugerido que el patio interior entero estaba cubierto de un techo cnico de madera, que posiblemente tena un soporte central del mismo material, que descansaba sobre la gran columna circular de la bveda subterrnea. Esto habra sido posible; pero las paredes que quedan no muestran huella ninguna de haberse apoyado

hoped that more documentary information will be located and that, eventually, definite answers will be available instead of conjectures. The recent scholarly research of Jorge Lujan Muoz"" is encouraging. Other buildings, civil and ecclesiastical, in addition to Las Capuchinas should be studied and documented in depth.

180

CONVENTOS
1

^ 3

*
^

AGG, AGG, AGG, AGG,

A A A

1.18-5022-211 (1740) & BAGG, I, 2, 131-135 1.2-4-16.192-2245 (1723) & BAGG, X, 3, 210-216 1.2-5-15.766-2207-189 (1585) & BAGG, X, 3, 208-209 1.18-5022-211 (1740) BAGG. I, 2, 131-135 & BAGG, X,
,

5
7

3,217-221 Pardo, Efem.,

p.

134

AGG, A AGG, A

(1740) & BAGG, X, 3, 217-225 1.2-4-16.192-2245 (1723) & BAGG, X, 3, 210-216


I.18-,5022-211

sobre ellas cabios o vigas. Algunas de las paredes del piso alto parecen haberse planeado para sostener otro piso. Estos indicios tampoco presentan evidencia decisiva, pero la parte superior de la manipostera, de altura y espesura variadas, no sugiere paredes arruinadas as como muros que
se terminaron (206). Otra explicacin estructural propone que el patio circular nunca estuvo enteramente cubierto, pero que haba un techo saledizo sobre las celdas. Esto parecera lgico a no ser por la falta de alguna huella de estructura de madera en la parte superior. Si este edificio estaba techado cuando ocurrieron los terremotos de 1773, es la nica ruina en la ciudad hoy da que no muestra claramente vestigios de la relacin entre la madera y la mampostera. Suponiendo que existiera tal techado o que se proyectara, todava queda el problema de abrigo para las aberturas de las celdas. Es ste el nico lugar en el convento donde no haba uso aparente de puertas, aunque seguramente proyectaron algo que les facilitara un poco de soledad, aun cuando les habra dado proteccin para el medio ambiente exterior techando el patio completo. No se puede creer que las hubieran dejado expuestas a la intemperie. Habra sido posible construir en voladizo una cubierta desde el nivel del sistema de distribucin de agua, pero tampoco hay aqu algo que muestre que jams hubiera habido tal construccin. Para su mantenimiento habra sido necesario tener acceso a los conductos de agua

AGG.A

1.18-5022-211
I,

(1740)

& B.\GG, X,

3,

225-229

9 Ibid.

nunca

O Juarros.
11 12 13
1*

134

Vzquez, IV, 369 .AGG, A 1.18-5022-211

AGG, A
Molina,

(1740) BAGG, I. 2, 127ff 1.20-757 (1626) & BAGG. X, 3. 221-224


,

& X,

3,

225ft

p.

36

13 1
1'

AGG, A

1.2-2-11.776-1782 (1683)

& BAGG,

VIII, 1,45-47

Pardo, Efem.,

is

AGG, A AGG. A

p. 75 & Pardo. Guia, p. 128 1.2-2-11.778-1784 (1693) & BAGG, VIII, 1, 77-78 I.18-.-)022-21 (1740) & B.AGG. X, 3, 225-229
1

19 Ibid. 2

Pardo, Guia,

p.

129

21

AGG, A
Ibid.

" AGG, A
23 2* 25
2 27
28 29

1.20-1480-28 (1668) & BAGG, X, 3, 229-232 1.18,5022-21 1 (1740) & BAGG, X, 3, 249-253
p.
I,

Molina,

AGG, A
Juarros,

133 1.18.5022-211 134

(1740)

AGG, A AGG, A
Ibid.

1.2-2-11.777- 783 (1687) 1.18-5022-211 (1740)

& BAGG, X,

3,

248-249

30
31

AGG, A AGG, A

1.18-5026-211 (1740) 1.20-696-23 (1692) &

& BAGG. X. BAGG, X, 3,

2,

135-36 & 156-1.58 253-255

Pardo, Efem., p. 89 32 Juarros, I, 135 & Vzquez IV, 371 33 AGG, 1.2-2-11.776-1782 (1699) & BAGG, 34 Juarros, I, 135 & Vzquez, IV, 371-372

VIH, 1,92-93

35 Vzquez, IV, 371-373 36 Juarros, I, 135


37 AGG. A 1.11.22-49.085-5813 (1734) 38 Pardo, Efem., p. 124 3 Ibid., p. 142 *" AGG, A 1. 23- 1.526-3 10 (1733) & B.\GG. X. *l Juarros, I, 135 & 190 *2 Berln, Hcinrich, AHG, II, 1, 43-54

3, 2.55-2.56

*3

** 45 46 Pardo, Efem., p. 129 47 Juarros, I, 136 & Pardo, Efem., p. 130 48 AGG, A 1.23-1526-210 (1727) & BAGG, X, 49 AGG, A 1.2.4-16.192-2245-11 (1729) 50 Ibid.
51 Juarros, I, 207 52 AGG, A 1.9-1380-54 (1731) 53 Juarros, I, 207-208 Se Pardo,

AGG, A 1.11-16779-2292 (1720) & B.\G{;, VIH, 1. 127 AGG, Al. 18-5022-211 (1740) & B,\GG, I, 2, 122 AGG, A 1.23-1.526-210 (1727) & Pardo, Efem., p 127 BAGG, X, 3, 257
2.59-260

3.

Efem..

p. 137

54 55 56

AGG, A 1.20-1432 (1737) BAGG, X, 3, 256-260 AGG, A 1.20-486-18V (1732)


Capuchinas

57 Lujan Muoz, Jorge, tesis indita sobre 1-as 58 Pardo, Efem., p. 137 59 Vzquez, IV, 304 60 Lujan Muiloz, Jorge, op. cit.

(206 d). Casi es forzoso creer que este edificio estaba en construccin, o en un estado de construccin en suspenso, en 1773. Las Capuchinas fue el quinto y ltimo convento femenino fundado en Santiago. Slo existi poco ms de cuarenta y siete aos, pero nos da un ejemplo esplndido de un establecimiento conventual del siglo XVIII. Como ruina monumental, ha interesado a todos los que la han visto, y para los estudiosos de la historia y de la arquitectura, queda como tema magnfico para sus investigaciones. Es de esperarse que se encuentren ms datos documentados y que, con el tiempo, respuestas definitivas en vez de suposiciones estn disponibles. El reciente trabajo de seria investigacin de Jorge Lujan Muoz"" anima en tal sentido. Otros edificios civiles y eclesisticos, adems de Capuchinas, deben estudiarse y documentarse cuidadosamente.

roUNDED COMPLETED DESTROYED

1578 1637
1773

A
B

MAIN
SIDE

ALTAR
ALTAR

5ACR15TY
IT

D PULP

E PUBLIC CHURCM F SCREEN

NUN

S*
S'

CHURCH
CONFESSIONALS
RUIN
OF

H NUN
ONLY

THE

THE

CHURCH REMAINS OF

WHAT WAS THE


AND
8UILT

FIRST,

LARGE5T,
IN

CONVENT
.

NTICUA

The

ChurcK

of

Concepcin
MEASURED
4D

Convent
BY
I'.

DRAWN

ANNIS

182

Entablature above door to sacristy Entablamento sobre puerta a la sacrista

View toward nuns' choir


Vista hacia
el

coro de

las

monjas

LA CONCEPCIN
183

Exterior of the west end of the church

Detail of bay forward of the sanctuary

Extremo occidental

del exterior del templo

Detalle del bernegal delante del presbiterio

LA CONCEPCIN
184

Vaults of the sacristy

Wall

at west
al

Bvedas de

la sacrista

Muro

end of the sacristy extremo occidental de la

sacrista

LA CONCEPCIN

185

Gate

to the

convent

Prtico

al

monasterio

Central detall

Detalle central

186

LA CONCEPCIN

Walls of large cloister ruin Muros del gran claustro arruinado

Typical door
Puerta tpica

LA CONCEPCIN
187

The Prvate Convent


of

Doa Juana de Maldonado y Paz


wtthin

CONCEPCIN CONVENT

Antigua
Buill about 1620

A ENTRANCE FROM
B
E
F

CONCEPCIN CLOISTER

C CHAPEL D DORMITORY
KITCHEN LAUNDRY
SERVICE

G BATH

Northeast comer of service court (H on plan) Esquina noreste del patio de servicio (H en el plano)

b c

Bath and

detail (G)

Bao

y detalle

(G)

Prvate cloister supposedly that of Sister Juana de Maldonado y Paz Claustro particular llamado de Sor Juana de Maldonado y Pa/

LA CONCEPCIN

irsaTT

"r

Escutcheon over church


entrance

Escudo sobre templo

la

puerta del

South entrance to the church Entrada meridional al templo

East wall of the church

Muro

oriental del templo

SANTA CATALINA
190

Fa^ade of church facing west

Fachada del templo que da

al oeste

Detail over door

Detalle sobre

la

puerta

SANTA TERESA
191

-^^'-

.^

r'

'^^r*'

Convent and church Monasterio y templo

Niche on church fa^ade Nicho en la fachada del templo

East end of nave Extremo oriental de

d
la

Main door

of the convent

nave

Puerta principal del monasterio

SANTA TERESA
192

."i

West wall

oi

church

Muro

occidental del templo

oor

to thc
al

church

Puerta

templo

Estpite pilaster
Pilastra estpite

SANTA CLARA
193

Detail of second story o south facade of the church

Detalle del segundo cuerpo de la fachada meridional

Choir window of second story Ventana del coro alto

SANTA CLARA
194

Estipitc pilasters
Pilastras estpites

Detail of plaster work


Detalle de ataurique

Typical niche

Nicho

tpico

Typical pilasters
Pilastras tpicas

SANTA CLARA
195

View

of nave from the sanctuary

Vista de la nave desde el presbiterio

Interior of church ruin


Interior del templo arruinado

East arcade of cloister

Arquera oriental del claustro

SANTA CLARA
197

"S^aite

'^^M^-^^^^^^J^

f^

4^
wz

Cloister

from tower of church

Claustro desde la torre del templo

Fountain and south arcade of cloister Fuente y arquera meridional del claustro

SANTA CLARA
198

>>"s.-i{
a

from north wall of church (San Francisco in background) Claustro desde el muro norte del templo (San Francisco en el fondo)
Cloister

Vew toward kitchen


Vista hacia la cocina

Cloister piers
Pilares del claustro

Cloister fountain

Fuente del claustro

SANTA CLARA
199

FouNTAi^
SCALE
OF ELEVATION

OF "LAS
PLA

Clarisas"

AND

Moved

from
to

the
the

Garderis

of

5 ANTA
PaLACE
SCALE

Clara
THE
J.

Convent
GENERAL

OF
OF TILE

CaPTAINS
L

DE

200

In

its

original location in the garden of Santa Clara


el

Convent

En

su sitio primitivo en

jardn del convento de Santa Clara

After installation in the patio of the governor

Despus de

ser instalada

en

el

patio del gobernador

FOUNTAIN OF SANTA CLARA

FUENTE DE SANTA CLARA

a
I

East fa9ade of church

Fachada oriental del templo

Emblem over convent entrance Emblema sobre la puerta del monasterio

Puerta

Entrance to the convent al monasterio

LAS CAPUCHINAS
202

Clerestory and arch of church

Ventana de linterna y arco del templo

Iron couplings of fallen arch stones

Grapas de dovelas cadas

Pilaster

and

altar niche

on north wall

of nave
la

Pilastra y nicho para altar en el

muro septentrional de

nave

LAS CAPUCHINAS

West corridor

of cloister arcade

Corredor occidental del claustro

Main dormitory of second story Dormitorio mayor en el piso alto

LAS CAPUCHINAS
204

Second Floor Plan

CAPUCHINAS
'"

CONVENT
17^36
""'

Antigua Guatemala
Completed in

(Vround Floor Plan

205

Canal para distribucin de agua en


superior de la torre circular

el nivel

VV'esi siiic u Lii

Lado

occidental de la torre circular

LAS CAPUCHINAS
206

Candelaria Parish Church Parroquia de la Candelaria

'

i.

VII

CHURCHES AND HERMITAGES


SAN SEBASTIAN PARISH CHURCH
234-237

LAS IGLESIAS Y LAS ERMITAS


IGLESIA PARROQUIAL SAN SEBASTIAN
234-237

DE

This popular and splendid church had its beginnning in 1565 as the very modest Hermitagc of San Sebastin on the slope of Manchen Hill.' As the site was remote and not easily reached the
authorities decided to transfer it to a more convenient and level location below the hill.- Work started the 29th of January 1580 under the direction of Juan de Cullar, and the church was inaugurated in 1582.^ few years later it was made a

Esta esplndida y popidar iglesia tuvo sus principios en 1565. como la ermita sumamente modesta de San Sebastin, en la ladera del Cerro del Manchen.* Siendo el sitio lejano y difcil de alcanzar, decidieron las autoridades trasladarla a un lugar ms llano y conveniente bajo la colina.- Se inici la obra el 29 de enero de 1580. dirigida por Juan de Cullar, y se inaugur la iglesia en 1582.^ Unos pocos aos ms tarde se hizo iglesia parroquial.*

parish church.*

The earthquake of 1631 caused some damage, and the City Council authorizcd repairs on April 28th of the same year.'' No other major repairs or changes were made until Scptember 19, 1660 whcn Pablo Barrientos and his son, Cristbal, artisans of masonry, contracted to rcbuild the church. it with vaults and a cupola." Pardo records the completion date of San Sebastin as January 18, 1692, but this undoubtedly refers to repairs needed after the destructive eartlK|uake

Caus el terremoto de 1631 algunas averas, y 28 de abril de acjiel mismo ao autoriz el Cabildo de la ciudad unas composturas.' No se efectuaron otras reparaciones mayores ni cambios hasta el 19 de septiembre de 1660, cuando Pablo Barrientos y su hijo Cristbal, artesanos en albaiel

and cover

lera,

contrataron reconstruir

la iglesia y

cubrirla

of February 12, 1689." For many years San Sebastin Church was one of the most popular of the city. Vzciuez thought that
it

had more parishioners than the Cathedral

when he wrote in 1695.'' At about the same time Ximnez said that the number was over eight
thousand." The church was one of two in Santiago which had the privilege of asylum.'" That there was damage to San Sebastin in 1717 is indicated by reports in 1718 and 720. Although repairs must have been made shortly thereafter, it should be noted that further work was done on the vauks in 1738." There appears to be no record of
1

damage in 1751. Juarros wrotc that the roof of San Sebastin was destroyed in 1773, but Pardo contradicts this and says that the church was used until September 1874 when the roof collapsed during an earthcjuake. According to him all the things then in the church were transferred to prvate houses or to La Merced which became
serious

de bvedas y una cpula.'' Pardo da el 18 de enero de 1692 como la fecha de la terminacin de San Sebastin, pero esto se refiere indudablemente a reparaciones necesarias despus del destructivo terremoto del 12 de febrero de 1689." Diante muchos aos estuvo el templo de San Sebastin entre los ms populares de la ciudad. Crea Vzxjuez cuando escribi de l, en 1695, que tena ms feligreses c[ue la catedral.** Hacia el mismo tiempo, relat Ximnez que el nmero fue de ms de ocho mil." La iglesia era una de las dos en Santiago que gozaban del privilegio de asilo.'" Informes de 1718 y 1720, indican que sufri daos San Sebastin en 1717. Aunque debieron de haberse hecho reparaciones poco tiempo despus, se debe notar que se trabaj ms en las bvedas en 1738." Parece que no hay informes de daos serios en 1751. Escribi Juarros (jue se destruy el techo de San Sebastin en 1773, pero Pardo lo contradice, diciendo que se sirvi del templo hasta 1874, cuando se derrumb el techo durante un terremoto, y que se trasladaron todas las cosas que se hallaban entonces en la iglesia a casas particulares

CHURCHES AND HERMITAGES


a parish church froni that day.^-

o a La Merced, que desde aquel da vino a ser

Tlie single nave of San Sebastin was shortened at some post-earthciuake period by moving the altar two bays forward. Perhaps the roof failurc that Juarros referred to was at the east end of the na\e, and the uscfulncss of the church was preserved by the constriiction of a new wall, with a niche for the image of San Sebastin, as shown on the plan ( 235 ). The south ^vall of the church is heavily buttressed midway in its length. An unusual feature of this plan is the prominent doorway on this south wall just forward of the choir

bay (236
less.

c).

The walls of One room

the church remain intact but roofto the north of the later sanctuary

its vault. There was a choir over the first bay within the niain entrance reached by stairs in the heavy wall at the right, Avhich also served the small belfry. At the left there was a baptistry which is in good condition. The fa^ade of the church faces west and overlooks a modest plaza which has remained the center of a populous district. This fa^ade is one of the fincst in Antigua with plcasing proportions and good detall. The character is more Renaissance than Baroque ( 234 ). The unadorned Doric coliunns of both stories accentuate the enrichment

retains

templo parroquial. 'La linica nave de San Sebastin se redujo en algn perodo posterior a un terremoto, trasladando el altar ms adelante, la distancia de dos tramos. Quiz el derrumbamiento del techo a que se refiri Juarros, ocurri al extremo oriental de la nave, y se conserv la utilidad de la iglesia, construyendo un nuevo muro con un nicho para la imagen de San Sebastin, como se ve en el plano La pared meridional de la iglesia tiene ( 235 ). contrafuertes pesados en un punto intermedio. Un rasgo singular de esta planta es el portal sobresaliente en este muro meridional, inmediatamente hacia adelante del tramo del coro (236 c). Los muros del templo quedan actualmente intactos pero sin techo. Una habitacin al norte del presbiterio, que se hizo posterior a la reduccin de la nave, conserva su bveda. Haba un coro por encima del primer tramo de la entrada principal, al cual se ascenda por una escalera en el muro
grueso a la derecha. Esta escalera serva, tambin, para subir al pequeo campanario. A la izquierda se hallaba un bautisterio que est en buenas condiciones. La fachada del templo mira al oeste y domina una plaza modesta que ha seguido siendo el centro de un barrio populoso. Esta fachada, entre las ms finas de la Antigua, guarda proporciones agradables y buenos detalles ornamentales. Es de carcter ms renacentista que barroco (234 ). Las columnas dricas sin adorno de los dos cuerpos, hacen resaltar el enriquecimiento de la profusa decoracin en estuco que demuestra algima influencia mudejar. Este adorno cubre la superficie entera de los muros del rea central (237 ) Las cuatro hornacinas guardan todava sus imgenes originales ( 236 ). Es posible que la ventana central del coro tuviera una imagen en ella en alguna poca. Esta colocacin era tpica de las iglesias de Santiago. Posiblemente se encontraba otro campanario bajo en el ngulo septentrional, igual al que coronaba el ngulo meridional de la fachada, pero no hay indicios de que haya existido tal campanario.

of the profuse plaster ornanientation fataiiriqtie)

which shows some Mudejar influence. This

pat-

tern of decoration covers the entire wall sinface within the central rea ( 237 ). The four niches still retain their original modclled images (236 ).

The

central window to the choir may have liad an image located there at one time. his arrangement was typical of the churches of Santiago. The
lo^\' belfry cro^vning the south crner of the faijade could have been repeated at the north, but there is no indication that such a belfry existed.

LOS REMEDIOS PARISH CHURCH


238-239

second hermitage to be founded in Almolonga, in 1530, had an image of Nuestra Seora de los Remedios, which was venerated by the Spaniards.^'' The exact year when the hermitage was transferred to the present site is not known, but it was soon after the new city was laid out. The location chosen was southeast of the Royal Plaza about the same distance that San Sebastin was to the northwest. Both were outside the formal plan of Santiago but in centers of rapidly growing districts. Los Remedios faced west on its own plaza, adjacent to what was to become a broad avenue leading from the city to the Hermitage of El
Calvario.

The

TEMPLO PARROQUIAL DE LOS


REMEDIOS
238-239

La segunda ermita que se fund en Almolonga, en 1530, tena una imagen de Nuestra Seora de
los

Remedios,
se sabe el

muy

venerada por

los espaoles.'^

Vzquez says that Bal tazar Estvez tried to rebuild the modest hermitage in 1575 and replaced

la traslacin de la erpero fue un poco despus de mita haberse trazado la nueva ciudad. El lugar escogido estaba al sudeste de la Plaza Real, aproximadamente a la misma distancia que se encontraba, al noroeste, San Sebastin. Los dos estaban fuera de

No

ao exacto de

al sitio actual,

LAS IGLESI.AS Y
the thatched roof with tile." In a decree in 1587 His Majesty ordcred the Audiencia lo give financial aid to the hermitage,'' and on May 29, 1594 he commanded that it be elevated to a parish church.'" Bishop Fray Gmez Fernndez de Crdova personally took charge of the constriiction and while living at the hcrmitage becanie ill and

L.\S

ERMITAS

formal de Santiago, pero en barrios que crecan rpidamente. Los Remedios daba al oeste hacia su propia plaza, y estaba contiguo a lo que vino a ser una alameda ancha que conduca desde la ciudad a la ermita de El
los lmites
la traza

de

Calvario.

died in 1598." The work was unfinished and with changes occurring in both the secular and episcopal government at this time, the authorities neglected to fulfill the King's decrees.''^ To prevent the deterioration of the panially completed church, Bishop Fray Juan Zapata committed the hcrmitage to the friars of San Agustn in 1625. He hoped that they would be encouraged to build there. But the King refused to sanction the change from the 1594 decree.'-' Other mcans werc found to finish the church. and with appropriate ceremonies the hcrmitage was made a par-

Dice Vzquez que en 1575. Baltasar Estvez trat de reconstruir la modesta ermita y de sustituir el techo de paja con uno de tejas.'* En una cdula en 1587 orden su Majestad que la Audiencia diera ayuda econmica a la ermita,'' y el 29 de mayo de 1594 l mismo mand (}ue se erigiera en parroquia."' El obispo Fray Gmez Fernndez de Crdova se encarg personalmente de la construccin, y mientras \ iva en la ermita se enferm y muri en 1598.'" Estaba la obra sin terminarse, y a causa de cambios en el gobierno civil lo mismo que en el eclesistico, no cumplieron las autoridades con las
cdulas del rey.'^ Para evitar el deterioro del templo inacabado, el obispo Fray Juan Zapata confi la ermita a los religiosos de San Agustn, en 1625. Esperaba que se animaran a construir all. Pero se neg el rey a .sancionar el cambio de lo ordenado en 1594.'" Se encontraron otros medios para terminar el templo, y con celebraciones apropiadas la ermita se convirti en parrofjuia en mayo de 1641.-" A la iglesia le faltaban reparos en 1679, especialmente el techo de madera y tejas, y buscaron limosnas para proveer la renovacin necesaria.-' No existe im relato claro para saber exactamente lo (juc se hizo en ese perodo, pero el interior del templo muestra claramente (|ue su nica y ancha nave nunca estuvo cid)icrta de bvedas, excepto por encima de su extensin al extremo oriental (238 hd). Es posible que esta extensin de la nave y la capilla lateral abovedada fueran construidas durante los aos inmediatamente despus de 1680. Se da bastante la iglesia en 1717, pero lo que hoy se ve, debe ser representativa de la construccin del siglo XVII en su mayor parte. Hay varios motivos para creer que las edificaciones hechas despus de los varios perodos de terremotos, tenan el carcter de reparos ms bien que de reconstrucciones. La fachada es de escala mayor que la de San Sebastin, pero hay semejanzas en la composicin, teniendo las dos igual mmero de columnas y de nichos en los dos primeros cuerpos (234 a). Es distinta la parte superior, el modesto campanario est en el ngulo opuesto, y se usan columnas jnicas en vez de dricas en el segundo cuerpo, pero existe la misma sencillez de diseo. Es una fachada renacentista que expresa el carcter de la primera parte del siglo XVII ms bien que la

church in May of 1641.-" The church was in need of repair in 1679. particularly the wood and tile roof. and alms werc sought to provide for the necessary renovation.-' There is no clcar account of just what was done in this period, but the interior of the church clearly shows that its single, wide nave was never covcred with vaidting except over the extensin at the east end(238bd). It is possiblc that this extensin of the nave and the vaulted side chapcl could have been constructcd dming the vears immediatelv
ish

following 1680.

The church was considerably damaged in 171 7.-but what stands today nuist represent the scventeenth century construction in most of its parts.
There are several rcasons to believe that work done after the various earth(]uake periods was in
the nature of repairs rather than rebuilding. The fa^ade is on a larger scale than San Sebastin, bm there are similaritics in the composition, both having the same numbcr of colinnns and niches in the first two stories (234 a). The upper facjade is difFcrent, the modest belfry is on the opposite crner, and lonic instead of Doric columns are used on the second story. but the same simplicity of design exists. It is a Renaissance facjade that expresses early rather than late sevciucenth century. The lack of surface decoration further contributes to the belief that this fa^ade was not materially altered after 1641 on its principal stories. The quality of details that is found on San Sebastin,

which was completed

a lialf century later, is lacking here. After October 18, 1750 this parish church shared with San Sebastin the privilege of giving asylum.-^

segunda mitad de

l.

CANDELARIA PARISH CHURCH


240-241

superficie contribuye

La falta de adornos en la aun ms a la creencia de que

This hcrmitage was another of the outlying

no se cambi materialmente esta fachada despus de 1641, en los dos cuerpos principales. Falta aqu la calidad en los detalles que se encuentra en San

209

CHURCHES AND HERMITAGES


foundations begun in the early years of Santiago.

The first church was completed about 1550-* near Manchen Hill where there was a rapidly growing district with its own market place northeast of the city. The hermitage was buik on the east side of
the market square. From its date of completion until 1754 the Hermitage of Candelaria was under the jurisdiction of the Dominicans.-"' The church was greatly improved in 161 5 and a fountain added to the plaza by the Captain General of that period Count

medio siglo ms tarde. Despus del 18 de octubre de 1750, esta parroquia comparti con San Sebastin el privilegio de
Sebastin, terminada

dar

asilo.-*

PARROQUIA DE LA CANDELARIA
240-241

Gomera. As

a result this square

became known

as

the 'Little Plaza of the Count.'-" In the early eighteenth century the celebrated historian of the Dominicans, Fray Domingo de los Reyes, also improved the church.-' Another great writer, Fray Francisco Ximnez, was the crate here from 1718 to 1720. He wrote that the 1717 earthquake only slightly damaged the temple.-** It seems odd that he did not give details of the work supposedly done under his direction during his residency. must rely on others who wrote that Ximnez began the reconstruction of the church, sacristy, corridors, fountain and garden before 1718, and that the work was not finished until 1722, a year after Ximnez left for Spain.2^ One is forced to question this period and to form conclusions which may be substantiated later. One must assume that the sixteenth century church was probably a modest, thatched building similar to other churches of that century which have been described. The im-

Era esta ermita otra de las fundaciones distantes del centro empezadas en los primeros aos de Santiago. Se acab su primera iglesia hacia 1550-"* en
las

inmediaciones del Cerro del Manchen,

al

noreste de la ciudad,

donde

se hallaba

un

barrio

que creca rpidamente y que tena su propia plaza para mercado. Se construy la ermita al lado oriental de dicha plaza. Desde la fecha de su terminacin hasta 1754, estaba la ermita de la Candelaria bajo la jurisdiccin de los dominicos.--^ Se mejor mucho la iglesia
en 1615, y fue aadida una fuente a su plaza por Capitn General de ese tiempo el Conde de Gomera. De esto result que vino a ser conocida esta plaza como la Tlazuela del Conde'.-'' En la primera parte del siglo XVIII, el renombrado cronista de los dominicos. Fray Domingo de los Reyes, mejor tambin el templo.-^ Otro gran escritor, Fray Francisco Ximnez, era su cura desde 1718 hasta 1720. Escribi que los terremotos de 1717 daaron poco el templo.-^ Parece extrao que no diera detalles de la obra que se supone haberse hecho bajo su direccin durante esos aos. Hay que fiarse de otros que
el

We

la

provement mentioned in 1615 could have inwood and tile roof. Even though no record has been found that this church was rebuilt between 1615 and 1717, the very Baroque character and twisted columns of its fagade belong to
cluded a
the late seventeenth century. If reconstruction of the fa^ade, and some other parts of this church, had occurred a few decades before 1717 it would be more logical to believe Ximnez when he says that the temple was only slightly damaged by the earthquake of that year. The damage must have been more than he indicated, however, to have required four years of repair, or rebuilding, even if allowance is made for the slow collection of alms. After the earthquake of 1751 there is a record of damage, and the priest was allowed in 1753 to ask for alms to again reconstruct the temple.''" It is probable that considerable work was done then, but it is also possible that this was renovation rather than rebuilding. The decorative detall of plaster (ataurique) on the fa^ade could have been doneat this time since similar work was in progress at La Merced during these years. The hermitage was secularized and made a parish church in

1754." Unfortunately the earthquake of 1773 again demolished the church. The fragments of the fa-

escribieron que empez Ximnez la reconstruccin de la iglesia, la sacrista, los corredores, la fuente y el jardn, al ser nombrado su cura en 1718. y que no se termin hasta 1722, un ao despus de partir Ximnez para Espaa.^" Se est forzado a dudar de este perodo y de llegar a conclusiones que, posiblemente, se verificarn ms tarde. Hay que presumir que la iglesia del siglo XVI fuera probablemente un modesto edificio de paja, parecido a otros templos de aquel siglo que ya se han descrito. Las mejoras mencionadas en 1615 habran podido incluir un techo de madera y teja. Aunque no se ha encontrado documento de haberse reconstruido esta iglesia entre 1615 y 1717, el carcter muy barroco y las columnas salomnicas de su fachada, pertenecen a la liltima parte del siglo XVII. Si la reconstruccin de la fachada y de algunas otras partes de esta iglesia haban ocurrido unas dcadas antes de 1717, sera ms lgico creer a Ximnez, cuando dice que el templo slo fue daado un poco por los terremotos de aquel ao. Sin embargo, debi de haber sido el dao mayor de lo que indic l, pues necesit cuatro aos para repararlo o reconstruirlo, bastante tiempo, aun cuando ello se debiera en parte por recolectar lentamente las

210

L.\S

IGLESIAS Y

L.A.S

ERMITAS

gade ^vhich stand today are particularly handsome in the early afternoon sun when the light and

limosnas.

shadows give the intricately modelled surfaces the appearance of lace ( 240 ). When Dr. Antonio Jan Morente'- viewed the facade of Candelaria in 1945, he declared it to be one of the finest examples of Baroque in the Ne^v World and as good as anything in Spain. The rnate plaster decoration strapwork, shells, putti, angels. geometric and floral patterns intermingles neo-Miidjar and Plateresque character. The architectiiral treatment about the door
to the parish courtyard deviates froni

Despus de los terremotos de 1751, hay relacin los daos, y le permitieron al sacerdote, en 1753, pedir limosnas para volver a reconstruirla iglesia.''" Es probable que se hiciera trabajo considerable entonces, pero tambin es posible que fuera ste una renovacin, ms bien que una reconstruccin. Es factible que se realizaran los detalles decorativos en estuco de la fachada entonces, puesto que se haca trabajo semejante en La Merced durante
de
esos aos.

monic, or twisted, coltimns

the Salothat dominate the

Se seculariz esta ermita en 1754 y parroquia.'^

la

hicieron

church facade. Here the capitals become fanciful, and the general effect is almost Rococ (241 b), suggesting that they were a part of the -ivork done after the middle of the eighteenth centiiry.

los terremotos de 1773 arruiiglesia. Los fragmentos de fachada que estn hoy en pie son especialmente hermosos bajo el sol de las primeras horas de la

Desgraciadamente, naron otra vez esta

la

ficies

SANTA ROSA DE LIMA CHURCH


242-243

Beaterio of Santa Catalina de Siena was established by a wealthy lady of the nobility with a gift of property November 5, 1580.'''' The membership of this housc of pious white women canie from the noble and leading families of the colony. Although they were not cloistered they worc white
habits and lived as a religiotis community under the direction of the Dominicans. Probably they had a sinall oratory for devotions in thcir niodest house, btit it was their cnstom to attend mass at the nearby church of Santo Domingo Monastery.^'
Littlc is known concerning this group which was founded before the birth of Santa Rosa de Lima (1586-1617). As soon as this American nun of the Dominican Order was placed in the Cata-

The

cuando la luz y las sombras dan a las superintrincadamente modeladas, el aspecto de encaje ( 240 ). Al ver el Dr. Antonio Jan Morente''- la fachada de la Candelaria en 1945, declar (jue estaba entre los ejemplos ms finos del estilo barroco del Nuevo Miuido y qtie igualaba a cualquiera de Espaa. El ataurique muy adornado con entrelazados, conchas, putti,' ngeles, dibujos geomtricos y florales, entremezcla caractersticas neo-mtidjares
tarde,

y platerescas.

El tratamiento arquitectnico alrededor de la puerta que da al patio de la parroquia, se desva de las columnas salomnicas que predominan en la fachada del templo. Aqu, los capiteles son fantsticos, y el efecto general es casi rococ (241 b), sugiriendo que fueran parte de la obra realizada despus de la primera mitad del siglo

XVIIL

logue of Saints (1670) the members of Saint Catherine of Sienna adopted hcr as their patroness.'*'' In 1766 they were granted permission to Uve a cloistered life where their time was devoted to spiritual exercises, to reading, sewing, embroidery and the teaching of these things to a few young women entrustcd to their care.^'' Xothing rcmains today of this small beaterio, or house of charity.

IGLESIA

DE SANTA ROSA DE LIMA


242-243

El Beaterio de Santa Catalina de Siena fue establecido por una seora noble y acaudalada, por

The existing church was begun in 1720.^' Its fagade, even in ruin, is one of more than average interest (242 a). The contrast between this temple and that of Candelaria, which some writers believe was rebuilt by the Dominicans in the same years. is notable, especially because of thcir proximity to one another. The paircd pilasters of Santa Rosa (242 bd) are horizontally banded and grooved, and capped by simple triangular pediments, instead of having the composition of twisted columns and broken pediments which had been in vogiie during the latter part of the seventeenth century. The decoration fiUing the various spaces is bold in design with a liberal representation of angels. None

cesin de un solar, el 5 de noviembre de 580.^'' Las Beatas de esta casa piadosa de 'mujeres blancas', eran de familias nobles y principales de la colonia. Aunque no estaban enclaustradas, llevaban hbitos blancos y vivan como ima comunidad religiosa, bajo la direccin de los dominicos. Probablemente tenan un pequeo oratorio en su modesta casa, pero acostumbraban or misa en la iglesia cercana
1

del

Convento de Santo Domingo.''* Se sabe poco de este grupo que se fund antes del nacimiento de Santa Rosa de Lima (15861617). Luego cjue se canoniz a esta monja americana de la orden dominica (1670), las Beatas de Santa Catalina de Siena la tomaron por patrona.^'' En 1766, se les concedi licencia para vivir en
clausura, dedicndose a ejercicios espirituales, a

211

CHURCHES AND HERMITAGES


of the lacy surface adornment of Candelaria appears on this structure. This seems to suggest that at least the fa(:ade of Candelaria might have been constructed earlier than Santa Rosa since it reflects the type of work being done a quarter of a century

bordar, y ensear estos oficios a unas cuantas jvenes bajo su cuidado.^" Hoy no queda
leer, coser,

nada de

este

pequeo
obra de

beatero.
la iglesia existente,

Se inici

la

en

1720.'^

the other hand, with regard to speSanta Rosa closely resembles churches known to have been constructed in the second quarter of the eighteenth century. If Santa Rosa was built just after 1720 it would have been contemporary with the gate of El Calvario and predated Santa Cruz and San Jos el Viejo. Because of the modest size of the church, the four niches adjacent to the choir window are so small that the images in them are not much larger than the 'putti' {242 he), or celestial cherubs, that decrate the frieze of each story. These male infants reappear in almost identical form in the frieze of Santa Cruz, and the pilasters are a variation of those of Santa Ana Church and El Calvario gate. Above the entrance there is a splendid figure
before.
cific detail,

On

La fachada de este templo, aun arruinada, es ms interesante que muchas otras (242 a). El contraste entre esta iglesia y la de la Candelaria, que algunos
escritores creen fue reconstruida

por

los

dominicos

mother and child, and in the Baroque pediment crowning the fa^ade another large niche has an image of the patroness. Flanking angels and a large crown termnate the upper story (243 a). The church is one of the smallest built in Santiago. No attempt has been made to remove the fallen vaults from the interior of its single nave. What remains visible is in suprisingly good condiof
tion.

The

pilaster capitals are interesting for the

fact that

in the chapel of

one discerns a marked similarity to those Tridentino Seminary, built in the

is some reason to believe that these details were contemporary since the Audiencia granted Santa Rosa the privilege of collecting alms in 1749 for the rebuilding of its church."''* Enough of the vaults remains to show that

mid-eighteenth century. There

they were the low, ellipsoidal domes so common to colonial Santiago. At least one of the domes was crowned by a cupola. In the survey following the 1773 earthquake it was reported that the walls were ruined and that the cupola and arches of the temple fell, as did the other buildings.^"

inismos aos, es notable sobre todo por estar ellas tan cercanas la una a la otra. Las pilastras pareadas de Santa Rosa (242 bd) son 'fajadas' y estriadas horizontalmente y rematadas por frontones triangulares sencillos, en vez de tener una composicin de columnas salomnicas y frontones rotos, que haba sido la moda durante la ltima parte del siglo XVIL La decoracin que llena los varios espacios es de diseo atrevido y tiene una gran profusin de ngeles. No se ve en esta fbrica nada del adorno de la superficie, parecido al encaje, que embellece la Candelaria. Esto parece sugerir que al menos la fachada de la Candelaria se construyera posiblemente antes de Santa Rosa, puesto que refleja el tipo de trabajo que se haca un cuarto de siglo antes. De otra parte, tocante a los detalles especficos, Santa Rosa se asemeja mucho a iglesias que se construyeron en el segundo cuarto del siglo XVIIL Si se edific Santa Rosa inmediatamente despus de 172Q, habra sido contempornea del portal de El Calvario, y anterior a La Santa Cruz y San Jos el Viejo. A causa del discreto tamao del templo, los cuatro nichos contiguos a la ventana del coro son tan pequeos que las imgenes en ellos son casi tan minsculas como los 'putti'(242 be) o querubines que adornan el friso de cada cuerpo. Estas figuras reaparecen en forma casi idntica en el friso de La Santa Cruz, y las pilastras son una variacin de las de la iglesia de Santa Ana y del portal de El Calvario. Por encima de la entrada, hay una imagen esplndida de la Virgen con el Nio Jess, y en el frontn barroco que corona la fachada hay otro nicho grande con la patrona de este beatero. Los ngeles que lo rodean y una corona grande rematan el cuerpo superior (243 a).

durante

los

SANTA CRUZ HERMITAGE


244-249

One of the architectural gems of Santiago was constructed in the first half of the eighteenth century in an Indian district on the east side of the Pensativo River.*" Juarros says that the hermitage already existed at the beginning of the seventeenth century and was administered by the Dominicans.*' The first small church must have followed the usual custom of having only a thatched roof. An agreement to finish the work on the hermitage, dated February 4, 1662, was made with the carpenter Blas Marn, a ladino-Indian.*- This might

Es la iglesia una de las ms pequeas construidas en Santiago. No ha habido ninguna tentativa para quitar las bvedas cadas del interior de su nica nave. Lo que queda visible se conserva sorprendentemente bien. Los capiteles de las pilastras son interesantes por el hecho de que se percibe una semejanza notable con los de la capilla del Seminario Tridentino, que se construy a mediados del

XVIIL Hay razn para creer que eran contemporneos estos detalles, puesto que concedi la Audencia a Santa Rosa el privilegio de recolectar limosnas en 1749, para la reedificacin de su iglesia.^* Queda bastante de las bvedas para mostrar que eran de las rebajadas y elipsoidales, tan comunes en el Santiago colonial. Al menos
siglo

212

L.AS
logically refer to the first roofing with
tile.

IGLESIAS Y LAS ERMITAS

Ximnez wrote that been done on the hermitage just prior to 1662." In this district east of the city. a narrow strip of land between the river and a steep hill, there wcre
a

wood and considerable work had

bvedas fue coronada por ima cpula. En el reconocimiento despus de los terremotos de 1773, informaron que estaban arruinados los muros y derrumbados la cpula y los arcos del templo, lo mismo que los dems edificios del
las

una de

number

of prosperous Indians

their church should be rebuilt.

who felt that The City Council


1727 for a

beatero.^"

received a request on September 23. flunie to bring water to the site for use in the construction, a request which was finally granted on May 1 th of the following year."** The ne\\- temple
1

ERMITA DE LA SANTA CRUZ


244-249

was put into service on October 13. 1731.*"' A few days later the Council was solicited for permission to build a fountain, which was completed the following year.^" And again on January 11,1 746 the City Council assigned funds to finish Santa Cruz.*' It is difficult to determine with any assurancc what part of the original construction was retained
in the 1728-31 rebuilding. Some of the walls vary considerably, and in certain places the buttresses appear to be there merely as reinforcement. The main body of the church was still roofed with wood, and only the eastern extensin was vaulted. It seems almost certain that the sanctuary which was vaulted and the domed bay forward of it were extcnsions of the original nave and belong to this 1731 construction. A similar condition is to be found in ncarby Los Remedios Parish Church. This conclusin allows for the possibility that the main nave of the church was not rebuilt entirely but was buttressed and given a new fa(;ade. 1 he choir over the main entrance appears to belong to the new fac^ade, but the walls of the small side chapel, or baptistry, are not the .same as thosc of the church. The largc sacristy adjoining the sanctuary also must be a part of the 1731 structure. The location of the parish house is barely disccrnible on the north side of the church although some of the walls that cnclosed the patio and the magnificent fountain which was built in 1732 still re-

main standing

(440 ab)

which faces west onto a plaza, ov atrium, is raised on a shallow platform. The usual stone cross was located in the center of this plaza which extends to the river. When the fac^ade was first photographed in 1934 (245 a) it was almost completely hidden by a jungle-like growth along the river and the coffee and gravilca trees that surrounded it. After Antigua was made a National Monument in 1944 all these trees bctween the high river dike and the church steps were removed and a road built along the top of a new and highcr dike. Previously there had been no public access to the ruin. Steps Avere built from the dike road down to the original atrium level. Before the dike was raised to the present road level the plaza in front of the church had been flooded from time to time, and silt had covered the base of the cross and the steps to the church.
fa^rade.

The

Una de las joyas arquitectnicas de Santiago se construy en la primera mitad del siglo XVIII, en un barrio de indgenas, al lado oriental del ro Pensativo.*" Dice Juarros que ya exista la ermita a principios del siglo XVII y que los dominicos la administraban.*' La primera pequea iglesia habra tenido el acostuinbrado techo de paja. Un contrato para terminar la obra de la ermita, fechado el 4 de febrero de 1662. se hizo con el carpintero Blas Marn, indio ladino.'- Lgicamente es posible que se refiriera ste a la primera vez que fue techada con madera y teja. Escribi Ximnez que, inmediatamente antes de 1662. se haba hecho trabajo considerable en esta ermita.''' En este barrio al este de la ciudad, una faja angosta de tierra entre el ro y ima colina empinada, vivan varios indgenas prsperos (jue crean deba reconstruirse su templo. El Cabildo municipal recibi una peticin el da 23 de septiembre de 1727, para hacer construir una atarjea para conducir agua a ese sitio y usarla en la construccin, peticin (ue por fin se concedi el de mayo del ao siguiente." Se estren la nueva iglesia el 13 de octubre de 1731.''' Unos das ms tarde se solicit al Cabildo permiso para construir una fuente que se termin el ao 1732.*'' Y nuevamente, el 11 de enero de 1746, el Cabildo asign fondos para finalizar la obra de La Santa Cruz.*" Es difcil determinar con certeza cul parte de la edificacin original se conserv en la reconstruccin de 1728-31. Algunos muros varan considerablemente, y en ciertos lugares parecen estar all los contrafuertes slo como refuerzo. El cuerpo principal del templo continuaba con techo de madera y teja, y slo tena bvedas la seccin oriental. Parece casi cierto que el presbiterio, que estaba abovedado, y el tramo delante de l, que tena cpula, eran extensiones de la nave original y pertenecan a esta construccin de 1731. Se encuentra condicin parecida en la parroquia cercana de Los Remedios. Esta conclusin permite la posibilidad de que no se reconstruyera por completo la nave principal del templo, sino que fuera estribado y le superpusieron una fachada nueva. Parece que el coro sobre la entrada principal, pertenece a la aludida fachada nueva, pero las paredes de la pequea capilla lateral, o baptisterio, no son iguales a las de la iglesia. Sera parte de la
1

CHURCHES AND HERMITAGES


Viewed from the river bank the fagade presents the same composition common to many other churches of the city ^\ith two stories of coupled columns framing niches, a large ^vindow to the
choir and a crowning gable. The effect is essentially Baroque but with refinements in the upper pediments and niches. The various elements of the composition are clearly defined in spite of the variety and natm-e of the decoration which makes this fa^ade the best example in Santiago of molded plaster work. Its only rival is the fa^ade of I.a

Merced. The impact of this fa^ade grows as it is approached until the careful observer is almost overwhehned by the richness of design. The columns which seem simple at a distance are made up of
a cluster of fluted colonettes. Infant atlantes (pntti) support the column caps and decrate the frieze (245 c). Birds. animis and human forms are interspersed with both natural and geometric patterns to cover all the surfaces. The drapery of the images in the niches is indicative of the skill of the artists
this church (244 d). The niche below the crowning pediment contains a magnificent crucifixin group. This escapes the casual observer and is best appreciated with binoculars or a telephoto lens (247 a). No amount of words

construccin de 1731 tambin, la sacrista grande contigua al presbiterio. Apenas se puede ver la situacin de la casa parroquial al lado norte del templo, aunque todava quedan en pie algunas de las murallas que cerraban el patio y la fuente magnfica que se construy hacia 1732 (440 ab) La fachada con orientacin hacia una plaza o atrio al oeste, est alzada sobre ima plataforma de poca altura. La acostumbrada cruz de piedra estaba situada en el centro de la plaza que se extiende hasta el ro. Cuando fue fotografiada la fachada por primera vez en 1934 (245 a), estaba casi completamente escondida bajo la vegetacin medio
selvtica a las orillas del ro y por los cafetos y gravileas que la rodeaban. Despus que se hizo a
la Antigua Monumento Nacional, en 1944, se removieron estos rboles entre el alto dique del ro y los escalones de la iglesia, y se construy un camino a lo largo y sobre la parte superior de un nuevo dique ms alto. Antes no haba existido acceso pblico a las ruinas. Entonces se hicieron escalones desde el camino hasta el nivel original del atrio. Antes de elevar el dique a la altura actual del camino, se haba inundado de vez en cuando la plaza delante de la iglesia, y sedimentos de barro haban cubierto la base de la cruz y las gradas de la iglesia.

who worked on

can adequately describe the details of Santa Cruz, and therefore a study of the photographs is recom-

Vista desde la orilla del


la

ro, la

fachada presenta
a

misma composicin comiin


de
la

muchas

otras

mended.

The diminutive bell tower at the right of the fagade is out of scale with the rest of the church but fortunately passes almost unnoticed. There is no access to this belfry. and if there were bells in it they were the smallest in the city. The balancing tower of the left housed an extremely tight circular stair to the choir. The upper portion of this tower has fallen, and it is impossible to determine whether it was a belfry; probably it was. The interior detall is less profuse in decoration, but what exists is very -vell placed. The heavy fluted pilasters and arch supporting the choir, and the elabrate plaster ornamentation of the face of this arch, represent the most concentrated decoration within the church(248 ac). The window to the choir has a more restrained adornment (249 d) that is more or less duplicated in other windows of the nave (249c). The only other concentrated decoration is found on the nave side of the arch which terminated the wood roof (249 b). Just beyond this was a square rea covered by a dome which was not completely destroyed until the earthquakes of 1917-18. On either side of this rea there Avere positions for large altars. The next bay contained the sanctuary, an rea covered by a low ellipsoidal vault that sprung directly from the walls in the manner typical of eighteenth century Santiago. The greatest treasure of this church was its

ciudad, con dos cuerpos de columnas pareadas, haciendo marcos para las hornacinas, una ventana grande al coro y un remate que la corona. El efecto es esencialmente barroco pero con ciertos refinamientos en los frontones supeiglesias

Los varios elementos de la composicin se difinen claramente, a pesar de la variedad y carcter de la decoracin que hacen de esta fachada el mejor ejemplar del ataurique de Santiago. Su linico rival es la fachada de La Merced. El impacto de esta fachada aumenta conforme se acerca a ella. Y el observador cuidadoso se halla casi abrumado por la riqueza del diseo. Las columnas que a lo lejos parecen sencillas, se componen de un grupo de pilastrillas estriadas. Nios atlantes sostienen los remates de las columnas y a la vez adornan el friso (245 c). Estn entremezclados pjaros, animales y formas humanas con diseos naturales y geomtricos para cubrir todas las superficies. El ropaje de las imgenes en los nichos es un ejemplar excelente de la habilidad de los artistas que trabajaron en este templo (244 d). La hornacina por debajo del frontn que la corona, contiene un grupo magnfico de la crucifixin. Este no lo ve el observador casual, y se puede apreciarlo mejor con binoculares o telefoto (247 a). Por muchas que sean las palabras, no pueden describir adecuadamente los detalles de La Santa Cruz, y por eso se recomienda un estudio detallado
riores y en los nichos.

LAS IGLESIAS Y LAS ERMITAS


Christ bearing the Cross, which
is

said to be the

de

las fotografas.

of Alonso de la Paz. This celebrated sculpture has been preserved in La Merced since 1778,''^ and is most prominent in the procession of Good Friday. When the curacies of the hermitages were seciilarized in 1754. the Hermitage of Santa Cruz was put under the care of Los Remedios Parish

work

El campanario diminuto, a la derecha de la fachada, no es de la misma escala que el resto de la iglesia, pero afortunadamente apenas se nota
esto.
si

No hay medio de acceso a hubiera habido campanas en


la

este
l

campanario, y habran sido las

ms pequeas de

ciudad. La torre cjue lo equili-

Church.*"

EL CARMEN CHURCH
250-254

braba a la izqtiierda tena tma escalera circular que apenas caba en ella y (jue ascenda al coro. La parte superior de esta torre se ha cado, y es imposible determinar si era vm campanario, pero es probable que lo fuera. Los detalles del interior son menos profusos en
su decoracin existente, pero ella est muy bien distribuida. Las pesadas pilastras estriadas y el arco que sostienen el coro, y el atauri(jue primoroso del frente de este arco, representan la decoracin ms acumulada dentro del templo(248 ac). Tiene la ventana del coro un adorno ms sobrio (249 d) que se duplica ms o menos en otras ventanas de la nave (249 c). La nica otra decoracin concentrada se halla en el lado hacia la nave del arco en que concluy el techo de madera (249 b). Inmediatamente desptis de ste, haba una rea cuadrada, cubierta por una ciipula (|ue no se destruy completamente hasta los terremotos de 1917-18. A cada lado de esta rea haba espacios para altares grandes. El tramo siguiente contena el presbiterio,

The ruined fa^ade that is so admired today belongs to the third church to be built upon this site. Permission was granted for the construction of the
Hermitage of Nuestra Seora del Carmen on 9, 1638/'*" and the ceremony of benediction was performed on June lOth of the same year.' It seems obvious that not even a small church of adobe and thatch could have been built in that short a time, but two explanations appear possible. Construction may have begun before permission was granted in spite of the laws prohibiting such action''- or the first church was an adaptaApril
tion of .some existing structure. In either case, the

church must have been small and poorly btiilt because it deteriorated after the earthquake of 1651 and had to be rebuilt. The new and larger temple was inaugurated April 12, 1686 but in turn was destroyed in 1717.''-'' The construction of the third church was completed at a considerable expense by 1728. Lhis was considered one of the finest in Santiago, and it was especially popular for its ritual, orators and music.'' The fa(:acie was constructed of brick covered with stucco, and it is remarkable for the ninnbcr of couplcd colunms and their placement in both stories ( 251 ). The twelve lower Doric columns now appear bare of ornament, but there are indications on the surface that they were originally decorated (252 b). The uppcr lonic colunms are covered by an elabrate shcath of stucco in a pattern of interlaced ribbons and scrolls. The broken entablatures add to the overall Barociuc ensemble. Pardo attributes the work of this elabrate fa^ade to three native masons of Jocotenango, Juan Lpez. Manuel Garca and Timoteo Nez;''' In the window-niche above the entrance there is a figure of

una rea cubierta de una bveda elptica rebajada que arranc directainente de las paredes, a la manera tpica del Santiago del siglo XVIII. El mayor tesoro de esta iglesia fue su Cristo con la Cruz a cuestas (Nazareno) que se dice ser de
Alonso de la Paz, Se ha conservado esta renombrada escultura en La Merced desde 1778.^^

Cuando se secularizaron las vicaras de las ermitas en 1754, se encarg a la parroquia de Los Remedios la ermita de La Santa Cruz.*"

IGLESIA

DEL CARMEN

250-254

Our Lady of Carmen (253 a). The plaster work of this fa^ade is bold and effectivc but lacks the fine quality and variety of motifs that distinguish Santa Cruz, Candelaria and La Merced. There was a bell tower at the right of the fa^ade reached from the ground level by a circular stairway (250). The interior of the church must have been one of the most elabrate in the City because of its six side altars and a very fine main altar. dome with

La fachada arruinada que hoy se admira tanto es de la tercera iglesia que se construy en este sitio. Se concedi la licencia para la construccin de la ermita de Nuestra Seora del Carmen, el 9 de abril de 1638,^ y se verific la ceremonia de su consagracin el 10 de junio del mismo ao."'^ Parece obvio que ni una iglesia pequea de adobe y paja hubiera podido construirse en tan corto tiempo, pero dos explicaciones son posibles. Muchas veces se inici la construccin antes de concederse la licencia a pesar de leyes que prohiban tal hecho''- o es posible que fuera la primera iglesia una adaptacin de alguna estructura ya existente. En todo caso habra sido pequeo y mal construido este templo, puesto que se desmejor despus del terremoto de 1651, y fue necesario

215

CHURCHES AND HERMITAGES


a cupola covered the bay forward of the sanctuary. The remainder of the church, as well as the sacristy, had the usual low vaults, called 'bvedas vidas.' The sacristy ceiling still has an interesting pattern of panels with nioldings, and its size is impressive. An intricate floor of brick tile (253 c), an rnate cornice(254 de), and decorated wood railings also added to the architectural refinement of the church interior. There were balconies at the sides of the sanctuary reached by special stairs (254 a), and beneath the nave and sanctuary there were burial vaults. Adjoining the temple was a conventual house for the brotherhood of the Holy Scapulary similar to the house maintained for the Third Order of San Francisco at El Calvario and those at the hermitages of several other monasteries."" Judging by the position of the main doorway facing the street, the conventual building extended to the north end of the block in which it is located. Several rooms along the street and within the property remain standing today. In 1725 His Majesty had given the Capuchin nuns permission to found their convent in this house, but ^vhen they arrived from Spain on January 22, 1726 they agreed with the bishop and civil authorities that it was unsuitable. The nuns were temporarily sheltered in the Carmelite Convent of Santa Teresa." Bishop Fray Juan Bautista Alvarez de Toledo had purchased, before his death, the Yrive property. The City Council delegated a committee to examine its condition on January 7, 1726 and the following day ordered remodelling that was needed to make it suitable for the use of the Capuchins. This work was completed in less than two months after the arrival of the fovinding nuns. They left the Convent of Santa Teresa on March 20th to go to the Cathedral and from there were conducted by Bishop Nicols Gmez de Cervantes to their own convent.''** Therefore it is apparent that the conventual house uscd by the brotherhood of the Holy Scapulary of the Carmelites was never occupied, even temporarily, by the Capuchin nuns in spite of the confusin and published statements to the contrary. The church was badly damaged in July of 1773, but the major destruction occurred on December 1 3th of that year when the vaults. cupola and bell
reconstruirlo.

La iglesia nueva y ms grande se estren el 12 de abril de 1686, pero a su vez se destruy en 1717.^^
Se acab la construccin del tercer templo, a un costo considerable, hacia 1728. Se tena por uno de los ms suntuosos de Santiago, y era especialmente popular por sus devociones, oradores sagrados y su
msica.^'*

Se construy la fachada de la iglesia de ladrillos cubiertos de estuco, y es notable por el nmero de sus columnas pareadas y su colocacin en los dos

cuerpos ( 251 ). Las doce columnas inferiores de orden drico se ven ahora desnudas de ornamentacin, pero hay indicaciones en su superficie que originalmente estaban adornadas (252 b). Las columnas superiores jnicas estn revestidas de un esmerado recubrimiento de estuco en un diseo de cintas y espirales entrelazadas. Los entablamentos rotos aaden al conjimto barroco general. Atribuye Pardo la obra de esta fachada primorosa a tres albailes indgenas de Jocotenango: Juan Lpez, Manuel Garca y Timoteo Niiez.*'' En el nicho de la ventana, sobre la entrada, hay una imagen de Nuestra Seora del Carmen (253 a). El ataurique de esta fachada es atrevido e impresionante, pero carece de la calidad fina y la variedad de motivos

que distinguen a La Santa Cruz, Candelaria y La Merced. Haba un campanario a la derecha de la fachada que se alcanzaba desde el primer nivel por una escalera circular. Debi de haber sido el interior de esa iglesia uno de los ms esplndidos de la ciudad a causa de sus seis altares laterales y su altar mayor muy
suntuoso (250 ). Una bveda con su cpula cubra el tramo que quedaba delante del presbiterio. El resto del templo y la sacrista tenan las acostumbradas bvedas vidas. El cielo de la sacrista todava tiene un diseo interesante de tableros con molduras, y es impresionante su tamao. Un piso intrincado de ladrillo (253 c), una cornisa muy ornada(254de), y barandillas de madera decoradas contribuan tambin al refinamiento arquitectnico del interior de la iglesia. Haba balcones a los lados del presbiterio a los que se llegaba por escaleras especiales (254 a), y por debajo de la nave y el presbiterio haba criptas para entierros. Contigua al templo haba una casa conventual para la cofrada del Santo Escapulario parecida a la casa sostenida para la Tercera Orden de San Francisco en El Calvario y las de las ermitas de otros varios monasterios. A juzgar por la colocacin de la entrada principal que daba a la calle, el edificio conventual se extenda al extremo septentrional de la manzana en que est situado. Varias piezas a lo largo de la calle y dentro del solar quedan hoy en pie. En 1725, su Majestad haba dado a las monjas capuchinas licencia para fundar su convento en esta casa, pero cuando llegaron de Espaa el 22 de enero de 1726, con''''

tower

collapsed.'^'*

EL CALVARIO HERMITAGE
255-256

At the southern end of Calvary Alameda, beyond Los Remedios Church and a seventeenth century foimtain, stands the Hermitage of the Holy Calvary which was begun on the 19th of November 1618 at which time a cross was erected there. The mayor of Santiago designated the site

216

LAS IGLESIAS Y LAS ERMITAS


where the church was to be built, and construction was begun at once. However, the collection of alms was slow. and work was negligible until 1647 when the Tertiaries of San Francisco began in earnest to gather materials and make measiirements. Building began in 1652."" The site of El Calvario had been determined originally by measiiring the one thousand three hundred and t^v'enty-two steps which Jess took during the first twelve parts of the way to Calvary."^ At first the Stations were marked by simple wood crosses''-' and later by canvases, placed on the walls, which showed the appropriate scene for each."^ Then, in 1691, very fine vaulted chapis were inaugurated at all of the Stations (256 ac) /'-t The Via Criicis began near San Francisco Monastery, and the last Stations were placed
inside the gate of El Calvario.""'

All were the work and responsibility of the of the Third Order of Franciscans. These little chapis were in poor condition in 1934 but were restored to use in 1942 on the 257 ) ( four hundredth anniversary of the founding of Santiago. Members of the brotherhood of the Third Order of Franciscans not only undertook to build this hermitage but all labored in its construction and later cared for the church and its iwo gardcns. Among those who worked herc after 1652 was Pedro de Betancourt. the founder a few years later of the hospital of Beln.''''' The arca assigned to El Calvario was cncloscd and the first gate startcd in 1619. It was described

members

vinieron con el obispo y los funcionarios civiles en que no era apropiada, y las monjas habitaron provisionalmente el convento carmelita de Santa Teresa."'" El obispo Fray Juan Bautista Alvarez de Toledo haba comprado antes de su muerte unas casas al Sr. Yrive. El Cabildo design ima comisin para inspeccionar su estado el 7 de enero de 726 y al da siguiente, orden algunas reformas que se necesitaban para hacerlas convenientes para el uso de las capuchinas. Se termin esta obra menos de dos meses despus de la llegada de las monjas fundadoras. Salieron del convento de Santa Teresa el 20 de marzo para ir a la catedral, y de all fueron conducidas por el obispo Nicols Gmez de Cervantes a sti propio convento.*'* Por eso se ve que la casa conventual de la Hermandad del Santo Escapulario de los carmelitas no fue octipada nunca, ni provisionalmente, por las religiosas captichinas a pesar de la confusin de relatos publicados que lo dicen. Sufri la iglesia averas serias en julio de 1773, pero la mayor destruccin ocurri el 1 3 de diciembre de aquel ao, cuando bvedas, ciipula y campanario se desplomaron."'"
1

ERMITA DE EL CALVARIO
255-256

by Vzquez

as

having two arched openings sepa-

rated by a hcavy pier. and a second story which repeated the arches with a niche betwecn them.''" This was not described as a belfry. and probably it was a rather simple architcctural composition. In the pcriod bcfore the first real church was built, thcre was a partially wallcd and thatched rea more than a himdred feet long which served as a church and affordcd some shelter for worshippers. At the soiah end, on hcaAier supports. was a roofed arca for the Holy Sepidchrc Ashich Avas located approximately where the main altar of the church was to be placed eventually.'"''* Between 1647 ant 1655 great intercst was arouscd. and the first church was completed by the combined labor of churchmen and citizens. It was ready for use in 1655. and in 1657 the last of the large paintings by .Antonio de Montiifar was

Al trmino meridional de la Alameda del Calms all de la iglesia de Los Remedios y una fuente del siglo XVII, se erige la ermita del Santo Calvario que se empez el 19 de noviembre de 16 IS cuando se edific all una cruz. El alcalde de Santiago design el sitio donde haba de construirse la iglesia, y se inici en seguida la edificavario,

cin. Pero fue lenta la recatidacin de limosnas, y fue insignificante la construccin hasta 1647, cuan-

do

los

Hermanos de

la

Tercera Orden de San

Francisco empezaron a recoger con fervor materiales y a hacer mediciones. Empezaron a construir

en 1652.""
El sitio de El Calvario se haba escogido original-

mente midiendo los mil trescientos veintids pasos que anduvo Jesiis dtirante la Va SacraS'^ Al principio las estaciones fueron marcadas por sencillas cruces de madera,"- y despus por lienzos mostranla escena apropiada para cada una, los que se colocaron en las paredas."' Luego, en 1691, se estrenaron capillas de bveda, bien diseadas y hermosas, en todas las estaciones (256 ac)."* Los pasos estaban representados con imgenes y lienzos. El Via Crucis empez en la cerca del monasterio de San Francisco, y las ltimas estaciones estaban dentro del sitio de El Calvario?'' Todas eran obra y responsabilidad de los miembros de la Tercera Orden de franciscanos. Estas pequeas capillas estaban en mal estado en 1934 ( 257 ) pero fueron restauradas para .servir en 1942, en el cuarto cen-

do

placed in it."'' Others stalled in 1737.""

bv Toms de Merlo were

in-

By 1717 the church A\as badly in nccd of repair. and, as a result of the earthquake of that year, all of it fell except the vaults of the sanctuary and of the chapel of the Santo Cristo which remained standing but badly damaged. The Third Order did not have the means to reconstrtict it, but fin-

217

CHURCHES AND HERMITAGES


Captain General Rodrguez de Rivas had it anew at his expense, with a magnificent carved and paneled -vood ceiling and a roof of tile.'^ The new church was inaugurated February 11, 1720. The only individual ame known to have been associated with the 1719-20 construction is Diego de Medina who directed some of its conally

tenario de la fundacin de Santiago.

built

struction. ~-

Los miembros de la Tercera Orden de San Franno slo emprendieron la fbrica de esta ermita sino que todos los Hermanos trabajaron en su construccin y ms tarde cuidaron de la iglesia y de sus dos jardines. Entre los que trabajaron all, despus de 1652, estuvo Pedro de Betancourt, quien haba de fundar el hospital de Beln unos
cisco

The

gate built after 1717 also served as a belfry,

and impressively terminates the long vista south^vard from the Pensativo River through the wide, tree-lined avenue (255 a). The dominant architecttiral treatment of the gate is the use of heavy. horizontally banded pilasterswhichnotonly frame the three passages but the openings for the bells above. Finials and bracket-like supports of the belfry (espadaa) crate a pleasing silhouette. The gate is otherwise plain except for buttresses at the

aos ms tarde."'"' El sitio asignado a El Calvario fue cercado y la primera portada empezada en 1619. Escribi Vzquez que tena dos entradas con arcos separados por un grueso pilar, y un segundo cuerpo que repiti los arcos con un nicho entre ellos.*' o se describi
esto

rear (255 c). short causeway leads from the gate to the church. The scale of the fa^ade is small, and the details lack interest except for the Hapsburg double-headed eagle ^vhich suggests a date prior to 1700, and that this was unchanged whcn the church was reconstructed after 1717 (256 b). The single nave of the church is long and narrow. It has always been roofed with wood, except for the rea of the sanctuary which is covered by a small dome. Midway along the west wall of the nave there is a secondary entrance from the gar-

como campanario y probablemente era una composicin arquitectnica bastante sencilla. En el perodo anterior a la construccin del primer templo verdadero, haba vuia galera larga techada al principio de paja y ms tarde de teja arrimada a la pared occidental. Serva de iglesia y proporcion algn resguardo para los fieles. Al extremo meridional, en pilastrones ms gruesos, haba una rea techada para el Santo Sepulcro, que

estaba situado aproximadamente donde se proyectaba poner el altar mayor de la iglesia que haba

de

construirse.''*'

den. In 1679 a mayor, at his own expense, had the wide and beautiful avenue constructed and also brought water to the new fountain'^ (438 ). The earthqtiake of 1773 again damaged the church but did not entirely destroy it. Even in bad repair it has been used at intervals, if not continuously, since the nineteenth century. One of the periodic renovations, completed as recently as 1965, renewed the wood roof and replaced the corrugated iron covering with tile. It also included a new tile floor, and some new furnishings. The church still retains large paintings of Montfar and Merlo. Nothing recognizable remains of the living quarters of the hermitage. The 1720 gate apparently escaped serious damage in 1773, and it is maintained in good condition. The stonc cross standing in front of the gate
( 255d) bears the date of 1688. This is not the location of the original cross, which was described as

being of wood and used to mark possession of the 1618. That cross was erected on the spot where the Santo Cristo was located at a later
site in

date.'*

SAN JOS EL VIEJO CHURCH


258-260

About

1740, or a

little earlier,

modest chapel

Entre 1647 y 1655 se cre gran inters, y fue terminada la primera iglesia por la labor de religiosos y feligreses. Estaba lista para usarse en 1655, y en 1657 la liltima de las grandes pinturas de Antonio de Montfar fue colocada en ella."" Otras, hechas por Toms de Merlo, se instalaron en 1737. Para 1717 el templo tena gran necesidad de reparos, y como resultado de los terremotos de aquel ao, todo cay, menos las bvedas del altar mayor y de la capilla del Santo Cristo, las cuales quedaron en pie aunque severamente daadas. No tena la Tercera Orden los medios para reconstruirlo, pero, por fin, el Capitn General Rodrguez de Rivas lo mand construir de nuevo a sus expensas, con magnfico artesonado de madera tallada y techo de teja." Se inaugur la nueva iglesia el 1 1 de febrero de 1720. El nico individuo asociado con la construccin de 1719 a 1720, cuyo nombre sabemos, es Diego de Medina, quien dirigi una parte de la construccin. La portada construida despus de 1717 sirvi tambin de campanario, y termina de manera impresionante la vista alargada hacia el sur desde el ro Pensativo por la ancha alameda bordeada de rboles (255 a). El tratamiento arquitectnico dominante de la portada es el uso de pesadas pilastras almohadilladas que no slo forman marcos para las tres entradas, sino para las aberturas superiores de las campanas. Los remates y sostenes parecidos a mnsulas de la espadaa crean una silueta agradable. De otra parte, la portada es sencilla con la excepcin de los contrafuertes que
'^^

LAS IGLESI.\S Y LAS ERMITAS


was begun in the Tortugero district of Santiago for the housing of a splendid image of San Jos which was the -vork of the great Sculptor Alonso de la Paz. This was accomplished through the collection of alms by a shoemaker, Jos Lpez Hurtado. The little hermitage ^\'as used by the poor people of this populous district which lacked a house of worship.'"' Because of their ignorance the people did not
get the King's permission before construction began. The requcst was not made by the City Council until December 1 1, 1742.''' Because the law had

estn por detrs (255 c). Hay una corta calzada entre
iglesia.

La fachada
los

es

la portada y de escala pequea, y

la la

composicin y

detalles estn sin otra distin-

cin qtie el gtiila habsbinga. Probablemente sta se hizo antes de 1700 y no se cambi cuando se reconstruy el templo despus de 1717 (256 b).

La nica nave del templo es larga y angosta. Siempre estuvo cubierta con techo de madera, con excepcin del rea del presbiterio que est cubierta de una pequea cpula. En medio del muro occidental de la nave hay una entrada
secundaria desde el jardn. En 1679 un alcalde a sus propias expensas,

not been followed, His Majesty ordered the church closed, June 2, 1744, and the oficer in chargc fined." On January 26, 1745 a new request was sent to the King which explained the need for the church by the citizens of this conimunity.'^ Eventually the necessary approval was obtaincd. the chapel reopened and the venerated image returned from the church of Santa Lucia wherc it had been taken in 1744.'" There is no definite record of the date of the reopening of this original chapel. but it is reported that San Jos was daniagccl in the

earthquake of 1751,-" which would indcate that it was in use before that time. Juarros writes that after San Jos was reopened the building of a more spacious chtnxh was luidcrtaken but that the lack of funds caused the work to proceed very slowly and that it was not completed until 1761.*^^ It is not clear whether it was the original church that was damaged in 1751 or the new construction, and the issue is further cloudcd by the request of the commtuiity in 1759 that the church should be opened for worship.**- It was enlarged and cmbellished in 1761. and dedication occurred February 20, 1762."' On October 11.1 76.^ the City Council agreed that the fiesta of San Jos, which had been celebrated previously in the churchcs of Santa Catalina and Santa Teresa should be held in the church of San Jos because it was almost finished: ten days later it was declared completed.** Consciousness of earthquakes is apparent in the construction of San Jos el Viejo. The walls are relatively low for the proportions of the church and they are heavily buttressed. Also, the bell towers are kept below the height of the pediment and are made an integral part of the fa^ade ( 259 ). It is reduced in height by using single pilasters in the second story rather than repeating the paired pilasters and enclosed niches of the lower level. In fact, the rea between the bell towers is a part of the pediment that includes a niche over the window to the choir. The details of the fa(:ade are not consistent, or even orthodox, but the general effect of Baroque is not unpleasant. The larger pilasters are a cluster of smaller ones. They lack the refinement of those at Santa Cruz ( 245 ). The side niches of the lower

mand construir la hermosa alameda c hizo conducir agua a la fuente nueva""' ( 438 ). Los terremotos de 1773 daaron otra vez la iglesia, pero no la destruyeron completamente. Aun en malas condiciones, se ha usado a intervalos, si no continuamente, desde el siglo XIX. Una de las renovaciones peridicas, terminada recientemente, en 1965, renov el techo de madera y sustituy la cubierta de lmina con tejas. Tambin incluy un nuevo piso de ladrillos y mobiliario nuevo. Conserva el templo todava las grandes pinturas de Montfar y de Merlo. No queda nada que pueda ser reconocido de la vivienda de la
ermita. Al parecer, la portada de 1720 no sufri daos en 1773, y se mantiene en buen estado. La cruz de piedra que se encuentra delante de la portada (255cl) tiene fecha de 1688. No es ste el sitio de la cruz primitiva (|uc se describi como

serios

de madera y que sirvi para marcar posesin del sitio en 1618. Aquella cruz se erigi en el lugar donde se puso el Santo Cristo ms tarde.'*

IGLESIA

DE SAN JOS EL VIEJO


258-260

capilla

Hacia 1740 o un poco antes, se empez una modesta en el barrio del Tortuguero para albergar una imagen esplndida de San Jos que fue obra del gran escultor Alonso de la Paz. Esto se efectu por la recaudacin de limosnas hecha por un zapatero, Jos Lpez Hurtado. Fue usada la pequea ermita por la gente pobre de este barrio populoso que careca de iglesia.'"' A causa de su ignorancia, la gente no obtuvo la licencia del rey antes de empezar la construccin. No fue sino hasta el de diciembre de 1742 que fue hecha una peticin por el Ayuntamiento.'" Debido a que esas personas no haban cumplido con la ley, mand su Majestad, el 2 de junio de 1744, que se clausurara la iglesia y que se multara al fiscal que dictamin sobre el asunto.'" El 26 de enero de 1745 se envi al rey otra solicitud que
1

219

CHURCHES AND HERMITAGES


and the window to the choir are accented by the heavy, horizontally-banded pilasters similar to those on the gate of El Calvario and Santa Rosa Church ( 242 ). Still a third form of pilaster, fluted, brales up the plain base of the bell towers. The extensin of these towers beyond the actual fa^ade (258 a) contributes to the generally low appearance of the church. The single nave is very well lighted and has more architectural merit than the fa^ade(258 bcd). The entire nave was covered with low but wellstory

constructed vaults. Until Antigua was made a National Monument in 1944, San Jos el Viejo was used as a barn for the adjacent farm. It still remains in better condition than most of the temples that experienced the earthquakes of 1762, 1773 and those that have occurred during nearly two centuries since the destruction of Santiago,

JOCOTENANGO CHURCH
261

Permission to found a vicarage of the Dominican Order, dedicated to Our Lady of the Assumption, was given by the Captain General and the Bishop in January 1602.**'' Although this church was in a suburb of the Capital at the date of its founding, it is no more distant from the Royal Plaza than other hermitages that were considered a part of this extensive city during the height of its devel-

opment. Jocotenango was founded by Indian allies from Almolonga immediately after the destruction of that town in 1541. Its inhabitants were mostly masons in the colonial period,'*" and a considerable number of the workers of the district still follow this trade. In lieu of documentary evidence, one must assume that the same masons who worked on important ecclesiastical buildings in Santiago near the end of the seventeenth and during the eightteenth centuries probably used their talents to construct this church also. A small chapel on the north side near the rear of the church probably was the first structure. It is completely different in character and in size, and in general appears to be older (261 d). The large church that stands today facing a
spacious plaza has all the characteristics of late seventeenth century Baroque (261 a). The reverse spirals of the columns on the fagade are like those of the door back of the church of San Pedro Apstol dating from 1663 (153 b). The details about the door and niches are similar to motifs on Santa Teresa of the period of 1682-87 ( 191 ). As there is no true verification of this relationship in time between Jocotenango Church and those of Santiago concerning construction, these similarities of detall may be meaningless. Certainly the

explicaba la falta que esta iglesia les haca a los vecinos del barrio.'* Por fin se obtuvo la licencia necesaria, se volvi a abrir la capilla y se trajo la venerada imagen desde Santa Luca a donde haba sido llevada en 1744. No se ha encontrado documento definitivo de la fecha de la reapertura de esta capilla original, pero se dice que fue daada San Jos en el terremoto de 1751,** lo cual indicara que estaba en servicio antes de aquel tiempo. Escribi Juarros que despus de que volvieron a abrir San Jos, se emprendi la construccin de una iglesia ms amplia pero que, por falta de medios, la obra prosigui muy lentamente y no se termin hasta 1761.*^ No est claro si fue la iglesia primitiva la que se da en 1751 o el edificio nuevo, y se complica ms el asunto por la peticin del barrio en 1759, para que se abriera la iglesia para el culto.- Se agrand y se embelleci en 1761, y se dedic el 20 de febrero de 1762. El 11 de octubre de 1763, el Ayuntamiento acord que la festividad de San Jos que se haba celebrado en las iglesias de Santa Catalina y Santa Teresa, se verificara en el templo de San Jos porque estaba casi terminado, y diez das despus se declar acabado.* Es evidente en la construccin de San Jos el Viejo la conciencia de la probabilidad de terremotos. Son relativamente bajos los muros, dadas las proporciones de la iglesia, y tienen estribos muy fuertes y numerosos. Adems, los campanarios son menos altos que el frontn y son parte integral de la fachada ( 259 ). Se ha reducido la altura de sta sirvindose de pilastras tnicas en el segundo cuerpo, en vez de repetir las pareadas y los nichos enmarcados del cuerpo inferior. En efecto, el rea entre los campanarios es en realidad una parte del frontn que incluye un nicho por encima de la

ventana del coro. Los detalles de la fachada no son los que se supondra encontrar, ni aun convencionales, pero el efecto general del barroco no es desagradable. Las pilastras ms grandes son un grupo de pilastrillas. Carecen del refinamiento de las de La Santa Cruz ( 245 ). Los nichos laterales del cuerpo inferior y la ventana al coro quedan acentuados por las gruesas pilastras almohadilladas parecidas a las de la portada de El Calvario y el templo de Santa Rosa ( 242 ). Una tercera forma de pilastra la estriada rompe la base lisa de los campanarios. La amplitud de estos campanarios va ms all de la fachada misma (258 a) contribuyendo al aspecto, en general, bajo de la iglesia. La nica nave est muy bien iluminada y tiene ms mrito arquitectnico que la fachada(258 bcd). La nave entera est techada de bvedas bajas pero bien construidas. Hasta que se declar Monumento Nacional a la Antigua en 1944, se serva de la iglesia de San Jos como granero para la finca contigua. Todava queda en mejor condicin que la

LAS IGLESIAS Y LAS ERMITAS


church has undergone considerable reconstruction twice after 1717' and 1773/' It is still in use.
In the 1717 earthquake, half of the fa^ade fell.*" is no certainty that this was the fagade on the plaza, but it seems unlikely it was that of the small Chapel of the Virgin. Whatever damage occiirred in 1773 was erased by renovation after that date despite the fact that many of the masons and

There

mayora de las iglesias afectadas por los terremotos de 1762, 1773 y los que han ocurrido durante los casi dos siglos que han pasado desde la destruccin de Santiago.

IGLESIA

DE JOCOTENANGO
261

their families
their labor

moved

to

New

Guatemala where

was needed.

In the colonial period Jocotenango was an important community through which Santiago was approached from Chimaltenango, the highlands and Mxico. It was here that oicials and churchmen always met distinguishcd guests from Mxico and Spain. Early in the seventeenth century the local inhabitants established an annual festival, known as the Fair of Jocotenango.^'' which still flourishes. The fountain in front of the church was placed in public service June 30, 1733.""

NUESTRA SEORA DE LOS DOLORES DEL CERRO HERMITAGE


262-263

This was one of three hermitages with the titlc of Our Lady of Sorrows. Built on a hillside north of Candelaria district, it had not only a spacious and beautiful setting but a magnificent view ovcr the Valley of Panchoy. The axis of the church is ccntered on Agua Volcano rathcr than on the approach by either the street or the stairs leading to the atrium. Walls to the south support two level reas that are enclosed on the othcr threc sides. Nothing remains of the con\entual house or the house of pilgrims that were suppo.scdly here. The side atrium, which is said to have been a small cemetery, had the base of either a fountain or a cross still visible when the plan ( 262 ) was nicasured in 1945. Juarros wrote that the original small shrine was dedicated on the first Siuiday after Epiphany ( January 6) in 1703. It was made to hou.se a figure carved from a piece of ccdar, found on the site, which had been seen glowing in the dark. A more sumptuous structurc was built in 1710 and a pilgrimage house was added."' Pardo says that it was this church that was totally destroyed in 1773."There should be some doubt, however, that the
splendid ruin now standing escaped damage in 1717 even though it was so recently built. It is near Candelaria which suffered considerably. This inclines one to credit .\guirre's statement that the famous historian. Fray Francisco Ximnez ordered the rebuilding and improvement of Dolores del Cerro in 1718, at which time he initiated the reconstruction of Candelaria."^

La licencia para fundar una vicara de la Orden dominica dedicada a Nuestra Seora de la Asuncin, fue concedida por el Capitn General y el Obispo en enero de 1602.^"' Aunque estaba esta iglesia en un suburbio de la ciudad cuando se fund, no dista ms de la Plaza Real que otras ermitas que se consideraban como parte de esta extensa ciudad durante el apogeo de su desarrollo. Jocotenango fue fundado por los aliados indios procedentes de Almolonga, inmediatamente despus de la destruccin de aquella poblacin en 1541. La mayora de los habitantes fueron albailcs durante el perodo colonial,**'' y existe todava la tradicin entre los artesanos de la regin. A falta de documentos que lo prueben, hay que presumir que los mismos albailes que trabajaron en edificios eclesisticos importantes en Santiago, hacia fines del siglo XVII y durante el XVIII, usaran su capacidad probablemente en construir
esta iglesia.

capilla pequea, al lado septentrional cerca la parte trasera de la iglesia, fue probablemente primera fbrica. Es completamente distinta en carcter y en tamao, y en general parece ms

Una

de
la

antigua (261

d).

El templo grande que existe actualmente y (jue mira hacia una plaza amplia tiene todas las carac-

barroco de fines del siglo XVII (261a). fachada las columnas salomnicas, que cin-van espiralmente en direcciones opuestas, .son parecidas a las de la portada detrs de la iglesia de San Pedro Apstol, (ue datan de 1663 (l5.Sb), Los detalles que rodean la puerta y las hornacinas son semejantes a los motivos decorativos de Santa Teresa en los aos 1682 a 1687 ( 191 ). Como no hay verificacin autntica de este parentesco cronolgico entre la iglesia de Jocotenango y las de Santiago tocante a su construccin, es posible que no tengan significado estas semejanzas de detalles, si bien es cierto cjue se ha reconstruido considerablemente dos veces despus de 1717 y 1773.**' Todava se sirve de la iglesia para el culto. Durante los terremotos de 1717 se cay la mitad de la fachada.**** No se sabe con certeza si fue la de la plaza, pero parece improbable ([ue fuera la de la pequea capilla de la Virgen. Cualesquiera que fueran los daos de 1773, fueron borrados por la renovacin, posterior a aquella fecha, que se hizo a pesar de que muchos de los albailes y sus fatersticas del

En

la

CHURCHES AND HERMITAGES


The fa^ade is quite simple with only the broken entablature over the entrance and the pediment at the top to give it Baroqiie character. The Doric cohnnns are unadorned. and the upper entablature shows Renaissance proportions with triglyphs in the frieze (263 b). Perhaps the most interesting introduction of form on the fa^ade is to be noted in the use of octagonal niches between the columns of the side bays of both stories. The sanctuary is covered with a \o\v dome and cupola which have survived many earthquakes (263 ad). Although this rea is square and the dome is circular the interior has been patterned into an octagon as shown on the plan ( 262 ). The niche behind the sanctuary held the miraculous sculpture of the Virgin or Sorrows which was taken to New Guatemala after 1773 to be placed on an altar of Candelaria Church."* The nave appears to have been roofed with wood and tile, ^\'ith heavy coupled cross beams bet\veen the pilasters of the side walls. One can assume that this would have been the artesonado type of ceiling common among the less montnnental churches of Santiago.
milias se trasladaron a la haca falta su trabajo.

Nueva Guatemala, donde

Durante el perodo colonial, era Jocotenango una comunidad importante por la cual se llegaba a Santiago desde Chimaltenango, los Altos y Mxico. Fue all que los dignatarios civiles y eclesisticos
salieron al encuentro de huspedes distinguidos de

Mxico y de Espaa y de los nuevos Capitanes Generales, obispos y altos funcionarios. En la primera parte del siglo XVII, establecieron los habitantes una festividad anual conocida como la feria de Jocotenango,** la cual se celebra todava en la actualidad. La fuente que queda delante de la iglesia se puso al servicio del pblico el 30 de junio de
1733.=^

ERMITA DE NUESTRA SEORA DE LOS DOLORES DEL CERRO


262-263

NUESTRA SEORA DE LOS DOLORES DEL LLANO


A few blocks below Nuestra Seora de los Dolores del Cerro, on the level of the valley floor,
there is still visible the masonry of some broken walls defining the location and approximate size of Nuestra Seora de los Dolores de Abajo or del Llano. There is some confusin concerning these two hermitages because first one and then the
is mentioned as being in the district of Santa Ins de los Hortelanos."' The distance between them is short, and there is no reason to question the sites of either or that they were in the same district. Both are at the northeast edge of the city and quite near Candelaria. One author stated that the lower church was dedicated in 1700."" However, Pardo wrote that on July 23, 1703 two churchmen requested permission of the City Council to have a hermitage of Our Lady of Sorrows constructed in this district and he specified that this was del Llano or de Abajo."' This date has been given by another writer as pertaining to Dolores del Cerro, but that hermitage was dedicated in January 1703, permission having been obtained previously from the royal government and the bishop, and alms collected for the construction."" Henee, the July date must relate, as Pardo says, to Dolores del Llano, and one would suppose the 1700 date for this hermitage to be incorrect.

Era sta una de tres ermitas que llevaban el nombre de Nuestra Seora de los Dolores. Construida en el declive de un cerro al norte del barrio de la Candelaria, tena no slo alrededores hermosos y espaciosos sino una vista magnfica del
Valle de Panchoy. El eje del templo est en lnea recta con el Volcn de Agua, ms bien que con el acceso, o de la calle o de la gran escalinata que conduce al atrio. Unos muros al sur sostienen dos reas llanas que estn encerradas con murallas en
los otros tres lados. No queda nada de la casa del cura, ni de la casa para peregrinos que se suponen

other

haber estado aqu. El atrio lateral, que segn se dice era un cementerio pequeo, tena todava visible la base de una fuente o de una cruz cuando se hizo el trazo del plano ( 262 ) en 1945. Escribi Juarros que se dedic la primitiva capilla pequea, el primer domingo despus de la Epifana (6 de enero) en 1703. Fue fabricada para albergar una imagen esculpida en un pedazo de cedro, hallado en el propio sitio, que se haba observado como despidiendo resplandores en la obscuridad. Se construy un edificio ms suntuoso en 1710, y se aadi una casa para peregrinos."^ Dice Pardo cjue fue esta iglesia la que se destruy completamente en 1773."- Sin embargo, se debe

dudar que la ruina esplndida que todava queda en pie se escapara enteramente de daos en 1717,
a pesar de haberse construido tan recientemente. Est cerca de la Candelaria que sufri bastante.

Esto nos inclina a creer en el relato de Aguirre, el famoso historiador Fray Francisco Ximnez mand hacer la reedificacin y la mejora de Nuestra Seora de los Dolores del Cerro en 1718 cuando inici la reconstruccin de la Candelaria."''

que

222

L.\S IGLESI.AS

V L.\S

ERMITAS

NUESTRA SEORA DE LOS DOLORES DEL MANCHEN HERMITAGE


264

Hill and not far from the parish church of San Sebastin, there was a small hermitage also dedicated to Our Lady of Sorrows. The facade was raised on a platform similar to that of Santa Cruz, but very little of it remains standing. W^hen the debris ^vas cleared away in 1938 (264 a) the many plaster fragments of ngel heads, hands, and a wide variety of other ornamental forms indicated that this chiirch had the beauty and fine workmanship that chroniclers

At the

foot of

Manchen

Es bastante sencilla la fachada, con slo el entablamento roto por encima de la entrada y el frontn en la parte ms alta, que le dan un carcter barroco. Las columnas dricas son sin ornamento, y el entablamento superior muestra proporciones renacentistas y tiene triglifos en el friso (263 ). Se debe notar que tal vez la innovacin de forma ms interesante, usada en la fachada, es el empleo de nichos octagonales entre las columnas de las secciones laterales de ambos cuerpos. Est cubierto el presbiterio de una bveda baja
y una ciipula que han resistido muchos terremotos(263ad). Aunque es cuadrada esta rea y es circular la ciipula, se ha di.seado el interior en octgono como muestra el plano ( 262 ). El camarn, detrs del presbiterio, guardaba la imagen milagrosa de la Virgen de los Dolores ([ue fue

have described. The chapel was one of modest size and evidently was roofcd with wood and tile. The interior plaster decoration was limited to a fe\v reas on pilasters and around windows (264 bd). A document dated May 23. 1738 states that the Bishop of Comayagua. Honduras, crowned the Virgin of Sorrows in the church of La Merced.'"' Juarros confirms this and says that the following day the image was carried in procession to the Hermitage of Manchen.'"" From this we assunie that the inauguration was May 24. 1738. This image was taken to Guatemala City after 1773 and placed in the parish church of San Sebastin.""

Nueva Guatemala despus de 1773 y puesta en un altar de la iglesia de la Candelaria."^ Parece haber sido techada la nave con madera y teja, con pesadas vigas maestras pareadas entre las pilastras de los muros laterales. Se puede presumir que sera del tipo de artesonado comiin en los templos menos uonimientales de Santiago.
trada a la

ERMITA DE NUESTRA SEORA DE LOS DOLORES DEL LLANO

Of the nimierous other hermitages within the on its boundaries. many have deteriorated to the point where they do not mcrit a photographic survey. Some are merely scattered piles of stone and segments of brokcn walls. Occasional mas.ses have suficient architectural form to intrigue ones interest, but even these may disappear in another generation judging by the changes that follow each earth(]uakc and rainy season. Photographs taken in 1934 show considerably more than is visible today. In an historical account of ecclesiastical foinidations the following hermitages rcquire inclusin even though physical evidence and documentary records are limited. Some were important to the city as a whole. and others merely scrved their district. Of the former one must mention first the Hermitage of Santa Luca.
city of Santiago, or

Unas cuantas manzanas ms abajo de la ermita de Nuestra Seora de los Dolores del Cerro, en el nivel del fondo del valle, est todava visible la manipostera de luios nunos rolos (jue muestran el sitio y el tamao aproximado de Nuestra Seora de los Dolores de Abajo o del Llano. Existe cierta confusin tocante a estas dos ermitas porcjue se ha escrito (ue. primero la una y luego la otra, estaban en el barrio de Santa Ins de los Hortelanos.""' Es corla la distancia entre las dos, y no hay razn para dudar que los dos sitios estaban en el mismo barrio. Ambas estn al lmite noreste de la ciudad y bastante cerca de la Candelaria. Ha dicho un aiUor (|ue la iglesia del Llano se dedic en 17()().''" Sin embargo, escribi Pardo que el 23 de julio de 1703, dos presbteros pidieron
licencia al Ayuntamiento para hacer construir una ermita de Nuestra Seora de los Dolores en este barrio, y especific c|ue sta fue del Llano o de Abajo."' Otro autor ha dado esta fecha tocante a Dolores del Cerro, pero esta ermita se dedic en enero de 1703, habindose conseguido la licencia previa del gobierno superior y del obispo y recogido limosnas para la construccin."** Por eso tiene que referirse la fecha de julio, a los Dolores del Llano como dijo Pardo, y se supone que sea incorrecta la fecha de 1700 para esta

SANTA LUCIA HERMITAGE


The first church built in Santiago after the flood destruction of Almolonga was the Hermitage of Santa Luca.'"- It was located where the road from the od town contacted the southwcst crner of the formal plan of the new city. Vzquez says that the church was built oulside the new capital so that it would not interfere with the drawing of lines. or piling up of rocks, or making of adobes.'"'

ermita.

CHURCHES AND HERMITAGES


It was dedicated November 22, 1542 and was intended i'or the use of the workmen building Santiago and the first families to move there."'^ It also served as a temporary Cathedral from 1543 to BSO.'"'' The church was badly damaged in 1689 after which the poor people of the district reconstructed it. Itwas also damaged in 1717 and nSl.^"" In 1773 it was said that the belfry was devastated, the walls broken and the entire church ready to fall after the July 29th earthquake. Although not

ERMITA DE NUESTRA SEORA DE LOS DOLORES DEL MANCHEN


264

AI pie del Cerro del Manchen y no muy lejos de la parroquia de San Sebastin, haba una pequea ermita tambin con la advocacin de Nuestra Seora de los Dolores. Se elevaba la fachada
sobre una plataforma semejante a la de La Santa Cruz, pero queda en pie muy poco de ella. Cuando se quitaron los escombros, en 1938 (264 a), los numerosos fragmentos en estuco de cabezas de ngeles, manos, y una gran variedad de otras formas ornamentales, indicaron que tena esta iglesia la belleza y el trabajo fino que han descrito los
cronistas.

specifically

mentioned

in

the

December

earth-

that follo^ved, the daniage must have been increased and the building probably levelled.'"^ Only portions of the foundations and a few broken walls remained in this century. Since 1960 a ne-w church has been erected on the od foundations and is supposed to be similar to the original Santa Luca.

quake

Era la capilla de tamao modesto y estaba techada evidentemente de madera y teja. La decoracin del interior en estuco se limitaba a unas cuantas reas en las pilastras y alrededor de las
ventanas
relata
(

EL espritu santo HERMITAGE


265

264 bd
el

).

Un documento
que
coron a
la

block west of Santa Luca the broken fa^ade of the Church of the Holy Ghost faces south on a small plaza (265 a). This was a pre-eighteenth century construction according to Juarros.'"^ A document dated March 23, 1751 asks aid of the city for repairs.^"" Evidently this church was destroyed in 1773, but the fagade was still standing as shown until 1942 when the upper portion fell.

fechado el 23 de mayo de 1738, obispo de Comayagua, en Honduras, Virgen de los Dolores en la iglesia de

la Merced."'' Juarros repite esto y dice que al da siguiente fue llevada la imagen procesionalmente a la ermita del Manchen.'*"* De esto, se presume que la fecha del estreno fue el 24 de mayo de 1738. Se traslad esta imagen a la Nueva Guatemala despus de 1773 y se coloc en la parroquia

de San Sebastin.'"^

LA SANTSIMA TRINIDAD HERMITAGE


265

There were three minor hermitages founded before the eighteenth century between Recoleccin Monastery and Jocotenango near the Magdalena or GnacaJatl River. The first of these just north of the monastery was the Chapel of the Most Holy Trinity which Juarros says remained in use until 1804."" What remains visible in the
ruin suggests that this was built in the eighteenth century ( 265 bcd ).

SAN ANTONIO ABAD HERMITAGE

It is possible to trace the foundations of a rather extensive building among the coffee trees on this site. A few walls remain standing, and some interesting details are still in evidence. The date of this hermitage can be approximated since the City Council decreed on April 29, 1655 that a public fountain be constructed in the little plaza in front of San Antonio Abad.'" This fountain is
still

De las otras numerosas ermitas en la ciudad de Santiago o en sus lmites, muchas se han deteriorado hasta tal punto que no merecen ni un reconocimiento fotogrfico. Algunas son meramente montones esparcidos de piedras y de fragmentos de muros rotos. De vez en cuando se encuentran masas que tienen bastante forma arquitectnica, como para intrigar el inters, pero es posible que aun stas desaparezcan en otra generacin, a juzgar por los cambios que siguen a cada terremoto y cada temporada de lluvias. Las fotografas sacadas en 1934 muestran considerablemente ms que lo que es visible hoy. En un relato histrico de fundaciones eclesisticas, las ermitas que siguen tienen que incluirse, aun cuando indicios materiales y documentos relativos a ellas sean bastante limitados. Algunas eran importantes para la ciudad entera, y otras en cambio, slo servan a su propio barrio. De aqullas, la primera que hay que mencionar es la ermita de Santa Luca.

in use.

224

LAS IGLESI.^S Y LAS ERMITAS


Nothing remains of the HERMITAGE OF SANTIAGO which was located between these two.

ERMITA DE SANTA LUCIA


Fue la ermita de Santa Luca la primera iglesia construida en Santiago despus de la destruccin de Almolonga por la inundacin.'"- Estaba situada donde el camino desde la antigua poblacin haca contacto con el ngulo sudoeste de la traza formal de la nueva ciudad. Escribi Vzquez que se construy este templo fuera de la capital nueva para que no iinpidiera el tirar cordeles, amontonar piedras, ni hacer adobes para la construccin de la ciudad.'"'' Se consagr el 22 de noviembre de 1542 y era utilizada por los obreros que construan Santiago y las primeras familias que se trasladaron all."'* Adems, sirvi de catedral provisional desde 1543 hasta 1560.'"'' Se da seriamente el templo en 1689, y despus la gente pobre del barrio lo reconstruy. Sufri daos tambin en 1717 y 1751.'"" Se dijo que en 1773 se asol el campanario, se rompieron los minos, y estaba por caerse el templo entero despus de los terremotos del 29 de julio. Aunque no se mencion especficamente en los terremotos de diciembre de aquel ao, se habran aumentado los daos, y probablemente se cay el
edificio.'"^
el siglo actual, slo (juedaban unas partes de cimientos y unos cuantos muros rotos. Desde 1960 se ha erigido ima nueva iglesia en los antiguos cimientos, la cual se supone semejante a la Santa Luca primitiva.

LA CRUZ DEL MILAGRO HERMITAGE


265
of the Pensativo River just south On of the great convent of Concepcin, there was an important herniitage callee! the Cross of the Mir-

the bank

acle.

Juarros

tells

once stood that trembled

us that this was where a cross at a time when there was

no earthqiiake."-

The
appear

dates of foundation and first construction to be missing, but a request for enlarge1

ment of this church was made on May 8. 703 and granted a nionth later.'" A second petition for expansin was made Jidy 20, 1728 and repeated because of inaction on July
Rebuilding began on Xovember 30, This hermitage was damaged in 1751. and the cily granted money for repairs on the 27th day of April of that year."" The church was destroyed in 1773."' but more of its fa^ade fell during the earthquake of 1942
5,

1729.^'*

1731.''"'

(265

e).

En

SANTA ANA HERMITAGE


266

los

Southeast of the city there wcre three districts populated to have their own churches. The first of these, just beyond Santa Cruz, was the Hermitage of Santa Ana ( 26fi ). This arca had a considerable population throughout the colonial era. Pardo states that there was a small chapcl existing there before 1541 and that it was elevated
suTiciently

ERMITA DEL ESPRITU SANTO


265

una manzana

al oeste

de Santa Luca,

la

facha-

time to a hermitage."** If this is corred Santa Ana would be the oldcst church foundation of Panchoy. Valley in the About 1690 the hermitage was described as having a beautiful little church located in a community of Cakchiquel Indians."" In 1739 it was proposcd that a portion of the tax contributions of local inhabitants should be ceded for the purposeof reconstructing this church. and adocument of 1743 ordered an inspection to determine its condition.'-" These dates are consistent with ihc architectural treatment of the fa^ade as it stands today. It is certain that the church was rebuilt at least one time after the sixteenth century. The present edifice is unquestionably of colonial construction even though it suffered much damagc in the 1917-18 earthquake and required considerable repair which was completed in 1929.'-' The temple has been maintained in varying degrees of repair since 1773 and used most of this time. A more extensive renovation was completed
at this

Espritu Santo est orientada al sur, en una pequea plaza (265 a). Segn Juarros, fue sta una fbrica anterior al siglo

da rota de

la iglesia del

XVIII.'"*

En un documento
se le

de 1751,

pidi

hacer reparos.'"" iglesia en 1773, pero todava estaba en pie la fachada, como se ve en la fotografa, hasta 1942, cuando se cay la parte superior.

fechado el 23 de marzo Ayuntamiento ayuda para Evidentemente se destruy esta


al

ERMITA DE LA SANTSIMA TRINIDAD


265

Se fundaron tres ermitas menores antes del siglo XVIII entre el convento de La Recoleccin y Jocotenango, cerca del ro Magdalena o Guacalate. La primera de stas, inmediatamente al norte del convento, fue la capilla de la Santsima Trini"" dad que, Juarros escribi, se us hasta 1804. Lo que queda visible de la ruina sugiere que se construy en el siglo XVIII ( 265bcd ).

225

CHURCHES AND HERMITAGES


for a rededication in March of 1965 through the generosity of Matilda Gray, a citizen of the United States and a part-time resident of Antigua. The church is of more than average size, has a single nave with a wood roof, and a fa^ade with numerous details that did not appear in Santiago until after the first quarter of the eighteenth century. The twelve large pilasters give considerable enrichment to the fa^ade because of the bold and varied horizontal forms that are superimposed in

ERMITA DE SAN ANTONIO ABAD


Es posible trazar los cimientos de un edificio bastante extenso entre los cafetos en ese sitio. Quedan en pie unos muros, y todava se ven algunos detalles interesantes. Se puede aproximar la fecha de construccin de esta ermita puesto que el Cabildo decret el 29 de abril de 1655, que una fuente pblica se construyera en la plazuela de San Antonio Abad."^ Todava permanece en uso esta fuente.

each

(266 b).

There

is

marked resemblance

to

the pilasters of the nearby gate of El Calvario (255 a), but those of Santa Ana are more complex in detail, more nearly resembling a pile of coffers than pillows a term sometimes applied to this

No queda

nada de la ermita de santiago que

estaba entre stas dos.

pilasters. The same general comfound on the eighteenth century churches of Santa Rosa (242 d) and San Jos el Viejo (260 ). Furthermore, the low bell towers resemble those of San Jos el Viejo in form and in

motif

as

used on
is

position

ERMITA DE LA CRUZ DEL MILAGRO

the pilasters that are applied to both in order to an otherwise plain lower story. The forms supporting the niches are remarkably similar to those of Santa Rosa. Also the multilinear arch above the door is identical with those used by Jos
relieve
in Tridentino Seminary (1738) ( 30O ) In all these motifs the stamp of a mid-eighteenth century fa^ade is apparent. The stone arch that frames the actual door, the heavy walls and the severe interior are indications of an older church and quite possibly belong to an earlier period of construction. There also re-

Ramrez

A la orilla del ro Pensativo, un poco al sur del gran convento de la Concepcin, haba una ermita importante llamada La Cruz del Milagro. Juarros relata que fue ste el lugar donde estaba en una poca, una cruz que temblaba cuando no haba terremoto ni temblor alguno."Parece que no se sabe la fecha de la fundacin ni la de la primera construccin, pero una peticin para la ampliacin de esta iglesia se hizo el 8 de mayo de 1703, y se concedi permiso un mes
ms
tarde."^
solicitud para su ensanchamiento 20 de julio de 1728 y, por no haberla tramitado, se repiti el 5 de julio de 1729."* Se inici la reconstruccin el 30 de noviembre de 1731.^^^* Sufri esta ermita averas en 1751, y el Ayuntamiento concedi dinero para reparaciones el 27 de abril de aquel ao."** Se arruin la iglesia en 1773,"' pero se derrumb aun ms de su fachada en 1942 (265 e).
se hizo el

Una segunda

a dome and heavy buttresses that appear to be definitely eighteenth century.

main

SANTA ISABEL HERMITAGE


267

The
as

next district south of Santa

Ana
says

is

the

more

modest Santa Isabel which Pardo

was known

the district of the soap-makers."- Today the ruin of the Hermitage of Santa Isabel faces a small
plaza
(

ERMITA DE SANTA ANA


266

grass covered

267

among

coffee

trees.

Back of the broken fa^ade there are only crumbling walls.

few

ciudad, haba tres barrios lo bastante populosos para tener cada uno su propia
la
iglesia.

Al sureste de

The

retablo-like fa^ade follows the typical ar-

rangement of other Baroque churches of Santiago,


is more limited than pilasters do not have the so-called character of Santa Clara Convent, but their fat, decorated surfaces suggest the same period of workmanship (195 a). The regular undulating silhouette is repeated in both stories, but the detail is different in each. The belfry (espadaa) is an integral part of the pediment. There seem to be no records that date this church, but its character and details conform with

all
(

La primera de ellas, inmediatamente ms de La Santa Cruz, fue la ermita de Santa Ana


).

but the stucco decoration


usual.

266

Este barrio tena

un nmero considerable

The

estpite

de habitantes durante todo el perodo colonial. Dice Pardo que exista all una pequea capilla antes de 1541, y que en aquel ao se erigi en ermita."** Si es correcto esto, es Santa

Ana

la iglesia

ms antigua fundada en el Valle de Panchoy. Segn lo escrito, la ermita tena, hacia 1690, una hermosa iglesia pequea situada en una comunidad de indios cakchiqueles."" En 1739 se propuso que una parte de los tributos de los habitantes de

226

LAS IGLESIAS Y LAS ERMITAS


those belonging to the sccond quarter of the eighteenth centurv.
ese lugar se cedieran para la reconstruccin de esta
iglesia, y im docmnento de 1743 orden un reconocimiento para averiguar el estado del templo.'-" Son congiuentes estas fechas con el tratamiento arquitectnico de la fachada como se ve hoy. Es cierto qtie se reconstruy la iglesia al menos una vez despus del siglo XVL El templo actual es sin duda de construccin colonial, aun cuando sufri mucho dao en los terremotos de 1917-18 y necesit reparos considerables que se terminaron en 1929.'-' Se ha mantenido la iglesia ms o menos reparada desde 1773 y ha servido la mayor parte de este tiempo. Una renovacin ms general fue terminada para rededicarla en marzo de 1965, gracias a la generosidad de la seora Matilda G. Gray, natural de Estados Unidos de Amrica, quien tiene una casa en la Antigtia y reside all parte del tiempo. La iglesia es ms grande que el tamao promedio, tiene una sola nave techada de madera y una fachada con numerosos detalles cjue no aparecieron en Santiago hasta despus del primer cuarto

SAN CRISTBAL EL BAJO HERMITAGE


268

third of the hermitages in the parish of Los Remedios, San Cristbal el Bajo, was the center of another district. Today it is in a sparsely populated rea, but the church is large and indiit belonged to a sizeable conimunity at one time, serving the rea between it and the district of San Juan at the base of Agua volcano. Its location, however. is quite cise to the Hermitage

The

cates that

of El Calvario.

This church apparently Avas built in the early seventeenth ccntury, possibly before 1625 sincc a request to the authorities for permission to erect the hermitage was made on April 19, 1607.^-'' Even without an acttial construction date one would have to place the fa(:ade as early as 1650 if for no other reason that it is so mildly Baroque and so completely dcvoid of surface decoration. The crowning story is inconsistent with the two lower stories and probably was a replacement following one of the earthquake periods. Perhaps therc was also a balancing tower on the south side of the fa(:ade which was not rcbuilt. Otherwise this fa^ade either escaped earthquake damage or it was
insufiicient to require rebuilding (268
a).

del siglo

XVIIL

was covered with a wood and tile roof cxcept for one largc dome with a ctipola at the cast cnd of the church (268 b). This dome,

The

single nave

is too well preserved to suggest has not been restored at some time, and renovated shortly before the accompanying pietures were taken in 19.S8. It is very unlikely that the dome was rebuilt aftcr 1773. but cerlainly it did not originate in the seventeenth centiny. This type woukl belong to the eighteenth centurv and in all probability was built ovcr an extensin ol the church some time aftcr the 1717 carth(|uake.

like the fa(;ade,

that

it

The hermitage was under the jurisdiction of San Francisco Monastery at first, but by 1673,'^* it was administered by the brothers of San Juan del Obispo. ^^^ When the hermitages were secularized in 1754 San Cristbal el Bajo was assigned to the parish church of Los Remedios.'^*

SAN JUAN DEL OBISPO


269-274

Las doce pilastras grandes dan una riqueza considerable a la fachada, a causa de las variadas y atrevidas formas horizontales que estn superpuestas en cada ima de ellas (266 b). Hay ima semejanza notable con las pilastras de la portada cercana de El Calvario (255 a), pero son ms complejas en sus detalles las de Santa Ana, asemejndose ms a una hilera de pequeos cofres que al almohadillado un trmino dado a veces a este motivo cuando se usa en las pilastras. Se encuentra la misma composicin general en las iglesias dieciochescas de Santa Rosa (242 d) y San Jos el Viejo ( 260 ). Adems, los campanarios bajos se parecen a los de San Jos el Viejo en su forma y en las pilastras que se hallan aplicadas en ambas para suavizar un cuerpo inferior {]ue, por lo dems, est sin ornamento. Los elementos que sostienen los nichos son notablemente parecidos a los de Santa Rosa. Tambin el arco mixtilneo encima de la puerta es idntico a los empleados por Jos Manuel Ramrez en el Seminario rridentino en 1738 (300). En todos estos motivos son evidentes los rasgos de una fachada de mediados del siglo XVIIL El arco de piedra (jue hace marco a la puerta misma, los muros gruesos, y el interior severo, son indicativos de una iglesia ms antigua, y muy posiblemente son de un perodo de construccin anterior. Tambin (jueda una cpula y contrafuertes pesados (|ue parecen ser definitivamente del siglo mencionado.

About three miles south of Santiago, on the lower slopes of Agua volcano, there is a small communily called San Juan. In 1547 the first Bisliop of Guatemala, Francisco Marroqun, built a churcli and episcopal house which had an excellent view

ERMITA DE SANTA ISABEL


267

El barrio ms cercano hacia

el

sur de Santa

Ana

CHURCHES AND HERMITAGES


over the entire Valley of Panchoy and the new City of Santiago that was under construction.'-' In March 1563, while staying here, the bishop becanie ill, and on April 5th made his will before being carried by sedan chair back to the city. where he died on April 18th. He was buried in the Cathedral on April 20, 1563.i- Although San Juan ^\'as not even a suburb of
Santiago, it is historically a part of it and fortunately has remained so near its mid-sixteenth century condition that it is more valuable as an historie monument than any building within the city. Its church has not been stripped of its more primitive furnishings, and the so-called 'Palace' has not been materially altered in its recent renovation.

ms modesto de Santa Isabel que se conoca, segn Pardo, como el de los jaboneros."- Actualmente la ruina de la ermita de Santa Isabel da a una pequea plaza cubierta de hierba ( 267 ) entre las siembras de cafetos. Por detrs de la fachada rota no se hallan ms que unos cuantos muros desmoronados. La fachada parecida a un retablo tiene la distribucin tpica de otros templos barrocos de Santiago, pero hay menos ataurique de lo acostumes el

brado.

No

tienen

las pilastras el

carcter del llama-

do

'estpite' del convento de Santa Clara, pero sus superficies planas adornadas sugieren el mismo perodo de hechura (195 a). La silueta regular y ondulante se repite en ambos cuerpos, pero el

The church and episcopal house are approached by steps from the plaza-atrium in order to maintain a single level for the entire building.

The

only exterior feature of the church that merits attention is the belfry (espadaa) at the right of the fa^ade (269 a). Behind this is a side chapel, or baptistry, with a wood grille ^vhich is decorated in line

detalle es distinto en cada uno. La espadaa es una parte integrada al frontn. No parece haber documentos que den la fecha de esta iglesia, pero su carcter y sus detalles son pertenecientes al segundo cuarto del siglo XVIII.

and color

270 cd).
is

ERMITA DE SAN CRISTBAL EL BAJO


La
dios,

very simple, poorly lighted and not very well constuctcd. As a result it has required considerable reconstruction during its four hundred year history, but it has not been rebuilt. What remains today is a much-repaired sixteenth century structure covered with a wood and tile roof which is reinforced with tall poles on stone bases (271 a). Although the altars are not necessarily as od as the church itself, they are probably as od as any that remain in the vicinity of Antigua today. Historians say that the main altar held an image of Saint John the Baptist, and such a figure is part of the altar that is still there (270 a). The Baroque character of some of the altars indicates that they were installed here during the seventeenth century (269-71 ). Several of the altar paintings have good color and remain in excellent condition considering their location and exposure over long periods ( 271 ). Certain of the furnishings are rather crude, but an od organ in the small choir is noteworthy.
gate from the plaza leads to a small forecourt from which the reception room and private quarters of the Bishop could be entered. (See plan 272). The middle patio (273 cd) had its
of the 'palace'

The

interior of the temple

tercera ermita de la parroquia de Los

Reme-

centro de otro barrio. Hoy es un distrito de pocos habitantes, pero la iglesia es grande e indica que en alguna poca era de una comunidad numerosa, cuya jurisdiccin estaba en la regin entre ella y la comarca de San Juan, al pie del Volcn de Agua. Sin embargo, su sitio est bastante cerca de la ermita de El Calvario. Al parecer, fue construida esta iglesia en la primera parte del siglo XVII, posiblemente antes de 1625, puesto que se pidi al Ayuntamiento, el 19 de abril de 1607, licencia para hacer construir la ermita.'-^ Aun sin fecha exacta para su edificacin, tendra que fecharse la fachada anterior a 1650,
el

San Cristbal

Bajo, fue

el

aun si existiera o no otra razn, porque es tan tenuemente barroca y tan completamente libre de decoraciones en su superficie. El cuerpo ms
incongruente con los dos inferiores y, probablemente, fue un reemplazo despus de uno de los perodos de terremotos. Quiz hubiera una torre, para equilibrar el lado meridional de la fachada, que no se reedific. De otra manera, o se sustrajo esta fachada a los daos de los terremotos
alto es

own

entrance by means of a monumental double stairway from the street below (273 a). At the top of this is a heavy wood grilled door (274 d). A third and largcr patio with surrounding rooms complete the establishment at the east end of the church. The arches of both the big patios are very flat, and those of the corridor behind the church are unusually wide in span (273 e). The most interesting feature of this 'palace' is

o fue insuficiente la destruccin para necesitar su reconstruccin (268 a). Su nica nave estaba cubierta de techo de madera y teja con excepcin del extremo oriental del templo, donde haba una bveda grande con cpula (268 b). Esta bveda, como la fachada, est demasiado bien conservada para sugerir que no se ha restaurado en alguna poca y renovado un poco antes de obtenerse, en 1938, las fotografas aqu

LAS IGLESIAS Y LAS ERMITAS


the great gallery that extends along the north and cast sides. From it one has a magnificent panorama over the valley and the hills to the north (I8b ). San Juan del Obispo was a vicarage under the Franciscans of Santiago until shortly after the middle of the seventeenth century. About 1660 the hotise was iniproved. W'ith an increased population in the rea it was decided that they could oprate better and give more service as a monastery. The quarters were spacious enough for six

improbable que se reconstruyera la bveda despus de 1773, pero es evidente que no se hizo en el siglo XVII. Este tipo de bveda pertenece al siglo XVIII y, probablemente, se construy sobre una ampliacin hecha al templo algin ao despus de los terremotos de
utilizadas.

Es

muy

1717.

monks

to live there.^-"

Several doors, especially those to the sacristy


274 ), have good panel designs. Not much re( mains within the residential rea that is authentically od except the grilles since the rooms aroiind the big east court were either destroyed or allo-wed

Estuvo esta ermita bajo la jurisdiccin del convento de San Francisco; pero para 1673'^* fue administrado por los frailes de San Juan del Obispo. '^^ Cuando se secularizaron las ermitas en 1754, San Cristbal el Bajo fue asignado a la parroquia de Los Remedios. ^^*

SAN JUAN DEL OBISPO


al sur de Santiago, en las Volcn de Agua, se halla el pequeo pueblo de San Juan. En 1547 el primer obispo de Guatemala, Francisco Marroqun, construy una iglesia y un 'palacio' que tena una vista excelente sobre el valle entero de Panchoy y la nueva ciudad de Santiago que se estaba cons-

years ago. Until recently some of the rooms at the east end of the building were used for the local graminar school. Within the past few years the Archbishop of Guatemala has undertaken the preservation of these ruins and the renovation of a considerable portion of the 'palace.' This work has proceeded slowly with evidence of care and good judgment.

to fall into ruin

many

A unos

tres

kilmetros

faldas inferiores del

truyendo.'-'

COLONIAL ALTARS
275-278

of Santiago, sites

After the edict of 1776 forced the abandoninent were assigned in New Guatemala for the religious institutions,and construction was begini on new churches and conventual houses. This resultcd in the stripping of all of the churches in Antigua as soon as their altars and furnishings could be moved to the new capital. Everything that was usable or possible of repair was taken.
is

En marzo de 1563, mientras estaba residiendo enferm el obispo, y el 5 de abril hizo su testamento antes de ser llevado en ima silla de manos a la ciudad, donde muri el 8 de abril. Le enterraron en la catedral el 20 de abril de 1563.'-* Aunque no era San Juan ni siquiera un arrabal de Santiago, es histricamente una parte de ella y ha quedado afortunadamente tan parecido a su aspecto de mediados del siglo XVI, que es ms
all, se
1

valioso

como monumento

histrico

que ningiin

edificio en la ciudad.

This
altars

practical

completcly understandablc both from a and an artistic point of vicw. Many od

ha despojado la iglesia de su mobiliario ms primitivo, y no se ha alterado materialmente el llamado palacio' dtirante su rese

No

were no doubt damaged beyond hope of salvage. btit others escaped entirely or were only partly destroyed. As historians have recorded. Santiago was known far beyond its boundarics for the
its

ciente renovacin. Se llega al templo y a la casa obispal mediante escalones desde la plaza-atrio para usar un solo nivel para el edificio entero. Lo tnico del exterior

great artistry of
in

wood

carvcrs as well as

its

de
la

la iglesia

que merece atencin


la

es la

espadaa a

sculptors and artists,

all of whom had cooperated producing the rich decorations and furnishings

derecha de

fachada

(26!) a).

Detrs de ella se

of this city's temples.

One of the vcry few altars from the pre-1773 period remaining in Antigua has been preserved in the Chapel of the Third Order of San Francisco near the tomb of Brother Pedro de Betancourt (275 ab). This altar, according to Vctor Miguel Daz, is early seventeenth century.'' This date wotild seem too early, btit it reasonably could belong to that century. The openwork of the upper section is tmusual. The flowery spirals have
been compared in their pictorial effect to carving in Santa Clara of Queretaro, Mxico. '" But, of course, that church and its elabrate decorations

una capilla lateral, o baptisterio, con una reja de madera adornada con lneas y colores(270 cd). El interior del templo es sumamente sencillo, est mal alumbrado, y no muy bien construido. De esto, resulta que ha necesitado considerables
halla

reparos durante su historia de cuatrocientos aos,

pero no

se

ha reedificado. Lo que queda hoy

es

veces arreglada, con el techo de madera y teja, reforzado con altos pilares de madera sobre bases de piedra (271 a). Aunque los altares de este templo no son nefbrica del siglo

una

XVI muchas

cesariamente tan antiguos como la iglesia misma, son probablemente tan viejos como cualesquiera de los que quedan en la regin de la Antigua ac-

229

CHURCHES AND HERMITAGES


belong to the next century. In the Franciscan chapel in Antigua there are three other altars said to be old."When the church of the convent of Las Capuchinas was completed in New Guatemala the altars of the 1736 edifice of Santiago were incorporated. Although the new temple is not as splendid architecturally as the one that was abandoned, the altars bring it a degree of distinction in the twentieth century (276-277). But some of the finest of Santiago's altars were not damaged in the Mercedarian church in 1773, and they remained in place for more than forty years. Then they were transferred to the splendid new temple, built to house them, that was completed and dedicated in 1813 in Guatemala City."'' constrticted in the same size and shape, except for somewhat deeper transepts, and even details of the sanctuary were copied from the abandoned temple in Antigua. In spite of periodic renovations and enrichment these altars are excellent examples of the late Baroque work of Santiago ( 275-278 ) The pulpit has undergone some alterations recently btit supposedly it is of the same era (278 b). The magnificent organ (278 a) from the Antigua church was probably built and

The new church was

tualmente. Los historiadores dicen que tena el mayor una imagen de San Juan Bautista, y tal imagen es parte del altar que todava se halla all (270 a). El carcter barroco de algunos de estos altares indica que se instalaron all durante el siglo XVII (269-71). Varias de las pinturas en los retablos son de buen colorido y estn en condicin excelente, dado su lugar y su abandono a la intemperie durante largas temporadas cuando estaba en ruina el techo ( 271 ). Parte del mobiliario es algo tosco, pero un rgano antiguo en el pequeo coro es especialmente notable. Una entrada desde la plaza conduce a un pequeo patio delante del 'palacio' desde el cual se poda entrar a la sala de recibo y las habitaciones particulares del obispo. (Vase el plano 272 ).E1 patio central (273 cd) tena su propia entrada por medio de una escalera doble monumental que sube desde la calle que est abajo (273 a). En lo ms alto de esta escalera hay una pesada puerta con barrotes torneados de madera (274 d). Un tercer patio, que es mayor, con las habitaciones que lo rodean termina el establecimiento hacia el final oriental de la iglesia. Los arcos de los dos patios grandes son muy rebajados y los del corredor detrs del templo tienen una luz inusitadamente
altar

about 1760. The builders of this organ were said to be a man by the ame of Len,'-''* or Juan de Len, and his son.^'*' The organ was undoubtedly reinstalled in La Merced Church of New Guatemala along with the altars and decorations taken from Antigua. During the colonial period Santiago had excelinstalled there

ancha (273

e).

interesante de este 'palacio' es la gran se extiende a lo largo de los lados septentrional y oriental. Desde ella se tiene un
galera

Lo ms

que

lent builders of organs.

Among

the best of these

were Mariano Lpez and his son. All of the churches had organs, and it is possible that most, if not all, were transferred to the ne-\v capital in the late eighteenth century. According to Vctor Miguel Daz many of these organs, including those of the Cathedral, Santo Domingo, La Merced, Candelaria, Santa Teresa, El Carmen, Santa Catalina, San Juan de Dios, San Francisco, San Jos, and others, were all destroyed in Guatemala City in the earthquake of 191 7-18."'"' Although this writer is frequently in error one must suppose that he had first hand knowledge concerning these organs since he was a resident of Guatemala City at the above date and wrote about the destruction only a few years later. Some of them no longer exist, but at least one of those named above was salvaged and remains in La Merced Church as already stated. Some photographs of this organ show missing pipes. These have been restored.

el valle y de los cerros al norte (18b). Fue San Juan del Obispo una vicara bajo jurisdiccin de los franciscanos de Santiago hasta un poco despus de la mitad del siglo XVII. Hacia 1660 se mejor esta residencia. Con una poblacin que haba aumentado en el distrito se decidi que podra servir ms eficazmente como convento. Era la vivienda lo bastante amplia para ser morada de

panorama sobre

seis religiosos.^-"

Varias puertas, sobre todo las de la sacrista tienen tableros con buenos diseos. No ), queda mucho autnticamente antiguo dentro del rea residencial, con excepcin de las rejas, por haber sido destruidas o dejadas caerse en ruinas, hace muchos aos, las piezas alrededor del gran patio oriental. Hasta una fecha reciente, algunas de las habitaciones al extremo oriental del edificio servan como escuela primaria para el pueblo. En los liltimos aos el arzobispo de Guatemala ha emprendido la conservacin de estas ruinas y la renovacin de una parte considerable del 'palacio.' Esta obra se ha hecho lentamente, con cuidado y evidente buen criterio.
(

274

STONE CROSSES
279-280

ALTARES COLONIALES
275-278

In the atriums of colonial churches and hermitages it was customary to erect a cross. Probably

Despus de que

el

decreto de

1776 forz

el

230

LAS IGLESI.AS Y LAS ERMITAS

some

of these ivere of

wood. Those that remain are

of stone. A fe^v have survived within the central part of the city, and others stand before scattered hermitages or village churches. The largest cross is in the atrium of La Merced Church and has a shaft bearing the date of 1688 (279 b). Pardo says that this cross originally stood at the angle formed by the Calle Ancha de los Herreros and the street which led to Jocotenango.^''' This inay be true. but another date on the base of the cross. 1765, corresponds with the construction pcriod of the new church. The smallest cross, and the only one with carved decoration on its face, is set in a wall on the same road to Jocotenango. This c|uite probably carne from one of the several ncarby hermitages now in ruins. and was at one time free-standing (280c).

abandono de Santiago, se asignaron sitios en la Nueva Guatemala para las instituciones religiosas,
y se inici la construccin de iglesias y conventos nuevos. Result esto en el despojo de todas las iglesias de la Antigtia en cuanto se pudieron trasladar sus altares y su mobiliario a la capital nueva. Se llev todo lo utilizable y lo que se poda reparar. Se comprende fcilmente esto desde el punto de vista prctico y del artstico. Sin duda muchos retablos antiguos se haban daado demasiado para repararlos, pero otros se escaparon enteramente a la ruina o slo se encontraban deteriora-

Several crosses remain in their original position even though the plaza and adjacent ruin are longer significant to the commimity, as in the case of Santa Isabel (279 d). One of the prominent
crosses
is

located in front of El Calvario. .A. cross at El Calvario in 1618, but not in this position.'-'''' This one has 1688 carved on its base (279 c). Another large cross was moved from its original location (possibly San Francisco) to the cemetery during the nineteenth centtiry. In 1922

was erected

this cross
itical

was knocked down by a dissidcnt polon a new base when Antigua was made a National Monument in 944
grotip."^ It was reerected
1

(280 a)

Juarros,

I,

147. Vzquez. IV. 381-382


.382.

& Pardo. Guia,


,^-

p.

84

Vzquez. IV. Pardo. Guia,


Juarros,
I,

Rcmcsal.

II.

309

ff

Pardo. Efem..

p. IH

dos parcialmente. Y como han dicho los historiadores, Santiago era renombrado bastante ms all de sus fronteras por la gran habilidad de sus tallistas en madera, lo mismo que la de sus escultores y otros artistas, todos los cuales haban ayudado a producir los ornamentos y lujosos muebles de la ciudad. Uno de los muy escasos altares del perodo anterior a 1773 que queda hoy en la Antigua, se ha conservado en la Capilla de la Tercera Orden de San Francisco, cerca de la tumba del Hermano Pedro de Betancourt (275 ab). Este altar, segn Vctor Miguel Daz, es de la primera parte del siglo XVII. "" Parece demasiado temprana esta fecha, pero razonablemente podra ser de aquel siglo. El calado de la parte superior es singular. Los espirales floreados se han comparado en su efecto pictrico al tallado en Santa Clara de Quer'''' taro, en Mxico. Pero, por suptiesto, esta iglesia con sus adornos complicados pertenece al siglo siguiente. En la capilla franciscana en la Antigtia hay otros tres altares que, segiin se dice, son antiguos.'''^

p.

84

147
p.

Pardo, Eiem., p. 37 Chinchilla A., Historia del Arle. Pardo, Efem., p. 87 Vzquez. IV. 382

73

Ximnez.

III,

168
p. p.
16.")

Pardo, Efcm.,

Ibi(i.,pp. 119. 120

S:

149

Pardo. Guia,
Juarros.
I.

8.")

Cuando se termin la iglesia del convento de las Capuchinas en la Nueva Guatemala, los altares del templo de 1736, en Santiago, se incorporaron a ella. Aunque el nuevo templo no es tan esplndido arquitectnicamente como el que se abandon, los altares le dan cierta distincin en pleno siglo XX
(

Vzquez, IV, 383 &

147- 148, Metrpoli, pp. 247-248 ft Pan Pardo. Guia. p. 81 AGG. A 1.23-1.") 13 -660 (1586)
.

276-277

).

1.23-1513-750 (1.594) Vzquez, Juarros, loe. eit. Juarros. I. 148 k Vzquez, loe. eit.
,

AGG, A AGG, A

1,2-4-219,5-247

(1,587)
loe. rit.

Vzquez,
Ibid.
Ibid.,

loe. eit.

AGG, A

S: Pardo. Kfcm., p. 42 1. 10.3-31. 267-4046 (1679) Pardo, Guia, p. 81 Pardo, Efem., p. 165

Chinchilla A., op.

rit. p.

50

Pardo, Guia.
Juarros,
I,

p. 82 148, Pardo,

Guia.

p.

83

Da/,

Romntiea Ciudad.

p,44
Pardo, Guia.
p.

83

Ibid. Xim<'-nez, III, 3,56 Metrpoli, p. 252. Pardo, Guia, p. 83 AGG, A 1.10.3-31.351-4049 (17,53)

X;

Daz. loe.

rit.

Juarros. I, 148 Jan Morente. Dr. .Antonio. Caleditico de las l'niversidadcs

de
33 3*

.Sevilla v

Crdoha. Espa

Juarros. 1, 138 k Pardo. Efem.. Juarros. loe. eit. k Pardo, Guir.

pp.

MO-

Pero algimos de los mejores retablos de Santiago no se daaron en el templo de los mercedarios en 1773, y quedaron en su lugar por ms de cuarenta aos antes de trasladarse a la nueva y esplndida iglesia que se termin y se dedic en 1813 en la Ciudad de Guatemala para albergarlos.'''' Se construy el templo nuevo del mismo tamao y forma, con excepcin de los brazos del crucero algo ms largos, e incluso se copiaron los detalles del presbiterio de su iglesia abandonada en la Antigua, A pesar de renovaciones peridicas y embellecimientos posteriores, son ejemplares excelentes de la (275-278) ltima parte del barroco de Santiago Recientemente, se ha cambiado algo el pulpito, pero se supone que es del mismo perodo (278 b). El magnfico rgano (278 a) del templo antigiieo se construy y se instal probablemente hacia 760.
1

231

CHURCHES AND HERMITAGES


"I

rit. 9c Pardo. Guia, p. 141 Pardo. Guia, p. 141 Pardo. F4em., p. 16,5 ^* Gonzlez Bustillo. Juan, Knzii Partinilar, 12

^
'' ^*

Juarros, loe. Juarros, loe.

cit.

*" Pardo, Gnia.p. 1,50 Juarros, I, 148-149 *l


**^
0/7.

Ximnez,

Pardo, Efem.. p. 55, Pardo, Guia, p, 150 & Chinchilla W. p. 79 II, 334

A.,

44 Pardo, Ef'iii., pp. 132-133 45 Ibid., p. 138, Pardo, Guia, p. 150, Metrpoli, p. 252 & Daz, Ciudad Romntica, p. 68 46 Pardo, /cm., p. 138 & Metrpoli, loe. eit. 47 Pardo, Efem., p, 160 48 Juarros, I, 150-151, Daz, Bellas Artes, p. 137 & Pardo, Gu/a, pp. 150-151 49 Juarros, I, p, 149
50
51

Se dice que fueron los constructores de este rgano un artesano llamado Len,"* o Juan de Len y su hijo.*'" Sin duda fue instalado otra vez en la iglesia de la Merced en la Nueva Guatemala al igual que los altares y adornos entonces llevados de la Antigua. Durante el perodo colonial tena dicha ciudad constructores de rganos excelentes. Entre los mejores estuvieron Mariano Lpez y su hijo. Tenan rganos todos los templos, y es posible que la mayora, si no todos, se trasladaran a la capital

Juarros, Ibid.

I,

p. 150

& Pardo, Efem.,

p.

40

nueva en los ltimos aos del siglo XVIIL Segn Vctor Miguel Daz, muchos rganos, incluyendo los de la catedral, Santo Domingo, La Merced, Candelaria, Santa Teresa, El Carmen, Santa CataSan Juan de Dios, San Francisco, San Jos y destruyeron en los terremotos de 1917Aunque se equivoca con frecuencia este escritor, hay que suponer que haya tenido conocimientos personales de estos rganos, puesto que viva en Guatemala en esa fecha y escribi acerca de la destruccin pocos aos ms tarde. Ya no existen algunos de estos rganos, pero al menos uno de los mencionados por l fue salvado y est en el templo de la Merced, como ya se ha dicho. Algunas de las fotografas de este rgano muestran la falta de algunos tubos, pero al parecer se ha restaurado y est en buen estado.
lina,

52

AGG, A

63 54

1.2-4-2196-140 (1565) Ximnez, III, 351 Juarros, I, 150, Pardo, Efem., p, 79, Pardo, Guia, p, 144

otros, se

Metrpoli, p. 243 55 Pardo, Guia, p. 144 56 Ibid. & Pardo, Efem., p. 153 57 Pardo, Efem., p. 130 & Pardo, Guia, p. 136 58 Pardo, Efem., pp, 129-130 59 Pardo, Guia, p. 144
60 61 62 63 64 65 66
67 68 09 70
71

18.""

AGG, A
I,

149, Pardo, Efem., Vzquez, IV, 418-420

1.20-1480-14V (1668) BAGG, X, 3, 202-204, Juarros, p. 33 & Vzquez IV, 420-430


,

Ibid., p. 421 Ibid., p. 421-422

&

Juarros,

I,

149

Juarros I, 149 8c Vzquez IV, 432 Vzquez, IV,422 Vzquez, IV, 430 /6id., p. 425 Ibid., p. 429 Ibid., p. 431 Chinchilla A., op. cit., pp. 56 & 96-97

AGG, A

1,2-5-15.776-2207-71

(1719)

BAGG, VIH,

1,

126

72
73

Juarros,

A 1.10.3-31.297-4047 (1720) & Vzquez, IV, 433 I, 140 & 190, Vzquez, IV, 433, Pardo, Efem., p. 120 & Pardo, Guia, p. 147
1.2,2-11.776-1782 (1679)
,

CRUCES DE PIEDRA
279-280

AGG, A

BAGG,

VIII,

1,

36-39,

74
'>

Pardo, Efem., pp. 70, 71, 73 & 96 Vzquez, IV, 420

En
se

los atrios

de

las iglesias

y ermitas coloniales

acostumbraba alzar una

cruz.

Probablemente

Juarros,

I,

154

& Pardo, Efem., pp. 178-179

76 77 78 79 80 81

Pardo, Efem., p. 157 Ibid., p. 159


Ibid. Juarros,
I,

154 154
loe. cit.

Pardo, Efem., p. 166


Juarros,
I,

82
83

84 85 86 87 88 89 90
91

Pardo, Guia, p. 146 Ibid., Pardo, Efem., pp. 178-179 & Juarros, Pardo, Efem., p. 183

AGG, A

1.20-10.171-16 vuelto (1602)

BAGG,

X,

2,

95

ff

Pardo, Efem., p. 26 Fuentes y Guzmn, I, 391 ff Metrpoli, p. 72 Ximnez, III, 358 Pardo, Guia, p. 152 & Metrpoli, Pardo, Efem., p. 141
Juarros,
I,

p. 157

152-153

92
93

94 95 90 97 98

Pardo, Guia, p. 154 Metrpoli, p. 257 Pardo, Guia, p. 154 Pardo, Efem., pp. 103 Metrpoli, p. 258

&

141

AGG, A

1.2.2-11.780-1786 (1703), Pardo, Efem., p. 103 Juarros, I, 153

BAGG,

VIII,

I,

108

99 00
01
''2
'3

Pardo, Efem., p. 149


Juarros,
Ibid.,
I,

153
p. 154

& Pardo, Guia,


I,

Juarros,

148
p. 148

'4

Vzquez, IV, 383-384 Juarros, loe. cit. & Pardo, Gua,

eran algunas de stas de madera, pero las que quedan son de piedra. Unas cuantas se han conservado en la parte central de la ciudad, y otras quedan en pie delante de las ermitas alejadas o las iglesias de pequeos poblados. La cruz ms grande se halla en el atrio del templo de la Merced y tiene en la columna la fecha 1688 (279 b). Dice Pardo que esta cruz estaba originalmente en el ngulo formado por la Calle Ancha de los Herreros y la que conduca a Jocotenango."^ Puede ser correcto, pero otra fecha en la base de la cruz, 1765, corresponde al perodo de construccin de la nueva iglesia. La cruz ms pequea, y la nica con adorno tallado, est embutida en un muro en el mismo camino a Jocotenango. Es muy probable que viniera de una de las varias ermitas cercanas, actualmente arruinadas, y que estuviera en alguna poca erigida frente a una de ellas y no adosada (280 c). Varias cruces quedan en su sitio primitivo, aun cuando la plaza y sus ruinas adyacentes no tienen significado para la comunidad, como en el caso de Santa Isabel (279 d). Una de las cruces sobresalientes se halla delante de El Calvario. Se erigi

232

Ximnez,

I,

235

& Pardo, Guia,


(1719)
,

p. 149

AGG, A

1.2.5-2207-71
III,

1.10.3-31.291-4047 (1720).

357 & Pardo, Efem., p. 166 Gonzlez, Bustillo, Razn Particular, 24

Ximcnez,

en

una primitiva en el Calvario, en 1618, pero no este sitio.*''*' La actual tiene esculpida en su

Juarros,

I,

152
p.

Pardo, Efem.,
Juarros,
I,

166
152-153
50

56

8:

& Pardo, Guia,

pp. 161-162

Pardo, Efeiu.,
Juarros,
I,

p.

& Pardo, Guia, pp. 161-162


l.\GG. VIH,

154
.

AGG, A

base la fecha 1688 (279 c). Se traslad otra cruz grande de su sitio original (posiblemente San Francisco) al cementerio durante el siglo XIX. En 1922, fue derribada por una faccin poltica disidente."" Se erigi otra vez en una base nueva cuando se declar a la Antigua Monumento Nacional, en 1944 (280 a).
107

1.2-2-11.780-1786 (1703)

1.

Pardo, Efem., p. 102 Pardo, /fm., pp. 133-134


Ibid.,p. 138 Ibid., p. 167

Gonzlez Bustillo, op.


Pardo, Guia, p. 158 Fuentes y Guzmn,

cit.,

21

p.

404 & Vzquez, IV. 38


&.-

AGG, A
Daz,

1.10.3-31.318-4047 (1739)
p.

1.10.3-31.322-4048 (1743)

Romntica Ciudad,
p. 158 p.

82

Pardo, Guia,

Pardo, Efem.,
.-VCG,

28

3.2-15.207-825 (1673)

& B.AGG, X,
I.

1,

128

ff

Vzquez, IV, 37 & Fuentes & Guzmn. Juarros, I. 79

379

Vzquez, IV, 299 i Daz. ISe/Ins Arles, pp. 498 Vzquez, I, 147 & Pardo. Efem., p. 1 Vzquez. IV, 300 & 347
Daz, op. Daz, op.
cit.,

ff

pp. 150 166

& 166
p.

Kelemen, Bar. Kelemen, op.

& Roe,

260

cit., p.

cit.,

pp. 233-234

Berln, Historia de a Imaginera, Fig. 31 Kelemen, op. cit., p. 234 Daz, op. cit., p. 525

Pardo, Gua, pp. 164-165 Vzquez, IV, 420 Pardo, Guia, pp. 160-161 & Daz. op.

cit.. p.

276

SAN SEBASTIAN
234

HISTORY
BUILT

FOUNDED 1565
1580- 1582
Ft.
12

DAWAGED
REBUILT

1692
1773

DESTROYED

NOTE

The

Parish

Church

of

5an

Sebastin

2S5

South wall Muro meridional

Right niche, lower story

Nicho derecho, cuerpo

inferior

SAN SEBASTIAN
236

Left niche, upper story

Nicho izquierdo, cuerpo superior

Right niche, upper story Nicho derecho, cuerpo super

SAN SEBASTIAN

d
c

North wall of the sanctuary

Detail of the fa^ade

Muro septentrional

del presbiterio

Detalle de la fachada

LOS REMEDIOS

1575-1594 CONSTRUCTED CONVERTED INTO A 1641 PARISH CHURCH 773 DESTROYED

Lo5

Remedios
Antigua

Cmurch
1EASURED AND DRAWN BY

VLANNIS

239

Hermitage church and garden gate

Solomonic

pilasters of the

church
del templo

Templo de

la

ermita y prtico del jardn

Columnas salomnicas adosadas

CANDELARIA

-^^

abe

Details of plaster

work

Detalles de ataurique

CANDELARIA

241

Church of the

Templo

beatero o Santa Rosa de Lima del beatero de Santa Rosa de Lima

Detail of upper fa9adi 'cushion' pilasters

Detalle del cuerpo


superior, pilastras

almohadilladas

Choir window Ventana de coro

Niche and
lower story

pilasters

Nicho y

pilastras,

cuerpo inferior

SANTA ROSA DE LIMA


242

Debris

filled

nave

Typical pendentive of vaulting

Pechina tpica de

las

bvedas

m ^
Nave
llena de escombros

m u

-^

SHS
d
Detail at top of pilasters

Detalle

que corona

las pilastras

^^f^A'

iw

SANTA ROSA DE LIMA


243

South

bell

tower

Campanario meridional

Niche at left of entrance Nicho a la izquierda de la portada

244

LA SANTA CRUZ

Lovver fagacle

Cuerpo

inferior de la lachad:

Engaged columns Columnas adosadas

LA SANTA CRUZ
245

A B C
D
E F

CHOIR ABOVE

CHAPEL

OH

BAPTISTER

CROSSING

DOME

SANCTUARY

SACRlSTY
FOUNTAIN

246

aik'^^lvvk^c^
a

The
La

Crucifixin in niche of the gable

crucifixin en hornacina del remate

Base of columns
Base de
las

Detail of plaster decoration

columnas

Detalle de ataurique

LA SANTA CRUZ
247

Arch of choir

Arco del coro

"mmM

1
Entrada
248

a*

Baptistery entrance under choir


al baptisterio,

Interior

from the main entrance

bajo

el

coro

Interior desde la puerta principal

LA SANTA CRUZ

Door

in

north wall of nave


la

Puerta en

pared septentrional de

la

nave

Arch separatinp; nave and saiictuary Arco (|ue separa l;i nave del presbiterio

Window

in the south wall of


el

nave
la

d
nave

Window
Ventana

in the rhoir

Ventana en

muro meridional de

del coro

LA SANTA CRUZ
249

250

Vew from the northeast


Vista desde el noreste

Hermitage church

of El

Templo de

la

ermita de El

Carmen Carmen

m.

i
;
Our Lady of Carmen from wall of Las Capuchinas. (Ruin of house of Marquis of Aycinena in foreground) Nuestra Seora del Carmen desde el muro de las Capuchinas. (Ruina de la casa del Marqus de Aycinena en primer plano)

EL CARMEN

j^^-^

^^

^-^

"

5V'

^
a

Upper fa^ade of the church Cuerpo superior de la iglesia

Base of columns Base de


las

at right of

entrance

c
la

Plaster decoration of

columnas

a la derecha

de

puerta principal

Ataurique de

las

columns columnas

EL CARMEN
252

f9^
Choir wndow and image of Our Lady of Carmen V^entana del coro e imagen de Nuestra Seora del Carmen

Detail of multilinear

head of main door


Detalle de la cabecer; mixtilnea de la piieri principal

Brick paving of the nave

de

Pavimento de la nave

ladrillos

EL CARMEN
253

Details of entablature of nave Detalles del entablamento de la nave

254

EL CARMEN

ij.l.flLl.;.:Bl

Gate

to the

hermitage of El Calvario

Prtico de la ermita de El Calvario

Cale roni the south


Prtico desde
el

sur

Stonecross (1688) and the Alameda of El Calvario

Cruz de piedra (1688)


Calvario

y la

alameda de El

EL CALVARIO

255

Renovated Station near gate (lOS") Estacin renovada cerca del prtico (1945)

d Gate from the northeast Prtico desde el noreste

EL CALVARIO

d Typical detail

Detalle tpico
in

Near El Calvario
as they

Cerca

ele

El Calvario

Chapis built

1691 betvveeii San Francisco

and El Calvario,

were in 1934

Capillas construidas, en 1691, entre San Francisco y El Calvario,

como

estuvieron en 1934

STATIONS OF THE CROSS

VIA CRUCIS
257

Hermitage church from the northeast Iglesia de la ermita desde el noreste

Nave from the church entrance Nave desde la puerta de la iglesia

Vault supporting choir

Bveda que sostiene

el

coro

258

SAN JOS EL VIEJO

BUILT DEDICATED DESTROYED

1740-176
1762
1773

259

Detail of entablatiire

Detalle del entablamento

Clustered pilasters and niche of the lower fa^ade

Grupo de

pilastrillas y

hornacina del cuerpo inferior

SAN JOS EL VIEJO

Solomonic (helicoidal) engaged columns

Chapel of the Virgin, north

side of

church

Columnas salomnicas adosadas

Capilla de la Virgen, lado septentrional del templo

JOCOTENANGO
261

m
nnn

1
FOUNDED
RE-BUILT
1703

1717
1773

DESTROYED

r^-

s
The
Hertnit&ge
of

Dolores

del

Cerro

^a

m=m

262

Hermitage ruin from the noi

Ruina de
c

la

ermita desde

el

noreste

Appendage
Apndice

to the sanctuar\

al presbiterio

NUESTRA SEORA DE LOS DOLORES DEL CERRO


263

Window detail

of the nave

Detalle de ventana en la nave


c

Pilaster

between nave and sanctuary

Pilastra entre la nave y el presbiterio

NUESTRA SEORA DE LOS DOLORES DEL MANCHEN

El Espritu Santo

La Santsima Trinidad

E^^lr'

M In IKij Bl
Wmi
^^

'W ^BHH

J^^^fFjd Jr^ L i^^^W^^^^i^^^H TT^^^Mlt^^BPMW


'

H^BHIb
d

La Santsima Trinidad

La Cruz

del Milagro

MINOR HERMITAGES

ERMITAS MENORES
265

'Cushion' pilasters
Pilastras almohadilladas

'"'

'^

1
7""^.
^

m
^
-

Upper fa^ade Cuerpo superior de

d
la

Detail of niches and pilasters

fachada

Detalle de hornacinas y pilastras

SANTA ANA

Ruin of hermitage church Ruina del templo de la ermita

Estpite pilasters

and

niche,

upper

left

Pilastras estpites de la parte superior

izquierda

Detail of lower fa^ade,

left

of door
la i/cjuierda

Detalle de la fachada inferior a de la puerta

SANTA ISABEL

267

^lt

Fa^ade of hermitage after renovation (1936) Fachada de la ermita despus de la renovacin (1936)

Dome over sanctuary


Cpula sobre
el

presbiterio

SAN CRISTBAL EL BAJO


268

Side altar and details

Altar lateral y detalles

SAN JUAN DEL OBISPO


269

Baptistery or side chapel


Baptisterio o capilla lateral

Detail of

wood

grille

Detalle de reja de madera

270

SAN JUAN DEL OBISPO

Side altar (note

wood suppoi ts

of roof)

Altar lateral (ntense los sostenes de

madera del techo)

Details of side altar

Detalles del altar lateral

SAN JUAN DEL OBISPO

271

San Juan
Near

del

Obispo

Antigua.

272

East patio

and fountain

Patio oriental v fuente

Details of patio corridor


Detalles del corredor del patio

SAN JUAN DEL OBISPO


273

wSb^m

i^^^^i

'<

Detail of sacristy door


Detalle de la puerta de la sacrista

Wood grille at

top of double stairway


lo

Reja de madera en

ms

alto de la escalinata doble

274

SAN JUAN DEL OBISPO

SLliliil
b

Tomb of Hermano Pedro,


Tumba
del

Hermano

Pedro,

Antigua La Antigua

San Francisco, Antigua

La Merced, Guatemala

La Merced, Guatemala

ALTARS OF SANTIAGO

ALTARES DE SANTIAGO

275

Las Capuchinas, Guatemala

T'

Las Capuchinas, Guatemala

La Merced, Guatemala

ALTARS OF SANTIAGO
276

ALTARES DE SANTIAGO

Las Capuchinas, Guatemala

La Merced, Guatemala

Las Capuchinas, Guatemala

ALTARS OF SANTIAGO

ALTARES DE SANTIAGO

277

Organ, pulpit and altar formerly in La Merced, Antigua (Santiago) rgano, pulpito y altar antiguamente en La Merced, La Antigua (Santiago)

LA MERCED, GUATEMALA
278

i
a

<

--">-

+*'T"
Ji

ril

Jocotenango

Merced

ii

Calvario

STONE CROSSES

CRUCES DE PIEDRA

Street to

Jocotenango

San Cristbal

el

Bajo (1680)

Calle a Jocotenango

280

STONE CROSSES

CRUCES DE PIEDRA

University of San Carlos Universidad de San Carlos

^r

VIII

SCHOOLS OF SANTIAGO
Bishop Marroqun and other early citizens of the colony who were educated in Spain realized the need of schools for the young men of Spanish parentage. There were men of higher learning among the Dominicans and Franciscans who were capable and willing to establish schools within their respective monasteries. As missionaries their first efforts had been devoted to the religious conversin of the native. It was an easy step from this, and perhaps a welcome one, to ofFer courses in philosophy, theology, and grammar or Latin to the sons of the Spanish colonists.

LA UNIVERSIDAD Y LOS COLEGIOS


El obispo Marroqun y otros de los primeros vecinos de la colonia que se educaron en Espaa, se dieron cuenta de la necesidad de establecer colegios para los jvenes hijos de padres espaoles. Entre los dominicos y los franciscanos haba muchos letrados, capacitados para establecer colegios dentro de sus conventos respectivos y deseosos de hacerlo. Como misioneros, sus primeros esfuerzos se haban dedicado a cristianizar a los indgenas. Les fue fcil y posiblemente agradable cambiar de esta actividad a impartir clases en filosofa, teologa, y gramtica o latn para los criollos. La instruccin elemental haba sido iniciada en

Primary education had been started at Ahnolonga by the bishop, but beyond that, little progress

Almolonga por
la

el

Obispo Marroqun. pero por

was made until the new city was well established. More advanced teaching was probably liniited to
classes

for

the friars within

their

own

cloisters.

On March

9,

1562 Bishop Marroqiu'n entered

Dominicans for the founding of a school where chairs of arts, theology. philosophy and grammar would be instituted, and in his will a ycar later he left land and money for
into an agrecment with the
this foimdation.' In spite of this early encoiirage-

ment for an institution of higher learning the actual authorization and cstablishment of a school of this character were slow to materialize. cven though the Dominicans were teaching theology. arts and Latin to monks and sons of citizens in
1577.-

que estuvo bien ciudad. Probablemente la instrucestablecida cin ms avanzada se limitaba a clases para religiosos dentro de sus propios claustros. El 9 de marzo de 1562, el obispo acord con los dominicos la fundacin de im colegio donde se leeran ctedras de artes, teologa, filosofa y gramtica y en su testamento, redactado un ao ms tarde, dej terrenos y dinero para esta fundacin.' A pesar de este entusiasmo inicial para organizar un colegio de estudios avanzados, la autorizacin y establecimiento actuales de dicho colegio
otra parte se adelant poco hasta

tardaron

mucho en

realizarse,

aun cuando

los

dominicos enseaban teologa, artes y latn a los religiosos y a los hijos de los vecinos desde 1577." Vinieron los jesutas en 1607 y obtuvieron permiso, en 1625, para otorgar grados en un colegio que, ms tarde, llamaron San Francisco de Borja, pero en el ao 1620 no tenan ms de cuatro o cinco de su instituto y vivan de limosnas. No tenan medios econmicos ms que para una
escuela elemental para varones."* Los franciscanos tenan su propio colegio, San Buenaventura, que en 1575 ofreca cursos semejantes a los de Santo Domingo. Era natural que

The Jesuits came in 1607 and obtained permission in 1625 to award degrces at their school which
they called San Francisco de Borja, but in the year

1620 they had only foin- or five members of their Order and were living on alms. All they could afford was a grammar school for boys.'' The Franciscans had their own school, San Buenaventura, as early as 1575 which offered courses similar to those at Santo Domingo. It was natural that rivalry should develop between these
institutions,

but unfortunate that

this

condition

hubiera rivalidades entre estas instituciones, pero desafortunadamente ello caus la demora de mu-

SCHOOLS OF SANTIAGO
was instrumental in the many years of delay that occurred before the wishes of Bishop Marroqun could be realized.
chos aos en realizarse
los

deseos

del

obispo

Marroqun.

SANTO TOMAS DE AQUINO


It was September 7, 1620 before a decree was issued for the founding of the School of Santo Toms de Aquino,'* and the first class was opened October 20th by the Dean of the Cathedral.'^ In a

EL COLEGIO DE SANTO TOMAS DE AQUINO


No se emiti cdula para la fundacin del Colegio de Santo Toms de Aquino sino hasta el 7 de septiembre de 1620,* y fue dada la primera clase el 20 de octubre por el den de la catedral.'^ Pocas semanas despus se hallaban matriculadas treinta y nueve estudiantes. Para 1622, estaba ya bien construido el colegio en un solar adyacente al templo y convento de Santo Domingo pero no unido a ellos. Tena tres aulas grandes techadas de teja que estaban amuebladas con las mesas y bancos
necesarios,

few weeks there were thirty-nine students matriculated. By 1622 the school was strongly built on property adjacent to, but not connected with, the Church and Monastery of Santo Domingo. It had three large halls roofed with tile, whichwere furnished with the necessary tables and benches, a corridor and several other rooms located within a walled garden. With various gifts from interested citizens it had sufficient income to warrant a request for university status.*"' Petitions were refused, however, in both 1623 and 1627 by the Council of
the Indies." Several degrees were conferred in 1625 by Santo Toms, but the Jesuits protested, and their influence undoubtedly was a factor in the further delays
that hindered this project, even

un

corredor, y otras varias salas situadas

though

this

was

dentro de un jardn murado. Despus de haber recibido varios donativos de vecinos interesados, tuvo bastante rentas para justificar su solicitud para pedir la licencia y privilegios de universidad." Sin embargo, el Consejo de Indias rehus su peticin en 1623 y en 1627.' En 1625 fueron conferidos varios grados acadmicos por el colegio de Santo Toms, pero protestaron los jesutas, y sin

the only school where the arts and sciences were available to the sons of citizens. On January 27, 1631 the Royal Courts ordered the suspensin of

duda su influencia fue

university courses.* Fifteen years later, January 14, 1646, a large gift was made to support the petition to His Majesty for founding of the University. The gift provided that if the King and Pope gave their permission within four years, the money was available to support five chairs of study, adding one for law and one for medicine to the three that had been offered previously. By this date it was reported that the school had four classrooms, cells and rooms for students and rector, all of good masonry construction, and therefore the gift was to be used only for professional expenses and not for building." But events moved slowly in spite of the enthusiasm and interest of local citizens and benefactors. The royal decree of Charles II was not given until January 31, 1676,^" and the news did not reach Santiago until the following October 21st." Five days later the University of San Carlos was founded when the Audiencia swore to obey His Majesty 's order.

motivo para los atrasos adicionales que impidieron el logro de este proyecto, aun cuando fue ste el nico colegio donde podan cursar artes y ciencias los hijos de los habitantes de la ciudad. El 27 de enero de 1631, la Real Audiencia orden la suspensin de los cursos universitarios.* Quince aos ms tarde, el 14 de enero de 1646, se hizo un gran donativo para apoyar la solicitud a su Majestad pidiendo la fundacin de la Universidad. El obsequio se dio con la condicin que concedieran el rey y el Papa las licencias respectivas dentro de cuatro aos, y el dinero haba de sostener cinco ctedras, aadiendo una de leyes y una de medicina a las tres que se haban impartido antes. Para entonces, se inform que tena el colegio cuatro aulas, celdas y habitaciones para los estudiantes y el rector, todas de buena construccin de albailera, y por consiguiente se haba de usar el donativo slo para las ctedras y no para

ms

edificaciones."
los

Pero a pesar del entusiasmo y del inters de

UNIVERSITY OF SAN CARLOS


291-298

oficials as secretary,

interim rector was named, and such other treasurer and master of ceremonies, and examinations were held for a faculty.^^

An

vecinos y bienhechores, se prosigui lentamente. La cdula real de Carlos II no se emiti sino hasta el 31 de enero de 1676,^ y no lleg a Santiago sino hasta el 21 de octubre." Cinco das ms tarde se fund la Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala, cuando la Audiencia jur obedecer la Real Cdula de su Majestad.

282

LA UNIVERSIDAD Y LOS C:OLEGIOS


Since some of the latter positions could not be filled locally, examinations were held in Mxico, but they did not provide candidates for three chairs, and it was necessary to obtain these from universities in Spain Salamanca, Santa Cruz de
Valladolid and Alcal. Ecclesiastical, political and personal rivalries marred these first years, but more

LA UNIVERSIDAD DE SAN CARLOS

DE GUATEMALA
291-298

rector interino y otros funcionarios, tales como secretario, tesorero y maestro de ceremonias, y tuvieron lugar las oposiciones

Se

nombraron un

were named, and classes began with more than seventy students on January 7, 1681." Liberal arts and Indian languages were added to the
faculty

curriculum. In the meantime two men skilled in architecture and construction were appointed to improve the buildings and extend them." Martn de Andjar and his assistant Juan Vzquez de Molina completed the new edifices, including a portal, assembly room, chapel, sacristy and lecture rooms for inauguration by February 9, 1679.'"' Some furnishings were lacking, and there were holes and humps and untidiness about the buildings, in the patio and grounds resulting from the construction, ac-

para ctedras.'- Puesto cjue no haba personas en Santiago con los requisitos necesarios para optar a algunas de las ctedras, hubo de realizarse oposiciones en Mxico, pero no surgieron candidatos para tres ctedras, y fue preciso c|ue vinieran stos de Espaa, de las iniiversidades de Salamanca, Santa Cruz de Valladolid o Alcal de Henares. Rivalidades eclesisticas, polticas y personales perturbaron estos primeros aos; sin embargo, se

nombraron
clases el 7

otros catedrticos, y se iniciaron las

cording to a report made

at that time.

distinguished rector was nally approvcd on June 9, 1686."'' and on June 18. 1687 Pope Innocent XI confirmed the establishmcnt of the Royal and Pontifical University of San Carlos, and gave it the same rights and privilegesas the universities already establishcd in Mxico and Lima.'" and the same libertics, or rights, as the University of Salamanca, Spain. More than a century had elapsed in efforts to establish a university in Santiago. After 1686 there were sixty-five years of relative tranquility. The earthquake of 17,51 inlerrupted this long period of progress by destroying the university building.'** Since some of the structure

was built before 1622 it is possible that it was already weakened by the earlier carth(iuakes and deterioration due to age. For a few years the university continued under difficult conditions, but plans for rcbuilding were formulatcd. In 1758 the rector of the Seminario de la Asuncin (Tridentino), which was jusl completing a
fine

new building

in the block south of the Cathe-

some houses and land in the northeastern portion of the same block as a site for the
dral, offered

university building.''' The University Council agreed to accept the site-" and proceedcd to acquire other houses in order to have adequate

new

space.-^

de enero de 1681.'^ Se aadieron lenguas indgenas y artes al curriculum. Mientras tanto, dos personas hbiles en arquitectura y construccin fueron nombradas para mejorar los edificios y ampliarlos." Martn de Andjar y su sobrestante Juan Vsquez de Molina terminaron los nuevos trabajos, entre ellos una portada, saln mayor, capilla, sacrista y aulas, que se inauguraron el 9 de febrero de 1679.'"' Faltaban algunos muebles, y todava existan agujeros, promontorios de tierra y suciedad alrededor de los edificios, en el patio y los jardines a causa de la construccin, segn un informe de la poca. Por fin, el 9 de junio de 1686, se nombr a un rector distinguido,"' y el 18 de junio de 1687, el Papa Inocencio XI confirm la ereccin de la Real y Pontificia Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala y le dio los mismos derechos y privilegios (jue gozaban las universidades ya establecidas en Mxico y Lima'' y las mismas libertades o derechos que la Universidad de Salamanca, en Espaa. As, haba pasado ms de un siglo de esfuerzos para establecer universidad en Santiago. Despus de 1686 hubo sesenta y cinco aos de tranquilidad relativa. Los terremotos de 1751 interrtnnpieron este largo perodo de desarrollo, Puesto destruyendo el edificio de la Universidad. que parte de la estructina se construy antes de 1622, es posible (jue ya se encontrara debilitada a causa de movimientos ssmicos anteriores y el deterioro natural causado por los aos. Sigui la Universidad en condiciones difciles por unos aos, pero luego se formularon planes para su
'*"

The rea was cleared, and the new building was finished by June 4, 1763." Although a plan of the university was made by Luis Diez Navarro in 176.H. the details and construction of the new building
have

much of the character of Tridentino Semiwhich was completed in 1759, and is attributed to Jos Manuel Ramrez. There seems to be some (uestion regarding the true authorship of the university, but Diez Navarro undoubtedly had
nary,

reconstruccin. En 1758, el rector del Seminario de la Asuncin (Colegio Tridentino), que justamente conclua un edificio nuevo muy bueno en la manzana al sur de la catedral, ofreci unas casas y sitio en la parte noreste de la misma manzana como lugar para la nueva fbrica de la universidad.'" Las autoridades universitarias acordaron aceptar este sitio-" y pro-

hand

in

it.

siguieron con la obtencin de otras casas para tener suficiente espacio.-'

283

SCHOOLS OF SANTIAGO

The rooms of the university are built around a single large patio (291-92). The exterior expresses its heavy construction in spite of decorative motifs in the upper portion and between the large octagonal Windows. Because of their form the windows themselves are decorative and typical of eighteenth century Santiago. The monumental doorway was altered, or reconstructed, in 1832"" (291 d). Otherwise the two street farades apparently remain as they were in 1773. The same cornice and finials were used inside. The building was not seriously damaged by the July 1773 earthquake and only
slightly

Se desocup

el rea,

y se termin

el

nuevo

edifi-

cio hacia el 4 de junio de 1763."

Aunque hubo un

la Universidad hecho por Luis Diez Navarro en 1763, los detalles y la construccin del nuevo edificio tienen mucho del carcter del Seminario Tridentino, que se acab en 1759, y que se atribuye a Jos Manuel Ramrez. Parece haber alguna duda tocante al verdadero arquitecto de la Universidad, pero no cabe duda que Diez Navarro influy en ella.

plano de

more

so in those of

December

of that

same

year.

the arcades

one enters the building the richness of is immediately apparent ( 293 ). The Moorish (Mudejar) influence is evident, but one is

When

surprised to note that in the details the resemblance is slight. It is strictly a revival of character

and not an importation


is

of forms and motifs. There variation in the details than in many other buildings of the city, and yet this patio has a vibrant quality which is enhanced by the interesting multilinear arches on all four sides. Although not an exact duplication of those of Tridentino Seminary, which is next door, these arches are very similar (300 a). Between the arches the pilasters are terminated by a 'cushion' effect of horizontal divisions (294 c). Another variation of these pilasters frames the escutcheons in the pediments above the
less

cornice (294 b). Even though this motif has been categorized by some as an invention of Ramrez, it is also found in very similar forms on Santa Rosa, Santa Ana, San Jos el Viejo and the gate of Calvario which were supposedly built before the

time when Ramrez was master architect. The same can be said of the multilinear arches because the form is used in the head of the main doorway of Santa Ana Church. Both Tridentino and the University arches are lined underneath by the same shape and number of grooves. There is likewise the same cornice and parapet in both schools, which indicates either the same guiding hand of the designer or the influence of one upon the other. Below the cornice of the university there is a frieze with regularly spaced triglyphs which subtract from the Mudejar character.

The

large

room

at the

west side of the patio,

which was the chapel or assembly, is a spacious room with good light from ^vindows high in the west wall. The south end of the room is covered with a vault and cupola ( 292 ) ( 295 ). There are altar recesses on two sides and a door leading to what was a small sacristy on the east side. This large room, according to descriptions, was otherwise covered with an artesonado ceiling and tile roof. For a half century after the abandonment of
Santiago, this university chapel served as the sagrario or central parish church of Antigua,^* and

Las aulas de la Universidad estn construidas alrededor de su nico patio grande (291-92). En el exterior se aprecia su construccin fuerte a pesar de los motivos decorativos de la parte superior y entre las grandes ventanas octagonales. A causa de su forma, las ventanas mismas son decorativas y tpicas del Santiago del siglo XVIIL La portada monumental fue alterada o reconstruida en 1832 (291 d),^^ aunque por otra parte los dos paramentos que dan a las calles subsisten como estaban en 1773. Las mismas cornisas y remates se usaron dentro del edificio. La fbrica no fue seriamente daada por los terremotos de julio de 1773 y slo un poco ms por los de diciembre de aquel mismo ao. Cuando se entra en el edificio la riqueza de las arcadas es visible inmediatamente ( 293 ). La influencia mudejar es evidente, pero sorprende notar que en los detalles hay muy poca semejanza con dicha decoracin. Es estrictamente un restablecimiento de carcter y no una importacin de formas y motivos. Hay menos variedad en los detalles que en muchos otros edificios de la ciudad, y sin embargo, tiene este patio una vibrante calidad que es acrecentada por los interesantes arcos mixtilneos en los cuatro lados del patio. Aunque no son una duplicacin exacta de los del Seminario Tridentino, que est contiguo, son muy parecidos (300 a). Entre cada arco, las pilastras son rematadas por pilastrillas almohadilladas (294 c). Otra variante de estas pilastras flanquea los escudos de armas en los frontones por encima de la cornisa (294 b). Aunque algunas personas han atribuido este motivo a Ramrez, creyndolo invencin suya, se encuentra tambin en forma muy semejante en Santa Rosa, Santa Ana, San Jos el Viejo y la portada de El Calvario que, se supone, fueron construidos antes de ser Ramrez Maestro Mayor de Arquitectura. Se puede decir lo mismo de los arcos mixtilneos, por haberse usado igual forma en la parte superior de la entrada principal de Santa Ana y en la casa Popenoe. Los arcos del Tridentino, lo mismo que los de la Universidad, son estriados en el intrads con ranuras de igual forma y nmero. Se hallan tambin la misma cornisa y parapeto en ambos edificios, lo cual indica o la mano del mismo diseador o la influencia del arquitecto del primero en el segundo. Debajo de la cornisa en la Universidad, hay un friso con triglifos espaciados regularmente que atena el

284

LA UNIVERSIDAD Y LOS COLEGIOS


municipal theatre.-"' The sanctuary became a stage by raising the floor temporarily, and the room next to the Street served as a lobby. A door haci been cut through to the street for the church more than a century before. In recent years this former chapelassembly of the university has been used for conin the twentieth century
it

was used

as a

carcter mudejar.

El saln
capilla o

al

lado occidental del patio que era

la

ferences of national and international affairs. The small door to the street was closed a few years ago restoring that part of the facjade to its original

appearance. The other rooms about the patio were put into use as a grammar school for snialler children in 1832 and were still being used for that purpose when most of the acconipanying photographs were taken in 1934. In 1936 the Government transformed the entire building into a museum of colonial art with one room housing a small but

good

librar y.

Some of the They represent


is

od shutters and doors remain. the typical construction and sub(

divisin of such doors in Santiago

296

).

There

considerable variation, however. in the detail of the panels themselves( 297-98 ). The patio and its fountain are uncianged. 1 he greatest loss in this building is the artesntmdo ceiling of the chapel which was not kept in repair and had to be replaced more than a century ago.

TRIDENTINO SEMINARY AND SCHOOL OF THE INDIANS


299-304

592 Philip II decreed that seminaries should be founded in all the dioceses of the \cw World in accordance with the rulings of the Council of Trent.-" But. as usual, there were delays, and the Seminary of the Assumption of Our Lady. or Iridentino, was not definitely founded imtil January 4, 1598 with fifteen students from noble but not wealthy families. The school existed for many years on a very modest income.-^ There is confusin of dates and some uncertainty as to the place where Tridentino was first established. Pardo says that it was founded on August 24, 1597 in a hotise situated on the southeast crner of Third Avenue and Fourth Street which was called "El Jauln."-" This may have been a temporary location where the preliminaries took place. Later, when he gives a 1598 date stating that it was founded in an important two story house east of "El Jauln", 2" he may be referring to the inauguration of classes. A century later the seminary was given a house at Fourth Avenue and Fifth Street for its use.^" This was on the site where it was to erect a fine new building hi the middle of the cighteenth
In
1

Aula mayor, es una sala amplia y bien iluminada por las ventanas en la parte superior occidental. El extremo meridional de la sala est cubierto de una cpula ( 292 ) ( 295 ). En los dos lados hay hornacinas para altares, y en el oriental una puerta que da acceso a tma pieza que era una pequea sacrista. Por lo dems, segn las descripciones, estaba cubierto este saln de un artesonado con techo de teja. Durante medio siglo despus del abandono de Santiago, esta capilla universitaria sirvi de sagrario o parroquia central de la Antigua,-* y en el siglo XX se us como teatro municipal.-' Se convirti en escenario el presbiterio, alzando provisionalmente el piso, y la pieza contigua a la calle serva de vestbulo. Se haba abierto una puerta en la pared para dar acceso a la iglesia desde la calle, ms de un siglo antes. En aos ms recientes, ha servido la antigua capilla de la Universidad para conferencias nacionales e internacionales. Hace unos aos, se cerr la pequea puerta a la calle, restaurando as a su aspecto primitivo esa parte de la fachada. Las otras piezas alrededor del patio se utilizaron como escuela primaria en 1832. y todava se usaban para ese fin cuando se obtuvieron, en 1934, la mayora de las fotografas incluidas aqu. En 1936 el gobierno dedic el edificio entero a museo de arte colonial, haciendo de una sala una biblioteca pequea pero valiosa. Existen todava algimos de los antiguos postigos de ventanas y puertas. Representan la hechura y subdivisin tpicas de tales puertas en Santiago No obstante, hay una variacin conside( 29f) ). rable en los detalles de los tableros (297-98). El patio y su ftiente permanecen sin cambio. La prdida ms grande de este edificio es el techo artesonado de la capilla que no se mantuvo en buen estado y (|ue tuvieron que sustituir hace ms de un siglo.

EL COLEGIO SEMINARIO TRIDENTINO Y EL COLEGIO DE INDIOS


En 1592 orden Felipe II que se fundaran seminarios en todas las dicesis del Nuevo Mundo, de conformidad con los decretos del Concilio de Trento.- Pero, como de costumbre, hubo demoras, y no se cre definitivamente el Seminario de la Asuncin de Nuestra Seora, o Tridentino, hasta el 4 de enero de 1598, con quince estudiantes
de familias nobles pero no ricas. Subsisti el colegio por muchos aos con rentas muy modestas.-' Hay confusin de fechas y alguna incertidumbre tocante al sitio donde se estableci el Triden-

century.

SCHOOLS OF SANllAGO
In 1751 ihe Rector sciu a rcquest to the City Council for pcrinission to incorprate in the groiinds a bcnd in the street needed by the school which was abont to begin construction.^^ The Council granted this rc(|ucst. On Jime 3, 1758, the Rector of the seminary proposed to the Archbishop that the latter authorize hini to cede gratuitously to the imiversity the site and houses that he had bought just cast of the seminary so that the new edifice tor the University of San Carlos cotild be started.''- This approval was given by the Archbishop on August 9, 1758.^^ Several years later, the seminary building was enlarged behind the university to provide rooms for Indian students to attend Tridentino on scholarships, and the Rector also had an oratory constructed in the part south of the university opposite San Pedro Hospital/''^ This provisin for Indians resulted from the royal decree of September 1 1, 1766, which reached Santiago in February 1767, ordering that in all seminary schools there be established a certain number of scholarships for the sons of Indian chieftains. The school did not have the means to carry out this decree but the Rector had the necessary rooms built at his own expense, and the royal go\'ernment created twelve scholarships providing the Indian students with the same training given to the seminarians of Spanish descent.'''' One of the Indian students would be trained annually to pass to the university for further study/'" This small school was given the ame of Guadalupe''' and was situated

Dice Pardo que se fund el 24 de agosto de 1597 en una casa llamada 'El Jauln,' situada en la esquina sudeste de la tercera avenida y la cuarta calle. -^ Es posible que fuera sta una localizacin provisional, donde se efectuaron los trmites y la organizacin preliminares. Ms tarde, cuando Pardo da la fecha de 1598, diciendo que se fund en una casa de altos importante, al este de "El Jauln",-" puede ser que se refiera a la inauguracin de las clases. Un siglo ms tarde fue donada para el uso del seminario una casa en la cuarta avenida y la quinta calle.''" Estaba sta en el solar donde haba de erigirse un edificio nuevo y esplndido, a mediados del siglo XVIII. En 75 el rector envi una peticin al Ayuntamiento, pidiendo licencia para incorporar en el solar un recodo que no slo desfiguraba la calle, sino que le haca falta al colegio que estaba para
tino.
1

empezar a construirse." Accedi el Ayuntamiento. El 3 de junio de 1758 propuso el rector del Seminario al arzobispo que ste le autorizara a
ceder gratuitamente a la Universidad el sitio y unas casas que acababa de comprar, inmediatamente al este del Seminario, para que se pudiera iniciar el nuevo edificio de la Universidad. Aprob el arzobispo esta cesin, el 9 de agosto de
''-

1758.3^'

where there exists ctnrently a girls' school called "La Confederacin" until recently, when it was changed to 'Ta Educacin" or "Monseor Manuel
Bentez"
(302-3).

aboul the School of Guadalupe, and some persons think it was a school for girls in the colonial period. That would have been impossible since it was a part of Tridentino and shared certain facililies with the latter. In those days coeducation would not have been tolerated. The school for girls that now occupies the building has converted the original kitchen and refectory into

Confusin

exists

Varios aos despus, se extendi el edificio del Seminario por detrs de la Universidad, para proveer habitaciones para becarios indgenas que haban de asistir al Tridentino, y tambin se construy un oratorio en la parte sur del edificio de la Universidad y frente al Hospital de San Pedro.''* Esta ayuda a los indgenas result de la cdula real del 1 de septiembre de 1766, que lleg a Santiago en febrero del ao siguiente, que orden que en
1

todos los colegios seminarios se establecieran cierto becas para los hijos de caciques indgenas. El colegio no tena medios para cumplir esta cdula, pero a sus propias expensas el rector hizo construir las piezas necesarias, y cre el gobierno doce becas, dando a los estudiantes indgenas la misma instruccin que a los seminaristas de ascen-

nmero de

a sacristy

chapel
(

and chapel(301 ED).The beautiful od separated the two large patios (301 B)

304

).

Tridentino Seminary and the School of the Indians (Guadalupe) shared one of the monumental structures of the city, a building which is still standing in almost perfect condition in spite of the alterations for nineteenth and twentieth century uses. The entire building occupies more than half of a city block. On its north is the Cathedral, on the west the Palacc of the Captains General, and to the south the Hospital of San Pedro. The main entrance of Tridentino is a monumental door^vay opposite the south atrium of the Cathedral (sooc). Two grcat patios of the size of

dencia espaola.''' Anualmente uno de los estudiantes indgenas haba de educarse para pasar a la Universidad y continuar sus estudios en ella.''" Se dio a este pequeo colegio el nombre de 'Guadalupe''" y estaba situado donde actualmente existe un colegio de nias, llamado 'La Confederacin' hasta recientemente, cuando se cambi a 'La Educacin' o 'Monseor Manuel Bentez' (302-3). Hay confusin acerca del Colegio de Guadalupe, y creen algunas personas que era para nias en la poca colonial. Eso habra sido imposible puesto que fue una seccin de Tridentino y comparti ciertas facilidades con ste. En aquellos tiempos no se habra tolerado la coeducacin. El colegio de nias, que en la actualidad ocupa el

L.\

L'NIVERSID.AD Y LOS COLEGIOS

the university courtyard are separated by a magnificent chapel and its sacristy. Ovcr the north wall
of the latter
is a small belfry (299 b). The north patio has very heavy columns. instead of piers, supporting the multilinear arches. The Marian inedalions resemble those on the exterior walls of the university but are less elabrate (300 ab). The central fountain has been removed and the patio divided into two residential luiits. The large south patio has a very different as-

ha convertido la cocina y el refectorio primitivos en sacrista y capilla(301 ED).La antigua capilla, de excelentes proporciones y hermosos detalles, se encontraba entre los dos patios grandes
edificio,
(301 B)
(

304

).

el Colegio de Indios (Guadalupe) compartieron uno de los edificios la ciudad, una fbrica que se mantiene todava en pie, en estado casi perfecto, a pesar de las alteraciones que se han hecho para los usos de los siglos XIX y XX. El edificio entero ocupa ms de la mitad de una manzana de la ciudad. Al norte est la catedral, al oeste el Palacio de los Capitanes Generales, y al sur est el Hospital de San Pedro. La entrada principal del Tridentino es un portal monumental enfrente del atrio meridional de la catedral (300c). Dos patios grandes del tamao del patio de la Universidad se hallan separados por una magnfica capilla y su sacrista. Sobre el muro septentrional de sta hay una pequea espadaa (299b). El patio al norte tiene coliunnas muy pesadas en vez de pilares, para sostener los arcos mixtilneos. Los escudos marianos se asemejan a los de los muros exteriores de la Universidad pero son menos elaborados(300 ab). Se ha quitado la fuente central, y se ha dividido el patio en dos unidades residenciales. El patio grande hacia el sur tiene otro aspecto

El Seminario Tridentino y

monumentales de

pect. Here the piers are heavy, ahnost clumsy, and support arches without adornment (303 a). It also has been divided in the past century, but a portion of the fountain, with two seated lions, is still in place (302 c). The west half of the patio and the rooms along the street have been adapted to resi-

dential use. The east half and the snialler patio to the east are used, as previously stated, for a school
for

young

girls.

The

east patio has the typical

wood

coluinns

with stone bases and wood brackets supporting a flat tile roof. This is one of the most coinmon forms of construction that was used in colonial Santiago, and is still in use today (302 a). The patio and the rooms around it are not small, but the scale is intimate, and the little stone fountain
suited to its setting (303 c). After the scverity of the adjacent patio it is interesting to find a repetition of the medallion detail here over the doors (303 b). North of this patio is located a large reis

muy

distinto. All los pilares son pesados, casi tos-

fectory

and

a typical kitchen with

its

high octa-

cos, y sostienen arcos

de medio punto y

sin

adorno

gonal roof and cupola-chinmey covering a laige portion of the room. And beyond there is a corridor which faces a narrow light court at the rear of the university. A space of similar width separates the imiversity and the east wall of the .seminary, afTording an ampie light source to both
buildings.

(303 a). Se ha dividido este patio tambin en el siglo pasado, pero una parte de la fuente grande

Chinchilla .Aguilar crcdits the beaiuy of Tridentino to its Rector, Juan (ionzlc/ Batres. and Jos Ramrez who was for a time master of j)ulilic works. There exists an unsigned j)lan for Tridcntino dated 1759.^** The plan of the combined schools is one of the most satisfying and spacious arrangemcnts still in existence in Antigua. It shows skill and advancement in planning that is connnendable. The fact that it was designed as a complete structurc rather than something that grew with additions and alterations places Tridentino Seminary in a class by
itself.

con dos Icones sedentes (jucda todava en su lugar (302 c). La mitad occidental del patio y las piezas a lo largo de la calle se han adaptado para usos residenciales. La mitad oriental y el patio ms pecjueo al este se utilizan como escuela de nias, segi'in ya se ha dicho. El patio oriental tiene las tpicas columnas de madera con bases de piedra y zapatas de madera c|ue sostienen una azotea de ladrillos cuadrados. Es sta iHia de las formas de construccin ms comunes que se usaban en el Santiago colonial y que todava se emplea hoy (302 a). El patio y las habitaciones cjue lo rodean no .son pejueos, pero la escala es ntima, y la pequea fuente de piedra es apropiada para su ambiente (303 c). Despus de
la severidad del patio adyacente, es interesante encontrar una repeticin acju del detalle del medalln, sobre las puertas (303 b). Al norte de este patio hay un refectorio grande y una cocina tpica con su alta chimenea octagonal con ciipula, que cubre gran parte de esta habitacin. Y ms all de sta, hay un corredor cjue da a un patio angosto detrs de la Universidad, que sirve para dar luz a las piezas. Un espacio de similar anchura separa

SCHOOL OF SAN JERNIMO


43-44

1726 the City Council agreed to support the request of the Mercedarians to found a school of Minor Studies.'^" But it was not until 1739 that they were ready to proceed with
15,

On March

la Universidad y el muro oriental del Seminario y provee con suficiente luz a ambos edificios.

SCHOOLS OF SANTIAGO
funds for building such a school. The brothers o La Merced Monastery were already servicing a hermitage o San Jernimo about two blocks west of their church and monastery. They acquired additional land behind this hermitage at the end of the Alameda of Santa Luca, and without waiting for royal permission began work on the new school. The School of San Jernimo was completed by 1757.*" It was two stories high, of heavy stone construction, and well arranged around a large patio which had a central fountain. The main entrance was on the street leading to Recoleccin Monassufficient

Chinchilla Aguilar atribuye al rector Juan Jos Gonzlez Batres y a Jos Manuel Ramrez, quien fue durante algn tiempo Maestro Mayor de Obras, la belleza del Tridentino. Existe un plano sin firma del Tridentino fechado 1759.^** El plano de las escuelas combinadas es una de las disposiciones ms agradables y amplias existentes todava en Antigua. Muestra habilidad y avance en el diseo que son dignos de mrito. El hecho de que se trazaron como una estructura completa, ms bien que como algo que se aument con adiciones y alteraciones, sita al Seminario Tridentino en una categora especial.

tery (43-44).

Organization of the school apparently did not proceed rapidly since there were only a few members of the Order, and even fewer students, living in the building when a decree of December 6, 1761 from Charles III arrived ordering the school closed. His Majesty claimed that the original petition had been denied and that the Mercedarians had built in spite of this." On February 1, 1765 the King decreed that the building was to be taken over for use either as a Customs House or as barracks. The edifice was of such solid construction and newness that it should not be demolished as the law ordinarily required.*- The usual delays ensued, and the order of closing was not carried out until either November 1767 or February 1768. Although the location was not convenient, the building was used as the Royal Customs House, and after stables were added it also housed a company of dragoons until 1773. This portion of the
building's history and additional details concerning it have already bcen included in the chapter

EL COLEGIO DE SAN JERNIMO


43-44

on Government Buildings

(35-36).

SCHOOL OF THE MAIDENS


There are no architectural remains of any of the several other schools that were founded in Santiago in the colonial period. The only one of importance for girls was the School of the Presentation of Gur Lady, sometimes called the School of Maidens, or 'El Niado.' The first documents for founding this school are dated April 17, 1553, December 18, 1559, July 23, 1571 and July 5,

El 15 de marzo de 1726 acord el Ayuntamiento la peticin de los mercedarios para fundar un colegio de estudios menores.^" Pero no fue sino hasta 1739 que estuvieron preparados para proseguir, habiendo obtenido bastante dinero para construir tal colegio. Ya tenan los religiosos del convento de la Merced una ermita de San Jernimo, aproximadamente dos manzanas al oeste de su templo y convento. Adquirieron ms terreno detrs de esta ermita, al trmino de la Alameda de Santa Luca, y sin esperar la licencia real iniciaron el trabajo del nuevo colegio. El Colegio de San Jernimo se concluy para 1757.*" Era de dos pisos, de construccin fuerte de piedra, y bien distribuido alrededor de un patio grande que tena una fuente en su centro. La entrada principal estaba en la calle que conduca al convento de la Recoleccin (43-44). Parece que la organizacin del colegio no adelant rpidamente, puesto que slo haba unos cuantos mercedarios y aun menos estudiantes habitando el edificio cuando lleg una cdula de Carlos III, fechada el 6 de diciembre de 1761, que mand que se cerrara el colegio. Segn su Majestad, se haba negado la peticin original, y haban construido los mercedarios a pesar de ello.*^ El primero de febrero de 1765, mand el rey que se tomara posesin del edificio para servir de aduana o cuartel. Era la fbrica tan nueva y de construccin tan slida que no se demoli segn sola

apoyar

159L
and conditions were approved by His Majesty Gctober 7, 1592.*"' These rules were very strict and limited those to be admitted to orphan
rules
girls, daughters of nobles, descendants of conquerors, or early colonizers of od Christian heritage. These girls were to be under the supervisin of nuns of Concepcin and live a cloistered life until od enough to choose between marriage or

The

exigir la ley.*- Hubo las demoras usuales, y la orden para la clausura no se llev a cabo sino hasta noviembre de 1767 o febrero de 1768.*^ Aunque no era muy adecuada la ubicacin, se serva del edificio como real aduana, y despus de aadirle caballerizas, tambin alberg una compaa de dragones hasta 1773. Esta parte de la historia del edificio y detalles adicionales, ya se han presentado en el captulo sobre Edificios Gubernativos (35-36).

288

L.\

UNIVERSID.\D Y LOS COLEGIOS

becoming a nun. The orphan girls were to be educated and protected in this Christian atmosphere and given a dowry ^vhen leaving to marry.''" A
limited number of daughters of wealthy citizens of the city and kingdom wcrc to be allowed as boardIn 1604 the City Council asked the King for
financial aid.*'

EL COLEGIO DE DONCELLAS
No quedan restos arquitectnicos de ninguna de que se fundaron en Santiago durante el perodo colonial. La nica de importancia para nias fue el Colegio de la Presentacin de Nuestra Seora, a veces llamado tambin el Colegio de Doncellas, o El Niado.' Los primeros documentos para la finidacin de este colegio tienen fecha del 17 de abril de 1553, 18 de diciembre de 1559, 23 de julio de 1571 y 5 de julio de 1591." Fueron aprobadas las reglas y las condiciones por su Majestad el 7 de octubre de 1592.'' Eran muy estrictas stas y limitaban la admisin a hurfanas, hijas de nobles, descendientes de conquistadores o de los primeros colonizadores cuyos antepasados fueron cristianos viejos. Tenan que estar las nias bajo la stipervisin de monjas del convento de la Concepcin y vivir en clausura hasta llegar a la edad de escoger estado (casarse o hacerse monjas). Haban de educarse y protegerse a las hurfanas en este ambiente cristiano y darles una dote si salieran para casarse.^'' Se poda recibir como pupilas a un ni'imero limitado de hijas de vecinos adinerados de la ciudad y del reino. En 1604 el Ayuntamiento le pidi al rey ayuda econmica para esta institucin.'" No se cieron al proposito original de la fundacin y a sus estrictas reglas, y poco a poco lleg a ser un lugar para recogidas, mandadas all por el obispo y la justicia, a pesar de sus antecedentes y su raza. Algunos vecinos importantes protestaron esta costumbre, y en 1643 mand el rey c|ue se restableciera en su uso primitivo.'"
las otras varias escuelas

ers.

The
came

strict rules

original intcnt o the oundation with its was not followed, and gradually it be-

a place of detention where women were assigned by both the bishop and the cotnt regardless of their backgroimd and race. This condition was protested by prominent citizens. and in 1643 the King commanded that it be restored to its original use.^** During its long history this school-orphanagehouse of detention was located on several different

It seems apparent that in its various locaduring the seventeenth centiny the school was never housed in a substantial structure. In 1635 its building was burned.*'' and there are occasional records, stich as needed roof repair in 1675,"'" or fund distribution for work of reconstruction in 1691.''' Rut factual inforniation remains both scant and confused. It has already been nicntioned in connection with Las Capuchinas Convent that the school of El Niado was located at sonie period prior to 1731 on the site now occupicd by the ruin of the Capuchin Convent. Possibly the reconstruction date of 1691 noted above niay be related to the acquisition of this location for the school, where it is said that there was a chapel and good housing. But about 1731 El Niado was moved once more in order to allow the Capuchin nuns to build their
sites.

tions

convent.

"'-

Information conccrning provisions for this school after 1731 is not clear. A plan of Antigua published sonie years ago shows El Niado as being located near the church of San Jos el Viejo. Wherever they wcrc housed, it is recorded that their quarters had to be rebuilt in 1751,''' and
"'^

destruction again occurred in 1773, for it was reported on December ]6th of that year that the girls were lodgcd in a hut near the Guarda de las
Animas.'^^

AGG, A 2AGG, A 3 AGG, A


1

-13.3r)3- 1967-430.5 (1628) & B.\GG IX, 1, 23-28 1.36.3-13.379-1972 (1577) Se BAGG, VIII, 2, 227-234 1.36.113.357-1%8 (1622) & BAGG, VIII, 2, 255-257
1. 36.1

BAGG,

VIII,

2,

227

p. 34 1.36.1-13.355-1960 (1622) 7 Pardo, Efem., pp. 34 & 36 S/ftid., p. 37 Ibid., pp. 43-44 AGG, A 1.20-1-693-9186-31 (1646) lo.AGG.A 1.3.1-12.235-1882 (1676)

5 bid.,

& Pardo, Efem.,

AGG, A

& BAGG,

VIII,

2.

276-292

& BAGG, IX,

1,

& BAGG. IX,

1,

32-45 55-71

Durante su larga historia este colegio-asilo para hurfanas y casa de recogidas estuvo situado en diversos sitios. Parece evidente (pie en sus varias localizaciones durante el siglo XVII, el colegio no tuvo nunca un edificio muy formal. En 1635 se incendi su sede," y hay relatos ocasionales, tales como sobre la necesidad de hacer reparos al techo, en 1675,''" o para distribucin de fondos para la obra de reconstruccin, en 1691.^' Pero los informes dignos de confianza son exiguos y confusos. Ya se ha mencionado al describir el Convento de las Capuchinas, cpie estuvo situado el Colegio de 'El Niado' durante algn tiempo anterior a 173 en el sitio ocupado en la actualidad por las ruinas del convento de Captichinas. Posiblemente la fecha de reconstruccin de 1691, ya mencionada, se refiere a la adquisicin de este solar para el Colegio donde, segn se dice, haba una capilla y una buena vivienda. Pero hacia 1731 se traslad una vez ms 'El Niado' para permitir a las monjas capuchinas
I

Pardo, Efem., p. 66 11 Molina, p. 131 i2 bid., pp. 142-143

construir su convento.''Informacin tocante a


este colegio,

la

situacin y arreglos en

despus de 1731, no est clara.

Un

SCHOOLS OF SANTIAGO
13

AGG, A AGG, A AGG, A AGG, A

Pardo, Efem.,
14

1.3.1-12.245-1885 (1680) p. 73 1.3.1-12.235-1882 (1676)

& BAGG, IX,

2,

119-135
55-71

& BAGG, IX, & BAGG, X, & BAGG, X,

1,

15 Pardo, Efem., p. 70 l Ibid., p. 79


17

1.3.3-12.300-1889 (1686) 1.3.1-12.249-1885 (1688)


p.

1,
1,

75-91 68-74

Pardo, Efem.,

82
,

18AGG, A

Pardo, Efem.,

1.3-1157-45 (1763) p. 166

AGG, A

1.3-21-13.161-1957 (1751)

19 AGG, A 1.3-13.769-2003 (1760) & Pardo, Efem., p. 174 20 Pardo, Efem., p. 176 21 Ibid., p. 177 22 AGG, A 1.3.21-13.162-1957 (1764) & Pardo, Efem., p. 182 2a Pardo, Gua, p. 64

plano de la Antigua publicado hace algunos aos muestra a 'El Niado' situado cerca del templo de San Jos el Viejo.'^-' Dondequiera que existiera, se han registrado datos en relacin a que tena que reconstruirse este colegio en 1751,"* y que hubo otra destruccin en 1773, pues se inform, el 16 de diciembre de aquel ao, que estaban alojadas las nias en un rancho cerca del Guarda de las Animas. ^^

24AGG. A
'i^>

1.2-11.819-1805 (1816)
p.

& BAGG,

VIII,

1,

202

Pardo, Guia,

64

20 Juarros, I, 121 & Pardo. Guia, p. 52 27 Juarros, loe. cit., & Pardo, Efem., pp. 26, 27, 109, 120

&

152,

Pardo, Guia, p. 53, Metrpoli, pp. 283-284,

AGG, A

1.23-1513-767 (1598)

28 Pardo, Efem., p. 25 29 Ibid., p. 152 30 Ibid., p. 96 31 Ibid., p. 167

S2ibid.,p. 174
33 Ibid., p. 175 34/6,d., p. 192 35 Metrpoli, pp. 284-285 36 Pardo, Efem., p. 199

37 Ibid., p. 192 38 Chinchilla A., Historia del Arte, p. 102 39 Pardo, Efem., p. 130 40 Pardo, Guia, p. 49
41 Ibid.

AGG, A
42 Ibid. 43 Ibid.,
44

1.11-2113-98 (1763-1768)
p.

& BAGG,

VIII, 4, 414

ff

& Pardo, Efem.,

192
, ,

1.23-1513-736 (1553) A 1.23-1512-270 (15,59) 1.23-1512-383 (1571) A 1.20-9913-428-19 (1591) VIII, 4, 395-401, Pardo, Efem., pp. 7 & 10 Pardo, Guia, p. 55 45 Juarros, I, 140 46 Ibid. & AGG, A 1.20-9913-428-19 (1591) & BAGG. VIII, 4, 395-401 47.\GG, A 1.2.5-15.776-2207-148 (1604) & BAGG, VIII, 4, 401-402 48 Vzquez, IV, 379 & Pardo, Guia, pp. 56-57 49 Vzquez, op. cit. & Juarros, I, 140 no AGG, A 1.9-51.126-5918 (1675) 51 AGG, A 1.9-31.178-4042 (1693) 52 AGG, A 1.9-1380-54 (1731) 53 Pardo, Guia, p. 54 54 Pardo, Efem., p. 166

AGG, A

BAGG,

55 Pardo, Efem., p. 205

290

Detail o exterior decoration

Detalle de la decoracin exterior

Main entrance (reconstructed 1832) Puerta principal (reconstruida en 1832)

UNIVERSITY OF SAN CARLOS

UNIVERSIDAD DE SAN CARLOS

H '

*
' ' -

id

O]

"

*
I

U
t

d
e
id
0;

en

O
.t

^
:3

PQ

>

292

Arch and comice of arcades Arco y cornisa de las arcadas

Detail of ornament above arches

Detalle de la decoracin sobre los arcos

UNIVERSITY OF SAN CARLOS

UNIVERSIDAD DE SAN CARLOS


293

Cientral
I

bay of west arcade


central de la arquera occidental

ramo

m^^
f^
c

1 -r

Papal escutcheon above west cornice

Escudo pontificio sobre

la cornisa occidental

Escudo

real sobre la cornisa meridional

UNIVERSITY OF SAN CARLOS

UNIVERSIDAD DE SAN CARLOS

Royal coal of corridor

ol ,nnis

(oitici

Escudo

en del corredor
real

las

bvedas de esquina

Lantern over the end of assembly hall Linterna sobre el extremo del aula mayor

Interior vault at soutli

Bveda

interior en el

end of assembly hall extremo meridional del aula mayor

Southeast crner of patio

Esquina sudeste del patio

UNIVERSITY OF SAN CARLOS

UNIVERSIDAD DE SAN CARLOS


295

Uaiversity
TI AND DO

of

&dj\

Carlos
1

Postigo de ventana y puerta

Door

in the northwesi crner of corridor


la

Puerta en

esquina noroeste del corredor

Typicai shutter
Postigo tpico

Detall of door

Detalle de puerta

Detall of shutter

Detalle de postigo

UNIVERSITY OF SAN CARLOS

UNIVERSIDAD DE SAN CARLOS


297

Detail of panels (d)

Typical interior door


Puerta tpica interior

Detalle de tableros (d)

UNIVERSITY OF SAN CARLOS


298

UNIVERSIDAD DE SAN CARLOS

West wall

Muro

occidental

Portada principal en

Main entrance on north wall el muro

septentrional

TRIDENTINO SEMINARY

SEMINARIO TRIDENTINO
299

Detail of east arcade Detalle de arquera oriental

North fagade and main entrance Fachada septentrional, portada principal

TRIDEMNO SEMINARY
300

SEMINARIO TRIDENTINO

A
B
C

RECEPTION

CHAPEL
SACBsrr nEFCTORl KITCMtN
CORfilDOB LION FOUN

D
E
F

TrIDENTINO SeMINARY

and THE

SCHOOL OF THE

INDIANS

301

Stone lion of south patio fountain

Door

of east patio

Len de

piedra, fuente del patio meridional

Puerta del patio oriental

TRIDENTINO SEMINARY

SEMINAEIO TRIDENTINO

South patio
Patio meridional

East patio and fountain

Patio oriental y fuente

TRroENTINO SEMINARY

SEMINARIO TRIDENTINO

Chapel cho

Coro de

la capilla

Arch supporting choir of chapel Arco que sostiene el coro de la capilla

TltMf*

I'

?!

II

'

Pilaster detail of the chapel

Detalle de una pilastra de la capilla

Clerestory

window and

ceiling detail of the chapel


la capilla

Claraboya y detalle del techo de

TRIDENTINO SEMINARY

SEMINARIO TRIDENTINO

House

Casa de

of the Lions los leones

IX

HOUSES OF ANTIGUA
Many od houses in Antigua can be regarded as belonging to the colonial period. Some are associated with illustrious family ames and thereby related to certain decades of Santiago's history.
But
this reference to residency in definite

LAS CASAS

DE HABITACIN
Hay muchas casas antiguas en la ciudad que pueden considerarse de la poca colonial. Algunas se asocian con apellidos famosos y as pueden
con determinados decenios de la de Santiago. Pero la referencia a que en un sitio definido en un preciso ao nada tiene que ver con la fecha de la construccin de una casa, ni garantiza que existiera la casa actual, cuando se supone haber viviser relacionadas

loca-

historia

tions in

nothing to do with the construction date of a house, or is it a guarantee that the present building existed when the individual supposedly lived there. This conclusin must be applicd in particular to the dwellings of

any

specific year has

cierta persona residiera

do

all ese

individuo. Esta aseveracin tiene que

distinguished individuis or faniilies. prior to the seventeenth century. A good example of the fallacy of assigning a house to an individual is to be noted in the socalled "House of Bernal Daz del Castillo". This fanious od soldier wrote his "History of the True Coujuest of New Spain" in his declining years in Santiago. He was a proniinent citizen, and the house that he occupied probably was built in the mid-sixteenth century when he was in his prime.

(Pardo (|uotes a document which stated that Bernal Daz was mortally ill on November 14. 1583.)' Thcrefore. if his house still existed in 1773, it would have been more than two hundred years od and have survived major earthqtiak.es of 1586, 1651, 1689. 1717 and 1751 prior to the great earth(iuake of 1773. It is hard to believe that it withstood all of those calamitics, and nearly two hundred years since that era, and could still remain in good condition. This designated house is not a ruin. It shows the effect of neglect and hard usage as a tenement and school. biu structurally it is sound and very obviously not of the sixteenth century. Some writers even question that this is the site of the Bernal Daz property. After each major earth(]uake the records show
that extensive surveys were made of destruction and damage. After 1717 Diego de Forres reported that there were one thousand houses destroyed in the central district of the city, and those not ruined were in bad condition.- It is said that of

the six thousand buildings in Santiago in 1773 only a very ew escapee! flamage. These were of

aplicarse, particularmente, a las casas de personas o familias distinguidas anterior al siglo XVII. Un buen ejemplo del error de atribuir una casa a un individuo se ve en la llamada 'casa de Bernal Daz del Castillo.' Este famoso y viejo soldado escribi en Santiago, "La Historia Verdadera de la Conquista de Nueva Espaa" en su vejez. Era un vecino principal, y probablemente la casa que ocup se construy a mediados del siglo XVI cuando se encontraba en su mayor vigor. (Cita Pardo un documento en que se dice que estaba mortalmente enfermo el 14 de noviembre de 1583.)' Por eso, si todava existiera su casa en 1773 habra tenido ms de doscientos aos y resistido terremotos fuertes en 1586, 1651, 1689, 1717 y 1751. Es difcil creer que despus de todo eso haya sobrevivido a los terremotos de 1773 y casi doscientos aos ms, y que quedara todava en buen estado, pues esta casa no es ruina. Muestra los efectos del descuido y mal trato que ha recibido en aos recientes como vivienda de muchas familias pobres y como escuela, pero su estructura es slida, y claramente no es la casa del siglo XVI. Incluso algunos escritores dudan que sea ste el sitio de la casa de Bernal Daz del Castillo. Los documentos muestran que despus de cada terremoto considerable hubo un reconocimiento amplio de la destruccin y los daos. Despus de 1717 inform Diego de Porres que se encontraban destruidas en la parte central de la ciudad mil casas y que las que no se arruinaron estaban en mal estado.- Se dice que de las seis mil casas existentes en Santiago en 1773, slo unas cuantas

305

HOUSES OF ANTIGUA
recent construction.'' No doubt many of those desfroyed were poorly built. od or only of adobe. to ^vell-built structures could be more easily repaired even when it ^vas serious, and it is probable that many poorer houses might have been reconstructed on original foundations. incorporating such walls as were still standing. But. as in the case of the more monumental buildings, it is scarcely logical to assimie that any sixteenth century house exists in its original form, or that more than a fe-v of the finest houses survive from the early seventeenth century. After 1775 titles to property in Santiago were

Damage

escaparon sin algn dao. Estas fueron las de construccin muy reciente.' Sin duda, muchas de las que se destruyeron estaban mal construidas, eran viejas o de adobe. Aun cuando era serio el dao, se poda reparar ms fcilmente si estaban bien construidos los edificios, y es probable que muchas de las casas ms pobres se reconstruyeran sobre los cimientos originales e incorporaran los muros que todava estaban en pie. Pero lo mismo que en el caso de los edificios ms monumentales,

no es lgico creer que exista en su forma original ninguna casa del siglo XVI, ni que haya ms que
unas cuantas de las mejores casas de los primeros aos del siglo XVII. Despus de 1775 se cambiaron los ttulos de propiedad de las casas en Santiago por sitios en la Nueva Guatemala.* De los habitantes que se quedaron en la Antigua, una proporcin considerable era sin duda los menos acaudalados, ladinos e indgenas que no se mejoraran mucho trasladndose y quienes podan ofrecer menos ayuda en la tarea enorme de fabricar una nueva capital. Trabajadores hbiles albailes, carpinteros y herreros y los que tenan los medios para reconstruir en un sitio nuevo, habran sido animados o forzados a ir a la Nueva Guatemala. Los que se quedaron se servan de las casas disponibles en la ciudad arruinada. Hasta 1944 haba muchas personas intrusas que vivan entre las ruinas, y centenares que habitaban casas medio arruinadas donde pagaban alquileres mnimos por uno o dos cuartos que les proporcionaban abrigo. Algunas propiedades parecidas todava proveen de viviendas a algunas familias en la parte central de la

exchanged for sites in New Guatemala.* Of the residents who remained in Antigua a considerable proportion were certainly the less affluent, ladinos and Indians, who had little to gain by moving, and who could offer the least service in the tre-

mendous
workers

task of building a

new

capital. Skilled

masons, carpenters and ironworkers and those -vho could afFord to rebuild on a new site must have been urged, or forced. to go to New

Guatemala. Those who remained made use of the


houses at their disposal in the ruined city. Until 1944 there were many "squatters" among the ruins and hundreds who were living on semiruined properties paying only token rents for one or two rooms that provided shelter. Some such
properties still afford housing for families in the central part of present day Antigua. In the mid-nineteenth century when a considerable number of people returned to Antigua and coffee brought prosperity to the Valley, there must have been improvements made to the better preserved houses. This rehabilitation is now indistinguishable from pre-177.S construction. and this fact complicates the Identification of authentic colonial dwellings unless the house has a known
history.

Antigua actual. A mediados del


el caf trajo

siglo XIX, cuando volvi un nmero considerable de personas a la Antigua, y

prosperidad
se

probable que

al Valle de Panchoy, es hayan hecho mejoras en las casas

During the past thirty-odd years the author has observed and photographed the ciuTcnt re-birth During this time od window bases and iron grilles have been moved from ruined buildings and incorporated into others which could be rehabilitated. Some houses that only consisted of broken walls have been rebuilt and within a few years seemed to all outward appearances completely of the colonial period. In the case of the author's own house the od deeds only trace the previous ownership back to the middle of the nineteenth century during which time it remained in one family. However, there is no question of its authenticity as a pre1773 house. The wall construction is typical, but that alone would not be sufficient evidence. The characteristic stone door frame indicates the eighteenth century, or earlier, but that would be inconclusive, too, since it could have been moved from an older house. The indisputable evidence of its age is the chimney-covered kitchen ( 433 c ). This
of Antigua.

ms conservadas. Esta rehabilitacin es hoy imposible de distinguirse de la construccin anterior a 1773, y este hecho complica la identificacin de domicilios coloniales autnticos, a menos que sea
conocida
la historia

de

la casa.

Durante ms de treinta aos el autor ha observado y fotografiado el renacimiento actual de la Antigua. En este tiempo se han quitado de edificios
arruinados
hierro y
las
las

antiguas repisas de piedra y rejas de

han incorporado en otros que se podan rehabilitar. Adems, se han reconstruido casas que slo consistan en muros rotos, y algunos aos

despus su aspecto exterior pareca ser completamente el del perodo colonial. Por ejemplo, las escrituras de la casa del autor slo tienen los nombres de los antiguos dueos desde mediados del siglo XIX, y eran todos de una sola familia. Sin embargo, no se puede dudar de su autenticidad de casa anterior a 1773. Es tpica la construccin de sus paredes, pero sta por s sola no sera suficiente prueba. El carac-

306

LAS CASAS DE HABITACIN


could not have been moved, and certainly such chiinneys were not built in Antigua after 1773. They were constructed in the early seventeenth century and as late as 760. Thercfore, the age of this house is at least two hundred years. How much older it may be is impossible to say unless documentary evidence is found. The riiined walls were stripped of plastcr, the cracks of 1773 repaired and the walls reinforced ^vith iron. Od window and door openings which had been filled in at sonie period ^vere reopened. and t^vo doors As^hich had been cut through original walls ^vere made into vindo^vs. This renovation was carried out by masons who follo^v the od methods of stone and brick construction. The house, now usable, is to all outward appearances as colonial as it niust have looked before 1773 cxcept for its reduced size. At one time it was undoubtedly part of a much larger residence, possibly localed on an eighth of a city block. with at Icast one more patio and gardens. In all probability other .sections of the original house ^vere even more damaged than the crner portion which the author has preserved. This is evidenced by parts of walls that are incorporated into the several houses now on the site, and the new construction of the house innnediately adjacent in what could have been a large patio of the original dwelling. The typical houses which are shown in the following pages were not chosen bccause of their historical associations but because they represent both large and sinall bornes which were built with reasonable certainty before 1773. Nearly all were
1

marco de piedra de la puerta principal indica una fbrica del siglo XVIII o anterior, pero no sera eso decisivo tampoco puesto que habra sido posible trasladarlo de otra casa. La prueba indiscutible de su edad es la chimenea que cubre la cocina (433 c). Habra sido imposible el traslado de sta, y es evidente que no se construyeron tales
terstico

chimeneas en la Antigua, despus de 1773. Se edificaron en los primeros aos del siglo XVII y hasta 1760. Por consiguiente, esta casa tiene al menos doscientos aos. Es factible que sea mucho ms antigua, pero sin documentos que lo prueben es imposible saber la edad exacta. Se quit el estuco de los muros arruinados, se repararon las grietas de 1773, y se reforzaron las paredes con
acero. Se reabrieron ventanas y puertas antiguas

in

poor repair until after 1925. and some were in

near ruin

when

the

accompanying plans and

de-

tails were drawn. Only a few can be dcfinitely. or even approximately. dated. It is possible that some have undergone alterations along with renovations during the past century. However. they illustrate to some degrcc the varied charactcr of Antigua

houses.

CHAMORRO HOUSE
321-331

haban tapiado con mezcla en una poca u ventanas de dos puertas que alguien haba abierto en los primitivos muros. Esta renovacin la hicieron albailes que construyeron con piedras y ladrillo segiin las antiguas costumbres. La casa, otra vez utilizable, es en su aspecto exterior, tan colonial como la habr sido antes de 1773, con excepcin de sti redticido tamao. En algn tiempo, era sin duda parte de una casa mucho ms grande, posiblemente ubicada en una octava parte de una manzana, con, por lo menos, un patio ms y jardines. Probablemente otras secciones de la casa original fueron aun ms daadas que la parte de la esquina que ha conservado el autor. Esto se ve en las porciones de muros que estn incorporadas en las varias casas que acttialmente ocupan el sitio, y la construccin nueva de la vivienda, inmediatamente adyacente a ella, en lo que hubiera podido ser un patio grande de la morada original. Las casas tpicas mostradas en las pginas que siguen no se escogieron por stis asociaciones histricas sino porque representan casas grandes y pequeas que, con razonable certeza, se edificaron antes de 1773. Casi todas estaban en mala condicin antes de 925, y algunas casi arruinadas cuando se trazaron los planos y los detalles aqu presentados. Se pueden fechar definitiva o aiui aproximadamente slo unas cuantas. Es posible que algunas

que

se

otra, y se hicieron

Among
damage

the houses which completely escaped in 1773 was one of the few two story

residences of the eighteenth century.'' Popularly called the "House of the Sirens", because of the decorative figures on the facade (321 b), it is known to have been built by Francisco Ignacio

hayan sufrido alteraciones a la vez que han sido renovadas durante el siglo pasado. No obstante, ilustran hasta cierto punto el carcer variado de las casas de la Antigua.

LA CASA DE CHAMORRO
321-331

Chamorro de Murga
1762,
it is

y Sotomayor. Completed in supposedly the work of Luis Diez


los

Navarro. Because of its newness and excellent condition following tlie destruction of Santiago, it has received exceptional care by subsequent owners. For a number of years it served as a hotel, and it is now the property of the Guatemalan

Entre las casas que escaparon completamente a daos de los terremotos de 1773, se encuentra

una de las pocas de dos pisos del siglo XVIII.' Conocida popularmente como la 'Casa de las
Sirenas' a causa de las figuras decorativas de la

307

HOUSES OF ANTIGUA
Government. In 1963-64 considerable renovation
was carefully carried out
to

further insure

its

preservation. The plan of this house is particularly interesting and seems to have been dictated by the desire to keep faniily life and business together but at the same time preserve their independence. Two rooms, accessible from the street, ^vere available
for

fachada (321 b), se sabe que fue construida por Francisco Ignacio Chamorro de Murga y Sotomayor. Terminada en 1762, se supone ser obra de Luis Diez Navarro. Por ser nueva y por ser su condicin excelente despus de la destruccin de
Santiago, sus dueos posteriores la han cuidado excepcionalmente bien. Durante varios aos serva de hotel, y es actualmente propiedad del gobierno de Guatemala. En 1963 y 1964 se han llevado a cabo, cuidadosamente, considerables renovaciones para asegurar mejor su conservacin. El plano de esta casa es especialmente interesante y parece haber sido dictado por el deseo de mantener cercanas la vida familiar y el comercio, pero a la vez conservar su independencia. Con acceso desde la calle, dos piezas estaban disponibles para el comercio. La puerta central era la entrada para carruajes (326 b). Todas las interiores del piso bajo tenan marcos de piedra, y las hojas de las puertas mismas no tenan detalles ornamentales, lo cual sugiere que estas piezas servan de bodegas u otros usos utilitarios. Probablemente haba habita-

commercial

use.

The

riage entrance

(326b).

AU

central door was a carof the interior doors

framed in stone, and the doors themsclves were Avithout ornamental detail suggesting that these rooms were used for storage or other utilitarian purposes. There were quarters at the rear for servants or employees, with their own kitchen and other service requirements(322).

on the patio

level ^vere

In contrast, the second floor Tvas for family livand all of the doors and shutters were panelled and carved ( 328-31). Corbeled balconies at either side of the patio (327 a) connected the spacious end loggias(324c). From the east loggia doiible doors opened to the great drawing room which is seventy feet long (324a). There was evidence that this room was divided at one time. Three double doors open to the balcony over the
ing,

ciones en la parte de atrs para los criados o empleados, con su propia cocina y otras comodidades

para

la

Street

(331 d).

En

servidumbre (322)contraste, el piso alto era la

morada de

la

feature of the house, however, is the duplication of kitchens. The one on the second story is entirely covered with a great chimney and opens to a deck over the lower kitchen through which its chimney projects (327 b). The latter chimney covers only the west half of the room. Both kitchens had running water and ovens. Two smaller patios at the rear of the house provided service reas for the kitchen and laundry. These were partially covered. From the laundry court a caracole provided a service stair not only to ihe second floor but to the roof deck which had a s^veeping view of the City, the entire valley and the volcanoes ( 327 d)The details of the second floor are exceptionally
fine, and uniformity is preserved throughout. The doors and shutters have panels of very similar carving but with minor variations that add inters! ( 329 ). Even the doors to the street balcony maintain this character, and in addition illustrate the common practice of having a shutter (postigo) within the door which can be opened as a ^vindow (331de).The windows around the patio have multilinear frames slightly more complex than those of other houses, but this form both inside and out(331a bc)was popular in residences. Most

The most unusual

familia, y todas las puertas y los postigos de las ventanas tenan tableros y estaban tallados (328-31).

Balcones voladizos a ambos lados del patio (327 a) unan las amplias loggias a cada extremo del mis-

De la loggia oriental se abran puertas gran saln que tiene unos veintiuno y medio metros de longitud (324a). Hay evidencia que en algiin tiempo estuvo dividido este saln. Tres puertas dobles se abren al balcn por encima de la calle (331 d). Lo ms extraordinario de la casa, sin embargo, es la duplicacin de cocinas. La del segundo piso est enteramente cubierta por una gran chimenea, y se abre a una azotea por encima de la cocina del piso bajo por la cual se proyecta la chimenea de sta (327 b). Esta chimenea no cubre ms que la mitad occidental de la pieza. Las dos cocinas tenan
(324 c).
al

mo

dobles

agua corriente y hornos. Dos patios ms pequeos detrs de la casa proporcionaron reas de servicio
para
la

cocina y los lavaderos. Estas estaban parcial-

mente cubiertas. Desde el patio de los lavaderos, una escalera de caracol daba acceso no slo para
la
la

servidumbre

al piso alto sino a la azotea

que haba una amplia

vista
(

de

la
)

desde ciudad, del

of these openings

had iron grilles, and the shutters behind them ^vere decorati\'ely carved.

POPENOE HOUSE
332-347

Because of the magnificent capuchin cypress

son especialmente primorosos, y se conserva uniformidad en todo. Las puertas y los postigos tienen tableros de un tallado muy parecido pero con variaciones menores que aaden inters ( 329 ). Aun las puertas al balcn de la calle mantienen este carcter, y adems ilustran la costumbre general de tener en la puerta un postigo que se puede abrir como ventana(331de f).Las ventanas alrededor del patio

valle entero y de los volcanes Los detalles del piso alto

327 d

308

LAS CASAS DE HABITACIN


which gro^vs
in the

main

popularly known as chino". But in recent years the ame of its OAvner has becn used not only by the thousands of visitors to Antigua but by the townspeople. It is one of the few great houses which has a kno^vn history dating back into the trst half of the seventeenth century. Dr. Wilson Popenoe has been fortnate in acquiring several od documents concerning the history of the house. and one shows that it w^as constructed prior to 1640 by Don Luis de las Infantas Mendoza who carne from Spain as a judge of the Supreme Court. Probably the house was damaged by the 1717 and 1751 earthquakes. About 1755 it was auctioned because its owners, heirs of Don Nicols de Crcamo and his wife, had not paid money owed to Santo Domingo monastery. Captain Diego de Guerra bought it and subsequently repaired or partially reconstructed it." After 1773, it was abandoned, and like the majority of houses of Antigua, it is not known who possessed it for many years. Betwecn the last third of the nineteenth

was the "House of the Capupatio, this od place

tienen marcos mixtilneos un poco ms complejos que los de otras casas, pero esta forma, lo mismo en el interior como al exterior (331a be), era comn en
rejas

La mayora de estos vanos tenan de hierro, y los postigos detrs de ellas estaban tallados de manera decorativa.
las

viviendas.

CASA POPENOE
332-347

Esta antigua casa se conoca comnmente como la 'casa del Capuchino,' a causa del viejo y magnfico ciprs de esa clase que crece en el patio principal. Pero ltimamente, el nombre de su dueo ha sido usado no slo por los miles de visitantes a la Antigua sino tambin por los vecinos. Es sta una de las pocas grandes casas cuya historia se conoce, y data de la primera mitad del
siglo

XVII.

century and 19.30. when Dorothy Popenoe bought it, the house had several owners. There was nothing to indcate that any important improvements or changes had becn made between 1773 and
1930.

El Dr. Wilson Popenoe ha tenido la buena suerte de obtener varios documentos antiguos tocantes a la historia de la casa, y uno de ellos muestra que fue construida antes de 1640, por D. Luis de las Infantas y Mendoza, (juien vino de Espaa para servir como oidor de la Real Audiencia.

seems remarkable that the earthquake of 1773 did not complete the destruction of a house that had withstood earlier earthcjuakes. been neglected for many years. and which was approximately one
It

hundred and fifty years od when the great earthquake of Santa Marta occurred. In spite of its ruinous state when the Popenoes took possession
of persons Averc lenement-like condiwith debris, .some of the walls were badly cracked; and much of the ruin was roofless. However. the kitchen was undamaged, and the arches and door^vays were still
in

1930, a considerable
a

number
in

crowded into
tions.

few rooms

The

patios

were

filled

in place.

Although Dorothy Popenoe died late in Deccmber 1932. resioration proceeded slowly during five or six years. The w-ork was done by a few skilled workmen with great care. No attcmpt was made to enrich or change the basic architecturc. W'here doors Avere missing or beyond repair, replacements were made ^vith other od doors or by faithfid reprodtictions. The same applied to wood grilles. Over a period of years the house became a museum of painstakingly collected furnishings and objects of historical and artistic merit but never lost any of the character of its age or original form. The irregular shape of the plan ( 332 ) suggests that it is not complete; that gardens and servants' quarters may have fiUed out the square or rectangular site at one time. Normally all crner
properties
in

Probablemente la casa fue daada por los terremotos de 1717 y 1751. Hacia 1755 fue comprada en un remate que se efectu por no haber pagado sus dueos, herederos de Don Nicols de Crcamo y su mujer, dinero que deban al convento de Santo Domingo. La obtuvo el Capitn Diego de Guerra, quien la repar o la reconstruy en parte." Despus de 1773 fue abandonada y, como la mayora de las casas de la Antigua, no se sabe (|uin la posey durante muchos aos. Entre el ltimo tercio del siglo XIX y 1930, cuando la compr Dorothy Popenoe, tuvo varios dueos. Hasta esa ltima fecha, no hubo nada que indicara que se hubieran hecho cambios o mejoras de importancia despus de 1773. Parece notable que los terremotos de 773 no terminaran la destruccin de ima casa que haba sufrido terremotos anteriores, que se haba descuidado por mucho tiempo, y que tena ms o menos ciento cincuenta aos cuando tuvo lugar el gran terremoto de Santa Marta en 1773. A pesar de su estado ruinoso cuando tomaron posesin de ella los Popenoe. en 1930, vivan atestadas en unas pocas piezas un nmero considerable de personas en condiciones de stima pobreza. Los patios estaban llenos de ripio, algunos muros se hallaban severamente agrietados, y gran parte de la ruina
1

estaba sin techo. No obstante, la cocina se encontraba sin dao, y estaban todava en su lugar los arcos y las entradas de todas las piezas.

Antigua were square, and those

Aunque Dorothy Popenoe muri hacia fines de diciembre de 1932, prosigui lentamente la restauracin durante cinco o seis aos. El trabajo

309

HOUSES OF ANTIGUA
along the sides of blocks extended into the center. of the house has been allowed to remain in ruin, and walls along part of the north and west
fue hecho con gran cuidado por varios artesanos

Some

sides of the patio are

still roofless.

used not only to franie the entrance door (333 a) and the arch beyond it (334 a) but other doors opening to the patio. Stone likewise
Stone
^vas
s'as

employed as a base on the exterior in conjunction witli the typical window bases (334 c) (337 ad). We are indebted to Casa Popenoe for establishing the fact that these architectural forms ^vere tised in the early seventeenth century. The same can be said for the ^vindow openings to the

popular form that has many variations throughout Antigua (333 b) (339 b) The kitchen is not only one of the finest examples of its kind in Antigua but could be the oldest. Several others of similar form and apparent age exist, but they lack confirming dates. Here the kitchen is di\"ided into two rooms by a low, fat arch. The high chimney covers the smaller rea. In the larger section there are two ovens built into
patio, a
( 346 a b ). bath which opens off the kitchen patio has a sunken tub closely resembling one in the so-called prvate cloister of Juana de Maldonado in Concepcin Convent also seventeenth century (189 be). Hot water for the bath carne from a tank which could be tended from the laundry patio (347 b). Above the bath there is a dovecote, and a caracole pro\ides access to the roof from -which one has a splendid panoramic view (347 a). Back of the kitchen there is a small loggia overlooking a diminutive but beautiful gardcn with raised flower beds(347cd) which were completely buried under mounds of debris ^\hen restoration began. The several multilinear arches are supposedly original and evidently withstood repeated earthquakes. If they date from about 1640 they definitely disprove that this type of arch ^v^ls introduced into Santiago when Tridentino Seminary and San Carlos University were built a century and a quarter later. The silhouettes of the arches of the Popenoe house (334 ab)(346 cd) are almost identical with those of the university ( 293 ), two

the corners

de cambiar ni enriquecer la faltaban puertas o se encontraban demasiado malas para poderse reparar, se sustituyeron con otras puertas antiguas o con reproducciones fielmente hechas. Lo mismo se hizo con las rejas de madera. Con los aos lleg a ser la casa un museo de muebles y objetos de mrito histrico y artstico, cuidadosamente recogidos, sin perder nunca nada del carcter de su poca ni de su forma original. Sugiere la forma irregular del plano ( 332 ) que no est completa; que jardines y habitaciones para la servidumbre quiz completaran el sitio cuadrado o rectangular en alguna poca. Generalmente todas las propiedades de esquina en la Antigua eran cuadradas, y las situadas a los lados de las manzanas se extendan hacia el centro. Se ha dejado en ruinas cierta parte de la casa, y algunas secciones de los muros de los lados septentrional y occidental del patio todava estn sin techo. No se usaba piedra slo para enmarcar la entrada (333 a) y el arco del zagun (334 a) sino para
hbiles.
se trat

No

arquitectura bsica.

Donde

otras

puertas que daban

al

patio.

Tambin
el

se

utiliz la piedra para hacer

un

zcalo en

ex-

terior junto

con

las repisas tpicas

de

las

ventanas

(334 c) (337 ad). Debemos a la casa Popenoe el haber establecido el hecho de que se usaban en la primera parte del siglo XVII estas formas arquitectnicas. Se puede decir lo mismo de los vanos de las ventanas que se abran al patio, una forma popular que tiene muchas variantes en toda la Antigua
(333 b)

(339 b).

es uno de los mejores ejemplares de su clase en la ciudad, y es posible que sea la ms antigua. Existen otras varias de forma parecida y probable antigedad, pero faltan las fechas para confirmarlo. En este caso la cocina est dividida en dos piezas por un arco rebajado de poca altura. La alta chimenea cubre el rea ms pequea. En la parte ms grande hay dos hornos construidos en los rincones ( 346 a b ). Un bao que da hacia el patio de la cocina tiene una tina ms baja que el nivel del piso, que se asemeja mucho a la que se halla en el llamado claustro particular de Sor Juana de Maldonado, en el convento de Concepcin, el cual es tambin del siglo XVII(l89bc). El agua caliente para el bao vena de un depsito que se poda atender del

La cocina

blocks

down

the

same

street.

Is

it

possible that

Diez Navarro and his associates borrowed the design from this od house? The same arch also appears in the ground floor passage to the Chamorro kitchen (327 c) which is contemporary with the university and is also attributed to Diez Navarro. Both the university and the Popenoe house have been referred to as being Moorish (Mudejar) in character. Although Diez Navarro carne from Mlaga, Spain, and the first o^\'ner of Casa Popenoe carne from Crdoba, there seems to be very little reason to attach a Mudejar classification to these two buildings if the reason is based on the use ol multilinear arches. They do not resemble the various types of Moorish arches of

patio de la pila de servicio (347 b). Sobre el bao hay un palomar, y una escalera de caracol da acceso al techo de donde hay una esplndida vista panormica (347 a). Por detrs de la cocina hay

una pequea loggia que domina un jardn diminuto pero hermoso con arriates elevados (347 cd), que estaban completamente -cubiertos por promontorios de ripio cuando se inici la restauracin.

Se suponen ser originales los diversos arcos mixtilneos, y evidentemente resistieron repetidos

LAS CASAS DE HABITACIN


they do those of Salaof Gothic was fused with manca Avhere a other Spanish influences. The first owner of the house had studied in the University of Salamanca before achieving the doctrate in Seville. It is very probable that he had been sufficiently impressed by the iinnsual Salamanca arches to have had similar ones construcicd in the house that he built in Santiago. Casa Popenoe rightfully deserves all the attention that it gets. It represents an early house at its best. It is situated on the Street of the Nobility in a choice location. and it must have been important to the social life of the community for about a century. Guatemala is indebted to Dr. Wilson Popenoe for the preservation of a splendid seventeenth century house and his generosity in sharing it -sith interested visitors for more than

southern Spain

much modicum
as

as

terremotos. Si datan de hacia 1640 probaran definitivamente que no se introdujo este tipo de arco a Santiago cuando se construyeron el Seminario Tridentino y la Universidad de San Carlos, siglo y cuarto ms tarde. Las siluetas de los arcos de la casa Popenoe (334ab)(346cd) son casi idnticas con las de la Universidad ( 293 ) a dos manzanas de distancia, en la misma calle. Es posible que Diez Navarro y sus compaeros hayan tomado el diseo de esta antigua casa? Este mismo arco aparece tambin en el pasadizo a la cocina del piso bajo

thirtv vears.

VASQUEZ DE CORONADO Y ULLOA HOUSE


348-350

One
is

of the largest of the od houses of

Antigua

located on the same street as the Popenoe house. and one block nearer the central plaza, at the crner of ^vhat was known as University and Santa Clara Streets. The late owners knew noth-

ing of

its

colonial history

and lacked the means

to

keep it in repair. All of the usable rooms were occupied by familics who paid mnimum rents and lived in extreme scjualor. Many od doors had been sold, and those that rcniained were disintegrating. Such was the condition of this one-time magnificcnt mansin Avhen the accompanying drawings ( 349 ) ( 418 ) were made nearly thirty years ago. The roofs ovcr some of the rooms had collapsed and caused their abandonment. Other rooms remained habitable by replacing the original tile roofs with sheets of corrugated iron. In spite of its ruinous condition. the house retained a certain dignity and indication of its former elegant character. The great doorway was ampie in size for the owner to enter the large patio with a carriage. and a stable for his horses opened from the passage to the kitchen patio. Corridors ten feet wide surrounded the main patio, and many of the original walls were more than a meter in thickness. But even with this sturdy construction the south and west walls were destroyed in one of the earlier earthquakes. They were ne\er reconstructed in their original form. Instcad. the broken walls were lowered to a uniform height, level with the

de la casa de Chamorro (327c), que es contempornea a la Universidad y atribuida tambin a Diez Navarro. Se ha aludido a la Universidad y a la casa Popenoe como de carcter mudejar. Aunque vino Luis Diez Navarro de Mlaga, y el primer dueo de la casa Popenoe vino de Crdoba, ambas en Espaa, parece haber muy poca razn para clasificar como mudejar a estos dos edificios si se basa la clasificacin en estos arcos mixtilneos. No se asemejan a los diversos tipos de arcos moriscos del sur de Espaa, tanto como se parecen a los de Salamanca, donde lui poco de lo gtico se fundi con otras influencias espaolas. El primer dueo de la casa haba estudiado en la Universidad de Salamanca antes de doctorarse en Sevilla. Es muy probable que los arcos nada usuales de Salamanca le hubieran impresionado bastante para que mandara construir unos semejantes en la casa que edific en Santiago. Justamente merece la casa Popenoe toda la atencin que recibe. Representa una casa de la primera parte de la poca colonial en su mejor aspecto. Est situada en la Calle de la Nobleza en un lugar selecto, y debi de haber sido importante en la vida de la ciudad durante casi un siglo. Guatemala le debe al Dr. Wilson Popenoe la conservacin de una esplndida casa del siglo XVII y su generosidad en compartirla con visitantes interesados por ms de treinta aos.

LA CASA DE VASQUEZ DE CORONADO Y ULLOA


348-350

window

and new walls of half-timber conwere superimposed in line with the inner surface of the older walls ( 349 ). This solution for post-earthquake reconsruction was
sills,

struction

Una de las mayores de las casas coloniales de la Antigua est situada en la misma calle que la Casa Popenoe, una manzana ms cerca de la Plaza Central, en la esquina de las calles conocidas como de la Universidad y de Santa Clara. Los recientes dueos, anteriores a los actuales, no saban nada de su historia colonial y carecan de los medios para mantenerla en buen estado. Estuvieron ocupadas todas las habitaciones utilizables por familias que pagaron alquileres mnimos y vivieron en extrema pobreza. Se haban vendido muchas de las antiguas puertas, y las que quedaban se estaban despedazando. Tal era la condicin de esta morada, antiguamente magnfica, cuando se hicieron

HOUSES OF ANTIGUA
follo^\ed by the owners of several other od houses in thc city. The roof linc ^vas lo-^vered over the thinner walls, and the walls themselves plastered to cover the fiUer Avalls of brick ( 348ac ). In this house the reconstruction resulted in a peculiar shifting of the corridor columns. Evidently as the interior half-timber walls were moved back. the column bases had to be moved the same distance to allow the re-use of the

los

planos que aqu aparecen

349

418

),

hace

Los techos de algunas piezas se haban desplomado, y stas fueron abandonadas.


casi treinta aos.

Quedaban habitables otros cuartos sustituyendo antiguos techos de teja con lmina. pesar de su condicin ruinosa guardaba la casa cierta dignidad e indicios de su anterior carcter elegante.
los

original ceiling joists. Naturally, there has been speculation about the date ^\-hen this form of construction ^vas first used. So far \\-e have found no definite proof, but there seems to be a reasonable argument for believing that this type of wall was used after the 1717

earthquake. The House of the Lions has the same form of reconstruction and it is kno^vn to be an early seventeenth century building. There are also similarities between this residence and its neighbor. Casa Popenoe. There is no reason to doubt that this very od house on the crner of University and Santa Clara Streets is another example dating from about 1650. (It is known that Don Carlos Vsquez de Coronado y Ulloa, a judge of the Supreme Court, lived in it during the seventeenth century). The natural supposi tion, therefore, is that the crner walls of tliese houses were wrecked in 1717 after having been

weakened previously. The

sections

between the

big -Windows -vould be the first to collapse under such circumstances. If this construction were connected ^vith any known eighteenth century house there would be reason to question the 1717 theory, but such is not the case. Also this seems to rule out the possibility that this form of reconstruction was used only after 1773, although it remains possible that some of these houses could have been repaired in the same manner during the past century.

Era amplia la gran puerta y el zagun para que pudiera entrar el dueo en el patio principal en carruaje, y se abra del pasadizo al patio de la cocina una caballeriza para sus bestias. Corredores de ms de tres metros de ancho rodeaban este patio principal, y tenan ms de un metro de grosor muchos de los muros originales. Pero a pesar de esta construccin fuerte, el muro meridional y el occidental se destruyeron durante uno de los terremotos ms tempranos y nunca fueron reconstruidos en su forma original. En vez de esto, se rebajaron los muros rotos a una altura uniforme al nivel del antepecho de las ventanas y se sobrepusieron paredes de entramado de madera alineadas al paramento interior de los antiguos muros ( 349 ). Esta solucin para reconstrucciones despus de los movimientos ssmicos fue usada por los dueos de algunas otras casas antiguas de la ciudad. La altura de techos fue rebajada sobre los muros ms delgados, y stos se repellaron para cubrir el relleno de ladrillo (348ac). En esta casa result la reconstruccin en un desalineamiento peculiar de los pilares del corredor. Evidentemente, cuando se movieron hacia atrs las paredes interiores de entramado de madera, fue necesario trasladar a la
las

misma distancia bases de los pilares, para permitir usarse de nuevo las primitivas vigas de los techos. Naturalmente, ha habido duda sobre el ao cuando se sirvi por primera vez de este tipo de
construccin. Hasta ahora no hemos encontrado prueba definitiva, pero parece razonable creer que

The od stone window sills and the grilles, which formerly projected beyond the outer face of the wall, were retained but moved inward to confonn with the new wall line. The crner window seems to have had a stone base, but only a
portion
is

de muros despus de los terremotos de 1717. La Casa de los Leones tiene la misma forma de reconstruccin, y se sabe que es de la primera parte del siglo XVII. Tambin hay
se utiliz esta clase

visible (348 b).


is

The
^vall

rear patio

divided into two parts by a


that

surmounted by low columns

may have

supported a trellis for vines or some sort of decorative screen. The opcn space in the southern portion of the patio is filled with raised flower planters formally arranged around a central fountain (350 a). The large room overlooking
this garden was probably for dining. At the north end of the rear patio a large loggia connected with the kitchen. Within this loggia there was a bath resembling the one in the Popenoe house, with a place to heat water beyond the rear wall, but here the bath did not seem to be an integral part of the plan. It appeared to be a latcr addition.

The

kitchen

is

divided in a different

manner

semejanzas entre la casa que estamos discutiendo y su vecina, la Casa Popenoe. No hay razn para dudar que esta casa muy antigua en la esquina de las calles de la Universidad y Santa Clara, sea otro ejemplar que data de hacia 1650. (Se sabe que D. Carlos Vsquez de Coronado y Ulloa, oidor de la Real Audiencia, viva en ella en el siglo XVII.) Por eso, es natural suponer que se destruyeran los muros de las esquinas de estas casas en 1717, despus de haber llegado anteriormente a ser menos fuertes. Bajo tales circunstancias, las secciones entre cada una de las ventanas grandes, se desplomaron primero. Si se encontrara esta construccin en cualquiera casa conocida con certeza como del siglo XVIII, habra razn para dudar de la hiptesis de su iniciacin despus de los terremotos de 1717, pero

312

LAS CASAS DE HABITACIN


than that of flat arches are used( 350cd). In this instance the chimney is built over a crner of the large room instead of across the end. There were two ovens, one within the kitchen and one in the small
low, rear patio. The stonc

the Popenoe house although the same

no
la

column bases and windows facing big patio are also similar to those of the Popenoe house and typical of Antigua houses of
the
latcr periods as well.

esto parece eliminar posibilidad de qtie se tisaba dicha forma de reconstruccin slo posteriormente a 1773, aunque es posible que se hayan reparado algunas de estas casas de la misma manera durante el siglo pasado. Los antiguos antepechos de piedra y las rejas, que anteriormente salan ftiera de la superficie
se

da

tal caso.

Tambin,

of

Fortunately for Antigua, and the preservation its monuments, this intercsting od mansin

exterior de los muros, se conservaron pero se movieron hacia adentro para configurar la nueva lnea de los muros. Parece que tena la ventana de esquina una repisa de piedra, pero slo queda
visible

una porcin de

ella (348 b).

was purchased in 1964 by Sr. Fernando Pullin Valle who. appreciating its merits. began its restoration for a prvate residence. Reconstruction proceedcd under the skillful and learned direction of the distinguished architect. Roberto Aycinena E.. a descendant of one of Santiago's noble citizens at the time of its destruction in 778.
I

El patio trasero est dividido en dos partes por un muro sobre el qtie se elevan columnas bajas que, posiblemente, sostenan vm enrejado para enredaderas, o alguna clase de separacin decorativa. El espacio abierto en la parte meridional del patio est lleno de arriates elevados, arreglados simtricamente alrededor de una fuente central
(350 a). La habitacin grande que dominaba este jardn era probablemente el comedor. Al extremo norte del patio trasero, una loggia grande comunicaba con la cocina. En esta loggia se hallaba un bao parecido al de la Casa Popenoe, con un lugar
rior,

HOUSE OF THE BELLS


351-353

One

of the smaller houses of


is

Antigua that have

located in the block adjacent to that of the Episcopal Palacc and Cathedral. It is now called the House of the Bells. In 1934 it housed several small shops. its od window grilles Avere covered with many coats of lime whitewash. and the walls Avere scarred, but it had been maintained in usable condition (351 a).

been rehabilitated

en donde calentar el agua detrs del muro postepero aqu no parece ser el bao una parte integrada al plano; parece ser una adicin hecha

ms
de

tarde.

The house was purchased in 1936 and transformed into a shoAvplacc by the ingenuity and constant supervisin of Mildred Palmer who contines to occupy it (351b). The interior has great charm and character. retaining its original form and at the same time having all the comforts of the twentieth century. Careful attention was given to the details of Avoodwork and the use of
decorative tile in harmony Asith the colonial period. A mnimum of changes were made on the exterior which has the same setback of the crner walls as the house previously discussed at Univcrsity and Santa Clara Streets. The wood-grilled windoAvs of tlie \\est Avall have been preserved. magnificent view of Agua Volcano from the patio serves as a backdrop for an intercsting od

la cocina de una manera distinta Casa Popenoe, aunque se usaron los mismos arcos rebajados y de poca altura(350cd). En este caso, la chimenea est construida sobre un ngulo de esta pieza grande en vez de a todo lo ancho del fondo. Hay dos hornos, uno dentro de la cocina y el otro en el pequeo patio posterior. Las bases de piedra de los pilares y las repisas de las ventanas que dan al patio principal, son semejantes tambin a las de la Casa Popenoe y, adems, son tpicas de las casas antigeas de perodos posteriores. Afortunadamente para la Antigua y para la preservacin de sus monumentos, esta antigua e interesante casa fue comprada en 1964 por el

Est dividida
la

Sr.

Fernando Pullin Valle

y su seora, quienes,

wall fountain (439

e).

apreciando sus mritos, iniciaron su restauracin para residencia particular. La restauracin se realiza bajo la direccin hbil y conocedora del distinguido arquitecto, Roberto Aycinena E., descendiente de un vecino noble de Santiago, quien habitaba la ciudad cuando se destruy en 1773.

HOUSE OF THE LIONS


354-366

LA CASA DE LAS CAMPANAS


351-353

and La Merced there is another large house which belongs to the sixteenrii century group, and compares in size with the house at the crner of University and Santa Clara Streets. Many legends and prominent ames are connected with this residence, but even
the Street between the Plaza

On

Una de
se

pequeas de la Antigua que ha reformado est situada en la manzana conlas casas

tigua a la del palacio episcopal y la catedral.

Actualmente

se

llama

la

Casa de

las

Campanas.

En

1934, haba en ella diversas tiendas pequeas,

313

HOUSES OF ANTIGUA
without these it would be apparent that it ^vas a house of importance and built by a person of
wealth.
sus antiguas rejas de madera estaban cubiertas de varias capas de cal, y los muros estaban deteriorados en la superficie, pero la construccin se haba

The ame by which it is known House of the is derived from the animal figures flanking the entrance (354 a). This doorway is familiar to all who know Antigua, and it has appeared among the illustrations of practically every magazine article or book that has mentioned this od city. Although generations of casual observers have accepted the doorway as it is, these odd-faced creatures do not appear to belong where they are. but rather it seems that they were set into the wall at some later period. In fact, the entire doorway is a combination of units without architectural relationship, and quite possibly was assembled from various ruins. An analysis of the several motifs and their arrangement will substantiate this
Lions

mantenido

utilizable (351 a).

belief (394).

Fue comprada la casa en 1936 y transformada en vivienda que merece exhibirse, por la ingeniosidad de la Sra. Mildred Palmer, quien aun vive en ella (351 b). El interior tiene gran encanto y carcter, conservando su aspecto original y teniendo a la vez todas las comodidades del siglo XX. Se dio mucha atencin a los detalles de trabajo en madera y al uso de azulejos en armona con la poca colonial. Se hizo un mnimo de cambios en el exterior, que tambin tiene el mismo sistema de echar hacia atrs los muros de esquina, como la casa ya discutida en las calles de la Universidad y Santa Clara. Se han conservado las ventanas con sus rejas de madera en el muro occidental. Una vista magnfica del Volcn de Agua sirve de fondo para un interesante bcaro antiguo
(439
e).

LA CASA DE LOS LEONES


354-366

En

la

calle

que va desde

la

Plaza hasta

La

The twisted (Salomonic) columns are no less out of place here than the lions. They are not in scale Avith the doorway, and serve no purpose since they are not used for support. Furthermore. the twisted columns are not in keeping with an early seventeenth century house. They did not appear on any ecclesiastical structure vnitil after 1650, and there is no other example of their incorporation in residential design. It has been said that the doorway of Santa Catalina Convent,
which
-vas across the street from the House of the Lions, had twisted columns. There is no indication of their having ever existed. However, after that institution was badly damaged in 1717, it is not impossible that such columns were removed, and that t^\o of them could have been salvaged in the rebuilding of the wrecked fa^ade of this

neighboring house.

Merced, hay otra casa grande que pertenece al grupo del siglo XVI y que se compara en tamao con la casa colonial, ya descrita, en la esquina de las calles de la Universidad y Santa Clara. Estn relacionadas con esta residencia muchas leyendas y apellidos ilustres, pero aun sin stos se vera claramente que fue una casa de importancia y construida por una persona acaudalada. Se conoce como la Casa de los Leones a causa de las figuras de estos animales que estn a cada lado de la entrada (354 a). Esta portada es conocida de todos los que han estado en la Antigua y ha aparecido en las ilustraciones de casi todos los artculos en revistas o libros que han mencionado esta vieja ciudad. Aunque generaciones de observadores casuales han aceptado la portada como es, estas figuras de cara extraa no parecen pertenecer al lugar donde se encuentran, sino que fueron embutidas en la pared en alguna poca posterior. En realidad, la portada entera es una combinacin de fragmentos sin parentesco arquitectnico, los cuales muy posiblemente se recogieron en distintas ruinas. Un anlisis de los diversos motivos y su distribucin verificar esta opinin (394). En ese lugar las columnas salomnicas son tan ajenas como los leones. No son de la escala de la portada y no sirven para nada, puesto que no se emplean para sostener ninguna cosa. Adems, las columnas salomnicas no son propias de ima casa de la primera parte del siglo XVII. No aparecieron en las fbricas eclesisticas hasta despus de 1650, y no hay ejemplo de su uso en residencias. Tal vez son las que se dice existieron en Santa Catalina,

LAS CASAS DE HABITACIN


columns do not belong with the door, it is equally evident thal the lions do not. The same can be said for the carved panels between the columns and the stone door frame. Only the latter is a thoroughly honest example of Antigua architecture. Such doors are typical both decorated and plain on scores of od houses throughout the city. But even this stone door frame may
If

the

not be in

its

original proportions since there are


vertical panels built into the

two sections of the

interior passageway (354 be) which, if fitted into place, would raise the door a couple of feet(314a).

seems probable that the lions, as well as the columns, were salvaged from some ruined building after one of the great earthquakes, and placed here without much taste or consideration
It t-visted

for design.

However.

it

is

what

this

door^say might have been

interesting to speculate if it originally

no armonizan las columnas con la puerta, es igualmente claro que tampoco lo hacen los leones. Se puede decir lo mismo de los tableros tallados entre las columnas y el marco de piedra de la puerta. Slo ste es un ejemplar enteramente legtimo de la arquitectura antigea. Tales portadas son tpicas adornadas o lisas en veintenas de casas antiguas en toda la ciudad. Pero es posible que aun este marco de piedra de la puerta no sea de sus proporciones originales, puesto que hay dos secciones de tableros verticales embutidas en el zagun (354 be) las cuales, si fueran puestas en su lugar, alzaran la puerta poco ms de medio metro (314 a)Parece probable que las columnas salomnicas y los leones se hayan sacado de algn edificio arruinado despus de alguno de los grandes terreest enfrente. Si

que

was higher, and if these details Avere truly intended to be a part of a monumental door^vay. By adding the displaced panels now in the passage to the vertical frame of the door, the lintel would be above the tops of the twisted columns instead of belovv them. The stone carved lions could then be placed on top of the columns (their width is right) and be rampant against the lintel and a baroque pediment (314b). This would make a sensilile composition, but such a doorway would seem overly elabrate for a mansin of this early period, regardless of its size. However, additional height would be in harmony with the original heavy walls. The House of the Lions, as can be seen in the plan ( 355 ). is another example of a pre-1717 residence Avhcre the crner walls were destroyed by earthquake and rebuilt with half-timber construction. It is interesting to note that it was the Southwest crner of both this and the previously described house that suffered such damage. And in both, the failure of these walls only occurred between the large, grilled ^vindows. In the reconstruction the windo\\s ( 356 ) \\-cre moved back in the same manner. Two windows on the main facade ^vere replaccd by doors to provide street access to shops. This change must have been made in this century since the doors, F and G on the plan, were moved from the patio corridor but do not show extreme weathering in their present exposed position (363ab)(361 ab). The plan of the House of the Lions is not distinguished by any unusual features. It has the typical arrangemcni around a large patio and heavy walls throughout. On the south side of the patio a portion of the wall has been reinforced by increasing its thickncss on the corridor side. The most distinguished contribution of this house to our study of domestic architecture in Antigua is found in the many doors and shutters which were preserved. Until recent years there were nine pairs of such doors and three pairs of

motos, y puestos all sin mucho gusto ni consideracin al diseo. Sin embargo, es interesante especular cmo hubiera sido esta portada si originalmente fuera ms alta y si verdaderamente hubieran sido hechos estos detalles para formar parte de una

portada monumental. Aadiendo los tableros que a las estn fuera de lugar ahora en el zagun jambas de la puerta, quedara el dintel por encima de las columnas salomnicas en vez de debajo de ellas. Se podran colocar los leones tallados en piedra por encima de las columnas (son del ancho correcto) y quedaran rampantes a cada extremo del dintel y un frontn barroco (314 b). Esto sera una composicin razonable, pero parecera muy

adornada para ima mansin de este perodo de cualquier tamao que fuera. No obstante, la altura adicional se vera armoniosa respecto de los primitivos y pesados muros. La Casa de los Leones, como se puede ver en el plano ( 355 ), es otro ejemplar de una residencia anterior a 1717, en donde fueron destruidos los muros de la esquina por ini terremoto y reconstruidos con entramado. Es interesante notar que fue la esquina sudoeste de la casa previamente descrita, y de sta, las que sufrieron tal destrticcin. En ambas, la ruptura de estos muros slo ocurri
entre las grandes ventanas enrejadas. En la reconstruccin, se movieron hacia atrs las ventanas ( 356 ) de la misma manera. Dos de ellas en la fachada principal, fueron sustituidas por puertas para dar acceso desde la calle a las tiendas. Se ha debido de hacer tal cambio en este siglo puesto que las puertas, F y G en el plano, se trasladaron del corredor del patio pero no muestran seales de exposicin a la intemperie en su localizacin actual (363ab)(361 ab). El plano de la Casa de los Leones no se distingue por ningn rasgo extraordinario. Tiene la distribucin tpica, alrededor de un patio grande, y muros pesados en toda la casa. Al lado sur del patio ima parte del muro se ha reforzado, aumentando su espesor en el lado del corredor. La contribucin ms distinguida de esta casa a

315

HOUSES OF ANTIGUA
shutters, and aniong these there were very few duplications either in coniposition of the panels or in their detail. An cqual number, or perhaps more, had disappeared more than thirty years ago: undoubtedly sold to be used else^\here. The crner window (356-57) is exceptionally large, and the interior effect has been altered by the reconstruction -vhich required moving it back into line with the inner walls (356 c). Originally there was a deep recess, and the extra wide shutters, which are divided horizontally, would have opened against a splayed wall. Several of the doors are equipped with shtitters (postigos) which can be opened separately(362-63). The broad variation of panel design is unusual, ranging from the simple shutter K (361 d) to the intricately carved door E ( 364 ). Although all of the interior doors seemingly fit their openings. this inconsistency of design also suggests that they may have come from some other od buildings about a century ago. The patio and interiors of this big residence are other-^vise rather barren and obviously abused by those who ha\'e inhabited it during its long

arquitectura domstica de la numerosas puertas y postigos que se han conservado. Hasta recientemente haba nueve pares de tales puertas y tres pares de postigos, y entre ellos haba muy pocas duplicaciones en la composicin de los tableros o en sus
la

nuestro estudio de
se halla

Antigua

en

las

detalles. Un niimero igual o posiblemente mayor, haba desaparecido hace ms de treinta aos, vendidos sin duda para emplearse en otra parte. La ventana de esquina (356-57 ) es excepcionalmente grande, y el efecto interior ha sido cambiado por la reconstruccin que requiri el moverla hacia atrs, para alinearla con el paramento interior de los muros (356 c). Originalmente, haba un nicho profundo, y los postigos que son de una

anchura extraordinaria y estn divididas horizontalmente, se abran contra una pared construida con alfizar. Varias de las puertas tienen postigos que se

pueden abrir separadamente(362-63). La variedad los diseos de los tableros es singular, difiriendo entre s tanto como el postigo sencillo
amplia de

K
(

(361 d) y la

puerta intrincadamente tallada E

But a modest amotmt of imagination would produce a different effect. A few flowers and shrubs and a central fountain -would completely change the atmosphcre. For some unexplained reason this is one of the few patios which is not filled with ferns, flowers, vines, trees. colorful birds and the sotuid of rinining water.
life.

364 ). Aunque todas las puertas interiores, al parecer, caben en sus aberturas, esta incongruencia

RODIL HOUSE
367-369

de diseo sugiere tambin que sea posible que se las haya trado de algunos otros edificios antiguos, hace aproximadamente un siglo. El patio y los interiores de esta gran residencia estn, por otra parte, algo abandonados y obviamente han abusado de ellos los que la han habitado durante su larga vida. Pero con un poco de imaginacin se podra producir un efecto distinto.

Both the date of origin and the ame of the colonial family responsible for this residence are unknown. About the middle of the current century the Rodil family sold the property to the present owners, and in recent years they have
stopped further deterioration and preserxed the remaining unspoiled details. Authentic restoration can be achieved since the general condition of this od house is good, and even those portions in ruin have walls still standing. The plan is that of a colonial mansin comparable to the
respects
it

Unas cuantas flores y arbustos y una fuente central cambiaran completamente el ambiente. Por alguna razn desconocida, es ste uno de los pocos patios que no estn llenos de helchos, flores, enagua que cae en
redaderas, rboles, bellos pjaros y el sonido del la fuente.

LA CASA DE RODIL
367-369

Son desconocidos
y
el

apellido de

la

fecha de origen de esta casa familia que la mand construir.


la

House

of the Lions,

and

in several

shows similarities to the large seventeenth century houses already mentioned. However, it does not have any definite clues, such as

half-timber walls. to suggest pre-1717 construction. Comparison of other details is inconclusive. The heavy walls of the main part of the house do not appear to have been reconstructed after 1773. Considered alone, this fact indicates that the house was built in the mid-eighteenth century like the Chamorro house, which occupies a portion of the same city block. If there was earthquake damage the renovations must have been

Hacia mediados de este siglo, la familia Rodil vendi la casa a los dueos actuales, y en aos recientes ellos han puesto fin al deterioro y han conservado los detalles que no se haban arruinado. Es posible restaurarla autnticamente puesto que la condicin general de esta vieja casa es buena, y aun las partes en ruinas tienen todava en pie los muros. Este plano es de una mansin colonial comparable a la Casa de los Leones, y en varios aspectos muestra semejanza con las grandes casas del siglo XVn, ya mencionadas. No obstante, no tiene indicios definidos, tales como paredes de entramado, que sugieran una construccin anterior a

316

LAS CASAS DE HABITACIN


easily accomplished.

1717.

La comparacin de

otros detalles

tampoco

Also like the


a large site

house. this one occupies between crner houses. The fa(:ade,

Chamono

sera decisiva.

which

heavy stone door frame, but it is principally distinguished by the most elaborately carved -tvood grilles on any of the
taces iiorth, has a rather

od
in

Windows of Antigua (367 b). These grilles are good condition but are undoubtedly od. They have shown no further deterioration in the thirty years since the accompanying photograph was taken. However, if these grilles belonged to the
original pre-1773 construction, they help to confinn the belief that this is an eighteenth century
edifice.

Most
since
it

of the east side of the patio

is

occupied by

a stable.

There 'ivas no corridor along this wall would have interfered with access by horse

or carriage through the large passage at street le\el (367 c). The rooms at the south side of the big patio, and most of those about the smaller rear patio, are in ruin. The corridor and rooms on three sides of the main patio are raised on a plat-

Los muros fuertes de la parte principal de la no parecen haberse reconstruido despus de s solo, este hecho indica que fue construida la casa a mediados del siglo XVIII como la Casa de Chamorro que ocupa una parte de la misma manzana. Si hubo daos con los terremotos se habran hecho las reparaciones fcilmente. Como la Casa de Chamorro, ocupa sta un sitio grande entre casas de esquina. La fachada orientada hacia el norte, tiene un marco de piedra algo pesado para la puerta, pero es notable principalmente por las rejas de madera, ms esmeradamente talladas, que cualquiera de las viejas ventanas de la Antigua (367 b). Estas rejas estn en buen estado y son indudablemente antiguas. No se ha mostrado deterioro adicional en los treinta aos desde
casa

1773. Considerado por

que

se hizo la fotografa incluida aqu.


si

No

obs-

form

few

feet

abovc the

street level (367 d).

Several of the original doors are in excellent condition. The largest pair is two meters wide and over three meters high (368a). The only

other residential doors in Antigua which have an opening of these monumental proportions are those to the big drawing room of the Popenoe house, and when it was renovated these doors were carefully reproduced for use there. The exterior wood grilles also served as the model for those

now on the Popenoe house ( 336-37 ). The big kitchen of the Rodil house has the appearance of greater age than any other part and might date from an earlier period. It is surmoiuited by a double chimney ( 434 e ). This type of chimney was used in mid-eighteenth as well as in the seventeenth century. ho^vever. and this appearance of age would be insufficient evidence on which lo surmisc any approximate construction date. Until documentary proof is found. one can only conclude that this is a mid-eighteenth century house although an earlier date is not
impossible.

pertenecan estas rejas a la construccin primitiva, anterior a 1773, ayudan a confirmar la creencia que es ste un edificio del siglo XVIII. La mayor parte del lado oriental del patio est ocupada por una caballeriza. No haba corredor a lo largo de esta pared puesto que habra estorbado el acceso para caballos o carruajes por el largo pasadizo al nivel de la calle (367 c). Las piezas al lado sur del patio grande, y la mayora de las situadas alrededor del patio posterior ms pequeo, estn en ruinas. El corredor y las habitaciones en los tres lados del patio principal se elevan sobre una plataforma que se halla poco ms de un metro
tante,

HOUSE ON THE PENSATIVO RIVER


370-371

A remnant of an od house at the east entrance to Antigua is worthy of note. It has suffered damage by carthquake and has also been subjected to repeated floods of the Pensativo where it enters the City. The exterior window bases, wood grilles and stone door frames are typical of Antigua's colonial residences (371 b). Behind its fa^ade only a few rooms of the

por encima del nivel de la calle (367 d). Varias de las puertas originales se encuentran en estado excelente. El juego ms grande tiene dos metros de ancho y ms de tres metros de alto (368a). Las nicas otras puertas en residencias en la Antigua, que tienen una abertura de estas proporciones monumentales, son las del saln de la Casa Popenoe, y cuando se renov, las puertas de la Casa de Rodil se reprodujeron cuidadosamente para emplearlas all. Las rejas de madera exteriores sirvieron tambin de modelo para las que actualmente estn en la Casa Popenoe (336-37). La cocina grande de la Casa de Rodil tiene aspecto de mayor edad que cualquiera otra parte, posible que date de un perodo anterior al del es y resto de la casa. Est cubierta de una chimenea doble (434 e). Este tipo se construa a mediados del siglo XVIII lo mismo que en el siglo XVII. Sin embargo, este aspecto de antigedad sera evidencia insuficiente para determinar una fecha aproximada de su construccin. Hasta que se hallen pruebas docimientadas de su antigedad,

puede inferir que sea una casa construida mediados del siglo XVIII, aunque no es imposible una fecha anterior.
slo se

317

HOUSES OF ANTIGUA
These and the entrance passage open to an especially fine corridor, an indication that it was once a part of a rather splendid residcnce (371 a). The octagonal wood posts are particularly well designed, and the brackets above them ec|ually good. Only ene of the door^vays on the corridor has its original pair of paneled, carved doors (371 d). This property Avas pinchased some years ago. and the original rooms and corridor were preser\ed intact by extending the new construction to the north and east. Unfortunately the od wall fountain (439ab)wa.s destroyed. although it was both typical and interesting in design. It combined the iitility of a honic laiindry with its decorative character.
original housc veniain.

LA CASA DEL RIO PENSATIVO


370-371

Los restos de una casa vieja en la entrada oriende la Antigua son dignos de notarse. Ha sufrido la casa de daos causados por los terremotos y ha sido tambin vctima, repetidas veces, de inundaciones del ro Pensativo, en el punto donde ste entra en la ciudad. Las repisas de las ventanas exteriores, las rejas de madera y los marcos de piedra de las puertas son tpicas de las residencias coloniales de la Antigua (371 b). Por detrs de su fachada quedan slo unas cuantas piezas de la casa original. Estas y el zagun se abren a un corredor especialmente primoroso, que es un indicio de que en alguna poca era parte de una residencia bastante esplndida (371a). Los postes octagonales de madera son particularmente
tal

SMALL HOUSE ON CAMPOSECO STREET


372-373

bien diseados, y las zapatas sobre ellos son igualmente buenas. Slo una de las entradas del corredor tiene su par original de puertas entrepaadas
y talladas (371
d).

One
of

of the \'ery sniall houses \vhich has excel-

lent character faces a

narrow
site
is

strect in the vicinity

comparatively narrow but of considerable depth. However. the house itself is shallow along the strcet and seems to be complete as it stands ( 372 ). Three exceptionally fine, wood-gilled windows
(415 ab)

La Merced. The

open from the onc

large

room

of the plan.

se compr esta casa, y se conservaron intactas las piezas y el corredor, por extenderse la construccin nueva al norte y al este. Desgraciadamente, el antiguo bcaro (439ab)fue destruido, a pesar de ser de diseo tpico e interesante. En l se haba combinado la utilidad de un lavadero casero con su carcter decorativo.

Hace unos aos

The main

entrance doors lead to the interior cor-

ridor and patio. .\ small door at the left of the larger one appears to have been a part of the original facade since it has the typical stone door frame. This coidd ha\'e Ijeen a business entrance such as is common to manv houses in present day .\ntigiia. This allowcd the normal family activities to be undisturbed in the patio and remainder of the house. The opening at the right of the main door is of recent construction since it does not have a stone framc. Probably this was formerly the location of a window. The corridor is nicely proportioned. and an attempt has been made to decrate the arch (373bc)and one of the doorways with motifs in

CASA PEQUEA EN LA CALLE CAMPOSECO


372-373
es de carcda a una calle angosta en la vecindad de La Merced. El sitio es comparativamente estrecho pero de profundidad considerable. Sin embargo, la casa misma a lo largo de la calle es de poco fondo y parece estar completa como ya
las casas

Una de

muy pequeas que

ter excelente y definido

se halla

372

).

above the eye


inside

The sills of the street windows are well level of the passersby, but on the there are steps up to seats which allo^v the occupants an excellent view of outside activities ( 414 ).
plaster.

HOUSE OF UNCLE NACHO


374-375

Tres ventanas con rejas de madera excepcionalmente buenas (415ab)se abren en la nica sala grande que tiene el plano. Las puertas de la entrada principal conducen al corredor interior y al patio. Una puerta pequea, a la izquierda de la ms grande, parece haber sido parte de la fachada original puesto que tiene el tpico marco de piedra. Es posible que haya sido sta una entrada comercial, tal como se ve comnmente en muchas casas de la Antigua actual. Este arreglo permiti que
se dieran, sin estorbarse, las actividades familiares

house has been expanded and its various rooms considerably altered, but the accompanying plan and photographs were
In recent years
this

made

erty sho-^ved neglect,

prior to these changes. Although the propand the roof ^vas near col-

normales en el patio y en el resto de la casa. La puerta a la derecha de la entrada principal es de construccin reciente, pues no tiene marco de piedra. Probablemente estaba all, anteriormente, el sitio de una ventana. Tiene buenas proporciones el corredor, y se ha

LAS CASAS DE HABITACIN


lapse thirty years ago, the walls were apparently sound, and there were no indications that any reconstruction had taken place after 1773. This must ha\e been one of the fe^\ houses that were reported at that time as having escaped serious

damage. The windo^v bases and stone door iranes are typical, and the second stone-framed door is another example of combining coninierce with the home. The prvate entrance gave access to the corridor and patio while the second doorway merely opened to a room used for business (374 ). The ratfier high proportions of the facade are even more evident in the interior rooms and corridor, but in general they are in harmony with the heavier treatment of door and window details around the patio. The same raised and molded frame that was employed on the second floor of the Chamorro house ( 329 ) is used here around the ^vindows as well as the doors. This repetition of detail and
the further similarity of the stone base across the exterior facade suggest that these two houses might have been built by the same masons shortly before
is unusually small for a house of but it foUows the usual structural patlow arch divides the room and gives support to a chimney that covers one portion. The oven is built into one crner ( 375 ). The narrow passage from the patio to a rear yard appears to have but one explanation. It was the only means by which a horsc could be taken to a stable beyond the house without going through the kitchen hallway. This arrangement continucd its usefulness until about 1944 when the owner of Antigua's last horse-drawn carriage ceased to occupy the premises.

hecho un esfuerzo para adornar el arco(373bc)y una de las puertas con motivos en estuco. Las peanas de las ventanas que dan a la calle estn bastante por encima de la vista de los transeintes, pero adentro hay escalones hasta los asientos que permiten a los moradores una visin excelente de
las

actividades exteriores

414

).

LA CASA DEL TO NACHO


374-375

En aos recientes se ha ampliado esta casa, y se han alterado considerablemente sus varias piezas, pero el plano y las fotogiafas que se presentan
fueron hechos antes de hacerse cambios. Aunque mostraba descuido la casa, y estaba para caerse el techo hace treinta aos, aparentemente eran firmes los muros, y no haba indicios de haberla reconstruido despus de 1773. Es probable que fuera sta una de las pocas casas de que se dijo haber escapado de daos serios en el informe hecho en esa oportunidad. Son tpicos los marcos de las puertas y las repisas de las ventanas, y la segunda puerta con marco de piedra es otro ejemplo de la combinacin del comercio con la vida del hogar. La entrada particular daba acceso a un corredor y a un patio, mientras que la segunda puerta slo se abra a una pieza empleada para el comercio ( 374 ). Las proporciones algo altas de la fachada son aun ms evidentes en las habitaciones interiores y el corredor, pero, en general, son armoniosas con el tratamiento ms pesado de los detalles de las puertas
y las ventanas alrededor del patio. El mismo marco, elevado v moldurado, que se us en el piso alto de la Casa de Chamorro ( 329 ),

or after 1760. The kitchen


tern.

this size,

HOUSE ON SAN SEBASTIAN STREET


376-377

emple aqu alrededor de las ventanas y las puertas. Esta repeticin de detalle y la semejanza adicional del zcalo de piedra en toda la fachada, sugieren cpie posiblemente fueron construidas estas dos casas por los mismos albailes. poco antes
se

This charming house like the one on Camposeco Street has a narrow frontage and a site of considerable dcpth. But that is the only reseniblance between the two. Here the house is planned to take full advantage of the depth of the lot by building along the property line on the south side and dividing the remaining space into three
patios
(

o poco despus de 1760. La cocina es excepcionalmente pequea para una casa de este tamao, pero sigue el plan estructural usual. Un arco rebajado divide la pieza y proporciona sostn a una chimenea cjue cubre una parte del cuarto. Se halla construido el horno en un rincn (375 ).
El pasadizo a
sola explicacin.

376

).

un corral trasero, parece tener una Fue el nico modo de llevar un

entrance at the north end of the fagade permits horses, or other animis, to be taken past the middle patio and on to a rear yard beyond the kitchen rea. This is an unusual refinement for Antigua houses regardless of size. The main entrance also gives a pleasant approach to the large rooms at the front of the house, and the cxtensive corridor affords shelter and access to
all

The main

caballo a la caballeriza detrs de la casa, sin ir por el pasadizo de la cocina. Este arreglo sigui su utilidad hasta hacia 1944, cuando el dueo del ltimo carruaje de la Antigua dej de habitar la
casa.

^-^^^^

the others.

HOUSES OF ANTIGUA

A particularly interesting small patio seprales the first courtyard from the kitchen rea. Here there are raised flo^ver beds formally arranged
around a lai-ge fountain which in 1934 was covered with fine quality blue and white glazed tiles that were molded to fit the curves of the basin. The fountain -vas stripped of these tiles a few years
later.( 377 b
).

LA CASA DE LA CALLE SAN SEBASTIAN


376-377

Esta casa encantadora

como

la

de

la

Calle de
sitio

Camposeco tiene una fachada angosta y un

The

iron grilles

early type of ^vrought iron usually

on the fa^ade are not of the found on the

de un fondo considerable. Pero es la nica semejanza entre las dos. Esta casa se plane para tomar ventaja totalmente del fondo del solar, construyendo a lo largo de la lnea meridional de l y dividiendo el espacio que quedaba en tres patios
(

but the stone \vindow bases are typical and belong to the original structure. The colonial grilles ^vere probably moved to New
older houses,

376

).

Guatemala

after

773.

La entrada principal, al extremo norte de la fachada, es tal que se pueden llevar caballos u otros animales, ms all del segundo patio, a un terreno trasero que est detrs del rea de la cocina. Esto es un refinamiento raro para las casas
la Antigua, sean grandes o pequeas. La entrada principal da tambin acceso agradable a las salas grandes de la parte delantera de la casa, y el corredor extenso proporciona abrigo y entrada a todas las dems piezas. Un pequeo patio excepcionalmente interesante, separa el primer patio del rea de la cocina. En l se hallan arriates alzados, simtricamente arreglados alrededor de una fuente grande que, en 1934, estaba cubierta de azulejos azules y blancos

de

RUINS
378

se haban modelado para acocurvas de la parte inferior. Unos pocos aos despus se quitaron de la fuente estos azulejos. ( 377 b ) Las rejas de hierro de la fachada no son del tipo antiguo de hierro forjado, encontrado general-

de fina calidad, que

modarse a

las

mente en
piedra de

las casas

las

ms viejas, pero las repisas de ventanas son tpicas y pertenecen a


Probablemente se trasladaron Nueva Guatemala, despus

la fbrica original.

In many districts of Antigua one may find an od fountain or arch, a doorway, window, chimney or only a few broken walls. Often these are almost hidden among coffee trees. But each fragment represents a bit of forgotten history.

las rejas coloniales a la

de 1773.

RUINAS
378

wealth and importance or not, these architectural forms were a part of the life of a people and a city, which was abruptly changed on July 29, 1773. These mute bits of masonry are all that remain. At one time this arch ( 378 ) spanned an entrance passage to what was no doubt a handsome patio. Beneath it passed all who entered the house family, guests, tradespeople, craftsmen and servants. This doorway was the link between the life of the household and all the social, religious and civil life of the community. This decorated fragment stands alone among coffee trees like a
a citizen of

Whether connected with

En muchos

contrar una ventanas, chimeneas, o slo unos cuantos muros rotos. Muchas veces estn casi escondidos entre los cafetos. Pero cada fragmento representa un pedazo de historia olvidada. Si estuvieron relacionados con un vecino principal o no, estas formas arquitectnicas eran una parte de la vida de un pueblo

barrios de la Antigua se pueden enantigua fuente, un arco, portadas,

memorial
1

to the

unknown.

Pardo, Efem., p. 19 ngulo Iiguez, Historia del Arle Hispanoamericano, III, 10 Gonzlez Bustillo, Razn Particular, Nms. ,56-60 * Pardo, Efem., p, 212 ^Gonzlez Bustillo, op. cit., Nm. 59 "Official documents owncd by Wilson Popenoe (Documentos oficiales posedos por Wilson Popenoe)
2 3

y de una ciudad que cambi, repentinamente, el 29 de julio de 1773. Son estos mudos fragmentos de mampostera todo lo que queda. En una poca un arco ( 378 ) se extenda sobre la entrada a lo que era sin duda un patio hermoso. Bajo l pasaron todos los que entraron a la casa: la familia, los huspedes, los comerciantes, los artesanos y la servidumbre. Era esta puerta el vnculo entre la vida de la casa y toda la vida social, religiosa y civil de la ciudad. Hoy este fragmento adornado se halla solo entre los cafetos, como un monumento a lo desconocido.

320

House ofthe Chamorro family (1762) Casa de la familia Chamorro (1762)

Detall of fa^ade showing "siren" decorations of plaster

Detalle de la fachada que muestra las sirenas de ataurique

CASA DE CHAMORRO
321

5 ^ ?

::

s .

o
Z

z
1

H5-

O u

ce

""'^SlSdiL.

out-o

322

323

East gallery

Detail of

column and bracket

Galera oriental

Detalle de columna y zapata

324

CASA DE CHAMORRO


BALCONY
OCTAII

J
/^=

s
^

^
tAST
ELeVATION

-_

Patio

Casa de las Sirenas


ANTIGUA
'

.. .V^AT,i.

V\..

CASA DE CHAMORRO

325

West end of patio Extremo occidental

del patio

En trance from
Zagun

street

Stairwav arrh, serond floor

Arco de

la escalera, piso alto

Stairway to second floor


Escalera al segundo piso

326

CASA DE CHAMORRO

Passage from patio to


Pasaje desde
el

first flooi

kitchen

Circular stair tower to roof

patio a la cocina del piso bajo

Caracol a

la azotea

CASA DE CHAMORRO

o o

S
-^
'id

328

Panel of door 'd' Tablero de la puerta

'd'

Door

to large

Puerta

a la sala

drawing room grande

Detall of door

'a'
'a'

Typical door of second Hoor


Puerta tpica del piso alto

Detalle de la puerta

CASA DE CHAMORRO

329

<
<

330

Shutter, open,

'd'

Postigo, abierto,

'd'

Shutter, closed,

'd'

Postigo, cerrado,

'd'

Door

to balcony over street


al

Puerta

balcn sobre

la calle

CASA DE CHAMORRO

381

(jsuitca

4,

.'w'^-a

^.^':%-^^.^^ :>^^.T^-

Detail of fa^ade

Detalle de

la

fachada

South corridor of main patio Corredor meridional del patio principal

CASA POPENOE

3S3

Wood grilled window

and stone base

Interior of

window and

shutter

Reja de madera y repisa de piedra

Interior de

una ventana con postigo

CASA POPENOE

ZAGUN
CASA
POPENOE
ANTIGUA

335

Two

Colonial Houses
IN

ANTIGUA
tCALt Or WINDOWS
SCALt or SPIMOLt

OtTAIL

SRiLLe

OF

coimeH
Of

winoow
THC

is

iuproouction
RODIL

in

TMt

CHAMACreit

OMieiHAL

WINOOW

336

Detail of spiuUes, Rodil house

Detalle de barrotes, Casa de Rodil

-^

Crner window, Popenoe house Ventana de esquina, Casa Popenoe

Interior of

window

'a"
'a

Stone base of crner window

Interior de la ventana

Repisa de piedra de

la

ventana de esquina

CASA POPENOE

337

DETAILS

OF PATIO

CORRIDOR

AND

DOORWAY

TO

'GRAN/ SALA

CASA

POPENOE

ANTIGUA

Northeast comer ofmaiii j);i 11') Esquina noreste del patio principal

Doorway

to

Entrada a

la sala

drawing room grande

Interior of

window

'b'
'b'

Interior de la ventana

Spindle detail

Detalle de barrote

CASA POPENOE

339

Detail of panels

Detalle de los tableros

Typical door

Puerta tpica

^1 ^^... IH
^^^nn j^Hrj^

#"
iC' mnw
^^H
i
'

wr

I^^^M

M
^^
''"^Sj^^^^l
341

'h

Typical shutter

Postigo tpico

Typical shutter

Postigo tpico

CASA POPENOE

A Typical Panelled
nox
iT

Dooi'

Casa Popenoe

mm

a, b, c,

Typical panelled doors

Tpicas puertas de tabler

CASA POPENOE

S4S

"\/"

ao"oo'oo.ci ao'o"o"o'oo

:IXI^

DO'0"00'0"C

t?^ c^^

wm
344

Door

in passage
el

betwen patios

Cupboard doors

in passage to kitchen
el pasillo a la

Puerta en

pasillo entre los pati

Puertas de alacena en

cocina

I
Wb\\>

r i m m
j.

Pp'

Doors with smail shutters Puertas con postigos pequeos

Typical large shutter Tpico postigo grande

CASA POPENOE

345

East end of kitchen

Extremo
de
la

oriental

cocina

One of the ovens Uno de los hornos

View toward kitchen patio


Vista hacia el patio de la cocina

View from kitchen

to die

main patio

Vista desde la cocina al paiio principal

346

CASA POPENOE

Flower planters

Hidden garden behind

kitcheii
la

Jardn escondido detrs de

cocina

CASA POPENOE

347

Comer window
Ventana de esquina

East side of

main patio

Lado

oriental del patio principal

348

CASA DE VASQUEZ DE CORONADO Y ULLOA

A Colonial House
University

Santa a ANTIGUA
DRAWN
BT

Clar>

4CASURED AND

849

Fountain and flower planters of east patio Fuente y arriates del patio oriental

Typical od door Tpica puerta antigu

Small oven in kitchen

Horno pequeo en

la

cocina

350

CASA DE VASQUEZ DE CORONADO Y ULLOA

House before renovation


Casa antes de
la

(1934)

renovacin (1934)

After renovation (1938)

Despus de

la

renovacin (1938)

HOUSE OF THE BELLS

CASA DE LAS CAMPANAS

:tior=nitjc=[(ni}-

Xr
'^IMIBt^l)^
d
o.

^^
<:

-o

=(=JttlII

V
Ly^
T
1

mm
k

niMMDnr
irMiiiini

352

Detail of

window

'c
'c'

Detalle de la ventana

Spndle detail
Detalle de barrotes

Window grille,

west

vvall

Reja de madera, muro occidental

Od doors
Puertas antiguas

HOUSE OF THE BELLS

CASA DE LAS CAMPANAS

Street entrance. Notice the miiltiplicity of stone

Entrada. Ntese

la

door frames. multiplicidad de marcos de piedra.

del

Fragment of stone, formerly part of door frame Fragmento de piedra, antiguamente parte marco de la portada

West corridor

of patio

Corredor occidental del patio

354

CASA DE LOS LEONES

CASA DE LOS LEONES


iVALLS OF SOUTHWEST CRNER RECONSTRUCTED IN HALF-riMBER HEAVIER WALLS ARE ORIGINAL STONE

' ' ' '

ANTIGV'A

EXTER/OR OPENINGS ON WEST FACA DE WERE ORIGINALLY

WINDOWS
PATIO
.ND

PANELEO
THE

DOORS MOVED FROM

1EASURED

DRAWN

ar

S55

Crner window Ventana de esquina


c

Interior of crner

window

Interior de la ventana de esquina

West side of patio Lado occidental del patio

Detall of crner

window

Detalle de la ventana de esquina

356

CASA DE LOS LEONES

,-^-SIPBWALK LtVtL

CORRER WINDOW

CASA DE LOS LEONES


ANTIGUA
COLOIt

HOTB OH TILE:

ALUE

"^

OoKANCe
dwinrE. BACKCKD1IB

iCALE FOK PLAN AMD ELTVATIONS

SCMX POR

SECTIOHS
V.

MEASUREO AND DRAWN BY

L.

ANNIS

S57

358

Door

'B'

Puerta

'B'

on the plan en el plano

CASA DE LOS LEONES


359

360

!d!afts!^^s-^||

Detail of door 'G'

Detalle de la puerta 'G'

n ^'
^^^B ^^^^^H

'
'

fiT.--

f-

Door

'G'

on

tlie
el

plan
i)lano

Puerta 'G' en

n y ^^R^l
\

.-_

i f\

^r^^

u
c

4
1
d
Detail of shutter 'K'

Detalle del postigo 'K'

Shutter 'K' on the plan


Postigo 'K' en el plano

CASA DE LOS LEONES

361

362

Door with

shutter.

'I'

on

tlie

plan

Detall of door

T T
363

Puerta con postigo.

T en el plano

Detalle de

la

puerta

CASA DE LOS LEONES

i
b

^^^'i
many
coats

ti
'
.^

IL

i
'

Detail of door 'E', partially cleaned of of lime which covered it

Detalle de la puerta 'E', limpiado parcialmente de las muchas capas de cal que lo cubran

Door

'E'

on the plan
en
el

Puerta

'E'

plano

Detail of carved panels

Detalle de tableros tallados

364

CASA DE LOS LEONES

y
^
1

-i
1

\ i

^,

-A

DOOR

(D

CASA DE LOS LEONES


ANTIGUA

SCALE FOR ELEVATIONS


O
I

FEtT
2

SCALE FOR DETAILS

INCHES

MEASURED

ANO

DRAWN

BY

y.

L.

NN

S65

'i

Detail of door 'D'

Detalle de la puerta 'D'

Door

'H'

on the plan
el

Puerta 'H' en

plano

Detail of door

'C
'C

Detalle de la puerta

Door 'C on the plan Puerta 'C en el plano

366

CASA DE LOS LEONES

Arch of entrance passage Arco del zagun


d

North

side of patio

Lado

septentrional del patio

LA CASA DE RODIL
367

Detall of od dooi>
Detalles de las puertas antiguas

Od doors

Puertas antiguas

368

LA CASA DE RODIL

LARGE

PANELEO DOOR

IN

Casa Rodil
ANTIGUA
ICALE Or ELEVATION
SCALE OF DETAIL4

369

PC
a

:^

-i"

-"-

i^r>.

Corridor and ruin of wall fountain (1938) Corredor y ruina de fecrtro (1938)

Entrance passage

Zagun

Od doors

Puertas antiguas

HOUSE NEAR THE PENSATIVO RIVER

CASA CERCA DEL RIO PENSATIVO


371

/?2^^^^nlF

:^ll

Ul!

II

ii

'%5^
V3

^M

II

Fa^ade before renovation (1934) Fachada antes de la renovacin (1934)

Ruin of entrance passage Ruina del zagun

Detall ot arch

Detalle del arco

HOUSE ON CAMPOSECO STREET

CASA EN LA CALLE CAMPOSECO


373

^*t:
a

Fa^ade before renovation (1938) Fachada antes de la renovacin


(1938)

Street entrance

Entrada de

la calle

r .>js:c.

iiiiiiiiii

aromii
Window with
Ventana con

iron grille

reja

de hierro

Stone window base

Repisa de piedra

374

CASA DEL To NACHO'

Ga^et "to NeLCh.o"


Antigua.
o S
l

24

3i

40

40

56

SCALE

OF

PLAN

375

os^^l^f^^

n^__-zzj

=^^

An.

Calle

od h-ouse orv Sari 5eba.stin


Antigua.

ELEVATION

ON

CALLE

SAN

SEBASTIAN

Facade with typical windows and stone door frame Fachada con ventanas tpicas y marco de piedra

Arches near foiintain Arquera cerca de la fuente

Grille

and

typical stone

window

base

Reja y

tpica repisa

de piedra

HOUSE ON SAN SEBASTIAN STREET CASA EN LA CALLE DE SAN SEBASTIAN

377

Mj
t-,..
.

*v^x^3mMmmBB^B/SSH^^^.'^mS^^'

~~''^

*'''S^

^L*

P*"

"'

^t^

t--.

*-\;S|

^HHBv''
fe^^

^^k^^
'M.

Ruin

of entrance arch

Ruina

del arco del zagun

Detail of plaster decoracin

Detalle de ataurique

378

CASA DE ESPINOSA

Chamorro House Casa de Chamorro

DETAILS
Much of the character of Antigua is derived from the repetition of distinctive details in niany variations. To enumrate the more important. such as chimneys and window bases, or to merely list grilles, paneled doors. and fountains does not convey any precise image. Even detailed descriptions, pointing out difFerences between examples in any onc category, would be inadequate. The more common details, and some of the finest examples, have been mentioned in connection
with spccific buildings shown in previous chapters.
btit no particidar eniphasis has been madc concerning them. A greater appreciation and understanding of these typical details should result from the following pages of comparative photographs and drawings which speak for themselves.

DETALLES
deriva de
del carcter particular de la Antigua se la repeticin de ciertos detalles distintivos con muchas variantes. El enumerar las ms importantes, tales como las chimeneas y las repisas

Mucho

de ventanas, o slo hacer una lista de rejas, puertas de tableros y fticntcs, no da una idea exacta. Aun
descripciones detalladas cjue sealen las diferencias entre ejemplares de cualquier categora, seran inadecuadas. Los detalles ms comunes y algunos de los mejores ejemplos, se han mencionado al hablar de ciertos edificios estudiados en captulos
anteriores, pero
cial.

no

se les

ha dado im nfasis espe-

Una mayor

apreciacin y mejor comprensin

de de

debieran resultar pginas siguientes, de fotografas comparativas y dibujos que hablan por s.
estos detalles caractersticos,
las

STONE DOOR FRAMES


394-398

LOS MARCOS DE PIEDRA DE LAS PUERTAS


394-398

This detall occurs more freqtiently than any other as a distinct architectural form. Dressed stone was used to frame doors in many reas of Spain (456 de). Examples at Avila, Salamanca, Valladolid and elsewhere are numerous, and its reappearance in the colonies was common. Its use, however. is more apparent in Antigua because it had a special reason and served functionally. Here. where the walls were constructed of rubble, the use of dressed stone about the doors was necessary, and the contrast with the plastered walls surrounding them served to make the stone more apparent. If the Avalls had not been covered with stucco, the door frames would have been a part of the wall and scarcely noticeable as in the case of the City Hall ( 46 b ).

Este detalle ocurre con ms frecuencia ((ue cualquier otro como forma arptectnica distintiva. Se servan d