P. 1
Get PPC and SEO to Work Together

Get PPC and SEO to Work Together

5.0

|Views: 194|Likes:
Published by Nimish Vohra
Increasing ROI of Digital Marketing - Getting PPC and SEO to Work Together
- PPC and SEO ROI: An Extreme Example
- Use PPC for Research: Estimate Demand
- Use PPC for Research: Identify Expensive Keywords
- Use PPC for Research: Messaging that Works
- Use PPC Where SEO Cannot Enter: Keyword Variations
- Use PPC Where SEO Cannot Enter: Long Tail
- Use PPC Where SEO Cannot Enter: Competitive Keywords
- Use SEO to Understand the Long Tail
- Use SEO for Extended Engagement with Users
- What SEO can Learn from PPC: Become a Landing Page!
- What SEO can Learn from PPC: ROI Oriented Messaging
- What PPC can Learn from SEO: Increased Engagement
- Remember: PPC and SEO Keywords Need not be Exclusive
- Remember: It is OK to use Brand Keywords on PPC
- PPC + SEO + Analytics
- PPC + SEO = Search Marketing
Increasing ROI of Digital Marketing - Getting PPC and SEO to Work Together
- PPC and SEO ROI: An Extreme Example
- Use PPC for Research: Estimate Demand
- Use PPC for Research: Identify Expensive Keywords
- Use PPC for Research: Messaging that Works
- Use PPC Where SEO Cannot Enter: Keyword Variations
- Use PPC Where SEO Cannot Enter: Long Tail
- Use PPC Where SEO Cannot Enter: Competitive Keywords
- Use SEO to Understand the Long Tail
- Use SEO for Extended Engagement with Users
- What SEO can Learn from PPC: Become a Landing Page!
- What SEO can Learn from PPC: ROI Oriented Messaging
- What PPC can Learn from SEO: Increased Engagement
- Remember: PPC and SEO Keywords Need not be Exclusive
- Remember: It is OK to use Brand Keywords on PPC
- PPC + SEO + Analytics
- PPC + SEO = Search Marketing

More info:

Published by: Nimish Vohra on Apr 29, 2009
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

11/08/2012

pdf

text

original

Increasing ROI of Digital Marketing, Part I

Getting PPC and SEO to Work Together

Hi! I am PPC

Hello, I am SEO

think innovation

1-888-REGALIX | info@regalix-inc.com
Palo Alto, USA | Bangalore, India | New Delhi, India | Chandigarh, India

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

1

Speaker – Nimish Vohra
Vice President and Country Head at Regalix Inc. Decade of experience in Digital Marketing, Human Factors and Creative design Previously with StarTV (one of the largest Entertainment and Media companies) as Program manager for the R&D and production of next generation Cable/Satellite Television programs Built ChaiTime, a large online community of NRIs Worked as Creative Lead in agencies with many of his creations going on to become memorable house-hold names and still featured on several Asian Networks Masters Degree in Industrial Design from IIT Mumbai and an Engineering Major

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

2

Hi! I am PPC

Hello, I am SEO

“PPC is fast and furious.” “SEO is slow and steady.” Team introduce yourself!

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

3

PPC and SEO ROI: An Extreme Example
PPC campaign: Core keywords, set 1: 30 Leads: 100 per month CPA: $100 Core keywords, set 2: 100 Leads: 100 per month CPA: $60 Agency cost: $4,000 per month Landing page, updates: $1,000 per month Yearly cost: $21,000 * 12 = $252,000 CPA: 252,000/200*12 = $105 SEO Cost per keyword (Agency / internal) Content creation: $175 Tag research and creation: $60 Site update: $40 Off-page optimization (wiki, PR, etc): $120 Cost for 130 keywords: $320 * 130 = $40,300 Overall site optimization (navigation structure, sitemap, etc): $10,000 Duration for above: 2 months Monthly maintenance (refresh content, fine-tune tags, check positions): $30 per keyword Maintenance cost for 10 months: $39,000 Total cost for an year: $51,350 + $10,000 + $39,000 = $100,350 CPA, for 2400 conversion = $42 Saving: $152,000 or 60% of the spend!

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

4

So?

,
Research, Keyword variations, Leveraging Long Tail, Ultra Competitive Keywords (incremental ROI), “Results” while SEO is being worked on

?
N ! O
5

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

Use PPC for Research: Estimate Demand Run a PPC campaign to assess actual demand Data can be trusted, better than any tool Accurately estimate demand by geography
Keyword content management content management system content management software content management solution enterprise content management online content management content management tool php content management content management solutions free content management system content management server asp content management xml content management Impressions 55261 42381 12089 6025 5209 3969 3483 2247 2097 1933 1688 1359 1349

Use “Exact” and “Phrase” match to gather data. Do not use “Broad” match

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

6

Use PPC for Research: Identify Expensive Keywords Gather data from PPC to identify relevant, high CPC and spend keywords
Keyword content management content management system content management systems content management software content management content management tool content management system software content management solution content management cms enterprise content management CPC $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ 6.03 5.97 5.98 5.84 5.95 5.70 5.38 5.83 5.45 4.98 Cost $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ 6,371 4,474 2,357 1,840 1,161 530 699 524 343 244 18,543

Expensive keywords: Prime target for SEO

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

7

Use PPC for Research: Messaging that Works (1/2) Get insight into messaging that works with users
Creative Which is the right CMS? A Definitive guide to the right CMS Pros & Cons of each CMS solution. Download CMS pocket guide A Must read for those who are considering a CMS. Know more! Content Management Guide How do you choose the right Vendor? Best practices for choosing a CMS CTR 2.8% Use high CTR messages as part of the page content, headline, etc. Of course, this should include keywords one is optimizing for, in the right order

1.6%

0.87%

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

8

Use PPC for Research: Messaging that Works (2/2) Get insight into elements and messaging variation that contribute to highest conversion rate PPC provides an ideal “closed” testing environment, which is much more difficult with an “open” website
Download CMS Guide
Name* Company Designation Email* Phone

Get Your Personalized CMS Guide
Name* Company Designation Email* Phone

A/B or Multivariate test to find out variations or combinations that work best. These then can be used on the site.

Download Now Submit
© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

9

Use PPC Where SEO Cannot Enter: Keyword Variations SEO works basis actual content on the site It might not be practical to put content for all keyword variations For e.g. if in a section of your site you are discussing PHP CMS Pros and Cons Keywords that you could chose could be any of the following
PHP CMS advantages and disadvantages PHP CMS pros and cons PHP CMS strengths and weaknesses PHP CMS pitfalls Basis search volume you might chose this keyword for SEO These keywords could be targeted through PPC

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

10

Use PPC Where SEO Cannot Enter: Long Tail Say, your site has 200 pages You are possibly targeting 400 core keywords/variations But there are potentially 20,000 keywords that might be useful/related to your business > target these on PPC
Core Keyword content management solution Tail Keywords Framework content management digital content management content management site simple content management Strategy content management intranet content management net content management dynamic content management web content manager internet content management net content management content management product

Tail keywords

Core keywords
Want to know about Long Tail? Something coming up on 28th Apr 09. Visit www.regalix.com

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

11

Use PPC Where SEO Cannot Enter: Competitive Keywords Some keywords might be just too competitive E.g., your competitors might have domains dedicated to a particular keyword, while you have just a directory
www.xyz.com/content-management vs. www.contentmanagement.com

For such keywords PPC is a good bet; while ROI might be comparatively low, additional revenue on these keywords might be tough to ignore
Competitive Keywords Content management Open source CMS

PPC might be a good bet for keywords such as these

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

12

Use PPC while SEO ‘Happens’ SEO can take time
Researching the right keywords Writing/editing 200 pages of content Researching the right tags for the content Updating site/sitemap, navigation (could need a bit of technical refactoring) Back-linking from external/social sites – wiki, bookmarking, maps, forums, etc

While SEO is being worked on, focus on PPC
SEO can take 2-3 month to show results, depending on pace at which changes are made

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

13

! LL !! TE LL TE

Research Keyword variations Leveraging Long Tail Ultra Competitive Keywords Results, while SEO is being worked on

You know I give great ROI. I also: Understand Long Tail, Extended Engagement with Users
© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

14

Use SEO to Understand the Long Tail Lets say, on your site you have 200 pages of content This leads to thousands of keyword combinations Visitors turn up on your site through keywords that exist on your site, but you might not have thought about Look at these keywords in your analytics tool Expand these keywords and add to PPC
Optimized Keywords content management content management solution Enterprise content management Online content management Php content management Asp content management Xml content management Tail Keywords help content management content management player business content management Tool content manager outsourced content management content management deployment Versions content management content management control server content manager content management plans

Keywords you couldn’t have predicted would get visitors to your site

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

15

Use SEO for Extended Engagement with Users PPC is always ROI focused – Fill this form! Click that button! – Don’t look elsewhere – just this “landing page”
Great for immediate returns, but not for starting an engagement Great for B2C transactions, product trials. Not great for old age B2B, B2B services

With SEO, you can guide users through the site. Logically. Talk to users about your services/products (whitepapers, articles, webinars), newsletters, demos; allow forward to friend, bookmark, feedback, etc. Time spent on site is a key metric for SEO
© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

16

Research Keyword variations Leveraging Long Tail Ultra Competitive Keywords Results, while SEO is being worked on

Great ROI Understand Long Tail Extended Engagement with Users

You can learn my best practices!

Let me share my secrets too!!

You guys chat. I will bungee jump…

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

17

What SEO can Learn from PPC: Become a Landing Page! Turn each page of the site into a “landing page” Multiple call to action
Download whitepaper, ebook, brochure, case-study Call 1-800-REGALIX Chat with us NOW! You have a question about our service? Write to us

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

18

What SEO can Learn from PPC: ROI Oriented Messaging Make each line talk Cut out the marketing lingo from the site Have the headlines address user’s core need Talk about features that address user’s pain point Make paragraphs to the point, not verbose
Sub-headline with marketing message

Message that connects with a user’s pain point
© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

Conversion point on a page
19

What PPC can Learn from SEO: Increased Engagement Increase engagement with the users Instead of single page landing pages go for microsites Each page of course has the same form, customized if necessary
Few tabs; brief content Same call to action on all pages

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

20

Research Keyword variations Leveraging Long Tail Ultra Competitive Keywords Results, while SEO is being worked on

Did you know?
To find out what you did not know, read on ☺ Great ROI Understand Long Tail Extended Engagement with Users

Become a landing page! ROI oriented message

Increased engagement

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

21

Remember: PPC and SEO Keywords Need not be Exclusive If on organic a keyword appears at position 1-3, we could target a position 6-9 on PPC And if we are at 7-10 on organic, we could target 1-3 on PPC Reason?
Increase your chances of a click PPC message is very targeted, and “clicks” well with a user looking for a particular service When appearing in natural and paid search -Clicks lifted 92% -Actions lifted 45% -Orders lifted 45% -Page views lifted 44% -Visitors increased 41%
Source: iCrossing, “Search Synergy Report: Natural & Paid Search Symbiosis” 2007

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

22

Remember: It is OK to use Brand Keywords on PPC Brand keywords are the easiest to list on natural search But that need not be a reason not to do PPC for these keywords Clearer messaging,
Opportunity to cross-sell higher click through for a person looking for this service

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

23

Research Keyword variations Leveraging Long Tail Ultra Competitive Keywords Results, while SEO is being worked on Great ROI Understand Long Tail Extended Engagement with Users

A

L

M

O

S

T

D O NE

Become a landing page! ROI oriented message Increased engagement

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

24

PPC + SEO + Analytics
Track ROI on core keywords Tail Analysis

PPC
Keywords Impressions CPC Cost CPA Tail keywords

Time spent on site

SEO

ROI CTR, CR

Incremental Revenues (ROI) Research - Messaging - Product features

IC S NALYT Prof. A

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

25

PPC + SEO = Search Marketing

= 7! +2 2
If SEO alone delivers a top-line of $100, PPC has the potential of raising it threefold, at a higher cost of course. If PPC is delivering $100 to your bottomline, SEO has the potential of doubling it, at an incremental cost

Glad we met!

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

26

About Regalix
Forefront of Online Marketing, Research and Web 2.0 portals Multi-disciplinary Leadership Team Fortune 500 and Venture-Backed Customers (B2B and B2C) Global Operations: HQ in Silicon Valley, 4 Offices 150+ Team, Built on 8+ years of research Recognition

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

27

Learn more about Regalix at: www.regalix.com Contact: Nimish Vohra Vice President, Country Head Email: nvohra@regalix-inc.com

© 2006 Confidential | Think Innovation

28

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->