P. 1
book reviews-- "The Great Libertarian Offer"

book reviews-- "The Great Libertarian Offer"

4.0

|Views: 104|Likes:
Published by scotsman33
A combination of various Amazon.com reviews. (For related material on govt./politics, see Congressman Ron Paul's books & the book reviews). Vote for a 3rd party. Go to www.firecongress.org and www.campaignforliberty.com
A combination of various Amazon.com reviews. (For related material on govt./politics, see Congressman Ron Paul's books & the book reviews). Vote for a 3rd party. Go to www.firecongress.org and www.campaignforliberty.com

More info:

Published by: scotsman33 on May 06, 2009
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as RTF, PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

12/01/2009

pdf

text

original

Books by Harry Browne [http://www.harrybrowne.org/Books.

htm] Below are 19 books written by Harry Browne. Many of them are out of print, but a few are available on Harry Browne's website at: HarryBrowne.org or as E-books at: TrendsAction.com/Books. Note: There are other authors by the name of Harry Browne or Harry Brown. The books below are the only ones written by this Harry Browne. 99% of All You Need to Know About MONEY and its Effect Upon the Economy (2008) Everything flows from the way the money system is handled. It is the cause of inflation, of depressions, of any sudden changes in the economy. Not one person in a thousand really understands what money is. And yet, there are few subjects in the world more fascinating than the study of money. A proper grasp of it will give you the key that unlocks the many puzzles of national economic events. Without that understanding, it’s impossible to think for oneself; instead, you’re forced to rely upon the superficial conclusions of people with conflicting opinions and credentials. This short book covers 99% of all you need to know about money and its effect upon the economy. It's the clearest and most extensive explanation of how the government money system works and perverts the free market. Equally important, it’s written in language that any reasonably intelligent layman can understand. The War Racket, Part I & II (2008) This book concentrates on the deceptions politicians use to get us into war. Every war produces its share of deceptions. They come in four categories: pre-war lies, rosy promises, propaganda, and myths. After reading The War Racket (Part I & II) you will know why politicians are so eager to get Americans into wars, be better equipped to spot the lies politicians tell in non-war areas, and know what must be done to rule out the possibility of future politicians luring Americans into war through deception. The Secret of Selling ~ Anything (2008) This book refutes selling clichés accepted without question for years, and proves in terms of the real world as it is that the stereotyped image of the “born salesman” is a mistake. Here is a painless way to become a good salesman, to influence others, to become more in demand, to increase your sales significantly, and make more money--without remaking your personality, without becoming forceful, aggressive, or eloquent. Freedom The American Way (2008) A compilation of articles and newspaper columns that contain factual and well-reasoned economic, moral, and business truths written in simple and to-the-point language that everyone can understand and appreciate, and that appeal to the readers self-interest. If you want to reduce the size of government, make the most of your life, and learn seven ways to increase your wages, you'll find this book interesting, enjoyable, and thought-provoking. Investment Strategy in an Uncertain World (2007) Sixteen (16) articles that discuss Harry's investment strategy. They contain perceptive explanations that debunk so much of what passes for investment wisdom - plus intelligent comments about life. Most of all, the main thrust of the articles is a step-by-step analysis of how you can deal with an uncertain world - without preconceptions or dogma. 2000+ Libertarian Quotes (2006) Two thousand pithy Libertarian quotations and comments concerning liberty, government, and politics personally selected by Harry Browne to help you sell Libertarian ideas to others. Liberty A to Z (2004) 872 Libertarian sound-bites you can use right now. The Great Libertarian Offer (2000) A Libertarian plan of responsible, sensible solutions to today’s political and social problems. Harry Browne explains that Libertarians want you to be free — free to live your own life as you think best. And he provides the ammunition you need to show people how much better off they’d be in a Libertarian America. Fail-Safe Investing (1998) How you can create a bulletproof portfolio you can walk away from — while protecting you from inflation, deflation, or recession, while allowing you to profit from prosperous periods. Why Government Doesn’t Work (1995) — Why all those government programs have failed to live up to the promises made when they were enacted — a program-by-program critique of government health care, education, crime control, foreign policy, and much more. The Economic Time Bomb (1989) The dangers that investors worry about, and how to be protected against all of them. Why the Best-Laid Investment Plans Usually Go Wrong (1987) A critique of all the investment and speculative trading systems that purport to beat the markets. Guess what — none of them can be relied

upon. Investment Rule #1 (privately published, 1985) What is the one investment rule you can rely on no matter what? Inflation-Proofing Your Investments (with Terry Coxon, 1981) The introduction of the Permanent Portfolio plan. The investments suggested have been superseded by the latest version of Fail-Safe Investing. New Profits from the Monetary Crisis (1978) An outdated explanation of the investment markets. Harry Browne's Complete Guide to Swiss Banks (1976) A lot of useful information about Switzerland; however, the bank information is now outdated. You Can Profit from a Monetary Crisis (1974) A clear and extensive explanation of how government intervention perverts the free market. How I Found Freedom in an Unfree World (1973) How you can apply Libertarian principles to your personal life to have greater freedom from those who would like to tell you how to live your life — whether the government, relatives, friends, or just nosey people. How You Can Profit from the Coming Devaluation (1970) A clear and extensive explanation of how the government money system perverts the free market. Customer Reviews The Great Libertarian Offer 15 of 15 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars Recharge your aspirations for freedom and justice, July 15, 2000 By Peter Cappello (Santa Barbara, CA USA) I didn't start out being cynical about politics and politicians. It is something I learned after being let down so many times. I didn't start out being pessimistic about the prospects for freedom. Looking around me--grasping reality---seemed to give me no choice. Then, I read Harry Browne's book, "The Great Libertarian Offer". This book is gives me more optimism and hope for me and my children living in a society of peace and freedom than any other book I have ever read. "The Great Libertarian Offer" solves a riddle: How can the power of focused, well-funded special interest groups be defeated by millions of people who are too busy with daily life to lobby for constitutional government? With "The Great Libertarian Offer", it can be done! Without resorting to moral arguments, Harry Browne has convinced me that he is as moral and wise a man as I have ever known. He consistently showed me that initiating force does not solve problems. He consequently has given me a potent tool for analyzing and synthesizing public policy. Whether the Libertarian constraint on public policy---it cannot entail the initiation of force---is new to you or is something that you have investigated thoroughly, Harry Browne's book is a gift of fresh insights. His plainspoken description of "The Principles", and his chapters on drug prohibition, foreign policy, schools, crime, and moral posturing (among others) are each well worth the price of this book. Here is a book that may well change the world. Have you ever read a book that is so good that you immediately bought several copies to give away? I haven't---until I read "The Great Libertarian Offer". I just bought five more copies from Amazon, and expect to buy more later. 5.0 out of 5 stars An offer you can't refuse, July 16, 2000 By svf "Would you give up your favorite government programs if it meant you never had to pay Income Tax again?" Harry Browne, the 2000 Libertarian Presidential candidate, outlines his plan to dramatically reduce the size and scope of government in this excellent, interesting, and readable campaign book. Using a format similar to that of his landmark best-seller, "How I Found Freedom in an Unfree World," Mr. Browne outlines practical proposals on how a Libertarian president would offer "Freedom from Crime," "Freedom from Moral Posturing," "Freedom from Income Taxes" and so much more. Browne demonstrates that a Libertarian constitutional government could be financed on tariffs and excise

taxes alone, freeing us forever from income and Social Security taxes. Mr. Browne also demonstrates how ending the War On Drugs, repealing victimless crimes, and repealing gun control laws would actually reduce crime and end countless civil rights abuses. He also argues for a strong national defense rather than a national offense meddling in other countries, dismantling unconstitutional government agencies (the CIA, DEA, FDA, BATF, and so forth) and ending government welfare for individuals, corporations, and of course political parties. A wonderful update and elaboration on "Why Government Doesn't Work," his 1996 campaign book, Harry Browne's "The Great Libertarian Offer" should appeal to the converted Libertarian and the curious alike. This book should have special appeal during this election season as more and more Americans become dissatisfied with the candidates offered up by the two major, and increasingly similar, political parties. The Libertarian alternative should be refreshing to those looking beyond the dysfunctional Green and Reform parties for a third choice. 11 of 11 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars Libertarian Views written in black and white, July 17, 2000 By rlynn@bellsouth.net (Smyrna, GA USA) In this book Harry Browne explains his Libertarian views on each major issue confronting the United States today. The book goes issue by issue and gives concise steps to solve these problems with Libertarian values. He also details how he would restore liberty to the country if he were elected President. This restoration includes reduction of the government back to its constitutionally-defined level. For those of us who are new to the Libertarian Party, it is an invaluable tool to more clearly define the Party's platform. If you enjoy this book I would also recommend to you Charles Murray's "What It Means To Be A Libertarian: A Personal Interpretation". It is also an exceptional book for the Libertarian novice or expert. 15 of 16 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars Consistent, Logical, and Pro-freedom, July 26, 2000 By Mark D. Valenti (Pittsburgh, PA USA) Harry Browne continues his wonderful streak of books dedicated to liberty, libertarianism, and the freemarket. In his bid for the Presidency of the United States, he has been ignored by the mainstream media that caters to the pro-government Bush and Gore syndicate. In "The Great Libertarian Offer," Mr. Browne offers countless examples of the federal government's failure to keep promises and the resulting chaos of failed federal programs. After identifying the problems with government, he lists examples of tried free-market solutions that have brought prosperity and freedom to citizens worldwide. Mr. Browne offers a logical and workable solution to problems that most politicians just ignore or sugarcoat. The great part about this book (and libertarianism) is the fact that this solution is very simple: get the federal government out of our lives. While exploring this book, readers will pleasantly discover that Libertarian ideas mirror the ideas of our country's Founders - ideas of liberty, privatization, and individual responsibility. 7 of 7 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars Consistent, Logical, and Convincing., August 10, 2000 By M. Wise In this book, the Libertarian Presidential Candidate for both 1996 and 2000 shows where this country has gone wrong in government and what can be done about it. He offers chapters in which he shows the multitudinous government failures in a dizzying array of areas: the political destruction of the environment (the government is the biggest polluter), misguided gun control, failing government schools, harmful meddling with health care, a Roman Empire-esque foreign policy, the insane War on Drugs, and much more. He doesn't stop at showing the failures though, he goes on to show that private enterprises are far more efficient and would work much better if government just kept its nose out of everyone's affairs. He

also shows why most people don't even bother to vote (51% of the eligible population did not vote in the general election in 1996 -- Bill Clinton was elected with a mere 24.9% of the general population vote): There are very few differences between Democrats and Republicans. They are both consistently for bigger, more powerful, more expensive government no matter how they may posture. The media is unwilling to give coverage to a real alternative. This is an excellent book and explained for me why I was so disgusted with the current state of the federal government. Highly recommended. 7 of 8 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars Vote Libertarian, August 15, 2000 By Donald Barsell (Everytown, USA) Fantastic book. I had a feeling that government was inefficient and wasteful, but the reality of how it actually works is downright shocking. Why hasn't anyone told us these stories before? You can consider yourself forewarned now; but nothing will change until you make your voice heard. Reclaim your freedom to live your life on your terms. Register & vote Libertarian. 5 of 6 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars Great Introduction to Libertarianism, August 15, 2000 By Crystal S. Light (Hillsboro, OR United States) I'm a bit of a newbie to the whole idea of libertarianism, but I like what I hear. I, too, am tired of "Big Government." I'm tired of politicians in Washington telling me what can best be done with my money. I'm tired of social programs that don't work and/or are failing miserably (Welfare, Medicare, Social Security, and so on). I'm tired of the government stealing my money, in the name of "taxing", and spending it on things I don't agree with (foreign aid, public schools, the war on drugs, building nukes, etc). Harry does a great job of explaining why the government is so big and what can be done to reduce it to the size the Constitution intended. Most people don't realize that the government is only authorized to carry out a few duties, among them being a national defense and judicial system. Nowhere does the great Constitution of the United States allow for an income tax, an FBI, a DEA, an IRS, a retirement program, or a medical insurance program. Harry does a great job of explaining how most, if not all, government programs would be better handled by the free market. His knack for explaining the issues in common terms and proposing solutions really makes this a book that can be understood and enjoyed by virtually all age groups. And best of all... there is no need for an income tax! Read this book, it's a real eye opener. 8 of 8 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars Surprise! Browne is rational, articulate and persuasive, August 20, 2000 By Richard Friesen "Rich" (Fairfax, CA United States) Reading Browne's book gave me the same feeling about politics that scientists must have had about the heavens during the Copernican revolution in the 16th century. Once you get the principles, everything else falls into place. Politics makes sense for the first time, just like the movement of the stars and planets must have made sense for the first time to the post Copernicus astronomers. Once you have read this book you will never have to figure out why the politicians do what they do. All of a sudden, it makes perfect sense. Plus...he offers a breathtakingly simple solution to most of our political issues. 5 of 6 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, August 20, 2000 By Shawn Smith (Cumberland Gap, TN United States) Browne does a great job of explaining the problems of our expanding government. Problems include Medicare, social security, welfare, the war on drugs, high taxes, and defense spending. All these programs are flawed or they aren't worth the amount of funds that are going into them. It's interesting to see that the Democrats and Republicans really don't have too many differences except for increasing the budget with wasteful spending. Browne's ideas are fascinating, but its a shame that the media won't give him a chance to express his views. 5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

5.0 out of 5 stars Political Truth and Justice simplified . . ., August 26, 2000 By A Customer If you want a systematic and thorough analysis of the debacle that is our federal government, you would be hard pressed to find anything as current, as accurate, and yet as remarkably constructive and positive as Harry Browne's latest. Each chapter speaks to the various areas in which the Federal government acts in injudicious and ultimately devastating ways - from the failure of the war on drugs to the mess of a health care system that charlatan politicians have foisted on us in the last few decades. In addition, Harry illustrates how a Libertarian government would allow freedom and responsibility to prevail without an intrusive federal government - a government that more than ever, has been perpetuated by powerseeking wolves in sheep's clothing who pose, posture, and justify the destruction of your liberty and ability to lead your life as you see fit. This is a terrific book that has given me, and I'm sure others, a lot of hope for the future - a future free of peoples and interests pitted against one another in a ferocious fight to impose their will on others. Read this book and see how things really work in Washington (and even better - see how we can fix it). 6 of 10 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars Not Ready Yet..., September 5, 2000 By Bill Butler (Tarzana, Ca. USA) I just watched a program on cable. Milton Friedman, who Harry is a great admirer of, was asked about Harry Browne! I'll try my very best to report his answer. Milton said that Harry had great ideas. But they are not "feasible" at this time. In this book, Harry does give us an offer. But it may be an answer that we must refuse. Nevertheless, his work is highly commendable. In fact, Friedman said that he was a Libertarian with a small "l". Buy the book though. Harry is paving the way for the future, for a time when we will not have to use centralized violence. We can be kind to each other on a local level. Then on a neighborly level. Harry's e-mail stated to me that America has always been a generous country. I heard that 49% of the American population does civic activities for others. And 78% give money. This outrates any other country in the world! In fact, we are the most generous people in the world. As you read each page, you will get a glimpse of future possibilities. And how centralized power has caused mass destruction to the world in the past. 4 of 5 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars An Offer Nobody in His Right Mind Would Refuse, October 1, 2000 By J. Parker (Ocean Shores, WA USA) If you never read another book as long as you live, don't miss this one! If all doors seem to slam in your face and you're nearly worn-out trying to make sense of things, here is a lucid explanation of the role that the modern State plays in your frustration and a vision of what you can do about it. If you have given up or are close to it - here is your hope. If you're bored and disgusted with politics, here is your cure. Or if you just feel politically homeless, here's the key to a place that will never get taxed and that will never fall down on you. It is 278 pages of pure wisdom about your future and how to live there as a free human being, sovereign and responsible, and - above all - happy with yourself. As it says on the jacket: "Here you'll find concrete solutions for today's social problems - solutions that don't involve more government and more restrictions on your liberty. On the contrary, these proposals will set you free - free to live your life as you want to live it, not as the politicians think you should." 5.0 out of 5 stars Disregarding Checks and Balances, October 11, 2000 By Bill Butler (Tarzana, Ca. USA) Harry gives us the answer in this book. But will we take it? He beautifully describes the principles and the results of libertarianism--freedom. Chapter by chapter, we see the truth unfold in front of our eyes. In Tibetan Buddhism, "generous acts" lead to wealth. Sexual restraint leads to an established social order which reduces pollution. Stealing results in poverty. Lying results in confusion and mistrust. Taking intoxicants leads to a dulling of the mind. Honesty results in clear communication. The absence of anger and hatred and enmity toward others leads to a long life and good health (which science is now proving). But as Harry points out in this book, when the government steps in our freedom dwindles. The element of choice becomes mute. George Washington stated that government was a monster. Now why? Because it steps in and destroys your freedom of choice. It confiscates your generosity. It regulates your honesty (either toward lying or truth). As Harry points out, government is a "coercive element". It's not a matter of letting people starve. It's not a matter of selfishness. It's not a matter of worshipping money. It's the choice for you and I to be able to make decisions freely that will further our welfare or dissipate it. If you yell at people, your income

will go down. If you lie, you will lose your good friends. If you continually get drunk, you will lose your job. If you steal, people will not invite you over for dinner! This is the "feedback" that nature gives us. This is how we learn. And our learning is measured by our income. Browne takes you chapter by chapter, and explains why government action fails. It fails because it is coercive. It forces people to make moral decisions through the threat of violence. The greater degree of socialism, the more isolated we become from our neighbors. It's the government's job to do this. It's the government's job to do that. The more government, the more we are separated. And the wider the separation, the more opportunity the government has to step in and run our lives even more. It's a non-ending process. The checks and balances of moral and ethical behavior are destroyed. And the ability to choose our own ethical and moral decisions is what the Founding Fathers meant by freedom. Take that away, and we only have stagnation. No growth. There is no growth when there is no choice. Buy this book for yourself, your children, and your friends. Buy it for your community, the country, and the world. Allow the world to learn by it's mistakes. And allow the world to learn by it's errors. Thank you. 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars The Case For Liberty, October 26, 2000 By Kevin Baird (Independence, MO USA) Like he did in 1994 with his book "Why Government Doesn't Work", Libertarian candidate for President Harry Browne outlines what he calls the Great Libertarian Offer and how we can achieve it. Browne shows the reader throughout the book how running to government to solve all of our problems ends up doing more harm than good. Browne puts forth a compelling case against big government and offers real and rational solutions to solve the majority of our problems. Of course you may not agree with everything he says, which he acknowledges, but the primary concern of reducing the size and scope of government, & allowing us to make our own decisions, is something he says we all can agree on. Though many of the same arguments can be found in "Why Government Doesn't Work", there is also a host of new information such as Mr. Browne's budget plan (should he be elected) and new and updated material on the "issues" that have dominated this political season. A quick and easy read for those new to Libertarianism and an excellent refresher/motivator for those already familiar. 9 of 9 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars An Outline For Freedom, November 2, 2000 By Kevin Baird (Independence, MO USA) Once again, Harry Browne has outdone himself and produced yet another fine blueprint for restoring freedom and responsibility to our country. Page after page Browne shows the "good intentions" big government bureaucrats have and the dismal results they produce. Advocating a limited government, bound by the chains of the Constitution, Browne shows us how and why we'd be better off with less government intervention. Although many of the same arguments can be found in his 1996 book, "Why Government Doesn't Work", the book is updated with new issues and data that support the arguments he puts forth. This book even includes a budget plan, should he get elected, which I found to be an excellent addition. All in all, this book should be read by those interested in Libertarian ideas and also for those already accustomed to libertarianism to recharge their passion for freedom. 4 of 4 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars This is the blueprint for freedom!, November 6, 2000 By Paul Ireland (Los Angeles, CA USA) Mr. Browne discusses why government doesn't work and how freedom is only possible in America when the government is held by the chains of the Constitution. He discusses everything from the drug war to environmentalism in this excellent book.

Harry thinks that we should all be allowed to live our own lives as we see fit, not how Washington politicians want us to live. He wants us to be free to do anything we want with our lives, bodies, and property as long as we don't harm another person or their property. With a man like Harry Browne as our president, our country would recapture the greatness we once held. All we've got to do is stop voting for what we don't want and start voting for what we do want....SMALLER, LESS EXPENSIVE, AND LESS INTRUSIVE GOVERNMENT! 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars Stop the theft!, November 28, 2000 By Matthew Toll (Fort Lee, NJ United States) Would you give up your favorite federal program if you never had to pay income tax again? How would you like to earn the risk-free interest rate on your retirement savings rather then giving the government a virtually interest-free loan that you might get paid back for through Social Security? Browne explains these issues and much more in one of the most well-written book I have ever encountered. For a clear understanding of the libertarian ideology, there's no better place to start! 6 of 6 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars Exposes BOTH political parties, December 8, 2000 By jsems (nj USA) This book is a must read for anyone who believes that the federal government is looking out for the interests of the voters. Virtually everything in this book makes such obvious sense that it's amazing the politicians of either of the major parties can spew their drivel with a straight face. Bottom line is the more areas the federal government gets involved in, the more POWER they have over ALL voters. In addition, as Harry points out, just about everything the government tries to "fix" or make "better" winds up worse than it was. If the federal government was only the size it should be according to the Constitution we wouldn't be seeing the desperate biting and clawing for the White House that's going on right now. There simply wouldn't be that much power at stake. We also wouldn't see the intense division in this country since the government wouldn't be able to make promises to ANYONE, thereby pitting one group against another. READ THIS BOOK! You may not agree with all of it but you will find it interesting and it WILL cause you to see things in a different light. 9 of 10 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Offer!, January 20, 2001 By Shawn M. Warswick "High School History Teacher" (El Paso, Tx United States) In this day and age of politicians who offer little and deliver even less, Harry Browne is what we need. His book reads quite easily and is full of facts and figures which prove his arguments. Mr. Browne starts off with an outline of what the Great Libertarian Offer is: "Would you give up your favorite federal programs if it meant you'd never have to pay income tax again?" Browne then goes on to explain how this is entirely possible--if we bring the size of government back to it's constitutionallymandated size, we can have extremely low taxes and we will be better off. The first part of the book describes the Principles of Libertarianism and how government currently operates. Mr. Browne does a great job of explaining in layman's terms just what the problem is and contrasting that with Libertarian ideals. The rest of the book, chapters 7-22 describe the Libertarian solution. He discusses freedom from the income tax, freedom from war, and the freedom to make your own choices. Finally, in the final chapter, Mr. Browne discusses whether or not this can be done and what must be done to achieve it. As he says to sum up his beliefs (in his America) "you'll be a free, responsible, selfgoverning individual. No one will ask for your papers, no one will attach a number to you, no one will extort a share of your income. You'll be free to pursue the life you've dreamed of." This book is well written and well thought-out. I recommend it to anyone who truly loves liberty and wants to see America return to the free Republic it once was. 3 of 5 people found the following review helpful: 4.0 out of 5 stars A simple introduction to Libertarian philosophy, but..., August 31, 2001

By

greencalx (Seattle, WA, USA)

While I would recommend this book to anybody who still believes in the lie that is socialism from the Democrat and Republican (or even the Greens and Naz--errr--Reform) Parties, as someone who held Libertarian ideals before picking up this book I kind of found it to be a downer. Sure, Browne would have made a great president. His insight into the workings of the political world is well-informed and his philosophies in this book are sturdily constructed by thorough reasoning and very solid logic grounded in facts and illustrated cases (such as the government's negligence and fault in the Love Canal scandal, which many people have been taught in school as being the fault of those "evil corporations and their factories"). He illustrates cases where people have been locked up on drug charges without a shred of evidence, where federal environmental regulation has devastated small businesses, and how the FDA's red tape has poured a barrel of molasses into the progress of medical science, among other cases. The subject matter is thorough and full. But he got less votes than Nader for a major reason, and this book perfectly illustrates it -- he is a boring narrator. I've seen him on C-SPAN and CNN before, and he is no different in this book than he is when giving speeches (think Al Gore's robotic, dull exterior and multiply that aura of dullness by at least 5 times). The problem with the Libertarian Party isn't in it's philosophies (though many people do happen to miss it's point, and I suggest this book to those people to clear things up)--they are easy to grasp if you stop and think--it's the fact that they haven't had a speaker who can rouse people off their seats and care. There's more to being a leader than just spitting out opinions and philosophies into the air and hoping somebody will catch it with fly-paper. Harry Browne's linear, plain form of writing may be fine for explaining to newcomers the Libertarian platform, that is if they're lucky enough that they don't fall asleep in the middle of this book. 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars Browne Has Got It Right, January 21, 2002 By Doug Klippel (Jacksonville, FL United States) In this overview of his 2000 Presidential Platform, Libertarian Harry Browne does an excellent job of succinctly covering the Libertarian answer to many of today's problems. Whether a seasoned Libertarian activist or someone who is new to the Party, all readers will enjoy this well-written, informative volume. 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful: 4.0 out of 5 stars A great offer... but will Americans ever take it?, April 2, 2003 By Mark Daniels (Anywhere, USA) This book was a good overview of Libertarian politics for me . I really didn't know exactly what they were about until I read this... AFTER the 2000 election. I see libertarianism as what the "Founding Fathers" had in mind when they first started this country. I also see it as a great compromise (of sorts) between the two existing parties, taking the best of both - less government interference in social issues (Democrat) and less government in fiscal matters (which the Republicans claim they want). It's interesting to me that the Republican Party's big claim of "wanting less government" is ultimately all talk. Whether we've had a Democrat or Republican president, government has gotten bigger. Whether we've had a Democrat or Republican Congress, government has gotten bigger. There's really not much difference between the two big parties; the only difference is WHAT they'll take your money and spend it on! (As a liberal, I prefered my tax dollars going to THEIR programs instead of conservative programs. And the Left seemed much more to my liking when it came to social issues like abortion and separation of church and state.) If there's any party that TRULY wants less government, it isn't the Republican Party, it's the Libertarians. Here's a "third way"--Libertarianism! The Right and Left both get essentially what they want, and everyone is more free. Freedom... that's what the Constitution was about, eh? Browne's book is an overview of Libertarian politics, and was intended as his campaign platform for the 2000 election. It's still relevant, because it still helps explain all the ideas that Libertarians stand for. Browne loads the book with graphs, statistics, and facts to back-up what he's saying. It's not exactly a page-turner, but it's undeniably accurate and makes a strong case for a Libertarian government.

Will we ever see a Libertarian government in our lifetime? Probably not, with everybody voting for the "lesser of two evils" to keep the "greater of two evils" out of office. Most voters think they're "throwing their vote away" by voting for a third party candidate with no chance of winning. But it's exactly that mentality that keeps the two big parties in office! Maybe the Libertarians won't win in 2004 or 2008 or 2012, but if people increasingly vote for them, maybe they'll win someday! And, at the very least, the two big parties will have to take this third party seriously... possibly even adopting some Libertarian beliefs in order to respond to American interest in this party. A good overview of the Libertarian way. Check out this book. 5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, April 18, 2003 By V. Foster (Suffolk VA) This may be the best book on Libertarian politics out there. Great job Harry Browne! The writing is both entertaining and gets directly to the root of the issues. 4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but a bit of a rehash, July 11, 2003 By Eric P. Medlock (Charlotte, NC United States) It was an interesting book but most of the material in it was lifted from "Why Government Doesn't Work" - if you have one of these books you don't need the other. I really enjoyed reading this book and taking a somewhat different look at how things are done today. I don't agree with everything in it, but at least it has helped me see things in a different light. 2 of 4 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars A Conservative with Solutions!, November 8, 2003 By Robert A. Williams "libertarian" (Oberlin, OH United States) What happened to the American dream? Harry tells us that government is sapping our strength and has been doing so for some time. Our greatness as a nation depended on liberty and freedom from government. Harry explains that any government can become a tool or a club that, if in the wrong hands, can be used to hurt people. The solution is to keep government very small so that it is not a prize worth having for crooks looking to steal from their neighbors. Harry doesn't tell us that corporatists have seized control of our government or that we no longer have free enterprise, but I would say we have Italian-style fascism instead, even if Harry doesn't. Harry then goes into detail about the things we take for granted that the government does for us, can be done by us individually for far less cost and inconvenience. This is Harry's strong point. He is a great teacher without resorting to ill humor or sarcasm. Harry's vision for a free and Libertarian America is upbeat and positive. He knows exactly what steps must be taken to realize freedom and liberty, and he gets excited for us and the prospect of liberty when he explains his points in depth. My only regret is that we Americans did not hear about Harry or if we had, we did not tell our neighbors. Because as a veteran, I'm very sad that the king-keepers in Washington D.C. are sacrificing our military men and women on behalf of kings and drug lords in other peoples' countries around the globe in the name of oil and the quieter name of CIA drugs. Like the character Saul Roth (played by Edwin G. Robinson) said in the film 'Soylent Green', "How did we come to this?" If Harry was President rather than Junior Bush, those lives would not be senselessly discarded. I am looking forward to Harry's next book on the war racket. He also has a web site www.HarryBrowne.org 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars What an eye opener., March 9, 2004 By Mark Byrne (Port Huron, MI USA) This book opened up my eyes. I now clearly see what direction the country needs to head in order to be both free and competive in the world. Bravo, a masterpiece of facts and conclusions

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars A Return to what America once was, May 9, 2004 By G. F Gori "Jeffersonian libertarian" (Manteca, ca United States) Harry Browne's "Great Libertarian Offer" is a call for a return to the principles that made the United States the great nation it once was. Browne lays out a precise and coherent blueprint for returning to the American ideal of individual liberty and freedom. Browne cogently points to how the rapid growth of the Federal government has led to more crime, danger from abroad, and the destruction of liberty in America. Browne calls for reducing the Federal government to only it's constitutional functions enumerated in Article 1, Section 8 of the Constitution. He calls for abolition of the welfare state, a reaffirmation of the 9th and 10th amendments of the Constitution, and a return to Jefferson's maxim "peace commerce and honset friendship with all nations, entangling alliances with none". Browne calls for freedom in health care by abolishing Medicare, Medicaid and other socialist programs. He also calls for the gradual abolition of Social Security by selling off Federal assests and replacing SS with private annuities. This book is a snapshot of what a Libertarian administration would be like. A fun and fantastic read! 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars HARRY DOES IT AGAIN, April 23, 2005 By PUBLIUS Harry Browne is an "IN YOUR FACE" Thinker. He does brilliantly in this tome. He defends libertarianism quite well and for someone like me (a former Republican), his writing style shocks! Not just what he says but how he says it is both a breath of fresh air and at the same time shocking. Luckily Browne is still around to tell us all of the evils of big government (of all sorts) that sadly continues to grow in this so called War on Terror. Luckily I came across the Party (in detail) and Harry Browne some 4 or 5 years ago. I am glad it saved me from the silly political/intellectual path I was on. Listen folks, read this and you'll see what liberty is really all about. 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars Rest in Peace, Harry - you deserve it, March 2, 2006 By Kevin Bastian (Encinitas, CA United States) I became a Libertarian gradually, but it wasn't until I watched Harry in a televised 3rd party debate in 1996 that I really became aware of him and got more interested in the Libertarian Party. He seemed so trustworthy and reasonable, and unlike the other candidates, everything he said MADE SENSE! By 2000 I had begun to be active in the Libertarian Party, and traveled to see Harry twice during that campaign, once in Philadelphia while I was on a business trip in Eastern Pennsylvania, and once in Marin County, California. Harry signed our copy of "The Great Libertarian Offer", and we got a chance to speak with him at the Marin County event. I believe he said that very day was his wedding anniversary. He obviously would have rather been with Pamela then, but Harry and Pamela made many personal sacrifices for the cause of liberty. I am intensely saddened to hear of his death last evening. Harry meant so much to me. His 2000 campaign inspired me to get more actively involved in politics: I ran for local office in 2001, and for Congress in 2002. I often referred to Harry's books and Web site for ideas on how to answer questions and present my own views in a more compelling, concise way. The world has lost one of its best men. Thankfully, Harry's legacy will live on through his many books and other writings, and through the memory of millions of fans like me. But the world will never be the same without him. Harry, thank you! 5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Libertarian Offer, May 12, 2007 By G. Predmore (Rushsylvania, Ohio USA) Harry Browne is why I became a Libertarian. He presents the Libertarian standpoint in a down-to-earth matter that is easy to follow. Harry you're still the greatest. R.I.P.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful: 4.0 out of 5 stars Solutions for America from a Libertarian Presidential Candidate., October 11, 2008 By Scripture Studier (WI,USA) Harry Browne wrote "The Great Libertarian Offer" to express his platform as a Libertarian Party candidate for president. This is a straightforward book that addresses a lot of common concerns of citizens. The complaint of government abandoning Constitutional laws and the erosion of civil liberties are even more relevant today. Especially considering that this book was published in 2000 prior to the PATRIOT ACT. On the Supreme Court Mr. Browne observes: "On the really important matters concerning the role of government, they all agree that the federal government is more important than the Constitution." The author cites an August 1999 Capitol Hill Blue report on Congressional members' civil and criminal court litigations that is sobering and worse than I would have expected! He also opines that taxpayer money is basically a tool to enrich the chief supporters of Washington politicians. It's hard to argue with that! Mr. Browne uses every opportunity that he can to advocate the repeal of the federal income tax. This idea has gained some publicity with some of the latest Republican presidential candidates. Along with the proposal to eliminate the income tax, he also offers some interesting perspectives on the national sale tax and the flat tax. He doesn't support either of these alternatives. I think his proposal of eliminating corporate taxes is risky. If you don't either regulate or charter corporations, can you trust corporations not to excessively pursue personal wealth and greed? His 4-point foreign policy plan can be summed by this quote from page 115. "Libertarians know that government's role isn't to police the world - or even to win wars. Government's role is to keep us out of wars - and to protect us from foreign enemies, not create them." On crime, the author supports concealed carry laws and opposes gun control. A lot of these proposals are very similar to Ron Paul's. The most notable quote that conveys a great portion of "The Great Libertarian Offer" is found on page 44. "Our American heritage is one of individual liberty, personal responsibility, and freedom from a government strictly limited by a written Constitution." I recommend this book for anyone interested in studying the Libertarian idea of government. 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful: 4.0 out of 5 stars Libertarianism 101, October 11, 2008 By golgotha.gov (Texas) Harry Browne was a great spokesman for libertarianism in the 1990s. He started out writing financial advice books before becoming the Libertarian Party's presidential candidate in 1996 and 2000. This book was written to promote his 2000 campaign. Harry was also one of the founders of the "Downsize DC" Foundation which sponsors a lot of very wise legislation such as the 'Read the Bills Act' and the 'Write the Laws Act'. One thing that distinguishes Harry Browne's Libertarian writings from others is his "tone". He doesn't really engage in the "fiery rhetoric" that Libertarians are known for. Perhaps it is worth noting that one of his earlier books ("How I Found Freedom In An Unfree World") could be classified as a selfhelp book. His writing are largely calm and aimed at people who are totally unacquainted with his position. Harry lays out what are basically the essentials of the Libertarian perspective on government. That is to say, that the government should have as small as possible a role in the daily lives of U.S. citizens. He advocates some things that are often bandied but never realized, such as elimination of the federal income tax and the total expansion of free markets. The drug war and gun rights are given considerable space as is to be expected. He even addresses environmentalism! There are considerable disagreements within Libertarian circles on the issues of abortion and

immigration. Since September 11, foreign policy issues have divided many Libertarians as well. This book doesn't really address abortion, but it does advocate a foreign policy of noninterventionism. As for immigration, Harry recommends cutting welfare state activities so as to give "free loaders" less of an incentive to come here and encourage immigration from people who want to come and work. Harry Browne was a great spokesman for this worldview. This book is easy to read but it isn't "dumbed down" or a "puff" piece. It isn't of much use to people who are well-versed in libertarianism, but it is a great book to show to people who are curious & want to know what the movement is all about. R.I.P. Harry Browne 1933-2006

The following was written by Harry to be read during his funeral service [2006]... Setting Your Sights As I look back over my life, I can see so many ways in which I could have done things better than I did, and I certainly wish I'd learned a lot of things sooner than I did. And yet I have enjoyed a wonderful life. I'm married to the ideal woman. I have had the good fortune to be associated in business with highly competent, honest, compatible people. I've had a book that was #1 on the best-seller list, and others that sold well above average. I've had first-class friends in many different areas of my life. I've been able to live in three countries and enjoy the best the world has to offer. I was honored to be the Presidential candidate of the Libertarian Party. To have made so many mistakes, and yet to have had so much. It proves that you don't have to be perfect to succeed. When I die (if ever), I'd like the epitaph on my tombstone to read: "I didn't do everything I wanted to do, I didn't become everything I wanted to be, But because I aimed for the stars, I reached the top of the world." I don't advise being careless or sloppy. I do advise that you hold fast to your beliefs and act in the best way you know how-but then forgive yourself whenever you fail to measure up to your standards. You will never be perfect. But you can be free and happy. I hope you make it. ~Harry Browne

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->