You are on page 1of 2

Governance of EITI Implementation in Liberia

The Liberia Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (LEITI) is led by a governing board called the LEITI multi-stakeholders Steering Group ("Group"). Membership in the Group includes

1. the Government of Liberia, represented by the Ministers of Finance; the Minister of Lands, Mines, and Energy, The Minister of Internal Affairs, and other agencies;

2. the Civil Society, represented by the Publish What You Pay, the Liberia National Bar Association, and the National Council of Chiefs and Traditional leaders; and

3. the Private Sector, represented by Arcelor Mittal Liberia, Amlib, Liberia Timbers Association, and the Miners and Brokers Association.

The Group is chaired by the Minister of Finance, who is also the LEITI Champion. The Minister of Lands, Mines and Energy is the co-chairperson of the Group.

The LEITI also has a distinct Secretariat that is established, staffed and supported by the Group. The four-person Secretariat is headed by T. Negbalee Warner. The Deputy Head of the Secretariat is Edward R Smith and the Executive Secretary is Hnede Berrian.

LEITI Chairperson

Hon. Antoinette M. Sayeh LEITI Chairperson Ministry of Finance Post Box 10-9013 Monrovia, Liberia Tel: +231 6 656 707 E-Mail:

LEITI Focal Point

T. Negbalee Warner Head of Secretariat Post Box 4074 4th Floor, Ministry of Finance Building Broad Street 1000 Monrovia 10, Liberia Tel: +231 6 558 991 / +231 77 558 991 E-Mail: or