P. 1
Utah 2012 Dl Handbook

Utah 2012 Dl Handbook

|Views: 18,995|Likes:
Published by drivershandbooks
Utah 2012 Dl Handbook
Utah 2012 Dl Handbook

More info:

Published by: drivershandbooks on Jul 28, 2013
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

08/22/2014

pdf

text

original

Utah is a member of both the Driver License Compact
(DLC) and the Non-Resident Violator Compact
(NRVC).
The DLC provides guidelines for greater
cooperation among members in driver license matters.
Among other things, member jurisdictions exchange
driver records and forward convictions for traffic
offenses to the driver’s home state. Forty-five states,
plus the District of Columbia (Washington D.C.), are
members of the DLC. States that are NOT members
are:

• Georgia • Massachusetts • Wisconsin • Michigan
• Tennessee

The NRVC provides for members to forward notices
from their courts that an out-of-state driver has failed to
comply with the terms of a traffic citation.
1.

The driver’s home state will suspend the driver’s

privilege to drive until it receives satisfactory evidence
that the driver has complied with the terms of the

citation in the member’s state.

This Compact also facilitates release of out-of-state
drivers who are cited by law enforcement, instead of
incarcerating them or requiring posting of bond. Forty-
four states, plus the District of Columbia (Washington
D.C.), are members of the NRVC. States that are NOT
members are:

• Alaska • California • Michigan • Montana • Oregon
• Wisconsin

PERSONS WHO MAY NOT HAVE A UTAH LICENSE

The following list outlines conditions under which you
may not be issued a Utah driver license:
1. If you are under the required age of 16.
2. If your driving privilege is denied, suspended,
revoked, or disqualified.
3. If you are unable to understand highway signs in
the English language.
4. If you are physically or mentally unable to drive
safely.
5. If you have not passed the required examinations.
6. If you have a traffic ticket or other warrant which
has not been settled.
7. If you are not a resident of the state.
8. If you are under 18 years of age, and have not
held a learner permit issued for six months.

DRIVING BY MINORS
YOUTHFUL DRIVER RESTRICTIONS

A person younger than 17 years of age may not
operate a motor vehicle upon any highway (ANY public
roadway) between the hours of 12:00 a.m. and 5:00
a.m. except for the following:
1. When accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21
years of age who is occupying a seat next to the
driver;
2. Driving is in connection with the driver’s
employment, including the trip to and from the

driver’s residence to the driver’s employment;
3. The driver drives directly to the driver’s residence
from a school-sponsored activity if transportation to
the activity is provided by a school or school
district, and the provided transportation
commenced from and returns to the school
property where the driver is enrolled.
4. The driver is on assignment of a farmer or rancher
and the driver is engaged in an agricultural
operation; or
5. In an emergency.

A person may not operate a motor vehicle upon any
highway (ANY public roadway) with any passenger who
is not an immediate family member of the driver until:
1. Six months from the date the person’s driver
license was issued; or
2. The person reaches 18 years of age.

Exceptions to this rule are:

a. If accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21
years of age;
b. On assignment of a farmer or rancher and the
driver is engaged in an agricultural operation;
c. In an emergency.

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->