P. 1
Utah 2012 Dl Handbook

Utah 2012 Dl Handbook

|Views: 18,995|Likes:
Published by drivershandbooks
Utah 2012 Dl Handbook
Utah 2012 Dl Handbook

More info:

Published by: drivershandbooks on Jul 28, 2013
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

08/22/2014

pdf

text

original

When you drive at night, you are in an entirely new
environment. It is easy to become disoriented because
you no longer can use trees, houses or other objects to
help judge your location or distances. Glaring
headlights also hinder your judgment. Bicyclists and
pedestrians may dart in front of your car without
warning. You are more likely to become sleepy and
cause a crash. For these and other reasons, night
driving is an important skill you should develop. The
following are some rules everyone should follow:
1. If a car is coming toward you, dim your lights
before you get within 500 feet of the oncoming car.
If you are following a car, dim your lights when you
are within 300 feet of the vehicle ahead of you.
2. Use your lights any time conditions keep you from
seeing 1,000 feet ahead. These conditions include
fog, stormy weather or dust.

31.

3. Turn on your headlights no later than half an hour
after sunset and keep them on until half an hour
before sunrise.
4. If another driver does not dim his/her lights, dim

yours anyway. Blinding the other driver to “get
even” only results in two drivers not being able to

see. If you do not look at the lights of the oncoming
car, you should be able to maintain proper control
of your vehicle and be able to continue your driving
without mishap.
5. It is wise to slow down a little at night. The law

requires that you drive at a “reasonable and
prudent” speed. That means, especially at night, if

you drive the posted speed limit, it may be too fast.
6. Be sure that you can stop within the distance that
is lighted by your headlights.
7. Do not drive at night with a dirty, foggy, or icy
windshield. Although not safe at any time,
windshields that are not clear at night will cause
headlights and other lights to glare, which may
result in the driver being blinded.
8. You should check all of your lights often to see
whether any of the lights or signals are not
functioning properly.
9. A person younger than 17 years of age, whether
resident or nonresident of this state, may not
operate a motor vehicle upon any highway of this
state between the hours of 12:00 a.m. and 5:00
a.m. unless one of the following exceptions
applies:
a. the driver is accompanied by a licensed driver
at least 21 years of age who is occupying a
seat next to the driver;
b. driving is in connection with a driver’s
employment, including the trip to and from the

driver’s residence and the driver’s

employment;

c. the driver drives to the driver’s residence from
a driver’s school-sponsored activity if:
transportation to the activity is provided by a
school or school district, and the provided
transportation commences from and returns to
the school property where the driver is
enrolled.
d. The driver is on assignment of a farmer or
rancher and the driver is engaged in an
agricultural operation; or
e. In an emergency.

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->