Captain Charles Sturt Nada

Captain Charles Sturt

The original naming of the Murray River was the "Hume" by Hamilton Hume on 16th November, 1824 in honour of his father. While his fellow traveller Captain William Hovell claimed to have named it in honour of his "fellow traveller, Hamilton Hume". The original sighting of the Murray River by explorers was by Hume and Thomas Boyd near where Albury now stands. Sturt however, later chose the Murray to honour Sir George Murray, Secretary of State for the Colonies in the British Government in 1830. Major Thomas Mitchell recorded the Aboriginal name of the river was "Millewah". Charles Sturt was born in Bengal, India in 1795 and educated at Harrow, England. Sturt joined the British Army, 39th Regiment of Foot in 1813. He served at the end of the Peninsular War and in Canada. In 1827 he was posted to Sydney, where he became Military Secretary to Governor Darling. Sturt hadn't relished the idea of going to Australia, but as he became more familiar with the country he changed his mind–there were so many new and engrossing interests: the vastness of the continent's undiscovered spaces, and the spectacle of a nation in the making. Sturt stayed for twenty-six years and combined exploring with the building of Australia as a nation. He was prominent in the colonisation of South Australia and served a term as Colonial Secretary. Captain Charles Sturt's first journey to discover the length of the Murray River was in 1828.

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful