You are on page 1of 1

Interpretations of Ancient Chinese Hours 时辰表

In ancient China time was interpreted in terms of twelve sectors namely, 子 丑 寅 卯 辰 巳

午 未 申 酉 戌 亥. Every sectors represent two hours with the exceptions of 子时 (Zi Shi) is
split into two sub-sectors as 子正 (00:00 to 01:00) and 下子时 (23:00 to 01:00). 子正 (Zi
Zheng) states the start of a new day 下子时 (Xia Zi Shi) also known as 夜子时 (Ye Zi Shi) is
consider as end of a day.

List of the hours 时辰表: --

子 (Zi) 23:00 to 01:00

丑 (Chou) 01:00 to 03:00
寅 (Yin) 03:00 to 05:00
卯 (Mao) 05:00 to 07:00
辰 (Chen) 07:00 to 09:00
巳 (Si) 09:00 to 11:00
午 (Wu) 11:00 to 13:00
未 (Wei) 13:00 to 15:00
申 (Shen) 15:00 to 17:00
酉 (You) 17:00 to 19:00
戌 (Xu) 19:00 to 21:00
亥 (Hai) 21:00 to 23:00

You might also like