P. 1
NASA ISS Expedition 16 Press Kit

NASA ISS Expedition 16 Press Kit

|Views: 182|Likes:
Published by Orion2015
NASA ISS Expedition 16 Press Kit. Published by NASA in 2007.
NASA ISS Expedition 16 Press Kit. Published by NASA in 2007.

More info:

Categories:Types, Research, Science
Published by: Orion2015 on Aug 22, 2009
Copyright:Attribution Non-commercial

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF, TXT or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

10/27/2012

pdf

text

original

Separation Command to Begin to Open Hooks and Latches;
Undocking Command + 0 mins.

2:10 a.m. CT on Oct. 21

7:10 GMT on Oct. 21

11:10 a.m. Moscow time on Oct. 21

13:10 p.m. Kazakhstan time on Oct. 21

Hooks Opened/Physical Separation of Soyuz from Zarya Module nadir port
at .12 meter/sec.; Undocking Command + 3 mins.

2:13 a.m. CT on Oct. 21

7:13 GMT on Oct. 21

11:13 a.m. Moscow time on Oct. 21

13:13 p.m. Kazakhstan time on Oct. 21

OCTOBER 2007

RUSSIAN SOYUZ TMA

45

Separation Burn from ISS (15 second burn of the Soyuz engines, 0.65 meters/sec;
Soyuz distance from the ISS is ~20 meters)

2:16 a.m. CT on Oct. 21

7:16 GMT on Oct. 21

11:16 a.m. Moscow time on Oct. 21

13:16 p.m. Kazakhstan time on Oct. 21

Deorbit Burn (appx 4:35 in duration, 115.2 m/sec; Soyuz distance from the ISS
is ~12 kilometers; Undocking Command appx + ~2 hours, 30 mins.)

4:45:45 a.m. CT on Oct. 21

9:45:45 GMT on Oct. 21

13:45:45 p.m. Moscow time on Oct. 21

15:45:45 p.m. Kazakhstan time on Oct. 21

46

RUSSIAN SOYUZ TMA

OCTOBER 2007

Separation of Modules (~23 mins. after Deorbit Burn; Undocking Command + ~2 hours,
57 mins.)

5:10 a.m. CT on Oct. 21

10:10 GMT on Oct. 21

14:10 p.m. Moscow time on Oct. 21

16:10 p.m. Kazakhstan time on Oct. 21

Entry Interface (400,000 feet in altitude; 3 mins. after Module Separation; 31 mins. after
Deorbit Burn; Undocking Command + ~3 hours)

5:12:44 a.m. CT on Oct. 21

10:12:44 GMT on Oct. 21

14:12:44 p.m. Moscow time on Oct. 21

16:12:44 p.m. Kazakhstan time on Oct. 21

OCTOBER 2007

RUSSIAN SOYUZ TMA

47

Command to Open Chutes (8 mins. after Entry Interface; 39 mins. after Deorbit Burn;
Undocking Command + ~3 hours, 8 mins.)

5:20:57 a.m. CT on Oct. 21

10:20:57 GMT on Oct. 21

14:20:57 p.m. Moscow time on Oct. 21

16:20:57 p.m. Kazakhstan time on Oct. 21

Two pilot parachutes are first deployed, the
second of which extracts the drogue chute.
The drogue chute is then released,
measuring 24 square meters, slowing the
Soyuz down from a descent rate of
230 meters/second to 80 meters/second.

The main parachute is then released,
covering an area of 1,000 meters; it slows
the Soyuz to a descent rate of
7.2 meters/second; its harnesses first allow
the Soyuz to descend at an angle of
30 degrees to expel heat, then shifts the
Soyuz to a straight vertical descent.

48

RUSSIAN SOYUZ TMA

OCTOBER 2007

Soft Landing Engine Firing (six engines fire to slow the Soyuz descent rate to
1.5 meters/second just 0.8 meter above the ground)

Landing - appx. 2 seconds

Landing (~50 mins. after Deorbit Burn; Undocking Command + ~3 hours, 24 mins.)

5:35:57:11 a.m. CT on Oct. 21

10:35:57:11 GMT on Oct. 21

14:35:57:11 p.m. Moscow time on Oct. 21

16:35:57:11 p.m. Kazakhstan time on
Oct. 21 (1:52 before sunset at the landing
site)

OCTOBER 2007

COLUMBUS LABORATORY

49

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->