You are on page 1of 183
Lom @ednicge ener Cont acre rity cy .7) THE CONSTITUTION OF UGANDA 1962 Uganda Constitutional Commission P.O, Box 7206 KAMPALA PREFACE The 1962 Constitution of Uganda has been reprinted by the Uganda Constitutional Commission in response to public demand to have an opportunity to examine, study and evaluate it with a view to giving in- formed suggestions on the current process of formulating a new National Constitution for Uganda. This Independence Constitution was never widely circulated and as a result very few institutions and individuals have copies of it. The version which is now published contains the first Constitutional Amendment of 1963 which created the Office of Constitutional Presidency. Although many Ugandans mistakedly refer to this Constitu- tion as a federal one, in studying it people will find it included federal, semi-federal and unitary principles and sections. The Constitution carries five important schedules which are the constitu- tions for the kingdoms of Buganda, Bunyoro, Ankole, Tooro and the territory of Busoga. These constitutional arrangements should be studied with full reference to the main text of the Constitution. Unlike the Constitution of 1967, the Independence Constitution was preceded by two serious consultations: the Wild Committee of 1959 and the Munster Commission of 1961. The Constitution was finalized during two Constitutional Conferences in London: the first one at Lancaster House between 18th Sept and 9th October 1961 and the second at Marl- borough House in June 1962. It was then debated and approved by the British Parliament. This was the Constitution which was suspended and then abolished by the then Prime Minister in 1966. This Constitution demands a very careful study in order to evaluate it objectively and generate views that can genuinely enrich the current Constitutional Debate. Printed at Marianum Press, P.O. Box 11 KISUBI - UGANDA