Land Area

Maguindanao has a total land area of 597,052.79 hectares. The Province is composed of Thirty Six (36)
Municipalities with 486 barangays. Sultan Kudarat municipality is the seat of the Provincial Capitol.

Land Capability

Classes A, BE, BW, BS are classified as very good land. These land areas are suitable for crop cultivation
with varying requirements for soil conservation, while DE is classified as fairly good land that requires
special soil management for its very low fertility. This land is suitable for limited cultivation and best
suited to pasture or forest.

Soil Classification

There about ten types of soil found in the Province of Maguindanao. Among the principal soil types are
clay loam and sandy loam, which are favorable for the cultivation of rice and corn. These soil types are
with the areas covered by the municipalities of Datu Piang, Buluan, Datu Paglas, Upi, Ampatuan, Datu
Odin Sinsuat, Kabuntalan, Sultan Kudarat and Parang. Buldon and Matanog have generally sandy loam
soil. Mountain soil, which are undifferentiated, northwestern and southwestern portion of the province.
Ampatuan and Datu Odin Sinsuat have this type of soil.

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful