You are on page 1of 1

The Oliva Model

According to Oliva, a model curriculum should be simple, comprehensive and systematic.The
Oliva Curriculum development model is composed of 12 components, namely:

a. Component 1: Philosophical formulation, target, mission and vision of the institution
b. Component 2: Analysis of the needs of the community where the school is located
c. Components 3 and 4: General purpose and special purpose curriculum
d. Component 5: Organizing the design and implement curriculum
e. Component 6 and 7: Describe the curriculum in the form of the formulation of general
objectives and specific learning
f. Component 8: Define the learning strategy
g. Component 9: Preliminary studies on possible strategies or assessment techniques to be used
h. Component 10: Implement the learning strategy
i. Components 11 and 12: Evaluation of learning and curriculum evaluation

To make the Oliva Model more simplistic, it can be set forth in 17 specific steps:

1. Specify the needs of the students in general.
2. Specify the needs of society.
3. Write a statement of philosophy and aims of education.
4. Specify the needs of students in your school.
5. Specify the needs of the particular community.
6. Specify the needs of the subject matter.
7. Specify the curriculum goals of your school.
8. Specify the curriculum objectives of your school.
9. Organize and implement the curriculum.
10. Specify instructional goals.
11. Specify instructional objectives.
12. Specify instructional strategies.
13. Begin selection of evaluation techniques.
14. Implement instructional strategies.
15. Make final selection of evaluation techniques.
16. Evaluate instruction and modify instructional components.
17. Evaluate the curriculum and modify curricular components.

Oliva's model fits well with ISLLC 2. The importance of evaluating the curriculum and instruction
making the necessary modifications relates directly to 2.2a and 2.2b

Excerpted from: