I I I

From: Elizabeth Cook [m'ailto:elizabeth@elizabethscook.com]
Sent: Tuesday, December 13, 2011 2:37 PM
To: Walton, Kelvin
Cc: Brill, Lori ~.; J ames Cauthen
Subject: Strickland and Son's Liens
Laurie and Ketn. I I
Please ProVid~copies of any information related to any bonds that might be applicable to the Liens that were filed against
public propertYI in an effort to obtain payment from the Contractor pursuant to our telephone conversation of thiJ day.
I t was a pleasure to speak with you. Any persuasive authority you might exercise with the Contractor since you have paid
the Contractor in full and the Contractor has not properly paid the sub-contractor would be sincerely appreciated. The
sub-contractor fully performed all work based upon the Contract and is entitled to payment. I understand the sub-
contractors we e approved by you based upon Dekalb County's Ordinance to use local sub-contractors. I t seems as
though the cojtractor is illegally retaining payment. I ,
Our goal is to r[ach the Contractor by filing the Material Men's Liens. I n order to perfect a Lien when a Sub-contractor is
seeking payment, the Subcontractor must sue the Contractor, first. We seek a quick resolution to this problem and
require only proper payment. Your help would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you,
Elizabeth S. Cook
Attorney at Law
4840 Roswell Road, Building B, #100
Atlanta, Georgia 30342
(404) 257-1720 Telephone
(404) 257-0696 Facsimile
Elizabeth@ElizabethSCook.com <mailto:Elizabeth@ElizabethSCook.com>
NOTI CE: This email and all attachments have been sent to you from an ATTORNEY'S OFFI CE and are
CONFI DENTI AL and intended SOLELY for the recipients as identified in the "TO", "CC" and "BCC" lines of this
EMaii. I f you are not the intended recipient, your receipt of this EMaii and its attachments is the result of an
inadvertent disclosure or unauthorized transmittal. Sender reserves and asserts all rights to confidentiality,
including all privileges, which may apply. Pursuant to those rights and privileges, immediately DELETE and
DESTROY all copies of the EMail and its attachments, in whatever form, and immediately NOTI FY the Sendel' of
your receipt of this EMail. Do not review, copy, or rely on in any way the contents of this EMail and its
attachments. NO DUTI ES ARE I NTENDED OR CREATED BY THI S COMMUNI CATI ON. I f you have not officiililly
retained this Attorney's Office to represent you, this firm does NOT represent you as your attorney. You are
encouraged to retain counsel of your choice if you desire to do so. All rights of the Sender for violations of
confidentiality and privileges applicable to this EMail and any attachments are expressly reserved.
2
o~\\UfmoQ. J
~f .DeKalb County Purchasing andContracting
\_JContract Compliance Division
~I
.~.~--~ t='=.· .--=-.= ... ~.. =... -:-::::.- .. :::-- .~,,:-::::-: .. -- .. ::::::-,.-:::::::,,--::::::::-:::::,,--=.•• -::::;.~-:::::.-::-::::;:-::- .:-:::::::0 .._ .=-: .... =..=. =.u::::::.=.=.-:;.:---= .. :::-::~ =_ =_ = _ _ =" _ ==~=_ 4 _ = _ _ ='r-=.• · .· :::-=· ,·
Maloof Administrqtion Building 404-371-4795·404-371-2511Fax
1300 CommerceD riv e, lst Floor controct@coJielwlb.g'a.us
D ecatur. Georgia 30030 www.co.dekalb.ga.us
May 1 ,20 0 9
Mr. opieStrickland. ill
STRICKLAND&SONCONSTRUCTION, LLC
6235 Short Road, Unit #B
Fairburn, Georgia 30 213
Re: CERTMCATION: oLSBE within DeKalb (LSBE.DeKalb)
I ZI LSBE outside DeKalb withiB MSA (LSBE-MSA)
oMiDority Business Enterprise (MBE)
oWoman Business Enterprise (WBE)
EXPIRES: May19,20 11
Dear . Strickland:
con~tulations. Y our company meets the requirements for certification as indicated above. This letter
will se,rveas proof of your certification status. Please attach a copy of this certification letter with each
bidor [proposal that you submit as a prime or sub-contractor. Y our firmwill be certified for a period of
two (2) years fromthe date of this letter. To apply for recertification, you must submit a Notarized
Application for Recertification at least sixty (60 ) days prior to expiration of the two year period.
Please be advised, Contract Compliance reserves the right to schedule on-site inspections of any business
certified under this program. AnY chqngl! in ownership or control of your business. address or teIf!Rhone
1istinW) during the cert!fication period must bepromot1y r!U?fJrledto Contract C01PJ!liance. Failure to
keep this office notified will result inyour company's removal fromour list of certified vendors.
Certification does not guarantee any present or future contracts with DeKalb County. All registered vendors
must take thenecessary steps to become apart of the County's procurement process andbidcompetitively
for business. Supplier Registration Forms areavailable inour office andonline, at
htqJ :l/www.co.dekalb.ga.us/purchasing/BidsAndRFPs.btm •
We wish you continued success in your business endeavors. If you haveany questions or require further
assistance, please do not hesitate to contact our office by telephone at (4 0 4 ) 371-4 795 or by email at
contract@co.dekalb.ga.us.
Sin re ,
kon. ~
Contract Compliance Officer. Sr.
L
· - - - - - - - - - - - - - - ~I I \
.~I\UNTI..~ .
~ ~~I I
.f't>~~~ ,DeKalb County Department of Purchasing alut Contracting
\~ Contract Compliance Division
~
Maloof Administra i. n Building
1300 Commerce D ~~. 2nd Floor
Decatur, Georgia 3/ ~O
J uly 11,20 11
. 4fJ4-371-4795' 404-371-2511 Fax
contract@co.dekalb.ga.us
www.co.dekalb.ga.us
COpy
Mr. Hopie Strickland, ill
Strickland & SonConstruction, LLC
6235 Short Road- Unit B
Fairburn, GA 30 213
Re: LSBE Reo-CERTIFICATION:
oLSBE -UeKalb) (Inside DeKalb County)
I ZI LSBE MSA (Outside DeKaib County)
oMinority Business Enterprise (MBE)
oWoman Business Enterprise (WBE)
~~: J ~11, 2013
Dear Mr. Strickland:
Congratulations. Y our company meets the requirements for re-certification as indicated above. This
letter will serve as proof of your certification status. Please ~ch aropy of this re-certificatioD letter
with each bidor proposal that you submit as a prime or sub-contractor. Y our firmwill becertified
for aperiod of two (2) years fromthe date of this letter. To re-apply for recertification,you must submit
a Notarized Application for Recertification at least sixty (60) days prior to expiration of the two year
period.
Please beadvised, Contract Compliance reserves the right to schedule on-siteinspections of any business
certified under this program. Any change in ownership or control of v oW' business. including contact
information during the certification period must be oromptlv reported to Contract Compliance. Failure
tokeep this office notified will result inyour company's removal fromour list of certified vendors.
Certification doesnot guarantee anypresent or futureawarding of contractswith DeKalb County. All
registeredvendors must takethenecessary stepsto become apart of theCounty'sprocurement processand
bidcompetitively for business. Supplier Registration Fonns are availableinour officeandonlineat
htq?:/Iwww.dekalbcountyga.gov/purchasingIBidsAndRFPs.htm. .
Wewish you continued success in your business endeavors. J fyou baveany questions or require further
assistance, please do not hesitate to contact our office by telephone at (4 0 4 ) 371-6395 or by email at
contract@dekalbcounh'ga.gov.
~r~
Adrein Walker
Contract Compliance ~fficer, Sr.
. I
I
1/1
MEMORANDUM
TO: Debra Brewer, Deputy Director, Contract Compliance Division
Department of Purchasing and Contracting
FROM: Felton B. Williams, Senior Contract Compliance Officer
DATE: September 28, 2009
SUBJECT: ITB REPORT
ers
I Phyllis Stew:::art=-=- _
L-.--'---'----'-'- .~ _ _ ._ . _ _ _ _ _. _
W~· ~: >~l Z~~~~~~~~~~~- - ~
J nitedSite Services of
I 18,2
1

Georgia, LLC/F • I 2 .26,34 ,4 3-
I Georgia Portable' ~ _
I
Mass Services, Inc. d/b/a 1- 24 .12 ,
Comfort Zone 2,24 J 2 I
I -- 3-6,9,11- -l-I ----s· '-t-ri-ck-I -a-n-c-d-:&,----::s-on-
I Southeastern Eenno 1~,19,20 ,27-' . Constr~ction, LLC
I
Disposal Services, Inc. 30 ,33,35- I (LSBE-MSAlMBE 20 °/1.1)
37,39,4 0 ,4 ~ ._ . _
.. _ -- -------r.-
Memo to:
Debra Brewer
ITB #30 0 14 76
September 28, 20 0 9
Page2
cc: Kelvin L. Walton, Director, Department of Purchasing andContracting
No No
, I I
,I I
I t
_ _ J ,_ _
MEMORANDUM
TO: Debra Brewer, Deputy Director, Contract Compliance Division
Department of Purchasing and Contracting
FROM: Felton B. Williams, Senior Contract Compliance Officer
DATE: October 12, 20 0 9
SUBJ ECT: ITBREPORT
ITBSUMMARY
ITBNumber 30 0 14 76
ITB Title Portable Toilets, (Rental)
Bid Openine; Date September 17,20 0 9
Staff Readfna Bids J eff AUen
Staff Recordin!! Bids Imani Marley-Husbands
Total Number of Bidders 5
Senior Buyer Phyllis Stewart
WW BIDDER INFORMATION MEETING SPECIFICATIONS & LSBE REQUIREMENTS
Low Bidder Southeastern Econo Disposal
%LSBE Participation 10 0 %
%LSBE Sub-eoatractmz Participation 20 %
Good Faith Efforts Met? Y es
*LOW BIDDER INFORMATION MEETING SPECIFICATIONS ALTERNATE
Low Bidder United Site Services of Georgia, LLCIFKA Georgia
Portables
%LSBE Partiei ation 0 %
Good Faith Efforts Met? No Good Faith Efforts were shown; however, there were
available LSBE that couldhave provided services onthis
contract.
1,7,8,15-18,21-
26,34 ,4 3-4 5
*United Site Services of Georgia,
LLCIFKA Geo taPortables No No
No
No
Mass Services, Inc. d/b/a Comfort
Zone Portables
No
2,32
Strickland &
Son
Construction,
LLC
(LSBE-
MSAlMBE
20 %
3-6,9,11,12-
14 ,19,20 ,27-
30 ,33,35-37,39,4 0 ,4 2
Southeastern Econo Disposal
Services, IDe.
(LSBE-MSA) I
ALL ITEMS
(1 thru 4 5)
Y es
Memo:
To: Debra Brewer
RE: ITB 30 0 14 76
Page 2
Cc: Kelvin L. Walton, Director
Department of Purchasing andContracting
, ~
I I
Gmail - S Garrett Bad Check - Secondary Contract Pagelof2
I
iI
Hopie Strickland <stricklandsonconstruction@gmail.com>
S Garrett Bad Check - Secondary Contr.ilct
-.------ .. -------------.---------.-.----.-----.-------------- --------------------------------.-._ ----------t ... -.
Hopie Strickland <stricklandsonconstruction@gmaiLcorn> Fri, May 20, 2011 at 9:16 AM
I
I
To: "Walker, Sharon" <swalker@dekalbcountyga_ gov>
Ms_ Walker,
Here is the original copies of the checks and lien release that S Garrett presented for Senior Center. Also, I have
included the invoice from the Asbestos subcontractor that was deducted from my contract as well as the two contracts I
had with their Roof I nstaller on Recorders Court and Pole Bridge. Once again you can see that S Garrett and I
Company does accept company invoices from their subcontractors as they had to have a contract with the Asbestos I
subcoe bid requirements. Also, the Roof I nstaller should have the same contract requirements as Strickland &Son
Construction. So here are the questions that are evident?
1) Why is S Garrett and Company charging Strickland &Son Construction for roof access system, portable toilets,
trash chute, scaffold system and safety devices and not charging their Roof I nstaller of their Asbestos Subcontractor?
2) Why is S Garrett and Company requiring Strickland &Son Construction to use S Garrett forms for invoicing and
reporting and not requiring Roof I nstaller and Asbestos Subcontractor to do the same?
3) Why is S Garrett and Company referencing check #s on checks and lien releases submitted to Strickland &Son
Construction
4) Why is S Garrett and Company requiring Strickland &Son Construction to sign notarized pay requests forms
certifying receipt of payments that Strickland &Son Construction has not received, but these same documents will b
r
submitted to the Federal government to receive grant funds? I
5) Why is S Garrett and Company trying to enforce contract wording that is in direct contradiction to the LSBE I
Ordinance and in violation of the Federal False Claims Act? !
The answer to these questions is that Strickland &Son Construction will not be a party to these fraudulent ac~sto
create false paperwork and pay "Kickbacks" which are felony acts and in direct violation of the Federal False Claims
Act.
No, Strickland &Son Construction cannot agree to reimburse a Prime on a legally bid stimulus project
No, Strickland &Son Construction cannot agreet to reduce the contract, thereby acting as a willing participant to
qualify the bid to beat out other bidders and defraud the federal government. Bid was higher than all other bids but met
qualifications, thus both subcontractor and Prime are both compensated by more money.
No, Strickland &Son Construction cannot agree to do roof installation work under the heading of demo and job
cleaning to defraud the manufacturer, the County and the federal government.
No, Strickland &Son Construction cannot sign warranties and guarantees for non-warranty work, thereby providing
paperwork that can be used fraudulently.
Strickland &Son Construction can only do the scope of work on record for the recorded amount All other work must
be paid and documented once payment is received.
Thanks.
Hopie Strickland, iii
President
Strickland 8. Son Constru ti911LlC
6235 Short Road. Unit # I
Fairburn, GA 30213
Phone: (770) 780-4928
www_ stricklandsonconstruction.;:;ervicfiS.Officelive.com
I
https:llmail.google.comlmaill?ui=2&ik=2af640d078&v ieUF=ntRTcQn_~"' .. < n
; {
, t. L , J
Strickland & Son
6235 Short Road, Unit #B, Atlanta, GA 30 213
S. Garrett and Company
321 OldBremen Road
Carrollton, GA 30 0 17
DeKalb County Purchasing and Contracting Dept.
2
nd
Floor, Room 20 2
130 0 Commerce Drive
Decatur, GA 30 0 30
J une 13, 20 11
Re: Violationof FalseClaimsAct - DeKalb County Contract #10 -90 20 17
Dear Sirs and Madame:
Please be advised that any subcontract issued under DeKalb County Contract #10 -~0 20 17
containing items in violation of the DeKalb LSBE Ordinance is a violation of the False Claims
Act and a breach of the contract with DeKalb County. Any attempt to enforce said violations
(including Contractor-requested kick-backs, creation of false checks and documents) and
subsequent contract breach is subject to being reported to the Department of Energy Inspector
General.
If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.
Sincerely,
I
H-opte SbiC~lCfVt-Ol, trI
Hopie Strickland, III
Ph: (770) 7&0-49 &
Email: stricklandsonconstruction@gmail.com
Enclosure
I I
I I
I
Gmail - Fw: S Garrett Fraudulent Check
Page 1of2
G~

I
Hopie Striekland .cstrieklandsonconstruction@gmai/.com>
Fw: 5 Garrett Fraudulent Check
Beverly Creagh <bacreagh@bellsQuth.net>
Reply-To: Beverly Creagh <bacreagh@bellsouth.net>
To: Strickland Son <stricklandsonconstruction@gmail.com>
Wed, Nov30, 2011 at 9:52 AM
BeVe~lYA. Creagh
Direct: (4 0 4 ) 60 4 -4 30 0
Fax: (404) 758-4750
Email: bacreagh@bellsouth.net
This e-mail message and any attached files are confidential and are intended
solely for the use of the addressee(s)named above. This communication may
contain material protected by local, state and/ or federal laws and regulations. If
you are not the intended recipient or person responsible for delivering this
confidential communication to the intended recipient, you have received this
communication in error, and any review, use, dissemination, forwarding, I '
printing, copying, or other distribution of this e-rnail message and any attached
files is strictly prohibited. If you have received this confidential
communication in error, please notify the sender immediately by reply e-rnail
message and permanently delete the original message.
----- Forwarded Message ---
From: Beverly Creagh <bacreagh@beiisouth.net>
To: J ames Cauthen <J ames@elizabethscook.com>
Cc: Elizabeth Cook <Elizabeth@elizabethscook.com>
Sent: Wednesday, November 3D, 2011 9:52 AM
Subject: S Garrett Fraudulent Check
J ames,
Here is acopy of the fraudulent check that the Garretts tried to pass as a
payment to Hopie. They tried to claimthat the asbestos removal was part of
Hopie's contract. They wrote this check to Strickland &Son Construction and
DiversifiedEnvironmental Management and toldHopiethat he had to sign it
before they would.pay himthe money he was owedon the roofs he had
completed. At tl's,Point, he had not been paid in over two months. Asyou look
at the check you will see that they typed in their own check # and blacked out
the routing info .n~and then created a release waiver with the typed in check #
as payment to H, pie. Immediately after Hopiecashed his check they gavehim,
he emailed the ~arretts that hewas filinga complaint with the bank andwith
DeKalb County fdir this fraudulent check as it made it appear that he had been
paid monies that he never received. Also, the check #they typed in was never
signed by him. ,Susan Garrett got scared and responded that it was a typo and I
that she would Issue anew check. However, they tried to submit that 'check to I ~I
~I ,
I
https:/ / rnail.google.comJ rnaiV?ui=2&ik=2af640d07g&vieu=nt~~~~rr),=;~h~_ .p.~~~, ~~~.•~,
Gmail - Fw: S Garrett Fraudulent Check Page2of2
DeKalb County as proof of payment to Hopie. After that Hopie had to goback
through all of his paperwork and start adding the actual monies he received
versus the amounts that were on those pay requests and releases and found
several discrepancies. Hehad to fileanother complaint in May concerning
payment on the Various Roofs project and DeKalb County had to intercede to
make the Garretts pay.
Beverly A. Creagh
Direct: (4 0 4 ) 60 4 -4 30 0
Fax: ~4 0 4 )758-4 750
Email: bacreagh@bellsouth.net
This I-mail message and any attached files are confidential and are intended
soleI}for the use of the addressee(s)named above. This communication may
coritelin material protected by local, state and/ or federal laws and regulations. If
you are not the intended recipient or person responsible for delivering this
confidential communication to the intended recipient, you have received this
communication in error, and any review, use, dissemination, forwarding,
printing, copying, or other distribution of this e-mail message and any attached
files is strictly prohibited. If you have received this confidential
communication in error, please notify the sender immediately by reply e-mail
message and permanently delete the original message.
3 attachments
~ SGarrett_BadCheck.pdf
3282K
-:i LOL VariousRoofs.pdf
1781K
"[j PB_ComplaintForm_050911.pdf
- 1061 K
Gmail - Corrupt Paperwork andPast duepayments
Page 1of 1
G iI
HopieStrickland <stricklandsonconstruction@gmail.com>
1+ Corrupt Paperwork and Past due payments
Hopie Strickland <stricklandsonconstruction@gmail.com> Thu, May 5, 2011 at 6:54 PM
To: Susan Garrett <sgarrettco@gmail.com>
Cc: "Williams, Felton 8." <tbwilliams@dekalbcountyga.gov>, swalker@dekalbcountyga.gov, Executive Director
<m7venh'ousing@yahoo.com>
Susan,
Please be advised that the check #23796 which Bill had me sign is a fraudulent check in that you have inserted
another check #23696 ilJ .tothe body of the check to imply that Strickland &Son Construction has received check
#23696 as a payment. ::Wickland &Son is not affiliated with, has no contract with and has not received any funds on
behalf of Diversified Environmental Management. I will be contacting the bank tommorrow concerning check #23696
and check #23796 requJ sting stop payment of these checks if someone is cashing them. As of today, Strickland &Son
has received $0.00 in payment on the Atlanta Senior Center Energy Star Roof. I have turned in invoices for the full
payment of Recorders Court of $33,294.00 of which there is still a balance of $11,041.06 due. I have turned in
invoices for full paymenilof Pole Bridge of $16,998.00 of which there is still a balance of $5,862.28 due. I have turned
in a partial payment request on Atalanta Senior Center for $7,810.11 as of March 24, 2011 of which no payment has
been received. Finally, I ~ave turned in a partial payment request of $3,295.44 on Wesley Chapel Library as of March
24, 2011 of which no payment has been received. Your continual threats of non-payment unless I sign documents that
allow you to keep the monies due Strickland &Son Construction will no longer be tolerated. Please make payment in
full for the outstanding i~voices in the total amount of $28,008.89 for pickup tommorrow or I will have to take further
action against S Garrett and Company.
Sincerely,
Hopie Strickland, iii
President
Strickland & Son Constr ction LlC
6235 Short Road, Unit #
Fairburn, GA 30213
Phone: (770) 780-4928
www.stricklandsonconstfuction.services.Officelive.com
7 attachments
" ::1 SGarrett_ 8adCheck.pdf
3282K
:J invoice 021811_SGC_RC.pdf
28K
~ Pay Estimate No.1 breakdown Feb 18_2011.pdf
15K
:J invoice 022511_SGC_PB.pdf
28K I
-:J Pay Estimate No.2 breakdown Feb 25_2011.pdf
16K
=.1 SC_SS_PayReq1_Revised.pdf
. 1006K
':3 WC_SS_PayReq1_Revised.pdf
988K
https://majl.google.com/majV?ui=2&ik=2af64 0 d0 7~vip'==-'9.~~~ _ _ '._
I ~
I
S. GARRETT AND COM ANY
PAY
TO THE
ORDER
OF
Dat e
04/ 14/ 11
o
I NVOI CE NO. REFERENCE AMOUNT DI SCOUNT
520115
Check Number
00023696
$ 13650. 00
NET : · AMT.
o
23790
3650. 00
I DATE AMOUNT
Strickla9
d
&SonConstruction, LLC/ 04/ ~11 ' ****3, 650. 00
Diversif*d EnVironment~;n;::;nt J. ~ ,
_ _ ....--.~~_ ~~~--= _ ." -' ~J~"'~_........., •...•.•.•...••. ~r AUTHO~ED.~=~. .l~~ , .
'QQJSi§8i'ii.
Ll1h~t
.G~
64 -20 36·611
S. GARRETT AND COMPANY i .." f" " .>~./
321 OLD BREMEN RD. "
CAR1LTON, GA 30117
(770) 8 8-9973 PH/ FAX
** THREE HOUSAND SI X HUNDRED FI FTY DOLLARS AND 00 CENTS **
CHECK NO.
00023696
II-tilll i 7 9 r III " g r 1 7 3 9as 51 I
S. GARRETT AND COMPANY
~ODtJCT OLM113 LISE Wl1H 9150 0 eNELCPE
P~~flED INUSA I h
23796
2379:
t
-, --....~--..------.~.---- ... ----
. "---'-"-----" -~-'---'--'-'-
~-.---.- .
. --_ .- . -
-_ ._ - - ->-'''' ..
CiS£Ci~mm:.~~
P'E?AfBi&AFWE'51BY " i!P&~:soo~QF~tCa
1<~iniDS 5&,.,t!!3Sib'J Hffl" " fiOl. smilti:I:~~~~~_ !ha~peri'Orma!
sndtil:3~~~~_ siiG=<:Dif!e~q:: ~~~~Cf~~~
1mms1lftbeCoft1mct(slll1S1S1l1tmis:d~~~~~a;! ~fDt! ie~ ~
plOject.
iaiooasdilgCilsliilllpa! tt;;; Ia<s~.i£s;~~~ ...-.=~tiJ e~~by~
~~hmiie e>#I P5;.I ~b{11ai! 1i"l;l;~ a -=(a;ti"~..mc:"I 1;; -:h;;-9es;dmfa-a;I~-and
IallCrUl!SliflR«mcim r.fiiAlSlaI tfej$i? ?~S~~~~~~~iEu=d fur
paymelltofS!lllcoaflacflml.!ebcr.~ar.dS$" ;" " " ~by~~f~~iiSsfi=~~'1
Fed2al..~amnDcdtsxrss.~~~e:::sSll! ~;- hg,¥ff$i#~l'!;.$;;~Wc!latl:m·$·
CoJ'qrl'if$Z6P' ~~~iiha" o*a.1'SieW"'ifiiit'i5a a ~~
NOTS-lfthaiadisll5evSJ lFlabss"f".asi5s! l~in~ fil5IJ ~ ~ ~as hamps.'limfulJ ."I f not
I bengJ vs aach lli1paiIii2J lllrel'S ~a;{;~C5im~d53 crm ~We.
~: - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - ~- - - - ~- - - - - - - - - -
(~Mme)
I
_ _ I ~_ -
I
Title: Subcontract 10 -90 20 17-0 0 1 Exhibit A
CfL-\NGE ORDER
No. 0 0 1
Date: 02/24/2011
Project: DeKalb Co Energy Star Roof Replacement Recorder's Court
S. Garrett and Company
321 OldBremen Rd.
Carrollton, Ga. 30 117
770 -838-9973 IFAX 770 -838-9974
To: Hopie Strickland
Strickland and Son Construction
6235 Short RdUnit #b
Fairburn, GA 30 213
770-780-49281 Fax 770 -774 -90 90
----.------.-------- ..
DESCRIPTION OF CHANGE
Per EXIllBIT A
Strickland and Son will reimburse Contractor Y :!the cost of providing and installing the roof
access system, trash chute, scaffold system, and safety devices, now on site.
Y :!of total cost will be $1,20 6.4 2. This is for one month; if additional rental is required, the cost
will be split 50/50. Total Cost: $2,54 9.27
Portable toilet Yz of2-month rental @ $80.25 Total Cost: $80 .25
Subcontractor to reimburse Contractor for gravel removal.
(No charge made for hauling, labor only) Total Cost: $1,839.0 0
Subcontractor to reimburse Contractor for ACM demo anddisposal. Total Cost: $80 0 .0 0
Total of CO: $5,268.52
$29,994 .0 0
( $5,268.52)
$24 ,725.4 8
Original Contract Sumwas
Change Order #001 Deduct
NewContract Sumincluding this Change Order
The above changes of this Change Order are satisfactory and are hereby accepted. All
work to beperformed under same terms andconditions as specified in original contract
unless otherwise stipulated.
Date:
h-- --- ----
,
----- - 1--
Title: Subcontract 10 -90 20 17-0 0 1 Exhibit A
C'HA~GE ORDER
No. 001
Date: 02/24/2011
Project: D eKa.lb Co Energy Star Roof Replacement Recorder's Court
S. Garrett andCompany
321 Old Bremen Rd.
Carrollton, Ga. 30 117
770 -838-9973 / FAX 770 -838-9974
To: Hopie Strickland
Strickland and Son Construction
6235 Short Rd Unit #b
Fairburn, GA 30 213
770-780-49281 Fax 770 -774 -90 90
------- .._ --- ---- -------.---.-----
DESCRIPTION OF CHANGE
Per EXIllBIT A
Strickland and Son will reimburse Contractor Y 2 the cost of providing and installing the roof
access system., trash chute, scaffold system., and safety devices, now on site.
Y 2 of total cost will be $1,20 6.4 2. This is for one month; if additional rental is required, the cost
will be split 50 /50 . Total Cost: $2,54 9.27
Portable toilet Yz of2-month rental @ $80 .25 Total Cost; $80.25
Subcontractor to reimburse Contractor for gravel removal.
(Nocharge madefor hauling, labor only) Total Cost: $1,839.0 0
Subcontractor to reimburse Contractor forACM demo and disposal. Total Cost: $80 0 .0 0
Total of CO: $5,268.52
Original Contract Sum was
Change Order #0 0 1 Deduct
NewContract Sumincluding this Change Order
I I
$29,994 .0 0
($5,268.52)--~ - ba<!-l( C.)V:UA..Q
$24 ,725.4 8- - - ()" ...
I
I 11.1
'---" '- --r---
I
The above changes of this Change Order are satisfactory and are hereby accepted. All
work to be performed under same terms and conditions as specified in original contract
unless otherwise stipulated.
Date:
/
Gmail- material removal fromjobsite Wesley Chapel Library Page 1of3
iI
Hopie Strickland <stricklandsonconstruction@gmail.com>
material removal fromjobsite Wesley Chapel Library
Hopie Strickland <stricklandsonconstruction@gmail.com>
To: "Walker, Sharon" <swalker@dekalbcountyga.gov>
Ms. Walker,
No, I J as not the cause of the delays on this project. Contrary to that, I started calling and emailing the Prime and
requesting that they keep me in the loop from the start of the award of the contract. All delays were caused by the
Prime. When I finally got the contract I noted that the Prime had changed the scope of work and when I refused to
sign it they said they were going to start without Strickland& Son Construction and would remove me from the project.
I then filed a formal complaint against S. Garrett and Company (see attachement) which initiated the meeting with the
County in which they showed up with a new contract with those items added along with the correct Scope of Work. I
was given 10 minutes to look over the contract and every time I made an objection I was told that no changes would be
made to the contract by Mr. Bill Garrett. I was then told by Mr. Felton Williams either I sign off on the contract "As
I s" or the project would be given to another Prime as the County would not delay any longer; which is why I signed off
since I was not the LSBE with another Prime.
Thu, May 19, 2011 at 12:22 PM
I f you will look at the contract (Exhibit A) you will see where it states Strickland &Son will REI MBURSE the Prime
NOT that the contract will be reduced. I n addition, you will see specifically on Exhibit A the full Scope of Work and
the associated amount to be paid to Strickland &Son for that work only. As stated, "Subcontractor will
provide all roof demolition, all waste disposal, and all site cleanup, per the requird
schedule of this project, for a lump sumamount of $29,994.00.
I pointed out at the meeting that the LSBE Ordinance does not allow for the Prime to be reimbursed by the LSBE as it
will be deducted from the 20% compliance. I also pointed out that according to the LSBE Ordinance that the items in
the reimbursement were items that specifically are disallowed and that the Bid specifically stated that the asbestos had
to be done by the Prime. I did not agree to washing the roof as it was not even discussed in the meeting. This was
added afterward once the Prime was told he had to pay the 20%. Mr. Garrett continously said that he was only
going to pay 10%and he has spent this entire time trying to add additional costs to my side. I f you look at the
original LOI , he tried to change it to 10%and the County made him change it back to 20%as he had submitted my
paperwork to get the bid. Furthermore if you read further in the subcontract you will also see where it speaks of
installing the roof of which I am not a part. The scope of work that is in Exhibit A and further clarifies J ob
Cleanup on page 10 and 11 of the contract is the only part of the general contract that I am contracted to do
for the 20%.
The portion of the contract covering cleanig of the new roof is under "Protection of New Work", page 8 of the
contract; which is not part of Exhibit A or J ob Cleanup.
I have attached the original complaint filed at start of this job and the referenced pages of the contract between S
Garrett and Company and Strickland &Son Consruction for Recorders Court.
Thank you.
Hopie Strickland, I I I
[Quoted text hidden]
[Quoted text hidden]
"Effective J uly 1, 2010, the DeKalb County Government's email domainhaschangedfrom:NAME@co.dekalb.ga.us
to our new email domain address: NAME@dekalbcountyga.gov" Please update your email contacts.
[Quoted text hidden]
6 attachments
httos://mail.!moQle.com/mllil/?lJ i=?&.ik=?l'Ifn4 0 rl0 7R~vip.w=nt~" P" r('h=" pnt~...,on=11f)f)Olf)0 11.,rlQ'AA
--==========-=-~=---===--~
Ol/ 09FORM1B~lI I R .
~.
~" ,.\,
L.c.oUlltt.~_ V' .s.~. 1). I -'
a~ 'p. •
---- ..•••.••••... il-- PRIME CONTRACTOR LSBE UTILIZATION REPORT
~ Please ilompleteaseparate formfor each contrad:.
This report must besllbmitted with-eaclt-request felr payment, -and not less than monthly, along wJ tbCl-COPY ofyourrnontbl,. inveice (schedule of
valllegJ " allmet1t application) to the Contract Compliance Division, Failure to comply may result intheCount y conunencing proceedings and/or pursuing any other available legal
remedy. Sanctlons may inolude the suspending of any payment or part thereof; termination or cancellation of the contract, andthe denial of participation inany future contracts
awarded bv DeKaib County,
PRIME CONTRACTOR CODt r act Award Amollnt %Comnlete to Date
Name:
/.r;93/'/5S:° .;) 7~o;o
S. Garrett andCompany
Address:
-t;}../ af; hev .·" - RJ (hyo/Ic&//J;t
Telepbone #:
"1,(/) -.:t'J., Y .... qq1 ~
p. #
Emall i-l ~ .)
" l~- f3~--f'17'3 'SqCv('('c;r-r Ci~r t(~
/ /
REPORTING PERIOD:
fFrOll1- Tol
PROJ ECT NAME: Enersv Star RoorReDlacemellts - VariollS Pro.lec:ts
lTBlRFP N\lMBER! @> O!MOO1S4 ~
CONTRACT NUMBER.: 10 ·90 20 39
PROJ ECT LOCATION:
ANY CH;\NGE ORDElt ~I OUNT AFFECTI NGSt J B. CO~~l J ' m. . I ZATI ON: s - C>"--
AMOUNT OFREQVl Sl TI ON THIS PERI OD:S _ ..--! ;)..0
TOTALAMOUNT~U5r r WNEDTODAT~EI ~i - - ~~~~' ~/ ~I ~5~&5~~4~3- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Name of Sub-Contractor
SUB·CONTRACTOR l.lTILIZA TION addadditional rows as neces
Amount of Amount Paid this
Descri Uon orWork Sllb-CoDtra~t Period
20 %
Amount Paid To Date
_ .
ExecU~dBY: ~7£~~~~~~~~~~~~SL__ __~~~~~~~~~~~ i D$r e;
/ - _~, er .' (PtlntedNIl1tI4) -~~~,.....~-
, Ret1.lmCompleted ronn to: J ason C, McLin, Contract Compliance Officer
Contract· Compliance Division, DeKalb County Purchasing and Contracting 130 0 Commerce Drive 2ndFloor, DCQltur. Georgia 30 0 30
4 0 4 -3714 795 (phone) 4 0 4 -371·2511 (fax)
DeKAt.B COUNTY GOVERNMt;NT
DEPARTMENT OF PURCHASI NG AND COMTRAC1'I NG
SlECflON 3 RePORT
o
SupplierlNon-
Manufaduror 0 ManufacturGt
o
'7J ,:?-'!?l' -9573
Tr.a ce+7t;;(j, ti
tQ- fa:J..D 1;4.
Ctlnttactor Name: eonllaCl<l< SIarlDaIe:
:::lNum~
I
FedElrtlllO NO:
contractlNUmber:
Contnlc!AmOWlt
ProducliServlce$ Provided:
SECUON38USWESSACnvr r v
%Of
Aggregate
,.iunber
~$faff
~or %OfTOIaJ
NumberofNew ~Hf_ Staff ffoI .n
HI res UJ at I UI t ! hI I t_ for Section 3 Nul!lllef'Of
Numtll1rOf section 3 SectIon3
:r::.
Section 3
J cbCafllllolV NewHI res ResI dents ResI dems »11_
OfflclaUAdmrnlatralar
Pl'OfBSllfl!l!Q/$
Tedlnrclaps
sales WOrkers
Office &Cieflcal
Cr af t l Ml r kt ! ! l ' l l
OJ l l l r al l ves
LabDrers
ServI Ce WOJ 1(el1l
Otller
Totsl fOr1l1J IJ ReDOt1lna Pel10 d
(! ) () <9 C <:)
Tufal from Contract Statt Date 0 D b
!CO C')
NlllllberOfColltraCl$WlIh SKtIQn 3
Busrnass EI I 1I I le&
1
1
1
C>
0
I ,
p••••• " I
" I I I I
I.ETTER 1fRANSMITIAL
S. Garrett and Company
321 OldBremen Rd.
Carrollton, GA 30 117
770-838-9973 Phi Fax
sgarrett@sgatTettandcompany.com
J une 30 , 20 11
Sharon A. Walker, CCA
Deputy Director
DeKalb County Government
Department of Purchasing and Contracting
Contract Compliance Division
Manuel Maloof Building
130 0 Commerce Drive, - 2nd Floor
Decatur, GA 30 0 30
(4 0 4 ) 371-6395 Phone
(4 0 4 ) 371-2511 Fax
Re: 10 -90 20 39 DeKalb Co. Energy Star Roof Replacement Various Projects
Comments:
We are sending: LSBE Utilization Report, Section 3 Report for 6/30111
If you have any questions or need additional information, please call.
Thank you,
Susan Garrett
1,0or 1J 8 08 Nor nuz
t'J NllaVl.l.£Noa ~ f)NI SVH~Hnd
).J NOO;) 81Y)130
OJ AE1::J 3H
'.
I I
I
I ~
J
Past I ssues with Felton Williams as the Contract Compliance Officer and other matters related to Enetgy Star
Roof Replacement Projects. Meetings held with Sharon Walker, Kelvin Walton and others. See the attached!
documents.
Debra B. Brewer, Esq., CPPO
Assistant Director
Dekalb County
Department of Purchasing and Contracting
1300 Commerce Drive, 2
nd
Floor
Decatur, GA 30030
Email: dbbrewer@dekalbcountyga.gov
Office Phone: 1404-371-6395
County Mobile: 404-427-1319
I
I
2
Gmail - Final Subcontractor Utilization Reports
Page 1of1
GI '~
Fi-~~I ~~bcontractor Utilization Reports
_ _ _ _1-_ _ _ _ _ _ _ ---.
iI
Hopie Strickland <stricklandsonconstruction@gmail.com>
Hopie Strickland <stricklandsonconstruction@gmail.com>
To: "Wal~er, Sharon" <swalker@dekalbcountyga.gov>
Cc: klwalton@dekalbcountyga.gov
Ms. Walker,
Mon, J ul 18, 20 11 at 1:4 3 PM
Please confirm thatyou received the final subcontractor utilization reports I turned in last week on both Recorders Court
contract #10 -90 20 17 and DeKalb Various Projects contract #10 -90 20 39. Please note that I have once again
requested payment in full as per balances shown on the utilization reports for work completed several months ago. S.
Garrett's response remains they will not make any more payments until they end the contract with DeKalb County.
This is in direct breach of the DeKalb County contract and lSBE Ordinance; particularly as another payment has been
made by DeKalb County to S. Garrett and Company for work completed through May 31, 2011 (and possibly J une
30) and a payment is due Strickland &Son Construction. I would appreciate once again if you will inform S. Garrett
that thby MUST pay us immediately. I know you told them last month to pay current and they only made payment up
throut1h April, 20 11. They breached the contract under the first payment they received from DeKalb County in March
when trickland &Son Constructin did not receive payment within the 7day timeline. We received a check dated I
April 4. 2011 in the amount of $7,568.03 on May 13, 2011 (check #23797). At this point, S. Garrett and Company s
insistence that they will not release Strickland &Son Construction from the contract is moot, as they were the initial
breacher thereby nullifying the subcontract. However, we are well past that now as the work has been completed. Thle
only thing now is to get payment for services rendered. The work has been completed and payment has been made
by De alb County to the prime. I t is now time for Strickland &Son to be paid ALL monies due which is now in excess
of $6 ,0 0 0 .
Please note that once again fraudulent paperwork has been created. The checks we received from S. Garrett and
company on J une 29 are dated May 25, 2011 (check #23913 for $13,613.76 and check #23914 for $1 ,236.51) for 29d
payment on Senior Center and 1st paymenton Briarcliff for pay requests dated 04/ 24/ 11. These intentional back-dating
of checks make it appear that we received the checks ao days earlier than we actully received them. I
S. Garrett and Company took it upon themseleves to pay our subcontractor Southeastern Waste Disposal in full on
their account even after you told them not to do so. Therefore, they have no grounds in holding our money but to make
final payment of all monies due and owing in the amount as shown on the Subcontractor Utilization Reports. I thank
you for helping us get that payment last month as I was able to save my home from foreclosure.
Thanks.
Hopie Strickland, I I !
President
Strickland &Son Construction LLC
6235 Short Road, Unit #8
Fairburn, G,A.30213
Phone (770) 780-4928
www.stricklandsonconstruction.services.officelive.com
https:/ / maiI .google.comJ mailJ ?ui=2&ik=2af640d078&vieW'=t.e.~p"r~h~ • 0 _
i.
! I
I .
SG& C 000093 I Contract #10-902039
I
Energy Star Roof Replacement -
Various Projects
Building #1:
$62,4 93.0 0
Pole Bridge Water & Sewer
20 %
$12,4 98.()O•••.
4 226 Flat Bridge Rd
Lithonia, GA 30 0 38
Building #2:
$366,161.0 0
Wesley Chapel Library
20 % $73,232.0 0 *
2661 Wesley Chapel Rd
Decatur, GA 30 0 34
Building #3:
$68,697.0 0
Briarcliff Library
20 % $13,738.0 0 ~
2755 Briarc1iffRd
Atlanta, GA 30 329
Building #4 :
$123,973.0 0
DeKalb IAtlanta Senior Center
20 %
$24 ,794 .0 0 ,.(>-
25 Warren St
Atlanta, GA 30 329
CONTRACT TOTAL:
$683,4 55.0 0
10 %Construction Contingency:
-10 %
$62,131.0 0
TOTAL:
$621,324 .0 0
20 %LSBE:
20% $124 ,262.0 0 ~
SG& C 000094 I Contract #10-902017
Energy Star Roof Replacement -
Recorder's Court
COl\Y fRACT TOTAL:
$164 ,970 .0 0
10 %Construction Contingency:
-10 % $14 ,997.0 0
TOTAL:
$14 9,973.0 0
20 %LSBE:
20 %
$29,994 .~0 . f..
tj-~--
! I
. I
I I
I
View Contract Page 1of 2
ORACLE' DeKalb LSBE Super Use· rf~:;)~~~~· ¥
...-
View Contract
Details
~~ .Eill!.m~D.U:iLsjor\i.
.(ExPoll
! ,~-
Check N rnber
882951
862951
852951
882951
882951
88295·!
838457
836309
.836309
.835967
Qi!!gnostics Home bQ9QI ,l! Preferen~:
t.'
PrevI ous ;_ 1-10if3~- ~j Next 10 'hi
invoice Number I nvoiceAmount I
20 10 $4 20 .0 0
11961
2997
14 ,90 0
13624
3133
Contract Number 760896
I TB I RFP Number :1001416
Vendor Name SOUTHEASTERN ECONO
D1SPOSAL SERVI CES I NC
Buyer Allen, J effrey! ..
Site ATLANTA
Description 3001475· Pcrtable Toilets
(Rental)
Contract Status Approved
Effective From 06· NOV-2009
Effective To 31l-NOV-2012
Created 06-Nov-2009
Currency use
Am! Agreed $0.00
f,mQunt Paid to Date $73,963.27
Percent Paid To Date 0.00%
Check Date
17-!\pr-20 14
17-Apr-20 14
17-,e.,pr-20 i4
17-Apr-20 14
n-Apr-20 14
17-Apr-20 14
10 -J an-20 13
13·0 ec-20 12
13-Dec-2012
10 -0 ec-20 12
Amount f>aid
$4 20 .0 0
$50.GO
$785.0 0
S42000
$510 .0 0
$i,380 .0 G
$1350 0
$75.0 0
$225.0 0
$95.0 0
Payment Method
Check
Check
Check
$5000
$785.0 0
$4 20 .0 0
$510.00
$1380 .0 0
$135.0 0
-P75.0 0
$225.0 0
$95.0 0
Check
Chec}! ,
Check
Check
3192
320 0
Check
Check
3195
3217
Previous lJ .::20 of 368
y~b. 'ontractor§ .
'CAddor~e-~ibCOntro:ci~)(-R.elTI£:veSlJ b·Cc;ntra~or)
Select Sun Contractor Name Subcontractor Award Amount
@)STRI Cf(LAND &SON CONSTRUCTiON LtC $'16,000.00
'fPrime Contractor U! J ! ization Reports.
(Crea.te]
Reporting I nvoice
Amount invoiced To
Select Period
Amollnt Date
0 01-Dee-200e $700.00
$70 0 .0 0
0 Q1-J an..20 10
:$1,440.00 $2,14 0 .0 0
0 01-Feb-2010 $1.64 5.0 0
$3,785.0 0
0 0 1-Mar-20 10
$4 ,850 .0 0
$8,635.0 0
@
01-Apr-2010
$'10,275.00 $18,910 .0 0
0 0 1-May-20 10 $13,0 10 .0 0 $31,920 .0 D
(~
. )
0 1-J lH1-20 10 $2,50 5.0 0
$34 ,4 25.0 0
'.,/
0 31-Aug-2010 $3,150 .0 0
$37,575.0 0
0 0 1-0 ct-20 10
$1,755.0 0 $39,330 .0 0
0 01-Mar-2012
$2.925
1
.0 0
$4 2,255.0 0
{Create;
http:'!isfmisl.co .dekalb.ga.US; 8002iOA_HTl'v1L/OA.j sp?page=!DCioracleiapps/ xxdk/lsbe/w ...
Percol1t of Contract Awar~ed
20 .0 0 %
Amount Paid To Date ToAll ParcElnt Paid To Date To All
Subs Subs
$14 0 ,0 0
$4 28.0 0
3
$757.0 0
5
$1.727.0 0 11
$1,727.0 0
11
$2.274 .0 0
14
$2,775.0 0
H
$3,4 0 5.0 0
21
$3.4 0 5.0 0
21
$3,99000
zs
"1 -
v j Next 10 ii;?:1
I I
View Contract
i\>5how Sub-Contract Data:
VSub-Contractor Uii/ iz:ationReports
.C~!ea!D(f~emove)
Select Sub Contractor Nams>
@ STRI CKLAND &SON
CONSTRUCTI ON LlC
~Show Reporting Data:
fl.elurn To FJ reviousP'lli§
PMcent Of Work Sub-Contract
Completed to Date ,<\wardAmount
2,'\9 $16,000,QO
Amount
tnvoiced To
Dat~
$35'1.00
Copyright (e) 2006, Oracle, All rights reserved.
About this Page
Page2of2
Amount Paid Past Due
to Date Amount
$35'1,00 $0.00
Privacy Statement
I
I I
I '
http://isfmisl.co .dekal b.gal us: 80 0 2/0 A _ :tITI\tlL10 A.jsp?page=/DCioracle/apps/xxdk/lsbe/w. ,.
View Contract
Page 1of I
ORACLE' DeKaib LSBE Super User§~~~~~~
Diagnostics ~ Logout Preferences
~:
..-
ViewContract
Details
Effective From 0 1·0 CT·20 10
Effective To 31· MAR-2011
Created 10· Sep-2010
Currency use
Ami Agreed $164,970.00
Amount Paid to Date $149,973.00
PercentPaid To Date 90.91%
Contrad Number 10-902017
iTB I RFP Number 0 9·10 0 151
Vendor Name S GARRETT AND COMPANY
Buyer Broome, Yolanda 0
Site CARROLL TON
Description Energy Star Roof
Replacement at Recorder's
Court
ContractStalus Requires Reapproval
Check Date Amou.,tPaid P<1yment Method
lnvoice Number
invoice Amount
769791
2.7-May-2011 $14,997,30 Check
94 5
$14 ,997,30
761386
30-Mar-Z011 $2,250 0 0
Check
84 4
$2,250,00
758368
0 7-Mar-20 11 $75.61771
Check 94 3
$75
1
6'17.71
754536
Q4-Feb-2011
$53,396,39 Check
Ci'-.P70 2-94 -2 $53.396.39
74 14 4 2
19-0 c\-20 10 $3,711.60 Cileck
CAP702-94
$3,711.60
'fSub~Contractors
iC;rcT~ruprjate-5Ubcon! ! :.~,;rs)(-Remo~J e· 5\ib--co~
Select Sub ContradorName SuiH;o~tr~.CtorAward Amount
® :STRI CKLAND sSON CONSTRUCTI ON LLC $32,894 00
Percent of Contract Awarded
20,00%
Vprime Contractor Utilization Reports
{~~eate)
Reporting invoice
Select Period Amount
0 10 -sep-20 10 S3.7i'l.60
Amount Paid To Date To All Percent Paid To Date To All
Suns Subs
Amoullt invoiced To
Date
$3.711,60
$0,00
o
Y Show Sub-Contract Data:
Sub..Contractor Data
Sub.Contl'<,ctor DescriptionOf
Name Worl(
No results found.
,"Sub~Conjractor Utilization RGRorts
.Csreate)LEemove)
Sub Cor,tractorPercent Of Work,
sotcct Name Completed to Date
'No resulrs found,
Sub Contrac~
AmQunt
Amount Paid This
Period
Amount Paid To Percent PaidTo Sub-
Date contractor
Amount I nvoiced Amount Paid Past Due
To Date to Date Amount
Sub-Contract
AV<lud Amount
Update View
~Show :::teportingData :
Return To Previous I 'agg
Privacy Statement
I
Copyright \e) 2006, Oracle, All rights reserved
About this Page
http: " isfmis 1.co.dekalb.ga.us:30 0 2/0 A_ HTMLiOA.jsp?page=/DCforacle!apps,!xxdk/lsbe!\v" .
I I
I
I .
,~I I
9!9/2~114
1
I
lVlEMORANDUl'vI
TO:
Debra Brewer, Deputy Director, Contract Compliance Division, Department of
Purchastng andContracting
FROM: J ason C. McLin, Senior Contract Compliance Officer
DATE: February 24 , :un0
SUBJ ECT: ITBReport
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - = ~- , - - , - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
LOW BIDDER WITH LSBE PARTICIPATION
~-- ~~-- .~ -~-~~-~== ~§-.=~~!ji[~~~~t;:~~lr~a~i~~= ... _ _ ~~_
20%)
.t--~ -.-- ..- ...---~---~-
Y es
ALL
(Only
Responsive
Bidder PCI"
Contract
Administrator)
No Strickland & Son Y es i
Construction, I
I
LLC (lLSBE-MSA I
I 20%) I '
I I J
L_ _ L.. ,~--.I -- -~-~..L._ _ - , ' ..l_ _ _ _ _ .
None S. Garrett and
Company 1.
I I
I
I !
Memorandum For Debra Brewer
ITB Number: 0 9-10 0 151
February 5, 20 10
Page 2
I I
Corporate I
Environmental I ' Y es I No
, Risk Management ! I
4 A through 4 C -+ ; (f SBE-MsArrvrnE ' I
r-~~-IIATI-At;;mican-t--'-'-----'------T------ -----:.' 21%t' ". t-I ---.--t-----~
i I I ' i
I I I I I I
I Strickland & Son . I I I I
I
Construction, LLC Y es ! No I
! (LSBE-\1SA 20 %,) I i
______________ L - -'--i--
I
,
1/ \ through 1C
ana
3
None
Roofing,
Inc./Sierra
Design BuHd
Construction
Management
*(NON- I '
• I I
RESPONSIVE) ! _ _ .... _ . ~.
*Non-responsive pCi' Contract Administrator
2/\ through 2C
and
3A through 3C
Empyrean Global,
Inc.
(LSBE-DeKalb
20 %)
Y es No
4.
._ -----'.. ---------- ._ -'----
cc: Kelvin L. Walton, Director, Department of Purchasing andContracting
View Contract
Page 2 pf2
I
I
~Show Reporting Data:
Return To Previous Page
,Diagnostics i HOI 1l~i Logout I Pref~
Copyright (c) 2006, Oracle. All rights reserved.
About this Page
I I
http://isfmisl.co.dekalb.ga. us: 80 0 2/0 A_ HTIVIL
/
0 A.j sp?page=!DC/oracie/apDs/xxdkJ lsbe!w ...
I
lit
9!9/2(~14
I I
I
View Contract
ORACLE' DeKalb LSBE Super
-- I
View Gmrtract
Oetai! ls
Diagnostics Home LOfjOut Prefere ce
Effective From 24· AUG· 2010
Effective To 18· MAY· 2011
Created 09-Aug-2010
Currency USD
Am! Agreed $683,455.00
AmountPaidto Dale $621,324.00
PercentPaidToDate 90.91%
Contract Number 10· 902039-
I TB ! RFP Number 09-100154
Vendor Name S GARRETT AND COMPANY
Buyer Foster, J oyce D
Site CARROI .L TON
Description E;nergyStar Roof
RepiacemGnts - Various
Projacts
Contract Status Approva! l
VPa"! lent Histor\[
,j EXP I n-
1
Chock- umber
7914 97
790256
783823
779821
7'16377
773560
767717
763112
7590 33
740464
,(}~)
Check Date
03-Nov-201'j
27-0ct-201 i
'12-Sep-2011
12-Aug-2011
'18-J ul-2011
27-J un-2011
13-rvJ ay-2Q11
11-Apr-2011
1Q-Mar-20'11
'12-0ct-20'I O
Amount Paid Payment Method I nvoice Number I nvoice Amount
$2,299.40 Check I TS-09-100154 $2.299.4 0
$62,132.41 Check 93'10 $62,132.41
$52,4 19.54 Check 938
$52,4 19,54
$63.112.22 Check 937 $53,112.22
$54
1
1"57,20 Check CAP702· 6 $54 ,157.20
I
$71.4 72.70 Check 935 $71,4 72.70
$167, 783.4 7 ChecK 934
$167.783.4 7
$54 .4 86.4 5 Check 933
$54 ,4 86.4 5
$71,555.51 Check 932 $71,555.51
$21,905,10 Check CAP702 $21,905.10
'Sub-Contractors
, ~..........., ~~~'~.~'.~.~ •.•_:---~---~-~ ..•.• r........, ··- •.~-~ ." . '--~'--"\.
f.. Add or Updaie S'lLbContractors )( Remo\;e Sub Contract£!:.)
Select Sub Contractor Name Subcolltra(:tor Award Amount
Percent of Contract Awarded
@ STRI CKLAND & SO~1 CONSTRUCTI ON LLC
o AMERI CP:S CHOI CE PORTABLE TOI LETS ! NC
o DI VERSI i=I ED ENViROf\lMENTAL MAi,I AGEMENT iNC
20 ,0 0 % $136,691.0 0
$0 .0 0
$0 ,0 0
0 .0 0 %
Q,OO%
VPrime Contractor Utilization ReRort~
(Create)
Reporting I nvoice Amount I nvoiced To Amount Paid To Date To All Percent Paid To Date To Ail
Select Period Amount Date Subs Subs update Vi&w
0 1DScp-2010 $21,90 5.10 $21,90 5.10 $0 ,0 0 o
~ CJI
.P
11P6d
0 15-Mar-2011 $187,783.4 ;' $189,683,57 $0,00 0
/..-:'0 /
I ,=j
.v
1B3'{f.d
r\
25-May-20 il $0 .0 0 $188,688.57 $15,D63.D3 11 1//9
\,=.I ;
\.,.1
lE6d1
r-.
#4 '
I ,,,,,jl
U 30 -J ur.-20 11 $54,157.20 $24 3,84 5.77 $52,981,38 39
1f! :'6a
VShow Sub-Contract Data:
Sub-Contractor Data
Sub Contractor Description Of
Name Work
No results found.
"Sub-Contractor Utilization Reports
-~---J '--
( create ( Remove )
sub contractor Percent Of Work
Select Name Completed to Date
No results found.
Sub contract
Amount
Amount Paid This
Period
Amount Paid To
Dat»}
Percent Paid To Sub·
Contractor
Sub-Contract
Award Amount
Amount I nvoiced Amount Paid
r To Date to Oat"
Past Due
Amollnt
!lttP'!ll'~C:ml's1" 0 d~1_ ," 11'" " a lIS" " O(''" )!'\;} T-Ir[\\ilL
/
0 A j'sp?page>=!Dr:/orac
1
=lapps!xv-dl.)lsbe
/
'"
l ,,' :>1! J .L. Cl\.c!lJ .g. .0 .u: V. t_ L Iv, f .~.'-. ,,! \...1 ,\", ,. A l~., ,VY •••
Summary of Strickland &Son vs ~i. Garrett and Company
,-.~----------------~-----------'---------.-.----.--
i 09-100151 Energy Star Roof Replacement RecordersCOUI
I {Stimulus Project} j
I 09-100154 Energy Star Roof ReplacementVarious Projec s
I I (p.lI Stimulus Projects) J I
i-Bidoprning Date I J anuary 28,20 10
1 LOW BI I Do-ffi- WI TH LSBE PARTI CI PATI ON -po(J arrett and Company
i %LSBParticip..tion---------------- i 20%with Strickland&SonC~;;t'" ctio;;(LSBE-MSAI I ~
• . l.. _ _ - · .. --------
! Subcor tract Numbers : Subcontract #10-902017 -001 Energy Star Roof
i i Replacement Recorders Court !
I ' I I
! Subcontract #1 0-902039-00 1 Energy Star Roof ! I
1-t ~:ep~~:ment~ariDus~rojec~ .. _ _ :
(I I This complaint stems from the previous award of "several libraries" to S.Garrett. (10-902039-
I 001 Energy Star Roof Replacement Various Projects and I TS#09-100154 (Stimulus Project)
I Wesley Chapel Library Energy Star Roof Replacement Project,
; I TBNumber &Name
I
,
,
• Prior to the start of the project, apparently Hopie Strickland contacted Compliance Officer
Felton Williams to discuss his concerns regarding the subcontractors agreement Strickland asked
himto sign.
• Strickland met with Mr. Williams and claims Mr. Williams told himthis project was under
stimulus dollars and had a completion deadline. Hethen claims Mr. Williams told him he had to
sign the subcontract whether he agreed with itor not or be removed from the project.
\! Strickland claims he signed the contract because of what Mr. Williams said, thinking he had no
other recourse
'lI Mr. Williams denies telling Strickland that he had to sign the subcontract or be removed.
•• On Friday May 6,2011 the first complaint from Strickland and Sononthis project was dropped off to
Contract Compliance
(I On May 9
t11
the 2
ml
complaint on the project came on the PoleBridge Roof Replacement Project.
The complaint from Strickland was for balance due in the amount of FiveThousand Eight

Hundred Sixty-Two and 28/ 100 dollars ($5..862.28) from S. Garrett and Company. J ob
completed 0 3/24 /20 11.
May 20
ti1
, a meeting was held with Contract Compliance, Strickland and S. Garrett to discuss thf '
concerns.
Strickland stated that S. Garrett hadn't paid them and was violating the LSBEprogram.
May is" S. Garrett temporarily removed Strickland from the project until their meeting with
Contract Compliance
• S. Garrett stated that Strickland was always behind with the certified payrolls, which because
these were Federal Funds, could get the Prime and DeKaib County in trouble with the Fed! >.
They also stated they had supplied Strickland with most of the equipment they needed for th'e
job of pulling up the old roof and depositing the debris in the dumpsters. They state they
provided the dumpster and the squlpment needed to reach to the top of the roof for
Strickland to put the debris into. The debris would then be lowered down to the dumpster
{that S. Garrett) was renting at no charge to Strlckland. ThenStrickland would haul the debris
away.
• :5.Garrett stated that Strickland wasn't paying their subcontractors/ vendors and S. Garrett paid
them out of Strickland's pay sothey would not file a lien against S. Garrett.
• S. Garrett states their subcontractor's agreement allows from them to pay Strickland's sub &
vendors.
$ S. Garrett stated that as of the May zo" meeting, they would nolonger provide equipment to
Strickland at no cost.
• Strickland stated that S. Garrett was taking advantage of them andstated they should be able to pay
their own vendors.
•• The resolution was for Strickland to get the certified payrolls upto date so5. Garrett could paythem.
•• May nod received confirmation from S.Garrett that the certified payrolls had been received.
• May 24th received confirmation from Strickland that some payments had been received.
'iJ J une io" Strickland sent Demand Notice to S.Garrett stating they were owed payfor additional
work and additional hours for the Recorders Court and Various Roofs Project.
", J une 10
th
S.Garrett responds backstating there was no additional work or hours assignedto
Strickland.
0 ) J une 14
th
, received an email from Strickland stating" FalseClaims Act Violation under DeKalb
County Contracts,
I
:1
-~-. --
•• J une zo" . received emait from Strickland stating he hadn't received his May payment. A note
was sent to 5. Garrett asking them to pay Strickland. S. Garrett responded by saying they hadn't
received the certified payroll from Strickland and wouldn't pay until itwas received.
•• J une zo" received email from S. Garrett stating that since 06108/11 Strickland has been non-
performing, but states they are trying to make a fuli effort to maintain the LSBE participation as
required.
e J une 21
st
received letter from Strickland and Son stating that he wants to withdraw from the S.
Garrett contract.
• J une zz" , S. Garrett sends an ernail stating Strickland is stili non-performing and they have replaced
, them with another LSBE,. Diversified Environmental Management to provide the work originaiiy
subcontracted to Strickland, They state their subcontractor's agreement with Strickland allows them
to do this.
! ; J une 22
nd
Facilities Management was contacted to see if they could shed light on the problems
with Strickland and S.Garrett, Our Facilities Management representatives felt that Strickland
was the cause of the problems,
" J une 23rd, S, Garrett sends an emaii stating they have finally received the certified payrolls they
had been requesting from Strickland through May.
<» J une zs" . received note from S.Garrett stating that the final payment for Recorder's Court (per
their records) in the amount of $2,472.54, has been sent via FedEx over night, to Strickland,
" J uly i" , Contract Compliance responds to the Strickland withdrawal request stating that S. Garrett
says they have a contract with Strickland that prohibits this withdrawal without
penalty/ consequences,
'" J uly 1
st
, Strickland was notified in the J UlY l
S1
1etter that if they decidedto continue with the
withdrawal of the project, Contract Compliance could release andreplace them with another LSBE
however, it would be totally separate from their contractual obligations with S. Garret and Company.
•• J ulV 1
S
t, Contract Compliance
@ J uly is" . Kelvin L Walton states he received a Vendor Dispute on the awarding of the EnergyStar
Roofing bid #11-100225for Decatur Librarywith S.Garrett and CERr\~astheir subcontractor.
I I I J uly zs" Kelvin L Walton suggested we 110 id a meeting with Strickland &S. Garrett.

• J uly zs" Meeting was held with Kelvin L. Walton, Sharon Walker, Strickland and S. Garrett. Both
firms were given an opportunity to state their issues. Afterwards, because it was late on a Friday
evening, past 5pm, the Director called the meeting to a close and stated he would review the
information received from both parties.
• September zs" , Hopie Strickland sent a letter to the Director asking for an update
o September zs" . Kelvin L. Walton asked Sharon Walkei to contact each firm for an update on their
issues.
• September so" Ms. Walker reported back that both firms were at a stalemate. Each claiming the
other was wrong.
• September so" Hople Strickland was very upset and stated he wanted to hear back from the
Director. He threatened to go to the media.
October Znd, Strickland requested the bonding company used by S. Garrett for the project.
October 4
th
, information for the bonding company was provided to Strickland by Ms. Walker.
October 41h, J ames Stamps notified me that on 9/29 the BOe approved the award of a contract for
Energy Star Roof Project to S. Garrett &Company and their LS8Esub was listed as Strickland and Son.
Strickland was already sending an ernail to Contract Compliance asking if we could hold up the award
due to the problems they were having with S. Garrett.
e October lih- Amount Strickland states is owed to them:
l:nntr:>/ 't #10 ~90 0 17 - Energy Star Roof Replacement at Recorders Court - $5,268.52 (Complete 0 6/30 /11)
Contract #10 -90 217· Energy Star Roof Replacement DeKalb Various - $4 3,996.84
Pole Bridge (Complete)
- $1,362.28
- s3,612.21
Senior Center (Complete)
Briarcliff Library (Complete)
- $1,74 4 .75
Wesley Chapel Library (Complete) - $37,277.60
Totaling $4 9,265.36
I I I October nth - Amount Garret claims is owed to Strickland:
10-902017 DeKalb Co. Energy Star Roof Rep! acement Recorder's Court
Strickland and Son Construction
Total original contract amount
$29,994,00
I
_ "---I _ ----'- _
I I I
I '
Less deductions authorized by Strickland
$5,268.52
Less payments
Total due Strickland and Son Construction
-0-
10-902 39 DeKalb Co. Energy Star Roof Repiacement Various Projects
d and Son Construction abandoned the project in J une 2011 and failed to complete their scope of work, leaving a
ramaini g amount of $34 ,356.27 to be completed by others.
retainage du! ,! tun· · completedbv Strickland}
Pole Br'dge W&S
$12,4 98.0 0
$11,24 8.2.0
$1,24 9.80 -0 -
At Seni r Center
524 ,794 ,0 0
$21,.'!.23.87 $2,380 .4 3
-$989.70
Briarcli f Library
$13,738.0 0 $11,993<0 0
$1,332..58 - $4 ,12.17
- $37,277.60
Total I $124 <262.0 0 $83,915.16 $5,990 .57
NOTE: S. Garrett States "retainage wilt be withheld until all conditions for Final Payment are met pursuant
toArticle XL of the Subcontract with S. Garrett and Companv .)"
I
i
I
S. G~ett andCompany
3Z1QldBremen Road
Car~QHton.GA 3{l()17
DeKalb County PurehMing andContracting Dept.
2
lid
Floor. ROQ};u'lcY ;;!
130 0 CommerceD.l'lle
Decatur, GA 30 0 30
J une 21. 20 11
Re: WUIldrawillfromWesiey Cb~pel Ubmry EnergySt.arRo()f~eplaeement-
Dti,lK. U8Proj~ts (Contme~ #lO·!>6l0 39); Sllbfi.lnt~et#11}·'620 39-0 0 1
pe~ SitsandMadame:
Please be advised 'ihat due to the lnabiilty to continue work em thls project without payment,
please a~cept this as myJ onnal wlthdmwal fi'omthepri>jectas LSBE provider of deroCtUti<>n, .site
cl~anup and waste dispog~i 'On the Wesley ChApel Library: I will provide a final blll for aU work
completed urtderSubOOntract#IU" 90 2(;39-0 0 1 which pa>'ment isdue upon receipt.
Hopie Strlckland~m
Ph: (770 ) 780 .4 928
Emai1: ~~.QX!&.ruEntct.ID.n@iLIliJ illJ ;.9.m
•.• _ .. _ _ . _ _ J .. ,_ _ ._ , ._ .~.~'_ .-
, I
I I
;'v Ia/oofAdministration Building
1300 Commerce D riv e, L su! Ftco»
D ecatur; Georgia 30030
404·371·47f)5 0 40 ·371·2511 Fax
contracto» io.dekntb.ga.us
www.co.dckntb.gu.u«
I I
. J ~ --------~'~
J uly 1, 2011
Mr. Hopie Strickland, I I I
Strickland &Son Construction, LLC
6235 Short Road Unit - B
Fairburn, GA 30213
RE: Contract #10~9020391 Subcontract# 10-902039~001
Wesley Chapel Library Energy Star Roof Replacement Project
Dear Mr. Strickland:
We have received your letter dated J une 2:1,20'1'1, whereby you have advised us
of your inability to continue work on this project You have stated the reason is
due to the Prime's (S. Garrett and Company) failure to pay you in a timely
manner.
Please be advised that S. Garret and Company has stated that they have a
contract with you that prohibits this withdrawal without penalty/ consequences.
Please review your contract and let me know if you decide to continue on with
the project, especially since it is the last one amongst many that were completed.
I f you decide to continue with the withdrawal of the project, we can release you
as the LSBE on the project and replace you with another LSBE. However, this is
totally separate from your contractual obligations with S, Garret and Company,
S
· I
~~
Sharon A. VValker
Deputy Director,
Dekalb County Contract Compliance
Page 2 Qf2
6235 Short Road, Unit #B
Fairburn, GA 30 213
Phone: (770 ) 780 ·4 928
www.strickiandsonCQllstmction.seryices,office1ive.c9£11
6/28/2011
i I
I I
I
I
Page 1of2
.,.
Foster, J oyce
Walker, Sharon
MO/ 'I day, J une 27, 2011 10:43 AM
KI m, Haley S.
Brewer, Debra S.; Williams) Felton e.; Foster, J oyoo
Signed WI thdrawal Letter Wesiey ChSI )el Library Energy Star Roof Replacement Project
COl'ltra~1 0· 902039; Subcontract# 10· 902039· 001 I TB#09· 100154
Attachments;: WC_ WlthdrawaUtr_ ~,lfgnad.pdf
from:
Sent:
To:
CC:
Subject:
ITB# 0 9·10 0 15( (Sthnuiul.PJ '!U-«t).
As many of you know, there have been several disputes amongst S. Garret and Company and
Strickland and Sons on the above stated project Contract Compliance has had numerous
meetings with the Prime, the Sub and with ail parties together. Because the conflicts were
gettingW9r::;~,$tri~kland.~as.asked~o withdraw from the project. Here is the official signi3
d
copy of the withdrawal letter from Strickland and Sons (LSBEsubcohfra6for) for thewithdtawal
from Wesley Chapel Library Energy Star Roof Replacement project Contract#10~902039;
Subcontract# 10-902039-001. I believe this is the last project under this contract. S. Garret
and Company has been instructed to pay Strickland all funds due to them.
S. Garret and Company has replaced the former LSBE subcontractor with another LSBE
subcontractor. I will submit a copy of the new Letter of I ntent to the proper parties.
Thanks to everyone for your assistance in this regard.
Sharon A. Walker, eeA
Deputy Director
DeKalb County Government
Department of Purchasing and Contracting
Contract Compliance Divi~ion
Manuel MaioofBuHding
130 0 Commerce Drive, - 2nd Floor
Decatur, GA 30 0 30
(404) 3i1-6395 Phone
(4 0 4 ) 371·2511 Fax
From: Hople Strickland [maUto:strlcldandsonconstruction@gmall.com]
Sent: Monday, J une 27,2011 10:23 AM
To: Walker, Sharon I
Subject; Signed WI thdrawal leiter
Here is the signed withdrawal letter.
Hopie Strickland, m
President
Stricklaild &Son Construction LLC
6/28/2011