You are on page 1of 1

Reflective Analysis of Portfolio Artifact

NAEYC Standard:

Candidates prepared in early childhood degree programs are grounded in a child development
knowledge base. They use their understanding of young children’s characteristics and needs, and of multiple
interacting influences on children’s development. (NAEYC, 2010)

Brief Description of Evidence:
During the fall semester of 2013 during my ECED 120-Child Growth & Development class, as per the
course requirements, I recalled each phase of my life to identify with each of eight stages in Erik Erikson’s
Psycho-Social Development theory. Through this study, I became familiar with all eight stages of his identity
theory from infancy to death. If one stage is not completed successfully, it will most likely have a negative
impact on the way an individual views the world. I was challenged to identify the events in my life during each
stage, and assess if I completed each stage successfully.
Analysis of What I Learned:
Through completion of the Erikson self-study, I learned the importance of recognizing what phase of
Psycho-Social development I completed successfully as well as those I should revisit. Having experienced
several social classes throughout my life, high class, middle class and poverty, I found I have the ability to
interact with and influence several types of families where they are.
How This Artifact Demonstrates my Competence on the NAEYC Standard:
By completing this assignment, I gained experience in recalling events in my life, categorizing them
according to Erikson’s theory, and assessing how well I completed each stage. Working with early childhood
age groups I will be able to assess children according to their phase. I am proficient in Basic Trust vs Mistrust
(birth to 18 months) by identifying trust between child and caregivers. Autonomy vs Shame and Doubt (18
months to 3 years) presents a time children should be striving for their independence. Being able to observe
children in this stage, assess their milestones and create curriculum to enhance independence make me
successful for developing children in this phase of development. Initiative vs Guilt (3-5 years) is a time
children find their purpose. Assessment is important for knowing when a child is trying to assert control over
the environment out of finding their sense of purpose versus being disrespectful. It is important at this age to
redirect poorly chosen words and behavior and recognize the child’s individual goal with each situation
presented. My ability to recognize a child’s stage of development and analyze their behavior while determining
their need makes me grounded in child development.