T@STY BYTES: New World of Search

Friday, February 5, 2010

The Mycroft Project
The Mycroft Project provides a collection of more than 20 thousand Sherlock & OpenSearch Search Engine Plugins for your Firefox (and in some cases, Google Chrome) web browser. http://mycroft.mozdev.org/search-engines.html Why use a plugin?

“The Big Boys”
General search engines: • Google: http://www.google.com/ o o • • • Google Labs: http://www.googlelabs.com/ Simply Google: http://www.usabilityviews.com/simply_google.htm

Yahoo: http://m.www.yahoo.com/ Bing: http://www.bing.com/ Ask.com: http://www.ask.com/

Clustering Search Engines
• Clusty: http://clusty.com/

Visual Search Engines
• • Quintura: http://www.quintura.com/ Viewzi: http://www.viewzi.com/

Metasearch Engines
• • • Dogpile: http://www.dogpile.com/ Metacrawler: http://www.metacrawler.com/ Searchzooka: http://searchzooka.com/index.php

Prepared by Michael C. SensibaWayne State University Libraries

Page 1 of 2

Data-oriented Search
• • • Wolfram Alpha: http://www.wolframalpha.com/ Google Squared: http://www.google.com/squared Factery Labs: http://facterylabs.com/index.php

Human-intermediated (semantic) search
• Hakia: http://www.hakia.com/

Academic Search Engines
• • • • • Google Scholar: http://scholar.google.com/ Google Books: http://books.google.com/books Deep Dyve: http://www.deepdyve.com/ Cite U Like: http://www.citeulike.org/ CiteSeer: http://citeseer.ist.psu.edu/

Other Interesting Search Engines & Tools
• • • • • Kosmix: http://www.kosmix.com/ Exalead (UK): http://www.exalead.com/search/ Similar Sites: http://www.similarsites.com/ Search Engine Watch: http://searchenginewatch.com/ Search Engine Showdown: http://www.searchengineshowdown.com/ o Search Engines by Search Feature: http://www.searchengineshowdown.com/features/byfeature.shtml Search Engine Features Chart: http://www.searchengineshowdown.com/features/

o

Prepared by Michael C. SensibaWayne State University Libraries

Page 2 of 2

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful