You are on page 1of 2

TIPS FOR USING ENGLISH AT HOME

Switch your computer settings to English.


Switch your Nintendo or X-Box settings to English.
Play games in English (online, board games, cards, etc.)
Play English grammar games online.
Read English books.
Read English magazines.
Read English e-zines.
Read English blogs.
Read English newspapers.
Read English books, magazines, blogs and newspapers ALOUD.
Read English books to someone in your family.
Read English stories and articles online.
Write emails to friends in English.
Write all Facebook messages in English.
Write all texts and MSN messages in English.
Write an English journal or diary to keep at home.
Speak English only at dinner time.
Sing English songs!
Sing English karaoke!
Listen to English audio books online. Read along.
Listen to English radio programs online.
Listen to English music. Look up the lyrics online.
Watch English movies and turn on the English subtitles.
Watch English television programs.
Watch English Youtube.com videos online (grammar, karaoke, etc.)

See the reverse for a list of websites that can be helpful for additional support at home .

WEBSITES FOR EXTRA READING OR SUPPORT IN ENGLISH

CIS ESL WEBSITE


Check it out for reading and links - www.cisesl.weebly.com
MATH
Khan Academy - www.khanacademy.org
Math tutorial videos to help explain math concepts for all grades.
Cool Math For Kids - http://www.coolmath4kids.com/
Fun Math games that are fun and good for review.
Math Blaster - http://www.mathblaster.com/
Review basic math concepts online.
LANGUAGE
Grammar Ninja - http://www.wordgames.com/grammar-ninja.html
An interactive game to help you practice and improve your English skills.
Game Zone - http://www.english-online.org.uk/
Click play online and see lots of games to help you practice and improve your English skills.
ESL Games World - www.eslgamesworld.com
Click on Games for many fun ways to help you practice and improve your English skills.
Activities for ESL students - http://a4esl.org/
Quizzes, tests, exercises and puzzles to help you practice and improve your English skills.
ONLINE READING - FICTION
StoryNory.com - http://storynory.com/
This site has a link for audio with each story (British accent).
Storyline Online - http://www.storylineonline.net
You can read out loud and follow the story in the book (various celebrities).
ONLINE READING NON-FICTION
Time Magazine for Kids - http://www.timeforkids.com/TFK/
Lots of links with interesting articles.
National Geographic - http://www.nationalgeographic.com/
Lots of interesting articles and videos on many subjects.
National Geographic for Kids - http://kids.nationalgeographic.com/kids/
Lots of interesting articles and videos on many subjects.
DOGO News: http://www.dogonews.com/
Lots of interesting articles and videos on many subjects.
TED.com Ideas Worth Spreading - http://www.ted.com/
Lots of interesting videos on many topics. Turn on the English subtitles.
Tween Tribune www. http://tweentribune.com/
Features topics about animals, fashion, entertainment, school, science, technology, national and world news
written by kids and professional journalists.