You are on page 1of 20

Carisa Patman (3886660)

VIT Review of Readiness

VIT National Standards of Professional Practice for Full Registration


(Individual Review)
Statement of Principle
a statement of purpose and vision for the teaching profession in the State of Victoria.
Teachers in Victoria are committed to the learning and wellbeing of the students they teach and make a significant contribution to the communities in which they work. They respect the
individuality, capacity and backgrounds of their students and maintain high expectations for student learning.
Teachers are committed to the continuous development of their professional knowledge and practice. They work collaboratively, using research and evidence derived from theory and
practice, to improve education and build effective communities of learners.
Teachers share an essential and privileged responsibility with parents and communities to care for all young people, and to discover and develop their potential to learn independently and
critically throughout their lives. Victorian teachers make a difference.
Victorian Institute of Teaching, 2003.
"In a completely rational society the best of us would aspire to be teachers and the rest of us would have
to settle for something less, because passing civilisation along from one generation to the next ought to be
the highest honour and highest responsibility anyone could have." Lee Iacocca

Address
Victorian Institute of Teaching
Level 24, 570 Bourke
Street Melbourne Victoria 3000
Postal Address
PO Box 531 Collins Street
West Victoria 8007
VIT NATIONAL STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE FOR FULL REGISTRATION

Phone 03 8601 5800


Teachers' Hotline 1300 888
067 .
Fax 03 8601 5801
Email vit@vit.vic.edu.au
Page 1 of 20

Carisa Patman (3886660)

VIT Review of Readiness

A Note about the Victorian Institute of Teaching (VIT) Standards for Full Registration
The College of Education has adopted the VIT National Standards of Professional Practice for Full Registration as the basis of its reports on
preservice teachers practice in Project Partnerships. It is important for all participants in Project Partnerships to understand that the VIT intends
the Teaching Standards to be applicable to the practice of beginning teachers after they have completed a negotiated induction program in the first
year of teaching. In the Bachelor of Education, as a result, the use of the text of the Standards is meant to indicate prompts about which
preservice teachers and their mentors can have an informed and structured professional dialogue oriented to improvement in practice.
When using the VIT National Standards, the College of Education asks mentor teachers, School Partnership Coordinators and university
colleagues to take into account that the expectation is the Year 4 preservice teachers will be judged in relation to the practice and understanding of
the competent graduating teacher.

This list of characteristics provides a guide to effective teaching practices that all new teachers should seek to understand, strive to develop and demonstrate over time.
These characteristics are not a checklist of competencies for beginning teachers to master by the end of their first year.
Rather, the list illustrates the practices through which teachers demonstrate the quality and complexity of their professional work.
THE FRAMEWORK
Teachers use a range of teaching practices and resources to engage students in effective learning. The National Standards of Professional Practice for Full Registration seek to describe the elements
of practice which define teachers professional work, and which are expected of all members of the profession.
The framework consists of a statement of principle, three clear domains, seven standards and elaborated descriptions of the characteristics of effective teaching.

VIT NATIONAL STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE FOR FULL REGISTRATION

Page 2 of 20

Carisa Patman (3886660)


Professional Knowledge
Area

1.1: Physical, social and


intellectual development
and characteristics of
students
Use teaching strategies
based on knowledge of
students physical, social
and intellectual
development and
characteristics to improve
student learning

1.2: Understand how


students learn
Structure teaching
programs using research
and collegial advice about
how students learn

VIT Review of Readiness


1. Know students and how they learn

What specific evidence (if any) do


you have about your practice in this
area?

What are your questions about this


area?

Second Year: Looking at the


students I.L.Ps to know how
students are going and observing
what they are like in order to teach
them effectively as it was one on one
teaching. Using their interests in the
lessons as well to get them
interested.

Third Year: Used students interest in


lesson - Soccer World Cup
Case study on Brazil (where
world cup was being held)
Fourth Year: Using hands on fun
activities that the students enjoy.
Using students interests in lessons
to grab students attention.
Play dough camera words
Songs for counting in numeracy

What activities can I use and


implement into my lessons to
get to know the students?
What can I do to assess
students previous knowledge?

What can we do to cater for


different ways of learning?

List some proactive strategies you can


use to learn or have used in the past
about this area/topic at your school?
Do some research in order to find
what interests students have and
observing the students during other
lessons.
Start off with some starter activities
when teaching a new topic as well as
each lesson so that I am able to see
what students do know and what they
may be capable of.

Meet with other teachers from


different learning areas as well as from
different year levels and have a
discussion on how some of their
students learn best by doing what.
Observe different classrooms to see a
range of diverse student learning and
techniques the teachers use.

What specific references and related theory will you


focus on?
(academic/online/textbook/policy doc references
formatted in Harvard style)
PoLT 1: Education 2015, The Learning Environment is
Supportive and Productive, Principles of Learning and
Teaching P-12 Unpacked, viewed 9 March 2015,
http://www.education.vic.gov.au/school/teachers/support/page
s/unpacked12.aspx
Smith. M. K 2001, John Dewey on education, experience and
community, infed: George Williams College, viewed 10 March
2015, http://infed.org/mobi/john-dewey-on-educationexperience-and-community/

Helding. L 2009, Howard Gardners Theory of Multiple


Intelligences, Journal of Singing: National Association of
Teachers of Singing, vol. 66, no. 2, pp. 193-199
Smith. M. K 2008, Howard Gardner, multiple intelligences and
education, infed: George Williams College, viewed 10 march
2015, http://infed.org/mobi/howard-gardner-multipleintelligences-and-education/
Eber. P. A & Parker. T. S 2006, Assessing Students Learning:
Applying Blooms Taxonomy, Indiana University-Purdue
University, For Wayne, pp. 45-53
AusVELS 2015, Victorian Curriculum and Assessment
Authority, viewed 9 March 2015, http://ausvels.vcaa.vic.edu.au

VIT NATIONAL STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE FOR FULL REGISTRATION

Page 3 of 20

Carisa Patman (3886660)


Professional Knowledge
Area

1.3: Students with


diverse linguistic,
cultural, religious and
socioeconomic
backgrounds
Design and implement
teaching strategies that
are responsive to the
learning strengths and
needs of students from
diverse linguistic, cultural,
religious and
socioeconomic
backgrounds

VIT Review of Readiness


1. Know students and how they learn

What specific evidence (if any) do


you have about your practice in this
area?

What are your questions about this


area?

Third Year: Modelling activities to


students so that they know what is
expected of them. (Examples) Year
7s:
Egyptian Timeline
Hieroglyphics activity
Lesson after lesson the students
would learn in different styles
Group work
Summarising

What other strategies are


there that I can implement into
my lessons?

List some proactive strategies you can


use to learn or have used in the past
about this area/topic at your school?
Observe different classrooms to see a
range of diverse student learning and
techniques the teachers use.
Do some research on learning
programs such as inquiry based,
student-centred in order to use in my
classroom and lessons.
I have given my own examples of
activities that the students will be
completing to show how it is to be done
and what is expected.
During my lessons I would
incorporate group work as well as
individual learning, researching and at
the end of every lesson students would
summarise their notes.

What specific references and related theory will you


focus on?
(academic/online/textbook/policy doc references
formatted in Harvard style)
Ladwig. J. G 2007, Modelling Pedagogy in Australian School
Reform, Pedagogies: An International Journal, vol. 2, no. 2,
pp. 57-76
AusVELS 2015, Victorian Curriculum and Assessment
Authority, viewed 9 March 2015, http://ausvels.vcaa.vic.edu.au
Churchill. R, Ferguson. P, Godinho. S, Johnson. N. F, Keddie.
A, Letts. W, Mackay. J, McGill. M, Moss. J, Nagel. M. C,
Nicholson. P & Vick. M 2011, Chapter 16: The Future of
Teaching: Education and Social Change, Teaching Making a
Difference, Wiley & Sons Australia, Milton Qld.

VIT NATIONAL STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE FOR FULL REGISTRATION

Page 4 of 20

Carisa Patman (3886660)


Professional Knowledge
Area

1.4: Strategies for


teaching Aboriginal and
Torres Strait Islander
students
Design and implement
effective teaching
strategies that are
responsive to the local
community and cultural
setting, linguistic
background and histories
of Aboriginal and Torres
Strait islander students

VIT Review of Readiness


1. Know students and how they learn

What specific evidence (if any) do


you have about your practice in this
area?

What are your questions about this


area?

Fourth Year: SWiRL program, NT


Hands on physical activities as they
can not stay still or concentrate for
lengths of time.
Learn through songs for
numeracy (counting), literacy
(letters of alphabet)
As English is second language,
give precise instructions in parts
instead of all at once
Modelling hands on activities
and making sure they know the
expectations of activity.

What effective teaching


strategies are there that I can
use to teach Indigenous
students that they are able to
respond to?

List some proactive strategies you can


use to learn or have used in the past
about this area/topic at your school?
Discuss with other teachers that have
had experience in working with
indigenous students and what
strategies they have used.
Being in the SWIRL program this year
I will gain some or even quite a bit of
experience working with indigenous
students when up in the Northern
Territory.
Being up in the NT I will be able to
observe the teachers and learn some of
their strategies they use.

What specific references and related theory will you


focus on?
(academic/online/textbook/policy doc references
formatted in Harvard style)
Victoria University Library 2015, AEB2301 Rethinking
Australian Studies, LibGuide, viewed 10 March 2015,
http://guides.library.vu.edu.au/content.php?pid=555413&sid=4
577782
Pascoe. B 2008, The Little Red Yellow Black Book: An
Introduction to Indigenous Australia, Aboriginal Studies Press,
Canberra, ACT.
Bull. G 2004, Chapter 2: Language Variation and Difference
dealing with Diversity, The Literacy Landscape, Frenchs
Forest, NSW, pp. 15-22
PoLT 1: Education 2015, The Learning Environment is
Supportive and Productive, Principles of Learning and
Teaching P-12 Unpacked, viewed 9 March 2015,
http://www.education.vic.gov.au/school/teachers/support/page
s/unpacked12.aspx
Dust Echoes 2007, Ancient Stories, New Voices, viewed 9
March 2015, http://www.abc.net.au/dustechoes/
Recognise 2015, Why Recognition, viewed 9 March 2015,
http://www.recognise.org.au

VIT NATIONAL STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE FOR FULL REGISTRATION

Page 5 of 20

Carisa Patman (3886660)


Professional Knowledge
Area

1.5: Differentiate
teaching to meet the
specific learning needs
of students across the
full range of abilities
Develop teaching activities
that incorporate
differentiated strategies to
meet the specific learning
needs of students across
the full range of abilities

1.6: Strategies to
support full participation
of students with
disability
Design and implement
teaching activities that
support the participation
and learning of students
with disability and address
relevant policy and
legislative requirements

VIT Review of Readiness


1. Know students and how they learn

What specific evidence (if any) do


you have about your practice in this
area?

What are your questions about this


area?

Second Year: Hands on activities in


working with preps/grade ones that
were at a PreVels level
(kindergarten):
Songs (Jolly Phonics)
Cutting, Pasting, Drawing, etc.
Movement Dancing, Sign
Language, etc.

Second Year: iPads were used and


integrated into lessons that were of
relation such as:
Numeracy/Number apps/games.
Alphabet/Letters apps/games.
Interactive books.
Third Year: Year 7s had tablets
and/or netbooks for:
Note taking.
Research for activities.
Websites for extra material if
they finish tasks early.

As I have only taught a handful


of students with roughly the
same disability, what other
teaching strategies are there
that I can use that are effective
on a full range of disabilities?

How can I use activities to


further develop my
understanding of how disabled
students learn and
communicate while being able
to teach them effectively at the
same time?
How else can I integrate
technology into my lessons
that will benefit the students?

List some proactive strategies you can


use to learn or have used in the past
about this area/topic at your school?
Being in an alternative setting school,
students need excitement and
movement in order to be interested in
something such as learning, so
throughout lessons and the school day,
the students would listen to educational
songs with choreography (sign
language), lessons had a lot cutting,
pasting and drawing.
I could further observe older students
that have disabilities and see some
strategies teachers use with them as I
have only observed young students (57 years of age).
Look up other ways in which I could
incorporate technology and objects into
my lessons in order to cater for
students with a disability.
Discuss with other teachers.
Attend seminars and program
development work shops.
As the school was an iPad based, all
students had iPads so they were
incorporated into most or all of their
lessons.
Years 7s were in a program that
monitored how tablets or netbooks
could be used efficiently and how they
benefit students in their learning.

What specific references and related theory will you


focus on?
(academic/online/textbook/policy doc references
formatted in Harvard style)
Campbell. S 2015, Feeling the pressure: Early childhood
educators reported views about learning and teaching phonics
in Australian prior-to-school settings, Australian Journal of
Language and Literacy, vol. 38, no. 1, pp.12-26.
DEECD 2011, Towards Level 1 of the Victorian Essential
Learning Standards, viewed 9 March 2015,
https://www.eduweb.vic.gov.au/edulibrary/public/teachlearn/st
udent/ABLES_TL1VELS.pdf
Churchill. R, Ferguson. P, Godinho. S, Johnson. N. F, Keddie.
A, Letts. W, Mackay. J, McGill. M, Moss. J, Nagel. M. C,
Nicholson. P & Vick. M 2011, Chapter 3: Student Learning,
Teaching Making a Difference, Wiley & Sons Australia, Milton
Qld.

Lin. C. C 2014, Learning English Vocabulary Collaboratively in


a Technology Supported Classroom, The Turkish Online
Journal of Educational Technology, vol. 13, no. 1, pp. 162-173
DEECD 2011, Towards Level 1 of the Victorian Essential
Learning Standards, viewed 9 March 2015,
https://www.eduweb.vic.gov.au/edulibrary/public/teachlearn/st
udent/ABLES_TL1VELS.pdf
AusVELS 2015, Victorian Curriculum and Assessment
Authority, viewed 9 March 2015, http://ausvels.vcaa.vic.edu.au

VIT NATIONAL STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE FOR FULL REGISTRATION

Page 6 of 20

Carisa Patman (3886660)


Professional Knowledge
Area

2.1: Content and


teaching strategies of
the teaching area
Apply knowledge of the
content and teaching
strategies of the teaching
area to develop engaging
teaching activities

2.2: Content selection


and organisation
Organise content into
coherent, well-sequenced
learning and teaching
programs

2.3: Curriculum,
assessment and
reporting
Design and implement
learning and teaching
programs using
knowledge of curriculum,
assessment and reporting
requirements

VIT Review of Readiness

2. Know the content and how to teach it.


What specific evidence (if any) do
What are your questions about this
you have about your practice in this
area?
area?
Third Year: Edmodo was used for all
year levels to gather any extra
information they may want or need to
look at such as:
Websites, videos, audio, images,
etc.
I would do my own extra research on
topics being given so that I was able
to give as much information to them
that may have been needed.

Fourth Year: Used a curriculum


sorting guide to distinguish what year
levels needed to learn what for
numeracy and literacy as the class
was multi-year level.

Third Year: AVID Program.


AVID uses and shows all sorts of
ways of implement learning and
retaining students learning throughout
the year such as:
Note taking (Cornell notes).
Developing questions to further
their own learning (Costas
Levels of Questioning).
Summarising their notes and
what they have leant in order to
answer the essential question.

How else can I further educate


myself on teaching areas so
that I am able to effectively
teach students topics that are
engaging?

What can I do in order to


select, choose and create
content that is well sequenced
for students to learn?
How can I use my knowledge
that I have accumulated over
the past two years in teaching
programs available to
students?
Other than the AVID program,
what other ways can I use the
knowledge of curriculum in
assessments as well as other
teaching programs available?

List some proactive strategies you can


use (or have used in the past) to learn
about this area/topic at your school?
All of the classes I taught were
connected with edmodo, where their
assessment information would go for
students to download and look at.
Extra information that students may
need/want to look at for further
knowledge on subjects that can be
used in assessments.
I could consult other teachers that are
in the same discipline area as myself
and discuss how I can further efficiently
teach my students.
I could look at the curriculum and see
what is required for students to know,
skills that need to be developed and
knowledge they will need to learn and
filter my content that way.
Go over everything that I have done
over my time as a pre-service teacher
or what I have done so far and try and
incorporate that into my teaching
practices.
Discuss with teachers that are in or
use other programs that could be
helpful in teaching of students and
incorporate that into my own.
Do some of my own research on
assessments as well a look up student
curriculum and policies that can help
me in assessing students and then
being able to report on that.

What specific references and related theory will you


focus on?
(academic/online/textbook/policy doc references
formatted in Harvard style)
AusVELS 2015, Victorian Curriculum and Assessment
Authority, viewed 9 March 2015,
http://ausvels.vcaa.vic.edu.au
Edmodo 2015, viewed 10 March 2015,
https://www.edmodo.com
Churchill. R, Ferguson. P, Godinho. S, Johnson. N. F,
Keddie. A, Letts. W, Mackay. J, McGill. M, Moss. J, Nagel.
M. C, Nicholson. P & Vick. M 2011, Chapter 6: The
Curriculum, Teaching Making a Difference, Wiley & Sons
Australia, Milton Qld.

AusVELS 2015, Victorian Curriculum and Assessment


Authority, viewed 9 March 2015,
http://ausvels.vcaa.vic.edu.au
Churchill. R, Ferguson. P, Godinho. S, Johnson. N. F,
Keddie. A, Letts. W, Mackay. J, McGill. M, Moss. J, Nagel.
M. C, Nicholson. P & Vick. M 2011, Chapter 9: Organising
the Learning Environment, Teaching Making a Difference,
Wiley & Sons Australia, Milton Qld.

Quintus. L, Borr. M, Duffield. S, Napoleon. L & Welch. A


2012, The impact of the Cornell Note-Taking Method on
Students Performance in a High School Family and
Consumer Science Class, Journal of Family & Consumer
Sciences Education, vol. 30, no. 1, pp. 27-38.
AVID n.d, Three Story House (Costas Levels of
Questioning): Tutor/Student Handout, Tutorial Support
Curriculum Resource Guide, viewed 10 March 2015,
http://blog.adambabcock.com/wpcontent/uploads/2013/03/Costa-House-Levels-ofQuestions.pdf

VIT NATIONAL STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE FOR FULL REGISTRATION

Page 7 of 20

Carisa Patman (3886660)


Professional Knowledge

2.4: Understand and


respect Aboriginal and
Torres Strait Islander
people to promote
reconciliation between
indigenous and nonindigenous Australians
Provide opportunities for
students to develop
understanding of and
respect for Aboriginal and
Torres Strait Islander
histories, cultures and
languages

VIT Review of Readiness


2. Know the content and how to teach it.
What can I do to further
students knowledge on
Indigenous Australian
histories, cultures and
languages?
How can I provide
opportunities to students in
order to develop a more in
depth understanding of
Indigenous Australians and
their histories, cultures and
languages?

I can try and do some extra research


for myself on indigenous history and
culture and use that in my lessons in
order to educate non-indigenous
students.
I can have some discussions with
indigenous teachers if there are any at
the school that can help educate
myself.
Being in the SWIRL program this
year, I would be able to educate myself
further and develop my skills and
knowledge on Indigenous studies and
use this knowledge to my advantage in
my lessons and future practices.

Victoria University Library 2015, AEB2301 Rethinking


Australian Studies, LibGuide, viewed 10 March 2015,
http://guides.library.vu.edu.au/content.php?pid=555413&si
d=4577782
Pascoe. B 2008, The Little Red Yellow Black Book: An
Introduction to Indigenous Australia, Aboriginal Studies
Press, Canberra, ACT.
Bull. G 2004, Chapter 2: Language Variation and
Difference dealing with Diversity, The Literacy Landscape,
Frenchs Forest, NSW, pp. 15-22
PoLT 1: Education 2015, The Learning Environment is
Supportive and Productive, Principles of Learning and
Teaching P-12 Unpacked,
http://www.education.vic.gov.au/school/teachers/support/p
ages/unpacked12.aspx, (accessed 9 March 2015)
Dust Echoes 2007, Ancient Stories, New Voices, viewed 9
March 2015, http://www.abc.net.au/dustechoes/
Recognise 2015, Why Recognition, viewed 9 March 2015,
http://www.recognise.org.au

2.5: Literacy and


numeracy strategies
Apply knowledge and
understanding of effective
teaching strategies to
support students literacy
and numeracy
achievement

Second Year: One on One Teaching


with each student.
ACP: Numeracy
Yearly Project: Alphabet Book
Third Year: Literacy.
I Looked into the importance of
Grammar in schools and techniques
and strategies for students to do and
for teaching students.

How can I apply students prior


knowledge of literacy and
knowledge and develop their
understandings even further?
What strategies and activities
can I implement into my
lessons to support this?

Using some starter lesson activities to


get students prior knowledge on
numeracy and literacy in order to teach
them efficiently.
Discuss with numeracy and literacy
teachers and get their imput and
knowledge in strategies they use.
I worked on an alphabet book with the
students throughout the whole year
where students had to practice writing
and finding words that started with that
the letters.
Our ACP was based on numeracy
and had to find some fun and exciting
lessons on numbers and mathematics
to teach the students and for teachers
to use in the future.

Fellowes. J & Oakley. G 2010, Language, Literacy and


Early Childhood Education, Oxford, South Melbourne,
Victoria.
Victoria University 2012, Mathematics Education in the
Primary School, Pearson, Sydney, NSW.
NSW Department of Education and Training 2007, Writing
and Spelling Strategies: Assisting Students who have
additional learning support needs, Disability Programs
Directorate: Learning Assistance Program, NSW State
Literacy and Numeracy Plan, Oxford Street NSW.
Konza. D 2011, Oral Language: Understanding the
Reading Process, Research Into Practice Series 1, Edith
Cowen University, Western Australia.

VIT NATIONAL STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE FOR FULL REGISTRATION

Page 8 of 20

Carisa Patman (3886660)


Professional Knowledge

2.6: Information and


Communication
Technology (ICT)
Use effective teaching
strategies to integrate ICT
into learning and teaching
programs to make
selected content relevant
and meaningful

VIT Review of Readiness

2. Know the content and how to teach it.


Second Year: iPad use in the
How can I use ICT in different
classroom and integrated in lessons
ways that caters to all learning
given.
needs in the classroom?
Third Year: Year 7s had tablets
What are other effective
and/or netbooks to use. Lesson for
teaching strategies can I use
year 8s in computer room. Year 10
that integrate ICT into students
lesson in library on computers.
learning that makes the
Use of interactive whiteboard in every
selected content relevant and
classroom used for all my lessons.
meaningful to students
everyday lives?

Research into ways that technology


can be used in the classroom.
One interesting way I have witnessed
is the early year students face-timing
the middle year students and the
middle year students reading a story
out to the early year students.
I can observe other classrooms that
integrate technology into their lessons
and see how the teachers strategize
them and how they select content to
use.
For secondary students I had some
lessons throughout the year in the
computer rooms using research as well
as in the library using computers to do
an internet scavenger hunt.
As every classroom had an
interactive whiteboard I incorporated
that into all my lessons, watching video
clips, PowerPoints for information, etc.

Bhaumik. P. K 2012, Use of ICT In The Classroom


Teaching of Management, SAGE, vol. 14, no. 4, pp. 245252
Churchill. R, Ferguson. P, Godinho. S, Johnson. N. F,
Keddie. A, Letts. W, Mackay. J, McGill. M, Moss. J, Nagel.
M. C, Nicholson. P & Vick. M 2011, Chapter 10: Teaching
with Information and Communication Technologies,
Teaching Making a Difference, Wiley & Sons Australia,
Milton Qld.
Woolsey. K & Woolsey. M 2008, Childs Play, Theory into
Practice: Digital Literacies in The Age of Sight and Sound,
The College of Education and Human Ecology, The Ohio
State University, pp. 128-137.
Lin. C. C 2014, Learning English Vocabulary
Collaboratively in a Technology Supported Classroom,
The Turkish Online Journal of Educational Technology,
vol. 13, no. 1, pp. 162-173.

VIT NATIONAL STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE FOR FULL REGISTRATION

Page 9 of 20

Carisa Patman (3886660)


Professional Practice
Area

3.1: Establish
challenging learning
goals
Set explicit, challenging
and achievable learning
goals for all students

3.2: Plan, structure and


sequence learning
programs
Plan and implement well
structured learning and
teaching programs or
lessons sequences that
engage students and
promote learning

3.3: Use teaching


strategies
Select and use relevant
teaching strategies to
develop knowledge, skills,
problem solving and
critical and creative
thinking

VIT Review of Readiness

3. Plan for and implement effective teaching and learning


What specific evidence (if any) do
What are your questions about this
you have about your practice in this
area?
area?
Third Year: AVID Strategies.
Topic and EQ on board in every
lesson, gives students what they
need to work towards for the lesson
and then summarise at the end of
every lesson their answer to EQ and
sharing with multiple people what
they had learned and had written.

Throughout my whole placement


experience I have created, structured
and planned my own lessons to teach
students ranging from PreVELS
(Kindergarten/Prep/Grade 1s)
through to Year 10s.
Third Year: I created a series of
lessons in Humanities, which could
be classified as a short Unit of work
on Indigenous Australia incorporating,
English, The Arts and other
disciplines into lessons.
Fourth Year: This year I will be
creating a unit on The Arts
incorporating Dance, Music, and
Visual Arts into the lessons/unit.
Second Year: One on one teaching
with students to try and understand
how they learn best and how to go
about teaching them.
Third Year: Observing mentor and
modelled myself, some teaching
strategies (AVID Teacher).

List some proactive strategies you can


use (or have used in the past) to learn
about this area/topic at your school?

How can I make sure that all


students will be able to
achieve set learning goals?
How challenging do the
learning goals need to be in
order for students to grow and
develop further in their
learning?

Being in AVID, I have learned quite a


few strategies such as Essential
Questions, Cornell note taking and
learning strategies in the classroom.
Make sure that students learning
goals are not to outrages and can be
achieved in the amount of time given.
I can consult other teachers and
compare their students learning goals
with mine.

Who can I go to, to consult,


plan and implement wellstructured learning and
teaching programs that will be
effective in all learning areas?
What can I do to engage
students and promote their
learning effectively in the
classroom?

I could consult other teachers in the


same discipline area as me.
I could make time to see the principal
or year level leaders and receive their
input and feedback.
I could try and incorporate their
interests into the lessons as well as
what is happening in the world at the
time to make the content relevant, such
as last year I did a geography lesson on
Brazil when the soccer world cup was
happening.

What relevant teaching


strategies are there that I can
use in order to develop
students knowledge and skills
and which ones are more
effective than others?

I can look up the school curriculum


and find out what programs the school
offers for teachers and students.
I can do some research into different
learning strategies and programs that
are effective on students development.

What specific references and related theory will you


focus on?
(academic/online/textbook/policy doc references
formatted in Harvard style)
Churchill. R, Ferguson. P, Godinho. S, Johnson. N. F,
Keddie. A, Letts. W, Mackay. J, McGill. M, Moss. J, Nagel.
M. C, Nicholson. P & Vick. M 2011, Chapter 4:
Understanding and Motivating Students, Teaching Making
a Difference, Wiley & Sons Australia, Milton Qld.
PoLT 2: Education 2015, The Learning Environment
Promotes Independence, Interdependence and Self
Motivation, Principles of Learning and Teaching P-12
Unpacked, viewed 9 march 2015,
http://www.education.vic.gov.au/school/teachers/support/p
ages/unpacked12.aspx

Shulman. L. S 1992, Chapter 1: Toward a Pedagogy of


Cases, Case Methods in Teacher Education, College
Press, Teachers College, Columbia University, pp. 1-30.
AusVELS 2015, Victorian Curriculum and Assessment
Authority, viewed 9 March 2015,
http://ausvels.vcaa.vic.edu.au

McLeod. S 2012, Jean Piaget, Simply Psychology, viewed


10 March 2015,
http://www.simplypsychology.org/piaget.html
AusVELS 2015, Victorian Curriculum and Assessment
Authority, viewed 9 March 2015,
http://ausvels.vcaa.vic.edu.au

VIT NATIONAL STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE FOR FULL REGISTRATION

Page 10 of 20

Carisa Patman (3886660)


Professional Practice

3.4: Select and use


resources
Select and/or create and
use a range of resources,
including ICT, to engage
students in their learning

3.5: Use effective


classroom
communication
Use effective verbal and
non-verbal
communication strategies
to support student
understanding,
participation, engagement
and achievement

3.6: Evaluate and


improve teaching
programs
Evaluate personal
teaching and learning
programs using evidence,
including feedback from
students and student
assessment data, to
inform planning

VIT Review of Readiness

3. Plan for and implement effective teaching and learning


Second Year: Educational apps for all How can I make sure that the
ages in Primary, Secondary as well
resources collected are
as Special Educational students.
appropriate and helpful to the
Third Year: Websites with activities
students?
(Hieroglyphics feedback from
How can I make sure that it is
students).
relevant and students are able
Use of Edmodo for extra material
to understand and follow it and
information and assessment
broaden their knowledge and
information.
understanding the topic being
taught?
Giving time for students to ask any
questions if unsure about certain
tasks or clarification on topics being
discussed.
Reflections from students at end of
class on what they have learnt and
will take away with them.
Making my way around the classroom
during lessons to see if there are any
concerns and to make sure they have
a good understanding.

Second Year: Students have given


me feedback and told me whether
they liked the activities I have given
them to do. Given them helpful
information and ways to go about
their work and how they have
improved and to keep going in
becoming smart.
Third Year: Feedback from students, I
have looked and seen some students
previous work on tests and
assessments they have done as well
as discussing with mentor how
students have been going with their
classwork, etc. AVID.

What can I do to improve my


communication skills with
students in order to effectively
engage with them?
What types of strategies are
there that I could implement
when it comes to verbal and
non-verbal communication to
students in order to effectively
support student
understanding, participation,
engagement and
achievement?
What things can I do to
evaluate my personal
teachings?
What can I do to improve them
even further?
How can I go about using
evidence such as feedback
from students and student
data to inform my planning
more successfully that will
then benefit back to the
students in a positive and
helpful way?

I can look up school policies and filter


my resources to what is relevant and
appropriate for the students to use and
learn from.
I could consult some other teachers
and find what they think is appropriate
and relevant for the students as well as
the topic being taught.

I can find out what the students


interests are.
I could try and relate to students
when I was their age.
Use sympathy and empathy towards
them in troubled times.
I can meet with other teachers or give
out anonymous surveys in order to get
input to what students are feeling and
think of topics and lessons being
taught.

I can have others teachers with spare


time come in, observe my lessons and
then give me some feedback in order to
improve.
I can incorporate my mentors
teaching strategies with my lessons
(which I have done).
Research and receive feedback from
students, their thoughts and
observations of lessons they have been
taught in.

Edmodo 2015, viewed 10 March 2015,


https://www.edmodo.com
Bhaumik. P. K 2012, Use of ICT In The Classroom
Teaching of Management, SAGE, vol. 14, no. 4, pp. 245252
Lin. C. C 2014, Learning English Vocabulary
Collaboratively in a Technology Supported Classroom,
The Turkish Online Journal of Educational Technology,
vol. 13, no. 1, pp. 162-173

InTime 2008, Chapter 1: Cooperative Learning Process,


viewed 10 March 2015,
http://www.intime.uni.edu/coop_learning/ch1/definition.htm
Johnson. D. W & Johnson. R. T 1991, Principles of
Cooperative Learning: Basics Elements of Cooperative
Learning, California State University, viewed 10 march
2015, http://www.csudh.edu/dearhabermas/cooplrn.htm

Smith. S. G 2014, Teaching Challenges and Dilemmas,


Cengage Learning Australia, South Melbourne, Victoria.
AusVELS 2015, Victorian Curriculum and Assessment
Authority, viewed 9 March 2015,
http://ausvels.vcaa.vic.edu.au

VIT NATIONAL STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE FOR FULL REGISTRATION

Page 11 of 20

Carisa Patman (3886660)


Professional Practice

3.7: Engage
parents/carers in the
educative process
Plan for appropriate and
contextually relevant
opportunities for
parents/carers to be
involved in their childrens
learning

VIT Review of Readiness

3. Plan for and implement effective teaching and learning


Third Year: I helped my mentor set up How can I make sure that my
for the year 10 information night for
plans on the context are
the students and parents when they
appropriate in the students
go into year 11 or 12 being whether
learning?
they choose VCE, VET or VCAL
How can I successfully engage
(humanities discipline).
with parents and explain to
them respectfully and
successfully if there is some
uncertainty in the educative
process used?

I can look up the schools policies and


curriculum for the students learning.
I can consult and discuss with other
teachers and receive their own
thoughts and ideas of what is or isnt
appropriate with students.
I can have points or arguments
written down/memorized so that I am
able to successfully explain to the
parents/carers and give them some
resources to look up if they want more
information.
I can attend some parent/teacher
interview days/night with my mentor.

Edmodo 2015, viewed 10 March 2015,


https://www.edmodo.com
AusVELS 2015, Victorian Curriculum and Assessment
Authority, viewed 9 March 2015,
http://ausvels.vcaa.vic.edu.au

VIT NATIONAL STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE FOR FULL REGISTRATION

Page 12 of 20

Carisa Patman (3886660)


Professional Practice
Area

VIT Review of Readiness

4. Create and maintain supportive and safe learning environments.


What specific evidence (if any) do
What are your questions about this
List some proactive strategies you can
you have about your practice in this
area?
use (or have used in the past) to learn
area?
about this area/topic at your school?
Third Year: I did a fair amount of
group work throughout the year in my
lesson plans.
Year 7: Research activities.
Year 8: The Bayeux Tapestry
unscramble/ordering, Needs vs.
wants game.
Year 10: Mind Mapping.

What other ways or methods


are there that can support and
implement inclusiveness in
classroom activities?
How can I establish and create
a positive environment for all
students within the classroom?

4.1: Support student


participation
Establish and implement
inclusive and positive
interaction to engage and
support all students in
classroom activities

4.2: Manage classroom


activities
Establish and maintain
orderly and workable
routines to create an
environment where
student time is spent on
learning tasks

Third Year: I set time limits


throughout my lessons when they
had an activity to go on with as well
as starter activities to let them know
they had a certain amount of time to
complete their work.
If they got too out of hand and trying
to settle them they first stood behind
their chairs and then if still, they lined
back up outside the classroom and
then come back in again after
repeating my instructions. This
worked most of the time or I would
raise my hand to get their attention.

What are some techniques


that I could/can use in the
classroom that will grab
students attention and get
them to do the set tasks?
How can I make sure that I
leave enough time for students
to complete their set tasks?
How much time should be
allocated appropriately in order
for students to effectively and
properly finish tasks?

I can make sure every student has a


say in discussions by randomly picking
students and make sure that they are
chosen fairly and equally.
Discuss with or observe other
teachers and the methods they use to
make sure students are included.
I can have classroom rules/policies
where everyone has a fair go, that
everyone is being heard and not
criticised, as there are no stupid
questions.
In my lessons in third year I did a fair
amount of group work with the students
as it gets every student involved when it
came to research activities. There is an
activity where they worked in groups for
a game, putting a tapestry back
together and in order and when it came
to summarising topics for their
assessments.

I set time limits throughout my


lessons letting students know how long
they have to complete an activity which
in turn makes sure they actually do the
activity and not just sit there and think
they could do it later.
To make sure I leave enough time to
finish activities I could as the activities
go on see the students progress and if
they are working efficiently and time it
from there.
I could observe other classrooms of
the same year level and see how much
time teachers set for their activities.

What specific references and related theory will you


focus on?
(academic/online/textbook/policy doc references
formatted in Harvard style)
InTime 2008, Chapter 1: Cooperative Learning Process,
viewed 10 March 2015,
http://www.intime.uni.edu/coop_learning/ch1/definition.htm
Johnson. D. W & Johnson. R. T 1991, Principles of
Cooperative Learning: Basics Elements of Cooperative
Learning, California State University, viewed 10 march
2015, http://www.csudh.edu/dearhabermas/cooplrn.htm
PoLT 2: Education 2015, The Learning Environment
Promotes Independence, Interdependence and Self
Motivation, Principles of Learning and Teaching P-12
Unpacked,
http://www.education.vic.gov.au/school/teachers/support/p
ages/unpacked12.aspx, (accessed 9 March 2015)
Cherry. K 2015, Maslows Needs Hierarchy, About
Education, viewed 13 March 2015,
http://psychology.about.com/od/theoriesofpersonality/ss/ma
slows-needs-hierarchy.htm
McLeod. S 2014, Maslows Hierarchy of Needs, Simply
Psychology, viewed 13 March 2015,
http://www.simplypsychology.org/maslow.html

Smith. S. G 2014, Teaching Challenges and Dilemmas,


Cengage Learning Australia, South Melbourne, Victoria.
AusVELS 2015, Victorian Curriculum and Assessment
Authority, viewed 9 March 2015,
http://ausvels.vcaa.vic.edu.au

VIT NATIONAL STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE FOR FULL REGISTRATION

Page 13 of 20

Carisa Patman (3886660)


Professional Practice

4.3: Manage challenging


behaviour
Manage challenging
behaviour by establishing
and negotiating clear
expectations with
students and address
discipline issues promptly,
fairly and respectfully

4.4: Maintain student


safety
Ensure students
wellbeing and safety
within school by
implementing school
and/or systems,
curriculum and legislative
requirements

4.5: Use ICT safely,


responsibly and
ethically
Incorporate strategies to
promote the safe,
responsible and ethical
use of ICT in learning and
teaching

VIT Review of Readiness

4. Create and maintain supportive and safe learning environments.


Second Year: Students had a sticker
I could set a certain amount of
What other techniques and
reward program where they would
warnings and then their name will be
strategies are there to control
receive a sticker if they displayed
put on the board to stay back.
challenging behaviour?
good behaviour and if the displayed
I could separate students if they are
How much should you
bad behaviour they would have one
talking too much when they are
reprimand a student before it
taken away and once received so
supposed to be working.
becomes out of hand and
many stickers they got to choose a
there is no respect whatsoever Assigned seating.
prize out of the prize box
I could discuss with other teachers,
left between students and
Third Year: I would give some
year level leader or principal on ways
teacher?
warnings, relocate students, students What can I do in order to earn
that I could control and manage
would stay back if it was a period
behaviour in a less reprimanding way.
students respect?
before recess, lunch or last period. I
I could try and relate to students in
would also give them something to
order to earn their respect and show
look forward to
enough authority to show that I am in
charge but not seem too threatening.
Made sure students were doing the
We could have class rules and make
What can I do in order to
right thing in class and in the school.
sure they are followed in order to keep
create a safe work
Fourth Year: Made sure I knew the
students safe.
environment?
safety hazards in the classroom and
Who can I go to, to ensure that Look up school policies and safety
to find out where the first aid kit is
procedures and make sure my
the classroom environment is
kept as well as any fire distinguisher,
classroom adheres to that.
safe and maintained?
etc were.

Second Year: iPads have a guided


access feature where you could lock
the iPad into a certain game. Once
that is activated, students are unable
to switch to a different app that was
not relevant to what they were
learning.
Third Year: I moved around the
classroom constantly to give the
students no time to be doing
something they werent (never stayed
out front of classroom). Also students
had a rule/consent form that they
signed at start of year outlining rules
and regulations regarding use of the
notebook/tablet and the consequence
of doing the wrong thing.

What other things can I do to


make sure that the students
are using ICT responsibly,
appropriately and ethically in
the classroom?

Set up the classroom in a way that


does not give students the opportunity
to do the wrong thing on their
tablets/netbooks.
Get students to sign a contract with
their parents as they will be under age
and if they break it then there will be
some sort of consequence and after so
many, then maybe there could be
banning, detentions, etc. to make it stop
in the future and so they know that their
behaviour is against the rules.

Akman. B, Aydos. E. H, Akar. A & Sansal. S 2014,


Preschool and Special Education Teachers Behavioural
Management Strategies, Elementary Education Online,
vol. 13, no. 1, pp. 274- 291.
Smith. S. G 2014, Teaching Challenges and Dilemmas,
Cengage Learning Australia, South Melbourne, Victoria,
pp. 83-114
Barbetta. P. M, Norona. K. L & Bicard. D. F 205,
Classroom Behaviour Management: A Dozen Common
Mistakes and What To Do Instead, Preventing School
Failure, vol. 49, no. 3, pp. 11-19

Bullying: No Way 2015, National Safe Schools Framework


(NSSF), viewed 9 March 2015,
http://www.bullyingnoway.gov.au/teachers/nssf/index.html
Vicars. M 2009, Textual Encounters and Pedagogic
Interventions, Pedagogy, Culture and Society, vol. 17, no.
3, pp. 311-322

GSO 2014, Safe Internet Use, Get Safe Online, viewed 13


March 2015, https://www.getsafeonline.org/protecting-yourcomputer/safe-internet-use/
Lin. C. C 2014, Learning English Vocabulary
Collaboratively in a Technology Supported Classroom,
The Turkish Online Journal of Educational Technology, vol.
13, no. 1, pp. 162-173
Bhaumik. P. K 2012, Use of ICT In The Classroom
Teaching of Management, SAGE, vol. 14, no. 4, pp. 245252

VIT NATIONAL STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE FOR FULL REGISTRATION

Page 14 of 20

Carisa Patman (3886660)


Professional Practice
Area

5.1: Assess student


learning
Develop, select and use
informal and formal,
diagnostic, formative and
summative assessment
strategies to assess
student learning

5.2: Provide feedback to


students on their
learning
Provide timely, effective
and appropriate feedback
to students about their
achievement relative to
their learning goals

VIT Review of Readiness


5. Assess, provide feedback and report on student learning.

What specific evidence (if any) do


you have about your practice in this
area?

What are your questions about this


area?

Second Year: As it was one on one


teaching, I was constantly giving
feedback after every lesson so that
the student/s were able to try and
learn from their mistakes and
encourage them to keep going and
praising them.
Third Year: I would ask at the end of
most lessons what students will take
away with them, what they enjoyed,
what they didnt enjoy and giving
them feedback on their summaries
(Cornell notes).

Second Year: Constant correcting


and praising on their work and how
they went in tasks and activities,
guiding them with one on one
teaching.
Third Year: AVID has binder checks
that are constantly assessed and
graded, feedback given in AVID
tutorials, general feedback when
students gave talks/presentations to
whole class as well as individual
written feedback.

In what ways can I assess


students throughout the year?
What strategies are there that
can be helpful and effective?

List some proactive strategies you can


use (or have used in the past) to learn
about this area/topic at your school?
Reflect after every lesson on student
progress.
Keep notes on certain things students
do and see if it is re-occurring and try
and do something to change it.
I can discuss with other teachers
what they do to keep up assessment on
students throughout the year.

What specific references and related theory will you


focus on?
(academic/online/textbook/policy doc references
formatted in Harvard style)
PoLT 5: Education 2015, Assessment Practices Are an
Integral Part of Teaching and Learning, Principles of
Learning and Teaching P-12 Unpacked, viewed 9 March
2015,
http://www.education.vic.gov.au/school/teachers/support/p
ages/unpacked12.aspx
Heritage. M 2010, Formative Assessment Making It
Happen, Thousand Oakes, California
Tuttle. H. G 2009, Formative Assessment Responding To
Your Students, Larchmont, NY
Marchand. G. C & Furrer. C. J 2014, Formative,
Informative and Summative Assessment: The relationship
among curriculum-based measurement of reading,
classroom engagement and reading performance,
Psychology in the Schools, vol. 51, no. 7, pp. 659-676

What is effective feedback?


How much feedback should I
give to students?
What are some effective and
appropriate feedbacks to give
students?
How helpful is feedback to
students?
What is the best way to give
feedback to students and what
would they prefer?

I could trial a few different feedback


methods and have students let me
know which ones they prefer.
For some students you dont want to
be too complicated, so short and
straight to the point and then if they ask
for further feedback, give it to them.
Observe what other teachers do.
Giving it to students on paper gives
them chances to look back and fix up
what they need to.

PoLT 3: Education 2015, Students Needs, Backgrounds,


Perspectives and Interests are Reflected in the Learning
Program, Principles of Learning and Teaching P-12
Unpacked, viewed 9 March 2015,
http://www.education.vic.gov.au/school/teachers/support/p
ages/unpacked12.aspx
Pollock. J. E 2012, Feedback: the hinge that joins teaching
and learning, Thousand Oakes, California

VIT NATIONAL STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE FOR FULL REGISTRATION

Page 15 of 20

Carisa Patman (3886660)


Professional Practice
5.3: Make consistent
and comparable
judgements
Understand and
participate in assessment
moderation activities to
support consistent and
comparable judgements
of student learning

5.4: Interpret student


data:
Use student assessment
data to analyse and
evaluate student
understanding of
subject/content,
identifying interventions
and modifying teaching
practice

5.5: Report on student


achievement
Report clearly, accurately
and respectfully to
students and
parents/carers about
student achievement
making use of accurate
and reliable records

VIT Review of Readiness


5. Assess, provide feedback and report on student learning.

Third Year: I got to mark some


students tests and give them scores
as well as create a scoring/point
system to one of their tests (how
many marks for this questions and
that).
Seeing their marks helped me judge
on how I should go about teaching
them in their next classes I taught.

Observations on students and their


work they produced in classes.
I looked at what students had done in
the past with tests, assessments they
have handed in and from discussions
with my mentor on the classes.

I would give feedback to my mentor


on what I saw, felt and thought that
could possibly go different next time
or what I would have done different. I
also gave feedback to my mentor on
the students and classes when they
were absent and CRT Teachers filled
in for him.

How can I avoid discriminative


judgements on students?
How can I stop certain
judgements effect my opinion
of certain students?
How can I make consistent
comparable judgements on
student learning?
How can I use the interpreted
student data effectively in the
teaching?
What are the ways in which I
can receive students prior
knowledge on topics?
How can I use this information
to modify my teaching practice
effectively?

What can I do to motivate


myself to write students/lesson
reflections more efficiently,
clearly and unbiased?
What can I do to improve my
report writing in ways that is
accurate and respectful
towards students and
parents/guardians, as well as
being a reliable source?

When it comes to marking students


tests/assessments/work, do not look at
the students names while doing it.
Always come to work with a clear
mind and clear state if any students had
bad behaviour the previous day (does
not mean it will happen today).
Make comparable judgements
throughout the day instead of a bit here
and there.
I could produce some sort of graph to
help me see progress efficiently, which
in turn allows me to see what needs to
be improved.
I can give out starter questions on
topics to see what students know and
what they can do with some starter
activities.
Use what students know and do not
know in order to structure my lessons
plans that way.

Make sure I set myself some time


aside to reflect either on the day or after
each lesson.
I could get some mentoring from a
more experienced teacher on reporting
to receive some tips and tricks.
I can attend parent/teacher interview
days/nights with my mentor.

PoLT 3: Education 2015, Students Needs, Backgrounds,


Perspectives and Interests are Reflected in the Learning
Program, Principles of Learning and Teaching P-12
Unpacked, viewed 9 March 2015,
http://www.education.vic.gov.au/school/teachers/support/p
ages/unpacked12.aspx
Pollock. J. E 2012, Feedback: the hinge that joins teaching
and learning, Thousand Oakes, California

McLeod. S 2012, Jean Piaget, Simply Psychology, viewed


10 March 2015,
http://www.simplypsychology.org/piaget.html
AusVELS 2015, Victorian Curriculum and Assessment
Authority, viewed 9 March 2015,
http://ausvels.vcaa.vic.edu.au
Churchill. R, Ferguson. P, Godinho. S, Johnson. N. F,
Keddie. A, Letts. W, Mackay. J, McGill. M, Moss. J, Nagel.
M. C, Nicholson. P & Vick. M 2011, Chapter 12:
Assessment, Feedback and Reporting, Teaching Making a
Difference, Wiley & Sons Australia, Milton Qld.
McLeod. S 2012, Jean Piaget, Simply Psychology, viewed
10 March 2015,
http://www.simplypsychology.org/piaget.html
Smith. M. K 2001, John Dewey on education, experience
and community, infed: George Williams College, viewed 10
March 2015, http://infed.org/mobi/john-dewey-oneducation-experience-and-community/
Churchill. R, Ferguson. P, Godinho. S, Johnson. N. F,
Keddie. A, Letts. W, Mackay. J, McGill. M, Moss. J, Nagel.
M. C, Nicholson. P & Vick. M 2011, Chapter 12:
Assessment, Feedback and Reporting, Teaching Making a
Difference, Wiley & Sons Australia, Milton Qld.

VIT NATIONAL STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE FOR FULL REGISTRATION

Page 16 of 20

Carisa Patman (3886660)

VIT Review of Readiness

Professional Engagement
6. Engage in professional learning.
Area
What specific evidence (if any) do
What are your questions about this
you have about your practice in this
area?
area?
6.1:Identify and plan
professional learning
needs
Use the National
Professional Standards
for Teachers and advice
from colleagues to identify
and plan professional
learning needs
6.2: Engage in
professional learning
and improve practice
Participate in learning to
update knowledge and
practice, targeted to
professional needs and
school and/or system
priorities

6.3: Engage with


colleagues and improve
practice
Contribute to collegial
discussions and apply
constructive feedback
from colleagues to
improve professional
knowledge and practice

Third Year: Attended some PDs,


especially during one of the
curriculum days during block
placements that talked about AVID
strategies that teachers could
implement in their classrooms as not
all teachers do. Staff meeting and
curriculum meetings, other PD
meetings.

Constantly attended any meetings


there were to keep up to date with
content and what was required of
students.
Fourth Year: Worked with the
Teaching Principal at the school in
the Northern Territory.

List some proactive strategies you can


use (or have used in the past) to learn
about this area/topic at your school?

What can I do to input my own


knowledge to help and to
identify and plan professional
learning needs?
What will I be able to offer?

Look back at what I have previously


done and feedback received as well as
what I have observed.
Attend as many meetings as I can
that will benefit myself as a teacher.
Look back at what I know, have been
taught and improve in teaching that
way.

Whom or who can I meet with


in order to help and participate
in professional needs and
improve the school and/or
system priorities?
What will I have to offer?

I could meet with:


Principal.
Team leaders.
KLA Teachers.
Year level leaders.
Other teachers in general.
I could offer my own expertise,
knowledge and skills as well as know
how. MYSELF.

Third Year:
I attended:
KLA Meetings.
AVID meetings.
Etc.

What can I do in order to


engage successfully with my
colleagues in order to improve
my practice as a teacher?
What kind of constructive
feedback would be helpful in
order to improve professional
knowledge and practice?

Meet with other teaching staff.


Receive feedback from staff if they
observe my classroom.
I could receive all different kinds of
feedback and choose which one I
prefer.

What specific references and related theory will you


focus on?
(academic/online/textbook/policy doc references
formatted in Harvard style)
McLeod. S 2012, Jean Piaget, Simply Psychology, viewed
10 March 2015,
http://www.simplypsychology.org/piaget.html
AusVELS 2015, Victorian Curriculum and Assessment
Authority, viewed 9 March 2015,
http://ausvels.vcaa.vic.edu.au

Bullying: No Way 2015, Element 4: Professional Learning,


NSSF, viewed 9 March 2015,
http://www.bullyingnoway.gov.au/teachers/nssf/nssfprofessional-learning.html
Churchill. R, Ferguson. P, Godinho. S, Johnson. N. F,
Keddie. A, Letts. W, Mackay. J, McGill. M, Moss. J, Nagel.
M. C, Nicholson. P & Vick. M 2011, Chapter 13: Reflective
Practice, Teaching Making a Difference, Wiley & Sons
Australia, Milton Qld.

Bullying: No Way 2015, Element 4: Professional Learning,


NSSF, viewed 9 March 2015,
http://www.bullyingnoway.gov.au/teachers/nssf/nssfprofessional-learning.html
PoLT 5: Education 2015, Assessment Practices are an
Integral Part of Teaching and Learning, Principles of
Learning and Teaching P-12 Unpacked, viewed 9 March
2015,
http://www.education.vic.gov.au/school/teachers/support/p
ages/unpacked12.aspx
Churchill. R, Ferguson. P, Godinho. S, Johnson. N. F,
Keddie. A, Letts. W, Mackay. J, McGill. M, Moss. J, Nagel.
M. C, Nicholson. P & Vick. M 2011, Chapter 14: Theorising
about Teaching Practice, Teaching Making a Difference,
Wiley & Sons Australia, Milton Qld.

VIT NATIONAL STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE FOR FULL REGISTRATION

Page 17 of 20

Carisa Patman (3886660)


Professional Engagement
6.4: Apply professional
learning and improve
student learning
Undertake professional
learning programs
designed to address
identified student learning
needs

VIT Review of Readiness

6. Engage in professional learning.


Third Year: Attended meetings on
What professional learning
student development and learning
programs are offered at
strategies that can be implemented in
schools?
lessons and for students out side of
What can I do to make sure
school.
that my input/knowledge will
be taken into account to
improve student-learning
needs?

Ask around with other teachers.


Meet with Principal.
Look up school curriculum, policies
and practice.
Take into account what I have been
told and what I have learnt.

Education 2015, The e5 Model, viewed 9 March 2015,


http://www.education.vic.gov.au/school/teachers/support/p
ages/e5model.aspx
AusVELS 2015, Victorian Curriculum and Assessment
Authority, viewed 9 March 2015,
http://ausvels.vcaa.vic.edu.au

VIT NATIONAL STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE FOR FULL REGISTRATION

Page 18 of 20

Carisa Patman (3886660)

VIT Review of Readiness

Professional Engagement
7. Engage professionally with colleagues, parents/carers and the community.
Area
What specific evidence (if any) do
What are your questions about this
List some proactive strategies you can
you have about your practice in this
area?
use (or have used in the past) to learn
area?
about this area/topic at your school?

7.1: Meet professional


ethics and
responsibilities
Meet codes of ethics and
conduct established by
regulatory authorities,
systems and schools

7.2: Comply with


legislative,
administrative and
organisational
requirements
Understand the
implications of and
comply with relevant
legislative, administrative
and organisational and
professional
requirements, policies
and processes
7.3: Engage with the
parents/carers
Establish and maintain
respectful collaborative
relationships with
parents/carers regarding
their childrens learning
and wellbeing

Fourth Year: Took full control of the


classroom for a couple of weeks
making sure I was to teach what was
needed to the students with hands on
and fun learning activities

What can I do to make sure


that I am meeting professional
ethics and responsibilities in
and outside the classroom?

Research on the internet.


Look back to what I have learnt and
study them.
Look up the school policies.
Meet with other teaching staff.
Attend meetings.

What specific references and related theory will you


focus on?
(academic/online/textbook/policy doc references
formatted in Harvard style)
PoLT 5: Education 2015, Assessment Practices are an
Integral Part of Teaching and Learning, Principles of
Learning and Teaching P-12 Unpacked, viewed 9 March
2015,
http://www.education.vic.gov.au/school/teachers/support/p
ages/unpacked12.aspx
Churchill. R, Ferguson. P, Godinho. S, Johnson. N. F,
Keddie. A, Letts. W, Mackay. J, McGill. M, Moss. J, Nagel.
M. C, Nicholson. P & Vick. M 2011, Chapter 15:
Professional, Ethical and Legal Issues for Teachers,
Teaching Making a Difference, Wiley & Sons Australia,
Milton Qld.

Second Year: When students


parents came into the classroom I
would talk with them briefly (didnt
happen that often).

How will I know that my


practice complies with
legislative administration and
organisational requirements in
the school?
How can I make sure that I am
complying with relevant
legislative, administrative and
organisational professional
requirements, policies and
processes?

Get reviewed by teaching staff,


principal, etc.
Do some research.

What can I do to ensure to the


students parents/carers that
are complacent with their
childrens learning and
wellbeing?
What are some ways to
engage successfully and
respectfully to parents/carers?

Converse with parents/carers at the


end of school day when picking up their
children.
Have points written down or have
arguments ready to go in case of such
cases.
I can attend parent/teacher interview
days/nights with my mentor.

Bullying: No Way 2015, Element 4: Professional Learning,


NSSF, viewed 9 March 2015,
http://www.bullyingnoway.gov.au/teachers/nssf/nssfprofessional-learning.html
Churchill. R, Ferguson. P, Godinho. S, Johnson. N. F,
Keddie. A, Letts. W, Mackay. J, McGill. M, Moss. J, Nagel.
M. C, Nicholson. P & Vick. M 2011, Chapter 15:
Professional, Ethical and Legal Issues for Teachers,
Teaching Making a Difference, Wiley & Sons Australia,
Milton Qld.

Edmodo 2015, viewed 10 March 2015,


https://www.edmodo.com
AusVELS 2015, Victorian Curriculum and Assessment
Authority, viewed 9 March 2015,
http://ausvels.vcaa.vic.edu.au

VIT NATIONAL STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE FOR FULL REGISTRATION

Page 19 of 20

Carisa Patman (3886660)


Professional Engagement

7.4: Engage with


professional teaching
networks and broader
communities
Participate in professional
and community networks
and forums to broaden
knowledge and improve
practice

VIT Review of Readiness

7. Engage professionally with colleagues, parents/carers and the community.


Third Year:
Do some research.
How can if find out what
Attended staff meetings and giving
community networks there are Ask around with teaching staff.
input to teaching strategies,
Be given feedback.
in the broader community that
programs, etc.
Incorporate newly found knowledge
I can engage in successfully
into activities in the classroom.
and professionally?
How can I use this to broaden
my knowledge and
understandings as well as
improve my practice?

Kozulin. A 2003, Vygotskys Education Theory in Cultural


Context, Cambridge University Press, UK
PoLT 6: Education 2015, Learning Connects Strongly with
Communities and Practice Beyond the Classroom,
Principles of Learning and Teaching P-12 Unpacked,
http://www.education.vic.gov.au/school/teachers/support/p
ages/unpacked12.aspx, (accessed 9 March 2015)
Edmodo 2015, viewed 10 March 2015,
https://www.edmodo.com
Smith. M. K 2001, John Dewey on education, experience
and community, infed: George Williams College, viewed 10
March 2015, http://infed.org/mobi/john-dewey-oneducation-experience-and-community/

VIT NATIONAL STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE FOR FULL REGISTRATION

Page 20 of 20