A CANONSBURG INDUSTRY SINCE 1896
.. ~ ,
SESQUICENTENNIAL CELEBRA TION
of the Borough of Canonsburg
A Presentation to the People of
Canonsburg and the Chortlers Valley
BOROUGH OF tANONSBURG, 'CANONSBURG BOARD OF TRADE
BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL MEN
With the cooperation of our
FRATERNAL, CIVIC AND LABOR ORGANIZATIONS, SCHOOLS AND CHURCHES
THE CITIZENS OF CANONSBURG
Oed ieated to the principles of better understanding between peoples of the world; freedom of 'Worship; freedom of speech; freedom of the press; unity in the continued progress of our B·orough and nation ... salute to our youth and peace and good will to all men everywhere ....
THE FIRST NATIONAL BANK AT CANONSBURG
CAPITAL . $ 200,000.00
SURPLUS & UNDIVIDED PROFITS____________________________ 331,829.99
DEPOSITS . 5,086,132.03
TOTAL RESOU RCES .. 5,637,312.19
DIRECTORS Howard Dewalt George D. Foley W. W. Murray
W. S_ McConnell George D. McNutt D. S. Pollock
Park Y. Rankin
A. L Zeman
W. W. Murray, Chairman of Board Park Y. Rankin, President
C. H. Jacobs, Vice President
D. Roy Clyde, Cashier
James W. Munnell, Asst. Cashier George C. Yates, Asst. Cashier
Member Federal Reserve System Member Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
PIKE STREET 11905,
C. A. MA IHBWSO,N
PIKE STREIET 1952
EVERYWHERE ON EVERYTHING
ENDURANCE HOUSE PAINT ENDURING PROTECTION
100% LATEX RUBBER EMULSION
JAPALAC 4-HOUS ENAMEL INTERIOR SPEEDWALL FLORENAMEL VARNISH
. GUZELL'S VARIETY SHO'P
150 E. PIKE
THOMPSON HARDWARE CO.
14 N. CENTRAL AVE.
HOUSTON HARDWARE CO.
-_- -- ~-- . __ - --_ ~-.------~-- --._
In preparing a brief historical sketch of a town which is celebrating its 150th official birthday, it becomes a matter of what to include and what to le-ove out. When that town has also had a prenatal period of more than a quarter of a century before its official birth, the problem is still more difficult.
Since the flrst century of Canonsburg's life was that of a quiet college town which might well have belonged with the Ivy leogue, considerable space has been given to rhctperlcd. Since the earliest civic life of the boro revolved around the dynamic personality and activity of its founder John Canon, he is deservedly given an important spot. NeitheT could the pioneer missionary, Dr. John McMillan whose life time of religious zeal in this community is woven into its educational fobrtc, be left out of the historic background.
Also public education which cover-ed the entire span of a century and a half could not be overlooked, for while the college environment of Canonsburg gradua!lly faded from the picture, the public school has steadily gro'Wn in importa nce through the years.
Much space could have been given to the rapid industrial development of Canonsburg. Up to 1875,Canonsburg Was a quiet form hamlet ba'sking securely in the memories of a long cmd lllustr lous past. And then olmost overnight this community was tronsformed into a busy industrial and mining center peopled by a score of nationality groups from as ,many countries of the Old World. Volumes have been written on the early religious and educational history of this community, but more volume's could be written on the industrial miracle which revolutionized the whole scheme of living and thinking in this community.
The foHowing sketch can only touch many of these things briefly. Some may not be mention-edat all for historical sketches 'are governed by limits of time end space. Discrepancies in dates and events may be detected but ecrller authors have not crlwoys been in agreement so trifling differences are of no particular consequen·ce. The writer has found his r eseorch into Canon lore most en joy-a ble a nd it is his hope that some readers may also find these facts of interest.
C. A. Mathewson.
L P. SPEAKMAN
AIR AND AUTO AMBULANCE SERVICE
Cono.nsburg's 150th Armiversory coincides with our 20th ond we solute a community old in years but young in spirit. We pledge service and cooperotion worthy of this splendid American community.
PHONE CANONSBURG 800
PORTABLE INFANT INCUBATOR
W. E. SPEAKMAN
NIGHT AND DAY OXYGEN EQUIPPED
HARDY &RA,NKIN CO.
BUILDING MATERI'AlS MillWORK
40 Murdoch Sfreet
ESTABLISHED IN 1903
READY MIX CONCRETE SIPES PAINT
The Canonsburg Courier
B:- C. A. MATHEWSON
COL. CANON - EARLY CANONSBURGWHISKEY REBELLION
On Feb. 22, 1952 the town of Canonsburg completed 150 years of life as an incorporated Borough. The Act which made Canonsburg the first incorporated borough in Washington County was signed on Feb, 22, 1802 by Thomas McKean, Governor of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvcmio. In that signature not only did Canonsburg become the first Washington County Borough but preceded the neighboring town of Pittsburgh by sixteen years.
Many events and many changes have taken place in the life of our Borough since that historic date. In 1802 Canonsburg was a small settlement of a few hundred Scotch Irish i'mmigrants who had made their way here from the Eastern Counties of lhe State and from Mary· land and Virginia. They came, no doubt, impelled by a spirit of independence, love of adventure and desire of free lands which have ever prompted the American pioneer in his movements "Out We'st."
Besides a strong desire to live, these hardy pioneers brought with them a zeal to propagate their strong rei igious convictions and to secure all the benefits of 'education possible for their children. Wit,h such motives they wrested a living fro mthe forests and fe·rti,le lands of this area and established the churches and schools which formed the early cultural aspects of this community.
Today Canonsburg is an industrial center of more than 12,000 inhabitants, the majority of whom represent the peoples and cultures of more than 20 nationality groups gathered from the countries of Europe. Fraim a tiny group of stout-hearted frontiersmen, Canonsburg has become one of the so called "Melting Pots" Which dot the rich industrial area of Western Pennsylvania and its population represents a blending of the pioneers of 1802 and those more recent pianeers who came to' this town '0 century [crrer ,
The earliest occupa nts of this territory were of course the Indians. NO' particular tribe had its heodquorters in this area but several tribes found good hunting and fishing grounds here and many well morked Indian tro ils have been mapped by experts in Indian lore. The names of the Delawares, Mingoe's, and Shawnees are mentioned as being tribes who were friendly to the 'early settlers. The Iroquois and others of the Six Nations were not 50 friendly and when Indian troubles arose it wos gene·rally due to' hostility stirred up by these tribes who claimed
ANDY'S TIRE & MOTOR SALES
Tires and Tubes
Cars and Trucks
Phones 2475 - 2476
14 So. Central Ave.
THE FRATERNAL ORDER OF EAGLES, No. 861
Salutes Canonsburg On Its
The Eagles Sponsored
CANONSBURG'S OLDEST AUTO DEALER
Compliments of JAMES J. TOMSIC
SAM. J. SPADARO Proprietor
The Athletic and Sports 'Center
liTHE WilLSON lINEI' HUNTING AND FISHING SUPPLIES
COMPLETE LINE OF ATHLETIC EQUIPMENT FOR
INDIVIDUALS, TEAM AND CLUBS
108 N. Central Ave. CANONSBURG, PA.
this territory as their possession. So on occasions, these early pioneers found it necessary to protect themselves ogainst attacks from hostile Redskins.
Settlers who crrived prior to 1779 found the whole territory which now embraces Washington County, and a much wider area, a matter of dispute between Virginia and Pennsylvania. The territory had been 'surveyed by George Washington 'at an earlier date and the territory claimed by Virginia included all land west of the mountains. Therefore merry settlers who took title to land before the date mentioned possessed it under a Virginia patent. Other settlers secured Pennsylvania titles and the whole matter of land ownership was in deep confusion and dispute, until the Boltlrnoreo qreement of Aug. 31, 1779 settled a II territoria I rights in this area. 'When the dispute between the two States was at its height it was believed that Lord Dunmore, Governor of Virginia urged and encouraged many settlers to move into the disputed territory in order to help hold it for Virginia.
Among this latter group came one pioneer, John Canon by name who obovecr!l others wos to stamp his name nod influence indelibly upon this community for all posterity. Like characters in the Bible, he appe'0rs almost from nowhere in the year 1773. His birthplace is unrecorded but as has been indicated he was probably a Virginian and his later actions revealed a deep loyalty to that State. John Ganon lived for 25 years in this community, married twice and was blessed with eight children, became thebenevo .. lent despot of this whole community and laid out the town which 'bears his name. He was the patron saint of religion and education in this whole area, building schools and endowing churches. He vvos at one time the literal owner of this town and surrounding land, and must have been considered wealthy. However, it is believed that when he died in 1798, Four years before his beloved town became a borough, his legacy to wife and children was small.
Like Moses, his burial place is unknown save for the word of an old colored woman who had related to sorne of the oldest residents a generation ago, that she knew Col. Canon well and that he was buried on the "HilL" Several place's answer that description but bits of circumstantial evidence point to the "Hill" Church cemetery as his last resting place.
'When John Canon come into this area in 1773, he was no doubt attracted by the natural advantages of this site. According to tradition, only one cabin occupied this location and we may assume the second was the property of John Canon. Within four years, or in 1777, John Canon was opp o lnted Colonel of the Wash-
ALLEGHENY INDUSTRIAL ELECTRICAL COMPANY, INC.
575 Sixth Ave.
PITTSBURGH 19, PA.
CHENT01S DEPARTMENT STORE
JOSEPH S. CHEN TO, Prop.
"Everything for the Home"
6 So. Central Ave.
POLISH NATIONAL UNION POLITICAL CLUB
ness. Cecil Township residents joined Canon in petitioning the County Court for road business. Cecil Township residents joined Canon in petitioning the County Court for this road, which would be a shorter route to Washington, but in the end the request was turned down and the road past McMillans meeting ho use continued to prevcil.
Once having put Canonsburg literaHy on the map, Col. Canon did not propose to allow his lot buyers t ohold their lots for speculation. The purchase price wos three pounds, and one dollar to be paid annually forever, and within two years a house of hewn logs or stone with 20 foot front must be built. However, Canon offered some attractive gratuities: Wood and cool for their own' use forever, gratis, with provision for a road to be left open to the coal Bank near John laughlins, west of town,
As a real estate promoter, Col. John Canon was doing right well by himself in 1788 and probably would not have lost out in 1952. But the tolenrs a Four fou nder did not stop there. As Colonel of the Washington County Militia he monaged to secu re the contract of furn ishi ng each soldier 'a pound of beef, % of a pound of pork and a glil of whiskey daily and collected his pay for it. At the same time salt, a scarce commodity in this pioneer section. was selling at $40,000 a bushel. Col. Canon in some manner managed to secure a court order to seize all the soit in Alexandria, Virginia and contracted to have it brought by the way of the Monongahela River to W'ashington County. We may assume thai' the scrlt netted Col. Canon a neat profit. So impressed was General George Washington with the amazing business abilities of this frontier leader that in 1786 Washington appointed Canon 'as his attorney to rna nage his large property interests in this neighborhood.
John Conon seems to have been a man whose sense of loyalty was intense almost to a fault. So devoted was he to his beloved Virginian ancestry that he rebelled to the last against the new boundary lines making Washington County a part of Pennsylvania. So intense was his opposition to this change thot he had to be rebuked by the Supreme Executive Council of the State. Again his intense loyolty to the settlers of the community 'and their interests caused him to lead the revolt against the United States government in the incidento,f the famous Whiskey Insurrection in 1794. Since this rebellion had its origin and conclusion in this vicinity and has been recorded in all histories of the United States as a noteworthy event, a brief summary is not out of place here.
The new republic with heavy debts incurred by the Revolutionary War wcs n desperate
BEST WISHES TO ALL
R. l. "HICK" SCHRIVER
COLAIZZO TRAVEL SERVICE
AIR and SEA TRAVEl
HEALTH and ACCIDENT INSURANCE
25 No. Jefferson
NEWSPAPERS - MAGAZINES GIFTS - OFFICE SUPPLIES
Hall mark Cards
When You Care to Send the Very Best
THE BOOK SHOP
34 W. Pike St.
SUN-KISSED FRUIT MARKET
IF IT GROWS, WE HAVE IT
46 W. Pike St.
KLAHR FURNITURE CO.
liTHE RELIABLE STORE"
For Evening Appointment, Phone 841
183 E Pike Street
FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF HOUSTON
Member FD'IC-Insured $10,000
MARKOS DUKIS GROCERY
QU.AlITY MEAT MARKET
546 Euclid Ave.
YONEY'S FUNERAL HOME
John F. Yoney
216 East Pike St.
Phones 908 - 2569
Washington Grocer's Association
QUALITY MEATS & GROCERIES 440 Franklin Ave.
Fred Virgin, Prop.
WALTER M. McPEAKE
OFFICE & SCHOOL SUPPLIES LEGAL FORMS & ENGRAVING
First National Bank Bldg.
NATIONAL METAL PRODUCTS COMPANY
1001 Ridge Ave., Pitts'burgh 33, Po, Plant:
straits for money to meet its expenses. Alexander Hamilton was the Secretary of the Treasury and upon his recommendation,t he Fede,ral Government in 1791 passed an excise tax upon severo I artides among them a tax of 10 to 25 cents a gali'on on whiskey. This tax affected the farmers of ,V\'este'rn Pennsylvana directly slnce the converson of their grain into, whiskey offered one of the few ways of realizing a proflroble cash return on their groin crop. At that time there was little market for grain unless it could be transported across the mountains to the Eastern markets. With the means of transportation at hand this was practcally out of the question but by converting the, grain into whiskey, a pack horse could carry sixteen to wenty gallons which was worth a dollar a galIon or more. So wide spread had distilling become that in 1791 there were something like 275 stills in operation in Washington County alone.
The first meeting in opposition to the tax was held at Mingo Creek near Monong'ahe,la in 1794. Another was held at Washington three months later and a new republic which should be tax free was proposed. Following this meeting a party was organized which marched to the home of General John Neville, Revenue Collector of Western Pennsylvania. General Neville's home was at Bower Hill near Bridgeville and a guard of soldiers was quartered there. The farmers demanded Neville's commission as revenue inspector and upon his refusal they otto eked the house. Before the battle was over, Ccptcrin James McFarlane of the insurrect.onists was killed but in the end, NeviHe's soldiers surrendered and his mansion was burned. Stirred 'by their initial success, a meeting of representatives from the four counties was called. Several hundred men were present and the sentiment pointed to the assembling of an army and open rebellion against the government.
The first action toward raisinq an army was taken at a meeting in the Black Horse Tavern which then stood on the site of the present American Legion Home. At least seven men were present: J. Canon, B. Parkinson, D. Bradford, A. Fulton, T. Spears, L. Lockney, J. Marshel. At this meeting the United States mail sacks which had been captured near GreenS'burg were opened, presurnobly to find what information was beino delayed fo the Nati'onal CO' pita!. Having thus committed treason, the Insurrectionist leaders took the next step by issuing an order to the commanders of the militia of the four counties, mobilizing the soldiers For mlllrory service. This docu'ment written that night at the Black Horse Tavern and signed by the seven men named ahove was sent en July 28, 1794 to the commanders of the militia,
KNIGHTS OF COLUMBUS
SALUTES CANONSBURG ON ITS 150TH ANNIVERSARY AND EXTENDS A CORDIAL WaCOME TO ALL VISITING K OF C MEMBERS TO BE WITH US AT OUR QUARTERS, 55·57 MURDOCK STREET.
• • •
CHESTER A. LEVETO
CANONSBURG'S MOST PROGRESSIVE
BUILDER OF FINE HOMES
Get My Estimate Before You Deal
180 Smith St.
McCRORY STORE CORP ~
1882 TO 1952
Cleaners - Dyers - Tailors - Furriers
18 No. Jefferson
LOCAL MEAT MARKET
439 Chartiers Ave.
GOOD HOME MADE SAUSAGE OUR SPBCIALTY
Phone 2275 Michael Gabster, Prop.
THE H. BETTIS COMPANY
CORRUGATED FIBRE SHIPPING CONTAINE'RS
~ ; I
t tl t! F
51 t( ti d 1 C
N SI bl n
a( in Cc he W
su ex t01 sic ca. fOI h:s op Mi the ael at by: ed fre fre the plo 00 4 c $4! ligi Jon
I wa att(
directing them to rendezvous at Braddock Field on the first day of August. The purpose of the order was veiled by mention of "displaying your military talents and of rendering service to your country." On the appointed day the largest force ever mobilized in this region up to this time gathered at Braddock's field. The number was estimated at from 5000 to 8000 men. They marched to Pittsburgh with the intent of capturing the city in a military way as the first major step in the Rebellion. However, the zeal of the soldiers cooled and by the time they reached Pittsburgh the attack become a parade through the town.
However, the spirit of the Rebellion sr!ll smoldered and "he government could not come to an amicable agreement with the insurrectionists. Therefore President Washington ordered General Don:el Morgan to proceed with 15,000 troops into Washington and Allegheny Counties. The troops were moved in on the night of Nov. 13 and staged a series of raids upon the insurrectionists. Some 300 were captured and many were tried in court, Only two were Found guilty. One, of burning General Neville's home, the other, for robbing the United States mail. Both were sentenced to be hanged but were pardoned by General Washington. There can be little doubt that the mild treo+ment accorded the insurrectionists grew out of Washington's admiration and friendship for John Canon cmd his sturdy group of pioneers who had made for themselves a little empire in the Western Pennsylvania wilderness.
Besides the talents that made John Canon successful in almost every enterprise he touched, except efforts at insurrection, 'he had a leaning toward higher things. When the pioneer missionary Rev. John McMillan came to this locality from ocross the mountains in 1775, he found oJhn Canon an able friend and ally in h.s religious efforts. Canon's door was ever open to the itinerant preacher and Rev. McMilCln records in his diary many nights spent at the home of Col. Canon. When the religious activities of Rev. John McMillan flnalJy centered at McMillan's Meeting House, now the Hill Presbyterian Church, Col. Canon graciously presented the congregation with a plot of 4Y2acres free of charge. With a generosity almost as free he sold to the Seceders Congregation, now the Chortiers United' Presbyterian Church, a plot of ground for a church on what is now the Oak Spring Cemetery. This plot too was about 4 acres in area for which Col. Canon received $45.00. It would seem: that Col. Canon's religious preferences leaned toward the church of John Calvin and John McMillan.
It is not known whether or not John Canon was a man of more than average educational attainments. Probably not but he craved edu-
Loutsion & Kusturis, Proprietors Member Washington Grocers Association
COMPLETE FOOD MARKET GENUINE SPRING LAMB
518 Blaine Ave.
DUKIS ELECTRIC APPLIANCES
544 Euclid Ave.
CROSLEY SHEL VADOR REFRIGERATORS AND TELEVISION
Anthony Dukls, Prop.
THE TINY STORE
A GOOD PLACE TO BUY
314 W. Pike St.
R. S. ARNOLD
12 - 14 North Main Street
HOUSTON, PA. •
THE POLISH NATIONAL ALLIANCE
Donaldson Supply & Equipment Company
5 North Jefferson Avenue
• • •
LUMBER AND BUILDING MATERIALS TRANSIT MIX CONCRETE PAINT - WINDOWS - DOORS
EVERYTHING FROM FOUNDATION TO ROOF
White Eagle Society Group No. 1746
r ( ~ (
f S II t 11 1
V 9 u
VII l( 1: fr w ci oj CI in oj hI oj PI it~ pI to C(
Cc in fri nc hi, C(
cational advantages for the people of his village.
When the courthouse at 'Washington burned in 1791, the Washington Academy which was housed in the same building met a like fate. No site could be obtained in Washington to build a new ocodemy at once, S'O an appeal was made to John Canon for an academy site in Canonsburg. The lot on North Central Avenue, now the location of the North Central School, was donated by Col. (anon and not only did he give the site hut also volunteered to erect a fine stone building for an academy at his own expense and accept paY'ment as the people were able. Payments dragged on for several years. Records show that there were a large number of contrrbutors and the contributions were in money, wheat, rye, linen and such materials which could be turned into money. The surrounding churches and Presbyteries endorsed the idea realizing the value of the Academy as a training school for young ministers. With su bstantia I contr sbutions from these organizations, much of the expense had been underwritten by 1794, when the Academy was chartered but no doubt a substantial amount of the cost fell upon John Canon, irs real founder. Not only did he give freely to the cause of education in his own town but a gift of ten pounds, no smail amount in those days was made to the rival Academy in Washington.
However, John Canon was not without recognition and honor outside the boundaries of Canonsburg. While the jurisdiction of Virginia extended over this territory in 1774, John Canon was commissioned as one of the justices of Lord Dunmore's court in Pittsburgh. Later in 1781 when Washington County was organized from a part of Westmorland County, Col. Canon was appointed by the Supreme Executive Council of Pennsylvania as one of the sub-lieutenants of the County. In November of the same year Canon was elected asa member from Washington County to the Supreme Executive Council of the State. As has been mentioned before he was George Washington's attorney to look after his extensive land holdings in the Mount Pleasant Township area. By reason of his obllity in carrying out these offices of public and private trust John Canon was elected in 1784 to preside as one of the justices of the Court of Common Pleas of Washington County.
It would be pleasant to relate that Col John Canon lived to a happy and honored old age in the town which he founded, and among his friends, neighbors and children. But such was not to be the case. In 1798, four years before his town wcs incorporated into a Borough, John Canon died at the age of 58.
Many pioneers have lived ocrlve and adventurous lives, but few have wrought from the
JOHN GRAFF, SR.
For 61 years an active business man in our town.
41 N. Jefferson
"AmericanChina Cannot Be Surpassed"
EDGAR PLASTIC KAOLIN CO.
Metuchen, New Jersey
S. A. MEYER CO.
Washington - Waynesburg
Charleroi - Monessen
WANDA1S BEAUTY SHOPPE GOWERN BLDG.
47 N. Jefferson Avenue
MARY S. GRACE, Prop.
Mt. Vernon, New York
r----~~-----------.,------- - -~--- --.----. ~_:_ ':L ~ ,. .. ~ .. • ._._ ------.-----~---------------.- .. -.---------------.-- _~.oC~.
wilderness so quickly a center of religious and educational prominence. Though he was aided in his efforts by other able and consecrated men of his time and of this locality, mojor credit must go to the constructive genius of John Canon.
DR. McMILLAN - THE FOUNDING OF JEFFERSON COLLEGE
Higher education in Canonsburg is symbolized by the Log College and Jefferson College which both stand on the campus of the Canonsburg High School.
Higher education and religious education were almost synonymous in the early history of this area. As one writer, has expressed it: "The Scotch-Irish emigrants brcuqh] with them a deeply cherished love for the House of God and the Schoolhouse." Schools for higher learning at an early date were created mainly to teach the rudiments of religion to young ministers who were about to preoch the Gospel among the pioneers of th is new country.
Just as the Log College symbolizes early education of Canonsburg, so does its founder, Rev. John McMillan typify the man who stood out among his conternpororles as the patron saint of higher education in this community.
In 1775, two years after the arrival of John Canon, Rev. John McMillan appears on rhe local scene. Born in Faggs Manor, Chester County in 1752, John McMillan like John the Baptist was early dedicated to the ministry by pious parents. A brilliant student, young McMillan graduated from Princeton at the age of 20 and two years later after instruction in a Classical School at Pequea, lancaster County, was licensed to preach the Gospel and was sent by his Presbytery to visit the settlements in Western Pennsyivania. On the 4th Sunday of August 1775 McMillan arrived 'at the farm home of John McDowell, now the Pollock farm on the Eighty Four road. There with a stump for a pulpit he preached his first sermon in this section to the neighbors who gathe·red at the McDowell home for an open air meeting.
From that time until his death in 1833, Rev.
McMillan's life was a round of activity covering a period of almost 58 years and so vigorous was his constitution that in the last year of his life he preached more than seventy times.
In 1776 he received a call from the Chartiers and Pigeon Creekcongreg'Ctions to serve as their pastor. In the same year he married Catherine Brown of Faggs Manor and in 1777 he bought a tract of 313 acres in the Shirtee Settlement which roughly embraced that part of North Strabane Township enclosed between the
Phone Canonsburg 1283
REFRIGERATION EQUIPMENT COMPANY
10 S. Main St.
Campi i ments of
MARLINEIS DRESS SHOP
101 West Pike Street CANONSBURG, PA.
CANONSBURG'S FINEST FURNITURE STORE
SPEAR HOME FURNISHING COMPANY
Famous For National Brands
F.l BUCKLEY AGENCY
INSURANCE - REAL ESTATE
YOUR BOND MAN
25 North Jefferson
s. S. PETER AND PAUL LODGE 247
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
Organized March 5, 1916
KMET TOOL & MANUFACTURING COMPANY
TOOLS - DIES - MOLDS SPECIAL MACHINERY
TO THE GREATEST LITTLE TOWN IN THE COUNTRY
ON ITS 150th BIRTHDAY
KIRBY SHOE STORE
little Chartiers or linden Creek and the West Branch of the Chortlers Creek running through Canonsburg. Froman's Mill, now linden, seems to have been the business and population center of the Shirtee's Settlement. McMill'an's farm as described in the deed, lay "on the western bank of the eastern prong of the Shirtee's Creek."
This farm in subsequent years came down to the Fulton Brothers, direct descendants of Rev. John McMillan and in more recent years came into possession of Stanley Topka. However, a two acre plot, the site of the McMillan log homestead, was reserved as a memorial spot. The house has gone to decay but the remains of the stone foundation are still visible. On this site, a little over a mile from the Hill Church, the McMillans built a log home and reared a family of seven children in addition to the duties as farmer, preacher and educator.
In 1778 he supervised the erection of the first Hill Church, a log structure', as well as the second church, a stone structure built in 1800. The third church of brick was erected in 1841, eight years after his death.
Besides Rev. McMillan's activities as a parent, a farmer, and a preacher, he took on the additional task of instructing prospective young candidates for the ministry. The classes, held at first in his home, soon outgrew their facilities and a log structure was built at the rear of the McMillan home to carryon the work of education. This log school was built about 1780, The first building was destroyed by fire soon after its erection but was replaced by a similor structure and the work of classical ed ucation went on. This latter building, The Log College, today rests on the Canonsburg High School campus with most of the original logs iniac, afthoug h the roof has undergone severa I replocernent s,
During this period other log academies were built in other parts of the County and devoted rnin.sters of the Gospel carried on the work of education. Their efforts too form a part of the historic background of their own localities.
In the Canonsburg area, Rev. John McMilian was not the only religious educator who labored in the cause. Such stalwarts as Rev. Matthew Henderson and Rev. Matthew Brown were able associates. However, the work of Rev. John McMillan filled such an important 'Place in the reliqious and educational life of this community that he can be fittingly accorded the honor given him as the "Apostle of the West" and founder of "The Oldest College West of the Alleghenies."
Realizing that the Log Cabin School had its Jim itations in size and breadth of curricul urn,
BETTY lEE SHOP
Corner Pike and N. jefferson
JAMES P ASSALARQUA, Owner
18 Murdock Street
WHITE HALL FARM
FOUR GENERATIONS SAME LQCA TION SERVING THIS COMMUNITY WITH FRESH FRUITS
VISIT OUR MODERN FARM MARKET U. S. 19, at McCle"and Road
112·J - PHONES - 112·W
THE WASHINGTON COUNTY COMMISSIONERS
WIlliAM J. LANE
FRANCIS E. PETTIT
'. . .
THE POTTERS SUPPLY COM;PANY
EAST LIVERPOOL, OHIO
• • •
JOHNSTON & McNARY
J. Elmer Johnston
Ernest T. McNary
• • •
REAL ESTATE· INSURANCE
• • •
24 North Central Ave.
Rev. McMillan lent encouragement for students to attend Washington Academy of which he was a trustee. This academy was held in a par't of the Washington County Court House and was widely attended by young men of the surrounding orea. When this building burned in 1791, Rev. McMillan and Rev. Henderson made earnest efforts to have the Academy rebuilt in Washington but no site could be obtained. They then oppeoled to John Canon for a location in Canonsburg. Canon generously donated the site on North Central Avenue, now the location of lhe North Centra·1 School and he also volunteered to build a stone building on the lot, to house the new Academy. The ceremony dedicating the o perrlnq of the school is noteworthy from the remarks made by Rev. McMillan on that occasion, which hod almost the force of 0 prophecy. "This is an importont day in our historyvoffectinq deeply the interests of the church and the country in the W'es!'; affecting our own interests for ti me a nd eternity and the interests, it may be, of thousands yet unborn."
The Academy was dedicated in July, 1791, although the building was not yet begun. However, classes were started at once being held in "a small English Schoolhouse not far from Canon's Mill." By Fall the new stone struclure was completed ond the p op Ts transferred to the new school.
in 1794 the Academy was chartered by the State as "The Academy and Library Company." The Academy continued to grow and Rev. McMillan, finding that his increasing pastoral duties took more and more of his time, transferred his pupils frorn The Log Cobin School 70 the Canonsburg Academy. During these yeors, Rev. McMillan was appointedhono,rory Presi.denr of the Academy and was elected as Trustee to fill the vacancy coused by the death of John Corron in 1798.
Some time before 1800 a movement was storted to have the Acodemy chartered as a College. In 1800 Rev. John McMillan headed a comm ittee to petition the St.ale to charter the Academy as Jefferson College. This petition was granted Jan. 15, 1802, and McMillan was one of the members of the first board of Trustees. One record states that he wcs President of the Board. Later he served for a period of at least ten years 05 Treasurer in charge of gifts and bequests to the school.
Jefferson continued to grow and the facilities of the Stone College become inadequate. About 1820 the second building was erected across the street on the site of the present Hig h School. From 1822 to 1845 the Rev. Matthew Brown was the College's brilliant president and the
AMERICAN LEGION POST 253
North Central Avenue
CONGRATULATIONS to CANONSBURG " on its ...
45 WEST PiKE ST .... CANONSBURG
p.ir-Conditioned For Your Sho[)ping Comfort
Night Phone: 999
~MPERATORE SALES & SERVICE
HUDSON MOTOR CARS
115 Ashlond Ave.
NAJ~ONAL BROTHERHOOD OF
LOCAL NO. 51
1901 - 1952
GENERAL HOSPITAL STAFF ASSOCIA TION
E. L McCarthy, M. D.
S. Safran, M. D.
J. H. Carazola, M. D.
D. M. s-u Jr., M. D.
J. S. Biesenkamp, M. D. T. M. Boggs, D. D. S.
.J. H. Carazola, M. D.
E. L. Hazlett, M. D.
A. A. Hudacek, M. D.
D. N. Ingram, M. D.
D. O. Johnston, M. D.
J. A. Johnston. Sr., M. D. J. A. Johnston, Jr., M. D. J. C. Kelso, M. D.
E. L. McCarthy, M. D. W. T. McVitty, M. D. D. Pigossi, M. D.
S. Safran, M. D.
E. Saltzman, M. D.
G. P. Schmieler, M. D. M. H. Sharman, M. D. P. Wilkison, D. D. S.
J. E. Wilson, M. D.
J. S. Wilson, M. D.
M. L. Bowser, M. D.
F. H. Campbell, D. D. S. W. B. Carson, M. D.
G. S. Cunningham, M. D.
C. G. David, D. D. S.
D. H. Donaldson, M. D. W. B. Donaldson, D. D. S. P. Hickman, D. D. S.
E. Hodgson, M. D.
C. M. Hughey, M. D.
J. R. Hughey, M. D.
W. G. Johnston, D. D. S. L. Kantor, D. D. S.
J. E. Kent, M. D.
J. V. McAninch, M. D.
J. K. McCarrell, M. D.
S. C. McGarvey, M. D. C. H. Rittenhouse, M. D. R. L. Smith, D. D. S.
CANONSBURG GENERAL HOSPITAL
THE LOG CABIN
Canonsburg's Most Historical Milestone.
This was the first building of the
.Jefferson College which was the first college west of the Allegheny Mountains
U. S. GOYERNME T POST OFfl,CE Canonsburg,
100 East Pike Street
When Better Automobiles Are Built
Buick Will Build Them
BOONE TERRACE, Inc.
FIRST IN FOODS IN CANONSBURG, PA.
Mike and Nick Mazza, Owners
W. Sa GEORGE
BASTIO & SIMONIN AGENCY
REAL ESTATE & INSURANCE
36 N. Jefferson Avenue
DUCK-IN SERVICE STATION
Let Us Take Care of Your Car Needs
Amoco-American Orange Gasoline - Quaker State - Perma Lube - Home and Auto Supplies - Complete Line Automobile Accessories
7 South Central Ave.
college during thct period cchieved it.s greatest success .. In 1830 work was started on Providence Hall, now the "Old College Building" and this building was completed in 1833, the year of Dr. John McMillan's death.
Among large colleges of its time, Jefferson College reached prominent rank. In 1850 Harvard had 297 students, Prince·ton 271 and Jefferson 234 which gives some idea of the comparative size. Many students from the South were enrolled at Jefferson and at one time it was estimated that at least one fifth of the student body wosfr orn the Southern States.. The breaking out of the Civil War took most of the boys home to enlist in the Southern army and Northern boys also left school for the same reoson. This depletion of the student body in 1864 made it necessary to toke some action regarding the continuation of the school.
In 1865 the 63 year life of Jefferson College came to on end and by action of the Boord of Trustees, the Colleges of Washington and Jefferson were united. Several previous attempts to bring about a union of the two schools had brought on what was referred to as the "College War" but the effects of the Civil War buried the rivalry and made the union of the two colleges advisable.
For the next four years the two college.s continued to function in two places, the college proper ot Canonsburg ond the Freshmen and preparatory classes at Washington. This arrangement did not work out well and the charter of 1865 was supplemented in 1869 to limit the college to one location in the State. It is interesting to note that the locction of the college was sought by several towns including Washington, Canonsburg, Kittaning, Pittsburgh, Steubenville, Wooster and Uniontown. On April 20, 1869, the trustees met a nd decided by ballot the location of the college and on the eighth ballot Washington was selected 'as the site of Washington and Jefferson College. Real money was lo.d on the line by the towns seeking the locotion of the college. Washington and Steubenville each offered $50,000.00 and Canonsburg made its own offer of $16,000.00. Other towns were lower bidders. It is said that the amount subscribed by Washington helped to build the two towers of Old Main, representing the union of the two institutions.
Although Jefferson College ended its career 01 Canonsburg in 1869 the buildings continued 10 be used and functioned as Jefferson Academy until about 1910, when the rapid growth' of the public High Schools coused most of the numerous academies to close their doors. The courses offered in High Schools were so similar to those of the academies that the outcome of the latter was not long in doubt.
-ORDER OF SONS OF ITALY LODGE 158
SOLLON FUNERAL HOME
24 HOUR AMBULANCE SERVICE OXYGEN EQUIPPED
CENTRAL MARKET QUALITY FOODS
121 West Pike St.
PITTSBURGH PLA.TE GLASS CO ..
20 Eosl Pike St.
Yours for Fun
Fred A. Beedle
THE POTTS FAMILY
is proud to be identified with Canonsburg as citizens for over 82 years. Financially i nlerested in its growth and prosperity as well as taking their part when ever called upon.
M. MILLER POTTS WM. L. POTTS
22 I RON STREET
John Mathia, President
Martin To lpcrs, Jr., Vice President Andrew Simko, Secretary
Martin Gonglik, Treasurer John Klecek, Financial Secretary
Joe Talpag, Steve Durcas, Frank Novotny,
Frank Sroka, Guard
John Baron, Steward
THE LABOR TEMPLE ASSOCIATON
lABOR AND FRIENDS ARE INVITED
Dues $2.00 a Year
However, the spirit of Education has not been allowed to deport from the halls and classrooms of Old Jefferson. Even before the Accrderny had closed, the vacant rooms had been taken over by school authorities for High School use. So from the beginning, the spirit and presence of youth has never been absent from the historic build ing.
On the walls of franklin Hollon the third floor of the College building are the portraits of the men who served as Presidents of Jefferson College:
Rev. john Watson, AM. _
Rev. Andrew Wylie, AM. . _
Rev. Matthew Brown, D.E. L.l.D. __
Rev. Alexander Brown, D.O. ~~ __
Rev. David Riddle, D.D. __ . . __ . __
Rev. James Dunlap, AM ... __ . __ ... .
Rev. Wm. McMHlan, AM. .
Rev. R. J. Breckenbridge, D.O. l.l.D.
Rev. Joseph Alden, D.O. . __ ._ ..... __
Rev. Jonathan Edwards, D.O.
1802 1811-1816 1822-1845 1847-1856 1862-1865 1802-1811 1816·1822 1845-1847 1856-1862 1868-1869
Before closing this brief sketch of Jefferson Co!lege, the institution in which much of the past glory of Canonsburg lies, ond whose memory we are proud to honor, a final word is not out of place concerning the man who labored earnestly for the welfare of this institution and for the reliq ious and educational welfare of this community.
Once the College was successfully under way, Dr. John McMillan woscontent to, occupy a minor place in its administration staff. His name does no! appear among its Presidents, except in an honorary capacity, although his son-in-law, a brilliant scholor, became its first President and his nephew, the fourth President. His interest in the College never ceased hut there we,re limitations to even a man of such tremendous energy and ability. McMillan's church on the Hill had grown rapidly and he found it necessary to give up his charge at the Pigeon Creek Church. His farming interests had increased and he had become owner of more than 900 acres of land, most of it bordering along the banks of the beloved Shirtee. His name appears often as Moderator of Redstone Presbylery, a church area extending from laurel Hill near Uniontown to Sewickley on the north, ail 'of which territory had fa be trover-sed on horseback in going to end from monthly meetings. Even when Rev. John McMillan retired from his pastorate at the Hill Church in 1830 at the age of 78, he continued to preach octlvely 'among the many congregations which he hod helped establish.
It was while returninq from a several days mission among churches near Wheeling that he
W. E. ZUVER
FRENCH CLUB SOCIETY
518 Duquesne Ave.
E. CANONSBURG, PA.
THE STYlE CENTER fOR MEN
11 W. Pike St.
BEST WISHES ON YOUR 15QIH BIRTHDAY
THE CHILDREN1S SHOP
14 W. Pike Street
LODGE NO. 138 fN STRABANE, PA.
The Largest Slovene Speaking SNPJ Lodge in Pennsylvania
John Chesnic, President
John Koklieh, Vice President
Jocob Paveic, Secretary
Ivana Krulce, Treasurer
Joe Zupancic, Recording Secretary
Canonsburg Sesquicentennial Celebration
CANON AUTO PARTS
20 YEARS OF SERVICE TO THE DRIVING PUBLIC
DEALERS, INDEPENDENT REPAIRMEN AND SERVICE STATIONS
1 "3 So. Jefferson Ave.
G. M. GALLAGHER, Owner
OFFERS CONGRA TU LATIONS
ON THE OCCASION OF
FRANK W. SALVATORA, President
was stricken with the illness which caused his death on Nov. 16, 1833. His doo+h occurred at the home of his close friend, Dr. Leothermcn whose residence was the present Borouqh building. The rnorbleslab over his grave in the Hill Church Cemetery bears this appropriate inscription: "This and aH rhot is earthly will perish: but the records of Eternity will save from oblivion the usefulness and worth of such a man as Dr. McMillan."
INCORPORATION OF THE BOROUGH
As has been mentioned, Canonsburg wa~ incorporated or "erected" into a borough on feb. 22, 1802. The Act of I ncorporation covering severa! poges, defines the limits of the Borough but since some of the landmarks included such pershob!e objects as a "White Oak Tree' 'or the "Old Brew House" it is difficult to visualize the exact limits todoy.
However, some of the provisions 'of the charter are interesting. A fine of $20.00 is imposed upon an indiviclucl who, elected to the office of Burgess or Councilman, refuses to serve. Also the provision of fre'e cool to house owners seems to have been subject to some abuses for a clerk was appointed to requlotc the affairs at the coal bank and protect private property.
The first election was held on May 3, 1802 and resulted in the choice of Dr. Somuel Murdoch as Burgess, and Council memlbers,Willi'a'm Clark, Thomas Briceland, William White, John Watson and John Johnston. John M~Gili was elected High Constable which also carried with it the job of tax collector.
At the first meeting a n edict was issued against "Hogs, shoots and pigs running at large without yokes and rings" and it decreed that any so caught should be forfeited. We wonder if any of the younger generation in 1952 can specify what physical differences 'exist among "hog's, shoats and pigs." Or just what is a "hog yoke?"
Thomas Spears was elected Town Clerk 01 $4.00 per annum including "one paper of ink powder."
Taxes were not to goahove 1 cent on the dollar except in case of emergency; said emergency to be decided at solemn conclave. Valuations on the first levy ran from $10.00 to $2300.00, the average Iyi ng between $100.00 and $300.00. The total tax valuation for Co nonsburg in 1802 is given as $12,252.00 and the tax collected as $122.52 which might indicate a nearly perfect Tax Collector. The total budget for the Borough in its first yeor of incorporated life was olso $122.50 with a nice working balance leftover. For being a perfect tax collector, High Constable McGill was paid $7.50 for his work.
Wealthiest property owner wos Alexander Murdock Esq. with a tax valuation of $2300.00.
ST. ANTHONYl5 SICK AND BENEVOLENT ASSOCIATION
FOUNDED NOV. 1903
Membership Today 385
Mrs. Joseph Duchay, President Andrew Greg us, Vice President Paul Koren Jr., Fin. Sec., Treasurer Joseph Duchay, Ree. Sec., Controller
Mrs. Mary Sabo, Alex Chico, Raymond Bails.
Andrew Balog, Mrs. Mary Su+o
MEETING EVERY 3RD SUNDAY OF THE MONTH.
19 North Central Ave.
CANONSBURG MILLING CO.
1 N. Centrol Avenue
"CANONSBURG'S OLDEST BUSINESS"
h~- b .. ef· d
as een JUstI ner ..
When the first settlers built their cabins here one hundred and fifty years ago, they did so with faith in themselves and in the future of the community they were founding.
During a century and a half, this faith has beenfully justified. Canonsburg citizens can well take pride in the past growth of the community . , .. and look forward
to continuing progress and achievement.
At this significant time in Canonsburg history, Mellon National Bank is proud to enter into the financial activities of this locality .. Our new Canonsburg Office succeeds the Citizens Trust Company, which for more than fifty years has built an outstanding record of service to this enterprising community.
c C il C
S II il .S fi p
Canonsbu rg Office~
MELL.O'N NATIONAL BANK AND 'TRUST 'C'OMPANY
M'EMBER F'EDERAL DEPOSIT INSURJ\"IcE CORPOR'ATION
Several widows and their val.uations ore olso mentioned; the widow Corson topping all with a valuation of $418.00. Since this amount was one of the larger, it may be assumed that the Widow Corson was well thought of in the community. With low property valuations, low tax roles cnda low budget, life might have seemed simple a century and a half ago.
Yel the boys and maybe sometimes the girls got oul of line for during the first year a pair of stocks was erected "to confine offenders whose crimes may not imer it greater punishment." lit does not prescribe the location of said stocks but in keep.nq with a good old Puritan custom they were probably erected on the public square where those who passed might offer kindly sympathy to the transgressor.
Also moral temptations for the young were not overlooked and "Mountebanks,. stage players and e.xhi bitions of puppet shows who ex.hibit in rhe.r professions for money," were fined $50.00. With a fine of such magnitude, almost one half the annual Borough budget, it is doubtful if the young people of the Borough were plagued with mountebcnks, stage players or puppet shows during the first year of incorporation.
HISTORY OF CANONSBURG PUBLIC SCHOOLS
The early history of Public Education in and around Canonsburg differs from that of most communities. The natural growth of education in a community is that o,f on elementary system of Schools which in time grows into a High School or other institution of higher learning. In Canonsburg, however, public education and institutions of higher learning grew up side by side and it is difficult to ascertain which came first. Jefferson College and the Academy which preceded it, and the Log College which preceded the Academy go back before 1780 'and it is doubtful if any system of elementary schools ex.isted before that time.
We know that as early as 1800, Chartiers Township, of which Canonsburg was a part, had four log schools and the assessment rolls of the townsh ip I ist the no mes of six schoolmasters.
In the year 1816, Canonsburg seems to have been emerging from the log school state. A log school stood on the south side of Chartiers Creek just west of Central avenue and was in use.
Another school, a brick str ucture, erected in 1816, stood on Water street [ust east of the flour mill. This building was used as a school until 1843 when both schools were moved to a central location. The brick building continued to be used as a dwelling until 1893 when it wos destroyed by fire.
The Free School Act went into effect in 1834.
Chortiers Township was one of the first to oc-
WOMEN OF THE MOOSE
Compliments of the
CANONSBURG - HOUSTON
I I'. I ~ I , .' I;!I
POLISH FALCON SOCIETY
ORGANIZED IN 1911
Bob Kotermanski Norbert Navro-tski Chester Kopakowski
Jacob Czemerda Frank Dombrowski Walenty Laskowski
Walter Rybacki Stanley Orzelski John Stadnik
PRESENT DAY OFFICERS
John Lewandoski, Pres. Jacob Wozniak, V. Pres. John Stadnik, Treas. John W. Zeszutek, Sec'y. Eugene Sulkowski,
Louis Tomczyk, Trustee Bob Kotermanski, Trustee Edward Rogowski, Trustee
• • •
the City of Canonsburg as it commemorates 150 years continuing progress. The O. Hommel Company is proud to have been able to playa small port in its development. For over 60 years, the O. Hommel Company has supplied quality ceramic colors, oxides, frit and stains to the glass and pottery industry, an industry which has been a poromount factor in Canonsburg's progressive development.
Tcqe+her, both have grown and prospered to the policy of honest business ethics.
THE O. HOMMEL CO.
PITTSBURGH 30, PA.
POTTERY, STEEL AND CAST IRON FRIT
• CHEMICALS • SUPPLIES WORLD'S MOST COMPLETE CERAMIC SUPPLIER
1 s SI L~ FI
ae FE 2n 01
na Sb Sn gr. an,
IL. to R.-Willilarn Potts, Vice Pres.; Fred Terling, Pres.; Fred Lanzy, .H 0 w a r d O. Stevens, Solicitor.
2nd L. to R.-Stanley Henry Hur-st, Joseph Vates, Henry Norwood.
lstL. to R.-Henl·'/ Smith, Chief Norbert Lesniakowski, Burgess Fred A. Caruso, Michael Sapp and Joseph Feconda.
2nd L. to R.-Walter Olminski, Charles Susnak, Joseph De Fi,fe, Steve Duscay, Earl Smith, Patrick Matrogran,. Joseph Adamson, and Andrew Graytock.
1st L. to R.-John W. Black, Secretary; Art.hur J. Daley, President; Franciis J. Buck· ley and Michael Kus-
2nd L. to R.-John F. Pres.:
Michael Leson, George Hut chi n son, C. L. Mathewson, Supt. of Schools.
CANONSBURG ON YOUR 150TH BIRTHDAY
Falconi Motor Co.
AUTHORIIZ.ED FORD DEALER
'T'A YLOR'S DRUG STORE
a Registered Pharmacist always at your command.
27 W. Pike - Phone 70
26 N. Jefferson Avenue
" 0 U R TOW N "
We are PROUD to introduce the good name of Canonsburg into homes all over the country!
Canonsburg Pottery Co.
• • •
Jimmy (DiPalma) Palmer
fAST GAINING FAME
IN THE ENTERTAINMENT WORLD
• • •
CANONSBURG POTTERY COMPANY
CANONSBURG FIRE DEPT.
BOARD OF TRADE
Front L to R.-Mrs. Mary Huber" member boalrdlj Mrs., Belle McNary, Secret.ary; Robert Gibson, Pres.; Edward Klein, Vice Pres. IBack Row L to R.Wilbur Zuver, R. L. Gr,mt" I). S. Poillock, R,oy Clyde, Trea's, IBert Adler, Board Members
TOWN SWIMMING IPOOl
Thomas Reese, General Chairman Fred Terling
George Cho llener, Co-Chairman.
When a community undertakes to proudly celebrate its 150th birthday, since its inception as an Incorporated Borough, and to fittingly commemorate the deeds of those who played a part in its founding and development, nothing is more important than the willingness of public spirited citizens to accept individ ua I responsibility and to offer their best in cooperation and sacrifice. Of almost equal importance is the willingness of organized groups to lend their constructive force of combined effort.
When the preparation comes to a close and the celebration itself is being enjoyed, the two little words, "Thank You," sound inadequate.
However, because it is so justly deserved, we take this means of sincerely expressing our appreciation to the following:
Our subscribers whose financial contributions made the celebration possible deserve the first thought.
Our committees who served so loyally; the organizations which sponsored various events and activities; the members of the cast of "Canonlore" who made it possible to present the pageant spectacle; to all these, we extend our thanks.
Our Celebration Headquarters Stoff worked long and tirelessly. To this loyal group we say, "Thank You."
There are many individuals not mentioned in this program to whom we owe our thanks. Sharing in our gratitude is a score of volunteer workers who
gave freely of their time. Membership of many fraternal, religious, civic, union, veteran and social groups assisted in making our daily programs possible.
Our Queen and her court, and all the contestants; all the merchants who gave window space for exhibits and decorated their building fronts; those who entered floats and other un its in the parades; the Boy Scouts; the Girl Scouts; and to all others too numerous to mention, who aided in making our Sesquicentennial a success, we sincerely say
Program of Events
CANONSBURG SESQUICENTENNIAL CELEBRATION SUNDAY, AUGUST 10, 1952 "SESQUICENTENNIAL SUNDAY"
A.M. Mass will be offered in all Catholic Churches. Sermons will stress 150 years of religious growth in Canonsburg.
A.M. Appropriate services in all Protestant Churches. A.M. Special service will be held in the Synagogue.
2:30 P.M. Band Concert. Canonsburg Band Local No. 509 at Town Park.
3:30 P.M. Diving Exhibition Town Park Municipal Swimming Pool.
7:45 P .lVI. Union Services Memorial Stadium. Non-sectarian under the auspices
of the ministerian.
MONDAY, AUGUST 11, 1952 "YOUTH DAY"
12:00 Noon Official opening of festivities. Ringing of aU church bells. Blowing of whistles.
1:00 to 5:00 P.M. Registration and information for homecomers at the Burgess'
Office, Borough Building.
2:30 P.M. Sesquicentennial Playoff of the Little League Baseball Teams, Currv Field. 3:00 P.M. Judging of Freckles King and Pigtail Queen Contest at '1'0\\''11 Park.
3:30 P.M. Trick Riding and Indian Show at Town Park.
4:00 P.M. youth Watersports at Municipal Swimming Pool.
6:00 P.M. Opening of Midway in Amusement Rides at Forbes Steel Field (011 week). 7:00 P.M. Pet and Toy Parade: Adams Avenue via Pike Street to Iron Street.
(Judges stand at Central Avenue)
9:00 P.M. Queen's Reception Dance at the Armory.
TUESDAY, AUGUST 12, 1952 "HOME!COMING DAY" .11:00 A.M. Open House at all churches for homecomers.
1:00 to 5:00 P.M. Registration and information for homecomers at the Burgess' Office, Borough Building.
1:00 to 5:00 P.M. Historical tour of the Community starting from the First Presbyterian Church located at Central Avenue.
2:00 P.M. Bicycle Safety Show at Memorial Stadium (Spectators use Northside Bleachers l ,
4: 00 P .M, Trick Riding and Indian Show (Memorial Stadium).
5:00 to 7:00 P.M. Sesquicentennial evening dinner will be served by the Chartiers U. P. Church, West Pike Street (Ham Dinner).
7:00 P.M. Homecoming Parade, Route of Parade - Adams Avenue via Pike Street to Murdock Street.
8:30 P.M. Official welcome program prior to Pageant. (Spectators use Southside Bleachers).
9:00 P.M. Opening performance of "CANONLORE," Coronation of Miss Canonsburg Sesquicentennial at Memorial Stadium.
11:05 P.M. Fireworks Display at Forbes Steel Field.
WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 13, 1952 "SPORTS DA Y"
1 I' ! I
" I .; ,I
10: 30 A.M. Knee Pants League Baseball game at Curry Field.
1:00 to 5:00 P.M. Registration and information for homecorners Office, Borough Building.
LOO P.M. Bicycle Marathon Race beginning at the Police Station ending at Town Park.
1:15 P.M. Sports Events for Children at Girls - 40 yards .-_. 6 to 8 years Boys - 40 yards , __ ,_,.". __ ,_,_,,_ 6 to 8 years
Boys - 40 yards _ 8 to 10 years
Girls - 40 yards. . 8 to 10 years
Boys - 60 yards 10 to 12 years
Girls - 50 yards _ _ 10 to 12 years
at the Burgess'
Parking Lot and
Town Park: DASHES:
Boys -~ 70 yards
Girls - 60 yards .
Boys - 75 yards
Girls - 60 yards .
Boys -_ .. 100 yards __ _
Girls - 75 yards .
12 to 14 years 12 to 14 years 14 to 16 years 14 to 16 years
to all ages to all ages
Soft Ball Throw - Girls Soft Ball Throw - Boys
Football Throw Football Punting
(Medals will be awarded to all winners) 3:00 P.M. Trick Riding and Indian Show at Town Park.
3:30 P.M. Aqua Sports Events at MUnicipal Swimming Pool.
4:30 P.M. Selecting "Miss Canonsburg Sesquicentennial Aqua Queen" at Municipal Swimming PooL
5:00 to 7:00 P.M. Sesquicentennial evening dinner will be served by the Canonsburg U. P. Church, Greenside Avenue (Chicken dinner).
6:30 P.M. Battle of Barrel, McDona ld Fire Department: vs. Houston Fire Department.
Murdock Street by Pa. R. R. Station. 8:30 P.M. Preliminary Show to Pageant.
9:00 P.M. Second performance of "CANONLORE" at Memorial Stadium. 10:00 P.M. Open Air Dance, Beedle's Parking Lot.
THURSDAY, AUGUST 14, 1952 "NATIONALITY AND FRATERNAL DAY"
1:00 P.M. Registration and information, Burgess' Office.Burough Building.
2:00 P.M. Cooking demonstration at High School Auditorium directed by West Penn Power Company (Door prizes will be given).
3:00 P.M. Trick Riding and Indian Show at Town Park.
5:00 to 7:00 P.M. Sesquicentennial evening dinner will be served by the Payne A. M.
E. Church, Payne Place (Turkey Dinner). 7:00 P.M. Kangaroo Court at Elks Home.
8:30 P.M. Preliminary program to Pageant.
9:00 P.M. Third performance of "CANONLORE" at Memorial Stadium.
FRIDAY, AUGUST 15, 1952 "FIREMEN'S DAY"
1:00 to 5:00 P.M. Registration and information, Burgess' Office, Borough Building. 2:00 P.M. Cooking demonstration at High School Autditorium directed by West Penn Power Company (Door prizes will be given).
3:00 P.M. Trick riding and Indian Show at Town Park.
5:00 to 7:00 P.M. Sesquicentennial evening dinner will be served by the Christian Church, North Jefferson (Harnloaf Dinner); also St. Patrick's Church, Greenside Avenue, will have a Spaghetti Dinner.
6:00 P.M. Firemen's Rescue Demonstration at Central School Building, Central Avenue (Local Fire Department are the participants).
7:30 P. M. Sesquicentennial Firemen's Parade, Route Adams Avenue via Pike Street to Bluff A venue.
8:30 PM. Vellas School of Dancing Show, Prior to Pageant.
9;00 P.M. Fourth performance of "CANONLORE" at Municipal Statdium.
SATURDAY, AUGUST 16, 1952 "LABOR AND INDUSTRY DAY"
12 Noon Final Session of Kangaroo Court at Elks Home.
1:00 to 5:00 P.M. Judging of Beard Contest and Sisters of the Swish Costumes on Greenside Avenue.
6:()0 P.M~ Parade of Progress, Feature Parade of Celebration - First DivisionMilitary; Second Division-Labor and Industry; Third Division-Nationality and Fraternal; Fourth Division-Merchants and the Fifth Dlvision=Historical. Route of the Parade from Perry Como and Euclid Avenue via. Pike Street to Bluff Street (Judges stand at Central Avenue.
9:00 P.M. Final performance of "CANONLQRE" at Memorial Stadium. 11:15 P. M. Grand Final Fireworks Show at Forbes Steel Field.
12 Midnight Thank you and Goodnight to all.
MONDA Y THROUGH SATURDAY - Midway and Amusement Rides of all types at Forbes Steel Field
All day and every day Antique Window Displays in all the stores of Canonsburg
Welcome to All ...
'We of Canonsburg extend on open hand of welcome to all of you who have come to help us enjoy our 150th birthday party. While you are here please enjoy yourself. When you return to your home communities tell your many friends of Canonsburg', and please visit us ogain .
Burgess FRE,D ,A., CARUSO
Admission will be charged for the following 'events:
The Historicol Spectacle "CANONlORE." Price: all Reserved seats $1.50, $1.00 general admission, and children under 1.2 years of age will be admitted to the general admission section for 50c.
Tickets may be purchased at the Sesquicentennial Headquarters, Borough Building, until 5:00 P.M. or at the Box Off ice at the Municipal Stadium from 7:30 until Showtime.
Admission to the Queen's Dance will be 75c. Tickets may be purchased at Celebration Headquarters and also at the donee on Monday evening.
All dinners served in churches will be $1.50. Half price for children under
A SPECIAL THANKS
We would like to express our gratitude to the many merchants who gave prizes for the Queen and Her Court and prizes for the other events taking ploce the week of the celebration.
We would like to expr-ess appreciation to the Borough oHicials of Canonsburg for making available the Borough Council Chambers for use as celebration headq uarters.
Ourepeclul thanks to all those who ccnrributed to the over-ell success of the pageant. Due to the great number it isn't povslble to list the many wonderful people who aided financially and otherwise i , making the pageant and the Sesquicentennial Celebration a success.
CANONSBURG SESQUICENTENNIAL INC.
Performance Time - 9,00 P. M .
THE JOHN B. ROGERS PRODUCING COMPANY
ROBERT S. BANCRO.FT
Promotional Director by
WALLACE D. LAFFERTY
SYNOPSIS AND PERSONNEL
MILDRED ANN ROSS Sesquicentennial Queen
Grace H. Clyde, Virginia Cain, Catherine Knorr, Jean McClurry, Charles Rice, J. B. Slem mons, Jr., Rev. John Scott, John R. Smith.
This colorful prologue will feature the Queen of the Canonsburg Sesquicentennial, Miss Chartiers Volley and the Court of Honor together with uniformed groups who have assembled to celebrate one hundred and fifty years of progress of the fi,rst incorporated borough f Woshin,gton County,
QUEEN .. __ .. . .. _ .... __ _ .. Mildred Ann Ross
MISS CHARTIERS VALLEY __ .. Irene Marosz
COURT OF HONOR:
Ethel Few, Helen Boles, Hazel Winegard, Peggy Cage, Mary Jo Spalla, Nancy Davidson, Frances Fetcko, Mary Cigana, Rose Soloman, Shirley Hixenbaugh.
Daralyn Graham, Georgia Krist, Jacqueline Morron, Martha icholas, Diana Orf'anon, Bessie Sarikakis, Janet Sousa, Mary Jane Stevens, Margaret Sulkowski, Patricia Thielet, Charlene Totterdale, Jean Arnold, Donna Mc'Vicke r, Carol Pruce, Eleanor Casarcin, Betty Lou Hulings.
ATTENDANTS TO MISS CHARTiERS VALLEY:
Amy Crawford, Doris Sahr, Margaret Brubaker, Mary Moore, Sara Morrison, Elsie Benson, Pearl Culp, Catherine Mastrangelo.
IRENE MAROSZ Miss Chartiers Valle."
Robert Wilson. Kenneth Wilson, Ricky Huston, Bill Keeney, Keith Lane, Clarence Bebout, Tom Dunn, Harold Cipher, Kurt Ramsey, Robert Maloney, Terry Vitteralli, Louis Pelkey.
Jerome Markle, Jack McCahill, Francis Nuzum, David Linden. John Leon, Fred Easton, John Farlong, David Olminsky. Dennis Wilson, Richard Churilla. Raymond Kutch, Ronald Chevertne. Lee Gillmor.
Steve Toth, John O'Neil, Arthur Lyon, Edward Syfinski, James Powell, Wayne delVecchio, Bob Victoria, Billy Kotar, James dePoli,. Ernie Lombardo ..
Stephen Dunn. a rn rny Harper, Jimmy Tayler, Jackie Sadowski, Bobby Lindsay, Bobby Lewis, Billy Lewis. Jimmy Hamilton, Jimmy Ratione, Dale Barnhill, George Bate, Jo eph Witcher, Robert Evan, Tony Guinn, William Penn.
Kenny Davis, Larry Brown, John Wayne Davis, David Smith, Robert Patterson, Gary Mohler, Jeffrey Williams, Arnold Cushner, Donald Simpson, James Monar, Jerry Moore, Albert Hudaseck, Alan Mark.
Lorna Ambrose, Rose Imperatore, Angela Milliken, Sara Rakar, Bonnie Tauzel, Sara Fischer, Esther Herman, Linda Gowern, Jean Scott, Judy Greer, Judy Gilbert, Bernadette Churilla, Joan Kushma, Delores Meranti, Rosalie Santora, Shirley DeJohn, Rose Mary Mills.
Carol Langer, Anita Fife, Donna Mastrangioli, Mary Weishuen, Carla Kuhn, Virginia Gregg, Rebecca Gilmore, Katherine Manolas, Sandra Radinsky, Barbara Sebelia, Margaret Moore, Judy Garoul, Karen Tiedy, Joyce Fife, Linda McPeake, Peggy Jones, Judy McKown.
Thalia Berry, Karen Hayes, Carol Rathbone, Helen Spiller, Dorothy Blaskovich, Dorothea Schussler. Terry 'I'iedy, Penny Pollock, Gale Brown, Barbara Cleveland, Emily Davis, Judith Johnson, Ruth Davis, Donna Ribeau, Eileen Hemphill,
Patricia Ann Catalano, Lee Revis, Martha Wilson, Sandra Lee Chiki, Dolores Dobbin, Marilyn Lanzy, Alice Brownlee, Mary Livolsi, Janice Brown, Sheryl Thomas, Sylvia Davis, Patsy Brown, Gwendolyn Sherrow, Linda Rice, Stephanie Kuhn.
Rosemary Bertinotti, Marguerite Palmer, Lois Ann Scareell, Carol Congie, Patricia Clark, Nora Worstell, Linda Rice,
Maude Rinebart. Anna Lauze, Ella Beadling, Clara McClure, Dora Ayres, Shirley Addis, Ethel Briceland, Clara Pattison, Florence Whitesell, Lois Bard, Aldeline Giacobbe.
Louise Meredith, Elizabeth Lauze, Helen McClure, Cecilia Duffield, Genivieve Hays, Verna Galbraith, Peg Cannon, Mae Fenimore, Verna MoKenery, Ruth Breckt, Cecilia Losko, Marcella O'Brien.
Gladys Lyon, Tillie Popline , Sophie Trczinski, Philomena Petardi, Lucille Carlet, Ger-ry Pagano, Vickie DeJohn, Sue Elish, Rosemary Hudacek, AIdine Cianella, Mary White, Pauline Cowden, Gladys Wines, Cynthia Zampan, Henrietta Campbell, Linette Santora, Gladys Williamson, Jessie Di Palma.
MISS 1802 - Barbara Hudacek
MISS 1952 _ __ _............. Abigail Foley
Margaret Koman, Ted Ladozarchak, Olga Dano, Alex: Artemko, Ann Matyf', Julia Telesko, Ted Severyn, Steve Kulakowski, Elizabeth Mals, Joe Mals, Dorothy Florian, Elizabeth Zima, Sam Anthon, George Anthou, Mary Mantalis, Helen KOllklis, Helen Cayadel, Marian Gregus.
Esther Gregus, Marian Kish, Vago Veronika, Yalintin 'I'atay, Anna Popovich, Mrs. Joseph Gall, Irene Rodighiero, Catherine Massino, Josephine Masslno, Joan Rodighiero, Jackie Santoni, Roselin
" Spalla, Anne Amarose, Josephine Campagna, Marie Scarsellato, Joe Mascetta, Marie Rocco,
CANONSBURG HIGH SCHOOL BAND UNDER DIRECTION OF LOUIS SCARCI.
SCENE 1. LIFE AMONG THE INDIANS
Our story begins in those dim, almost forgotlen days when the red men roamed the forests. They were the original claimants of our land. History records that the Indians did not toke to our vicinity as a permanent settling ground although they often hunted and fished here. This scene will depict an Indian village and the arrival of Etienne Brule, the trader and emissary of Samuel de Champlain.
Bonnie Ross, Mildred Worstell, Eunice Powers, Kay Kosmus, Betty Simms, Ruth Longo, Irene Lane, Jean La Horner, Peg Jones, Elizabeth Best, Mary Alice Galloway, Mary Lou Underkoffer, Barbara Powers, Ruth Fife, M;axine Japp, Bernice Edwards, Ruth Lane, Frances Curl, Betty Bodrasky, Juanita Davies, Isabelle Close.
Whitey Dzikowski, Steve Lesefka, John Hixenbough, Valintine Detemple, Alex Herrenberger, Ted Lewis, James Lewis, Elmer Porter, AI Hoppe, Steve Davadick, John Byers, Howard Mohler, Ben Hall, Henry Lawton.
Joyce .Iapp, Marilyn Engel, Frances Rogowski, Barbara Orr, Patty Haggerty, Karen Fields, Karen .I app, Sharon Rogowski, Diane Ramsey, Patty Powers, Rebecca Neely, Susan Leach.
Jack Zeman, Pat Powers, Ronnie Worstell, Richard Sims, Eddie Lawton, Frank Crisafi, Pat Ross, Jimmy Worstell, Teddy Underkoffler.
AI Tedeschi, Robert Merritt, Ed Greer, Chriss Thomas, Frank Arnold, Ted Pratten, Sam Zarnpan.
SCENE 2. THE EARLY SETTLERS
In spite of Indian attacks on the wagon trains and all the other difficulties attendant on such a .venture, many hardy souls came to this territory in the early days. One of the first settlers in this area was John Canon, a native of Virginia, In this scene John Canon and his family will be seen welcoming other settlers as they come to Canon's cabin, one of the first in this area.
MR. AND MRS. JOHN CANON ARE PORTRAYED BY LUCILLE AND ARTHUR CANON
Emma Jean Freil, Glenn Freil, Mildred Ralston, Charles Ralston, Margaret Beeles, Joseph Eeeles, Mary Springer, Howard Springer, Jeanette Brockway, Donna Hilliard, Gary Ainscough, Nancy Powell, Ella Mae Anderson, Edgar Anderson.
Barbara Simpson, Sharon F. Griffith, James Hyser, Patricia Beales, Joyce Beeles, Debroah Leach, Connie Leach, Virginia Brockway, Howard Springer, Mr. and Mrs. Tom Ainscough, Tom Ainscough, Jane Atkinson, George Atkinson, Gladys McIlvaine, Catherine Haines, Jack Haines, Robert McIlvaine.
SCENE 3. JOHN McMILLAN'S FIRST CHURCH SERVICE
The name of the Reverend John McMillan is a familiar one in the annals of Canonsburg history, From the tFme of his first sermon in 1 h is locality until his death in 1833 his life was a round of activity of olmost 58 years. Using
a tree stump as his pulpit his first sermon was preached at the farm of John McDowell.
CAST OF SCENE 3 DOUBLES FROM SETTLERS
SCENE 4. THE SPIRIT OF '76
The Spirit of 76; symbolizing the efforts of brave men who fought and died that their country might live.
Jay Boling, Thomas Jones, Clyde Fulton.
SCENE 5. THE OLD LOG COLLEGE
In the early days educatio·n was one of the first problems to be considered. locally many schools and colleges were established. Reverend John McMillan, D.O., founded such a college here and this pioneer effort was the forerunner of Jefferson College. The original Log College is familiar to Canonsburg residents on the lawn of the High School.
Walter Sykes, William Taylor, Jack Rodd, Tom Douglas, AI Browell, Edward Thompson, Richard Cummins, Robert Donaldson, Blair Ferguson, Uriah Davis, Frank Williamson, William Hughes, David McNutt.
SCENE 6. A DISTINGUISHED VISITOR, GEORGE WASHINGTON
In the year of 1784, John Canon was host to a distinguished visitor, General George Washington, who with a group of men visited this area on business concerning Mr. Washington's extensive land holdings hereabouts.
James Glass, Sam Taylorl' Glenn Rossell, Edgar Fenimore, Wayne Ferguson, Jack Rodd, Lee Kidder, Archie McIntyre, Guy Canon, Sam Potter, John Pritts.
SCENE 7. JOHN CANON PLOTS THE TOWN
Colonel John Canon, the respected founder of our borough had acquired title to 1200 acres of land where Canonsburg now stands. Settlers were attracted to the area and Mr. Canon decided ot take steps to layout the lots for the growing community. This scene will depict the laying out of lots by Mr. Canon.
SCENE 8. LOOTING OF THE U. S. MAIL
The fornous Whiskey Insurrection had widespread effect throughout this area. Excitement ran high. Mob spirit prevailed. The home of the revenue collector, General John Neville, was attacked and burned; the repercussions were stupendous. The instigators learned that reports had been mailed to 'Washington. Consequently to save themselves from punishment they held up the mail carrier and removed the damaging evidence.
SCENE 9. THE FIRST ELECTION IN THE NEW BOROUGH
May 3, 1802, was on important date in the annals of Canonsburg history for it was the day of the first election. This scene will depict the clerk of the election as he announces- the returns of the votes and introduces the first borough officials to the assembled voters.
Fred Caruso, Jack George, William Potts, John Heiser, Albert Martin, Steve Polo sky , John Heiser Jr., Emil Arnold, Joseph Yates, Fred Lanzy, Stanley Wrona, Paul Reynier, Sam Dellorso, Stanley Klapkowski, Bill DelFine, Henry Norwood, Henry Hirst, Jonas Stevens, Fred Terling.
SCENE 10. MAN BREAKS LAW
When the borough was incorporated various laws and ordinances were written into the books for the good and preservation of all. During the first year a pair of stocks was erected to confine offenders whose crimes might not 'merit greater punishment. The hapless victim was an object of derision to the towns people.
CAST OF SCENE 10 IS COMPOSED OF SOME OF THE MEMBERS IN SCENE 9.
SCENE t t. CIVIL WAR
When the Civil War broke out, President Lincoln issued a cell for volunteers and the men in this little Western Pennsylvania borough responded with determination. They were anxious days allover the nation. Frequently going away parties were held for the soldiers. This scene will depict such a gathering just prior to their departure to the call of the colors.
Margaret Ann McMillan, Lucy Di Tullio, Helen Hopper, Mildred Hart, Jane Hoon, Kay Cavassini, Pat Riska, Betty Smith, Pat Smith, Libby Haggerty, Jean Ford, Jane Taylor, Aldine Cianelli, Adeline Giacobbe, Linette Santora.
Tom McMillan, .Ia ck Hopper, Alex Hart, Jack Hoon, Frank Cavassini, Charles Riska, Jack Smith, Charles Smith, Frank Haggerty, William Ford, Matt Taylor, Nick Cianelli, Anthony Giacobbe, Frank Santora.
SCENE 12. A prCNIC AT THE TURN OF THE CENTURY
By the turn of the century Canonsburg was making progress. It was fast becoming a borough of beautiful homes. New mills had been built and many new enterprises had been established. A popular diversion in those dear old days was a community picnic attended by old and young alike.
Margaret McPeake, Kitty McLean, Sara Kidder, Liz Knestrick, Doris Reynolds, Virginia Briceland, Ruth Ann Kidder, Teresa Marnio, Dede Freno, Elsie Cope, Peggy Ross, Patricia Ross, Janet Lee Ross, Dolores Kidder, Joan Cope, Judy Cope, Beverly Reynolds, Diane Briceland, Michael McLean, Earl Williams, Marie Griffith.
Mildred Neely, Jim Holt, Judy ~Lean, Cassie Vallet, Rolland Griffith, Willard Neeley, Tom HunkIer, Harry Springer. Charles Springer, Dorothy Zarnpan, Sam Zarnpan, Jake Mozina, WiJliam MePeake, Ray McLean.
Vance Kidder, Don Kidder, Frank Dayak, Ed Wisniewski, Duane Reynolds, Donald Clendaniel, William Cope, Robert Ross, James Ross, John 01'vell, Eddie Raynolds, Jack Rodd, John Neely, Jimmy Martin, Hobert Kobert, David McPeake, Gary Briceland,
Dancers: Betty Zinn, Sue Rockwell, Connie Stevens, Pat Jamison, Esther Ann Mataly, Gwen Robinson, Angie Paterson, Rosalie Darni, Judy Conger.
(Can can dancers from Louise Vella's School of Daneing.)
QUARTETTE: CHARLES C. CARTIN, HARRY ALDERSON, AUGUST MAMARACK, .DUCKY SWAN. (MEMBERS WASHINGTON CHAPTER SPEBQSA, INC.)
SCENE 13. WORLD WAR I
We pay tribute to the veterans of the first world wor.
SPONSORED BY VETERANS ORGANIZATIONS
SCENE 14, THE DECADE OF THE 19.20'5
This scene will feature a colorful, reminiscent episode typical of this decade.
Judy Conger, Rosalie Darni, Angie Paterson, Gwen Robinson, Esther Ann Mataly, Pat Jamison, Connie Stevens, Sue Rockwell, Betty Zinn, Carl Falconi Jr., Charles Dille.
SCENE 15. WORLD WAR II
This scene honors all the heroes of the second world war.
SPONSORED BY VETERANS ORGANIZATIONS
SCENE 16. INDUSTRY
Canonsburg owes its growth and prosperity to the various and sundry industries that have flourished in the borough for years. Industries in Canonsburg have come and gone with the years but their influence has been felt by all. This scene will show in symbolic form various of the industries of to-day and the past.
Personnel in this industrial scene from Fort Pitt Bridge Works, Canonsburg Pottery Company, RCA Victor, Pennsylvania Transformer Company, Forbes Steel Corporation, W. S. George Pottery Company.
SCENE 17. CANONSBURG MARCHES ON
The entire cost of CANONLORE will be featured in this stirring Grand Finale.
We regret that due to printer's deadline there may be errors or omissions in the list of Pageant cast names.
Executive Board Canonsburg Sesquicentennial 1952
Front Row, left to right: Carl J. Gessler, secretary of board; Fred 'I'erl ing, Thomas J. Reese, chairman; George M. Challener, Fred A .. Beedle .. Back Row, George A. Anderson, William McLhinney, John George, Robert G. Gibson, Burgess Fred Caruso and Francis Buckley.
COMMITTEES FOR THE CANONSBURG SESQUICENTENNIAL
1. M. REESE
GEORGE M. CHALLENER __ _.___ .. __ . ._ -. .. _ _._ _
FRED A. BEEDLE c._
FRED R. TERLlNG
CARL J. GESSLER
E. Q. JOHNSON
__ ... _ .. . ... ._ .. __ ._ -- __ . ... . Chairman Finance Division
JOHN GEORGE . .. _.
FRANCIS J. BUCKLEY
Chairman Spectacle-Ticket Division
- . ._. - Chairman Publicity Division
WILLIAM S. McLHINNEY .. . ... ._---------- .. --.------ Chairman Spectac:le Division
C. R. GIBSON . . __ .. . . __ ._._. ._"'-" ... - .. - .. ------.- ------- .. ---
Chairman Special Events Division
FRED A. CARUSO ..... ... _. . __ . "". __ . .. _ .. "". ._. __ ._""·---OO.--- ---.----_."" Chairman Hospitality Division
Steering Committee: T. M. Reese, Chairman. Finance Division: John George, Chairman. Underwriting Committee: John George, Chairman;
George Foley, W. E. Kerr, F. R. Buchanan, Adolph Zeman.
Novelties Committee: Otis D. Black, Chairman; J. Earl Boling, Herman Dietz, J. Glenn McMillen, Jack McCahill.
Beard Contest Committee: Mario DiPalma, Chairman; William C. Bergmark, 0. J. Orsino, Sam J. Spadaro, Merle Williams.
Historical Program Committee: E. C. Mathewson, Chairman; Margaret D. Donaldson, Mary L. Griffith, George D. McNutt, John W. Black, Mario DiPalma, James Mazza, Ernest T. McNary, Thomas Emery, Frank Taylor, John Kutch, Fred A. Caruso, T. M. Reese, Carl J. Gessler, Francis Buckley, William McLhinney, Fred Terling, W. R. George.
Official Hat Committee: Allen M. Levin, Chairman; Wilmer E. Dornon, Thomas E. Emery, James A. Mazza, Harry W. Lewis, Jos. S. Chimento.
Concessions Committee: Henry Hirst, Chairman; George W. Hoch, George Hutchinson, William D. Smith, Lewis 1. Thomas.
Sisters of the Swish: Janet Workman, Chairlady; Margaret Davies Rhys, Ethel Templeton M.cConnell, Margaret Beedle Wagner, Mae S. McMillen.
Spectacle Ticket Division: Francis J. Buckley, Chairman.
Advance Ticket Committee: George J. Modrak, Chairman; Roy D. Clyde, Samuel J. Lauricia, Charles A. Maizland, Michael E. Kusturiss.
Queen Contest Committee: Helen Davidson, Chairlady; Lena C. Koser, Sara M. Shaw, Irene H. Layburn, Grace McWilliams.
Gate and Usher Committee: Esther Treylinek, Chairlady; Frank Spadaro, Jean Lee, Elizabeth Haggerty, Mildred Colas.
Publicity Division: George A. Anderson, Chairman; Frank K. Nool, Co-Chairman.
Press Committee: George A. Anderson, Chairman; Samuel J. Bondi, W. Kerr Galbraith, Frances P. Zele, A. E. Cowger.
Distributive Committee: Allen W. Swan, Chairman; Paul L. Carruthers, Charles C. Cartin, Charles J. Susnak.
Speakers Committee: Adolph L. Zeman, Chairman; David B. Campbell, Howard O. Stevens, Sidney Hoffman, ChrIs Vlachos.
Spectacle Division: William Mc t.hinncy, Chairman. Cast-Committee: Louise A. Scroggs, Chairlady; Hazel Rhine, Clara Glenn, Lorraine Sylvester, Lillian A. Wassum.
Costume and Make-up Committee: Grace H.
Clyde, Chairlady: Clara Borchert, Mary Grace, Margaret Grant, Lena A. Rhys, Mrs. Jean Anderson, Miss Mary Jane Buckels, Mrs. Emily Cheesman, Mrs. Madelyn Donaldson, Mrs. Alice Chastel, Mrs. Dorothy McCollum, Mrs. Florence Fetcko, Mrs. Herman Deitz, Mrs. Dorothy Dunn, Miss Mildred Rhys.
Mrs. Helen Reynolds, Mrs. Gale Malugen, Mrs.
Dee Challender Mrs. Norma Brennen, Mrs. Lois Milliken, Mrs. Dorothy Wright, Mrs. Mildred Denni.s, Mrs. Cassie Neeley, lV(rs. Hazel Bell, Mrs. Cella Black, Mrs. Hazel Rhine, Mrs. Harriet Maizland, Miss Anna Marie Stabile, Mrs. Lois Taylor.
Construction Committee: J. Kenneth Rankin, Chairman: Edward R. Koch, Wm. S. McLhinney, Herbert W. Neu, William A. Shaw.
Scenario and Title Committee: Robert J. O'Connell, Chairman; Rev. W. R. McKim, C. A. Mathewson, Grace H. Clyde, Ina M. Hoch.
Spectacle Music Committee: Francis P. Comer, Chairman; Catherine Munnell Croker, Jessie Linn Gibson, Mary lVI. Modrak, Homer H. Wagner.
Properties Committee: Al DeLucia, Chairman; Joe E. Rudge, R. C. Rodd, Chas, Dunn, A. E. Smith.
Special Events Division: C. R. Gibson, Chairman. Parade Committee: Philip Ahwesh, Chairman; Wallace W. Richards, Albert J. Lanzy, Henry J. Dietz, Edward T. Briceland.
Parade Music Committee: Arthur J. Daley, Chairman; David B. Campbell, Louis Scarci, Joseph Sylvester, Joseph S. Chimento.
Celebration Ball Committee: Phil Ahwesh, Chairman; John Andy, Sam Spadaro.
Historical Window Committee: Wilbert E. Zuver, Chairman; Nel Pease, Co-Chairman; Grace Hoch, Jim Thompson, Ada M. Griffith.
Fireworks Committee: Thomas C. Schussler, Chairman; William H. Arnold Jr., Edward Briceland, Lawrence W. Davis, Edward D. Purk.
Special Days Committee: C. Rohert Gibson, Chairman; D. S. Pollock, Karl Kuhn, Geo, Yates, Frank: Taylor.
Sunday, August 100Sesquicentennial Sunday; George M. Challener, Chairman.
Monday, August ll-Youth Day: Francis P.
Comer, Chairman; Walter F. Rhine, William MacDonald, Kenneth Rankin.
Tuesday, August 12-Homecoming Day: Fred A.
Wednesday, August 13-Sports Day-e-J'ohn Andy, Chairman; Ray Cottrell, Harry Lander, John Smith, John Fartro, Harry Morgan.
Thursday, August 14--Nationality and Fraternal Day: Frank Tomsic, Co-Chairman; John Kutch, Co-Chairman.
Friday, August 15-Firemen's Day: W. H. Arnold, Chairman; Tom Schussler, W. McLhinney, E. T. Briceland, A. M. McIntyre, Larry Davis, E. A. Davis, Orion Hoch, G. E. Smith, P. S. Arnold, F. T. Little, J. Adamson, K. Alderson, R. E. Arnold, G. Coleman, Al Deakin, S. J. Duscia, G. Galbraith.
J. Hiles, E. Hott, E. R. Koch, B. Mansfield, W.
McKenery, H. W. Neu, E. Purk, C. Richards, R. Rudge, R. G. Simms, R. Simms, R. Simpson, H. Smith, C. Susnak, J. A. Wilson, E. Wozniak.
Saturday, August I6-Labor and Industry DayFred Terling, Chairman; Stewart Chambers, Local No. 51, Casimir Tumicki, President of Fort Pitt Bridge Works Local No. 3627, Pete Cassidy, President of Pa. Transformer Local No. 3968, John Koziel, President of RCA Local No. 1207, James A. Malone, Int. Rep. of C.I.O., Kelly Severine, Charles Kolence, Electric Welding Co. Local No. 3710, George J. Greza, National Metal Products Co. Local No. 3907, Wallace Green, N.B. of Ope.r. Potters, John H. Allen, N.B. of Opel'. Potters.
Hospitality Division: Burgess Fred A. Caruso, Chairman.
Homecoming Committee: Harry L. Cook, CoChairman, Henry Norwood, CO-Chairman, Anna McMurdy, Co-Chairlady, Edith Cockins, Co-Chairlady; Louis Bell, Frank E. Brackis, Mrs. Ada B. Evans, Mrs. W. A. White, Louis Doutre, Steve Fragapane, Mrs. George Rohm, Mrs. C. B. Throckmorton, Annie Laskowski, Mrs. Arnold Darni, Anna Lazorchak.
Johanna B. Sheaff, Eugenio Monaco, Mary Casper Petardi, Naomi Hilton, Eva J. Brown, Margaret Dunlevy, Marie Briceland, Antonio Puchany, Mrs. Esther Dunn, Frank Soski, Valeria Sulkowski, Peter J. Trafalski, B. J. Cowan.
Housing Committee: Stanley Wrona, Chairman; Marie Briceland, Co-Chairlady; Amy Crawford, Stella Kutch, Catherine Dean, Fred Lanzy,
Traffic Safety Committee: Norbert Lesniakowski, Chairman; Joseph R. Adamson, Joseph A. DeFife, Steve J. Duscia, Joseph A. Feconda, Andrew F. Graytock, Orion L. Hoch, Walter J. Olminsky, Michael Sapp, G. Earl Smith, Henry Smith, Michael J. Smith, Charles J. Susnak, Patrick Matrogram,
Transportation Committee: C. D. Cummins, Chairman; John Andy, Mario DiCio, C. W. Patsch, .Iames Tomsic, James Imperatore.
John McMillan Reunion: B. Elmer Neill, Chairman; A. Clyde Fulton, Hugh R. McDowell, James W. Munnell, R. Dell Weaver.
Dance Committee: Michael Sapp, Sam Spadaro, Dominic C. Calabro, Arthur Bell, George Malone.
Bicycle Contest: John Horosky, Police Chief Norbert Lesniakowski, Kenneth D. Weirich.
Michael A. Dagar, Ada Matthews Daugherty .. James M. Donaldson, Olive Swan Donaldson, steve A Duchi, John DiYenno, Anna Weaver Ebeling. R. B. Gemmill. Frank J. Gessler, Sam Hanna, William C. Hiney, James B. Jones, Morris Lebeau, Anna M. Lesko, George T. Loutsion.
Addie Cowan McWilliams, Mary Oshinski, J.
Harry Orr, Jessie McKown Painter, Olive Mackey Patton, William A. Patsch, Mary Ann Powers, L. F01"d Reagan, Margaret Davies Rhys, Wallace W, Richards, Maude Withers Rinehart, Mary Scarci, Gus Schmidt. Hanna Franz Sheaff, Samuel W., Smith, Luciano Spalla, Mary Thompson. Helen 'I'ownrow, ALex E. Weaver, Ben]. S. Williams, Lon B, Wilson. Matthew M. Wilson, Rev. Cooper, Rev. Mason. Alex Flowers.
Alice M,. Beck, Joseph Bell, George S. Betts, Alice Bird Sr., Harry Charlton, Joseph H. Cheeseman, John Chermer, Daniel W. Chicarella, Lena C01aiz20. William Darnpf, Helen E. Davidson, Pearl Foster, Annie Greene, James B. Hanley, Charles W.Hanlin. M. B. Herron, George Jackovic, Harry R. Jackson, Erma B.. Kelso, MaryE. Kerr, Irene Hamilton Layburn, John L, Mackey, Russell L. Marple, Anna Marie Mastic.
John Matyuf, John A, McCalla, Arthur McCormick.
Julia Briceland McMillen, Grace McWilliams, Rose Norwood, Joseph W. Neely, Steve Nemeth, Irene McPeake Patterson, Anna E .. Patton, William Poole .. Morris Popover, Evelyn Kay Price., Samuel Rosen" berg, Dorothy Coleman Schaughency, . Thomas Simms, Michael Sinco, James C. Small, James C, Springer, Andrew Surich, Annie E.. Taylor, Estelle Thomas, Steve Toth, William A. White, Allie Williams.
Owen Adams Sr., Frances Briceland Ashe, Agnes D, Athey, Leopold Aubrey, Elsie E. Benson, WHliam F. Berger, Max Bernstein, Eva J. Bissell, Ada C. Boone, Hanna Clark Brehm, Walter Briceland, Eva M. Brown, Eva Harper Campbell, Frank Cava sinni , Julia McFarland Conner, Marcia Brown Coulter, James Ben]. Cowan .. August Dietz, Ida F. Dunlevy, Clarence H. Edwards. Thomas C. Emery, William J. Estep,John H. Ford, Sara Storment Foster.
Kate M. Gladden, Alice M. Gowern, May MeWilliams Gowern, John Graff, Blanche B. Grier, Charles H. Haynes Sr., James B. Hiles, Sarah Fulton Hopper, Anna Isherwood, Elizabeth Jehuston, Thomas J. Jo.nes,. WiIliam N. Jones, David Kerr. Anna Aiken Leach, Albert E. Lewis, Gertrude M, Lewis, John S. Lightholder, Mervin C. Linn, Bessie Thompson Loudon, Joseph Mascetta.
Henrietta Mawhinney, Jennie McBun1ey, May" zetta Lewis McKenery, Ernest T. McNarv, George D, McNutt, George S. McPeake, Etta McWilliams. Alvin .E, Miller Sr., Blanche B,. Miller, Minnie Kelso Moore, Mary Greer Moss. Samuel D. Munnell. William B. Norris, John Pagano, Katherine A. Phillips, Durrell S. Pollock, M. Miller Potts.
Charles H. Richar-ds, 1. W. Rossell, Mayme Dunlap Schaufele, Rollen Schaughency, Edna Morgan Shaw, Adelbert Sheldon, Gustave A. Sochor. Nannie Stokes, J. Smiley Tannehill, Emma Templeton, Mary E. Templeton, Mary Donaldson Throckmorton, James R. Valinote, James Jay Van Email, Thomas Vlachos, Margaret Beedle Wagner, Fred White, Earl S .. Wilson, J. Samuel Wilson, Janet Me Nary Workman, Joseph A. Yates.
Virginia Cowan Bails, Charles J. Banks, Ella Mackey Beadling, Earl A. Catlin, Ida Guthrie Clyde, Mary Collins. Lucia Como, Edmun S. Croft,
..J « IX III Z III I.!)
I.!) IX ::::l In III
L..;__ ...... ~I ~
z « o
, i, ,.
l i ~ , i
FROM THE ATTORNEYS Of Canonsburg
GEORGE J. MODRAK
MICHAEL E. KUSTURISS ANDREW W. CUMMINS
SAMUEL L. RODGERS CHRIS VLACHOS
DAVID B. CAMPBELL
SIDNEY HOFFMAN ROBERT L. ZEMAN ADOLPH L ZEMAN
HOWARD O. STEVENS
cepr its provrsrons and at that firne had ten schools. They were designated by numbers (9) and (10) were located in Canonsburg. This crrangement continued until 1858, when hy petition of Canonsburg citizens an Act of Assembly on March 17, 1858 made the bora of Canonsburg an independent school district, separate from the township.
However, before that time Canonsburg had shown signs of growing' pains, e ducofioncdly, and in 1853 petit;oned the Chartiers Board to unite the two Canonsburg schools under one Principal. A Mr. Robert Curry was elected to this office and proba bly became the first Superintendent of Schools in Canonsburg.
The next move by Canonsburg was to request the Board to divide the two bora schools into "Male and Female Departments." This request was ccrefully tobled but another in 1856 was not so easily lcld as.ide. This was a request for a separate school for the colored childre-n of Canonsburg~ This school was established in 1863, enlarged in 1870, ond was discontinued in 1881.
It may be of interest to know the ncmes of the men and women who served as School Principals in those early days:
Wm. G. Fee _ 1863
Mr. Campbell _.. 1864-
B. F. lakin _ 1865-1866
J. P. Taylor _ 1867
Wm. Garret .. _ _ _.................... 1868-69
T. A. Elliot _ _.... 1870·71
W. T. Slater _ 1872
Edward W. Mauck _........ 1873·75
Wm. Braddock _ _ 1875
Wm. T. Whitely 1876
Edward W. Mouck 1877-79
Mr. Stoody ..............................1' 879- 1881
W. Roberts _ 1881-1884-
Miss Ella Beacon _ .. __ 1884-
John B. Anderson 1885-1891
Edward W. Mauck in 1881 became County Superintendent of Schools, serving less than two years. He was fatally injured in an accident neor Carnegie.
From the year 1843, the Bora schools were housed in a brick building erected by the bora in that year. The bora authorities granted use of the building to, the schools free of charge reserving a part of the building for municipal purposes. Two rooms of this four room building were used by the schools until 1856 when 0 third room was taken over. The use of this combined boro and school building continued until 1876. In tha1 year the school authorities purchased the building and site and disposed of the building, and drew up plans for a new school. On Dec. 1, 1877, the new four room building was turned over to the board by James Spear and Bros., contractors. The contract price
ROSNER'S DRESS SHOP
LADIES' & CHILDREN'S
READY· TO • WEAR
8 & W RADIO & ElECTRIC CO. 115 N. JEFIiERSON AVE.
Phone 181 T
ROTTELLA SERVICE STATION 203 ADAMS AVE.
PAUL A. ROTTELLA, Manager
II' i' I
The ownership and employees of the Home Furniture Co., Canonsburg's oldest, largest and most progressive furniture store, salutes Canonsburg during its
SINCE 1910 - FIRST IN HOME VALUES! 185·191 E. PIKE ST.
On the occasion of your Sesqui-Centennial Celebration.
Inall the years ahead ..
From a company which, in serving natural gas here, has
been a part of the community for over a half century.
The Manufacturers Light & Heat e,O.·
"Ccnonsburq's Most Noted Son"
FORBES STEEL CORPORATIIONI
Anderson, D. L. Anderson, Geo. A. Beedle, Fred A. Bluehaugh, Ralph Boggs, T. Morton, Jr. Buchanan, Frank Challener, Geo. M. Challener, Jas. G. Comer, Francis Condron, Dr. E. V. Cullen, J. S. Cummins, C. D. DeWalt, Howard Dickson, S. H.
Dietz, H. F. Donaldson, D. H. Donnelly, Jack Fitzpatrick, Wm. R. George, Jack
Grant, R. L.
Hazlett, Dr. E. L. Hiles, Chas.
"SERVICE ABOVE SELF"
"HE PROFITS MOST WHO SERVES BEST"
Canonsburg - Houston Rotary Club
President: Dr.E. V. Condron Vice-President: Jack A. Donnelly
Secretary: Charles A. Maizland Treasurer: Jesse C. King
- CLUB ROSTER-
Houston, Jas. P. Ingram, Dr. D. N. Johnston, Dr. J. A. Kelso, Dr. J. C. King, J. C. MacDonald, Wm. D. Ma izl and, Chas. A. Malone, Geo. L. McBride, Harry G. McBride, Robt. C. McBride, W. A. McCarrell, Jas. J. McClelland, W. S. McKercher, Jas. M. McNary, E. T. McPeake, Walter M. Moore, Dr. Jos. S. Noel, Frank
Parks, Cecil L. Patsch, C. W. Patsch, John K. Patsch, Ralph L. Patseh, Wim. C.
- HONORARY MEMBERS-
Paxton, Hugh B. Paxton, Hugh W. Peacock, Ralph W. Pease, Dr. H. S. Pollock, D. S.
Poole, H. V.
Potts, Wm. L. Pritts, John
Rankin, Kenneth Rankin, Park Y. Reed, Campbell Rhine, Walter Roesch, Edward J. Rynex, Chas. E. Sparks, R. Kennard Speakman, L. P. Speakman, Wm. E. Stouffer. Frank E. Taylor, Frank Taylor, Wm. Q. Templeton, Harry Templeton, Milton Williams, Brad R.
Han. Henry W. Temple Hon. Wallace S. Gourley
With a record of 24 years of devoted service to our community, Canonsburg-Houston Rotary Club pledged continued efforts for its welfare and
Dr. Glenn P. Reed Capt. Virginio Antonioli
was $5500.00. This building now forms the front sect.on of the present brick building.
By 1884 the school population had grown so that more room was needed and a controct was let for a four room addition on May 19, 1884. M. C. Schaughency was fhe contractor and the contract price of the odclition was $6100.00. The school was turned over to the Board, Jan. 29, 1885. At the sorne meeting the Board authorized the employment of a Principal and six teachers. This teaching force was mode up of John B. Anderson, Principal; and the fo+lowing teochers: Thomas J. Charlton, Alke M. Proudfit, Kate R. Scott, Mary E. Wilson, Minnie Henderson and Emma McPeake. All teachers received $35.00 per month for eight monehs. The salary of the Principal was $60.00 per month. School enrollment was 450; budget, $4921.00.
By 1389 the schools become crowded 'again and a controct was let to Enoch Hixon for a two room frame building to be built back of the brick building. The bUlilding was put in use in September 1889. The controcr price wqs $1100.00. This building was used until about 1936 and was torn down in 1942. This addition made the tota! number of school rooms in Canonsburg, ten.
In 1886, Principal John B. Anderson prepared a complete course· of study covering 10 grades. This course included two years of High School and in 1889 the first doss was graduated frorn the Canonsburg High School. Professor Anderson, as he wa'scalled by his Boord, is known as the Founder of ,the Ccmonsburq High School. Professor Anderson served until 1891, but was forced to resiqn on account of ill hea'lth. He died at Claysville in the Fall of that year. In July of 1891, W. C. Black of Freedom, Pennsylvania was e·le'cted ,to the position of Principal of Schools. Music was introduced into the schools in that ye'ar 'and com!pulsory vaccination followed in 1892.
By 1894 school enrollment reached 569 and the Board proposed to erect a buil'dingof 12 rooms to serve for 'all time. The East CoHege street location was secured 'and bids for the new building were opened Aug. 10, 1896. W. F. Steffler of Pittsburgh wcs 'awarded the contract a't $18,000.00 exclusive of lighting, heating, etc. The Co.JJege stre'et building was used in part during 1897.
Princlpcrl W. C. Black resigned at the dose of 1897 and was replaced by J. M. Shaffer who served as Principal until 1902 when he resigned and F. W. McVay was elected to begin work in September of 1902. During that year, R. E. Horner who later became High School Principal, was elected as High School recrcher. Another ye'ar of Hiq'h School had been added in 1897
and students after that time gradu'Qlted with the three year course. A fourth ye'a'r wos added in
JOE GUZZO, GROCERIES 11 Adams Ave.
UNION GRILL Business Man's Compliments
S. & S. SHOE STORE 57 W. Pike St.
CHAS. RISKA, INSURANCE AGENCY A. H. RISKA, REAL E'STATE
HI - HAT CLEANERS & DYERS 515 Adams Ave.
TOLL GATE SERVICE STATION 517 W. Pike St.
JAMES P. HOUSTON Garden Seed and Supply
SElF - SERVICE LAUNDRY W. Pike St. Ext.
H. B. PAXTON NEWS AGENCY Houston, Pa.
CANONSBURG WOMAN'S CHRISTIAN TEMPERANCE UNION
DR. JOSEPH S. MOORE, JR.
STEEL CORPORA liON
1911 end no closs groduoted duri·ng that year.
In 1911 the passoge af the New School Code mode it advontogeaus for Sauth Cononsburq to' be annexed to' rhe baraugh end the Sauth Canonsburg School, erected in 1901, beccrne-c port of the Canansburg system.
From the time the College Street Scha;;'1 was completed, the· High Schaal classes had been held there, being transferred from the Jeffe·rson College Build i ng. But by 1910 the College Street Schaal became overcrowded and a new High School wcs decided upon. A band issue of $55,000.00 wos carried in that year and after two years of bicke·ring 'about a site it was decided on Jan. 12, 1912 to build a High School annex of eight class roams, ouditorium, and gy'mnasium to the College Street School. The plans were drawn and thecontrod let for a sum of $39,669.00. Violent opposition to the site and plan of the praposed High Schaal developed and it was at this paint that rhe tr usrees of Jefferson Academy came forward with an offer of the Jefferson College graunds as a site for the new High School. The propose! was accepted and new plans drawn, bigger and better. The price WOos also higge·r, ~he firm of Taylor and Crawford, local controctors, being owcrded the jab at $51,576.00.
On Dec. 29, 1913 classes were maved from the College Street Schaal to the New High School and on Jan. 1, a publ'ic dedication wos held in the High Schaal Auditorium. Hlqh Schaal students numbered 144 at that time and the total enrallment of pupils was 1250.
In 1918, 0 change was made in the titles of administrative officers. F. W. McVay, Principal of Schools, was made Supervis.nq Pr'lncipo l 'and R. E. Horner was made High School Principal; and S. P. McWilliams, Third Ward Elementory Principal.
The question of more pupils continued to be urgent and by 1920 called for additianal housing. A bond issue of $90,000.00 wos appraved and pions for an eight room emnex to rhe Third Ward building were prepared. However, the cost exceeded the bond issue 50 the Imatter was tabled tempararily. In 1920 East Canonsburg was onnexed to the bora and Jesse Grubbs was elected Principal of the Eost Oanansburg Schools. In 1921, in occorclonce with the Edmonds Act, Canonsbur·g became a Thlrd Class Dis.trictand F. W. McVay, Supervising Principol, wos pro .. mated to' the position of District Superlnrendent, In this yecr. J. C. Bedillion reploced R. E. Horner es High School Pr lncipcl.
In Febru.::lry of 1922 the Board ocquired the site acrass fram the Third Ward School and commissioned George Brugger cs architect to pre'Pare plans for a·n eight room, one story school, The controct, let to' the Hardy end Rankin Co. amaunted to $43,865.00 with the
CANONSBURG ON YOUR 150TH
137 W. Pike Sf.
BEST WISHES FROM . . .
Capitol Cleaners and Dyers Fortro May tog Service
Di Salle Market
Penner's Hallywaod Super Market John Capozzi
Fro nk Dichak
Morosz Gulf Service
LOYAL ORDER OF MOOSE No. 127
FINEST ORGANIZATION IN THE WORLD
Rear of Central Ave.
WEST PENN HEATING CO.
STAR MARKET, INC. 41 W. PIKE ST.
NOLL NASH MOTORS, Inc. 209 W. Pike St.
MORRIS INSURANCE AGENCY
CONGRATULATIONS TO CANONSBURG ON ITS
86 East Chestnut St.
total cost running over $60,000.00. The new building was opened for use in September, 1923. In that year J. C. Bedillion was reploced as High School Principal by W. Lawrence Fife-.
However, befo're this building wos in use, a site was selected in East Canonsburg for a new 12 room building ori First street. George Brugger was selected to draw the pluns on Jan. 24, 1924, and a bond issue of $90,000.00 was arranged. The contract was awarded to Hardy & Rankin Co. for $76,105. Lighting, heating, etc. brought ,t'he cost to over $100,000.00. Th is building was opened for use in Sept. 1925.
The Board which had borne the brunt of this strenuous building program was mode up of W. J. Reese, Joseph Wilson, Harry Cook, Mrs. George B. Hiles, E. H. BeazeJl, W. J. Holsing and J. S. Woshahaug'h. Of this active group of builders, only Harry Cook now survives.
In 1925 the budget of the Canonsburg Schools was $182,000.00 With a bonded indebtedness of $250,000.00. In that same ye'a'r the Board began looking for a site for a new school in Wes't End where pupil population was 'incre'asing rapidly. It was not until 1927 t-hat the site of the present Hawthorne School was obtained cfrer considerable barga'ining. Plans for this building were drawn -by George Brugger and CI bond issue of $110,000.00 was arranged. The contract was let to CariW. Shimp of Wheeling a't a bid of $93,555. Additional costs brought the cost to $125,000.00. The building was dedicated Oct. 18, 1929.
The next building erede-d was the Home Economics Building in conjunction with the High School. Bids totalling $14,000.00 for the bu:lding complete were accepted and the building was put in use Sept. 1929.
The increased enrollment in the Elementary grades was making i~self feH in the High Scheel and in 1929 plans were drawn to build a 12 room addition to the Co-liege Street School fora Junior High School, The project did not go further en account of the -high costs but by September of 1930 it was evident that increased High School room was imperative. PI-ans for two projects were drown: and Annex and Auditor l urn fer the High Schoo! and a three room addition at the First Ward Elerrrentoty School.
On March 31, 1931, bids were accepted for the High School Annex for $47,800.00 and $10,627 .00 for the three Elernentory rooms, The three Elementary rooms were completed and taken over by the Board in October, 1931. The new Auditorium seating 900 was first used at the Commencement exercises in 1932.
The year 1932 saw the end of building for many ye'Ors. Several recrsons - contributed:
Bonding power was practically exhausted; the Depression was just setting in. Enrollme-nt reached a peak of 3500 in that year and began to decline and has continued to do so 'since that
BLUE STAR POTATO CHIP
and NUT COMPANY
East Pike Street
Phone: Canonsburg 593
CANON LODGE No. 104
KNIGHTS OF PVTHIAS
Instituted March 15, 1902
- - ~
THE SI'TE OF: PENN.A. T,RANSFORMER CO., RADIO CORPORATION OF AMERICA, L. H. SMITH CO.,
NATI.ON.AL METAL PRODUCTS, CANONSBURG METAL CO., PITTSBURGH METAL LITHOGRAPHING CO.
time. The Board which supervised the last two bu.ldiriq projects wcs composed of ·W. J. Reese, Joseph Wilson, Harry Cook, J. W. Black, E. H. Beaze.JJ, Mrs. George Hiles and Mrs. Joseph Heager..
Several changes in odminlstrctive personnel had taken place during the preceding years. C. A. Mathewson, Assistant High School Principal, replaced W. Lawrence Fife as Principal of the High School in 1929. Jesse Grubbs, Principal of First Ward School, was replaced by Earl S. Davidson in 1928. A. Ross Mitchell replaced S. P. McWilliams as Third Ward Principal and C. M. Musser, High Sohool teacher, was promoted to Assistant Principal. K. D. Weirich was made Principal of the new Howthor ne building and r. B. Weaver, former Principal of the Whitelown School was m.ade Principal of the North Central School.
During the next few years some progress wos 'made in enlarging the curriculum. A wood working and Industrial Arts Shop for Elementary and High School students was establishe·d in the Colleqe Street School in 1936. The Boord also considered a five room addition to the first WO'fd School but did not go farther with it. In that year C. M. Musser resigned and Robert J. O'Connell, High School Science te-acher, was made Assistant Principal in April 1938. F. W. McVay resigned after 36 yeo rs of service in Canonsburg 'as Principal, Supervising Principal and Dlstrlct Superintendent. C. A. Mathewson was elected to succeed Mr. McVay and R. J. O'Connell was made High School Principal. M. L. Taggart was elected Assistant Principal.
On June 11, 1940 occurred the death of Dr.
A. L. Runion who had been chief Medical Inspector of the Canonsburg Schools for more than twenty years. Dr. Runion was olso the teacher of Science in the earl ierhistory of the Canonsburg High School. Ten days later, on June 21, occurred the death of F. W. McVay who directed the Canonsburg Schools for 36 years.
In September of 1940 a class in Special Educalion for the mental'lyretarded was inaugurated in the Third Ward School to serve the needs of the whole district. In 1941, by the request of the Protestant and Ccrholic clergy, the Board granted perrnlsslon to release High School students for rei igious ed ucation in their own churches.
On Jan. 8, 1945 with World Wa,r II appa rently over, the National Youth Administration which had erected and conducted a metal working instruct.oncsl shop at Curry Field, conveyed building and equipment to the local school district. The total value was estimated at $25,000. The School District immediately set upa program of shop instruction with a fully certificated te-acher in charge. Since 1945 more
GULf OF MEXICO SPONGE CO.
325 Greenlee Road PITTSBURGH 27, PA.
George Kousoleos, Owner
Chartiers Cinder Block Co.
East Pike St. Ext.
Phone Canonsburg 1269
We invite comp orison. Top quality costs
no more? Specify Chartiers Cinder
ETTER U1LD1NG LOCKS
"BEST BY TEST"
30 Years Experience to Serve You Better
JAY METAL CRAFT CO.
D. COLAIZZO RESTAURANT & BAR
Frank Coloizzo, Manager
STEAKS - SPAGH ETTI - SEA FOODS COCKTAIL LOUNGE
For Reservations Call 9670
15 North Jefferson Avenue
than $15,000 in new and up to date equipment has been added.
On Nov. 24, 1941, the Canonsburg School Beord rook the initial step in previding the town with an adequate foorbcll playing fie,ld. While the Canonsburg High School had fielded a team since 1920, the time had come when they were totally witho'vt a playing field. A tract of seven acres, known as Becks Field, was purchased together with three additional acres adjoining the Denaldson Lumber Company. No building could be carried out during the War years but much filling and grading was done and by 1947 preliminary steps had been completed and the contract was le't for the new Memorial Stadium. The first game was played with Washingten High School on the evening of Sept. 6, T 947. At rhs same time the Canonsburg Memorial Stadium was dedicated to the memory of Canonsburg soldiers who have served in all wars.
Board members who participated in this historic event were Dr. H. S. Pease, Arthur J. Daley, John F. Yaney, J. Benjamin Cowan, Francis Buckley, George Hutchinson, Bernard M. lee.
looking ahead to the construction of a new Senior High School, the Board on Oct. 6, 1947 took possession of the Beedle property which is immediately odjccentto the High School. Owing to the extremely high cost of school construction no further steps have been taken.
In closing th is sketch of Cononsbur q's development in public education over the past century, it may be of interest to outline briefly the present educatienal set-up in our Borough.
The present plant consists of six Elementary schools, Grades 1-8 and a four year High School, Grades 9-12. The enrollment of the grades is 1500; of the High School 725. About 200 of the High School enrollment are nonresident students from Houston and Strabane, so the Boroug h enrollment alone tota Is about
A professional staff of 91 is divided as follows: District Superintendent, Hlqh School Principal, three Elementorv Principals, General Supervisor of Music, Elernenrory Supervisor of Music, Supervisor of Elementary Physical Education, 28 High School reochers, 52 Elementary teachers, Spedal Education teacher, School Nurse, Dental Hygienist. Besides the professional employes the non professional employes include <:.chool Physidan, Dentol exornlner, Assistau School Nurse, Secretary to the Superintendent, Secretary to t,he High School Princlpcrl, Secretary to the School Board, Ma,intenance Overseer, six school custodio ns, Stadium Supervisor and Night Watchman.
The Elementary Schools offer regular course of study for the first eight grades. The High School offers Academic, Commercial, General
I. C. PATSeH & SONS
DODGE ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ - - PLYMOUTH
Com pi irnents
THE OFFICIALS AND EMPLOYEES
RCA VICTOR DIVISION
AND BEST WISHES
BOROUGH OF CANQNSBU RG
ON ITS 150TH ANNIVERSARY
and Hamemaking courses, The opproxlrncte division of High School teachers ac.cording to' courses is: eighteen teachers in Academic ond General instruction, three in Comrnerclcl Education, twa in Vocatiano·1 Homemaking, two in Health and Physical Education, two in Shop and one in Guidance end Counseling.
The value of the Schaal Plant as reported by appra isers is $1,200,000. Replacement vcrlue $1,700,000. Budget for 1952-53, $582,000. Real va·luatian of the District is $27,699,707. Assessed valu-otion, $7,479,100. Tax millage, 1952, 35 mills. Banded inde,btedness, $150,000. Tatal bonded indehtedness possible, $523,537.
Present Baard of Education: President, A. J.
Daley; Vice President, John F. Yaney; Secretary, John W. Black; Fronds Buckley, Gearge Hutchinson, Michael l eson, Robert V. Sulkawski, Michael Kusturiss.
The eady ser+lers came to' this community strongly grounded in the three bulwarks of civilization, the home, the church and t-he school. It has been said that the pioneers to' this western fran tier built a ch urch first and then a school house. However that may be, the churches of C'anansburg were flaurishing more than a quarter af a century before ~he incorporafiion of the bora and have remained an integral part of the community life since. The first public places of warship far Canonsburg people were ,the Chartiers "Hill" Presbyterian Church and the Chartiers United Presbyterian Churc.h or Associate Presbyterian Church as it 'Was then called. Booth were faunded in 1775 and 'held an important place in the early religious and educatianal activities of the community.
The Chartiers "Hill" Presbyte·rian Church faunded by Dr. John McMiHan is located a'bout a mile south of Canonsburg an Route 19. The first building, a log structure, wos followed by a stane buiJdingand the present brick structure was built in 1841. All buildings hove stood on approximotely rhe same location as the present ane. Present pastar is Rev. W. R. McKim who has served the cangregation sin c e 1938. Membership, 340.
The Chartiers United Presbyterian Church, 112 W. Pike street, now in its fourth building, ariginolfy stood on the Oak Spring Cemetery site. The congregotian known in 177 50S rhe secedents or Associate Presbyterian Ch urch, moved fo its present location an W. Pike street in 1869. The church Was dedicated in 1870. Present poster is Rev. John T. Brawnlee who hers served the church since 1948. The present membership is 700.
The Canonsburg United Presbyter"ian Church, 126 Greenside ovenue, also known a's the Greenside Ave. Church, Was orgonized in 1830
: ~; i
~! I ~" 1
Stop at Bard's an Route 19 for MellajCream
"Soft Ice Creom at Its Best"
PITTSBURGH METAL LITHOGRAPHING CO.
They Go Together
1802 - CANONSBURG - 1952
GROWTH - PROGRESS - SUCCESS
s. B. McWREATH DAIRY
Fine Dairy Products Since 1903
WHTE LAWN DAIRY
George Puskarich & Sons
Retail & Wholesale Dairy Products
HOME MADE ICE CREAM - SANDWICHES
Shady Ave. & Pike St.
Phone: Canonsburg 2248
HAMMILL & GILLESPIE, Inc.
IMPORTERS & MANUFACTURERS
New York 7, N.Y.
"CLA YS & MINERALS"
CANONSBURG METAL CO.
and was then known as the Speers Spring cangregatian. The church was ariginally on the site of the Speers Spring Cemetery near Weavertawn. The congregation moved to' its .present lacatian on Greenside avenue in 1886. Present membership numbers 630. Rev. H. Ross Hume has served as pas tar since 1923.
The Euclid Ave. United Presbyterian Chapel, 430 Euclid avenue, eriginally began as a Sabbath School in East Canansburg, was built and dedicated in 1918 by the Canansburg United Presbyterian Church. Be,fore 1918 it was [0' cated in the Cecil Township School Building at the corner of Franklin and Perry Como streets. Volunteer warkers from the C'anonsburg United Presbyterian Church carried on the wark in the early years but since the building of the Chapel, a missionary has been employed by the Church. For the past twenty-five yea rs, Mrs. Joseph Heagen has directed the work af the Chapel. Present membership numbers 114.
The First Presbyterian Church, 121 North Central avenue, was org'anized Oct. 23, 1830. The or iqi no l membership of 79 included a considerable nuruber who had been mernber s of the Hill Presbyterian Church. Their place of worship was the Chapel of the newly completed Providence Hall and the pastors were the Presidents of Jefferson College. This arrangement continued until 1888 when the cangregation moved to the Coliseum,an ente'rtainment hall an the site of the Donaldson Supply Co. In June 1890 the present building an North Central avenue was completed. The church at present is without a pastor since the resig nation of Rev. Willia'm Wallace Morgan who served from 1944 to 1952. Present membership is 620.
The Alexonder Chapel Mission was organized in 1896 at Stra·bane under rhe spansorship of the First Presbyterian Church of Canonsburg. First known as the Shupetown Missian, the first meetings were held in a miner's horne. From 1910 to 1927 the Mission occupied two rooms of the Strahane School, Since 1928 the Mission has been located at the Chapel an Latimer avenue. Sixty-five members are enrol'led in the Missian and since 1950 it has been under the directian of Mrs. Edna Jocobsvoctinq mi5sian~ry.
The First Methadist Ch ur ch first held services in the Town HaH in 1845 with a Jefferson College student J. C. Pershing as poster. In 1847 a brick church was built on Greenside avenue where services were held u ntil 1888 when the congregation dedicated the prese·nt church structure at the corner of Pike & Iron streets. Present poster Rev. Chester A. Clark. The present membership of the church is 627.
St. Patrick Roman Cathalic Church, 216 Greenside avenue, began its first services in Canansburg in 1887. At first, services were held at intervals of a month in the Kerr building, naw
KEYSTONE GAS CO.
ALTMAN'S CASH FEED STORE
"There Is A Stare Near You"
- Home of -
SUPER "A" FEEDS
I I ' I i
WE ARE PRIVILEGED TO PARTICIPATE IN YOUR COMMUNITY CELEBRATION OF ITS 150TH BIRTHDAY
OUf Best Wishes, Also, To Our Good Friends THE CANONSBURG POTTERY CO.
THE W. S. GEORGE POTTERY CO.
CERAMIC SUPPLY CO.
DIVISION OF FERRO CORPORATION
CROOKSVILLE, OHIO WORLD'S LARGEST MANUFACTURERS OF SPECIAL CERAMIC KILN FURNITURE
Greetings and Congratulations to the Citizens of Canonsburg on Your
GIANT EAGLE MARKET
THE HARRIS CLAY COMPANY
Dillsboro, N. C.
Spruce Pine, N. C.
JOHN W. HOUGHLAND
The Best Investment on Earth Is the \Earth Itself
IT IS BETTER TO BE SAFE THAN SORRY
Walter McClelland, Jr., Salesman Phone 598-J
141 N. Central Ave.
tlhe First Nctionol Bank Building. In 1891 the old Methodist Episcopal Church building on Greenside on fhe present church site was 'Purchased and remodeled for Catholic use. In 1906 the present church was erected and dedicated in 1907. Recently property at the corner of Hutchinson & Pike streets vhos been purchased for '0 church site and plans for a new church and school have been drawn. Present membership embraces 3624 which includes 830 families. Rev. J. Edward Istocin who served the church from T 932-1952 has been replaced recently by Rev. Paul J. Simko, who is assisted by Rev. Anthony G. Bosco.
St. Genevieve Rdman Catholic congregation was organized in September 1917 during which year the present church was built. The· Sisters Convent was purchased in 1922 'and the present Rectory in 1944. The Church maintains a parochial school coverlnq the elementary grades 1-8. St. Genevieve congregation numbers 1300 and Rev. E. R. Szelonq, the present pastor, has served the church since 1941.
St. Michael's Catholic Church, 166 East College street, is now in its third building since its organization in 1910. The first church was erected in East Canonsburg and the conqreqction worshipped there until 1925. In that year it was decided to sell the property in East Ca nonsburg and build a new church on Eost College street. The church, a basement structure, was completed with plans 'for a super structure to be added later. However, in 1948 when the congregation was a'gain ready to build the idea of a superstructure was a1bandoned and plans drawn for a wholly new building. Ground for the imposlnq new structure was broken on Feb. 20, 1949 and the church dedicated on Sunday, June 11, 1950. The congregation now numbers over 1000. Rev. Vladimir Firczak, the present pastor, has served the church ·since· 1947.
The First Baptist Congreg.ationbegan with cottage prayer meetings in 1906. A church organization was effected during thot year, the congregation meeting in McNary's Hall. On May 31, 1908, the church building at 216 N. Jeffe'rson avenue was dedicated. In 1949 the church expanded its plant by purchostnq the J. E. Little property on N. Centrcl avenue & Pitt street as a Christian Education Center. Present membership of the church is 257. Rev. John E. Fosnight has served as pastor of the church since 1944.
The Central Presbyterian Church, 110 Belmont avenue, was founded from seventy or more members of the Presbyterian Church who did not choose to leave their College Chapel home in 1889. The group Founded a separate congregation and continued to worship in the Chapel until 1922 when the present church on Belmont avenue was dedicated. The present membership numbers 143. Rev. J. A. H. Mclean
SLOVENIAN SAVINGS & LOAN ASSOCIATION
OF CANONSBURG, PA.
Seven Latimer Avenue - Strabone, Pa.
Fish & Hot Sausage Our Specialty
BILL & EVE AUBREY, Props.
184 East Pike St.
M. J. MARTORANA
PONTIAC SALES & SERVICE
• • •
Congratulations and Best Wishes
HANOVIA CHEMICAL and MANUFACTURING CO.
has served as pastor of the church since 1948.
St. Thomas Episcopal Church at 137 N. Jefferson avenue, dates its origin from 1866 although its present church edifice was not built until 1901. For a time the congregation worshipped in various halls with stated supply postors. In 19011he present church wos ereded at the present location- Present melmbership is 110. Rev, Ward Smith has served the congregation as Rector since 1945.
The Houston United Presbyterian Church was founded Oct. 9, 1888, with an original membership of 91. The mernbershlp now numbers 904. Services were first 'held in the Town Hall but on May 4, 1894 the present church building at the corner of Main and Grant streets was dedicated. Dr. E. V. Condron has served as pastor of the church since 1946.
The First Methodist Episcopal Churc:h of Houston, 213 E. Pike street, was formerly a part of the Canonsburg congregation. The Houston organization was effected on Aug. 19, 1894, meeting in the Town Ha,11 until 1897. At that time through the generosity of W. B. Houston, the congregation came into possession of two lots where the Church and parsonage now stand. The present church building was dedicated in Oct. 1897. The present membership is 175. Rev. A. H. Sarrio, the pastor, has served the congregation since the May 1952 conference.
St. john the Baptist Russian Orthodox Greek Catholic at 201 Vine street was founded in january 1918. Since that time the church has grown from a membership of 21 families to the present number of 522 families. The original congregation 'met in Miner's He'll for seven months, then moved to the present building on Vine street. Since 1948, Rev. Nicholes Fe,detz has served the church as its pastor.
The South Ca nonsburg Ch urch locored at 12
S. Central avenue, was founded Mare;,h 9, 1924, in a building across the street from the present Church. In August 1924, Rev. Ralph Kemper became pastor of the congregation and has served since that time. Since 1933, Rev. Kemper has been assisted by his wife, Evelyn H. Kemper, also an ordained minister. The present membership is 150.
St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church, 210
N. jefferson avenue, was organized on Sept. 22, 1897. The congregation for a time met at Carter's Hall and later on Smith street with supply pastors cond ucting services. The present church on N. jefferson avenue was dedicated on Nov. 8, 1914. The congregation numbers 245, Rev. F. S. Eberle, present pastor, has served the congregation since 1918.
The First Christian Church, 136 N. jefferson avenue, was dedicated in Feb. 1924. Prior to that time the congregation, first meeting in
HILES LEATHER GOODS
Charles R. Hiles
25 EAST PIKE STREET
Congratulations to the Boro of Canonsburg On Their 150th Anniversary
ST. JEROMES LODGE No. 153 K_ S. K. J.
Corne and celebrate the Sesqui-centennial at the PIONEER PARK in STRABANE on SAT., August 16. Dance to the music of GLENN
8 P. M. to ?
ACME MACHINE CO.
TOOLS - DIES - MACHINE WORK
CANONSBURG FLOORING COMPANY
57 Murdock St.
FLOOR AND WALL COVERING CONTRACTORS
Call 2294 For Free Estimates
CANON FOOD LOCKER SERVICE
"COMPLETE FOOD PROCESSING" lockers - Bulk Storage - Packaging Materials - Meats - Groceries - Frozen Foods - Poultry - Fish.
317h South Central Ave.
Co nonsburg, Po.
CANONSBURG ELECTRICAL APPLIANCE COMPANY ElECTRICAL APPLIANCES
26 N. Jefferson Ave.
Ernest P. Borrelli, Prop.
CANONSBURG THRIFT CO.
22 North Central Ave.
VAN EMAN BROS.
GENERAL HARDWARE AND HOUSE FURNISHINGS
Bell Phone 9
58 W. Pike St.
FALCO /1 Johnny" DE JOHN
SERVICE STATION & REPAIR SHOP
416 Highland Ave.
FINEST BEVERAGES & SEA. FOODS AT POPULAR PRICES
Paul and John Poporich, Props. OUR MOTTO; Courtesy & Service Phone 9674
MAMRACK PHOTO OFFICIAL SESQUI PHOTOGRAPHER
7 Richie Diamond
KOCH PLUMBING & HEATING
40 - 52 Water St.
homes of members crbour 1918, occupied larger quarters in various halls, including the Graff Building, McNary Building and K of P Hall. The present church membership numbers 115 and the pastor, Rev. Lawrence C. Hay, has served the congregation since May 1951.
The Mount Olive Baptist Church, 130 Vine street, was organized about 1902. For some years worship was conducted in several different. locations including the frame school building at the reor of the N. Central School property. In 1908 the present building was erected on Vine street and dedicated the same year. Present pastor is Rev. Warren A. Mason who has served the church since 1933. Church membership is 150.
The Payne A.M.E. Church, one of the oldest congregations of the town, flrst met in 1833 in private homes in the neighborhood of Morganza. In 1855 a brick church was built in Canonsburg at 23 Payne Place which was used until the present larger structure was dedicated in May 1903. The present pastor is Rev. S. M. Cooper who has served this church since Nov. 1950. Present membership 190.
The Tree of Life Synagogue, 120 Ashlond avenue, was Founded in June 1915. Prior to that time beginning in 1910, religious services for members of the Jewish faith were held in the McNary building. The pr eserit edifice, remodeled in 1927, includes 011 modern facilities for youth instruction as well as room for social activities. The congregation numbers 28. At the present firne the Synagogue has no regular Rabbi in charge.
The Houston Church o,f God locoted at 115 Main street, Houston, Was founded in 1926 with four charter members. Service was first held at McGovern with Elder R. L. 'White as pastor until 1937. The membership of the church numbers 27. Rev. R. L. White a'gain serves as pcrstor of fhe church returning here in 1943.
Center Presbyterian Church, one of the older congregations of this rural area, was founded in 1828. From an original membership of 128, the congregation has grown to 578. The present pastor is Rev. Joseph H. Rodgers who has served the church since 1951.
The Glad Tidings Tabernacle of the Asserrsbly of God Church founded May 9, 1943, is located at 132 N. Jefferson avenue. Rev. Robert H. Shipp has been pastor of the conqreqofion since its foundorlon. The membership now numbers 50 and property has been purchased at 316 S. Central avenue for a new church and parsonage.
The Sacred Heort of Jesus Polish Nationol Catholic Church located at 177 E. Colleqa street, was founded in Sept. 1918. The first meeting ploce was in the Polish Falcons Hall and the present church was first occupied in 1919. One
GEORGE T. LOUTSION
W. C. BLACK AGENCY
REALTORS - INSURANCE
27 East Pike Street
CANONSBURG FURNITURE & SALVAGE COMPANY
DEALERS IN NEW AND SALVAGE MERCHANDISE Self-Service Groceries - Floor Coverings - Washers Toys - Paints
BUILDERS OF CUSTOM BUILT KITCHENS
Owned and Operated By
hundred-forty families and seventy-five single parishioners make up the present membership of the church. Rev. R. Ostrowski is the present pastor.
The Church of God in Christ located at 612 Euclid avenue was organized in March 1941. The first meeting place was in Miner's Hall, Adams avenue. The present membership is fifteen and John Williams is Presiding Elder of the congregation.
The Italian Chrlstion Church located at 37 Payne Place was estcrbllshed in 1926 and has grown to a conqreqorion of 150. Rev. D. Giammarco, the present pastor, has served the church since 1935.
The Russian Evangelical Christian Church located at 15 Elm street, was founded here June 15, 1924. The membership of the church numbers 29 and since 1951 Rev. F. Labya has served as pastor.
Until 1870 the life of Canonsburg had been pretty much that of any college town with a long heritage of higher learning. Industries had been few. John Canon's flour mill built in 1781 was the flrstand because it ran for a long time, special mention is made of its history.
Canonsburg Milling Company
The Canonsburg Milling Company represents the oldest industry in Canonsburg. Its history shows an uninterrupted period of service since it was built by John Canon in 1781. The mill remained in the Canon family until 1801. from then until 1891 the mill changed hands 16 tlmes, the Rev. Matthew Brown, President of Jefferson 'College having his fling at milling about 1843. In 1891 Robbins Bamford and McBurney took over the mill which was run until 1901 as the Canonsburg Roller Mills. In 1901 the m ill was faken over by the McBurney interests and operated by them until 1942 when the Central Soya Company of Fort Wayne, Ind. ossumed ownership and have conducted the business since then. J. B. Pritts is the present general manager of the Milling Company.
A sawmill at Morganza was probably the second industry in this or eo and ran to about 1801. A boot and shoe factory in 1833 and a chair and spring wheel factory at the same period followed by a tannery in 1840 about sums up Canonsburg's first half century of industrial progress.
The Chartiers Woolen Factory which emplayed 11 men and ran from 1866 to 1887 was a more substantial gesture but it wos not until after the completionof the Chartiers Valley Railroad from Pitts:burgh to Canonsburg in 1870·71 that signs of an industrial awakening
BORCHERT/S DRESS SHOPPE
FINEST FEMININE FASHIONS IN CANONSBURG
GOOD FOOD LIQUOR - WINE - BEER SEA FOODS
28 East Pike St.
HINTON & GRIFFITH
Geo. A. Hinton - Leonard Griffith
164 W. Pike SI.
H·M CONSTRUCTION COMPANY
PARTNERS: Wm. J. Holt, M. Butler Holt, Alice W. McPeake
27 West Water St.
CANONSBURG SECE.DES FROM UNION
MERCHANTS CONTRIBUTING TO QUEEN'S CONTESTANT
CanonsburgPoHery Turks Jewelry Store Zel't's Beauty Shoppe McCrory's Store Meyers Jewelry Store
Jeffry's Drug Store Fischer's Jewelry Store Model Shop
Rosner's Dress Shop Betty Lee Shop
Taylor's Drug Store Bo'rcher't's 'Dress Stor,e, Pollock Show Store HUdegard
present site of the Canonsburg Memorial Stcwere apparent. In 1374 the Canonsburg lee Company went into business in a substantial way. A large pond was constructed on the dium anda long row of ice houses -wos erected along the railroad. An adverti'";ement by Samuel Munnell appearing in 1877 offered "2000 tons of purest ice delivered at any point on the railroad." This industry continued for more than 40 years.
Canonsburg Iron and Steel Company
In 1882, the Canonsburg Rolling Mill which later become the Canonsburg Iron and Steel Company, loca·ted here. The cdvo ntoqe of a good site on the Chartiers Valley Railroad with an ample coal supply close at hand plus a generous cash inducement of $50,000 dosed the deal and from that moment Canonsburg entered upon its Industrial Revolution. The Rolling Mill which employed several hundred men ran with few interruptions unti I 1931, when the continuous strip mill with its fast economlcc! operation made obsolete the old rolling mill equipment. The stamping depar~mentof the mill, specializing in the manufacture of corrugated roofing and many other types of stamped metal ware continued until about 1943.
At that time the National Can Corporation iook over lhe building of the Canonsburg Iron and Steel Company for the production of Navy shells. This plant opened in T 942 and reached a peok employment of 700. During the three year period following the plont changed hands several tirnes but in 1945 along wi+h many other wo., industries it dosed its doors.
Forbes Steel Company
The Forbes Steel Company which took over the plant formerly operated by the Canonsburg Iron & Steel Company, began operation in 1946. This company specializes in the manufacture of welded wire fabric, reinforcing mesh and fiat steel washers. The plant normally gives employment to 90 persons. President of the firm, M. W. Singer. Vice President, Ernest Kehrer.
Fort Pitt Bridge Works
The Fort Pitt Bridge Works is one of the largest industries of the County as well as one of the oldest, being organized in 1896. While its main output over the years has been structural stee·l for bridges and buildings, it has diversified its product to cover the monufocturing of heavy steel tubing, ship plates, steel reinforcing materials and many other products, applicable to the war effort. The plant covers twenty five acres and elmploys normally 700 men with an annual output of approximately 40,000 tons. In recent years the Fort Pitt products have found markets in every part of the world. James M. Straub, President, and T. A. Straub, Vice President, both reared in Canons-
JEFFREYS1 DRUG STORE
66 West Pike St.
B. & F. MOTOR COMPANY
(Bill & Frank Tomsic)
SALES & SERVICE
SPECIALIZING IN FINE FOODS
DINNERS - PARTIES - RECEPTIONS WEDDINGS - SUND,A Y DINNERS
235 W. Pike Sf.
, I 1
PENNSYLVANIA GLASS SAND CORP.
PENNSYLVANIA PULVERIZING CO.
PRODUCERS OF HIGHEST QUALITY SILICA PRODUCTS SINCE 1868
GENERAL SALES OFFICE
GATEWAY CENTER, PITTSBURGH 22, PA.
UNDERGLAZE COLORS OVERGLAZZE COLORS
POTTERY PRINTING TISSUE MOULDMAKERS SOFT SOAP DECORATING SUPPLIES
B. F. Drakenfeld & CO., Inc.
45-47 Park Place, New York 7, New York FACTORIES AND LABORATORIES - WASHINGTON, PENNSYLVANIA
burg, head the organization with E. H. Millard, Works Manager.
The Canonsburg Pottery
The Canonsburg Pottery, one of the older organizations of the County, was instituted in 1900. The plant, specializing in semi vitro us dinner ware, employs approximately 350 individuals, a considerable percent-age being women. The output of the Pottery runs approximately twelve million pieces and the pottery finds market in almost every part of the world. The Canonsburg Pottery is now entering upon its third generation of management by members of the George family. The first President, John George, was succeeded by his son, W. C. George who died in july 1948. At that time, his oldest son, John George, became President and his second son, William George, became Vice President. Ernst Haberlander, is plant superintend-
W. S. George Pottery Company
The W. S. George Pottery located in the western end of town began in Canonsburg on April 19, 1911. This pottery, specializing in semi-vitrous colored dinner ware, currently employs 280 persons. Home offices of the local plant are in East Palestine, Ohio, where two other branches of the same company ore in operation. W. B. Kent is general monager of the Canonsburg branch; Frank Bedillion, Plant Superintendent.
In 1941 following the closing of the Standard Tin Plate Co, t'he Federal Government through the inducement of a local industrial committee consented to establish an aluminum forging plant in Canonsburg on the site of the former Standard Tin Plote Company. fhis plant, constructed by the Aluminum Company of America was primarily a wor production plant and cost in the neighborhood of $27,000,000. The plant erected on the 92 acre lot in East Canonsburg began operations in 1942. Designed to produce aluminum drop forgings of clrnost any type, the plant was never used to a fraction of its capacity. Built to employ a maximum of 6,000 workers, its top payroll never reached more than 1300. The plant was a war cosualty in 1945.
Standard Tin Plate
For 38 years, from 1903 to 1941, the Sta ndard Tinplate Company of East Canonsburg formed one of the big employment centers of the community. For the most of this period, it W05 a subsidiary of rhe -Continental Can Company and as indicated by its name the Cornpony speclolized in the rolling of steel into tinplote to be used in the manufacture of tin cans ond other types of sheet metal ware. At its peak twenty or more rolling mills were in operotion, each with its crew of nine men and
STANDARD AUTO PARTS
301 EAST COLLEGE 5T.
Isadore Toder, Prop.
103 Adams Ave.
LIQUOR & B6ER AT POPULAR PRICES
Agatino Distefano, Prop.
35 YEARS OF EXPERIENCE
J. w. NEELY & SON
PLUMBING AND HEATING
CALL FOR AN ESTIMATE
115 S. jefferson
CONTINENT AL TRANSPORTATION LINES, Inc.
1813-33 N. Franklin Sf.
Palm Brothers Decalcomania Company
the terms "roller," "rougher," "catcher," 'shearer," "doubler,' "heater," were synonymous with highly skilled and well paid workmen. The plant worked on a three shift basis and offered employment to more than 2000 individuals. In aH its 38 years of operation the longest shutdown Was for a period of six weeks during the Depression. During the Depression period, the Standard Tinplate was one of two industries in Pennsylvania that was able to maintain steody employment. In 1940 the plant was purchosed by the Corneqle Illinois Steel Corporotion ond operated for a year or so longer. However, the continuous strip mill process of producing tinplate made the equipment of the local plant obsolete and in 1941 the mill closed its door">.
Continental Can Company
The Continental Can Company Plant No.3, now passed into history, was estobllshed here in 1910. Along with the Standard Tin Plate Company established in 1903 which passed from the scene in 1941, it formed the major center of employment in East Canonsburg for more than two score of years. The Continenrol Can Co. first specio llzed in the m:anufacture of cans of various types but in later years made can ends and covers for other assembling plants. After the sale of the plant to the Carnegie Illinois Corporation in 1941,0 lacquering department and ovens were added and lacquer plate was produced for the local plont as well as for consumption by other plants. The Canonsburg branch of the Continental Can Company grew from a two room building to a seven room plant with over 400 employes. John McKee served as Plant Manage·r of the company for more than thirty years. This plant closed its doors in 1951.
Pennsylvania Transformer Company
The Pennsylvania Transformer Company, one of the largest industries to enter Canonsburg came to this community in September 1946. Its entrance into the industria1 pieture of Canonsburg marked a significant victory for the Canonsburg Industrial Committee, in their untiring efforts to bring more ind ustr ies to rhe vacated Alcoa Plant in East Canonsburg. The Transformer Company at first leased a limited pert of the plant but in November 1949 purchased the entire site reserving the major portion of floor space for its own expansion and renting the remaining space to six other concerns of lesser size, The Tr onsforrner plant normaHy gives employment to 1200 or more workers. The Company specializes in the m'onufocture of distribution and power transformers and step voltage requlotors. Willia'm E. Kerr is president and general manager of the Company. In February of 1952 the Transformer Co. merged with the McGraw Electric Company of Elgin, Illinois. Wijh the completion of the merger the
DRY GOODS STORE
A GOOD PLACE TO SHOP FOR
Servicing the Community for Nearly Half a Century
POLLOCK'S SHOE STORE
A QUALITY FAMILY SHOE STORE
"Through the Yeors"
BOSTONIANS - VITALITY - PLAY-POISE
4 East Pike Street
Gee. M. Challener Agency
"BETTER BE SAFE THAN BE SORRY"
INSURANCE - REAL ESTATE . RENTALS
Office Phone 534 - Residence Phone 77
120 NORTH CENTRAL AVEN UIE
YENK 0 CHEVROLET
local f,..'m became a port of one of the largest electric:al industries in the country.
R. C. A.
The local branch of the R. C. A. Vidor Company became a port of the Canonsburg Industrial picture in January 1947 when it took over a substantial portion of the former Alcoa plant. During its first years in Canonsburg the plant was devoted exc:lusively to the making o·f recards but in 1949 additional space was acquired and on Sept. 1 assembly lines for the manufacture of radios and radio phonographs were instal.led. Plant space for the allied industries covers more than .200,000 square feet, and a toto] of more than 600 men and women ere normally employed in the combined plant. Officials of the R. C. A. Victor Plant include Frank E. Stouffer, Plant Manager of the Radio Department; Fronk R. Buchanan,. Jr., Plant Manag.er of the Record Division.
Ca.nonsburg Metal Polishing Company
The Canon.sburg Metal Polishing Company employs some 40 individuals, is one of the smaller firms occupying space in the Pennsylvania Transformer site, caming here in 19471 They specialize in the polishing of stainless steet sheets. Superintendent of the plant is C. .F. Moriarty.
Nation.a,1 Metal. Products ,Company
The National Metal Products Company, specializing in the manufacture of metal trim, screen and other fabrications, came to Canonsburg in 1947 and occupies space in the Transformer holdings. This c:ompany employs normally 25 to 30 persons and occupies a floor spcce of 24,.000 square feet. William N. Scaife, Jr., is general superintendent of the pl.ant which has home offices in Pittsburgh.
L. H. Smith ce., Inc.
One of the smaller sites in the Pennsylvania Transformer Company's holdings is occupied by the L. H. Smith Co., Inc. which come to the Canonsburg, area, in 1947 ... The firm is a wholesale hardware concern and handles a c:omplete line of hardware supplies. The business requires 75,000 feet of floor space and the company deals principally in shipments to retailers throughout the area. The normal employment of the firm is 65 persons. Howard DeWalt is President of the firm.
The Vitro Chemical Works has been a port of the Canonsburg Industrial picture since 1909. 'In its e orlier history it was known as the Standard Chemical Co. and hod the distinction of being the leading producer of radium in the United States. When Madam Curie, fa·med as the d iscoverer of radiu m, visited the United States in 192 l , she was presented by the people with a gram of rcdlurn worth over $100,000 in recognition of her outstanding achievement
"SPORTSMEN'S HAVEN" RESTAURANT AND BAR
The Best in Foods At All Tjmes
28 N. Central Ave.
Diamonds - Watches - Clocks - Gifts and Jewelry of Distinction
30 WEST PIKE STREET CANONSBURG, PA
HOME DRESSED MEATS CHOICE GROCERIES
600 Highland Ave.
WHOLESALE & RETAIL DAIRY
R. D. 1
THOM:AS H. REESE
FARM BUREAU INSURANCE COMPANIES
29 W. Pike St.
AMERICA:N BRAKE SHOE COMPANY
CANONSBURG LODGE No. 846 B. P. O. ELKS
WILLIAM F. WILSON, Exalted Ruler
CHARLES E. JONES, Secretory
Phone: Canonsburg 1126
R. A. HAMILTON MOTOR CO.
DE SOTO - PLYMOUTH
West Pike Street Extension
R. A. Hamilton, Owner Canonsburg, Pa .
in Science. The presentation was made at Washington by President Harding on May 20, 1921. On May 27, 1921 Madam Curie visited the Canonsburg Plant where the radium had been produced and viewed the va·rious processes involved in reflninq it from the raw ore. The Vitro Manufacturing Co. acquired the plant in 1929 and specialized in the production of Uranium and also produced many of the coloring materials that go into the manufacture of beautiful glassware. During World War II and since, the Vitro Plant has specialized in products which are a part of the National De-fense pro· gram. The plant normally gives employment to 80 persons. H. Fleck is Plant Manager and M. T. Dunlevy is Superintendent.
Blue Star Potato Chip. and Nut Company One of the strictly local firms, born and
raised in the Canonsburg area, is the Blue Star . Potato Chip and Nut Company of Houston, Pa. This firm began business in 1935. Occupying a floor space of 15,000 square feet, the plant processes in a year the enormous total of 2,600,000 pounds of raw potatoes. This amount represents over 700,000 'Pounds of potato chips. In addition to potato chips the company handles large quantities of nuts and popcorn products, all of which touch the lives of thousands of individuals in +his area. The company employs norm!ally 28 persons. The business is owned and operated by P. W. Keeler.
Pittsburgh Metal Lithographing Company
The Pittsburgh Metal lithographing Company, occupying 25,000 square feet of the Transformer area, became a part of the Canonsburg Industrial picture in 1949. Specializing in the process of lacquering and lithographing tin plate used in making toys, tinware and metal containers, the company normally ernploys 30 men: The President and Choirmon of the Board is W. S. Kammerer.
The Brake Shoe and Casting Division of The American Brake Shoe Cdmpany, operating in the Me'odowlands area, came into the local industrial picture in 1947. This modern plant resembling a High School more than a factory, turns out a total of 18,000 to 20,000 tons of metal products annually. Principal output o·f the plant is brake shoes for railroad cars and locomotives although a more diversified line of steel products is also included. Many of the 150 Brake Shoe employes reside in Cano-nsburg. Officials include President M. N. Tranier; H. A. Dean is Plant Superi ntendent.
TRANSPORTATION Pittsburgh Turnpike
As long as John Canon lived his dream of a road from his mill to Pittsburgh remained only a dream. However, twenty years after his
We Cater to
WEDDING PARTIES & BANQUETS
Adams & 2nd St.
GEORGE W. BRUGGER
First National Bank Building
INSURANCE IN ALL ITS BRANCHES SINCE 1915
MEN'S CLOTHING AND FURNISHINGS
THE HOME OF NATIONALLY ADVERTISED
Botany 500 Alpagora Paris
Don Richards Fashion Club Brentwood
JOIN OUR PENNSYLVANIA PLAN
An easy way to accumulate cash for your next Suit, Coat or Furnishings
36 W. Pike St. Save While Shoppin~
FORMAL WEAR RENTED
Where Canonsburgers Love
SHARRICK SNACK BAR
FOR LIGHT LUNCH & FOUNTAIN SPECIALS
CIANELLI SUPPLY COMPANY
LUMBER - MILLWORK - BUILDERSJ SUPPLIES GLASS - HARDWARE - PLUMBING AND ELECTRICAL SUPPLIES
OUR SPECIALTY - PRE-CUT HOMES
Phone 2700 - 2701
GREAT ATLANTIC & PACIFIC
death which occurred in 1798, the dream began fa take shape. On March 25, 1817 a stock company was incorporated and a route for g., turnpike was surveyed. By 1822 ten miles of the famous Pittsburgh Pike had been completed and by 1827 it had reached a point near Merganza. Bythe middle forties the road had been completed to Washington and was operating +hrouq hout its length as a toll road. The turnpike and the stage cooch had opened up a marvelous mode of egress to the other world. By modern standards the road would be considerably less than the cvercrqe country back road today but at ,that time it was a marve,lous piece, of road making. Much has been written of the picturesque stage coach and six horse teams o,f the turnpike period. However, the completion of the Chartiers Valley Railroad in 1871 put the road out of business as a toll road and it was not long until the. various sections of the road were turned back to the townships of which they were a part.
Chartiers Valley Railroad
As early as' 1831 a right of way for a rallroad had been surveyed from Pittsburgh to Washington. This places the loc61 rollrood among the very first railway lines to be' projected in this part of the country. However, it was 1853 before the Chartiers Valley Railroad Company was chartered to take up the matter actively. Stock was sold and the work begun and a considerable amount of grading had been done in the vlcinlty ofCononsburq, The Company then failed for lack of copltoi. In the late sixties the Pennsylvania Company acquired .the assets of rhe defunct company, reorqonlzed it, sold more stock to the amount of $250,000 and on Dec. 15, 1870, the first train rolled into Canonsburg. A year later the rocd was finished to Washington. Coal mines and steel industries followed the completion of the railroad bringing to Canonsburg one of its greatest boom periods. At one time nine passenger trains each way was the regular schedule.
On Feb. 15, 1909 the Chartiers Volley Railroad encountered other competition in its monopoly on passenger traffic. In that year the Pittsburgh Railways began interurbon trolley service to Washington and this resulted in 0 decline in travel on the steam railway. With the coming of the automobile 'and bus service both local forms of roil trovel have diminished to a point where the two passenger trains now operating wlllrnore than likely be discontinued during the current year and electric railway service· will also disappear from this local picture in the near future. When we consider that such
CANONSBURG DISTRIBUTING COMPANY
"House of Courtesy & Service"
Importing Distributors of
BUDWEISER & MICHELOB
Phone 341 - 342
12 Murdock St.
Office 1136 Res. 88J-R
S. P. LlGHTHOLDER
104 North Central Avenue
CANONSBU RG, PA.
Road Building - Storm & Sanitary Sewers Home Site Developments Experienced Design,
Layout and Construction
convenient and eHieient methods of travel are being crowded aside for still greater marvels of speedy transportation, we have indeed come a long way from John Canon and John McMillan and their faithful saddle horses.
There is no record of a bank in the early history of Canonsburg. Doubtless there were men of means who did a form of "hip pocket" banking in the Borough but probably formal banking was carried on in Washington where a branch of the bank of Phllodelphlo was established as early as 1809. The name of Craig Ritchie, a prominent business man of Canonsbu r9, appears on the Board of Directors of that bank.
The first banking institution in Canonsburg was lncorporoted in 1855 when the Legislature approved the establishment of the Canonsburg Saving Funds Society with a capital of $50,000. This ran until 1865. The Farmers Bank of Deposit was organized March 1865. This ran until 1880 when it dosed and 'Was succeeded by the Canonsburg Savings Bonk. In 1882, this closed and its business was transferred to the Canonsburg Bank Limited. This bank continued until 1891 when it was reorganized under the National Banking Laws as The First National Bank of Canonsburg, under which nome it has continued to the present time. Present officers include Park Rankin, President; W. W. Murray, Chairman of the Board; Geo. D. McNutt, President Emeritus; C. H. Jacobs, Vice President; Roy Clyde, Cashier.
The Citizens Trust Company was organized June 24, 1891 under the name of the Citizens Bank Limited. In 1901 it was reorganized into a Trust Company under the name of the Citizens Trust Company of Canonsburg. First located on West Pike street, formerly the Matthews property and now the location of the Turk Jewelry Co., the business 'Was moved to the present location in 1904 where a new building had been erected. Business has continued at this location since that time. Officers include E. Q. Johnson, President; Brad R. Williams, Vice President and Secretary; Treasurer, JamesW. Morgan; Trust Officer, John W. Black; Chcrirrnc n of the Board, G. J. Hanna.
A recent announcement predicts an entire reorganization of the Citizens Trust Company in the near future.
The first paper to be published in Canonsburg was the Luminary whose first issue appeared in 1833 with Willia1m Appleton as editor.
This paper published semi-monthly was too infrequent for value as a local hews dispenser and leaned more in the direction of a literary magazine. At the end of six months the paper, overtaken by financial troubles, closed its career.
In 1852 William J. Hammill, a student of Jefferson College, began the publication of a paper called the "Student Enterprise." Its content seems to have been devoted to detailing college faculty and le·ft school after the Enterprise had run less than a year.
On Aug. 23, 1872, appeared the first edition ~f the Canonsburg Herald, a weekly paper Issued by T. M. Potts and Aaron Miller, local job printers. This was a successful venture and the paper ran until 1906 when publication was suspended. During 1 903 and 1904, the Herald was also published as a daily paper.
an Aug. 7, 1875, was published the first edition of a small weekly paper known as [-..Iotes by F.P., the latter initials standing for Fulton Phillips, the editor of the sheet. This paper was the fore-runner of the present Ca nonsburg Daily Notes.
In 1882 Fulton Phillips sold the Rural Notes to D. H. Fee, H. S. Phillips and W. H. S. Ritchie. A yeor later Mr. Fee became sole proprietor and editor and in 1892 his brother, Wm. H. Fee, became associated with the firm. The Notes was first issued as a daily in 1894 and since that time has been published as The Daily Notes. Following the death of D. H. Fee in 1929 the Daily Notes was purchased by John 8. Stewart, publisher of the Washington Observer and Reporter. In 1934 it was sold to its present ownership, R. H. Robinson of Monongahela. The publication plant hos had several homes since its inauguration as a daily and since 1937 has been located at the Notes Building at 23 North Central avenue. George A. Anderson, present editor, has headed the editorial staff of The Daily Notes since early in 1930.
The Canonsburg Library Association was first organized in 1879. It inherited from the library of the Olome Institute for Girls a substantial number of books and by 1885 p·ossessed something like 1200 volumes. Miss Rachel Douds was librarian. The library since that firne has been housed in various places including the Martin Bldg., the Gowern Bldg., and the Graff Bldg.
In 1924 through the efforts of the Women's Christian Temperance Union, the library was
reorganized and put on a more substantial footing. The Library is now housed on the second floor of the Borough Bldg and possesses 5500 volumes. Since the reorganization in 1924, Miss Jennie McBurney has served as librarian ..
The first move to establish a hospital in Canonsburg was launched in '1903 by the lodles of rhe Shakespeare Club, a literary and Civic organization of Canonsburg which later became the Woman's Club of Canonsburg. On July 23, 1903, the Club voted to purchase the Barr property, present site of the Hospitcl, for the sum of $5000. Although the Club did not have that amount of money, members canvassed the town and the necessary amount was subscribed. The Hospital was formally opened on Oct. 17, 1904. In T 907 the Canonsburg Hospital was officially recognized by the State through a substantial opproprlotlon for its maintenance. In 1931 a modern new hospital building was erected increasing the number of beds to 86, and in 1930 the Nurses Home was built as an important adjunct to the Hospital School of Nursing. Requests for hospital accommodations have run consistently ahead of facilities and in 1950 a building campaign was launched to provide funds for a substantial enlargement of the present hospital. Plans have been drawn and new construction which will increase the capacify to 150 beds, is expected in the near future.
The Canonsburg Hospital Nurses Training School is fully accredited under State standards. Thirty students make up the present enrollment of the training school. Mrs. Edith Bailey, present superintendent, has been in charge of the Hospital since 1945. Miss Elizabeth V. Harper is Directress of the train ing school and Dr. Alfred J. Haines is House Physician. Attorney A. L. Zeman is President of the Board of Directors.
VOLUNTEER FIRE DEPARTMENT
Volunteer fire companies are not of recer.t Origin. Canonsburg had one in 1839 with a hand operated fire engine called the "Hibernia." Each fireman helped pull the eniJ.o.e and carried a bucket to feed the engine with water. The company dissolved within a yE;!<ar and in 1885 another company bloomed and faded. In 1910 Canonsburg had three companies:
No. 1 organized in 1900, No. 2 in 1902 and No. 3 in 1905 and with the installation of city water in 1903 these organizations became more effective. In 1917 a single organization was
effected and the Canonsburg Volunteer Fire Department has grown since that time to be one of the best equ ipped and most eHicient in this end of the Slate. The names of the personnel are given elsewhere.
The town park is one of the beauty spots of Canonsburg and a place that has become 'more and more an absolute necessity ln the recreotlon program of our town. With its beautiful shady elms, swimming pool, playground facilities, shelter house and all the conveniences for picknicking, it is in' use constantly during the summer months. The section above the pool has been purchased for future development and the section below is now almost a must. The original park site was first opened on the east side of the run for use in 1920. The swimming pool, a $100,000 project, was constructed by Council on a P.W.A. grant in 1935. The shelter house was built in 1939.
A system of supervised playgrounds has been in effect in Canonsburg since 1946. During the first two years the playgrounds were financed largely by contribution from service and fraternal organizations. However, since 1948 they have been sponsored by the School District assisted by the Boro Council a nd carried out under the direction of the State Department of Extension Recreation. Activities consist of playground projects, crafts, soft ball, knee pants baseball and music and these activities are carried out during nine weeks of the summer vacation period. For the most part school personnel act as playground and extension leaders. Besides music and band activities at the High School music room, there are seven other recreation centers located near the various school centers of the town.
Since 1802 the corporate function of a Borough has been carried out by a Burgess and Council. The first Burgess and Council have been mentioned and it is appropriate that we here name those who make up our present Council :
Burgess, Fred Caruso; President of Council, Fred Terling; Council members-Joseph Yates, John George, Willia m Potts, Clint Stevens,
..... "" ,_~
[Jl ~ e
J; Stanley Wrona, Henry Hirst, Fred lanzy, Henry Norwood. Borough Secretary, Carl Gessler, Borough Solicitor, Howard Stevens. To these we may add: Street Commissioner, John Yarkosky. Assistant Street Commissioner, Charles Toylor. Borough Engineer, H. M. Day.
Other Municipal bodies have grown with the town since 1802. As the Borough increased in size, additional municipal organizations became necessary. They are lrnportont to the town in promoting the interests of Health, Safety, Business and they are given here: Board of Health; President, Wm. B. Boon. Secretary, M. Agnes Hu[1. Heolrh Officer, Frank Milligan. Board members, Dr. E. L. Hazlett, Dr. M. B. Herron, Herbert Neu, Mrs. Mary Collins.
CANONSBURG INDUSTRIAL AREA COMMITTEE
In 1945 when the big war time Alcoa Plonr closed its doors, a part of the industrial situation in Canonsburg was at a definite road block. A large number of citizens who had established homes in Ca nonsburg found themselves without employment or under the necessl+y of finding it elsewhere. lt was at this emergency that the Canonsburg Area Industricl Committee which had before lent valuable assistance in locating the Alcoa Plant here, again came to the rescue. Through their untiring efforts the desirability of Canonsburg's industrial sites was sold to industrial interests and today the· big East Canonsburg Plant is a beehive of industry. Not one, but several types of industry are represented there, offering a diversified type of employment. The efforts and activities of this modest group of men, civic leaders in every sense, will always occupy an important place in any occounr dealing with Canonsburg's ind ustria [ h lstory, Headed by Fred Beed Ie as chairman, this industrial group was made up of A. L. Zeman, George Anderson, Fred Terling, Howard Stevens, Jack Cohen, John Mazza.
Chief-Norbert lesn ia kowski. Desk Sergea nts -Steve Ducsic , Orion L. Hoch, K. Earl Smith. Patrolmen-Andrew Graytok, Walter Olminski, Michael Seipp. Henry Smith, Patrick Matrogran, Charles Susnak, Joseph Feconda, Michael Smith, Joseph De Fife, Joseph Adamson.
VOLUNTEER FIRE COMPANY President-Wm. H. Arnold, Jr. Chief, Thomas Schussler. Assistant, Wm. McLhinney. Ccptoir. Edward Brlcelcind. 1 st l.ieut., Archie Mcintyre.
2nd Ueut., Lawrence Davis. Firemen: Joseph Adamson, Kelley Alderson, Paul Arnold, Ro lph Arnold, George Coleman, Edward Davis, Albert Deakin, Steve Ducsia, George Go Ibra i+h, John Hiles, Orion Hoch, Edward Hott, Edward Koch, Frank Little, Barney Mansfield, Wm. McKenery, Herbert Neu, Edward Pur k, Charles Richards, Robert Rudge, Robert Sims, Richard Sims, Russell Simpson, Arthur Smith, Eor l Smith, Henry Smith, Charles Susnak, Jack Wilson, Edward Wozniak, Dr. David Johnston.
BOARD OF TRADE
President-Co R. Gibson. Vice President, Edgar O. Kline, Secretary, Mrs. Belle McNary. Treasurer, D. Roy Clyde. Directors: John H. Ross, Bert Adler, Robert L Granl, Mary Huber, Jesse King, Curtis McNary, Durell Pollock, Wilbert Zuver.
If we include the Revolutionary War, no less than seven wars have touched this community in its long history. Canonsburg's military record in these wars would involve a history in itself and it is a record of which the cornrnunity can [ustly be proud. Thousands went from this area to tight in defense of their country and many made the supreme sacrifice. Veteran organizations such as the American Legion and Veterans of Foreign Wars are well represented in our Boro. These two veteran organizations are composed lorq ely of veterans from World War I and World War JI.
These groups together with the tiny group from the Spanish Amerlccn War composed of Thomas M. Reese, James C. Springer and Wi[liam N. Jones, help to keep us in mind of our debt to the [oyal and heroic defenders of our country.
Present officers of the American Legion are as follows:
Post 253: Commander-·Edward D. Purk.
First Vice Commander-Parino A. Moss. Adj.Martin Rubie.
Post 854: Commander-Sam Cole. FirST Vice
Commander-Elimer Bush. Adjutant-Kenneth
Present officers of the Veterans of Foreign Wars include:
Ja mes Perry Post 191: Commander-Edward Snarey. Adjutant-Edward Horvath. Second Vice Commander-John Weippert. Quartermaster-John Allen.
Fenimore Haley Post No ... 2026: CommanderAlfred Aubrey. Adj uta nt-Tony Berli. Second Vice Commander- Peter Berli. QuarlermasterGuy T. Sacco.
A historical sketch of Canonsburg can n t over look the ncrnes of some young men who hove advertised the name of Canonsburg widely and favorably 10 the outer world.
Pe-rry Como, who has achieved national ferne as a singing star of Radio and Television.
Jimmy Pojrner (Di Palma) whose dance bond ranks among the best in the notion.
Leo Koceskl, one of the top ranking stars of Icotb o!l during his High School and College career at the University of Michigan.
Don Alderson, a rising young boxer who is steadily gaining fo:me in his chosen profession.
Canonsburg is proud of the success these young men have attained and especially proud 1 hat these boys have not forgolten hat Canonsburg is their home town.
As his historical sketch draws to a close, it is real'ized that many omissions are apparent owing to lock of space and the time necessary for assembling data. Many of the town's essenlia! and useful groups who find fellowship, wholesome activity and a means of service can only be mentioned briefly. Such orqonizcticns os the Rotary, Kiwonis, Toastmasters, Knights of Pythias, Knights of Columbus, Mosons, Odd Fellows, Elks, Eagles, Moose, Folcons, Nationolity Groups, Dapper Dans, Womens' Club, Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts, B. P. -«, W. C. T. U., Eastern Star, Labor Organizations are all representative groups that occupy a necessary and worthy place in the life of the community.
Neither has it been possible to single out and nome many of the people who now are or hove been influential in developing and buil:ding our town from a business, professional or industrial stcmclpolnt. To do this adequately would make this sketch biographical rather than historical ond the aim has been to show the development of the town from a broad general angie.. We hope this has been occomplished to some degree and if in the process anyone has felt slighted, we extend our sincere apology.
VEllA SCHOOL OF DANCING
Classes in Tap, Ballet, Acrobatic, Balon Twirling, Ballroom and Vocal Training
126 E. PIKE ST.
PHONE 151 a
BLACK HORSE TAVERN
The World's First
FREEDOM-VALVOLINE OIL CO.
A'MERICA'S OWEST RH~NfR OF PHROl.EUM UJBRICANTS
527 Duquesne Ave.
342 Wes! Pike
UC::GA PALEN ESE BENlEflCIAl ASSOCiAnON
THE STORE FOR MEN
22 'West Pike Street
DINE a nd DANCE
ALBERT J. lANZY, Prop.
WASHINGTON AND CANONSBURG