You are on page 1of 10

Mexico Timeline Cont.

Avery Schlosser


Mexico fights for independence from Spain.

On September 16, 1810, Catholic priest

Miguel Hidalgo y Costilla launched the
Mexican War of Independence with the issuing
of his Grito de Dolores.

On September 27, 1821, Mexico gains

independence from Spain.


Texas declares independence from Mexico.

On April 21, 1836, Sam Houston and around

800 Texans defeated Santa Annas Mexican
force of 1,500 men at San Jacinto.


The U.S. wins the Mexican-American War and

gains Mexican territory.

This land includes Nevada and Utah, parts of

Arizona, New Mexico, Wyoming, and Colorado.


Battle of Puebla.

The Battle of Puebla took place on May, 5,

1862, near the city of Puebla during the
French intervention in Mexico.

Cinco de Mayo honors the defeat of French



Mexican Revolution began November 20 th,1910.

The Mexican Revolution was brought on by the

tremendous disagreement among the Mexican
people over the dictatorship of President Porfirio

The Mexican Revolution ended around 1920 as

a result of the Proclamation of the Mexican
Constitution that was established in 1917.


An 8.1 magnitude earthquake hits Mexico City

and kills nearly 10,000 people.


President George W. Bush signs a law that

authorizes the building of a 700 mile fence
between Mexico and the U.S. in order to help
stop illegal immigration.


Enrique Pena Nieto wins the presidential

election and takes office on December 1st.

Works Cited

Around The World. (n.d.). Retrieved November 22, 2015, from

Mexico Timeline. (n.d.). Retrieved November 22, 2015, from timeline

Mexican-American War. (n.d.). Retrieved November 22, 2015, from

Struggle for Mexican Independence. (n.d.). Retrieved November 22,

2015, from

Sam Houston and the Battle for Texas Independence. (n.d.).

Retrieved November 22, 2015, from