You are on page 1of 8

Your Success Report

Mapworks: Transition One 10/07/2015

Welcome
Amayranis!
The following report is about you
and was created from your survey
responses. Its designed to support
you and ensure your success.

Berry, Amayranis | aberry@uni.edu

Mapworks: Transition One | Success Report 1/8

Earning the Grades You Want

Basic Academic
Behaviors

MAPWORKS:
TRANSITION ONE

Class
Attendance

MAPWORKS:
TRANSITION ONE

Time
Management

MAPWORKS:
TRANSITION ONE

Academic SelfConfidence

MAPWORKS:
TRANSITION ONE

Your Strengths & Weaknesses


Basic Academic Behaviors - You have excellent academic behaviors! These skills typically lead to good grades; keep
up the good work! It is important to sustain your current level of performance throughout the entire term. Tip: Talking with
your instructors is a proven way to get the most from your classes! At any point you need help, contact your campus
connections faulty/staff members (see the list at the end of this report).
Class Attendance - While you try to attend class on a consistent basis, you do miss a few here and there. Many
students think that attending most classes is just as good as attending all classes, but research indicates they're wrong! Did
you know that students who miss a class every once in a while earn an average GPA nearly a letter grade lower than
students with perfect or near perfect class attendance? Furthermore, it is important to be active in class. Being mentally
present in the class is just as important as being physically present.
Time Management - You have good time management skills. Keep up the good work! As you know, it's important to
organize your time and to keep academics high on your priority list. Did you know that good time management skills are
linked to higher GPAs? Improving your skills will allow you to be more efficient with your time and more effective in achieving
good grades.
Academic Self-Confidence - You have moderate confidence in your academic abilities. Students with moderate
confidence tend to do well until they face a challenge. They might give up on a task early when they feel stressed. If this
happens, contact one of us immediately for help.
Course Difficulties - You're struggling in a course. Most students do encounter difficulties from time to time. It is
important to talk to that course instructor today. Don't wait. To achieve the grades you expect you must take action now!

Berry, Amayranis | aberry@uni.edu

Course
Difficulties

MAPWORKS:
TRANSITION ONE

Tips on Improving
Create a Study Group - Assemble a group of other
students in your classes who can study together, provide
feedback on work, share notes, and motivate each other to
do well in the class.
Talk to Your Instructors - If you're struggling in a class,
contact the instructor immediately and discuss steps you
can take to improve your performance. Make an
appointment with your academic advisor to discuss available
resources, such as tutoring and study skill seminars.
Take Personal Responsibility - Make a commitment to
practice good academic behaviors such as attending all
classes and completing assignments on time. Get a planner
or an app that allows you to record assignments and due
dates to help manage your time and class demands.
Take Advantage of Campus Resources - There are many
resources on campus that can help you overcome academic
hurdles. Please see the list of campus resources at the end
of this report.

Mapworks: Transition One | Success Report 2/8

Connecting with Others

Campus
Involvement

MAPWORKS:
TRANSITION ONE

Sense of
Belonging

MAPWORKS:
TRANSITION ONE

Your Strengths & Weaknesses


Campus Involvement - You're not very interested in getting involved on campus at this time. Please reconsider. We
have student organizations, intramural sports, and interesting clubs to offer you. Looking back on your college years, you
may not remember every class you took, but you will remember the clubs you were a part of and the events you shared with
your friends. Get involved and you'll be glad you did!
Sense of Belonging - It's great news that you feel connected on campus! Remember that there are always new
opportunities to make friends and build new relationships through student organizations, intramural sports, and community
service projects!

Tips on Improving
Connect - Making connections with students, faculty, and
staff often takes time and effort. Reach out to others who
may be struggling to make a connection and be open to
building friendships with those who reach out to you.
Create a Club - If our institution doesn't have a club or
organization that matches your interest, consider developing
one. Contact our student activities/student life office about
how you may be able to do this.
Join In - Consider joining a social/professional
organization, activity, or intramural sport. Or, volunteer your
time to a cause that is important to you.

Berry, Amayranis | aberry@uni.edu

Mapworks: Transition One | Success Report 3/8

Paying for College

Financial
Confidence

MAPWORKS:
TRANSITION ONE

Your Strengths & Weaknesses


Financial Confidence - To stay in college you have to pay for college, and if you're a little unsure of how you'll pay for
next term's tuition and fees, you're not alone! Don't wait; contact the financial aid office for help right away. There are people
here who can help you find ways to meet your financial needs. A list of campus resources is provided in this report to help
you along.

Tips on Improving
Schedule an Appointment - Make an appointment with
the financial aid office to discuss available assistance.
Reach Out - Reach out to one of your campus
connections (see the list of campus connections at the end
of your report). They will help direct you to the appropriate
person or office that can provide your with information.
Explore Options - If the stress of financial issues begins
to affect your academic focus and performance, please
speak to your campus connections (see the list of campus
connections at the end of your report), a counselor, or an
advisor before you become overwhelmed.

Berry, Amayranis | aberry@uni.edu

Mapworks: Transition One | Success Report 4/8

Taking Action
Now its your turn! We challenge you to develop steps to
improve your current behaviors and become a more
successful student. In this report, we have indicated areas
of strength with green icons and areas with potential for
improvement with yellow or red icons. We have also
included a list of campus resources to help you improve
your areas of weakness and further build upon your areas
of strength.

First Steps

When

Areas Needing Improvement


Academic Self-Confidence
Campus Involvement
Class Attendance
Course Difficulties
Financial Confidence

Berry, Amayranis | aberry@uni.edu

Mapworks: Transition One | Success Report 5/8

Campus Connections
Tucker, Roxie

Brickley, Ashley

Eggena, Collin

Harken, Nichole

Noehren Hall RLC

Student Disability Services Coordinator

ALC Academic Coach

Instructor

273-2349
roxie.tucker@uni.edu

Asmus, Heather

ashley.brickley@uni.edu

Brodbeck, Christen

Academic Advisor, Academic Advising

eggenac@uni.edu

Eischen, Erica

nichole.harken@uni.edu

Hasstedt, Joshua

Asst Dir Residence Life/Residence Education

(319) 273-3406

5153338176

273-2333

5157835531

heather.asmus@uni.edu

brodbecc@uni.edu

erica.eischen@uni.edu

hasstedj@uni.edu

Beecham, Jasmine

Connolly, Jenny

Ferry III, Tim

Heistad, Deirdre

st Dir Admissions/Outreach

RA

Liberal Arts Core Director

5159637740

273-2281

273-2229

beechamj@uni.edu

jenny.connolly@uni.edu

ferrytaa@uni.edu

d.heistad@uni.edu

Bembry, Celeste

De Moss, Brianna

Flick, McKenzie

Hogan, Terry

Student Recruit & Ret Coord

PAIR

RA

Vice President of Student Affairs

273-2797

5154226653

Celeste.Bembry@uni.edu

demossb@uni.edu

Borcherding, Emily

Doerr, Kinsey

Reading & Learning Coordinator

273-2332
flickm@uni.edu

terry.hogan@uni.edu

Gute, Deanne

Horning, Jade

Writing Center Coordinator

Instructional Specialist, Student Support Ser

5635812176
emily.borcherding@uni.edu

Berry, Amayranis | aberry@uni.edu

doerrk@uni.edu

deanne.gute@uni.edu

jade.horning@uni.edu

Mapworks: Transition One | Success Report 6/8

Campus Connections
Hylton, Latricia

Mulholland, Nicholas

Potthoff, Derek

Sullivan, Nick

Math Coordinator

Bender Hall RLC

PAIR

Director, Student Support Services

latricia.hylton@uni.edu

nicholas.mulholland@uni.edu

potthofd@uni.edu

nick.sullivan@uni.edu

Jansen, Maddison

Murtha, Inez

Rafanello, Nick

Trautmann, Emily

PAIR

Director, Academic Learning Center

Asst Dir Residence/Comm & Leadership Dev

FYO Peer Mentor


3198306691

jmadds@uni.edu

Marchesani, David

inez.murtha@uni.edu

Nissen, Megan

Academic Advisor/Career Development Coord.

David.Marchesani@uni.edu

nicholas.rafanello@uni.edu

trautmae@uni.edu

Sandbulte, Alison

VanHooreweghe, Lori

Cornerstone Peer Mentor

Academic Advisor

3198213700

7124412265

nissemab@uni.edu

sandbula@uni.edu

lori.vanhooreweghe@uni.edu

McLaughlin, Danielle

Peters, Kathy

Sanders, Colice

Welser, Lauren

GA, Academic Learning Center

Academic Learning Support & Retention Coordin

Academic Support Specialist

Academic Coach

273-2982
mclaudab@uni.edu

kathleen.peters@uni.edu

Meyer, Dyan

Pomerenk Holmes, Alexa

Instructor

Graduate Assistant, ALC

Colice.Sanders@uni.edu

Strom, Ann

welserl@uni.edu

Woods, Kristin
Coordinator of New Student Programs

515-954-5268
dyan.meyer@uni.edu

Berry, Amayranis | aberry@uni.edu

pomerena@uni.edu

stroma@uni.edu

Kristin.Woods@uni.edu

Mapworks: Transition One | Success Report 7/8

Campus Resources
Center for Multicultural Education

Financial Aid and Scholarships

Office of Academic Advising

Victim Services Advocate

Rangel, Jackelin

Bakula, Tim

Smothers, Anthony

Thompson, Joan

109 Maucker Union

105 Gilchrist Hall

102 Gilchrist Hall

104 Wellness and Recreation Center

319-273-2250

319-273-2700

319-273-3406

319-273-2137

jackelin.rangel@uni.edu

tim.bakula@uni.edu

anthony.smothers@uni.edu

joan.thompson@uni.edu

http://www.uni.edu/cme/

http://www.uni.edu/finaid/

http://www.uni.edu/advising/

https://www.uni.edu/violenceservices/

College Reading and Learning Center Healthy Eating Issues

Student Disability Services

Writing Center

Borcherding, Emily

Thompson, Joan

Brickley, Ashley

Gute, Deanne

008 ITT

101 Wellness and Recreation Center

103 Student Health Center

008 ITT

319-273-2361

319-273-2137

319-273-2677

319-273-6424

emily.borcherding@uni.edu

joan.thompson@uni.edu

ashley.brickley@uni.edu

deanne.gute@uni.edu

http://www.uni.edu/unialc/collegereading-learning-center

http://uni.edu/studentwellness/eatingwell

http://www.uni.edu/sds/

http://www.uni.edu/unialc/writingcenter

Counseling Center

Math and Science Services

Student Health Clinic

Towle, David

Hylton, Latricia

Matthews, Shelley

103 Student Health Center

008 ITT

016 Student Health Center

319-273-2676

319-273-2489

319-273-2009

david.towle@uni.edu

latricia.hylton@uni.edu

shelley.matthews@uni.edu

http://www.uni.edu/counseling/

http://www.uni.edu/unialc/mathscience-services

http://www.uni.edu/health/

Dean of Students Office

Meal Plans and On-Campus Housing Substance Abuse Services

Rafanello, Allyson

Rafanello, Nick

Rowe-Barth, Mark

118 Gilchrist Hall

Redeker Center 10

104 Wellness and Recreation Center

319-273-2332

319-273-2333

319-273-3423

allyson.rafanello@uni.edu

nicholas.rafanello@uni.edu

mark.rowe-barth@uni.edu

http://www.uni.edu/deanofstudents/

http://www.uni.edu/dor

https://www.uni.edu/subabuse/

Berry, Amayranis | aberry@uni.edu

Mapworks: Transition One | Success Report 8/8