You are on page 1of 1


Hot and Dense Matter in Heavy Ion
Collisions and Astrophysics:
Connecting Quarks with the Cosmos

Tshipise, Vhembe District,
Limpopo, South Africa

11 to 22 January 2016

(arrival on 10 January and departure on 23 January)



1. Ultra-Relativistic Nucleus-Nucleus Collisions
2. QCD Phase Diagram
3. Dense Matter in Compact Stars
4. Relativistic Hydrodynamics
5. Neutron Stars
6. Astroparticle Physics

James Lattimer
(State University of New York at Stony Brook, USA)
Andreas Schmitt
(Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
Soebur Razzaque
(University of Johannesburg, RSA)
Björn Schenke
(Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA)
Marlene Nahrgang (Duke University, USA)

1. Hot and Dense Matter in Heavy Ion Collisions,
Astrophysics, and Cosmology
2. Physics and Astrophysics of Quark-Gluon Plasma
3. QCD at Finite Temperature and Density
4. Equation of State and Phase Transition
5. Physics and Astrophysics of Compact Stars
6. Nuclear & Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology
7. Quark Matter in Astrophysics and Cosmology
8. Core-Collapse Supernovae, Pulsars and Black Holes
9. Galaxy Evolution, Dark Matter and Dark Energy
10. The Origin and Evolution of Cosmic Magnetism
11. Probing the Cosmic Dawn

Organising committee:
Azwinndini Muronga
(University of Johannesburg) - Chair
Jean Cleymans (University of Cape Town)
Joseph Kirui (University of Venda)
Eric Maluta (University of Venda)
Naomi Haasbroek (ProjectSpace) - Secretary

For attendance information, please contact:

Naomi Haasbroek at
Applications should be made using the form on
The Chris Engelbrecht Summer School 2016 is sponsored by the National Institute for Theoretical Physics (NITheP),
which is funded by the National Research Foundation (NRF).

Contact us
Enquiries may be directed to:

Stellenbosch University

National Institute for Theoretical Physics
Ms Monique Louw at,
Mrs René Kotzé at or
to the director Prof. Frederik Scholtz at
Private Bag X1, Matieland, 7602
Tel: +27- (0)21 - 808 2649 | Fax: +27- (0)21 - 808 3862

University of KwaZulu-Natal

National Institute for Theoretical Physics
H-Block, Westville Campus, Durban 4041, South Africa
Tel: +27- (0)31 - 260 7570 | Fax: +27- (0)31 - 260 8090

University of Witwatersrand

National Institute for Theoretical Physics, School of Physics
University of Witwatersrand, Wits 2050, South Africa
Tel: +27- (0)11 - 717 6838 | Fax: +27- (0)11 - 717 6879

All information is also available on our website at