You are on page 1of 8

Your Success Report

Transition Two 02/12/2016

Welcome
Logan!
The following report is about you
and was created from your survey
responses. It’s designed to support
you and ensure your success.

Winford, Logan | winfordl@uni.edu

Transition Two | Success Report 1/8

Earning the Grades You Want

Basic Academic
Behaviors

TRANSITION ONE
TRANSITION TWO

Class
Attendance

TRANSITION ONE
TRANSITION TWO

Time
Management

TRANSITION ONE
TRANSITION TWO

Academic SelfConfidence

TRANSITION ONE
TRANSITION TWO

Your Strengths & Weaknesses
Basic Academic Behaviors - You have excellent academic behaviors! These skills typically lead to good grades; keep
up the good work! It is important to sustain your current level of performance throughout the entire term. Tip: Talking with
your instructors is a proven way to get the most from your classes! At any point you need help, contact your campus
connections faulty/staff members (see the list at the end of this report).
Class Attendance - While you try to attend class on a consistent basis, you do miss a few here and there. Many
students think that attending most classes is just as good as attending all classes, but research indicates they're wrong! Did
you know that students who miss a class every once in a while earn an average GPA nearly a letter grade lower than
students with perfect or near perfect class attendance? Furthermore, it is important to be active in class. Being mentally
present in the class is just as important as being physically present.

Course
Difficulties

TRANSITION ONE
TRANSITION TWO

Tips on Improving
Create a Study Group - Assemble a group of other
students in your classes who can study together, provide
feedback on work, share notes, and motivate each other to
do well in the class.
Talk to Your Instructors - If you're struggling in a class,
contact the instructor immediately and discuss steps you
can take to improve your performance. Make an
appointment with your academic advisor to discuss available
resources, such as tutoring and study skill seminars.

Time Management - No responses were given for this section
Academic Self-Confidence - No responses were given for this section
Course Difficulties - You're struggling in at least two courses. Struggling in multiple courses dramatically increases your
risk of earning a poor GPA. First, talk to those course instructors today. Don't wait. Second, contact one of us; we can help.
To achieve the grades you expect you must take action now!

Winford, Logan | winfordl@uni.edu

Take Personal Responsibility - Make a commitment to
practice good academic behaviors such as attending all
classes and completing assignments on time. Get a planner
or an app that allows you to record assignments and due
dates to help manage your time and class demands.
Take Advantage of Campus Resources - There are many
resources on campus that can help you overcome academic
hurdles. Please see the list of campus resources at the end
of this report.

Transition Two | Success Report 2/8

Connecting with Others

Campus
Involvement

TRANSITION ONE
TRANSITION TWO

Sense of
Belonging

TRANSITION ONE
TRANSITION TWO

Your Strengths & Weaknesses

Tips on Improving

Campus Involvement - No responses were given for this section
Sense of Belonging - No responses were given for this section

Connect - Making connections with students, faculty, and
staff often takes time and effort. Reach out to others who
may be struggling to make a connection and be open to
building friendships with those who reach out to you.
Create a Club - If our institution doesn't have a club or
organization that matches your interest, consider developing
one. Contact our student activities/student life office about
how you may be able to do this.
Join In - Consider joining a social/professional
organization, activity, or intramural sport. Or, volunteer your
time to a cause that is important to you.

Winford, Logan | winfordl@uni.edu

Transition Two | Success Report 3/8

Paying for College

Financial
Confidence

TRANSITION ONE
TRANSITION TWO

Your Strengths & Weaknesses
Financial Confidence - To stay in college you have to pay for college, and if you're a little unsure of how you'll pay for
next term's tuition and fees, you're not alone! Don't wait; contact the financial aid office for help right away. There are people
here who can help you find ways to meet your financial needs. A list of campus resources is provided in this report to help
you along.

Tips on Improving
Schedule an Appointment - Make an appointment with
the financial aid office to discuss available assistance.
Reach Out - Reach out to one of your campus
connections (see the list of campus connections at the end
of your report). They will help direct you to the appropriate
person or office that can provide your with information.
Explore Options - If the stress of financial issues begins
to affect your academic focus and performance, please
speak to your campus connections (see the list of campus
connections at the end of your report), a counselor, or an
advisor before you become overwhelmed.

Winford, Logan | winfordl@uni.edu

Transition Two | Success Report 4/8

Taking Action
Now it’s your turn! We challenge you to develop steps to
improve your current behaviors and become a more
successful student. In this report, we have indicated areas
of strength with green icons and areas with potential for
improvement with yellow or red icons. We have also
included a list of campus resources to help you improve
your areas of weakness and further build upon your areas
of strength.

First Steps

When

Areas Needing Improvement
Course Difficulties
Class Attendance
Financial Confidence

Winford, Logan | winfordl@uni.edu

Transition Two | Success Report 5/8

Campus Connections
Hudson, Britt

Brodbeck, Christen

Campbell Hall RLC

britt.hudson@uni.edu

Eggena, Collin

Heistad, Deirdre

ALC Academic Coach

Liberal Arts Core Director

5153338176

273-2349

brodbecc@uni.edu

eggenac@uni.edu

d.heistad@uni.edu

Asmus, Heather

Calonkey, Sami

Eischen, Erica

Hogan, Terry

Academic Advisor, Academic Advising

RA

Asst Dir Residence Life/Residence Education

Vice President of Student Affairs

(319) 273-3406

5154184072

273-2333

273-2332

heather.asmus@uni.edu

calonkey@uni.edu

erica.eischen@uni.edu

terry.hogan@uni.edu

Beecham, Jasmine

Connolly, Jenny

Gute, Deanne

Horning, Jade

st Dir Admissions/Outreach

Writing Center Coordinator

Instructional Specialist, Student Support Ser

5159637740

273-2281

beechamj@uni.edu

jenny.connolly@uni.edu

deanne.gute@uni.edu

jade.horning@uni.edu

Borcherding, Emily

De Moss, Brianna

Harken, Nichole

Hylton, Latricia

Reading & Learning Coordinator

PAIR

Instructor

Math Coordinator

5154226653
emily.borcherding@uni.edu

Brickley, Ashley

demossb@uni.edu

Doerr, Kinsey

nichole.harken@uni.edu

Hasstedt, Joshua

Student Disability Services Coordinator

ashley.brickley@uni.edu

Winford, Logan | winfordl@uni.edu

latricia.hylton@uni.edu

Jansen, Maddison
PAIR

5635812176

5157835531

doerrk@uni.edu

hasstedj@uni.edu

jmadds@uni.edu

Transition Two | Success Report 6/8

Campus Connections
Junk, Rylee

Nissen, Megan

Sandbulte, Alison

Sullivan, Nick

Cornerstone Peer Mentor

Director, Student Support Services

3195047060

3198213700

7124412265

rylee@uni.edu

nissemab@uni.edu

sandbula@uni.edu

nick.sullivan@uni.edu

Marchesani, David

Peters, Kathy

Sanders, Colice

VanHooreweghe, Lori

Academic Advisor/Career Development Coord.

Academic Learning Support & Retention Coordin

Academic Support Specialist

Academic Advisor

David.Marchesani@uni.edu

kathleen.peters@uni.edu

Colice.Sanders@uni.edu

lori.vanhooreweghe@uni.edu

McLaughlin, Danielle

Pomerenk Holmes, Alexa

Self, Nicole

Vorwerk, Daniel

GA, Academic Learning Center

Graduate Assistant, ALC

FYO Peer Mentor

Dean of Students GA

273-2982
mclaudab@uni.edu

pomerena@uni.edu

selfn@uni.edu

vorwerkd@uni.edu

Morgan, Siobahn

Potthoff, Derek

Smothers, Anthony

Welser, Lauren

Department Head & Professor

PAIR

Academic Advisor

Academic Coach

Siobahn.Morgan@uni.edu

potthofd@uni.edu

Murtha, Inez

Rafanello, Nick

Director, Academic Learning Center

Asst Dir Residence/Comm & Leadership Dev

Anthony.Smothers@uni.edu

Strom, Ann

welserl@uni.edu

Woods, Kristin
Coordinator of New Student Programs

515-954-5268
inez.murtha@uni.edu

Winford, Logan | winfordl@uni.edu

nicholas.rafanello@uni.edu

stroma@uni.edu

Kristin.Woods@uni.edu

Transition Two | Success Report 7/8

Campus Resources
Center for Multicultural Education

Financial Aid and Scholarships

Office of Academic Advising

Victim Services Advocate

Rangel, Jackelin

Bakula, Tim

Smothers, Anthony

Thompson, Joan

109 Maucker Union

105 Gilchrist Hall

102 Gilchrist Hall

104 Wellness and Recreation Center

319-273-2250

319-273-2700

319-273-3406

319-273-2137

jackelin.rangel@uni.edu

felicia.carrillo@uni.edu

anthony.smothers@uni.edu

joan.thompson@uni.edu

http://www.uni.edu/cme/

http://www.uni.edu/finaid/

http://www.uni.edu/advising/

https://www.uni.edu/violenceservices/

College Reading and Learning Center Healthy Eating Issues

Student Disability Services

Writing Center

Borcherding, Emily

Thompson, Joan

Brickley, Ashley

Gute, Deanne

008 ITT

101 Wellness and Recreation Center

103 Student Health Center

008 ITT

319-273-2361

319-273-2137

319-273-2677

319-273-6424

emily.borcherding@uni.edu

joan.thompson@uni.edu

ashley.brickley@uni.edu

deanne.gute@uni.edu

http://www.uni.edu/unialc/collegereading-learning-center

http://uni.edu/studentwellness/eatingwell

http://www.uni.edu/sds/

http://www.uni.edu/unialc/writingcenter

Counseling Center

Math and Science Services

Student Health Clinic

Towle, David

Hylton, Latricia

Matthews, Shelley

103 Student Health Center

008 ITT

016 Student Health Center

319-273-2676

319-273-2489

319-273-2009

david.towle@uni.edu

latricia.hylton@uni.edu

shelley.matthews@uni.edu

http://www.uni.edu/counseling/

http://www.uni.edu/unialc/mathscience-services

http://www.uni.edu/health/

Dean of Students Office

Meal Plans and On-Campus Housing Substance Abuse Services

Rafanello, Allyson

Rafanello, Nick

Rowe-Barth, Mark

118 Gilchrist Hall

Redeker Center 10

104 Wellness and Recreation Center

319-273-2332

319-273-2333

319-273-3423

allyson.rafanello@uni.edu

nicholas.rafanello@uni.edu

mark.rowe-barth@uni.edu

http://www.uni.edu/deanofstudents/

http://www.uni.edu/dor

https://www.uni.edu/subabuse/

Winford, Logan | winfordl@uni.edu

Transition Two | Success Report 8/8