You are on page 1of 2

ISM- INTERVIEW ASSIGNMENT QUESTIONS

Student Name:

Monique Suarez

Printed Name of Person


Interviewed:
Role of Individual:

Place of Business:

7th

Dana Williams
___Mentor _X_Other Professional #1
The Williams Firm, P.C.

Phone Number:

310 W. Polk Street


Livingston, TX 77351
936-327-9218

Date of Interview:

April 21, 2016

Business Address:

Period:

___Other Professional #2

Type of Interview: ___ In Person ___ Telephone* _X_Email*


*Documentation Required (Attach E-mail to Interview Verification Page)

1. For someone working in your field, please describe the fantasies versus realities of the job.
(fantasy vs. reality)
The fantasy for someone working in my field involves sensational courtroom drama. The reality is
helping people find resolutions to family and criminal issues
2. What is your current educational level? What continuing education and training are required?
(educational level and requirements)
Undergraduate Degree (4 years)
Juris Doctorate-Law (3 years)
Ongoing education is 15 hours per year in continuing legal education
3. Please describe the typical day to day activities of someone working in your field.
(day-to-day activities)
Typical day to day activities include meeting with clients, counseling clients, researching legal statutes
and case law, and attending hearings and trials
4. How secure are you in your current position? What do you think is the future of your field?
(job security)
I am pretty secure in my position especially because I own my own law firm. I am involved in the tribal
court at the Alabama-Coushatta Reservation and, although it is a small Indian reservation, the amount of crime
committed here is more than you would expect.

Revised Fall 2013

5. What is a typical (average or lowest to highest) salary of someone working in your field?
(salary)
The typical average salary ranges from $40,000/yr to $250,000/yr
6. What potential for growth is there in your field?
(growth potential)
There is potential for growth with the use of technology and languages in the legal profession in order to
help solve immigration issues and keep up with technology required with practicing law today.
7. What do you enjoy most about working in your field?
I enjoy helping people and serving the community.
8. On average, about how many hours of sleep do you get each night? Do you take your work home
frequently?
I get about 6 hours of sleep each night and I do take my work home frequently
9. What are your work hours typically? Do they differ?
My hours are typically 7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., however, they differ depending on how much work needs
to get done.
10. What do you feel is the most challenging part about being both a defense attorney and a judge? Which
is your favorite?

The most challenging part is switching from being an advocate to being fair and impartial.
Despite the major difference between being a defense attorney and a judge, I enjoy both of these
professions because they allow me to see two different perspectives of Law from different career
standpoints.

Revised Fall 2013