You are on page 1of 1

Bayawan City

ayawan is a 3rd class component city located in

Negros Oriental, 102km south of Dumaguete. The
total land area of 69,908 hectares is divided between
28 barangays. The population is approximately
110,250 with an average household size of five
persons. Bayawan has a population density of 1.46
persons per hectare, approximately half compared to
the average population density of 3.07 persons per
hectare in the Philippines.
The literacy rate of Bayawan's population is 87%,
compared to a national adult literacy rate in the Philippines of 94%. The main sources of income are farming, fishing and trading. The major crops planted
include sugarcane, rice and corn.
The terrain in Bayawan is mostly hilly with terrain
moderately sloping to rolling. There are three major
rivers, namely Bayawan, Pagatban and Sicopong.
The coastline is 15km long.

Forestland in Bayawan
20,245 hectares or 29.3% of the total land area is
classified as forestland. Bayawan Citys primary problem is extensive deforestation and soil erosion.
Forests comprise only 15%, about 80% of the forestlands are either actively cultivated or open grasslands.
Of the forestland around 5,811 hectares are considered tenured or officially and legally allocated to individuals and communities by virtue of various kinds of
tenurial instruments issued by the Department of
Environment and Natural Resources (DENR). Specifically for Bayawan, the tenurial instruments presently issued are:
1.) Certificate of Stewardship (CSC) for individual famers/occupants: 3,650 hectares
2.) Community Based Forest Management
Agreement (CBFMA) for communities through
Peoples Organizations: 855 hectares

On April 24, 2007 the Sanguniang Panlungsod

passed the Ordinance No. 6 through its resolution
252 series of 2007, which provides the legal basis for
the FLUP Steering Committee to sign subagreements and thereby recognize and legitimize the
Individual Property Rights (IPR) of qualified individuals and organizations occupying/claiming parcels of
land within the LGU - DENR co-managed forestlands.

Major Accomplishments

3.) Industrial Forest Management Agreement

(IFMA) for individual or group investors: 1,050 hectares
4.) Certificate of Ancestral Domain Claim
(CADC) for indigenous people organization: 345
The remaining 14,434 hectares are covered by a
co-management agreement between LGU Bayawan
and DENR.

Forest Land Use Plan (FLUP) Process

From May to November 2003, the FLUP planning
process was undertaken by the FLUP-Technical
Working Group (TWG) with assistance from EcoGov
project through the DENR. Barangay-level FLUPTechnical Working Groups were also organized in all
participating barangays chaired by the respective
Barangay Captains.
On December 11, 2003 the City Council supported
and adopted the FLUP of Bayawan City through SP
(Sangguniang Panglungsod) Resolution No. 675
Series of 2003.
On June 8, 2004 DENR and the city LGU of Bayawan
signed two Memoranda of Agreement (MoA) for the:
1) Joint Implementation of the FLUP
2) Co-Management Agreement (Co-Mgt MOA) of
the 14,434 ha forestlands




(establishment of 5m-wide vegetative strip).
Water Production Areas were established in
18 barangays. Development and management activities
were undertaken by the respective barangay
LGUs with assistance from City LGU, resulting in the
establishment of permanent cover in around 300
hectares open lands.
224km of forest line have been delineated and
The policies for land allocation have been
established and tenurial instruments (IPR) issued to
313 quali fied applicants as of 2010.
35km of fireline has been established in fireprone grassland areas.
180has of industrial tree crops were established in co-managed areas.
50% or 10 hectares of the unoccupied portion
of Bugtong Bato Natural Landmark in Villasol has
been reforested.
Land Classification
Co-Managed Area