You are on page 1of 3



M  a Spanish fleet led by Captain Luis Enriquez de Guzman came to

Bicol Region accidentally as they were scouting the neighboring island in
search for food supplies badly needed and went as far as Camalig where
they came upon a thinning and prosperous agricultural settlement
(rancheria) whose inhabitants kept their farm products in little hut with
grass roofs and without walls called KINAMALIG, in local language.

M  - The settlement or Rancheria of Camalig is found by Captain de

Guzman was evangelized first by the Augustinian friars and later by the
Franciscans who came to Bicol Region in 1578.

M  - It traces its recorded history to the Second Expedition of Captain

Juan de Salcedo to the Bicol region. The town of Libon in Albay province
is the oldest settlement in the Bicol Region, having been founded.

M  - Juan de Salcedo and 120 soldiers explored the Camalig.

M  - The Franciscan missionaries of Camalig came to evangelize

Guinobatan, and then considered a barangay of Camalig, populated by
indigenous tribes inhabiting the Albay Gulf.

M  - Camalig was founded as town by the Franciscan missionaries,

Father Pablo de Jesus and Father Bartolome Ruiz, who continued the
work started by the Augustinian chaplains of the early Spanish expeditions
to the region. It is the earliest town to be founded in the Province of Albay.

M - - ± The Department of Finance Order No.23-08 Classified the

Tiwi, Daraga, Camalig, Guinobatan, Oas, Ponlangui and Libon as First
Class municipal according their Income Class.

M  - Spanish friar, Baltazar de la Magdalena founded Camalig shortly

after the landing of the Spaniards in the remote part of Pantao in Libon.
M  - Evangelization of Daraga and improvements were undertaken by
the Franciscan missionaries.

M    Father Baltazar de los Reyes converted 12 leading natives of the

area to Christianity in one day, forming the foundation of the community
now known as Oas.

M   - The natives rebelled against their recruitment to Cavite to build


M  - The 10-year construction of the parish church in Polangui began by

Fr. Juan Bautista. Camilo Jacob.

M - Spanish Franciscan friars planted the cross near the shore north of

M -    - the settlement of Guinobatan expanded to a greater

number and was designated as Christianity Station of the sector known as
the Mayon District.

M  - The request was granted ten years after it's filing, through a decree
making Guinobatan an independent town.

M  - Tiwi began as a barrio of Malinao before it was formally organized

as a politically independent pueblo.

M  - In the extant records of the Tiwi municipality, the first chief
executive of the municipal government was Don Lorenzo Mancilla

M  - Mayon Volcano erupted, killing 1,200 people and burying the town
of Cagsawa.

M   - a government for Daraga was formally organized with Venancio

Espiritu Salomon as first appointed captain.
M   ± Mauraro in Guinobatan, a distant settlement with a population 217
persons was also considered a temporary religious station as reported by
Don Sinibaldo de Mass.

M   - the islands of Masbate, Ticao, and Burias were separated from

Albay to form the | | of Masbate. Albay was then divided into
four districts: Iraya, Cordillera or Tobaco, Sorsogon, and Catanduanes.

M -   - - the Spanish Governor General Simon de Anda

transferred Cagsawa to a new settlement once called Salcedo and later
renamed Daraga.

 - by Fr. Juan Bautista. Camilo Jacob, a photographer and
resident of Polangui, was executed along with other Bicolanos.

! - The province of Albay itself was created..

M -- - Daraga regained her autonomy as ordered by the Philippines

Assembly and eventually on December 15, 1948 Republic Act 306 was

M  - The territorial boundaries of Guinobatan extended as far as the

southern coast of the Province of Albay, with Malacbalac (now Pioduran)
as its most progressive barangay as its outlet to the sea. With the
enactment of R.A.

M  --- the defunct Philippine Congress creating the municipality

of Pioduran; Malacbalac as its seat of government together with the
barangays of Malidong, Basicao, Malapay, Nablangbulod, Buyo, Rawis,
Mamlad, Oringon, Cagbatano, Nacasitas, Sukip and Tibabo of the
municipality of Guinobatan were separated and constituted a part of the
newly created municipality of Pioduran.

M  - Under PD 125 Daraga was declared a district of the City of Legazpi
but this was yet to be implemented as the residents, well-meaning
Daraguenos and local leadership showed opposition.

Related Interests