This action might not be possible to undo. Are you sure you want to continue?
Shall Issue Must Inform Officer: NO
Links State CCW Site State CCW Pamphlet CCW Application/Instructions State FAQ Site State Statutes State Admin Rules State Reciprocity Info State Attorney General
Last Updated: 8/9/10
Permits/Licenses This State Honors
Utah honors all other states Permit/Licenses. Utah Honors Non-Resident Permits/Licenses.
How to Apply for A Permit
Where and How to Apply: Bureau of Criminal Identification 3888 West 5400 South Salt Lake City, Utah 84118 801-965-4445 Applications will be accepted, in person, from 7:00 am until 5:30 pm at the above location. You may download an application here. (Requires Adobe Reader. To download the FREE Adobe Reader, click here) What Will it Cost to Apply? A non-refundable fee of $65.25 must be included with your application. This fee consists of $35.00 for application and permit processing and $30.25 charged by the F.B.I. to process your fingerprint cards. Please make checks and money orders payable to the "Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification." Who is Eligible? *Minimum requirements for application for a concealed firearms permit in Utah are:
Applicant must be at least 21 years of age 1
What Must Accompany the Application? • • A Photocopy of your Driver License Photograph. Please have your instructor complete the certification information on the application. There are private businesses that also offer this service. Fingerprint Card.• • • • • Proof of good character. Applicants must complete a firearms familiarity course certified by BCI.. • *Fingerprint services are available from BCI or may be offered through your local law enforcement agency. Writing and prints must be legible. Taylorsville. The cost is $13. Fingerprint should be taken by a trained fingerprint technician. You must have a Firearms Safety Class from a Certified Utah Instructor. Must be filled out completely. • Weapon Familiarity Certification. Photos and fingerprints may be obtained at the Bureau of Criminal Identification (3888 W 5400 S. has not been convicted of any offense involving domestic violence.us 2 . Fingerprint cards that are not legible will be returned to the applicant and will cause a delay in processing the application.handgunlaw. One recent color photograph of passport quality. OffPermit/License Places Off-Limits Even With A Permit/License From the state's Firearms FAQ: www. One fingerprint card. unless the adjudication has been withdrawn or reversed • • • *A criminal background check is conducted for all applicants. NonNon-Resident Permits Non-Residents apply the same way as residents.00 for 1 photo and $13. has not been convicted of any offense involving the use of alcohol. Check in your local phone directory. View a list of (in-state) (out-of-state) certified instructors. has not been convicted of a felony. has not been convicted of any offenses involving moral turpitude. The course must be completed before you apply for a permit.00 for up to 3 fingerprint cards. List of Nationwide Instructors “Here”. has not been convicted of any crime of violence. *Photos may be taken at the Bureau of Criminal Identification. has not been adjudicated by a court of a state or of the United States as mentally incompetent. has not been convicted of any offenses involving the unlawful use of narcotics or other controlled substances.. UT.whereas the applicant.
So their Churches are off limits in Utah.handgunlaw. if the effect of the policy or rule constitutes a substantial burden on that individual's free exercise of religion. if: (i) the individual is legally permitted to transport. transfer.Notice -. employer. maintain.Free exercise of religion. (2) A person may establish. Title.Firearms -. whether or not these restrictions violates ones personal rights is for the civil courts to decide. mental health facility or correctional facility that may provide by rule that no firearm may be transported. This chapter is known as "Protection of Activities in Private Vehicles. business entity. possess.us 3 . or other legal entity. The level of intoxication that is considered illegal is held to the same standard as when driving a car. (ii) the firearm is locked securely in the motor vehicle or in a locked container attached to the motor vehicle while the motor vehicle is not occupied. Protection of certain activities -. At least one notice shall be prominently displayed at each entrance to a secure area in which a dangerous weapon.It is unlawful for a person with a firearm permit to carry a concealed firearm in the following locations: • • • • • Any secure area in which firearms are prohibited and notice of the prohibition is posted A secure area of an airport Any courthouse. or possessed upon the facility. property owner. and (iii) the firearm is not in plain view from the outside of the motor vehicle. purchase. tenant. Note: The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints has complied with 76-10-530 and has informed the Utah BCI that they do not want firearms brought into any of their Churches. sold. (3) "Person" means an individual. or enforce a policy or rule that has the effect of placing www. given. (2) "Motor vehicle" has the same meaning as provided in Section 41-1a-102 . Definitions. 34-45-103. However. landlord. courtroom. May I carry my loaded and concealed firearm into a bar or other drinking other establishment? There is nothing in state statute that prohibits permit holders from being in a bar with a concealed firearm. it is illegal to be intoxicated and in possession of a firearm. (1) Except as provided in Subsection (2). or enforce any policy or rule that has the effect of: (a) prohibiting any individual from transporting or storing a firearm in a motor vehicle on any property designated for motor vehicle parking. maintain. As used in this chapter: (1) "Firearm" has the same meaning as provided in Section 76-10-501 . can they post signs prohibiting someone from carrying a gun into their business even though the person may have a firearm permit? Naturally. But the only statutory restriction on a permit holder is secured areas such as airports and federal buildings. Parking Lot Storage Law 34-45-101. a person may not establish. or store the firearm. private property owners may apply what ever restrictions they want. 76-10-530 Trespass with a firearm in a house of worship or private residence -. or explosive is restricted What about private business.Penalty. or (b) prohibiting any individual from possessing any item in or on a motor vehicle on any property designated for motor vehicle parking." 34-45-102. receive. firearm.
Protection from liability. (1) (a) School premises. Enforcement by attorney general. Chapter 5a.Limitations on chapter -. www.Government entities -.limitations on or prohibiting an individual from transporting or storing a firearm in a motor vehicle on property the person has designated for motor vehicle parking if: (a) the person provides. are exempt from. may bring a civil action in a court of competent jurisdiction against any person that violates the provisions of Section 34-45-103 . or there is otherwise available. Chapter 2. transfer. unless the use of the firearm involves a criminal act by the person who owns or controls the parking area. (4) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed or held to affect any rights or claims made in relation to Title 34A. as a result of any policy or rule prohibited by Section 34-45-103 . (2) Government entities. (c) recovery for actual damages sustained. one of the following. the court may award restitution. (3) The prevailing party in an action brought under this chapter may recover its court costs and reasonable attorney fees incurred. Cause of action for noncompliance -. if: (i) serious bodily injury or death occurs as a result of the violation of Section 34-45-103 . 34-45-104. including a request for damages on behalf of any individual suffering loss because of a violation of this chapter. (b) Possession of a firearm on or about school premises is subject to the provisions of Section 7610-505. physically or otherwise. and (d) punitive damages. (b) temporary or permanent injunctive relief to prevent the threatened or continued violation. Firearm Laws. A person that owns or controls a parking area that is subject to this chapter and that complies with the requirements of Section 34-45-103 is not liable in any civil action for any occurrence resulting from. are exempt from the provisions of this chapter. (3) Religious organizations. 34-45-106. by any person. or incidental to the use of a firearm. in a location reasonably proximate to the property the person has designated for motor vehicle parking: (i) alternative parking for individuals who desire to transport. Exemptions -. Workers' Compensation Act. 34-45-107. (2) Upon entry of final judgment for a cause of action brought under this section. including a local authority or state entity. (2) Any individual who asserts a claim under this section is entitled to request: (a) declaratory relief. or (b) the person complies with Subsection 34-45-107 (5). (1) An individual who is injured. or (ii) a secured and monitored storage location where the individual may securely store firearm before proceeding with the vehicle into the secured parking area. connected with. (1) The attorney general may bring an action to enforce this chapter and may request any relief that is provided for under Section 34-45-105 . or (ii) the person who violates Section 34-45-103 has previously been notified by the attorney general that a policy or rule violates Section 34-45-103 .School premises -. or store a firearm in the individual's motor vehicle at no additional cost to the individual. to any individual suffering loss because of a violation of this chapter if proof of loss is submitted to the satisfaction of the court. as defined in Subsection 76-3-203.2 (1). but are otherwise exempt from the provisions of this chapter.Remedies.5 . possess. when appropriate.Religious organizations -. 34-45-105.handgunlaw. receive.us 4 . including religious organizations acting as an employer.Single family detached residential units. are subject to the requirements of Title 53.
(2) A person who carries a concealed dangerous weapon which is a loaded firearm in violation of Subsection (1) is guilty of a class A misdemeanor. Pub.and are not subject to the provisions of this chapter. No. No. (b) the secretary of the federal Department of Homeland Security notifies the person that the provision of alternative parking or a storage location causes the person to be out of compliance with Section 550 of the United States Department of Homeland Security Appropriations Act of 2007.handgunlaw. Carry In State Parks/State & National Forests/WMA/Road Side Rest Areas Carry Allowed in these Areas: State Parks: WMA’s: YES YES Admin. a vehicle in the person's lawful possession. with the consent of the individual who is lawfully in possession of the vehicle. or a person who is subject to Section 550 of the United States Department of Homeland Security Appropriations Act of 2007. (3) a person who carries a concealed dangerous weapon. (5) A person who is subject to federal law that specifically forbids the presence of a firearm from property designated for motor vehicle parking. Rule R651-61 YES per UHP State/National Forests: Road Side Rest Areas: Admin. and (c) the person files a detailed statement with the attorney general notifying the attorney general of the facts under Subsections (6)(a) and (b). is exempt from Section 34-45-103 if: (a) providing alternative parking or a storage location under Subsection 34-45-103 (2)(a) would pose an undue burden on the person. or business under the person's control is guilty of a class B misdemeanor. www. in or on a place other than the person's residence. L. as defined in this part. or a vehicle. 109-295 or regulations enacted in accordance with that section and the person may be subject to punitive measures. L. (4) Owner-occupied single family detached residential units and tenant-occupied single family detached residential units are exempt from the provisions of this chapter. No. Rule R651-61 RV/Car Carry Without A Permit/License 76-10-504. L. property. (1) Except as provided in Section 76-10-503 and in Subsections (2) .Penalties. Pub.us 5 . Carrying concealed dangerous weapon -. Pub. including an unloaded firearm on his or her person or one that is readily accessible for immediate use which is not securely encased. and (b) the person files a statement with the attorney general citing the federal law that forbids the presence of a firearm and detailing the reasons why providing alternative parking or a storage location poses an undue burden. as defined in Section 76-10-501. 109-295 or regulations enacted in accordance with that section. (6) A person who is subject to Section 550 of the United States Department of Homeland Security Appropriations Act of 2007. 109-295 or regulations enacted in accordance with that section is exempt from this chapter if: (a) the person has attempted to provide alternative parking or a storage location in accordance with Subsection 34-45-103 (2)(a). Rule R651-612 YES Admin.
76-10-523. (e) a judge as defined and qualified under Section 53-5-711 . a person may have a loaded firearm: (1) at the person's place of residence. Concealed Weapon Act. or (2) on the person's real property. or (c) in a posted prohibited area.us 6 . a person may not possess a loaded rifle. (d) a law enforcement official as defined and qualified under Section 53-5-711 .5 . or muzzle-loading rifle in a vehicle. the person is guilty of a second degree felony. Chapter 5. or (b) upon the highways of the state as defined in Section 41-6a-102 . Except for persons described in Section 76-10-503 and 18 U. provided that any firearm is: www. or (g) a nonresident traveling in or through the state. (b) on a public street. (2) Subsection (1)(a) does not apply to a minor under 18 years of age. (4) A violation of this section is a class B misdemeanor. 76-10-511. shotgun. Sec. (1) Unless otherwise authorized by law. (4) If the concealed firearm is used in the commission of a violent felony as defined in Section 76-3-203. Possession of loaded firearm at residence or on real property authorized. from carrying a concealed weapon or a concealed firearm with a barrel length of four inches or greater as long as the taking of wildlife does not occur: (a) within the limits of a municipality in violation of that municipality's ordinances. do not apply to any of the following: (a) a United States marshal. (c) a peace officer of this or any other jurisdiction.(3) A person who carries concealed a sawed-off shotgun or a sawed-off rifle is guilty of a second degree felony. or (ii) the person is carrying the loaded firearm in a vehicle with the consent of the person lawfully in possession of the vehicle. Part 7. (1) This part and Title 53.S. 76-10-505. (5) Nothing in Subsection (1) or (2) shall prohibit a person engaged in the lawful taking of protected or unprotected wildlife as defined in Title 23. (3) Notwithstanding Subsection (1)(a)(i) and (ii).C. since a minor under 18 years of age may not carry a loaded firearm in or on a vehicle. a person may not carry a loaded firearm: (a) in or on a vehicle unless: (i) the vehicle is in the person's lawful possession.]. Carrying loaded firearm in vehicle or on street. (f) a common carrier while engaged in the regular and ordinary transport of firearms as merchandise. 922(g) and as otherwise prescribed in this part. Wildlife Resources Code of Utah. and the person is a party to the offense. (b) a federal official required to carry a firearm.handgunlaw. Persons exempt from weapons laws. including any temporary residence or camp[.
Part 4 76-2-401. purchasing. State Preemption 76-10-500 . and Section 76-10-505 do not apply to any person to whom a permit to carry a concealed firearm has been issued: (a) pursuant to Section 53-5-704 . the Legislature finds the need to provide uniform laws throughout the state. 76-2-402. selling. 76-2-404. Force in defense of property. possess. 76-2-406. Unless specifically authorized by the Legislature by statute. or rule pertaining to firearms. Force in arrest. 76-2-407. Deadly force in defense of persons on real property. transporting.When allowed. business. or keeping any firearm at his place of residence. Justification as defense . All authority to regulate firearms shall be reserved to the state except where the Legislature specifically delegates responsibility to local authorities or state entities. or (b) by another state or county. (1) The individual right to keep and bear arms being a constitutionally protected right. or keep a firearm. Knife Laws State/Cities To access State/Local Knife Laws Click “Here” Carry in Restaurants That Serve Alcohol www. or an unloaded long gun. possessing. 76-2-405. Deadly Force Laws Title 76. (2) This part is uniformly applicable throughout this state and in all its political subdivisions and municipalities. a local authority or state entity may not enact or enforce any ordinance. Chapter 2. a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien shall not be: (a) prohibited from owning. 76-2-403.us 7 . Force in defense of habitation. Note: This new law now allows any person of legal age to possess a handgun. whether loaded or unloaded. transferring.(i) unloaded. or (b) required to have a permit or license to purchase. or in any vehicle lawfully in his possession or lawfully under his control. Except as specifically provided by state law.Forcible felony defined. Force in defense of person . transport. and (ii) securely encased as defined in Section 76-10-501 . (2) The provisions of Subsections 76-10-504 (1) and (2). Uniform law.handgunlaw. regulation. in or on a vehicle if the: • • vehicle is in the lawful possession of the person carrying the gun. own. Peace officer's use of deadly force. property. or vehicle’s lawful possessor consents to the gun possession.
us could find no restrictions in Utah Law concerning Chemical Sprays.041 Does Your Permit Cover Other Weapons Besides Firearms? YES 76-10-523 Updates to this Page 2/22/09 – Training valid for period Updated.us 8 . Handgunlaw.us can find no AG Opinions or Court Cases concerning the carrying of firearms. & 76-10-504 Chemical/Electric Weapons Laws: Body Armor Laws: 76-3-203. Stun Guns Or Higher Capacity Magazine Bans.7 46. Airport Carry/Misc.us believes you should never consume alcohol when carrying your firearm. This does not mean a bar or the bar area of a restaurant. LEOSA State Information No LEOSA Information Available Attorney General Opinions/Court Cases Handgunlaw. In some states it is illegal to take even one drink while carrying a firearm. This does not mean there are no AG Opinions or Court Cases. Information Airport Carry: Parking Lots and Terminal OK 76-10-529 Training Valid for: I Year Time Period to Establish Residency: Upon obtaining Utah Drivers License/ID.handgunlaw.YES Note: What is defined as carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol is a place like Friday’s or Red Lobster. Magazine Chemical Sprays/Stun Gun/Higher Capacity Magazine Laws Handgunlaw. 6/11/09 – Does permit cover other weapons updated to Yes www. Minimum Age for Permit/License: 21 Permit/License Info Public Information: NO State Fire arm Laws: 76-10-500 thru 76-10-530 & Admin Code R722-300-1 thru R722-300-17 76-2-401 thru 76-2-407 State Deadly Force Laws: State Knife Laws: 76-10-501. We could just not find any.
4/21/10 – Car Carry Section Updated with new law wording.NV drops UT from list of states it honors. 8/23/09 – All Links checked and repaired if needed. 8/31/09 .handgunlaw. 7/10/09 – Reciprocity Map changed to show that WV will honor non resident permit/licenses.7/1/09 . 8/9/10 – All Links Checked and repaired if needed www.us 9 . 3/17/10 – All Links Checked 3/29/10 – Parking Lot Storage Law Added.NE now honors a UT Permit. 4/25/10 – New Mexico No long honors a UT Permit/License 5/23/10 – Note added in Off Limits Section on Churches who have listed with the state that firearms are not allowed.
This action might not be possible to undo. Are you sure you want to continue?