P. 1
Outstanding Open Water Swimming Websites

Outstanding Open Water Swimming Websites

|Views: 3|Likes:
Published by Steven Munatones
A list of outstanding open water swimming websites.

For more information on open water swimming, click here:
http://www.openwatersource.com
http://www.dailynewsofopenwaterswimming.com
http://www.imshof.org
http://www.10Kswim.com
A list of outstanding open water swimming websites.

For more information on open water swimming, click here:
http://www.openwatersource.com
http://www.dailynewsofopenwaterswimming.com
http://www.imshof.org
http://www.10Kswim.com

More info:

Published by: Steven Munatones on Oct 25, 2010
Copyright:Traditional Copyright: All rights reserved

Availability:

Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
download as PDF or read online from Scribd
See more
See less

10/25/2010

pdf

OpenWaterSource.

com

Outstanding Open Water Swimming Websites

The number of open water swimming websites providing valuable information in a visual dynamic manner continues to exponentially increase, some with online social networking functionalities. Below is a short list of unique, educational and informative websites, listed in no particular order. INDIVIDUALS           Lewis Gordon Pugh: www.lewispugh.com a multi-lingual website of an incredible swimming adventurer and environmentalist Marcos Diaz: www.marcosdiaz.net the unique Dominican Republican swimmer with an entrepreneurial bent Poliana Okimoto: www.polianaokimoto.com a Portuguese-language website of a top professional marathon swimmer from Brazil Dan Martin: http://www.danmartinextreme.com the Global Triathlete who plans a swim across the Atlantic Ocean Damian Blaum: www.damianblaum.com.ar a Spanish-language website of a top professional marathon swimmer Natalie du Toit: www.nataliedutoit.com an incredible South African Olympian Maarten van der Weijden: www.maartenvanderweijden.com the Olympic 10K Marathon Swim gold medalist and inspirational leukemia survivor Britta Kamrau: www.britta-kamrau.com a top pro swimmer from Germany Fran Crippen: www.francrippen.com a top pro swimmer from Philadelphia

EVENTS   Flowers Sea Swim: www.flowersseaswim.com an open water swimming gala event in the Cayman Islands Midmar Mile: www.midmarmile.co.za a comprehensive portal to the world’s largest open water swimming event

Copyright © 2010 by Steven Munatones

Outstanding Open Water Swimming Websites
                     New Zealand Ocean Swim Series: www.oceanswim.co.nz a comprehensive portal to the largest swim series in New Zealand Great Swim: www.greatswim.org a visually dynamic portal for the Great Swims organized by the Nova International NYC Swim: www.nycswim.org a comprehensive portal to open water swimming in and around New York City Traversee Internationale du Lac St-Jean: www.traversee.qc.ca a bilingual French-English website of the Lac St-Jean professional and amateur swims Santa Fe-Coronda: www.santafecoronda.com a Spanish-language website of the Sante Fe-to-Coronda pro marathon race in Argentina King of the Sea Challenge (Rei do Mar Desafio): www.reierainhadomar.com.br/ a portal to a series of unique professional-amateur races in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Pacific Swims: www.pacificswims.com a website of open water swimming events in the South Pacific Pacific Open Water: www.pacificopenwater.com an event website for the open water swimming events in Long Beach, California Water World Swim: www.waterworldswim.com San Francisco Bay cold-water swims Fiji Swims: www.fijiswims.com a news source for open water swims in Fiji Swim Across America: www.swimacrossamerica.org a portal of extremely successful charity open water swims across America Tiburon Mile: www.rcptiburonmile.com the website of the world’s most competitive professional short-distance open water swim St. Croix Coral Reef Swim: www.swimrace.com the website of an open water race in beautiful St. Croix World Open Water Swimming Championships: www.roberval2010.ca a description of the 2010 World Championships in Quebec, Canada FINA: www.fina.org the revamped website of the world’s governing body of aquatics Rottnest Channel Swim: www.rottnestchannelswim.com the website of the world's largest long-distance channel race with a strong online community Japan International Open Water Swimming Association: www.openwater.gr.jp a portal of Japanese open water swims and events Waikiki Roughwater Swim: www.waikikiroughwaterswim.com 2.4-mile ocean swim that started the Ironman craze with race results back to 1970 Ocean Racing Series: www.oceanracingseries.com a charity and competitive ocean racing series in Nelson Mandela Bay, South Africa Vansbrosimningen: www.vansbrosimningen.se the website of the largest open water swimming event in Europe Descenso a Nado de la ria de Navia: www.rianavia.com a Spanish-language website of a popular Spanish river swim

Copyright © 2010 by Steven Munatones

Outstanding Open Water Swimming Websites

PRODUCTS        Swim Smooth: www.swimsmooth.com an easy-to-understand, helpful educational site to help you swim faster and smoother Smithwick’s StingMate: www.stingmate.com a website that showcases first-aid protection against jellyfish and stingray stings TRISWIM: www.tri-swim.com a website that showcases hair, skin and skin lubrication products and goggle cleaners Aqualoja: www.aqualoja.net a Portuguese website that combines event coverage with an online swim shop SwimTrek: www.swimtrek.com a portal of unforgettable open water swimming holiday adventures Pool-Mate: www.swimovate.com information on an intelligent swimming wristwatch Watermans Applied Science: http://watermansappliedscience.com information on skin protection for outdoor sports enthusiasts

LIFESTYLE             Wild Swimming: www.wildswimming.co.uk a unique look and comprehensive presentation of open water swimming in Great Britain European Open Water Swimming: http://openwaterswimming.eu a comprehensive news and event portal on European open water swimming events The Water Is Open: www.thewaterisopen.com an open water swimming news, ranking, events and forum portal 10Kswim: www.10Kswim.com an educational open water swimming site Cape Swim: www.capeswim.com information on open water swimming in Cape Town, South Africa Ocean Swims: www.oceanswims.com a comprehensive news, race results and events portal, specializing in Australia Cook Strait: www.cookstraitswim.org.nz a portal with facts and figures on the Cook Strait in New Zealand Channel Swimmers: www.thechannelswimmers.com for those who want to swim, or have swum, the English Channel Daily News of Open Water Swimming: www.dailynewsofopenwaterswimming.com a daily news source from events around the world Outdoor Swimming Society: www.outdoorswimmingsociety.co.uk a comprehensive and entertaining open water swimming portal for those in the U.K. Santa Barbara Channel Swim Association: www.santabarbarachannelswim.org a description of events in the Santa Barbara Channel Open Water Photography: http://flatstar.smugmug.com a website of great open water swimming photos Copyright © 2010 by Steven Munatones

Outstanding Open Water Swimming Websites
      Irish Channel: www.bangorboat.com/page6.html a list of solo swims in the cold-water Irish Channel La Jolla Cove Swim Club: www.lajollacoveswimclub.org a California open water swimming club Jersey Long Distance Swimming Club: www.jerseyseaswims.org an open water swimming club in Jersey Open Water Planet: www.openwaterplanet.com open water swims promoted by Olympic pool swimming gold medalists Channel Swimming & Piloting Federation: www.channelswimming.net the go-to site for English Channel solo and relay swimming aspirants Channel Swimming Association: www.channelswimmingassociation.com the English Channel swimming website with a history dating back to 1927

Photo by Colin A Gift of Joe Orman in San Francisco Bay during New Year's Day Alcatraz Swim.

Copyright © 2010 by Steven Munatones

You're Reading a Free Preview

Download
scribd
/*********** DO NOT ALTER ANYTHING BELOW THIS LINE ! ************/ var s_code=s.t();if(s_code)document.write(s_code)//-->